أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3031

قناة المشتريات الإيرانية (الجزء الأول): إنقاذ المكاسب المحققة من حظر الانتشار النووي مع إعادة فرض العقوبات

كاثرين باور و إليانا ديلوزيي

متاح أيضاً في English

30 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018


تهدد العقوبات الأمريكية التي من المقرر استئنافها في 5 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر بإعاقة قناة المشتريات، التي هي الآلية التي وضعتها «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» لمراقبة عمليات نقل المواد والمعدات وغيرها من المساعدات الضرورية لبرنامج إيران النووي. وتشرف القناة على المشتريات لأغراض نووية وبعض الأهداف التجارية؛ كما أنها المسار الذي تُلزَم طهران بموجبه بإخطار الأمم المتحدة عن بعض التعديلات [التي قد تجريها] على منشآتها النووية والأنشطة ذات الصلة. وعلى الرغم من أن استعمال القناة كان محدوداً ، إلا أنها تحتفظ بقيمة نسبية كأداة لمنع الانتشار النووي، وبالتالي على الولايات المتحدة تقديم إعفاءات لبعض الشركات التي تسعى إلى استخدامها. وفي المقابل، يتعين على واشنطن أيضاً ممارسة الضغوط على حكومات أخرى لدعم اتخاذ إجراءات أكثر صرامةً ضد مجموعة أنشطة الشراء الإيرانية غير المشروعة.

كيف تعمل القناة؟

قبل عام 2003، كان جزء كبير من عمل إيران النووي وذلك الخاص بالصواريخ البالستية يعتمد على المواد والمساعدة السرية التي كانت تحصل عليها البلاد من شركات واجهة وجامعات وقنوات دبلوماسية. ولا تزال بعض هذه الكيانات المشارِكة في هذه المشتريات خاضعة لعقوبات الأمم المتحدة بموجب قرار مجلس الأمن الدولي رقم 2231 الذي أقر الاتفاق النووي لعام 2015. وفي ضوء سلوك إيران الماضي، وضعت «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» قناةً لمراقبة المشتريات التي يسمح بها الاتفاق، الأمر الذي منح الموقعين هامشاً من الشفافية اشتدت الحاجة إليه بشأن الواردات ذات الصلة النووية المحتملة. وعلى وجه التحديد، يتولّى "الفريق العامل المعني بالمشتريات" الذي أنشأته «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» مراجعة نوعين من عمليات النقل، هي:

المواد والخدمات المزوَّدة إلى إيران لأغراض نووية مسموح بها، وينظّمها الجزء الأول من إرشادات "مجموعة مورّدي المواد النووية".

  • المواد ذات الاستخدام المزدوج التي يتمّ نقلها لأغراض تجارية غير نووية لكن يمكن استخدامها في البرنامج النووي. وينظّم الجزء الثاني من إرشادات "مجموعة مورّدي المواد النووية" هذه السلع.

ويُلزم القرار رقم 2231 معظم الكيانات التي تصدّر مواد نووية أو ذات الاستخدام المزدوج إلى إيران بتقديم طلب إلى "الفريق العامل المعني بالمشتريات" الذي يتألف من مسؤولين من الدول الموقّعة على «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة». وإذا وافق "الفريق" على الطلب، يُحال إلى مجلس الأمن الدولي للحصول على تصريح نهائي. وتُعفى بعض الكيانات من هذه العملية. أما الشركات المشاركة في تعديل محطة "فوردو" النووية أو تحديث مفاعل "آراك" أو استبدال اليورانيوم الإيراني المخصّب باليورانيوم الطبيعي، فليست بحاجة لإذن؛ وبدلاً من ذلك، لا يتعين عليها سوى إبلاغ مجلس الأمن و "اللجنة المشتركة" التابعة لـ «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» قبل 10 أيام مقدّماً، وأن تكون "في وضع" يخوّلها التحقّق من الاستخدام النهائي للمواد.

ومنذ انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» في أيار/مايو، لم تعد عضواً في "الفريق العامل المعني بالمشتريات"، لذا سيكون تدخلها لمنع المشتريات المشبوهة أمراً صعباً للغاية. سيتعيّن على واشنطن الاعتماد على أعضاء آخرين ضمن "الفريق" لرفض الطلب المقدّم، علماً بأنه بمجرد الموافقة على الطلب لا يمكن إبطاله سوى بقرار صادر عن مجلس الأمن.

وفي الوقت نفسه، سيخضع جزء كبير من نشاط قناة المشتريات إلى عقوبات بموجب القانون الأمريكي اعتباراً من 5 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر. وفي الحالات المتعلّقة بالبرامج النووية، سيتمّ تطبيق العقوبات لأن الكيانات المشاركة في البنية التحتية النووية للجمهورية الإسلامية  (على سبيل المثال، "منظمة الطاقة الذرية الإيرانية") سيتم إعادتها إلى قوائم العقوبات الأمريكية. أما في حالات المشتريات التجارية، فقد يخضع المستوردون للعديد من العقوبات المفروضة على قطاعات الطاقة والشحن وبناء السفن وصناعة السيارات الإيرانية.

القليل من القيود الحقيقية على إيران

عندما تم إنشاء قناة المشتريات، توقّعت العديد من السلطات أن تُغدق عليها الطلبات. وعوضاً عن ذلك، لم تشهد سوى القليل جداً منها. ومنذ حزيران/يونيو 2018 - أي بعد عامين ونصف على تطبيق «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» - لم تتلق القناة سوى 37 طلباً، تمت الموافقة على أربعة وعشرين منها، ورُفضت ثلاثة، وتمّ سحب سبعة ووضع ثلاثة قيد المراجعة. 

ويُعزى استخدام القناة بشكل جزئي إلى عدم تمكّن إيران من الحصول على التمويل. فقد كانت المصارف العالمية متردّدة في التعامل مع إيران بشكل عام، لذا فهي حتى أقل احتمالاً بأن تقوم بتمويل مشتريات ثنائية الاستخدام. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد لا تكون الشركات قد حصلت على المعلومات الكافية بشأن وجود القناة أو متطلباتها، لا سيما في البلدان ذات نظم مراقبة الصادرات الأقل تطوراً.

وبالنظر إلى المسألة من منظار أقل اعتدالاً، نرى أن الحكومة الإيرانية والمؤسسات الفردية قد استحدثت وسائل متطوّرة للالتفاف على العقوبات على مدى ثلاثة عقود، وواصلت على ما يبدو استخدام مثل هذه الشبكات خلال فترة تخفيف العقوبات بموجب «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة». ومن هذا المنطلق، واجهت الشركات الإيرانية موقفاً لا مفرّ منه: فقد أصبح من الصعب إقامة علاقات مع مصارف ومورّدين أجانب حتى في إطار الاتفاق النووي، لذا لم تتخل بالكامل يوماً عن شبكات التهرب الخاصة بها. ومع ذلك، كان هذا السلوك المخادع هو الذي جعل الشركات الدولية تتردّد في استئناف العمل معها في المقام الأول.

وبالفعل، أفادت بعض التقارير أن بعض المواد التي كانت بحاجة إلى موافقة "الفريق العامل المعني بالمشتريات" والأمم المتحدة قد تمّ إرسالها إلى خارج قناة المشتريات. وفي نيسان/أبريل الماضي، أي قبل أسابيع قليلة فقط من انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»، أبلغت الإمارات العربية المتحدة الأمانة العامة للأمم المتحدة بأنها صادرت أربع شحنات بين أيار/مايو 2016 وكانون الأول/ديسمبر 2017 كانت تحتوي على مواد مزدوجة الاستخدام كانت موجهة إلى إيران، بما فيها "40 قطعة أسطوانية من التنجستن، ومطياف كتلي بلازمي واحد مقرون بالحث، و10 مكثفات، وقضيب تيتانيـوم واحد". وبعد ذلك بوقت قصير، أبلغت الولايات المتحدة الأمم المتحدة بأن إيران حصلت بشكل غير شرعي على مواد خاضعة للرقابة من "مجموعة مورّدي المواد النووية"، وهي عبارة عن سبائك ألومنيوم وألياف كربون. غير أن الأمم المتحدة لم تحدّد البلدان التي زوّدت هذه المواد، بل اكتفت بالإعلان بأنها شرعت بمراجعة المسألة.  

وفي رسالة بعثها ممثل إيران الدائم لدى الأمم المتحدة إلى الأمانة العامة في الأول من حزيران/يونيو، شدّد على أن جزءً من المشكلة مع قناة المشتريات يتمثل في "وقوع مسؤولية الحصول على الموافقة على عاتق الدولة المصدّرة". وحتى أن الرسالة شجعت الأمانة العامة على "معالجة غياب الوعي بهذه المتطلبات في أوساط بعض الدول الأعضاء" - وكان ذلك تقرير جريء نظراً لأن طهران قد ترفض ببساطة أي واردات ذات صلة لا تمر عبر قناة المشتريات. وقد أصرّت إيران خلال مفاوضات «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»، على وضع المسؤولية على الدولة المصدّرة.    

توصيات في مجال السياسة العامة

في وجه إعادة فرض العقوبات الأمريكية [وواقع وجود] قناة مشتريات متعثّرة، من المرجح أن يستمر الانتشار غير الشرعي للأسلحة النووية الإيرانية (سيتم بحث عامل السرية بمزيد من التفصيل في الجزء الثاني من هذا المرصد السياسي). لذا يتعين على واشنطن توفير معلومات استخباراتية وغيرها من الموارد الكافية من أجل كشف المشتريات وتعطيلها خارج القناة. ويشمل ذلك طلب مساعدة الموقّعين على «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» على جبهتين هما: تعزيز الشفافية في [إعداد] التقارير عن أنشطة الشراء التي تخدم أهداف عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية وزيادة اليقظة من الخدع الإيرانية.        

وفي المقابل، بإمكان الولايات المتحدة التعهّد بعدم فرض عقوبات على شركات متورّطة في بعض المشتريات. غير أن مثل هذه المقايضة لن تُطبّق على الجزء الأكبر من نشاط القناة (أي المشتريات التجارية المزدوجة الاستخدام)، بل فقط على الأنشطة ذات الأهداف الواضحة لعدم الانتشار، على غرار المناطق الثلاث التالية المستثناة من موافقة "الفريق العامل المعني بالمشتريات":  

  1. في "فوردو"، من المفترض أن تقوم إيران بتحويل محطة تخصيب اليورانيوم المُنشأة تحت الأرض إلى مركز لإنتاج النظائر المشعّة. فتخصيب اليورانيوم قد يخدم أهداف ذات صلة بالأسلحة، في حين أن إنتاج النظائر المشعّة غير مرتبط بذلك عموماً، وبالتالي يشكّل مكسباً من حيث عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية.
  2. في "آراك"، وافقت إيران على إعادة تصميم مفاعلها لاستخدام اليورانيوم منخفض التخصيب لإنتاج الوقود بدلاً من اليورانيوم الطبيعي، وبالتالي تقليل قدرتها على إنتاج البلوتونيوم الصالح للاستخدام في الأسلحة النووية.
  3. وافقت إيران على شحن أي يورانيوم مخصّب تنتجه ويتخطى حدود 300 كيلوغرام إلى بلد ثالث مقابل اليورانيوم الطبيعي.  ومن شأن ذلك أن يخفّض مخزون المواد القابلة للتخصيب والتحوّل إلى كونها مواد صالحة للاستخدام في الأسلحة.  

وتُعتبر روسيا والصين جهتين فاعلتين رئيسيتين في هذه الأنشطة، لذا يتعين على واشنطن الضغط عليهما لكي يمتثلا بصورة كاملة للالتزامات القائمة: أي إشعار مجلس الأمن الدولي واللجنة المشتركة قبل عشرة أيام مقدّماً من حصول أي عملية نقل، والتحقّق من الاستخدام النهائي الفعلي لصادراتهما.

 

كاثرين باور هي زميلة "بلومنستين كاتس فاميلي" في معهد واشنطن ومسؤولة سابقة في وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية. إليانا ديلوزيي، هي زميلة أبحاث في "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في المعهد، ومحللة نووية سابقة في "مكتب مكافحة الإرهاب" التابع لـ "إدارة شرطة مدينة نيويورك".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3031

Iran’s Procurement Channel (Part 1): Salvaging Nonproliferation Gains While Reimposing Sanctions

Katherine Bauer and Elana DeLozier

Also available in العربية

October 30, 2018


Washington can use sanctions as leverage to demand more vigilance from JCPOA signatories even as it allows certain useful procurements.

The U.S. sanctions set to resume on November 5 threaten to hobble the procurement channel, the mechanism established by the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) to monitor transfers of material, equipment, and other assistance required for Iran’s nuclear program. The channel oversees procurements for nuclear and some commercial purposes; it is also the route by which Tehran is obliged to notify the UN about certain modifications to its nuclear facilities and related activities. Although the channel has seen only limited use, it retains some value as a nonproliferation tool, so the United States should offer exemptions to some of the companies seeking to employ it. In return, however, Washington should press other governments to support stronger action against Iran’s array of illicit procurement activity.

HOW DOES THE CHANNEL WORK?

Prior to 2003, much of Iran’s nuclear and ballistic missile work relied on materials and assistance obtained surreptitiously through front companies, universities, and diplomatic channels. Some of the entities involved in this procurement remain subject to UN sanctions under Security Council Resolution 2231, which endorsed the 2015 nuclear deal. In light of Iran’s past behavior, the JCPOA set up a channel to monitor procurements that are allowable under the deal, providing the signatories with much-needed transparency on potentially nuclear-related imports. Specifically, the JCPOA’s Procurement Working Group (PWG) reviews two types of transfers:

  • Materials and services provided to Iran for allowable nuclear purposes, which are regulated by Part I of the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) guidelines.
  • Dual-use materials that are transferred for commercial, non-nuclear purposes but could be used in the nuclear program. These goods are regulated by Part II of the NSG guidelines.

Under Resolution 2231, most entities that export nuclear or dual-use items to Iran must submit an application to the PWG, which consists of officials from the JCPOA signatory states. If the PWG approves the application, it is transferred to the Security Council for final authorization. Some entities are exempted from this process. Firms involved in modifying the Fordow nuclear facility, modernizing the Arak reactor, or replacing Iran’s enriched uranium with natural uranium are not required to seek permission; instead, they need only notify the Security Council and the JCPOA Joint Commission ten days in advance, and be “in a position” to verify the material’s end use.

Since the United States pulled out of the JCPOA in May, it is no longer part of the PWG, so intervening to prevent a problematic procurement will be very difficult. Washington will have to rely on other PWG members to reject the application in question, and once it is approved, only a Security Council resolution can undo it.

At the same time, much of the activity in the procurement channel will become sanctionable under U.S. law as of November 5. In nuclear-related cases, sanctions will apply because entities involved in the Islamic Republic’s nuclear infrastructure (e.g., the Atomic Energy Organization of Iran) will be returned to U.S. sanctions lists. In cases of commercial procurements, importers may be subject to various sanctions on Iran’s energy, shipping, shipbuilding, and automotive industries.

FEW REAL CONSTRAINTS ON IRAN

When the procurement channel was created, many authorities expected it to be inundated with requests. Instead, it saw only a trickle. As of June 2018—two and a half years after the JCPOA’s implementation—the channel had received only thirty-seven requests, of which twenty-four were approved, three rejected, seven withdrawn, and three placed under review.

The channel has been underused in part because Iran was unable to get financing. Global banks have been reluctant to deal with Iran in general, so they are even less likely to finance dual-use procurements. Moreover, firms may not have been adequately educated about the channel’s existence or requirements, especially in countries with less-developed export control regimes.

Looking at the issue through a less benign lens, the Iranian government and individual institutions have developed sophisticated means of skirting sanctions over the course of three decades, and they apparently continued using such networks during the period of JCPOA sanctions relief. In this sense, Iranian firms have faced a catch-22: establishing relationships with foreign banks and suppliers proved difficult even under the nuclear deal, so they never fully abandoned their evasion networks, yet it was this deceptive behavior that made international firms reluctant to reengage with them in the first place.

Indeed, some items that required PWG and UN approval were reportedly sent outside the procurement channel. This April, just weeks before the United States withdrew from the JCPOA, the United Arab Emirates informed the UN Secretariat that it had seized four shipments between May 2016 and December 2017 containing dual-use items for Iran, including “40 cylindrical segments of tungsten, 1 inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer, 10 capacitors, and 1 titanium rod.” Shortly thereafter, the United States told the UN that Iran had illicitly obtained two NSG-regulated items: aluminum alloys and carbon fiber. The UN did not specify which countries supplied these items, only that they had initiated a review.

Part of the problem with the procurement channel is that it is “the responsibility of the exporting state to seek approval,” as Iran’s permanent representative to the UN emphasized in a June 1 letter to the Secretariat. The letter even encouraged the Secretariat to “address the lack of awareness of these requirements among some member states”—a brazen statement given that Tehran could simply refuse any relevant imports that bypass the procurement channel. During the JCPOA negotiations, Iran insisted on putting responsibility on the exporting state.

POLICY RECOMMENDATIONS

In the face of reimposed U.S. sanctions and a hobbled procurement channel, Iran’s illicit nuclear proliferation will likely continue (Part 2 of this PolicyWatch discusses this clandestine factor in greater detail). Washington should therefore commit adequate intelligence and other resources to detecting and disrupting procurements outside the channel. This includes asking JCPOA signatories for help on two fronts: greater transparency in reporting procurement activities that serve nonproliferation goals and increased vigilance against Iranian subterfuge.

In return, the United States could pledge not to sanction companies involved in certain procurements. Such a quid pro quo would not apply to the bulk of the channel’s activity (i.e., commercial dual-use procurements), just to those activities with clear nonproliferation objectives, such as the three areas exempted from PWG approval:

  1. At Fordow, Iran is supposed to convert its underground uranium enrichment plant to a center for radioisotope production. Enriching uranium can serve weapons-related purposes, while isotope production generally does not, so this is a nonproliferation gain.
  2. At Arak, Iran has agreed to redesign its reactor to use low-enriched uranium for fuel rather than natural uranium, thus reducing its ability to produce weapons-grade plutonium.
  3. Iran has agreed to ship any enriched uranium it produces beyond the 300-kilogram limit to a third country in return for natural uranium. This would lower the stockpile of material capable of being enriched to weapons-grade level.

Russia and China are key players in these activities, so Washington should press them to fully comply with existing obligations: namely, notifying the Security Council and Joint Commission ten days in advance of any transfer, and verifying the actual end use of their exports.

Katherine Bauer is the Blumenstein-Katz Family Fellow at The Washington Institute and a former official at the Treasury Department. Elana DeLozier is a research fellow in the Institute’s Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy and a former nuclear analyst in the New York City Police Department’s Counterterrorism Bureau.