أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3198

ما الذي تخطط له إيران في دير الزور؟

عُلا الرفاعي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

10 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019


في 30 أيلول/سبتمبر، أعادت سوريا والعراق فتح معبرهما الحدودي الرئيسي بين البوكمال والقائم، الذي كان مغلقاً رسمياً منذ خمس سنوات. وحملت الظروف المحيطة بهذا الحدث دلالات كثيرة - فقد تم تأجيل الحفل لمدة أسبوعيْن بسبب الضربات الجوية الأجنبية التي لم تتبنَ أي جهة مسؤوليتها عنها والتي طالت أهدافاً لـ «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني في شرق سوريا في أعقاب الهجوم الإيراني على منشآت نفط سعودية في وقت سابق من ذلك الشهر. فما الذي كان يفعله تماماً «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني ووكلاؤه المحليون في محافظة دير الزور؟ وما هي دلالات هذا النشاط على خطط إيران الأوسع نطاقاً هناك؟

فتح الباب للوكلاء العراقيين

ترأس حفل إعادة فتح المعبر كاظم العقابي ممثلاً عن الحكومة العراقية، الأمر الذي أثار تساؤلات حول ما إذا كان القرار سيساعد في الالتفاف على العقوبات الأمريكية المفروضة على إيران. ورغم أن وسائل الإعلام الحكومية السورية غطت الحدث باعتباره فرصةً لتعزيز التجارة مع العراق، إلا أن رد فعل طهران أشار إلى أن المعبر سيخدم المصالح العسكرية الإيرانية بشكل رئيسي.    

ووفقاً لمسؤولين ووسائل الإعلام في إيران، تكتسي إعادة فتح المعبر "أهميةً استراتيجيةً كبيرةً" في تقوية "التحالف الثلاثي" للجمهورية الإسلامية مع بغداد ودمشق. وكما جاء في مقال نُشر مؤخراً في وكالة "مهر للأنباء"، فإن هذا الحدث قد "يمهّد" الطريق أيضاً أمام إيران لمواجهة التواجد العسكري الأمريكي المحتمل تقلصه في شمال شرق سوريا من خلال السماح لـ "«قوات الحشد الشعبي» وجماعات أخرى بدخول الأراضي السورية بالكامل والقضاء على الإرهاب"، في إشارة جزئياً إلى الميليشيات الشيعية ضمن "قوات الحشد الشعبي" العراقية التي غالباً ما تنشط على الحدود.    

تهميش قوات الأسد

وفقاً لناشطين سوريين معارضين للنظام، تسيطر إيران ووكلاؤها حالياً على سبع بلدات على الأقل على الجانب الشرقي من نهر الفرات الممتد جنوب مدينة دير الزور، من الميادين إلى البوكمال. ويشمل ذلك سلطةً عسكريةً كاملةً وإدارةً تنفيذيةً يمارسها ما يقرب من 4500 عنصر مسلّح، بعضهم من «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني والبعض الآخر من ميليشيات شيعية مثل «لواء الباقر»، و «كتيبة الفاطميون»، و «الحشد الشعبي»، ومختلف الجماعات التي تطلق على نفسها «حزب الله السوري».   

ملاحظات: تشير الأسهم الحمراء إلى المدن الخاضعة لسيطرة إيران. أما المنطقة المشار إليها بدائرة حمراء، فكانت مسرح الاحتجاجات التي اندلعت مؤخراً ضد نظام الأسد وإيران. تمّ إعداد هذه الخريطة بإذن من شبكة "دير الزور 24". 

وكان تواجد هذه العناصر قد أضعف بشكل كبير الدور المحلي لميليشيات «قوات الدفاع الوطني» التابعة لنظام الأسد، ويُعزى ذلك جزئياً إلى انعدام ثقة «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني بقدرات هذه القوات، ولكن أيضاً بسبب خطة طهران الطويلة الأمد لتعزيز نفوذها الخاص. ووفقاً لمدير شبكة "دير الزور 24" الإخبارية، عمر أبو ليلى، "يُسمح فقط" لـ «قوات الدفاع الوطني» بممارسة السلطة على المناطق المدنية في محافظة (دير الزور) ولا يُسمح لها بالمشاركة في المعركة. وفي بعض الحالات، أُفادت بعض التقارير أن «الحرس الثوري» اعتقل مقاتلين من «قوات الدفاع الوطني» بسبب صراعات داخلية على السلطة. وحتى تواجد الوحدات العسكرية الروسية قد تراجع على ما يبدو في جميع أنحاء المحافظة.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تقوم إيران ببناء قاعدتين عسكريتين جديدتين في المنطقة: إحداهما في الضواحي الغربية لمدينة الميادين، والأخرى أكبر حجماً في البوكمال أُطلق عليها اسم "الإمام علي". ويتمّ بناء القاعدتين بالتعاون مع "جهاد البناء" و"منظمة الإمام الحسين"، وهما مؤسستان ترعاهما إيران ولهما فروع في مدن دير الزور، الميادين، والبوكمال. وستعزز هاتين المنشأتين هدف طهران المتمثل في السيطرة على طريق استراتيجي رئيسي: من البوكمال شمالاً إلى محطة ضخ النفط في الميادين "تي-2"؛ ومن ثم غرباً إلى التياس التي تضّم محطة الضخ/القاعدة الجوية السورية "تي-4"؛ وأخيراً إلى سهل البقاع في لبنان، المعقل الرئيسي لـ «حزب الله». وقامت جهات أجنبية مختلفة بشن غارات جوية على أجزاء من هذا الطريق، لكنّ قوات «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني ووكلائها قلصت من تعرّضها لمثل هذه العمليات من خلال الاختباء داخل منازل المدنيين.   

دفع رواتب المقاتلين وإسكانهم

على الرغم من أن الميليشيات الشيعية في دير الزور تضم فصائل أفغانية وباكستانية، إلا أنّ «قوات الحشد الشعبي» العراقية هي بمثابة القناة المالية الرئيسية لإيران في المحافظة، ولا سيما في البوكمال. وتختلف الرواتب وأساليب توزيعها بحسب جنسية المجند. على سبيل المثال، يتقاضى المقاتلون العراقيون في سوريا حوالي 400 دولار شهرياً عبر بطاقات "ماستر كارد" تُعطى لهم من قبل «الحشد الشعبي». أما المقاتلون من جنسيات أخرى، فيتقاضون أموالهم نقداً وشخصياً، وغالباً ما يتمّ سحبها من مصارف خاضعة لإدارة «قوات الحشد الشعبي» في العراق - في انتهاك محتمل لسياسة العقوبات الأمريكية.

أما بالنسبة للمجندين السوريين المحليين، فيتم دفع رواتبهم مباشرة من قبل «الحرس الثوري» بمبالغ تعتمد على المهام الفردية الموكلة لهم. فأولئك الذين يخدمون في مدنهم وقراهم يحصلون على 100 دولار شهرياً، في حين يحصل الذين يتوجهون إلى الخطوط الأمامية على 150 دولاراً بالإضافة إلى الآليات العسكرية وقسائم الوقود والأموال المخصصة لمصاريف متنوعة. ووفقاً لشخصيات محلية مناهضة للنظام، فإن هذه الممارسات المالية لـ «الحرس الثوري» المنظمة جيداً تفوق بكثير الهيكلية الأمنية "الفوضوية والمفلسة" لنظام الأسد. وعلى غرار ما حدث عندما سيطر تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» على المنطقة، تستقطب الحوافز المالية لـ «الحرس الثوري» الرجال السوريين العاطلين عن العمل والفقراء، وكذلك المقاتلين الأجانب.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يُضمن للمجندين الشيعة وعائلاتهم السكن في العقارات التي يشتريها ويديرها رجال أعمال إيرانيون. ومنذ تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2018، استقرت أكثر من مائة عائلة شيعية أجنبية في الأحياء الجنوبية للميادين، وعدد مماثل من العائلات الشيعية العراقية في البوكمال؛ وقد ازدادت هذه الأعداد بلا شك منذ ذلك الحين.

تمويل التلقين التربوي والديني

تتجلى مبادرات إعادة الإعمار ومشاريع الأعمال العامة التي تنفذها إيران في سوريا أكثر فأكثر. فإلى جانب تقديم مدفوعات مباشرة إلى المجندين الشيعة، يتغلغل «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني و «الحشد الشعبي» في النسيج الاجتماعي لغالبية السكان العرب السنّة من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من الأنشطة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية، الأمر الذي يساعد هذه القوات على فرض مذهب الشيعة الإثني عشرية على السكان المحليين الذين يعانون من ضائقة مالية.

على سبيل المثال، بمباركة نظام الأسد، يُرغم "المركز الثقافي الإيراني" في مدينة دير الزور بشكل أساسي طلاب المدارس والجامعات على المشاركة في الفعاليات التي ينظمها المركز. كما أمر «اتحاد شبيبة الثورة» التابع لحزب البعث الخاضع للنظام مديرية التعليم المحلية بتنظيم رحلات ميدانية لحضور الاحتفالات الدينية الشيعية ومحاضرات «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني وفعاليات كتابة قصص قصيرة ومسابقات رياضية؛ وفي المقابل، يكسب الطلاب أرصدة ومساعدات مالية إضافية.

وبالمثل، يتمّ الإعلان بشكل كبير عن المنح الدراسية للدراسة في الخارج والتي تستهدف الطلاب المهتمين بمتابعة الدراسات الدينية والعودة إلى سوريا كدعاة مبشرين بمذهب الإثني عشرية. وتخصص المنح الدراسية للفئات العمرية بدءاً من أطفال المدارس الابتدائية ووصولاً إلى الطلاب الذين هم في الثلاثينات من عمرهم. وقد سبق لحوالي مائة طالب من دير الزور أن سافروا إلى إيران للالتحاق بهذا البرنامج (الصغار برفقة أولياء أمورهم). بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يدير أساتذة إيرانيون ثلاث مدارس في الميادين والبوكمال ومدينة دير الزور، حيث يدّرسون اللغة الفارسية والتاريخ إلى جانب مواد أخرى؛ وتفيد بعض التقارير عن التحاق نحو مائتي طالب بهذه المدارس.

وتؤدي بعض القبائل المحلية في دير الزور دوراً رئيسياً في تطبيق هذه الأجندة الإيرانية. ففي مناطق مثل صبيخان والميادين، أمر «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني شيوخ القبائل بدعوة السكان لحضور فعاليات تنظم في حسينية شيعية حيث يتمّ توزيع الجوائز والمساعدات على الأيتام والنساء وعوائل الشهداء. وتشير المصادر المحلية أيضاً إلى أن الشيخ نواف البشير من قبيلة "البقارة" يدير ميليشيا تدعمها إيران في المحيميدة. وبالمثل، يُعتبر صالح محمد إسماعيل البعاج، أحد المسؤولين في قبيلة "البعاجين" في الميادين، حليف طهران الرئيسي في نشر مذهب الاثني عشرية بالتعاون مع "المركز الثقافي الإيراني" في دمشق؛ هذا بالإضافة إلى دوره كمستشار ديني لـ «لواء أبو الفضل العباس»، وهو وحدة ميليشيا موالية للأسد تتألف من مقاتلين عراقيين ولبنانيين.

وأصبحت "العصا" في نهج "العصا والجزرة" هذا واضحة أيضاً. ففي العام الماضي، على سبيل المثال، ألقت السلطات السورية القبض على عشرين من أئمة السنة من صبيخان والميادين والبوكمال وغيرها من المدن لرفضهم الدعوة إلى الصلاة بأسلوب شيعي. وفي المقابل، تلقّى الأئمة الذين لبّوا النداء زيادةً في الأجور.   

وتم تعزيز مركز دير الزور في تحقيق الأهداف الدينية والإستراتيجية لإيران في تموز/يوليو الماضي، عندما زار قائد «فيلق القدس» التابع لـ «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» قاسم سليماني مدينة البوكمال شخصياً. وهناك التقى مع قادة ميليشيات من أجل تأسيس وحدة جديدة تحت اسم «لواء حراس المقامات»، التي ستُكلَّف بالدفاع عن المقامات الشيعية التي بنيت مؤخراً في دير الزور. ومن خلال بناء مقامات شيعية جديدة في مواقع مقدسة قديمة أو على مقربة منها كان قد سبق لسلالات سنية أن أسستها، يسعى «الحرس الثوري» إلى تشكيل شرعية دينية محلية. وسوف تتماشى هذه المهمة بشكل جيد مع العديد من المنظمات الإنسانية التي أنشأتها إيران في المحافظة، والتي تُعرِّف السكان المحليين على العقائد الشيعية أثناء توزيع المساعدات عليهم.

على الولايات المتحدة تسخير خيبة الأمل المحلية

في الآونة الأخيرة، دفع هذا المزيج من الآليات الإيرانية بسكان محافظة دير الزور إلى تنظيم احتجاجات ضد نظام الأسد وانتقاد الوجود العسكري لـ «الحرس الثوري» وتأثيره الاجتماعي. وتمثّل هذه المظاهرات فرصةً مهمةً للولايات المتحدة وحلفائها الإقليميين لقلب الاتجاهات المثيرة للقلق على الأرض، سواء عن طريق الإدلاء علناً بدعم المتظاهرين، وحمايتهم من الأذى عند الإمكان، و/أو مساعدتهم سراً. إن القيام بذلك لن يدعم مطالب السوريين المبررة فحسب، بل سيعيق أيضاً هدف إيران المتمثل بتأسيس "هلال شيعي" عبر العراق وسوريا ولبنان - وهي نتيجة قد تشكل تهديداً كبيراً للمصالح الأمريكية ومصالح الحلفاء في الشرق الأوسط. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، على الحلفاء تكثيف إجراءاتهم الأكثر قسرية عند الضرورة، بدءاً بشنّ ضربات جوية إضافية ضد عناصر «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني والوكلاء الإيرانيين المحددين [كعملاء للجمهورية الإسلامية] داخل سوريا، وصولاً إلى منع أو تثبيط مؤسسات «قوات الحشد الشعبي» العراقية من تحويل الأموال إلى المقاتلين الذين ينفذون عمليات عبر الحدود.

 

عُلا الرفاعي هي زميلة في "برنامج غيدولد للسياسة العربية" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3198

What Is Iran Up To in Deir al-Zour?

Oula A. Alrifai

Also available in العربية فارسی

October 10, 2019


Tehran and its proxies have been exerting hard and soft power in northeast Syria, combining military consolidation with economic, social, and religious outreach in order to cement their long-term influence.

On September 30, Syria and Iraq reopened their main border crossing between al-Bukamal and al-Qaim, which had been formally closed for five years. The circumstances surrounding the event were telling—the ceremony was delayed by a couple weeks because of unclaimed foreign airstrikes on Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps targets in east Syria following the Iranian attack against Saudi oil facilities earlier that month. What exactly have the IRGC and its local proxies been doing in Deir al-Zour province? And what does this activity tell us about Iran’s wider plans there?

OPENING THE DOOR FOR IRAQI PROXIES

The border ceremony was led by Khadhim al-Ikabi, an Iraqi government representative, raising questions about whether the decision will help circumvent U.S. sanctions placed on Iran. Although Syrian state media celebrated the event as an opportunity to increase trade with Iraq, Tehran’s reaction indicated that the crossing will mainly serve Iranian military interests. 

According to officials and media in Iran, reopening the border is of “high strategic importance” in strengthening the Islamic Republic’s “trilateral coalition” with Baghdad and Damascus. As a recent article in Mehr News opined, the event may also be a “prelude” for Iran to confront the potentially shrinking U.S. military presence in northeast Syria by letting “al-Hashd al-Shabi and other groups fully enter Syrian territory and eradicate terrorism,” referring in part to Shia militias within Iraq’s Popular Mobilization Forces that often operate across the border.

MARGINALIZING ASSAD’S FORCES 

According to Syrian anti-regime activists, Iran and its proxies currently control at least seven towns on the east side of the Euphrates River stretching south of Deir al-Zour city, from Mayadin to al-Bukamal. This includes full military authority and executive administration exerted by nearly 4,500 armed personnel, some from the IRGC, others from Shia militias such as the Baqir Brigade, Fatemiyoun Brigade, al-Hashd al-Shabi, and the various groups that call themselves “Syrian Hezbollah” (Hezbollah fi Suriya).

Their presence has significantly weakened the local role of the Assad regime’s National Defense Force militias, partly due to the IRGC’s lack of faith in the NDF’s capabilities, but also because of Tehran’s long-term plan to consolidate its own influence. According to Omar Abu Layla, head of the Deir al-Zour 24 news network, the NDF is “only allowed” to exercise control over civilian areas in the province; it is not allowed to participate in battle. In some cases, the IRGC has reportedly arrested NDF fighters due to internal power struggles. Even the presence of Russian military units has apparently been minimized throughout the province.

Meanwhile, Iran is building two new military bases in the area: one in the western suburbs of Mayadin, and a larger one in al-Bukamal called “Imam Ali.” Both are being constructed in cooperation with Jihad al-Binaa and the Imam Hussein Organization, two Iranian-sponsored foundations that have branches in Deir al-Zour city, Mayadin, and al-Bukamal. These facilities will further Tehran’s goal of controlling a key strategic route: from al-Bukamal north to the T2 oil pumping station in Mayadin; then west to Tiyas, home to the T4 pumping station/Syrian air base; and finally to Lebanon’s Beqa Valley, Hezbollah’s main stronghold. Various foreign actors have conducted airstrikes along portions of this route, but IRGC and proxy forces have reduced their exposure to such operations by hiding inside civilian homes. 

PAYING AND HOUSING FIGHTERS

Although the Shia militias in Deir al-Zour include Afghan and Pakistani factions, Iraq’s al-Hashd al-Shabi serve as Iran’s main financial conduit in the province, particularly in al-Bukamal. The salaries and distribution methods involved differ depending on a recruit’s nationality. For instance, Iraqi fighters in Syria receive around $400 per month on Mastercards given to them by al-Hashd al-Shabi. Other nationalities receive their money in cash in person, often withdrawn from PMF-managed banks in Iraq—a potential violation of U.S. sanctions policy.

As for local Syrian recruits, they are paid directly by the IRGC in amounts that depend on their individual duties. Those who serve in their hometowns receive $100 per month, while those who travel to the frontlines receive $150 along with military vehicles, fuel vouchers, and miscellaneous spending money. According to local anti-regime figures, these well-organized IRGC financial practices are far superior to the Assad regime’s “chaotic and bankrupt” security structure. Similar to what happened when the Islamic State controlled the area, the IRGC’s financial incentives are attracting unemployed, impoverished Syrian men as well as foreign fighters.

In addition, Shia recruits and their families are guaranteed housing in properties bought and managed by Iranian businessmen. As of November 2018, over one hundred foreign Shia families had settled in the southern neighborhoods of Mayadin, and a similar number of Iraqi Shia families had settled in al-Bukamal; these figures have surely grown since then.

FUNDING EDUCATIONAL AND RELIGIOUS INDOCTRINATION

Iranian reconstruction initiatives and public works projects in Syria have become increasingly overt. Besides giving direct payouts to Shia recruits, the IRGC and al-Hashd al-Shabi are infiltrating the social fabric of the majority Sunni Arab population through a variety of social and economic activities, helping them impose their brand of Twelver Shia Islam on cash-strapped locals.

For example, with the Assad regime’s blessing, the Iranian Cultural Center in Deir al-Zour city essentially forces school and university students to participate in its events. The regime’s Baath Party Revolutionary Youth Union has ordered the local education directorate to lead field trips to Shia religious ceremonies, IRGC lectures, short-story writing events, and sports competitions; in return, students earn extra credit and financial aid.

Similarly, study-abroad scholarships are heavily advertised and targeted at students who are interested in pursuing religious studies and returning to Syria as Twelver Shia missionaries. The scholarships are open to age groups ranging from elementary school children to students in their thirties. Nearly a hundred students from Deir al-Zour have already traveled to Iran for this program (the younger ones accompanied by their guardians). In addition, Iranian teachers run three schools in Mayadin, al-Bukamal, and Deir al-Zour city, offering Persian language and history classes alongside other subjects; enrollment is reportedly around two hundred students.

Some local tribes in Deir al-Zour play a major role in enforcing this Iranian agenda. In areas such as Sabikhan and Mayadin, the IRGC has ordered tribal sheikhs to invite residents to events at Shia husseiniyeh (congregation halls), where prizes and aid are offered to orphans, women, and families of martyrs. Local sources also indicate that Sheikh Nawaf al-Bashir of the Baggara tribe runs an Iranian-backed militia in Mhaymidah. Likewise, a Baajin tribal official in Mayadin, Saleh Muhammad Ismail al-Baaj, is considered Tehran’s main ally in spreading Twelver Shia Islam in cooperation with the Iranian Cultural Center in Damascus. This is in addition to his role as a religious advisor to the Abu Fadl al-Abbas Brigade, a pro-Assad militia unit composed of Iraqi and Lebanese fighters.

The “stick” in this “carrot and stick” approach has become clear as well. Last year, for example, Syrian authorities arrested twenty Sunni imams from Sabikhan, Mayadin, al-Bukamal, and other towns for refusing to perform the Shia-style call to prayer. In contrast, imams who agreed to the order received a wage increase.

Deir al-Zour’s centrality to Iran’s religious and strategic goals was reinforced this past July, when IRGC-Qods Force commander Qasem Soleimani visited al-Bukamal in person. There, he met with militia leaders to establish a new unit under the name “Liwa Hurras al-Maqamat” (The Guardians of Holy Shrines Brigade), which will be charged with defending Shia shrines recently built in Deir al-Zour. By placing new Shia shrines on or near older holy sites previously established by Sunni dynasties, the IRGC seeks to manufacture local religious legitimacy. This mission will align well with the numerous humanitarian organizations Iran has established in the province, which introduce locals to Shia tenets while distributing aid to them. 

U.S. SHOULD HARNESS LOCAL DISENCHANTMENT

Recently, the combination of these Iranian mechanisms has spurred citizens in Deir al-Zour province to launch protests railing against the Assad regime and criticizing the IRGC’s military presence and social influence. Such demonstrations represent a crucial opportunity for the United States and its regional allies to reverse troubling trends on the ground, whether by publicly stating support for demonstrators, shielding them from harm when possible, and/or helping them covertly. Doing so would not only support Syrians’ justifiable demands, but also hinder Iran’s goal of creating a “Shia crescent” through Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon—an outcome that would pose a major threat to American and allied interests in the Middle East. In addition, allies should step up their more forceful measures as necessary, from conducting further airstrikes against IRGC elements and designated Iranian proxies inside Syria, to preventing or discouraging Iraqi PMF institutions from transferring funds to fighters operating across the border.

Oula A. Alrifai is a fellow in The Washington Institute’s Geduld Program on Arab Politics.