أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3272

الاستراتيجية الجديدة لـ «حزب الله» لتخطي الأزمة المالية في لبنان

حنين غدار

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

2 آذار/مارس 2020


خلال الزيارة التي قام بها مسؤولون من "صندوق النقد الدولي" إلى لبنان في أواخر الشهر الماضي وسط التراجع الاقتصادي السريع للبلاد، تساءل الكثيرون عمّا إذا كانت هذه التطورات قد تغير سلوك «حزب الله»، الجماعة التي صنفتها [الولايات المتحدة] منظمة إرهابية والتي لها حصة مالية عميقة في القطاعين العام والخاص في لبنان. وخلال أزمة تمويل سابقة مر بها التنظيم - زيادة العقوبات الأمريكية ضد ضامن التعهد الرئيسي للحزب، إيران - عمد «حزب الله» مع رعاته الأجانب إلى وضع استراتيجية جديدة تهدف إلى التهرب من هذه التدابير وإيجاد مصادر تمويل بديلة. وسمحت هذه المصادر لـ «حزب الله» بالوصول إلى الوكالات الحكومية بعد الانتخابات البرلمانية عام 2018. على سبيل المثال، أصر قادة الحزب على السيطرة على وزارة الصحة، التي تشرف على رابع أكبر ميزانية في لبنان بمبلغ 338 مليون دولار في السنة؛ كما اكتسبوا مزيد من الوصول إلى وزارة الأشغال العامة والنقل، ووزارة الزراعة، ووزارة الطاقة والمياه، التي استُخدمت مساعداتها لتمويل مشاريعهم وأعمالهم التجارية المتصلة بهذه الوزارات.

ونجحت هذه الاستراتيجية إلى أن بدأ الاقتصاد اللبناني في الانخفاض. وسجَّل معدل البطالة ارتفاعاً قياسياً بلغ 40 في المائة، وتراجعت الليرة اللبنانية بنحو 60 في المائة في السوق الموازية، مما زاد التضخم. وحيث ترتبط العملة رسمياً بالدولار، فقد هبطت بنسبة 40 في المائة في السوق السوداء حيث تقتصد البنوك المحلية الدولارات اللازمة لاستيراد المواد الغذائية والأدوية والسلع الأساسية الأخرى. وفي هذا السياق، يوجد في لبنان واحدة من أعلى نسب الدَيْن إلى "الناتج المحلي الإجمالي" في العالم (أكثر من 150 في المائة)، وقد لا يتمكن (لبنان) من تسديد سندات "اليورو بوند" المستحقة بقيمة 1,2 مليار دولار هذا الشهر. ولكن كما حدث في ظل العقوبات المفروضة على إيران، يملك «حزب الله» استراتيجية كفيلة بتخطي هذه الضغوط المحلية، على الأقل في المدى القريب.

محادثات "صندوق النقد الدولي" مجرد لتشتيت الانتباه

سعياً لكسب المزيد من الوقت لإيجاد مصادر تمويل بديلة وتنميتها، أعطى «حزب الله» بركته للحكومة التي تشكلت حديثاً والتي يسيطر عليها الحزب لاستقبال وفدٍ صغير من "صندوق النقد الدولي" الشهر الماضي. وأوضح مسؤولو «حزب الله» جلياً أن هذه ما هي إلا مساعدة فنية غير ملزِمة ولن تُتَرجم أبداً إلى برنامج كامل يطبّقه "صندوق النقد الدولي" في لبنان. وخلال مؤتمر صحفي في 25 شباط/فبراير، قال نائب الأمين العام للحزب نعيم قاسم، "نحن لا نقبل الخضوع لـ «صندوق النقد الدولي» ليدير الأزمة"، مما قلل من أهمية «حزب الله» كأداة إمبريالية.

إن مقاومة الحزب لانخراط أعمق من "صندوق النقد الدولي" متأصلة في الواقع المتمثل بأن برنامج المساعدة الكاملة سيسمح لـ "الصندوق" بالوصول إلى مؤسسات الدولة الكبرى وفرض إصلاحات جدية فيها، وبالتالي زعزعة نظام المحسوبية الذي يعتمده «حزب الله» وفضح عملياته المالية للمجتمع الدولي. على سبيل المثال، من شأن أحد الإصلاحات المقترحة أن يغلق جميع نقاط الدخول غير القانونية بين لبنان وسوريا مع ممارسة المزيد من السيطرة على الموانئ الجوية والبحرية في البلاد - وهي نتيجة من شأنها أن تعيق بشكل خطير تهريب الحزب للسلع والأسلحة. وقضية مهمة أخرى لـ "صندوق النقد الدولي" هي قطاع الكهرباء، الذي يفضل الحزب تركه دون إصلاح لأنه يستفيد من قطاع الطاقة البديلة (على سبيل المثال، أقامت كيانات «حزب الله» شبكات مولدات كبيرة يمكنها توفير الطاقة لأحياء بأكملها، ثم فرضت رسوم على السكان مقابل الخدمة التي من المفترض أن تقدمها الدولة).

في الوقت نفسه، يرحّب «حزب الله» على الأرجح بمناقشات أولية غير ملزمة مع "صندوق النقد الدولي" لتشتيت الانتباه عن أهدافه الحقيقية، وهي تنفيذ استراتيجية تمكّنه من الاحتفاظ بسلطته في لبنان خلال الانهيار الاقتصادي وبعده، وإصلاح صورته المشوّهة داخل المجتمع الشيعي، والأهم من ذلك، تأمين مصادر التمويل القادرة على الصمود بوجه الانهيار. وهناك أساليب عديدة سيتبعها الحزب لتحقيق هذه الأهداف.

تعزيز المنتجات الإيرانية وتهريبها

يستغل «حزب الله» الأزمة الاقتصادية للترويج للمنتجات الإيرانية في لبنان، والتي يتم جلبها معفاة من الضرائب وبالتالي فهي رخيصة للغاية. فبعد أن أطلق الحزب حملته الداعية إلى مقاطعة المنتجات الأمريكية في الشهر الماضي، بدأ العديد من مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي التابعة للحزب بالترويج للسلع الإيرانية كبديل عنها. ولا يخفى على أحد أن طهران تغمر السوق اللبناني بمختلف المنتجات منذ سنوات، ومن المرجح أن تستمر في تسريع هذه الجهود وسط ضغوط مستمرة. فبين عامي 2017 و 2019، على سبيل المثال، أفادت بعض التقارير أن واردات الصلب الإيراني إلى لبنان قفزت من13,000  دولار إلى 1.4 مليون دولار. كما تُشكل الأدوية الإيرانية واردات مهمة أخرى يروج لها «حزب الله». وقد لفتت وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية إلى هذا الرابط في 26 شباط/فبراير حين فرضت تصنيفات إرهابية على العديد من شركات الأدوية اللبنانية المتعاملة مع "مؤسسة الشهيد" التابعة لـ «حزب الله».

ولتفادي هذا الضغط والحفاظ على تدفق البضائع الإيرانية، قام «حزب الله» مؤخراً بزيادة عمليات التهريب - ليس فقط على طول الحدود اللبنانية -السورية، بل أيضاً إلى بقية المنطقة. ومعظم التجار والزبائن المتورطين في هذه التجارة غير النظامية - وغير المشروعة في غالب الأحيان - هم أشخاص مقرّبون من شبكات الأعمال التجارية والدعم التابعة لـ «حزب الله»، مما قد يسمح للحزب بالخروج من الانهيار الاقتصادي أقل تضرراً من بقية المؤسسات اللبنانية.

رفع شأن "مؤسسة القرض الحسن"

عندما بدأت المصارف اللبنانية في الحد من سحب الدولار الأمريكي في أواخر تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، قرر العديد من المودّعين سحب أكبر قدر ممكن من الدولارات نقداً. وهكذا، تم سحب ما يقدر بنحو 5 مليارات دولار في الأشهر الأربعة الماضية وحدها.

ويحاول «حزب الله» الاستفادة من هذا الاحتياطي النقدي العام غير الرسمي بطريقتين. أولاً، تكثيف خطاباته المعادية للنظام المصرفي من أجل صرف الغضب الشعبي عن دور «حزب الله» نفسه في الفساد المتفشي. ثانياً، تشجيع الشعب على الاستعانة بمؤسسات الحزب المالية لإجراء عمليات التبادل والإيداع لأموالهم - وخصوصاً "مؤسسة القرض الحسن" المصنفة على قائمة الإرهاب الأمريكية والتي أصبحت مؤخراً المؤسسة الرئيسية التي يستخدمها الحزب في معاملاته المالية، والبديل الافتراضي عن المصارف لمناصريه الشيعة. ومع تدهور الاقتصاد اللبناني بصورة أكثر، قد يشعر المزيد من المواطنين بأنهم مضطرون إلى اللجوء إلى مثل هذه المؤسسات، التي من المحتمل أن يكون الدولار الأمريكي مُتاح لها بأسعار أرخص من الأسواق السوداء.

إضفاء الشرعية على الماريجوانا

تخلّى «حزب الله» مؤخراً عن اعتراضه التاريخي الدقيق على تشريع الحشيشة أو الماريجوانا، مما أثار تساؤلات عن دوافعه. وفي 26 شباط/فبراير، تم السماح أخيراً لمجلس النواب اللبناني بالموافقة على مشروع قانون تأجل طويلاً يشرّع زراعة الماريجوانا لأغراض طبية وصناعية.

ويعتقد العديد من السكان المحليين أن هذه الخطوة يمكن أن تفيد لبنان اقتصادياً، حيث تصنفه الأمم المتحدة رابع أكبر منتج للماريجوانا في العالم. ومع ذلك، يشعر آخرون بالقلق من أن «حزب الله» سيكون المستفيد الرئيسي نظراً لسيطرته على مؤسسات الدولة التي ستحدد كيفية إدارة هذا القطاع واستخدامه.

التخلص من بري

عندما خرج المحتجون الشيعة اللبنانيون إلى الشوارع في مدن النبطية وصور وبعلبك، استنتج «حزب الله» على ما يبدو أن مناصريه بدأوا يخرجون عن نطاق سيطرته. ورغم أن تلك التظاهرات كانت تندد بالفساد عموماً، إلا أنها استهدفت «حزب الله» بشكل غير مباشر باعتباره الحامي الرئيسي للسياسيين الفاسدين. ففي نظر الشيعة المحليين، كان أبرز هؤلاء السياسيين نبيه بري، رئيس مجلس النواب ورئيس «حركة أمل» - الشريك السياسي المنافس لـ «حزب الله».

ولمعالجة هذه المشكلة وإعادة بناء صورته بين الشيعة، يخطط «حزب الله» للإطاحة ببري، وبذلك يضرب عصفورين بحجر واحد: الإثبات للمجتمع الشيعي أنه لن يحمي الفساد بعد الآن، والاستئثار بحصة بري من مؤسسات الدولة وشبكات الأعمال الشيعية. وفي الواقع أن مساعي استبدال بري كرئيس مجلس النواب جارية منذ فترة، وأبرز المرشحين لهذا المنصب هما المدير العام السابق للأمن العام والحليف المقرب من نظام الأسد السوري، جميل السيد والمدير العام الحالي عباس ابراهيم.

التوصيات

إنّ استراتيجية «حزب الله» الجديدة قد تساعده على الصمود، لكن ليس لفترة طويلة. فعندما أعلن الحزب اعتراضه على تطبيق برنامج "صندوق النقد الدولي" في لبنان، فإنه لم يقدّم أي بديل لإنقاذ الدولة من الإفلاس المحتّم. ولا يمكن لمخطط «حزب الله» الاستمرار دون هيكل دولة على الأقل. ويدرك مسؤولو الحزب هذه المهلة الزمنية، وعلى غرار رعاتهم في إيران، يبدو أنهم يأملون في أن تسفر الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عن مجئ إدارة جديدة تكون على استعداد لتخفيف سياسة الضغط الأقصى.

ومن أجل التصدي لمخطط «حزب الله» ومساعدة الشعب اللبناني على النجاة من هذه الأزمة، يجب على الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها توسيع نطاق العقوبات ضد الأفراد الفاسدين. فالحزب يعتمد على حلفاء له من مختلف الطوائف وعلى نظام الفساد المستشري في جميع أنحاء البلاد الذي يحمي مصالحه في الموانئ البحرية والمطارات وطرق التهريب غير القانونية. لذا يشكل "قانون ماغنيتسكي العالمي" أداةً مناسبة للتعامل مع هذه المسألة والاستجابة لمتطلبات المتظاهرين.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، في حين أن إنقاذ الحكومة الراهنة [من خلال تزويدها بالمساعدات المالية اللازمة] لإخراجها من أزمتها لن يؤدي إلّا إلى تفاقم المشكلة، إلّا أن تقديم المساعدات الإنسانية قد يسهم في مواجهة المحاولات التي يبذلها «حزب الله» للترويج للأدوية الإيرانية وغيرها من السلع الأساسية. يجب أن يتم هذا الجهد من خلال المنظمات الدولية العاملة بالفعل في لبنان، وليس عن طريق المنظمات الحكومية أو البلديات المحلية التي يمكن أن تفيد «حزب الله» والنظام الفاسد.

أخيراً، يجب على واشنطن مواصلة الضغط على القوات المسلحة اللبنانية لحماية المتظاهرين ومعاقبة جميع الوحدات والضباط الذين يرتكبون انتهاكات ضدهم. فاستراتيجية «حزب الله» لن تجدي نفعاً إلا إذا بقي النظام الحالي والنخبة السياسية على حالها - أي أن البرلمان الذي يسيطر عليه «حزب الله» هو الذي يمكنه فقط أن يضمن تعيين المرشحين المفضلين للحزب لمناصب رئيس مجلس النواب، ورئيس الجمهورية والمناصب الأمنية، والحفاظ على مصادر تمويله البديلة. وما زال المحتجون يطالبون بإجراء انتخابات مبكرة [وسَنْ] قانون انتخابي تمثيلي حقاً يمكن أن يغيّر تشكيل الهيئة التشريعية بشكل كبير. يجب على واشنطن وحلفائها أن يستغلوا هذا الزخم بينما لا يزال متّقداً، ويعرقلوا مخطط صمود «حزب الله» في طور ذلك.

 

حنين غدار هي زميلة زائرة في زمالة "فريدمان" في "برنامج غيدولد للسياسة العربية" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3272

Hezbollah Has a New Strategy to Survive Lebanon’s Financial Crisis

Hanin Ghaddar

Also available in العربية فارسی

March 2, 2020


Unless Washington and its allies respond to the protestors’ legitimate demands for reform, the group will survive through measures such as expanding its smuggling activity, promoting its financial institutions, and selectively scapegoating corrupt politicians.

When IMF officials visited Lebanon late last month amid its accelerating economic freefall, many wondered whether these developments might alter the behavior of Hezbollah, the designated terrorist group that has a deep financial stake in the country’s public and private sectors. During a previous funding crisis—the increase in U.S. sanctions against the group’s chief underwriter, Iran—the “Party of God” and its foreign sponsors formulated a new strategy to evade these measures and create alternative sources of funding. Such sources allowed Hezbollah to make further inroads into government agencies following the 2018 parliamentary elections. For example, the group’s leaders insisted on controlling the Health Ministry, which commands Lebanon’s fourth-largest budget at $338 million per year; they also gained more access to the Ministry of Public Works and Transport, the Agriculture Ministry, and the Ministry of Energy and Water, whose assistance was used to fund their affiliated projects and businesses.

That worked until Lebanon’s own economy began its current nosedive. Unemployment has hit a record high of 40 percent, and the lira has slumped by about 60 percent on the parallel market, hiking inflation. Officially pegged to the dollar, the currency has plummeted 40 percent on the black market as local banks ration dollars necessary for imports of food, medicine, and other essential goods. Meanwhile, Lebanon has one of the highest debt-to-GDP ratios in the world (over 150 percent) and may not be able to pay $1.2 billion in Eurobonds this month. As with the Iran sanctions, however, Hezbollah has a strategy to survive this domestic pressure, at least in the near term.

IMF TALKS JUST A DISTRACTION

To buy more time for establishing and cultivating alternative funding sources, Hezbollah gave its blessing for the newly formed government it controls to receive a small delegation from the IMF last month. Hezbollah officials made very clear that this was nonbinding technical assistance and would never materialize into a full IMF program for Lebanon. “We do not accept submitting to the International Monetary Fund to manage the crisis,” said deputy leader Naim Qassem during a February 25 press conference, disparaging the organization as an imperialist tool.

The group’s resistance to deeper IMF involvement is rooted in the fact that a full assistance program would allow the Fund to access major state institutions and impose serious reforms, thereby shaking Hezbollah’s clientelist system and exposing its financial operations to the international community. For example, one proposed reform would close all illegal points of entry between Lebanon and Syria while exerting more control over the country’s air and sea ports—an outcome that would seriously impede the group’s smuggling of goods and weapons. Another top IMF issue is the electricity sector, which the group would prefer to leave unreformed because it benefits from the alternative energy sector (e.g., Hezbollah entities set up large generator networks that can provide power to whole neighborhoods, then charge residents a premium for a service that is supposed to be provided by the state).  

At the same time, Hezbollah likely welcomes initial, noncommittal IMF discussions as a distraction from its real goals: implementing a strategy to maintain power in Lebanon during and after its economic collapse, repairing its tarnished image within the Shia community, and, most important, securing sources of funding that can withstand the crash. Its methods of achieving these goals are numerous.

PROMOTING AND SMUGGLING IRANIAN PRODUCTS

Hezbollah has been taking advantage of the economic crisis to promote Iranian products in Lebanon, which are brought in tax free and are therefore very cheap. After the group launched its campaign to boycott American products last month, many of its social media outlets started promoting Iranian goods as replacements. It is no secret that Tehran has been flooding the Lebanese market with various products for years and will likely continue accelerating these efforts amid ongoing pressure. Between 2017 and 2019, for example, Iranian steel imports to Lebanon reportedly jumped from $13,000 to $1.4 million. Medications are another major Iranian import that Hezbollah promotes. On February 26, the U.S. Treasury Department highlighted this link by slapping terrorist designations on several Lebanese pharmaceutical companies affiliated with Hezbollah’s Martyrs Foundation.

To sidestep such pressure and maintain the flow of Iranian goods, Hezbollah recently increased its smuggling operations—not only along the Lebanon-Syria border, but also to the rest of the region. Most of the merchants and customers involved in this unregulated, often illegal trade are close to Hezbollah’s business and support networks, potentially allowing the group to emerge from the economic crash less damaged than the rest of Lebanon’s businesses.

ELEVATING AL-QARD AL-HASSAN

When Lebanese banks began limiting the withdrawal of U.S. dollars in late October, many depositors decided to take out as many dollars as they could in cash. An estimated $5 billion has been withdrawn in the past four months alone.

Hezbollah is trying to benefit from this unofficial public cash reserve in two ways. First, it is intensifying its rhetoric against the banking system in order to divert public ire from the group’s own role in rampant corruption. Second, it is encouraging people to use Hezbollah financial institutions to exchange and deposit their money—especially al-Qard al-Hassan, a U.S.-designated foundation that has recently become the group’s main money exchanger and the default bank replacement for its Shia constituency. As the economy deteriorates further, more citizens may feel compelled to resort to such institutions, which will likely have U.S. dollars available at cheaper rates than the black markets.

LEGALIZING MARIJUANA

Hezbollah recently abandoned its history of nuanced objection to marijuana legalization, raising questions about its motives. On February 26, parliament was finally permitted to approve a long-delayed bill legalizing the crop’s cultivation for medical and industrial purposes.

Many locals believe that this step could benefit Lebanon economically, since the UN ranks the country as the world’s fourth-largest producer of marijuana. Yet others worry that Hezbollah will be the prime beneficiary given its control over the state institutions that will determine how this sector is managed and utilized.

GETTING RID OF BERRI

When Lebanese Shia protestors took to the streets in the cities of Nabatiyah, Tyre, and Baalbek, Hezbollah seemingly concluded that its constituency was getting out of control. Although these demonstrations were against corruption in general, they indirectly targeted Hezbollah as the main protector of corrupt politicians. In the eyes of local Shia, the most prominent of these politicians is Nabih Berri, the speaker of parliament and head of Hezbollah rival-cum-political partner the Amal Movement.

To resolve this issue and reconstruct its image among the Shia, Hezbollah is planning to throw Berri under the bus. Doing so would allow the group to kill two birds with one stone: proving to the Shia community that it will no longer protect corruption, and taking over Berri’s share within state institutions and Shia business networks. Replacing Berri as speaker has already been in the works for a while, with two candidates leading the pack: Jamil Assayed, the former head of General Security and a close ally to Syria’s Assad regime, and Abbas Ibrahim, the current head of General Security.

RECOMMENDATIONS

Hezbollah’s new strategy can help it survive, but not for too long. When the group stated its objection to an IMF program for Lebanon, it did not offer an alternative to save the state from eventual bankruptcy. Without at least the shell of a state, Hezbollah’s plan cannot be sustained. The group’s officials are aware of this time limit and, much like their patrons in Iran, appear to hope that the U.S. presidential election in November brings in a new administration willing to ease the maximum pressure policy.

To counter Hezbollah’s plan and help the Lebanese people survive this crisis, the United States and its allies should expand the sanctions against corrupt individuals. The group relies on allies from all sects and on the countrywide system of corruption that protects its interests in the seaport, airport, and illegal smuggling routes. The U.S. Global Magnitsky Act is a good tool for tackling this issue and responding to the demands of demonstrators.

Moreover, while bailing out the current government would only make the problem worse, providing humanitarian aid could help counter Hezbollah’s attempts to promote Iranian medications and other essential goods. This effort should be conducted via international organizations already working in Lebanon, not through government organizations or local municipalities that could benefit Hezbollah and the corrupt system.

Finally, Washington should keep pushing the Lebanese Armed Forces to protect protestors and punish all units and officers who commit violations against them. Hezbollah’s strategy can only work if the current system and political elite remain intact—that is, only a Hezbollah-controlled parliament can ensure that the group’s preferred candidates for speaker, president, and security posts are appointed and its alternative funding sources are preserved. Protestors keep demanding early elections and a truly representative electoral law that could change the legislature’s makeup drastically. Washington and its allies should catch that momentum while it is still alive, and interrupt Hezbollah’s survival plan in the process.

Hanin Ghaddar is the Friedmann Visiting Fellow in The Washington Institute’s Geduld Program on Arab Politics.