أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3181

معرض 'إعادة إعمار سوريا': النفوذ الإيراني والعقوبات الأمريكية

عُلا الرفاعي

متاح أيضاً في English

17 أيلول/سبتمبر 2019


يقيم نظام الأسد هذا الأسبوع معرضه السنوي الخامس لإعادة إعمار سوريا تحت عنوان "عمّرها 2019"، وكالعادة تم تسهيل الحدث وتمويله إلى حد كبير من قبل إيران. وكان السفير الإيراني جواد ترك آبادي قد شارك في في حفل قص الشريط في العام الماضي، وأكد على أهمية دور طهران في إعادة إعمار البلاد التي مزقتها الحرب.

ومن المزمع إقامة المعرض الذي يستمر حتى 21 أيلول/سبتمبر، بالقرب من بلدة السيدة زينب الواقعة في ريف دمشق، والتي تضم مقاماً شيعياً لعب دوراً مهماً في مساعدة إيران على حشد شبكتها الوكيلة الأجنبية. بيد، لا تتوفر تفاصيل كثيرة عن مبادرات إعادة الإعمار ومواقعها المحددة التي سيتم مناقشتها خلال الحدث، وسيتم بلا شك تسليط الضوء على بعض المشاريع بناءً على قيمتها الدعائية وليس على فوائدها الفعلية للشعب السوري. ومع ذلك، لا يزال من المهم التدقيق في الجهات التي ستحضر تلك الفعاليات وفي سبب حضورها - خاصةً أنّ المشاركين في المعرض يضمون شركاتٍ تابعة لدول متحالفة مع الولايات المتحدة ومنخرطة في النقاش الدولي المستمر حول العقوبات على إيران.

القيمة الدينية والإستراتيجية والإقتصادية

تضم بلدة السيدة زينب مقام السيدة زينب بنت علي، حفيدة النبي محمد (صلعم) وابنة إمام الشيعة الأول. وبالنسبة لإيران، تنبع القيمة الإستراتيجية للبلدة من أهميتها الدينية العميقة. فعند طائفة الشيعة الإثني العشرية، تُعتبر السيدة زينب شخصيةً دينية وسياسية على حد سواء - فهي ليست امرأةً تقية تحظى بالاحترام فحسب، بل قائدة أيضاً كانت قد قاومت الاضطهاد الأموي السني من أجل الحفاظ على ذكرى أخيها الذي هو الإمام الثالث لدى الشيعة.

وعندما بدأت الانتفاضة التي قادها السنة ضد الديكتاتور بشار الأسد، استخدم «حزب الله» وغيره من وكلاء الميليشيات الإيرانية هذا المقام لإطلاق صيحة حاشدة لتجنيد المقاتلين الشيعة، وجمع الأموال، وإضفاء الشرعية على التدخلات عبر الحدود. ولذلك فإن إقامة مؤتمر لإعادة إعمار البلاد بالقرب من هذا الموقع نفسه بعد مرور ثماني سنوات [على بدء الانتفاضة]، قد تساعد طهران على إقناع الجماهير المحلية والإقليمية بأن وجودها المستمر في سوريا له ما يبرره. ويعزز اختيار هذا المكان أيضاً ادعاء إيران بتفانيها الديني في مساعدة "الضعفاء" من خلال تسريع عملية معافاة سوريا وانتعاشها بعد الحرب.

وفي الواقع، تشعر طهران بقلق أكبر إزاء فقدان نفوذها في دولةٍ تمنحها منفذاً استراتيجياً إلى لبنان، وبالتالي إلى الحدود الشمالية لإسرائيل. وكما قال أحد المسؤولين السابقين في نظام الأسد، عبد الحليم خدام، في مقابلة أجراها عام 2014، إنّ "سوريا هي مسألة حياة أو موت بالنسبة لإيران". وتُعتبر مؤتمرات إعادة الإعمار وغيرها من المشاريع الاقتصادية إحدى عدة وسائل يمكن لإيران استخدامها لضمان هذا المنفذ، وتعزيز نفوذها على دمشق، وصياغة مستقبل البلاد. وتصبح هذه النوايا الإستراتيجية حتى أكثر وضوحاً عندما يلاحظ المرء أن مثل هذه الفعاليات غالباً ما تكون برعاية «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني.

ويُعد السوق السوري أيضاَ أحد أفضل الخيارات المتاحة أمام طهران للتخفيف من حدة العقوبات الأمريكية المفروضة عليها. وفي هذا السياق، ذكر رئيس "منظمة التنمية التجارية الإيرانية" محمد رضا مودودي في الرابع من آب/أغسطس أن "الصفقات الاستثمارية طويلة المدى مع دمشق توفر لإيران سوقاً [تجارية] مستدامةً".

تمهيد الطريق

يُقام معرض 2019 برعاية "اتحاد غرف الصناعة السورية" و"اتحاد غرف التجارة السورية"، إلى جانب منظمة غير حكومية يُزعم أنها مؤسسة أمريكية تأسست عام 1979 وتُدعى "إي سي تي" (ACT). ولا تتوفر أي معلومات عن "إي سي تي" على الإنترنت، مما يشير إلى أن مصداقيتها مشكوك فيها في أحسن الأحوال.

وفي سياق التحضير لمعرض هذا العام، اجتمع حوالي 300 رجل أعمال إيراني يمثلون العديد من الشركات في طهران في 4 آب/أغسطس لحضور "مؤتمر فرص الاستثمار والتجارة في سوريا" الذي نظّمته مؤسسة الباشق لتنظيم المعارض والمؤتمرات، وهي شركة معارض تجارية سورية متخصصة في قطاع البناء تولّت إدارة معرض إعادة إعمار سوريا ("عمّرها") منذ عام 2015. وكان من بين الحاضرين البارزين الضابط العسكري في «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني والسفير السابق في العراق حسن دانائي فر الذي يرأس حالياً "مقر إعمار العتبات المقدسة". كما أن معاون وزير الاقتصاد والتجارة الخارجية السورية رانيا أحمد كانت هناك أيضاً، وقالت وفقاً للتقارير أن "استقطاب الاستثمارات الإيرانية هو أهم أولوياتنا لإعادة الإعمار". وفي مقابلة لرئيس "منظمة التنمية التجارية الإيرانية" في 4 آب/أغسطس، زعم مودودي أن إيران منحت سوريا ما قيمته 11.5 مليار دولار من السلع في الأشهر الثلاثة الأولى من العام الفارسي، الذي بدأ في 20 آذار/مارس.

ووفقاً للموقع الرسمي لمعرض إعادة إعمار سوريا ("عمّرها")، يركّز هذا الحدث على العديد من القطاعات، بما فيها تكنولوجيا البناء، والأمن، وتكنولوجيا المعلومات، والزراعة، والمياه، والكهرباء، والاتصالات، والمستشفيات، والفنادق، والتدفئة، والنفط/الغاز، والتكنولوجيا البيئية، والتغليف، والتعليم، والمأكولات/المشروبات، وإصلاح السيارات، والسلع الاستهلاكية. ويوفر هذا الحدث فرصة لعقد جلسات شخصية مع العملاء الدوليين الذين يبحثون عن مورّدين لدخول السوق السورية، فضلاً عن اجتماعات الشركات مع مهندسين مدنيين، ومهندسين معماريين، ومهنيين متخصصين بالخرسانة، ووكلاء عقاريين من عدة بلدان، وجميعهم يطمحون إلى المشاركة في مرحلة إعادة الإعمار التي تم الترويج لها بشكل مستمر من قبل وسائل الإعلام التابعة لنظام الأسد.

وتفيد مؤسسة الباشق أن معرض العام الماضي استقطب أكثر من 270 شركة عارضة من تسعة وعشرين دولةً. وقد ارتفع عدد المشاركين هذا العام، وفقاً لبعض التقارير، إلى 390 شركة عارضة من 31 دولةً.

حقيقة واضحة جداً لكن يتم تجاهلها

شاركت العديد من المؤسسات التي مقرّها في الدول الشريكة للولايات المتحدة في معرض عام 2018، من بينها بلجيكا والهند والعراق وإيطاليا وسلطنة عُمان وكوريا الجنوبية والإمارات العربية المتحدة.

ومن المقرر أن يضم معرض إعادة إعمار سوريا ("عمّرها 2019") شركاتٍ من الدول نفسها، بالإضافة إلى ألمانيا وإسبانيا ومصر. وسعت بعض هذه الدول إلى إعادة إرساء العلاقات الدبلوماسية مع دمشق والتطبيع مع نظام الأسد بغض النظر عن سياسة العقوبات الأمريكية. وفي الشهر الماضي، على سبيل المثال، أرسلت عُمان ودولة الإمارات مبعوثين إلى الدورة الحادية والستين لـ "معرض دمشق الدولي"، وهو معرض تجاري سنوي يدّعي فتح الاقتصاد السوري أمام العالم.

وفي معرض إعادة الإعمار لعام 2018، انحدرت الشركات التالية من الدول الشريكة للولايات المتحدة:

• بلجيكا: Global-Consult

• الهند: Goodrich Logistics Pvt. Ltd.

• إيطاليا: Elettronica Veneta SPA ؛ Rieter Morando SRL ؛ Ottierre-Anmic

• عُمان: الشركة العالمية للرخام ذ.م.م. : International Marble Co. LLC

• كوريا الجنوبية: Kumkang Kind Co. Ltd

• الإمارات: "اتش آي بي" لتجارة الأسلاك الكهربائية وأجهزة الطاقة الشمسية وملحقاتها - HIP Electricals Trading LLC

الخطة الإيرانية مداها أبعد من الخطة الروسية

تنعكس أهداف إيران بعيدة المدى في كيفية تعاملها مع الفعاليات المختلفة كمعرض إعادة إعمار سوريا. فالشركات المنحدرة من إيران والدول الحليفة لها هيمنت على المعرض في عام 2018. وشملت الشركات الإيرانية:

Electronic Afzar Azma

Gam Arak Industrial Company

GITI Pasand Industrial Group (SGP)

Hooman Polymer

Hamrahan Pishro Tejarat Co (HPT)

• صناعات الالكترونيات الايرانية. Iran Electronics Industries

Lotus Pars

• منظمة الصناعات البحرية. Marine Industries Organization

Shahid Ghandi Corporation Complex

TEPS (Goldis-Teps)

• عربة پارس/ واگن پارس. Wagon Pars

كما ضم المعرض العديد من الشركات اللبنانية، بالإضافة إلى شركتين عراقيتين. ونظراً إلى درجة تغلغل إيران ووكلائها الشيعيين في اقتصاد كلا البلدين، فمن الصعب معرفة ما إذا كانت تلك الشركات قد شاركت في المعرض بسبب مصالحها الاقتصادية الفردية أو بحُكم علاقتها بإيران.

وبالنسبة لروسيا، وبغض النظر عن الحكمة التقليدية بشأن انخراطها في إعادة إعمار سوريا، لم تشارك سوى شركة روسية واحدة في معرض عام 2018، في تناقض حاد مع الشركات الإيرانية الإحدى عشرة والشركات اللبنانية الواحدة والأربعين. ومع أنه لا يمكن فعلياً اعتبار قائمة العارضين بمثابة فهرس شامل لجميع الجهات الفاعلة التي تناور للاضطلاع بدورٍ في المستقبل الاقتصادي لسوريا، إلاّ أنّ رجحان الشركات الآتية من إيران وحلفائها المقرّبين تكشف الكثير عن مسار التوجهات الحالية. ومن المؤكد أن روسيا مهتمة بجني مكاسب قصيرة الأجل من تدخلها العسكري في سوريا - ومن ثم صفقة الفوسفات الأخيرة التي أبرمتها مع دمشق. ومع ذلك، تستثمر إيران في مشاريع إعمار طويلة الأمد وممولة بقروض بمليارات الدولارات والتي سيتعيّن على نظام الأسد تسديدها خلال خمسة وعشرين عاماً، ومن ضمنها مبيعات نفطية بقيمة 20 مليار دولار، وأعمال إعادة الإعمار بكلفة 8 مليارات دولار، ومشاريع زراعية تمتد على أكثر من 12 ألف فدّان وهكذا دواليك.

التداعيات السياسية

إنّ النفوذ الاقتصادي والسياسي لإيران في سوريا آخذٌ في التعاظم، وكل ذلك بهدف منح طهران عمق استراتيجي لممارسة سلطتها في داخل البلاد وخارجها. وحتى في ظل العقوبات الأمريكية المشددة، كما ذكرت صحيفة "فايننشل تايمز" مؤخراً، تمكنت الجمهورية الإسلامية من تسيير أعمالها في الشرق الأوسط و"جذب العملة الأجنبية من خلال السلع الأولية [و]غير النفطية". وفي المقابل، كان نظام الأسد يستغل من جهته المساعدة الإيرانية السخية لتعزيز نفوذه وسلطته.

وبما أن الفعاليات المشابهة لمعرض إعادة إعمار سوريا تشكّل جزءاً من هذه الدينامية، يجب على وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية أن تولي اهتماماً أكبر لها. وعلى وجه الخصوص، عليها أن تراقب الأعمال التي تمارسها الشركات التي قد تنتهك أوامر العقوبات الأمريكية. ينبغي على واشنطن أيضاً أن تحث حلفاءها والمجتمع الدولي الأوسع على تأجيل إعادة إعمار سوريا على نطاق كامل إلى حين تحقّق عملية فعلية للانتقال السياسي.

 

عُلا الرفاعي هي زميلة في "برنامج غيدولد للسياسة العربية" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3181

The ‘Rebuild Syria’ Exhibition: Iranian Influence and U.S. Sanctions

Oula A. Alrifai

Also available in العربية

September 17, 2019


This year’s show provides a window into Tehran’s strategy for cementing its soft power, and may point to potential sanctions violations by companies from U.S. partner countries.

This week, the Assad regime is holding its fifth annual reconstruction exhibition under the title “Rebuild Syria 2019,” and as usual the event has been greatly facilitated and funded by Iran. At last year’s gathering, Iranian ambassador Javad Turkabadi participated in the ribbon cutting ceremony, where he emphasized the importance of Tehran’s role in rebuilding the war-torn country.

The exhibition is scheduled to run through September 21 near the Damascus satellite town of Sayyeda Zainab, home to a Shia shrine that has played a crucial role in helping Iran mobilize its foreign proxy network. Details are scarce on the specific reconstruction initiatives and locations that will be discussed during the event, and some projects will no doubt be highlighted for their publicity value rather than their actual benefits to the Syrian people. Yet it is still important to scrutinize who attends these events and why—especially when the exhibitors include businesses from countries that are allied with the United States and part of the ongoing international debate about Iran sanctions.

RELIGIOUS, STRATEGIC, AND ECONOMIC VALUE

Sayyeda Zainab hosts the shrine of Zainab bint Ali, granddaughter of the Prophet Muhammad and daughter of the first Shia Imam. For Iran, the town’s strategic value stems from this deep religious significance. In Twelver Shia Islam, Zainab is considered both a religious and a political figure—revered not only as a female saint, but also as a leader who resisted Sunni Umayyad oppression in order to preserve the memory of her brother, the third Shia Imam.

When the Sunni-led uprising against dictator Bashar al-Assad first began, Hezbollah and other Iranian militia proxies used the shrine as a rallying cry to recruit Shia fighters, raise funds, and legitimize cross-border interventions. Eight years later, holding a reconstruction event near the same site can help Tehran convince domestic and regional audiences that its continued presence in Syria is justified. The choice of locale also bolsters Iran’s claim that it is religiously devoted to helping “the weak” by speeding Syria’s postwar recovery.

In reality, Tehran is much more concerned about losing its leverage in a country that serves as its strategic gateway to Lebanon and, by extension, Israel’s northern border. As one former Assad regime official Abdul Halim Khaddam put it in a 2014 interview, “Syria is a matter of life or death for Iran.” Reconstruction conferences and other economic ventures are one of many ways Iran can secure that gateway, cement its influence over Damascus, and shape the country’s future. These strategic intentions become even clearer when one notes that such events are often sponsored by Iran’s Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC)

The Syrian market is also one of Tehran’s best options for mitigating the severity of U.S. sanctions. As Mohammad Reza Modoudi, head of the Trade Promotion Organization of Iran, noted on August 4, “Long-term investment deals with Damascus provide a sustainable market for Iran.”

SETTING THE STAGE

This 2019 exhibition is sponsored by the Association of Syrian Chambers of Industry, the Association of Syrian Chambers of Commerce, and ACT, an alleged American NGO established in 1979. No information about ACT is available online, suggesting that its credentials are dubious at best.

In preparation for this year’s event, around 300 Iranian businessmen representing numerous firms gathered in Tehran on August 4 for the “Conference on Investment Opportunities and Trade in Syria.” The meeting was organized by Al-Bashek, a Syrian trade show company that specializes in construction and has managed the Rebuild Syria exhibition since 2015. Among the notable attendees was IRGC military officer Hassan Danaifar, the former ambassador to Iraq who currently heads the “Headquarters for the Restoration of Holy Shrines.” Syrian deputy minister of economy and trade Rania al-Ahmad was there as well, and reportedly remarked that “attracting Iranian investment is our topmost priority for reconstruction.” In an August 4 interview, Modoudi claimed that Iran had given Syria $11.5 billion worth of commodities in the first three months of the Persian year, which began on March 20.

According to the official website of Rebuild Syria, the exhibition focuses on numerous sectors, including construction technology, security, information technology, agriculture, water, electricity, communications, hospitals, hotels, heating, oil/gas, environmental technology, packaging, education, food/beverage, auto repair, and consumer goods. The event provides an opportunity for one-on-one sessions with international clients looking for suppliers to enter the Syrian market, as well as business-to-business meetings with civil engineers, architects, concrete professionals, and property agents from multiple countries, all aiming to participate in the reconstruction phase that Assad regime outlets have been steadily promoting.

According to Al-Bashek, last year’s gathering attracted more than 270 exhibitors from twenty-nine countries. This year, the reported number increased to 390 exhibitors from thirty-one countries.

THE ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM

The 2018 exhibition was attended by several companies based in U.S. partner countries, including Belgium, India, Iraq, Italy, Oman, South Korea, and the United Arab Emirates.

Rebuild Syria 2019 will feature firms from the same countries, as well as Germany, Spain, and Egypt. Some of these nations have sought to restore diplomatic relations with Damascus and normalize the Assad regime regardless of U.S. sanctions policy. Last month, for example, Oman and the UAE sent delegates to the sixty-first Damascus International Fair, an annual commercial exhibition that claims to open the Syrian economy to the world.

At the 2018 reconstruction exhibition, the following companies hailed from U.S. partner countries:

  • Belgium: Global-Consult
  • India: Goodrich Logistics Pvt. Ltd.
  • Italy: Elettronica Veneta SPA; Il Fornaio; Rieter Morando SRL; Ottierre-Anmic
  • Oman: International Marble Co. LLC
  • South Korea: Kumkang Kind Co. Ltd
  • UAE: HIP Electricals Trading LLC

IRAN IS PLAYING A LONGER GAME THAN RUSSIA

Tehran’s long-term goals are reflected in how it handles events like Rebuild Syria. Companies hailing from Iran and its close allies dominated the 2018 event. Iranian firms included the following:

  • Electronic Afzar Azma
  • Gam Arak Industrial Company
  • GITI Pasand Industrial Group (SGP)
  • Hooman Polymer
  • Hamrahan Pishro Tejarat Co (HPT)
  • Iran Electronics Industries
  • Lotus Pars
  • Marine Industries Organization
  • Shahid Ghandi Corporation Complex
  • TEPS (Goldis-Teps)
  • Wagon Pars

Numerous Lebanese companies were there as well, along with a pair of Iraqi firms. Given the degree to which Iran and its Shia proxies are integrated into both countries’ economies, it is difficult to tell whether these companies attended because of their individual commercial interests or their relationship with Iran.

As for Russia, regardless of the conventional wisdom about its involvement in Syrian reconstruction, only one Russian company participated in the 2018 show, a sharp contrast to the eleven companies hailing from Iran and forty-one from Lebanon. Although the exhibitors list is hardly a comprehensive catalog of all the actors jockeying to play a role in Syria’s economic future, the preponderance of firms from Iran and its close allies may still say much about where current trends are headed. Russia is certainly interested in reaping short-term returns from its military intervention, hence its recent phosphate deal with Damascus. Yet Iran is investing in long-term reconstruction projects financed through multi-billion-dollar lines of credit that the Assad regime will need to pay back in twenty-five years, including $20 billion in oil sales, $8 billion for reconstruction, over 12,000 acres worth of agricultural projects, and so forth.

POLICY IMPLICATIONS

Iran’s economic and political influence in Syria is only deepening, all toward the goal of providing strategic depth for Tehran’s exercise of power at home and abroad. Even amid intensified U.S. sanctions, the Islamic Republic has managed to conduct business in the Middle East and “bring in foreign currency through the scale of crude [and] non-oil goods,” as recently reported by the Financial Times. For its part, the Assad regime has been using Iran’s copious assistance to consolidate its own control.

Because events like the Rebuild Syria exhibition are part of this dynamic, the U.S. Treasury Department should pay closer attention to them. In particular, it should monitor the activities of companies that may be violating U.S. sanctions orders. Washington should also push its allies and the wider international community to hold off on full-scale reconstruction in Syria until true political transition has been achieved.

Oula A. Alrifai is a fellow in The Washington Institute’s Geduld Program on Arab Politics.