أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2987

مشكلة انتشار الألغام الأرضية في اليمن

إليانا ديلوزيي

متاح أيضاً في English

3 تموز/يوليو 2018


في مطلع حزيران/يونيو 2018، بينما كانت قوات التحالف بقيادة الإمارات تستعد لتنفيذ عمليات ضد الحوثيين في الحديدة، كان وفد من اليمن يشرح بالتفصيل التحديات التي يواجهها من الألغام الأرضية، وذلك في الاجتماع الذي عُقد في جنيف حول "اتفاقية حظر الألغام المضادة للأفراد". ومنذ ذلك الحين، وقّعت الحكومة اليمنية اتفاقية مع شركة بريطانية لإجراء عمليات لإزالة الألغام؛ أما السعودية فقد أطلقت مشروعاً جديداً لنزع الألغام الأرضية في اليمن؛ وكانت الإمارات تقيم ندوات للتوعية على الألغام في الحديدة. إن تجدد التركيز على الألغام الأرضية جاء رداً على إنتاج الحوثيين الضخم ونشرهم لها، مما يزيد من احتمال وضع مسألة نزع الألغام الأرضية مجدداً تحت رادار المجتمع الدولي - وهي القضية الي حظيت بتأييد واسع النطاق في تسعينيات القرن الماضي وأسفرت عن "معاهدة حظر الألغام" عام 1997.

مصدر الألغام الأرضية في اليمن

أبتُليت اليمن بالألغام الأرضية منذ عقود. ففي ستينيات القرن الماضي، تمّ زرعها خلال نشوب الحرب الأهلية في شمال اليمن وخلال اندلاع الانتفاضة في جنوب البلاد. كما تمّ زرع المزيد خلال الصراعات التي نشبت في السبعينيات والثمانينيات، على الحدود بين شمال وجنوب اليمن قبل توحيد البلاد عام 1990، ومجدداً خلال الحرب الأهلية عام 1994. وزعمت هيئة إزالة الألغام في اليمن أن أنصار الحوثيين زرعوا الألغام خلال حروب صعدة عام 2010، وأن تنظيم «القاعدة في جزيرة العرب» استخدم الألغام في جنوب البلاد في عام 2011. كما زُرعت الألغام أيضاً في شمالي صنعاء خلال احتجاجات 2011 ضد حكومة علي عبدالله صالح. وللإشارة إلى عمق المشكلة، اكتشف مسح للألغام الأرضية في عام 2000 أن هناك 1,078  موقعاً للألغام في 19 محافظة من محافظات اليمن العشرين.

وبالإضافة إلى العدد الهائل للألغام في اليمن، تواجه البلاد التحدي المتمثل بحالة الفوضى. فعادةً ما تَزرع القوات النظامية الألغام بنمط معين بحيث يمكن جمعها في مرحلة ما بعد الصراع.  لكن في اليمن، تمّ زرع الألغام يدوياً في معظم الأحيان من دون اعتماد نمط أو سجل يمكن تحديده. علاوةً على ذلك، يمكن للأعاصير والفيضانات وغيرها من الكوارث الطبيعية أن تبعثرها من مواقعها الأساسية. ونتيجةً لذلك، يمكن إيجادها على طول الطرق الرئيسية وساحات القتال، فضلاً عن المنازل والآبار وحتى المراحيض. وفي جميع أنحاء البلاد، أصبحت مساحات من الأراضي غير صالحة للسكن بسبب الألغام.

استخدام الحوثيين للألغام الأرضية

قد لا يكون الحوثيون أول طرف محارب يستخدم الألغام الأرضية في اليمن، لكنهم يعمدون إلى زرعها بمعدل مرتفع للغاية. ولا تختلف الألغام الأرضية بشكل كبير عن الأجهزة المتفجرة المرتجلة الأكثر شيوعاً. وخلافاً لهذه الأخيرة، التي تُعرف من خلال كيفية صنعها (أي "مرتجلة")، يتم تحديد الألغام  من خلال طريقة تفعيلها، حيث "يتمّ تفعيلها من قبل الضحية"، مما يعني أنها تنفجر بسبب وجود أو احتكاك شخص أو مركبة معها. ويمكن لهذين التعريفين أن يتداخلا وهذا ما يحصل أحياناً في اليمن، لكن العديد من الألغام الأرضية في تلك البلاد تُنتج بكميات كبيرة، وليست مرتجلة.

وخلال الحرب الحالية، زرع الحوثيون ألغاماً أرضية على طول الساحل، وعلى الحدود مع السعودية، وحول المدن الرئيسية، وعلى طول طرق النقل المرتبطة بصنعاء من أجل إنشاء أطر دفاعية أو تمهيد الطريق للتراجع. ومن بين أمثلة أخرى، أعاقت الألغام الأرضية التي زرعها الحوثيون تقدم التحالف في مأرب في عام 2015، وفي ميدي وحرض في مطلع عام 2016، وعلى طول الحدود في محافظة صعدة عام 2016، وفي تعز والحديدة في أوائل عام 2017. كما ترك الحوثيون مساراً مليئاً بالألغام الأرضية خلال انسحابهم من محافظات عدن ولحج والبيضاء ومأرب في 2015 و2016. ومن الصعب التحقق من الأرقام في اليمن، لكن من أجل إعطاء فكرة عن ضخامة عدد الألغام: زعم مسؤول يمني عن نزع الألغام أن الحوثيين زرعوا500,000  لغم منذ عام 2015؛ وأفادت بعض التقارير أن فرق نزع الألغام تمكنت من إزالة 300,000 لغم أرضي؛ كما أفاد تقرير "مرصد الألغام الأرضية والذخائر العنقودية"، وهو مبادرة تراقب الامتثال مع "معاهدة حظر الألغام"، أن عدد الضحايا ناهز ثلاثة آلاف شخص بين 2015-2016.

ويثير الحجم الهائل لاستخدام الألغام الأرضية من قبل الحوثيين تساؤلات حول مصدرها وإمداداتها. فلا يُفترض أن تمتلك اليمن مخزونات محلية من الألغام الأرضية؛ ففي النهاية خلال عام 2002، أعلنت حكومة صالح أنها دمرت مخزوناتها التي ضمت أربعة أنواع من الألغام المضادة للأفراد عملاً بالتزاماتها بموجب "معاهدة حظر الألغام". وعموماً لا توجد هذه الأنواع الأربعة في اليمن، ولكن هناك عدة أنواع أخرى شائعة، مما يشير إلى أن حكومة صالح حافظت على مخزونات سرية من الألغام أو أنها حصلت على مخزونات جديدة بعد عام 2002. ومن جانبه، لم يقم التحالف بزرع الألغام، لكنه استخدم الذخائر العنقودية.

ومن المرجح أن يكون مصدر إمدادات الألغام الأرضية الأولية التي يملكها الحوثيون من هذه المخزونات المحلية. ففي تقرير من نيسان/أبريل 2017، أشارت منظمة "هيومن رايتس ووتش" إلى لغم "پي پي إم - 2" (PPM-2) أسود، مضاد للأفراد، ذو غلاف بلاستيكي، يبلغ قطره 5.2 بوصة صُنع في ألمانيا الشرقية السابقة. وقد كتبت على هذه الألغام التي وجدت في تعز في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2015 تواريخ صنعها في أوائل الثمانينات، مما يشير إلى أن حكومة صالح لم تدمرها كجزء من التزاماتها بموجب المعاهدة. وحمل لغم آخر من المرجح أنه من المخزونات المحلية اسم "تي أم-57" (TM-57 ). وهو عبارة عن لغم باللون الزيتوني، بقطر 12 بوصة مضاد للمركبات صنع في الاتحاد السوفييتي السابق، ويستخدمه الحوثيون بشكل متكرر، وفقاً لـ "مركز أبحاث التسلح والصراعات" ("المركز")، وهي منظمة مستقلة تعنى ببحوث الأسلحة.

وعلى الرغم من انتشار اللغمين من طراز "پي پي إم - 2" و"تي أم-57" والعديد من الألغام الأخرى، إلّا أن المعدلات الحالية لتجدد المخزونات تشير إلى أن الحوثيين قد يصنعون أيضاً ألغاماً خاصة بهم بأعداد كبيرة. ووفقاً لـ "مركز أبحاث التسلح والصراعات"، يقوم الحوثيون في كثير من الأحيان بزرع ثلاثة ألغام غير متسلسة أو تُشير إلى أنها صُنعت في بلد آخر. فالأول هو لغم يشبه "تي أم-57"، رغم أن اللون ونوع المعدن يختلفان عن الأساسي، ويتضمن غلافه رقماً كبيراً ذو ثلاثة أعداد باللغة العربية على جانبه بدلاً من وجود رقم تسلسلي صحيح. وتعتبر هذه النماذج شبه المطابقة للأصل موحدة، مما يشير إلى أنها تُنتَج بأعداد كبيرة في ورشة عمل. ومن خلال إضفاء المزيد من المصداقية على هذه النظرية الخاصة بالإنتاج المحلي الضخم، نشرت صحيفة "يمن أوبزرفر" صوراً يُزعم أنها تُظهر أحد كبار قادة الحوثيين، صالح الصماد، يقوم بجولة في منشأة لتصنيع الأسلحة في نيسان/أبريل 2018. (وقد قُتل الصمد في ذلك الشهر نفسه). وقد أظهرت إحدى الصور عشرات أغلفة الألغام الأرضية التي تشبه النسخ شبه المطابقة التي وصفها "مركز أبحاث التسلح والصراعات".

ووفقاً لـ "المركز"، فإن اللغمين الآخرين غير المتسلسلين اللذين ينشرهما الحوثيون بشكل متكرر طويلان وأسطوانيا الشكل. كما أن اللغم الأصغر حجماً مصنوع من أنابيب "الكلوريد المتعدد الفاينيل"، والأكبر من المعدن. وعلى غرار النسخ شبه المطابقة للغم "تي أم-57"، فإن هذه الألغام موحدة ومماثلة، مما يشير إلى إنتاجها بأعداد كبيرة، وغالباً ما تكون ممهورة بالنوع نفسه المؤلف من ثلاثة أعداد. وبدأت صور هذه الألغام - التي يُزعم أن التحالف جمعها في الحديدة - بالانتشار على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي.

وليس من الواضح كيف يحصل الحوثيون على المكونات اللازمة لصنع الآلاف من الألغام الأرضية المتطابقة. فربما يحصلون على المواد الأساسية، على غرار أنابيب "الكلوريد المتعدد الفاينيل" أو الأسطوانات المعدنية، من مصانع يمنية محلية. وقد يحصلون أيضاً على إمدادات خارجية من جهة مُتبرّعة كإيران. ومن شأن تعقب مصدر المكوّنات أن يساعد التحالف على وقف الإمدادات في نهاية المطاف.

التفاوض حول السبيل للمضي قدماً

ستبقى الألغام الأرضية تشكل تحدياً صعباً خلال حقبة ما بعد الحرب. ونتيجةً لذلك، سيشكل نزع الألغام من القضايا الرئيسية في مفاوضات السلام، تماماً كما كان عليه الحال في المحادثات بين السعودية والحوثيين في عام 2016. ومن المرجح أن تركز محادثات نزع الألغام مع الحوثيين على المحافظات الشمالية والحدود السعودية - اليمنية. كما قد يكون إجراء محادثات منفصلة حول إزالة الألغام ضرورياً بالنسبة إلى الجنوب، لا سيما أن عمليات إزالة الألغام الأرضية غالباً ما تتشابك مع السياسة المثيرة للجدل المتعلقة بملكية الأراضي في هذا الجزء من البلاد. يتعيّن على واشنطن تشجيع هذه المحادثات.

وعلى الرغم من عدم توقيع الولايات المتحدة على "معاهدة حظر الألغام"، إلا أنها قادت جهوداً دولية لنزع الألغام في مناطق الصراع منذ تسعينيات القرن الماضي، وعليها الاستمرار في ذلك. إن تجاهل انتشار الألغام الأرضية قد يُضعف إلى حد كبير عقوداً من العمل على بناء القواعد والمعايير ويشجع بذل جهود مماثلة في مناطق أخرى، حيث تنشر الولايات المتحدة جنودها. وفي اليمن، قد يدعم إزالة الألغام الأرضية أيضاً جهود مكافحة الإرهاب من خلال ضمان عدم تمكن جماعات على غرار تنظيم «القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية» من جمعها لاستخدامها في المستقبل أو إعادة استخدامها لصنع أنواع أخرى من المتفجرات. ومن شأن الاستثمار في إزالة الألغام الأرضية - وهو مجال يمكن فيه لنفقات ضئيلة نسبياً أن تحدث أثراً كبيراً - أن يساعد الولايات المتحدة أيضاً على تأكيد نفسها على أنها حليف لليمن يهمه رفاه المدنيين وأمنهم في مرحلة ما بعد الحرب. وكانت الولايات المتحدة قد منحت بالفعل مساعدات لليمن لإزالة الألغام فاقت قيمتها 27 مليون دولار خلال عقدين من الزمن. وفي المستقبل، على واشنطن مواصلة تقديم الدعم المالي لعمليات إزالة الألغام، والدعوة إلى إجراء مسح جديد لأثر الألغام الأرضية، والمساعدة على ضمان منح الأولوية بشكل دائم لعمليات إزالة الألغام حتى مع ظهور تحديات ملحة أخرى في أعقاب الحرب.

 

إليانا ديلوزيي، محللة سياسية ومتخصصة في شؤون اليمن، ومؤسسة "معهد سيج للشؤون الخارجية".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2987

The Problem of Landmine Proliferation in Yemen

Elana DeLozier

Also available in العربية

July 3, 2018


The United States should take the lead in preventing the spread of landmine use beyond the Arabian Peninsula, thereby upholding decades of norm-building efforts.

In early June 2018, as UAE-led coalition forces were gearing up for anti-Houthi operations in Hodeida, a delegation from Yemen was detailing the challenges it faces from landmines at the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention in Geneva. Since then, the Yemeni government has signed an agreement with a British company to conduct de-mining operations; Saudi Arabia has launched a new project for landmine clearance in Yemen; and the UAE has been conducting mine-awareness seminars in Hodeida. The renewed focus on landmines marks a response to the Houthis’ mass production and deployment of their own landmines, thus raising the possibility that landmine clearance—an issue championed in the 1990s and resulting in the 1997 Mine Ban Treaty—will again need to be on the international community's radar.

Origin of Landmines in Yemen

Landmines have plagued Yemen for decades. In the 1960s, they were laid during the civil war in North Yemen and during an uprising in South Yemen. More were planted during conflicts in the 1970s and 1980s, on the border between North and South Yemen before unification in 1990, and again during the 1994 civil war. A de-mining authority in Yemen claims Houthi supporters laid mines in 2010 during the Saada wars, and that al-Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula (AQAP) used mines in the south in 2011. Mines were also laid north of Sana during the 2011 protests against the government of Ali Abdullah Saleh. To hint at the breadth of the problem, a landmine impact survey conducted in 2000 found 1,078 mine sites in nineteen of Yemen's twenty governorates.

In addition to the sheer number of landmines in Yemen, the country faces the challenge of their disarray. Conventional forces typically lay mines in a pattern so that they can be collected post-conflict. In Yemen, however, mines have been laid by hand often with no discernible pattern or record. Moreover, cyclones, floods, and other natural disasters can scatter them from their initial locations. As a result, they are found along key roads and battlefields but also in houses, wells, and even toilets. Across the country, tracts of land are made uninhabitable by mines.

Houthi Use of Landmines

The Houthis may not be the first warring party to use landmines in Yemen, but they are using them at an astonishingly high rate. Landmines differ slightly from the more commonly known improvised explosive devices (IEDs). Unlike IEDs, which are defined by how they are made (i.e., “improvised”), landmines are defined by their mode of activation. They are “victim activated,” meaning they are detonated by the presence or contact of a person or vehicle. These definitions can overlap and occasionally do in Yemen, but many of the landmines in Yemen are mass produced, not improvised.

During the course of the current war, the Houthis have laid landmines along the coast, along the border with Saudi Arabia, around key towns, and along transport routes linking back to Sana to create defensive perimeters or set the stage for retreat. Among other examples, Houthi-planted landmines impeded the coalition's progress in Marib in 2015, in Midi and Harad in early 2016, along the border in Saada governorate in 2016, and in Taizz and Hodeida in early 2017. The Houthis also left a trail of landmines as they retreated from Aden, Lahij, al-Bayda, and Marib governorates in 2015 and 2016. Numbers are notoriously difficult to verify in Yemen, but to give a sense of magnitude: a Yemeni de-mining official claims the Houthis have laid 500,000 mines since 2015; de-mining teams have reportedly removed 300,000 landmines; and the Landmine and Cluster Munition Monitor, an initiative that checks compliance with the Mine Ban Treaty, reported about three thousand casualties in 2015-16.

The sheer scale of Houthi landmine use raises questions about their source and supply. Yemen is not supposed to have domestic stockpiles of landmines; after all, in 2002, the Saleh government declared that it had destroyed its stockpiles of four types of antipersonnel mines under its Mine Ban Treaty obligations. Those four types are not generally found in Yemen, but several other types are common, suggesting either the Saleh government kept secret stockpiles of mines or it acquired new ones after 2002. The coalition, for its part, has not laid mines, but it has used cluster munitions.

The Houthis' initial landmine supplies likely originated from these domestic stockpiles. In an April 2017 report, Human Rights Watch refers to the PPM-2, a black, plastic-cased, 5.2-inch-diameter antipersonnel mine made in former East Germany. PPM-2s found in Taizz in October 2015 were marked with manufacturing dates in the early 1980s, suggesting the Saleh government did not destroy them as part of its treaty obligations. Another mine likely from domestic stockpiles is called the TM-57. It is an olive-colored, 12-inch-diameter antivehicle mine made in the former Soviet Union and used frequently by the Houthis, according to Conflict Armament Research (CAR), an independent arms research organization.

Although PPM-2s, TM-57s, and several other mines are common, current rates of replenishment suggest the Houthis may also be mass producing their own mines. According to CAR, the Houthis frequently deploy three mines that are not serialized or otherwise denoted as originating in another country. The first is a mine that resembles the TM-57, although the color and metal type vary from the original and the casing includes a large three-digit Arabic number on the side instead of a proper serial number. These near-replicas are standardized, suggesting they are mass produced in a workshop. Lending further credence to this theory of domestic mass production, the Yemen Observer released pictures purportedly showing a top Houthi leader, Saleh al-Sammad, touring a weapons-manufacturing facility in April 2018. (Sammad was killed that same month.) One photo shows dozens of landmine casings that resemble the near-replicas described by CAR.

According to CAR, the two other nonserialized mines frequently deployed by the Houthis are tall and cylindrical in shape. The smaller one is made of PVC pipe and the larger one of metal. Like the TM-57 replicas, these mines are standardized and identical, suggesting mass production, and often marked with the same type of three-digit number. Photos of these mines allegedly collected by the coalition in Hodeida have begun to appear on social media.


Figure 1: PVC Casings
 

It is not clear how the Houthis are acquiring the components necessary to make thousands of identical landmines. They may have sourced basic materials, like PVC piping or metal cylinders, from local Yemeni factories. They also may be getting an external supply from a benefactor like Iran. Tracking the origin of the components could help the coalition ultimately cut off the supply.

Metal Casings
Figure 2: Metal Casings
 

Negotiating a Way Forward

Landmines will remain a formidable challenge in the postwar era. As a result, de-mining will be a key issue in peace negotiations, just as it was in Saudi-Houthi talks in 2016. De-mining talks with the Houthis would likely focus on the northern provinces and the Saudi-Yemen border. Separate de-mining talks may also be needed for the south, especially since landmine-removal processes often get tangled up in the controversial politics of landownership there. The United States should encourage these talks.

Although it is a nonsignatory to the Mine Ban Treaty, the United States has led international efforts to disarm mines in conflict zones since the 1990s and should continue to do so. Ignoring landmine proliferation could seriously weaken decades of norm-building work and encourage copycat efforts in other areas, where the United States has troops deployed. In Yemen, removing landmines could also aid counterterrorism efforts by ensuring groups like AQAP cannot collect them for future use or repurpose them for other types of explosives. Investing in landmine removal—an area where relatively little spending can have a large impact—could also help the United States assert itself as an ally of Yemen with an interest in the well-being and security of civilians in the postwar period. The United States has already given Yemen more than $27 million in de-mining aid over two decades. In the future, Washington should continue to financially support de-mining operations, call for a new landmine impact survey, and help ensure landmine removal continues to be prioritized even as other urgent challenges arise in the war's aftermath.

Elana DeLozier, a Yemen specialist and political analyst, is the founder of the Sage Institute for Foreign Affairs.