أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3330

قانون قيصر يدخل حيز التنفيذ (الجزء الثاني): الضغط على «حزب الله» في لبنان

حنين غدار

متاح أيضاً في English

12 حزيران/يونيو 2020


كما هو مذكور في الجزء الأول من المرصد السياسي، يتسبّب تنفيذ واشنطن الوشيك لـ "قانون قيصر لحماية المدنيّين في سوريا" بحالة من الهلع في لبنان. وعلى الرغم من أنّ الهدف الرئيسي من القانون هو معاقبة حكومة بشّار الأسد على الفظائع التي ارتُكبت ضد الشعب السوري، إلّا أنّه لم يكن بوسع النظام الاستمرار لفترة طويلة بما يكفي لارتكاب هذه الانتهاكات من دون دعم مباشر وغير مباشر من الميليشيات والمسؤولين والشركات التجاريّة اللبنانيّة.

والأهم من ذلك، كان «حزب الله» في طليعة الحرب السورية لسنوات، حيث ساعد بشّار الأسد في شنّ حملاته الوحشيّة بكفاءة أكبر من خلال الاعتماد على المقاتلين والموارد من لبنان. وتستمر الروابط الوطيدة للحزب مع النظام السوري حالياً، بما في ذلك في قطاعات الوقود (الفيول) وغيرها من القطاعات المستهدفة بموجب قانون "قيصر" بشكل صريح. ويعطي ذلك المسؤولين الأمريكيين فرصة لمعاقبة الأفراد والقنوات والأدوات اللبنانية التي يستخدمها «حزب الله» ودمشق لإبقاء النظام واقفاً على قدميه.

وفي الواقع، إنّ الوضع الراهن مثالي لممارسة المزيد من الضغط على الحزب وحلفائه داخل لبنان. وقد طلبت الحكومة اللبنانيّة التي يقودها «حزب الله» في بيروت حزمة مساعدة من "صندوق النقد الدولي" تبلغ قيمتها 10 مليارات دولار، لذلك يفهم المسؤولون المحليّون تداعيات تحدي القانون الأمريكي والمجتمع الدولي الأوسع في هذا الوقت الحسّاس من تاريخ البلاد. وبناءً على ذلك، يجب على واشنطن وشركائها أن يوضّحوا أن البلاد لا يمكن أن تتوقّع الحصولَ على مساعدات من "صندوق النقد الدولي" ما لم تبدأ بقطع علاقاتها العسكريّة والتجاريّة المحدّدة مع نظام الأسد. وعلى الرغم مما يقوله «حزب الله» للشعب اللبناني، إلّا أنه لا يزال بإمكان البلاد أن تُنقذ نفسَها عبر الالتزام بالتدابير الإصلاحيّة والشروط التي حدّدها "صندوق النقد الدولي".

من الذي يجب أن يشعر بالقلق؟

لطالما ارتبط لبنان بسوريا سياسياً واقتصادياً ومالياً. ويسمح غياب الحدود المرسّمة بين البلدَين حتى الآن بعمليّات تهريب يوميّة غير مُراقَبَة، مما يجعل من الصعب تقدير حجم التبادلات المالية بين البلدين. ولكن بعض التفاصيل واضحة - كما ذكرت وكالة "رويترز" في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر: "من المُعتقد أن لدى سوريّين أثرياء ودائع بمليارات الدولارات في المصارف اللبنانيّة". وقد أصبح الكثير من هذه الأموال محتجزاً لدى المصارف بعد انهيار الاقتصاد اللبناني وفي أعقاب فرضْ المصارف المحليّة قيوداً مشدّدة على السحب النقدي بالدولار الأمريكي.

وقد تخضع بعض هذه المصارف وشركائها والشركات اللبنانية المرتبطة بها إلى عقوبات جديدة بسبب المساعدات الماديّة لنظام الأسد، خاصة إذا كانت مرتبطة بأي شكل من الأشكال بالدعم اللوجستي للعمليات العسكرية لـ «حزب الله» في سوريا. ومع ذلك، قد يكون الردع التأثير الأكثر أهمية لـ "قانون قيصر" - أي سيتعين الآن على الشركات اللبنانية التي كانت تأمل في الوصول إلى السوق السورية من خلال مشاريع التجارة أو إعادة الإعمار، إعادة النظر في هذه الخطط.

ويشكّل مهرّبو الوقود مجموعة مهمة أخرى قد تتأثّر من جرّاء تنفيذ هذا القانون. وفي الوقت الذي لا يتمكن فيه لبنان تحمّل خسارة المزيد من احتياطياته من العملات الأجنبيّة، أشار حاكم "مصرف لبنان" رياض سلامة الشهر الماضي إلى أنّ البلاد "تنزف" 4 مليارات دولار سنويّاً بسبب تهريب «حزب الله» والجهات الفاعلة الأخرى للوقود المدعوم من الحكومة إلى سوريا. وقد وصلت حالة الهلع إلى أوساط أصحاب الشركات المتورّطة في هذه العمليّات، ويعتقد العديد من السكان المحليين أنّ "قانون قيصر" قد وُضِع خصّيصاً لاستهداف التهريب في كلا الاتجاهين - ليس فقط الوقود المتجه إلى سوريا، ولكن الأسلحة القادمة إلى لبنان أيضاً. لذلك، يجب على المسؤولين الأمريكيّين استخدام بطاقة التهديد بفرض العقوبات بموجب "قانون قيصر" للضغط على المسؤولين اللبنانيين من أجل تشديد الرقابة على الحدود واتخاذ تدابير أخرى تساعد في الحد من تهريب الوقود عبر المعابر غير القانونية.

يجب أن يشعر بعض الحلفاء السياسيين لـ «حزب الله» بالقلق إزاء التشريع الأمريكي الجديد أيضاً. وعلى الرغم من أنّ تعامل الرئيس ميشال عون وزعيم "التيار الوطني الحر" جبران باسيل ورئيس مجلس النواب نبيه بري مع النظام السوري قد اتّسم بالحذر، إلّا أنّ الحلفاء الآخرين كانوا أقل خجلاً في إعلان دعمهم العسكري للأسد، بمن فيهم "الحزب السوري القومي الاجتماعي" ورئيس "حزب التوحيد العربي" وئام وهّاب. على سبيل المثال، أفادت بعض التقارير أن وهاب أرسل أفراداً للقتال إلى جانب النظام السوري في السنوات الماضية (وقد قُتل عدد منهم خلال اشتباك وقع في محافظة السويداء عام 2014).

تقوية الحدود، الانفصال عن الأسد

قد يساعد "قانون قيصر" لبنان على تعزيز سيادته وتمكين مؤسّساته في وجه الجهات الفاعلة من غير الدول، عبر استخدامه هذه الانتهاكات وغيرها المتعلّقة بسوريا كوسيلة ضغط. وعلى وجه الخصوص، إذا أقنع التهديد بفرض العقوبات بموجب "قانون قيصر" المسؤولين اللبنانيّين بترسيم حدود بلادهم والبدء في تنفيذ قرارات مجلس الأمن 1559 و 1680 و 1701 بشكل صحيح، فإن ذلك سيحدّ من حريّة «حزب الله» في استغلال المؤسّسات الوطنيّة دعماً لنظام الأسد في البلد المجاوِر. علاوة على ذلك، سيكون المهرّبون أقل حرية في مواصلة الأنشطة التي تضر بالاقتصاد اللبناني وتجلب أسلحة خطيرة إلى أراضيه. وعلى الصعيد الإقليمي، من شأن تعزيز سيادة لبنان أن يساعد المجتمع الدولي على ممارسة المزيد من الضغط على "الجسر البري" الإيراني إلى بيروت والحدود الإسرائيلية.

وعلى الصعيد الدبلوماسي، يمكن الاستفادة من "قانون قيصر" بطريقتين. أولاً، يمكن أن يساعد في تثبيط الجهود لتطبيع العلاقات اللبنانية مع سوريا طالما أن النظام الذي لم يتم إصلاحه يسيطر على السلطة في دمشق. وعندما أثار نشطاء لبنانيون وشخصيات معارضة مخاوف في الشهر الماضي حول الكيفية التي يؤدي فيها تهريب الوقود إلى إلحاق الضرر بالاقتصاد اللبناني، صرح الأمين العام لـ «حزب الله» حسن نصر الله أن الحل الوحيد هو تطبيع العلاقات من أجل التنسيق بشكل صحيح مع سوريا لحل المشكلة. ويفضل الحزب هذا الحل لأنه يحتاج إلى إبقاء ما يقدر بـ 120 معبراً غير قانوني تحت سيطرته، بدلاً من ترسيم الحدود والإشراف عليها من قبل "الجيش اللبناني". لكن المواطنين اللبنانيين (والمصارف) لم يعودوا قادرين على تحمّل الأضرار الناجمة عن الحدود الفضفاضة وانخراط «حزب الله» في سوريا.

ثانياً، يمكن لـ "قانون قيصر" أن يدفع بلبنان إلى تعليق اتفاقيّاته العسكريّة وهيئاته التنسيقية الطويلة الأمد مع دمشق. وتتضمّن هذه الهيئات "المجلس الأعلى السوري اللبناني"، وهو هيئة أُنشئت بموجب "معاهدة الأخوّة والتعاون والتنسيق" خلال الاحتلال السوري للبنان عام 1991. ووفقاً للميثاق - الذي لم يُلغَ عندما غادرت القوات السورية لبنان في عام 2005 - يتعيّن على الدولتَين "السعي لتحقيق أعلى مستويات التعاون والتنسيق في المجالات السياسية والاقتصادية والأمنية والثقافية والعلمية وغيرها". كما توفر المعاهدة آليّةً لإضفاء الطابع المؤسّسي على هذا التنسيق عبر عدة لجان ثنائيّة الأطراف. علاوة على ذلك، تدعو اتفاقية الدفاع والأمن، الموقعة في وقت لاحق من ذلك العام، إلى تنسيق وتعاون شاملين بين المؤسسات العسكرية والأمنية والاستخبارية لكل دولة.

ويشكّل "قانون قيصر" أداةً قويّة لتعزيز الحجّة القائلة بأن لبنان لا يمكنه أن يبقى مرتبطاً بعد الآن بالنظام السوري الحالي على المستويين الاقتصادي والأمني. ومن أجل منع حدوث انهيار اقتصادي شامل، من الضروري أن تبعد البلاد نفسها عن محور الأسد-إيران، وتتحدّى أي تطبيع للعلاقات مع النظام الحالي في دمشق. وتشكّل بطاقة التهديد بفرض العقوبات بموجب "قانون قيصر" وسيلةً لحثّ المواطنين اللبنانيّين على الإدراك بأنّ النأي بالنفس الواضح والراسخ هو شرط مُسبَق للحصول على مساعدة دوليّة.

وفي الوقت نفسه، يجب على المسؤولين الأمريكيين التأكيد على أن التشريع لا يهدف إلى الإضرار برجال الأعمال اللبنانيين الذين لم يشاركوا في دعم نظام الأسد. ويَعتبر الكثيرون من أصحاب المصانع والتجّار والمزارعون المحليّون أنّ سوريا تشكّل الطريق البري الوحيد لإرسال بضائعهم إلى بقية أنحاء المنطقة. ومن الضروري طمأنة أصحاب هذه المؤسسات بأنّ الغرض من "قانون قيصر" ليس استهدافهم أو إلحاق المزيد من الضرر بالاقتصاد اللبناني الهش. وتحقيقاً لهذه الغاية، على "مكتب مراقبة الأصول الأجنبيّة" في وزارة الخزانة الأمريكيّة أن يوضح بالتفصيل أنواع التبادل التجاري الشرعي العابر للحدود وإعادة الشحن الشرعيّة التي لن تتأثّر بالتشريع.

 

حنين غدار هي زميلة زائرة في زمالة "فريدمان" في "برنامج غيدولد للسياسة العربية" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3330

The Caesar Act Comes Into Force (Part 2): Pressuring Hezbollah in Lebanon

Hanin Ghaddar

Also available in العربية

June 12, 2020


In addition to targeting Hezbollah and other local actors who support the Assad regime and harm Lebanon’s economy, the new U.S. legislation can help bolster Beirut’s sovereignty.

As noted in Part 1 of this PolicyWatch, Washington’s imminent implementation of the Caesar Syria Civilian Protection Act is setting off alarm bells in Lebanon. Although the law’s main intent is to punish Bashar al-Assad’s government for atrocities committed against the Syrian people, the regime would not have been able to survive long enough to commit these abuses without direct and indirect support from Lebanese militias, officials, and businesses.

Most notably, Hezbollah was at the forefront of the Syria war for years, helping Bashar al-Assad conduct his brutal campaigns more efficiently by drawing on fighters and resources from Lebanon. The group’s deep ties with the regime persist today, including in the fuel industry and other sectors explicitly targeted by the Caesar Act. This gives U.S. officials an opportunity to sanction Lebanese individuals, channels, and instruments that Hezbollah and Damascus use to keep the regime afloat.

Indeed, the ground is fertile for more pressure on the group and its allies inside Lebanon. The Hezbollah-led government in Beirut has asked the International Monetary Fund for an aid package of $10 billion, so local officials understand the repercussions of defying U.S. law and the broader international community at this critical moment. Accordingly, Washington and its partners should make clear that the country cannot expect IMF aid until it begins cutting specified military and commercial ties with the Assad regime. Despite what Hezbollah has been telling the Lebanese people, the country can still save itself by complying with the reforms and conditions laid out by the IMF, the Paris Conference, and UN Security Council Resolutions 1559 and 1701. The Caesar Act is a chance to reinforce this argument, while also curbing Hezbollah’s smuggling activities and strengthening the country’s border controls.

WHO SHOULD BE ALARMED?

Lebanon has long been connected to Syria politically, economically, and financially. The fact that the border between the two countries is still not officially demarcated allows for unchecked daily smuggling operations, making it difficult to estimate the size of financial exchanges between the two countries. But some details are evident—as Reuters reported in November, “Wealthy Syrians are believed to have deposits of billions of dollars in Lebanese banks.” Much of this money became trapped when Lebanon’s economy cratered and local banks imposed tight limits on cash withdrawals in U.S. dollars.

Some of these banks and their associated Lebanese partners and businesses may be subject to new sanctions for materially assisting the Assad regime, particularly if they are tied in any way to logistical support for Hezbollah military operations in Syria. Yet the Caesar Act’s most significant effect may be deterrence—namely, Lebanese companies that were hoping to gain access to the Syrian market through trade or reconstruction projects will now have to reconsider those plans.

Fuel smugglers are another important group who could be affected by the act. At a time when Lebanon cannot afford to lose more of its foreign currency reserves, Central Bank governor Riad Salameh hinted last month that the country is hemorrhaging $4 billion per year due to Hezbollah and other actors smuggling government-subsidized fuel into Syria. Companies involved in these deliveries are already alarmed, and many locals believe that the Caesar Act was purposefully created to target smuggling in both directions—not just fuel going into Syria, but weapons coming into Lebanon. U.S. officials should therefore use the threat of Caesar sanctions to press Lebanese officials on tightening border controls and instituting other measures that help curb fuel smuggling via illegal crossings.

Some of Hezbollah’s political allies should be worried about the new U.S. legislation as well. Although President Michel Aoun, Free Patriotic Movement leader Gebran Bassil, and Speaker of Parliament Nabih Berri have been careful in their dealings with the Syrian regime, other allies have been less shy in announcing their military support for Assad, including the Syrian Social Nationalist Party and the head of the Arab Tawhid Party, Wiam Wahab. For example, Wahab reportedly sent personnel to fight alongside the regime in past years (e.g., a number of them were killed during a 2014 clash in Suwayda province).

STRENGTHENING THE BORDER, SEPARATING FROM ASSAD

By using these and other Syria-related violations as leverage, the Caesar Act could help Lebanon strengthen its sovereignty and empower its institutions against nonstate actors. In particular, if the threat of Caesar sanctions convinces Lebanese officials to formally demarcate their border and begin properly implementing Security Council Resolutions 1559, 1680, and 1701, then Hezbollah would be less free to exploit national institutions in support of the Assad regime next door. Moreover, smugglers would be less free to continue activities that damage Lebanon’s economy and bring dangerous weapons into its territory. On the regional level, bolstering Lebanon’s sovereignty would help the international community put more pressure on Iran’s “land bridge” to Beirut and the Israeli frontier.

On the diplomatic level, the Caesar Act can be leveraged in two ways. First, it could help discourage efforts to normalize Lebanese relations with Syria so long as an unreformed regime holds power in Damascus. When Lebanese activists and opposition figures raised concerns last month about how fuel smuggling is hurting the economy, Hezbollah leader Hassan Nasrallah stated that the only solution is to normalize relations in order to properly coordinate with Syria on resolving the problem. The group prefers this solution because it needs to keep the estimated 120 illegal crossings under its control, instead of having the border demarcated and supervised by the Lebanese Armed Forces. Yet Lebanese citizens (and banks) can no longer afford the damage caused by loose borders and Hezbollah involvement in Syria.

Second, the Caesar Act can push Lebanon to suspend its longstanding military agreements and coordination bodies with Damascus. These include the Syrian Lebanese Higher Council, a body created by the 1991 Treaty of Brotherhood, Cooperation, and Coordination during the Syrian occupation. According to the pact—which was not abolished when Syrian troops left Lebanon in 2005—the two countries “shall endeavor to achieve the highest levels of cooperation and coordination in the political, economic, security, cultural, scientific, and other fields.” The treaty also provides a mechanism for institutionalizing this coordination via several bilateral committees. Moreover, the Defense and Security Agreement, signed later that year, calls for comprehensive coordination and cooperation between each country’s military, security, and intelligence establishments.

The Caesar Act is a strong instrument to reinforce the argument that Lebanon can no longer be tied to the current Syrian regime on the economic and security levels. In order to prevent a total economic collapse, the country needs to distance itself from the Assad-Iran axis and defy any normalization with the present regime in Damascus. The threat of Caesar sanctions is one way of prodding Lebanese citizens to realize that clear, firm distancing is a prerequisite for international aid.

At the same time, U.S. officials should emphasize that the legislation is not intended to harm Lebanese businesspeople who have not been involved in supporting the Assad regime. For many local industrialists, merchants, and farmers, Syria is the only land route to send their goods to the rest of the region. These businesses need to be reassured that Caesar is not meant to target them or further damage the fragile economy. Toward that end, the Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control should detail the types of legitimate cross-border trade and transshipment that will not be affected by the legislation.

Hanin Ghaddar is the Friedmann Fellow in The Washington Institute’s Geduld Program on Arab Politics.