أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3328

طريق لبنان المتعثر إلى اتفاق مع "صندوق النقد الدولي": التداعيات على السياسة الأمريكية

مارون حتي, جيسيكا عُبيد, و سامي نادر

متاح أيضاً في English

10 حزيران/يونيو 2020


"في 4 حزيران/يونيو، عقد معهد واشنطن منتدى سياسي افتراضي مع مارون حتي وجيسيكا عُبيد وسامي نادر. وقد شغل حِتّي حَتى وقت قريب منصب مستشار خاص لرئيس الحكومة اللبنانية للشؤون العسكرية. وعُبيد هي مستشارة للشؤون السياسية حيث تركز على تحويل الكهرباء والطاقة في الشرق الأوسط. ونادر هو مدير "معهد المشرق للشؤون الاستراتيجية" ومستشار سابق لوزير العمل اللبناني. وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهم".

اللواء مارون حتي

خلّفت الأزمة المالية الراهنة وقعاً رهيباً على الظروف المعيشية للجندي العادي في "الجيش اللبناني". وعلى الرغم من أن الوضع اليوم يختلف عن ذلك الذي واجهه "الجيش اللبناني" في منتصف الثمانينيات، إلا أن التاريخ قد يعيد نفسه إذا لم تعالَج الأزمة الحالية بشكل صحيح. فعندما تراجعت القوة الشرائية للجنود بشكل كبير خلال الحرب الأهلية اللبنانية، طلبوا المزيد من الإجازة لأن لديهم عائلات وكان عليهم إطعامها.

ويشكل "الجيش اللبناني" قوةً وطنية وعينةً عن المجتمع اللبناني على السواء. وقد صرّح قائده العام أن هذا "الجيش" سيحمي أولئك المتظاهرين حول قضايا مختلفة، بينما سيضمن في الوقت نفسه حرية التنقل والتعبير لدى المواطنين الآخرين. وقد تمكّنت قوات الجيش حتى الآن من اعتماد مقاربة متوازنة بهذا الشأن. ولعل أفضل طريقة لوصف الديناميكية بين «حزب الله» و"الجيش اللبناني" هي بالقول إنّها قائمة على فض النزاعات وفقاً للمصالح وعلى أساس كل حالة على حدة. فهي ليست تنسيق ولا تعاون.

وغني عن البيان مدى التقدم الذي أحرزه "الجيش اللبناني" كمؤسسة أمنية وطنية وشريك دولي لجيوش أخرى. فمنذ عام 2005، تعاقبت على قيادة "الجيش" أجيالٌ ازدادت قناعةً وجرأة بأن "الجيش اللبناني" قادر على الاضطلاع بالدور الرئيسي في الأمن القومي اللبناني. واليوم، يمثل هذا "الجيش" نقطة مفصلية يتحول فيها من مرحلة اكتساب القوة وتكوينها إلى مرحلة استدامتها وترسيخها. يجب على الولايات المتحدة والشركاء المانحين الآخرين أن يحافظوا على المساعدة العسكرية الحالية لـ "الجيش اللبناني". وقد أثار المسؤولون الأمريكيون أسئلةً جدية حول حجم هذا التمويل، إلّا أن ترْكْ فراغ في المساعدات المقدمة لـ "الجيش اللبناني" سيُعتبر بمثابة هزيمة للبنان. ولم تضع الولايات المتحدة أي شروط رسمية على الإطلاق لتوفير هذه الأموال للبنان.

جيسيكا عُبيد

يقع قطاع الطاقة في لبنان في صلب الأزمة الاقتصادية والمالية في البلاد. فهو يسبب عجزاً مالياً سنوياً يبلغ معدله حوالي 1,6 مليار دولار، اعتماداً على أسعار النفط، الأمر الذي أدى إلى مساهمة إجمالية بنسبة 43 في المائة في الدين العام (ما يعادل 40 مليار دولار تقريباً). ويشتري لبنان أكثر مما يحتاج إليه، كما أن شبكته الكهربائية ضعيفة. ويتكبد خسائر تقنية عالية إلى جانب خسائر كبيرة غير تقنية، فضلاً عن نقص كبير في الكهرباء. وكان قد تم بناء أحدث محطة لتوليد الكهرباء في لبنان منذ عشرين عاماً.

ولمعالجة هذه المشاكل، تحتاج البلاد إلى زيادة قدرتها على توليد الطاقة، وتعزيز شبكاتها للتوزيع والنقل، والتحوّل إلى الغاز الطبيعي لتوليد الطاقة، وقطع الاتصالات غير القانونية بشكل كبير. يجب أيضاً إصلاح أنظمة إعداد الفواتير والجباية في البلاد، مع ضرورة إضافة الموارد المتجددة إلى مجال الطاقة. وعلى الرغم من ضرورة هذه الجهود، إلّا أنه لم يتم تطبيق أيٍّ منها منذ ما يقرب من ثلاثة عقود، ويقع اللوم في ذلك على النظام السياسي في البلاد. وفي الواقع، أعاق [هذا] النظام أي نوع من النمو الاقتصادي أو الإصلاحات في مختلف القطاعات، وهي حقيقة أكثر وضوحاً في قطاع الطاقة، الذي تتجذر مشكلاته التقنية والمالية بعمق في الحوكمة والعيوب الهيكلية داخل مؤسسات الدولة.

ونظراً إلى إمكانية حصول لبنان على حزمة تمويل من "صندوق النقد الدولي"، فتتمثل المقاربة الأبسط في إجراء إصلاحات تقنية ومالية معينة - على سبيل المثال، سوف يتطلع "صندوق النقد" لمعرفة ما إذا كان بإمكان بيروت تقليل العجز المالي. ومع ذلك، لا تكفي هذه الإصلاحات وحدها لمعالجة مشاكل لبنان الكامنة في مؤسساته. فالتكلفة المحلية للكهرباء مرتفعة للغاية، لذلك قد تبقى الديون حتى إذا تم خفض الإعانات الحكومية إلى مستوىً ميسور. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن أي إصلاحات [يجري القيام بها] ستواجه عقبات رئيسية لأن الحكومة اللبنانية لا تزال تعمل وفق اسلوب "العمل كالمعتاد"، خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بقطاع الطاقة. وبالتالي، ففي غياب الشفافية والمساءلة، من غير المرجح أن تكسب الحكومة تأييداً علنياً بشأن إصلاح قطاع الكهرباء. وبعد ثلاثة عقود من الإنتاج العالي المتصوّر، من غير المرجح أن يلتزم القطاع الخاص والمستثمرون بأي استثمار رأسمالي لتصحيح الأزمة المالية الحالية.

ومع ذلك، هناك بعض الدروس الرئيسية التي يمكن تعلّمها من إصلاحات قطاع الطاقة في البلدان النامية. على سبيل المثال، يمكن تقديم الدعم لقطاع الطاقة في لبنان بشرط تبنّي الحكومة خطة مستدامة ذات إستراتيجية أقل تكلفة. كما يجب أن تكون بيروت أكثر شفافية في هذه القضايا؛ ويشمل ذلك تعيين مُنظّم/جهاز تنظيم مستقل قادر على تجاوز النفوذ السياسي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجب أن تكون البلاد وقطاع الطاقة على السواء قادرَيْن على اجتذاب الاستثمارات - وهي عقبة مشتركة عندما تعمل دولة نامية على تنفيذ إصلاحات. وتستخدم بيروت حالياً مشاكلها المالية كذريعة لإجراء مفاوضات مباشرة، وغير شفافة حول هذه الأمور، وهي استراتيجية يمكن أن تأتي بنتائج عكسية.

سامي نادر

ساعد وباء "كوفيد -19" الحكومة اللبنانية الحالية من جهة معينة - من خلال إبعاد المتظاهرين عن الشوارع - لكنه أدى أيضاً إلى تضخيم الأزمة الاقتصادية التي كانت قائمة مسبقاً. ولم تقم الحكومة بأي إصلاحات لوقف هذا الانهيار الاقتصادي، على الرغم من أن مثل هذه الإجراءات حاسمة لتلبية شروط اتفاقية "صندوق النقد الدولي". وجرت محاولات لتعيين مسؤولين جدد في النظام القضائي والمصرف المركزي، ولكن التعيينات في كلا المجالَين قد توقفت. كما تم اقتراح القيام بإجراء لمراقبة رأس المال، على الرغم من سحبه بسبب فشله في الحصول على موافقة البرلمان. وأحد شروط حزمة "صندوق النقد الدولي" هو إحداث إصلاح في قطاع الكهرباء. ومع ذلك، اقتصرت الحكومة حتى الآن على النظر في خطة كهرباء ثالثة دون محاولة إجراء تغيير أعمق.

ويختلف الوضع الحالي عما كان عليه حين بدأت الاحتجاجات في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر. وإجمالاً، يعتبر الشعب اللبناني فقيراً. وقد فقدت الليرة اللبنانية ما يقرب من 200 بالمائة من قيمتها، كما أن الدولار الأمريكي الذي كان يتداول بسعر 1،500 ليرة تداول مؤخراً بسعر 4،000 ليرة [وأثناء كتابة هذه السطور، تراجعت الليرة اللبنانية إلى أكثر من 5،000 مقابل الدولار]. ولا يمكن حتى العثور على الدولارات في السوق. وقد بلغ العجز في ميزان المدفوعات في البلاد إلى مستويات مقلقة، وسيفتقر لبنان قريباً إلى الأموال اللازمة لتمويل الاحتياجات الأساسية مثل القمح والأدوية والنفط والغاز. كما أن درجة غضب المتظاهرين هي اليوم أعلى شأناً لأنهم مستاؤون من الحكومة الحالية ومن عدم تطبيق الإصلاحات الاقتصادية اللازمة. إلا أن القوى السياسية التقليدية في البلاد تشكل أكبر العراقيل أمام الإصلاح. فصلاحية صنع القرار في أي مسألة تكمن في يد «حزب الله» وحلفائه. وهناك قلق من أن يؤدي استمرار البؤس الاقتصادي إلى انقسام المتظاهرين، وبذلك يتسنى لـ «حزب الله» والأحزاب الأخرى استغلال هذا الانقسام.

بإمكان المجتمع الدولي أن يساعد جهود "صندوق النقد الدولي" للدفع باتجاه [تطبيق خطط] للإصلاح في لبنان. فالشروط التي تستوجبها حزمة "صندوق النقد" أكثر أهمية من جوانبها المالية. ويقسّم النظام السياسي في لبنان القطاعات الاقتصادية في البلاد بين مختلف الأحزاب، حيث يسيطر "التيار الوطني الحر" على قطاع الكهرباء، و«حزب الله» على الجمارك والحدود، بينما تسيطر حركة «أمل» على وزارة المالية، ويسيطر حزب آخر على قطاع الاتصالات. وبين عامي 2008 و 2012، استمدت الأحزاب السياسية تمويلها من قوى إقليمية خارجية. ومنذ ذلك الحين، جعلت العقوبات وأسعار النفط المنخفضة مثل هذا الهيكل التمويلي مستحيلاً، لذا لجأت الأحزاب اللبنانية إلى القطاعات الاقتصادية كمصدر بديل للتمويل. وهكذا يبدأ الإصلاح بمنع الأحزاب السياسية من تمويل نفسها بالأموال العامة.

من الضروري على الأطراف الدولية الفاعلة إعطاء الأولوية لثلاث نقاط عندما يتعلق الأمر بلبنان. أولاً، عليها أن تضغط على الدولة لإنجاز الإصلاحات، وأفضل طريقة لتحقيق ذلك هي التشجيع على  تشكيل حكومة لبنانية مستقلة بالفعل. ثانياً، عليها حماية المتظاهرين وحريتهم في التعبير، فعمليات الإعدام الأخيرة بحق المتظاهرين مرفوضة [تماماً]. ثالثاً، عليها مساعدة لبنان على تحقيق استقلالية القضاء، وهو جهد منخفض التكلفة ولكنه ذو عائد مرتفع.

 

أعد هذا الملخص كيفن ماتيسون. أمكن تنفيذ سلسلة برامج منتدى السياسات بفضل سخاء "عائلة فلورنس وروبرت كوفمان".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3328

Lebanon's Bumpy Road to an IMF Deal: Implications for U.S. Policy

Maroun Hitti, Jessica Obeid, and Sami Nader

Also available in العربية

June 10, 2020


A former senior Lebanese official joins two experts to discuss the country's growing financial crisis and the deep institutional problems it must address in order to meet IMF reform requirements.

On June 4, The Washington Institute held a virtual Policy Forum with Maroun Hitti, Jessica Obeid, and Sami Nader. Hitti served until recently as special defense and military advisor to the president of Lebanon’s Council of Ministers. Obeid is a policy consultant focusing on electricity and energy transition in the Middle East. Nader is the director of the Levant Institute for Strategic Affairs and a former advisor to Lebanon's minister of labor. The following is a rapporteur’s summary of their remarks.

BRIG. GEN. MAROUN HITTI

The current financial crisis has had a terrible impact on the quality of life for the average soldier in the Lebanese Armed Forces. Although today’s situation differs from that faced by the LAF in the mid-1980s, history could repeat itself if the current crisis is not properly addressed. When their purchasing power dramatically declined during the Lebanese civil war, soldiers asked for more leave because they had families to feed.

The LAF is both a national force and a sample of Lebanese society. Its commander-in-chief has stated that the LAF will protect those demonstrating against various issues while at the same time ensuring that other citizens have freedom of movement and expression. The force has thus far been able to maintain a balanced approach. The dynamic between Hezbollah and the LAF is best described as a case-by-case, interest-based deconfliction. It is neither coordination nor cooperation.

It cannot be stated enough how far the LAF has come as a national security institution and as an international partner for other armies. Since 2005, successive generations of LAF leadership have grown more confident, emboldened by the idea that the LAF can play the main role in Lebanon’s national security. Today is a turning point that marks a shift from acquisition and force buildup to sustainment and force consolidation. The United States and other donor partners must maintain their current levels of military assistance to the LAF. U.S. officials have been raising serious questions about the scale of that funding, but leaving a void in assistance to the LAF would be perceived as a defeat for Lebanon. The United States has never officially placed conditions on providing these funds to Lebanon.

JESSICA OBEID

Lebanon’s power sector is at the heart of the country’s economic and fiscal crisis. The sector causes an average annual fiscal deficit of around $1.6 billion, depending on oil prices, which has led to a total contribution of 43 percent to the public debt (equivalent to almost $40 billion). Lebanon buys more than it needs, and its power grid is weak. There are high technical losses but also high non-technical losses, as well as substantial shortages in electricity. Lebanon’s newest power plant was built twenty years ago.

To address these problems, the country needs to add power-generation capacity, enhance its distribution and transmission networks, switch to natural gas for power generation, and drastically cut down on illegal connections. Its billing and collection systems also need to be fixed, and renewables need to be added to the energy mix. Despite the necessity of these efforts, none of them have been implemented in almost three decades, and the country’s political system is to blame. Indeed, the system has hindered any kind of economic growth or sectoral reforms, a fact that is most evident in the power sector, whose technical and financial problems are deeply rooted in governance and structural flaws within the country’s institutions.

Given the possibility that Lebanon may receive an IMF funding package, the simplest approach would be to institute certain technical and financial reforms—for example, the IMF would look to see if Beirut can reduce the fiscal deficit. However, such reforms would not by themselves solve Lebanon’s underlying institutional problems. The domestic cost of electricity is very high, so even if national subsidies were reduced to an affordable level, debt would persist. Moreover, any reforms will face major obstacles because the Lebanese government is still acting in a “business as usual” mode, especially where the power sector is concerned. Thus, in the absence of transparency and accountability, the government is unlikely to get public buy-in on electricity reform. After three decades of perceived high production, it is unlikely that the private sector and investors will commit any capital investment to rectify the current financial crisis.

Even so, there are some major lessons to be learned from power sector reforms in developing countries. For example, support could be offered to Lebanon’s power sector on condition that the government adopt a sustainable plan with a least-cost strategy. Beirut also needs to be more transparent on these issues; this includes appointing an independent regulator who is able to bypass political influence. In addition, both the country and the power sector must be able to attract investments—a common obstacle when a developing nation is implementing reforms. Currently, Beirut is using its financial problems as an excuse to conduct direct, non-transparent negotiations on these matters, a strategy that could backfire.

SAMI NADER

COVID-19 has helped the current Lebanese government in one sense—by keeping protestors off the streets—but it has also amplified the preexisting economic crisis. The government has made no reforms to stop this economic collapse, even though such measures are critical to meeting the conditions of an IMF deal. There have been attempts to nominate new officials for the judicial system and central bank, but both efforts have stalled. A capital control measure was also proposed, though it was withdrawn when it failed to pass parliament. One condition of the IMF package is reform in the electricity sector; thus far, however, the government has limited itself to considering a third electricity plan without attempting deeper change.

The current situation is different from when the protests began in October. As a whole, the Lebanese people are poor. The Lebanese pound has lost almost 200 percent of its value, and U.S. dollars that used to trade at 1,500 are now trading at 4,000. Dollars cannot even be found on the market. The country’s payment deficit has reached an alarming level, and Lebanon will soon lack the funds to finance basic needs such as wheat, medicine, oil, and gas. The level of anger among protestors is also higher today because they are frustrated with the current government and the fact that the necessary economic reforms are not being carried out. But the biggest impediments to reform are the country’s traditional political forces. Hezbollah and its allies are the decisionmakers for every issue. There is concern that continued economic misery will divide the protestors, allowing Hezbollah and other parties to exploit the fragmentation.

The international community can help the IMF’s efforts to push for reform in Lebanon. The conditions set by the IMF package are more important than its financial aspect. Lebanon’s political system divides the country’s economic sectors among various parties. The Free Patriotic Movement controls the electricity sector, Hezbollah controls customs and the borders, Amal controls the Finance Ministry, and yet another party controls the telecom sector. From 2008 to 2012, political parties were funded by external regional powers. Sanctions and low oil prices have since made such a funding structure impossible, so Lebanon’s parties have turned to economic sectors as an alternative funding source. Reform thus starts with barring political parties from financing themselves with public funds.

International actors need to prioritize three points when it comes to Lebanon. First, they need to push the country on reforms, and the best way to achieve this is to encourage the formation of a truly independent Lebanese government. Second, they need to protect the protestors and their freedom of expression. Recent executions of protestors are unacceptable. Third, they must help Lebanon work toward an independent judiciary, a low-cost but high-return effort.

This summary was prepared by Kevin Mathieson. The Policy Forum series is made possible through the generosity of the Florence and Robert Kaufman Family.