أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

المحادثات الأمريكية - القطرية: من المرجح أن تكون حاسمة للسياسة تجاه إيران

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

8 تموز/يوليو 2019


عندما يتوجه الأمير تميم بن حمد آل ثاني إلى البيت الأبيض في 9 تموز/يوليو، من المرجح أن يرافقه شعور بالانتصار. فقد تمكّن الزعيم القطري من تحمّل أكثر من عامين من العزلة الدبلوماسية والاقتصادية من قبل دول الجوار - السعودية والإمارات والبحرين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فمن خلال القاعدة الأمريكية الجوية العملاقة "العُديد"، أصبحت قطر حالياً [وجهة] مركزية للتخطيط الأمريكي لحالات الطوارئ من أجل مواجهة الأزمة الناشئة الناجمة عن انتهاكات إيران الأخيرة لبرنامجها النووي وهجماتها على ناقلات النفط وخطوط الأنابيب.

وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن الرئيس ترامب، الذي أيد في البداية الحصار الخليجي على قطر - التي [وُصفت] باعتبارها "مموّلة للإرهاب، على مستوى عالٍ للغاية" - تحدّثَ بحرارة عن الدوحة منذ ذلك الحين، حيث شكرها على حسن ضيافتها [للقوات الجوية االأمريكية] في قاعدة "العُديد" فضلاً عن شرائها أسلحة أمريكية بعدة مليارات من الدولارات. ويبدو أن خصمي الأمير تميم، اللذين حرضا على الحصار، يتجنبان [زيارة] واشنطن. فلا يزال ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان متورطاً في الجدل حول مقتل الصحفي المنشق جمال خاشقجي بينما تم ذكر زعيم الإمارات بحكم الأمر الواقع، ولي العهد الأمير محمد بن زايد من أبو ظبي، في "تقرير مولر" [الذي يتضمن ما توصل إليه التحقيق في الصلات المزعومة لفريق الرئيس الأمريكي] بسبب اتصالات الأمير بن زايد مع روسيا.

لكن زيارة الزعيم القطري لن تأخذ مسارها من دون الإحراج الخاص بها. فلا تزال الدوحة متسامحة مع خطاب الكراهية في خطب المساجد، والكتب المدرسية، ولا سيما ما تبثه قناة "الجزيرة" الفضائية باللغة العربية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتضمن قانون الميزانية القطري تمويلاً للفلسطينيين في غزة، مع اتفاقات محتملة في مجالات الدفاع والطاقة والاستثمار والنقل الجوي - وهو ترتيب وافقت عليه إسرائيل وسهّلته. وكما هو الحال مع دول الخليج الأخرى، لا تزال هناك مخاوف بشأن تصرفات قطر بشأن تمويل الإرهاب. وحتى إذا تم التغاضي عن هذه المواضيع في البيت الأبيض، فمن المؤكد أنه سيتم التطرق إليها في اجتماعات الزعيم القطري مع أعضاء الكونغرس ومؤسسات أخرى من الإدارة الأمريكية.

وبالنسبة لإيران، تتمتُّع الدوحة بمكانة دقيقة كونها تملك قسم من حقل الغاز الضخم الذي تشترك فيه مع جارتها عبر الخليج. وقد تأخر استغلال طهران لجزئها من الحقل بسبب تأثير العقوبات، في حين أن جدول الإيرادات القائم بالفعل في قطر قد حوّل اقتصادها وجعلها جهة فاعلة في الدبلوماسية الدولية، والرياضة، والسفر جواً. وقد زاد الحصار الإقليمي المذكور أعلاه من أهمية الحفاظ على حقوق التحليق مع إيران.

ومع ذلك، كانت قطر حليفاً جيداً للولايات المتحدة، حيث استضافت بسهولة القاذفات الإضافية من طراز "بي - 52" ومقاتلات الشبح من نوع "إف-22" التي تم إرسالها إلى المنطقة في الأسابيع الأخيرة، بينما كانت دول أخرى أكثر حذراً. كما تم تعزيز دفاعاتها بصواريخ إضافية من طراز "باتريوت". وكجزء من الاتجاه المتطور، عملت واشنطن على تخفيف عزلة الدوحة. فقد شارك وزير المالية القطري في ورشة العمل الاقتصادية في البحرين الشهر الماضي، والتي ناقشت المساعدات الإنمائية للفلسطينيين. وقد أعادت الرياض ضباط الاتصال إلى قاعدة "العُديد"، لكن دولة الإمارات تقف في وجه حلول وسط كهذه.

وربما تكون رمزية الاجتماع بقدر ما يمكن توقعه. لكن على افتراض قيام حرية الوصول المعتادة من قبل وسائل الإعلام التي تتزاحم فيما بينها في البيت الأبيض، فقد يكون هذا الوصول أيضاً فرصة للرئيس ترامب للرد على التقييمات المسربة من قبل السفير البريطاني في واشنطن كيم داروش بأن إدارة ترامب "غير كفؤة" وأن سياستها تجاه إيران "غير مترابطة" و "فوضوية". وفي هذه الصدد، تأمل الحكومات في جميع أنحاء العالم، وفي طهران أيضاً، في الحصول على بعض الوضوح.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

U.S.-Qatar Talks Likely to be Crucial to Iran Policy

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

July 8, 2019


The Oval Office meeting between President Trump and Emir Tamim could have many agenda items, but the regional tension with Tehran will be foremost.

When Emir Tamim bin Hamad al-Thani goes to the White House on July 9, it will likely be with a sense of triumph. The Qatari leader has survived more than two years of diplomatic and economic isolation by his immediate neighbors, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Bahrain. And with its giant al-Udeid airbase, Qatar is now central to U.S. contingency planning for coping with the developing crisis caused by Iran’s recent nuclear program violations and its attacks on oil tankers and pipelines.

Meanwhile, President Trump, who initially endorsed the Gulf blockade on Qatar—deemed to be “a funder of terrorism, and at a very high level”—has since spoken warmly of Doha, thanking it for both its hospitality at al-Udeid and multi-billion purchases of American weapons. And Emir Tamim’s rivals, the instigators of the blockade, appear to be avoiding Washington. Saudi crown prince Muhammad bin Salman remains embroiled in the controversy of the killing of dissident journalist Jamal Khashoggi and de facto Emirati leader, Crown Prince Muhammad bin Zayed of Abu Dhabi, earned a mention in the Mueller Report because of his Russian contacts.

But the Qatari leader’s visit will not be without its own awkwardness. Doha remains tolerant of hate-speech in mosque sermons, textbooks, and particularly the Arabic-language output of its al-Jazeera satellite broadcasting station. Furthermore, Doha’s balancing act includes funding for Palestinians in Gaza, with prospective agreements in the fields of defense, energy, investment and air transport—an arrangement agreed with and facilitated by Israel. And as with other Gulf countries, there continue to be concerns about Qatar’s actions on terrorist financing. Even if passed over in the White House, these subjects are sure to come up in the Qatari leader’s meetings with members of Congress and other parts of the Administration.

On Iran, Doha’s position is nuanced by the huge offshore gas field it shares with its neighbor across the Gulf. Tehran’s exploitation of its own portion has been delayed by the effect of sanctions while Qatar’s already established stream of revenues has transformed its economy and made it a player in international diplomacy, sport, and air travel. The aforementioned regional blockade has only increased the importance of maintaining overflight rights with Iran.

Yet Qatar has also been a good U.S. ally, readily hosting the extra B-52 bombers and F-22 stealth fighters sent out to the region in recent weeks, while other states have been more cautious. Its defenses have also been reinforced by extra Patriot missiles. As part of a developing trend, Washington has worked to lessen Doha’s isolation; the Qatari finance minister was at the economic workshop in Bahrain last month, which discussed development aid to the Palestinians. Riyadh has returned liaison officers to al-Udeid but the UAE is a hold-out on such compromises.

The symbolism of the meeting is probably as much as can be expected. But assuming the usual access by the media scrum in the White House, it may also be an opportunity for President Trump to respond to the leaked assessments by the British ambassador Kim Darroch that his administration is “inept” and its Iran policy is “incoherent” and “chaotic.” Governments across the world, as well as Tehran, will be hoping for some clarity.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy at The Washington Institute.