أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3069

في تقريرٍ مدين، يقدّم فريق خبراء الأمم المتحدة معلومات مفصّلة عن اقتصاد الحرب في اليمن

إيلانا ديلوزيي

متاح أيضاً في English

25 كانون الثاني/يناير 2019


أطلق التقرير الأخير لفريق خبراء الأمم المتحدة المعني باليمن تحذيرات جديدة حول التهديدات المحتملة لتسوية النزاعات القصيرة الأجل وتحقيق الاستقرار. فبالإضافة إلى التشكيك في تماسك القوات الحكومية وقوات الثوار، يسرد التقرير بشكل مفصَّل تفاصيل ازدهار اقتصاد الحرب، الأشبه بالمافيا، الأمر الذي يخلق عوامل غير مشجعة للسلام لدى الجانبين. وتتضمن استنتاجات الفريق تقييماً جديداً، يدين بشكل خاص حكومة عبد ربه منصور هادي وفروعها المحلية، في الوقت الذي تكرر فيه أيضاً المخاوف القائمة بشأن الائتلاف الذي تقوده السعودية والثوار الحوثيون.

انعدام التماسك

يقدّم الفريق المؤلف من خبراء مستقلين ذوي معرفة متخصصة، تقييماً سنوياً لمجلس الأمن الدولي بشأن تنفيذ العقوبات وحظر الأسلحة المفروض على اليمن على النحو المحدد في قراري مجلس الأمن رقم 2140 (من عام 2014) و 2216 (من عام 2015). ويغطي التقرير الأخير عام 2018، ورغم التفويض المحدود للفريق، إلا أنه لا يقوم بتحليل وقف إطلاق النار أو الاتفاقات الأخرى التي تم التوصل إليها مؤخراً في محافظة الحديدة.

ويرسم التقرير المؤلف من حوالي 300 صفحة صورة قاتمة، تسترعي الانتباه بشكل خاص إلى انعدام التماسك الذي يجعل من الصعب على هادي أو الحوثيين الانتصار في الحرب بشكل حاسم، ناهيك عن الانتقال إلى مرحلة السلام. وفي نهاية المطاف، إذا فقدت الفصائل المختلفة، التي تشكل أياً من الطرفين، العدو المشترك الذي يربطها ببعضها البعض، فقد تنقسم إلى قوى معارضة، مما يؤدي إلى اندلاع سلسلة من الحروب الأهلية الصغيرة في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

فمن جهة، لا تستطيع حكومة هادي بسط سلطتها على المناطق التي تدّعي أنها تسيطر عليها؛ وقد ساهم الامتناع المتكرر عن دفع الرواتب في إثارة سخط القوات، كما تواجه معارضة شديدة وغالباً عنيفة من قبل بعض القوى الجنوبية. ومن جهة أخرى، تُعتبر قوات الحوثي جماعة غير متماسكة أيضاً حيث ترتبط ببعضها البعض من خلال وجود مجموعة من الأعداء المشتركين أكثر من ارتباطها بالمصالح المشتركة. وفي هذا الصدد، يشير الفريق إلى وجود "علامات" على أن الحوثيين أصبحوا أقل شمولاً من الناحية السياسية في صفوفهم القيادية - وهي حقيقة من المرجح أن تزيد من انعدام التماسك الأوسع نطاقاً. وفي الواقع، يشير الفريق إلى أن الحوثيين "يواجهون مستويات متزايدة قليلاً من المعارضة" من قبل القبائل الكبرى وعلى مستوى الشارع. ووفقاً لما ورد في التقرير، تعرّض التوظيف لضربة قاسية نتيجة أزمة العملة التي تسببت في ارتفاع أسعار المواد الغذائية. وأمّا الممارسة المتمثلة في تقديم رواتب منخفضة إلى المجندين الشباب الجياع، والفقراء، والأميين في كثير من الأحيان، فهي بالكاد وصفة لقوى متماسكة.

اقتصاد الحرب والفساد

إلى جانب انعدام التماسك، أدت عوامل مختلفة مزعزعة للاستقرار في اليمن إلى تطوير اقتصاد هام تغذيه الحرب. فلا محالة، أولئك الذين يستفيدون من هذا الاقتصاد هم أقل ميلاً بكثير لتسهيل عملية الانتقال إلى السلام، ويمكن أن يعملوا كمفسدين إذا تهددت مصالحهم. وتشمل هذه العناصر العديد من أصحاب المصلحة المهمّين في الشمال والجنوب، حيث يضطلع بعضهم بدور في هياكل الحكم الخاصة بالحوثيين أو بهادي.

على سبيل المثال، بهدف تمويل الجهد الحربي، يعتمد الحوثيون على الإيجارات والرسوم في صنعاء التي اعتادت الحكومة تحصيلها. ووفقاً لتقرير الفريق من العام الماضي، بلغ إجمالي هذه الإيرادات 407 مليار ريال يمني (1.6 مليار دولار) على الأقل. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإنهم يجمعون ضرائب الاستيراد في موانئ الحديدة والسليف، وعند نقطة التفتيش في محافظة ذمار، التي تمر خلالها جميع واردات البلاد تقريباً، حتى تلك القادمة من نقاط العبور غير الخاضعة للسيطرة الحوثية.

كما يشير الفريق إلى أن الحوثيين يحصلون على مبالغ كبيرة من خلال فرض ضرائب على النفط الذي تتبرع به إيران - ربما عشرات ملايين الدولارات شهرياً. ويتم استيراد النفط عن طريق الحديدة باستخدام أوراق مزورة تشير إلى أن مصدره هو الإمارات العربية المتحدة أو عُمان، على الرغم من أن المصدر الحقيقي هو إيران. ومن خلال اتباع هذا الإجراء، يتعذر على التحالف أو المراقبين البحريين التابعين للأمم المتحدة كشف مثل هذه السفن.

وبالإضافة إلى تمويله الجهد الحربي للحوثيين، خلق اقتصاد الحرب فرصاً كبيرة للفساد لكلا طرفي النزاع. فقد تم تحميل حكومة هادي وفروعها المحلية المسؤولية في تقرير الفريق لهذا العام. فقد استخدم التقريران السابقان كلمة "فساد" مرة واحدة فقط، بينما وردت هذه الكلمة أكثر من عشرين مرة في نسخة التقرير الجديدة - وردت ثماني مرات من خلال صلة مباشرة بالحكومة، ومرتين في صلة بالحوثيين، وتسع مرات على الأقل في صلة بكل منهما. كما قدّر الفريق بأن الفساد يساهم في الأزمة الإنسانية عن طريق رفع الأسعار بصورة مصطنعة وإعاقة استيراد السلع التجارية.

ويحقق الفريق أيضاً في اتهامين آخرين ضد الحوثيين: أولاً، أنهم يحاولون تحويل المساعدات الإنسانية على نطاق واسع إلى المجهود الحربي، حيث تم الاشتباه في قيامهم بذلك مؤخراً في الحديدة؛ وثانياً، أنهم يصطنعون ندرة الوقود لرفع الأسعار في السوق السوداء، التي يُزعم أن إتحاد احتكاري مقرّب من المسؤول الحوثي الكبير محمد علي الحوثي يتحكم بها.

ومع ذلك، كانت إشارات التقرير إلى فساد الحكومة أكثر عدداً. فيذكر الفريق ما لا يقل عن خمسة تحقيقات في حكومة هادي وفروعها المحلية، مع التركيز على الادعاءات التالية:

  • "عملية سرقة ضخمة وتهريب النفط الخام" في محافظة مأرب.
  • "تحويل الأموال العامة" إلى «مجموعة العيسي»، وهي شركة لنقل الوقود، تٌفيد بعض التقارير أن مالكها أحمد العيسي يقدم المشورة إلى الرئيس هادي. وبالإضافة إلى هذا الاتهام، تستفيد «العيسي» من "عمليات تقديم العطاءات غير الشفافة" التي تمنحها احتكاراً فعلياً لواردات الوقود إلى عدن، وفقاً لتقرير "مركز صنعاء للدراسات الاستراتيجية" في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر.
  • تمرير سياسة حكومية جديدة مصممة إما لـ "تقييد" اقتصاد الحوثيين عن قصد أو مساعدة "الأوساط التجارية النافذة المرتبطة بالحكومة التي أرادت زيادة حصتها في سوق الاستيراد".
  • تطبيق آلية استيراد منحت الأفضلية لـ "دائرة أعمال صغيرة قريبة من كبار المسؤولين [الحكوميين]" وساهمت في الانتهاكات الإنسانية.
  • الفساد المحتمل في القوات المسلحة اليمنية فيما يتعلق بالإمدادات الغذائية.

نتائج حول القضايا الإنسانية والأمنية

يؤكد التقرير الجديد مرة أخرى قلق الفريق المستمر بشأن انتهاكات القانون الإنساني الدولي. وكما هو الحال في التقييمات السابقة، يوجه التقرير أصابع الاتهام إلى التحالف بسبب الانتهاكات المتصلة بالغارات الجوية الخاطئة والادعاءات المتعلقة بالتعذيب أثناء الاحتجاز، إلى جانب قضايا أخرى. كما يتهم الحوثيين بالقصف العشوائي، والهجمات على قوافل المساعدات الإنسانية، واستخدام الألغام الأرضية، والتعذيب أثناء الاحتجاز، وغيرها من الانتهاكات.

ومع ذلك، يقدم التقرير المتشائم جانبين مشرقين بعض الشيء. أولاً، يشير التقرير ضمناً إلى احتمال تعطيل مسار إمدادات القذائف التسيارية القادمة من إيران لصالح الحوثيين، حيث لم يطلق الثوار أي قذيفة تسيارية باتجاه الرياض منذ حزيران/يونيو 2018، مما وضع حدٍّ لنمطٍ شهد عملية إطلاق واحدة شهرياً. ويعمل الفريق على "رصد ما إذا كان انتشار القوات السعودية مؤخراً في محافظة المهرة قد أثر على سلاسل التوريد" الآتية من إيران.

لكن في الوقت نفسه، يشير الفريق إلى أن الحوثيين هم أقل اعتماداً على قيام إيران بتزويد أنظمة أسلحة كاملة، مما يدل على أنهم أصبحوا يجمعون الآن بعض الأنظمة محلياً ويلجؤون إلى الخارج فقط عندما يحتاجون إلى "مكونات عالية القيمة". ويتم استخدام العديد من هذه المكونات (على سبيل المثال، أنظمة التوجيه بدون طيار والمحركات) لأغراض تجارية، مما يسمح للحوثيين بتفادي الحظر الذي يفرضه الائتلاف عند استيرادها. وما يثير القلق هو إشارة الفريق إلى امتلاك الثوار حالياً لقدرات معززة فيما يتعلق بالطائرات بدون طيار. ويمكن لبعض طائراتهم المسيّرة بلوغ أهداف تصل إلى مسافة تبعد 932 ميلاً، مما يضع دبي وأبو ظبي والرياض ضمن نطاقها. ويمكنهم أيضاً تحميل أنواع معينة من هذه الطائرات بذخائر متشظية، كما تبيّن من الهجوم القاتل الأخير الذي استهدف قاعدة العند الجوية. وبالتالي، ففي حين أن عدم قدرتهم الواضحة على الحصول على الصواريخ أمر مفيد على المدى القصير، إلّا أن التحول إلى الاكتفاء الذاتي قد يشكل مخاطر على المدى الطويل.

أمّا الجانب المشرق الثاني فيكمن في تضاؤل التهديد الذي يشكلانه تنظيمي «القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية» و«الدولة الإسلامية» في عام 2018. فوفقاً للنظرة السريعة التي ألقاها الفريق على هذه القضية، ينخرط حالياً العديد من المقاتلين الذين كانوا ينتمون إلى تنظيم «القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية» في الأنشطة الإجرامية المأجورة. وفي هذا الصدد، نفّذ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بعض الهجمات الكبيرة في اليمن في عام 2018. ومع ذلك، من غير المرجح [أن الوقت قد حان] لأولئك الذين يراقبون  تنظيم «القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية» منذ وقت طويل أن يتنفسوا الصعداء نظراً إلى مهارة الجماعة في البقاء خاملة لتعود وتنهض بعد ذلك من جديد. ويمتلك تنظيم «القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية» صندوقاً مالياً كبيراً لدعم الحرب، الذي من شأنه أن يساهم بشكل كبير في تعويض النقص داخل صفوفه القتالية عندما ينحسر اقتصاد الحرب.

الخاتمة

نظراً لأن تقييمات الفريق توفر نظرة شاملة لما يفعله أصدقاء أمريكا وأعداؤها في اليمن، فبإمكانها أن تخدم كبطاقة تقرير سنوي بالنسبة لمقرري السياسات بهدف المساعدة في مواءمة نهج الولايات المتحدة في المستقبل. ويعزز تقرير هذا العام التحذيرات السابقة حول الانتهاكات التي يرتكبها التحالف، في حين يطلق تحذيرات جديدة بشأن سلوك حكومة هادي. يجب على واشنطن أن تلزم هذه الحكومة وشركاءها بالتقيد بأعلى المعايير باعتبارها الممثل القانوني للشعب اليمني على المسرح الدولي. كما ينبغي أن تضغط على عُمان والحلفاء الآخرين المقربين من الحوثيين من أجل إدانة الانتهاكات التي يرتكبها الثوار.

ووفقاً لتوصيات الفريق، يجب أن تنظر الولايات المتحدة، على وجه التحديد، في تقديم المساعدة بالتنسيق مع دولة الإمارات وسلطنة عُمان من أجل تعزيز قدرات مراقبي الأمم المتحدة في الكشف عن وثائق الاستيراد المزيفة. يتعيّن على واشنطن أيضاً توفير التدريب للحكومة اليمنية فيما يتعلق بآليات العناية الواجبة المناسبة للواردات. وينبغي أن تضغط على التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية لكي يكون أكثر استجابة لطلبات الفريق، لا سيّما وأن الباحثين يعملون على كشف القضايا المتعلقة بسلاسل التوريد وتسلسل العُهدة. كما ينبغي أن تدعم واشنطن على الفور تمديد ولاية الفريق لمدة عام آخر عندما تنتهي في أواخر شباط/فبراير، مع توفير التمويل الكافي لإعادة إطلاق نشاطاته.

 

إيلانا ديلوزيي، هي زميلة أبحاث في "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3069

In Damning Report, UN Panel Details War Economy in Yemen

Elana DeLozier

Also available in العربية

January 25, 2019


By benefiting from questionable wartime revenue streams and outright corruption, both the Houthi rebels and the U.S.-supported Hadi government are inhibiting a transition to peace.

The latest UN Panel of Experts report on Yemen raises new red flags about potential threats to near-term conflict resolution and stabilization. In addition to questioning the cohesiveness of government and rebel forces, it anecdotally details the rise of a robust, mafia-like war economy that creates disincentives for peace on both sides. The panel’s conclusions include a new, particularly damning assessment of Abdu Rabu Mansour Hadi’s government and its local affiliates, while also reiterating extant concerns about the Saudi-led coalition and the Houthi rebels.

LACK OF COHESIVENESS

Composed of independent experts with specialized knowledge, the panel presents an annual assessment to the UN Security Council on the implementation of sanctions and the arms embargo on Yemen as specified by Security Council Resolutions 2140 (2014) and 2216 (2015). The latest report covers 2018, though given the panel’s limited mandate, it does not analyze the ceasefire or other agreements recently reached in Hodeida province.

The nearly 300-page document paints a bleak picture, drawing particular attention to the lack of cohesiveness that makes it difficult for either Hadi or the Houthis to decisively win the war, let alone effectively transition to peace. After all, if the disparate factions that make up either side lost the common enemy that binds them together, they may well fracture into opposing forces, creating a series of small civil wars across the country.

On one side, the Hadi government is unable to exert authority over the areas it claims to control, its repeated non-payment of salaries has contributed to troop discontent, and it faces intense and often violent opposition by some southern forces. On the other side, Houthi forces are a similarly loose collective linked together more by a set of common adversaries than common interests. The panel suggests there are “signs” that the Houthis are becoming less politically inclusive in their leadership ranks—a fact that likely exacerbates the broader lack of cohesion. Indeed, the panel notes that the Houthis are “facing slightly increasing levels of dissent” from major tribes and at the street level. Recruitment has reportedly taken a hit due to a currency crisis that caused food prices to rise, and the practice of offering low pay to hungry, poor, often illiterate young recruits is hardly a recipe for close-knit forces.

WAR ECONOMY AND CORRUPTION

Coupled with the lack of cohesiveness, various destabilizing factors in Yemen have led to the development of a significant war economy. Inevitably, those who benefit from this economy are far less inclined to facilitate a transition to peace, and they could act as spoilers if their interests are threatened. These elements include many important stakeholders in the north and south, some with roles in Houthi or Hadi governing structures.  

For example, to finance the war effort, the Houthis rely on rents and fees in Sana that the government used to collect. According to last year’s panel report, this revenue totaled at least 407 billion Yemeni riyals ($1.6 billion). Moreover, they collect import taxes at Hodeida and al-Salif ports, and at a checkpoint in Dhamar province through which nearly all of the country’s imports pass, even those originating from entry points not under Houthi control.

The panel also notes that the Houthis make significant sums by taxing oil donated by Iran—perhaps tens of millions of dollars per month. The oil is imported through Hodeida with falsified paperwork suggesting an origin in the United Arab Emirates or Oman, though the true origin is Iran. This allows vessels to avert detection by the coalition or UN maritime monitors.

In addition to funding the Houthi war effort, the war economy has created ample opportunities for corruption on both sides of the conflict. The Hadi government and its local affiliates are particularly taken to task in this year’s panel report. The previous two reports used the word “corruption” only once, but this new edition uses it over twenty times—eight times in direct relation to the government, two in relation to the Houthis, and at least nine in relation to both. The panel assesses that corruption is contributing to the humanitarian crisis by artificially raising prices and impeding the import of commercial goods.

The panel is also investigating two other accusations against the Houthis: first, that they are trying to divert humanitarian aid on a large scale to the war effort, as they have recently been suspected of doing in Hodeida; and second, that they are creating an artificial fuel scarcity to drive up prices on the black market, which is allegedly controlled by a cartel close to senior Houthi official Mohammed Ali al-Houthi.

Yet the report’s references to corruption on the government side are even more numerous. The panel mentions no less than five investigations into the Hadi government and its local affiliates, centering on the following allegations:

  • “Significant theft and smuggling of crude oil” in Marib province.
  • The “diversion of public funds” to the Alessi Group, a fuel transportation company whose owner, Ahmed al-Essi, reportedly advises President Hadi. In addition to this accusation, Alessi allegedly benefits from “opaque tender bidding processes” that give it a de facto monopoly over fuel imports into Aden, according to a November report by the Sanaa Center for Strategic Studies.
  • The passage of a new government policy designed to either deliberately “constrain” the Houthi economy or help “business lobbies associated with the government who wanted to increase their share of the import market.”
  • The introduction of an import mechanism that gave preference to “a small business circle close to senior [government] officials” and contributed to humanitarian violations.
  • Potential corruption in the Yemeni armed forces over food supplies.

FINDINGS ON HUMANITARIAN AND SECURITY ISSUES

The new report reiterates the panel’s ongoing concerns about violations of international humanitarian law. Like past assessments, it calls out the coalition for violations related to errant airstrikes and allegations of torture in detention, among other issues. It also accuses the Houthis of indiscriminate shelling, attacks on humanitarian convoys, use of landmines, torture in detention, and other violations.

The bleak report does offer two thin silver linings. First, it implies that the Houthi supply route for ballistic missiles from Iran may have been disrupted. The rebels have not fired a ballistic missile toward Riyadh since June 2018, halting a pattern that had seen about one launch per month. The panel is “monitoring whether the recent deployment of Saudi forces to al-Mahra governorate has affected the supply chains” from Iran.

At the same time, however, the panel notes that the Houthis are less reliant on Iran supplying whole weapons systems, suggesting that they are now assembling some systems locally and looking abroad only when they need “high-value components.” Many of these components (e.g., drone guidance systems and engines) have commercial purposes, allowing the Houthis to avoid coalition interdiction when importing them. Worryingly, the panel suggests that the rebels now have enhanced drone capabilities. Some of their drones can reach targets up to 932 miles away, putting Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Riyadh just in range. They can also equip certain variants with fragmentation munitions, as seen in the recent deadly attack on al-Anad Air Base. Thus, while their apparent inability to acquire missiles is beneficial in the short run, a turn to self-sufficiency may pose risks in the long run.

The second thin silver lining is that the threat from al-Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula and the Islamic State diminished in 2018. According to the panel’s cursory look at the issue, many of the fighters who were a part of AQAP’s ranks are now involved in criminal activity for hire, and the Islamic State conducted few substantial attacks in Yemen in 2018. Longtime AQAP watchers are unlikely to breathe a sigh of relief, however, given the group’s knack for lying dormant only to rise again. AQAP retains a large war chest, which would go a long way to replenishing its ranks when the war economy subsides.

CONCLUSION

Because the panel’s assessments provide a bird’s eye view of what U.S. friends and foes are doing in Yemen, they can serve as an annual report card for policymakers to help calibrate the U.S. approach going forward. This year’s report reinforces past red flags about coalition violations while raising new ones about the Hadi government’s conduct. Washington should hold the government and its partners to the highest standard as the legal representative of the Yemeni people on the international stage. It should also press Oman and other allies who have the Houthis’ ear to condemn violations on the rebel side.

Specifically, per the panel’s recommendations, the United States should consider providing assistance in coordination with the UAE and Oman to enhance the capabilities of UN monitors in detecting false import documentation. Washington should also provide training to the Yemeni government on proper due diligence mechanisms for imports. And it should press the Saudi-led coalition to be more responsive to panel requests, especially as investigators work to uncover issues related to supply chains and chain of custody. Most immediately, Washington should support the panel’s renewal for another year when it comes due in late February, with adequate funding to boot.

Elana DeLozier is a research fellow in The Washington Institute’s Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy.