أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3033

قناة المشتريات الإيرانية (الجزء الثاني): عامل السرية

إليانا ديلوزيي و سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

31 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018


كما هو موضح في الجزء الأول من هذا المرصد السياسي، سوف تؤدي العقوبات الأمريكية التي من المقرر أن تدخل حيز التنفيذ في 5 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر إلى عرقلة قناة المشتريات التي تم إعدادها لتنظيم واردات إيرانية معيّنة في أعقاب الاتفاق النووي. لكن خلال السنوات الثلاث تقريباً منذ تأسيسها، لم تسعَ القناة لإقناع المشككين بأن طهران قد تخلت عن طموحها لتطوير أسلحة نووية. وفي الواقع، يخشى الكثيرون من أن تؤدي العقوبات المتجددة إلى دفع إيران إلى تسريع جهودها لتحقيق هذه الغاية، سواء من خلال مواصلة الأنشطة النووية غير المعلنة أو تخزين مكوّنات من أجل تعزيز برنامجها المُعلن إذا انهارت «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» كلياً. وإذا ما حصل ذلك، فمن المرجح أن يستخدم النظام قنوات سرية، تماماً كما فعل في الماضي عندما قام بشراء معدات لتخصيب اليورانيوم وتقنيات أخرى.

من العالم النووي خان إلى كوريا الشمالية والصين

كان بالإمكان تطوير جزء كبير من البرنامج النووي الإيراني الحالي بفضل مساعدة شبكة أنشأها العالِم النووي الباكستاني عبد القادر خان. وجاءت هذه الشبكة لانتشار الأسلحة النووية امتداداً للنظام الذي بدأ خان في تأسيسه خلال سبعينيات القرن الماضي، عندما كان يحاول بناء محطة لتخصيب اليورانيوم في باكستان مستخدماً تكنولوجيا الطرد المركزي الأوروبية. وقد شملت شبكته الأصلية رجال أعمال وَدودين، وشركات صديقة كانت مستعدة لغض الطرف عما كانت تصنعه وتزوده، والتعتيم على عناوين التسليم، مما يخفي واقع أن باكستان كانت المستخدم النهائي المزمع. وللالتفاف على الضوابط، تمّ إطلاق تسميات مضللة عمداً على الكثير من المواد أو حتى إرسالها عبر حقيبة دبلوماسية.

واستخدمت إيران أساليب مماثلة عندما أطلقت برنامجها النووي الخاص في التسعينات، فأسست شركات واجهة وطلبت إمدادات بحجة أنها لغرض أبحاث جامعية أو للاستعمال التجاري، وأعادت شحن المكوّنات عبر دول ثالثة. ومن خلال هذه الموارد، تمكّن النظام من شراء عناصر أجهزة الطرد المركزي، ووثائق تصميم مُطلِقات النيوترون، ومعدات إنتاج الزركونيوم، وتصاميم الصواريخ، وأشكال مختلفة من اليورانيوم وغيرها من المواد الضرورية، بطريقة غير شرعية. وعلى الرغم من أن معظم هذه المكونات جاءت من خان ومصادر باكستانية أخرى، إلا أن إيران حصلت على بعضها من كوريا الشمالية والصين. ولا تزال الجمهورية الإسلامية تستخدم اليوم مثل هذه القنوات غير المشروعة، كما يتضح من تقرير الأمم المتحدة من حزيران/يونيو هذا العام الذي كشف عن شحنات متعددة من المواد ذات الاستخدام المزدوج التي لم تنل الموافقة من خلال قناة المشتريات المفوّضة من قبل الأمم المتحدة.

تجنب القناة

يُعتبر انخفاض حجم الشحنات التي تتم عن طريق القناة الرسمية مؤشراً آخر على استمرار المشتريات السرية. وكما هو موضح في الجزء الأول من هذا المرصد السياسي، تلقّت القناة سبعةً وثلاثين طلباً فقط لعمليات نقل بين فترة تأسيسها عام 2016 وتوقيت تقريرها الأخير الصادر عن الأمم المتحدة في حزيران/يونيو المنصرم (ومعظمها من ألمانيا) بشأن التقدم المحرز. وكان القسم الأكبر من هذه الطلبات يتعلق بالبضائع ذات الاستخدام المزدوج، والتي يمكن أن يكون لها أهداف نووية، لكن بدا أنها أُرسِلت لاستخدامها التجاري المعلن في قطاعات السيارات والنفط/الغاز والأدوية والطب والبناء. وكان من بينها طلب أو اثنان يتضمنان مواد في طريقها إلى برنامج إيران النووي المعلن. وعلى الرغم من أنه جرى تقليص البرنامج بموجب الاتفاق النووي وبالتالي أصبح يتطلب عدداً أقل من المواد اللازمة لتشغيله، إلا أن الفكرة القائلة بأنه يحتاج إلى عدد قليل جداً من العناصر على مدى العامين والنصف الماضيين تبدو بعيدة المنال.

وبالفعل، تمّ رفض طلب رسمي واحد عبر القناة على الأقل: فقد أوقفت بريطانيا عقداً لكازاخستان أمده ثلاث سنوات يقضي ببيع 950 طناً من كعكة اليورانيوم الصفراء إلى إيران. علاوةً على ذلك، هناك بعض المواد التي تتلقاها إيران لاستخدامها في محطاتها النووية في "فوردو" و"آراك" مُعفاة من المرور عبر قناة المشتريات. ولكن حتى مع أخذ هذه العوامل في الاعتبار، لا يزال عدد الطلبات التي يتم تقديمها عبر القناة منخفضاً بشكل يثير الشكوك، إذ يبدو أن احتياجات التشغيل والصيانة الروتينية وحدها تتطلب حجماً أكبر. وقد تقوم إيران أيضاً بشراء مواد بمستويات أدنى من العتبات الضرورية للمرور عبر القناة؛ وهي استراتجية قد تكون فعالةً وإن كانت غير كفوءة بعض الشيء.

ويتمثل سيناريو محتمل وأكثر مدعاة للقلق في قيام طهران باستغلال ثغرة في قناة المشتريات - أي منفذ يضع المسؤولية عن طلب الموافقة على المزوّد بدلاً من إيران. وبشكل أساسي يسمح هذا البند للنظام بتجنب القناة، ومن ثمّ التظاهر بالغباء عند انكشافه. وكما هو موضح في الجزء الأول من هذا المرصد السياسي، تحدثت واشنطن والإمارات مؤخراً عن شحنات متعددة من المواد ذات الاستخدام المزدوج تمّ إرسالها إلى إيران دون موافقة. وفي نيسان/أبريل 2017، أبلغت الإمارات الأمانة العامة للأمم المتحدة أنها صادرت أربع شحنات في أيار/مايو 2016، ونيسان/أبريل 2017، وتموز/يوليو 2017 وكانون الأول/ديسمبر 2017، تحتوي كل منها على مواد كان يفترض أن تخضع لعملية تقديم الطلب إلى قناة المشتريات. وبعد أسبوع، أعلنت الولايات المتحدة أنه قد تم نقل المزيد من المواد المزدوجة الاستخدام دون موافقة. 

إنّ كافة المواد المحدّدة في هذه التقارير مثيرة للقلق من منظور الانتشار النووي. فالتنجستن الذي وُجد في المضبوطات [التي صادرتها] الإمارات يمكن استعماله كبديل لليورانيوم في اختبار تصاميم الأسلحة، وكعاكس داخل سلاح نووي عامل، وكمكوّن في برنامج الصواريخ الباليستية. وقد سبق لإيران أن اشترت التنجستن بصورة غير مشروعة من شركة صينية، وإن لم يكن ذلك في الشكل الأسطواني الذي اكتشفته الإمارات. 

كما أن المادتين اللتين أبلغت عنهما الولايات المتحدة تشكلان معضلةً أيضاً. فيمكن استخدام ألياف الكربون لصنع دوارات ومنافخ لأجهزة الطرد المركزي. وبالفعل، بدأت إيران باستخدام ألياف الكربون في أجهزتها المتقدمة للطرد المركزي حين تمّ فرض عقوبات على المادة المفضلة لديها، الصلب المارتنسيتي المُصلّد. كما يمكن الاستفادة من ألياف الكربون في برنامج صاروخي. أما المادة الثانية، وهي سبائك الألمنيوم، فيمكن استعمالها على نحو مماثل لبناء أجهزة الطرد المركزي. وتبرز هذه السبائك بصورة أكثر من المواد الأخرى المعلن عنها، لأنها مصنفة كمواد نووية بدلاً من مواد ذات استخدام مزدوج إذا كانت تستوفي معايير معيّنة لقوة الشد.   

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنّ تقرير الأمم المتحدة لا يحدّد الدول التي زوّدت هذه المواد. ومن شأن التقرير المقبل، المزمع صدوره في كانون الأول/ديسمبر، توفير المزيد من التفاصيل.

الاستخبارات مقابل الاعتراضات

إنّ واقع ما كشفت عنه أبوظبي لم يظهر إلى العلن إلا بعد مضي عاميْن على المصادرة الأولى يشير إلى أن السلطات الإماراتية كانت تراقب قناة الإمدادات الخاصة بإيران منذ بعض الوقت دون الإبلاغ عنها. ويدل توقيت تقرير واشنطن إلى أن السلطات الأمريكية كانت تفعل الشيء نفسه.

إن هذا التكتم الواضح عن كشف المعلومات هو بمثابة تذكير جيّد بأن اعتراض الشحنات وجمع المعلومات الاستخباراتية يمكن أن يخدم أهدافاً متعددة، ومتضاربة أحياناً. ويُكلَّف وكلاء الجمارك بمهمة إيجاد أمثلة للأنظمة أو القوانين التي يتم خرقها، والتدخل في الوقت المناسب، ومعاقبة المذنبين عند الضرورة. وفي المقابل، يهتم ضباط الاستخبارات بصورة أكثر بمراقبة ما يتمّ شراؤه، وبالكميات التي يتمّ شراؤها، من أجل تكوين صورة شاملة عن نشاط انتشار الأسلحة النووية في بلد ما. وعلى هذا النحو، غالباً ما يسعون إلى تجنّب الإبلاغ عن المذنبين، ويعود ذلك جزئياً إلى أن إغلاق قناة ما قد يدفع المشاركين فيها إلى إنشاء مسار بديل يستغرق اكتشافه وقتاً طويلاً.    

فعلى سبيل المثال، إذا قامت السلطات الغربية بقمع شبكات المشتريات بشكل صارم، فقد تتخلى شركات الهندسة والتكنولوجيا الإيرانية عن أي أمل في إنشاء مسارات بديلة في أوروبا أو الولايات المتحدة (حيث سيكون من السهل نسبياً مراقبتها)، والتقرّب بدلاً من ذلك من الصين أو روسيا (حيث قد تقوم السلطات بغض الطرف). وبالفعل، فقد أثبتت بكين استعدادها لتزويد إيران بالمواد والمعدات النووية خلال الأيام الأولى من برنامجها، تماماً كما زوّدت تصاميم الأسلحة النووية والصواريخ القادرة على حمل رؤوس حربية إلى برنامج باكستان الناشئ.  

إن الصين وروسيا معفاتان اليوم  إلى حد كبير من استعمال قناة المشتريات، إذ إن مشاريعهما الرئيسية المعلن عنها مع إيران تخدم أهداف حظر الانتشار النووي، كما هو موضّح في الجزء الأول من هذا المرصد السياسي. وعلى الرغم من أنه يتعين على الولايات المتحدة دعم هذه الأهداف، إلّا أن المفارقة هي أن بكين وموسكو هما الدولتان نفسهما اللتان ساعدت مساعدتهما السرية والعلنية على إدارة الكثير من أنشطة الانتشار النووي الإيراني في الماضي.   

وبالفعل، فإن تاريخ المجتمع الدولي المتمثل في منع البلدان من الحصول على تكنولوجيا نووية حساسة أمر مخيّب للآمال - وعادة ما تكون النتيجة هي التأخير بدلاً من المنع الفعلي. وصحيح أنه تمّ تعطيل واردات باكستان من أجهزة الطرد المركزي اعتباراً من عام 1978، لكن مع ذلك حققت البلاد القدرة على صنع قنبلة نووية بدءاً من منتصف ثمانينيات القرن الماضي. ولا شك في أن المسؤولين الإيرانيين يدركون هذا الواقع، وسيكون من الحكمة أن تولي واشنطن هذا الأمر اهتماماً الآن في ظل تطبيق العقوبات مجدداً. ومن الناحية العملية، يعني ذلك الإقرار بأن منع الانتشار النووي يتطلب جهداً عميقاً ومستمراً وفعالاً لجمع المعلومات الاستخباراتية - أي مسعى يتخطى الحظر الدوري للشحنات الفردية ذات الاستخدام المزدوج. 

 

إليانا ديلوزيي، هي زميلة أبحاث في "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في المعهد، ومحللة نووية سابقة في "مكتب مكافحة الإرهاب" التابع لـ "إدارة شرطة مدينة نيويورك". سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير "برنامج برنستاين".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3033

Iran’s Procurement Channel (Part 2): The Clandestine Factor

Elana DeLozier and Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

October 31, 2018


Trying to stop Iran’s nuclear proliferation is a task better suited to allied intelligence services than customs authorities and procurement channels.

As described in Part 1 of this PolicyWatch, the U.S. sanctions scheduled to come back into force on November 5 will disrupt the procurement channel that was set up to regulate certain Iranian imports after the nuclear deal. Yet in the nearly three years since its creation, the channel has done nothing to convince doubters that Tehran ever abandoned its ambition to develop nuclear weapons. In fact, many fear that renewed sanctions will spur Iran to accelerate its efforts toward that end, whether by pursuing undeclared nuclear activities or stockpiling components in order to ramp up its declared program if the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action collapses entirely. If so, the regime would likely make use of clandestine channels, just as it did in the past when acquiring uranium enrichment equipment and other technology.

FROM KHAN TO NORTH KOREA AND CHINA

Much of Iran’s existing nuclear program was made possible by assistance from a network established by Pakistani nuclear scientist A. Q. Khan. This proliferation network was an extension of the system Khan began setting up in the 1970s, when he was trying to build a uranium enrichment plant in Pakistan using European centrifuge technology. His original network involved friendly businessmen, companies prepared to turn a blind eye to what they were manufacturing and supplying, and cut-out delivery addresses obscuring the fact that Pakistan was the intended end user. To circumvent controls, many of the items he procured were deliberately mislabeled or even sent via diplomatic bag.

Iran used similar methods when starting its own nuclear program in the 1990s, establishing front companies, ordering supplies under the auspices of university research or commercial use, and transshipping components via third-party countries. Through such sources, the regime managed to illicitly procure centrifuge components, neutron initiator design documents, zirconium production equipment, missile designs, different forms of uranium, and other critical items. Although most of these components came from Khan and other Pakistani sources, some were obtained from North Korea and China. Iran is still using such illicit channels today, as evidenced by a UN report this June describing multiple shipments of dual-use items that did not seek approval through the UN-mandated procurement channel.

BYPASSING THE CHANNEL

The low volume of shipments conducted via the official channel is another indicator that clandestine procurement persists. As described in Part 1, the channel received only thirty-seven transfer requests between its inception in 2016 and its last UN progress report this June (most of them from Germany). The bulk of the applications were for dual-use goods, which could have a nuclear purpose but appeared to be bound for their declared commercial use in the automobile, oil/gas, pharmaceutical, medical, and construction industries. Only one or two of the requests involved materials destined for Iran’s declared nuclear program. Although the program has been reduced under the nuclear deal and therefore requires fewer materials to operate, the notion that it needed so few components over two and a half years seems farfetched.

Granted, at least one official channel request was rejected: Britain blocked a three-year contract for Kazakhstan to sell 950 tons of uranium yellowcake to Iran. Moreover, some of the materials Iran receives for its nuclear facilities at Fordow and Arak are exempt from the procurement channel. Yet even taking these factors into account, the number of requests being made through the channel remains suspiciously low. Routine operational and maintenance needs alone would seem to demand more volume. Iran might also be procuring items at just below the thresholds required to go through the channel; this would be an effective, if slightly inefficient, strategy.

A more worrisome possibility is that Tehran is exploiting a loophole in the procurement channel—one that puts the onus for seeking approval on the supplier rather than Iran. This provision essentially allows the regime to bypass the channel, then play dumb when caught. As described in Part 1, Washington and the United Arab Emirates recently reported several shipments of dual-use items that were sent to Iran without approval. In April, the UAE informed the UN Secretariat that it had seized four shipments in May 2016, April 2017, July 2017, and December 2017, each containing items that were supposed to go through the procurement channel application process. A week later, the United States reported that additional dual-use items had been transferred without approval.

All of the items identified in these reports are worrisome from a proliferation perspective. The tungsten found in the UAE seizures can be used a surrogate for uranium in testing weapons designs, as a reflector inside a working nuclear weapon, and as a component in a ballistic missile program. Iran has previously procured tungsten illicitly from a Chinese company, albeit not in the cylindrical form discovered by the UAE.

The two items reported by the United States are problematic as well. Carbon fiber can be used to make rotors and bellows for centrifuges; indeed, Iran began using carbon fiber in its advanced centrifuges when its preferred material, maraging steel, was sanctioned. Carbon fiber can also be useful in a missile program. The second item, aluminum alloy, is similarly useful for building centrifuges. Such alloys stand out from the other reported items because they are regulated as a nuclear material rather than a dual-use material if they meet certain criteria for tensile strength.

Notably, the UN report does not specify which countries supplied these items. The next report, due in December, should provide more detail.

INTELLIGENCE VS. INTERDICTION

The fact that Abu Dhabi’s revelations did not surface until two years after the first seizure suggests that Emirati authorities were monitoring Iran’s supply channel for some time without reporting it. The timing of Washington’s report suggests that U.S. authorities were doing the same.

This apparent reticence to reveal information is a good reminder that interdicting shipments and collecting intelligence can serve multiple, sometimes conflicting, purposes. Customs agents are tasked with finding examples of regulations or laws being broken, intervening in a timely fashion, and punishing the perpetrators when necessary. In contrast, intelligence officers are more interested in observing what is being purchased, and how much, in order to develop an overall picture of a country’s proliferation activity. As such, they often seek to avoid tipping off the culprit, in part because closing down a channel could lead its participants to set up an alternative route that takes a long time to discover.

For instance, if Western authorities clamp down on procurement networks too aggressively, Iranian engineering and technology companies could abandon all hope of establishing replacement routes in Europe or the United States (where they would be comparatively easy to monitor), instead approaching China or Russia (where authorities may turn a blind eye). Beijing already proved willing to supply Iran with nuclear materials and equipment during the early days of its program, just as it provided nuclear weapon designs and warhead-capable missiles to Pakistan’s nascent program.

Today, China and Russia are largely exempt from using the procurement channel because their main declared projects with Iran serve nonproliferation objectives, as described in Part 1. Although the United States should support these objectives, the irony is that Beijing and Moscow are the same states whose clandestine and open assistance helped drive so much of Iran’s proliferation activity in the past.

Indeed, the international community’s history of keeping countries from acquiring sensitive nuclear technology is disappointing—usually the result is delay rather than true prevention. Pakistan’s centrifuge imports were disrupted from 1978 onward, but it still achieved the capability of making a nuclear bomb as early as the mid-1980s. Iranian officials are no doubt well aware of this fact, and Washington would be wise to heed it as well now that sanctions are coming back into force. In practice, this means acknowledging that preventing nuclear proliferation requires a deep, continuous, and effective intelligence collection effort—one that goes beyond periodic interdictions of individual dual-use shipments.

Elana DeLozier is a research fellow in The Washington Institute’s Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy and a former nuclear analyst in the New York City Police Department’s Counterterrorism Bureau. Simon Henderson is the Institute’s Baker Fellow and director of the Bernstein Program.