أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3044

تأجج الغضب في غزّة (الجزء الثاني): فكّ العقدة الغورديّة بليونة

غيث العمري و أساف أوريون

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

20 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، 2018


"هذا المرصد السياسي هو الثاني في سلسلة من جزئين حول آخر الأعمال العدائية بين إسرائيل و«حماس». وناقش الجزء الأول التداعيات السياسية الداخلية على إسرائيل".

 

بعد سبعة أشهرٍ من الاشتباكات المستمرة، وقبل بدء التصعيد الأخير في غزّة، كانت إسرائيل وحركة «حماس» تُحرزان تقدّماً ملحوظاً في المحادثات التي رعتها مصر بهدف التوصّل إلى تفاهمات محدودة لوقف إطلاق النار. ويبدو أن استئناف هذه المناقشات وتنفيذ اتفاقات التفاهم يشكّلان أفضل مسار عمل متاح اليوم، على الرغم من التقلبات الراهنة.

وأصبحت المحادثات تجني ثمارها عندما قسّمت أخيراً المطالب المتعددة جدّاً التي قدّمها كلا الطرفيْن، باعتماد مقاربة تدريجية بدلاً من التجميع. ويتمثّل الهدف الأساسي في إنتاج مجموعة محدودة ولكن ملموسة من الترتيبات تلتزم بموجبها «حماس» بإنهاء العنف ضد إسرائيل (بما في ذلك المواجهات على طول الحاجز الأمني ​​في غزة خلال "مسيرات العودة" الأسبوعية، بالإضافة إلى الهجمات الحارقة بالطائرات الورقية والبالونات)، بينما تسمح إسرائيل بوصول المساعدات الأجنبية إلى غزّة من أجل تخفيف وطأة الوضع الاقتصادي والإنساني الملح في هذه الأراضي.

وقبل التصعيد الأخير، اتّخذ كلا الطرفين خطواتٍ للدلالة على جدّيّتهما وحسن نواياهما. فقد سمحت إسرائيل التحويل الفوري المباشر لـ 15 مليون دولار لدفع رواتب موظّفي «حماس» في غزّة كجزءٍ من منحة قطر التي تبلغ 90 مليون دولار. كما سمحت بدخول شاحنات الوقود. وتكفّلت «حماس» من جهتها بتجنب الاحتكاك مع القوّات الإسرائيلية في مسيرتيْ الحدود في 2 و9 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، مما أدّى إلى مرور اثنين من أهدأ أيام الجمعة منذ بداية المسيرات في آذار/مارس.

نكسة تكتيكية

نجم التصعيد الأخير عن تطوّرٍ تكتيكي، وليس عن نوايا استراتيجية لأيٍ من الطرفين. ففي 11 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، تم كشف فريقٍ سرّي لـ"جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" يعمل في أعماق خان يونس، وجرى تبادل إطلاق النار مع قوّات «حماس»، مما أسفر عن مقتل أحد كبار ضبّاط "الجيش الإسرائيلي" وسبعة عملاء تابعين لـ «حماس». وتلا ذلك تجدد معارك عنيفة عبر الحدود، كانت الأسوأ منذ عام 2014. فاستُهدِفت البلدات الإسرائيلية بما يقارب 500 صاروخٍ وقذيفة "هاون"، نجحت في أداء بعض الضربات المباشرة على المنازل والمباني الأخرى، بينما أدّت إلى اعتراض ما يقرب من 100 صاروخ وقذيفة من قبل بطّاريات دفاع "القبة الحديدية". وقُتِل مدني واحد وأصيب عدد آخر بجروح في إسرائيل. وفي غزّة، ضرب "الجيش الإسرائيلي" 160 هدفاً؛ وتم الإبلاغ عن مقتل خمسة فلسطينيين.

لكن بعد ذلك بوقتٍ قصير، قرر كلا الطرفيْن الابتعاد عن حافة الهاوية، حيث وافق مجلس الوزراء الإسرائيلي على توصية مؤسسة الدفاع ووافق على وقف إطلاق نار آخر اقترحته مصر، إذ لم يرَ أي مكاسب ناتجة عن أي تصعيدٍ إضافي. وأعلنت «حماس» انتصارها إلا أنها لم تسمح لمسيرتها الحدودية في 16 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر ببلوغ حدّ العنف.

التقسيم، وليس التجميع

كان تقسيم بنود جدول الأعمال مفتاح الجولة الأخيرة من المحادثات لأن تجميع العديد منها كان قد علق الجهود السابقة. فمن خلال محاولة معالجة مجموعة واسعة من القضايا في آن واحد - كالسلوك الأمني، والأجور، والوقود، والحركة التجارية، والمصالحة الداخلية بين الفلسطسنيين، والسجناء، ونزع السلاح، ومشاريع البنى التحتية الكبيرة - زاد المتفاوضون من تعقيد كلّ بندٍ وأفسحوا المجال للمزيد من الجهات الفاعلة لعرقلة العملية.

وعلى الصعيد الفلسطيني، سعت مصر في البداية إلى تحقيق المصالحة بين "السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية" وحركة «حماس». وتمثّلت الفكرة في إعادة "السلطة الفلسطينية" إلى غزة قبل السعي إلى تحقيق هدنة مع إسرائيل، وذلك لتعزيز مكانة "السلطة الفلسطينية" ورفض المصداقية السياسية لـ «حماس». ودعمت الجهات المانحة الدولية هذه المقاربة من حيث الأفضلية الدبلوماسية والعملية. وبما أن عدة حكومات قد صنّفت «حماس» رسميّاً كمنظّمة إرهابية، فإن التوصل إلى هدنة في غزّة من دون "السلطة الفلسطينية" من شأنه أن يعقّد جهود المساعدة لهذا القطاع الذي يعاني من صعوبات جمّة. سيتعيّن على الجهات المانحة تكبّد إجراءات مضنية لضمان تجنّب عبور المساعدات عن طريق «حماس» بشكل كامل وعدم استخدامها لأهداف إرهابية أو عسكرية.

غير أن محادثات المصالحة لم تعُد تتقدّم بعد أن طلب رئيس "السلطة الفلسطينية" محمود عبّاس نزع سلاح «حماس» على الفور، وبدأ الوضع في التدهور بشكل حاد بسبب العقوبات التي فرضها على غزّة. ويعتقد البعض أن تكتيكات الضغط هذه كانت جزءاً من جهدٍ متعمَّد بذله عبّاس للتسبب في صراع بين «حماس» وإسرائيل. وعلى أي حال، في حين أن مخاوفه المتعلّقة بأسلحة «حماس» كانت شرعية ومشتركة بين مصر وإسرائيل كهدف نهائي، إلّا أن إصراره قد جعله بمثابة مخرّب في إطار السياق الملح لإرساء الاستقرار في غزّة وتجنّب التصعيد.

ونتيجة لذلك، اختارت مصر - بدعمٍ من الجهات المانحة الدولية وإسرائيل - متابعة العمل على تحقيق هدنة في غزّة بغض النظر عن محادثات الوحدة الفلسطينية المتعلقة بالقطاع. ولم يكن الهدف هو السعي للتوصل إلى اتفاقٍ مباشر بين «حماس» وإسرائيل، بل التوسط في مجموعة من التفاهمات بينهما، مع تحييد "السلطة الفلسطينية" خلال المفاوضات والتنفيذ الأوّلي. ومن خلال العمل مع "الأمم المتحدة"، بدأت الجهات المانحة الدولية تعمل بالفعل على إنشاء آليّة تمويل تتجاوز "السلطة الفلسطينية" و«حماس». وفي الوقت نفسه، يتم العمل تدريجياً على إدخال المكوّنات المختلفة لاتفاقات التفاهم الأوسع نطاقاً لإنشاء قوّة دفع متواصلة.

ولتحقيق هذه النتيجة، اضطرت مصر أيضاً إلى إجراء بعض التعديلات الخاصة بها، لا سيّما فيما يتعلّق بدور قطر. فالتوتّرات بين القاهرة والدوحة قائمة منذ مدة طويلة، وغزّة هي إحدى الميادين التي وقعت حولها مثل هذه الخلافات. وكان الزعيم السياسي لـ «حماس» خالد مشعل ومضيفوه القطريون عائقاً جدّيّاً أمام التوصل إلى وقف إطلاق النار خلال حرب غزّة عام 2014، مما ساهم في إطالة أمد النزاع إلى حدٍ غير مسبوق. ولكن بما أنه أصبح واضحاً أن قطر - على الأقل في الوقت الراهن - هي البلد الوحيد الذي يريد تخصيص الأموال على الفور لخطة إرساء الاستقرار في غزّة، فقد اتّخذت مصر المسار العملي المتمثّل في السماح للدوحة بالمشاركة.

نقاط الضعف

في الوقت الذي أدى فيه تقسيم بنود جدول الأعمال إلى إحراز تقدم، إلّا أنه أدّى إلى شعور بعض الجهات بعدم تلبية مصالحها، مما حفزها بالتالي على تأدية دور المخرّب. فعلى سبيل المثال، ربّما تمّ الضغط على عبّاس من أجل الإذعان للمقاربة التي اتبعتها مصر، لكن إذا كانت التجربة الماضية أي دليل، فإن تعاونه المستمر بعيداً عن أن يكون مضموناً. ففي حين يزداد تهميش "السلطة الفلسطينية"، فقد يختار الرئيس عباس التصرّف وفق تهديده المتمثل بقطع جميع مدفوعات "السلطة الفلسطينية" إلى غزّة، مما يُقحِم القطاع في أزمة إنسانية أعمق قد تزيد بسرعة من حدّة تهديداته الأمنية.

وستختبر مثل هذه الخطوة عزيمة إسرائيل والجهات المانحة الدولية. فقد تختار إسرائيل تحويل بعض من إيرادات ضريبة القيمة المضافة التي تجمعها نيابةً عن "السلطة الفلسطينية" إلى غزّة، وقد تتصرّف الجهات المانحة الدولية بالطريقة نفسها فيما يتعلق بمساعدتها. إلّا أن مثل هذا المسار قد تكون له تبعات على استقرار الضفة الغربية، ربّما تشمل التعاون الأمني لـ "السلطة الفلسطينية" مع إسرائيل.

ويمكن لبعض الجهات الفاعلة المحلية في غزة أن تُعرقل العملية أيضاً. ففي ظل القيادة الجديدة لـ «حركة الجهاد الإسلامي في فلسطين» تعمل هذه الحركة على إعادة تنشيط علاقاتها مع إيران وإعادة إثبات وجودها، من خلال إطلاقها الصواريخ على إسرائيل في 26 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر في ضربة لم يتم تنسيقها مع «حماس». بالإضافة إلى ذلك، هناك بعض العناصر داخل «حماس» غير راضية عن ترتيبات وقف إطلاق النار، حيث يعتبرها بعض المتشددين تنازلاً غير مقبولٍ لإسرائيل، في حين يستاء البعض الآخر من إعادة توجيه «حماس» ضمنيّاً نحو مصر بعيداً عن فلك «الإخوان المسلمين» في قطر وتركيا. وسيشكّل إبقاء «حركة الجهاد الإسلامي في فلسطين» وعناصر «حماس» المارقة تحت السيطرة اختباراً لحدود قيادة «حماس» في الوقت الذي تحاول هذه الوفاء بمسؤوليتها المتعلقة بتنفيذ الصفقة في غزّة.

وإلى جانب أصحاب نوايا التخريب، قد تُملي التطورات التكتيكية منطقها التصعيدي الخاص بها، كما حدث في الجولة الأخيرة من القتال. فبينما روّجت «حماس» للاعتداءات المعتمدة على حدود إسرائيل وفي البحر على مدى الأشهر السبعة الماضية، عملت بعض العناصر الفردية في غزّة على القيام بعدة هجمات غير خاضعة للسيطرة، وتم إطلاق صاروخين عن غير قصدٍ، ربّما بسبب عطلٍ فني. ويمكن أن تحتدم هذه الشرارات التكتيكية وتؤدي إلى تصعيد غير مقصود.

وبدلاً من ذلك، قد تحاول «حماس» السير على حبل العنف الخاضع للسيطرة من أجل تحقيق مكاسب محلّيّة، مما يسمح لإحساسها الحالي بالنصر على تحفيز قيام أزمة سياسية إسرائيلية تأخذ في التضخم والتحول إلى غطرسة ومغامرات تكتيكية. وبالمثل، قد تجد إسرائيل صعوبةً أكبر في التراجع عن حافة الهاوية إذا استمر الاضطراب السياسي الحالي. فعلى الرغم من زوال احتمال إجراء انتخابات مبكرة في الوقت الراهن، إلا أن رد الفعل العام السلبي للغاية إزاء تعاطي الحكومة مع الاشتباكات الأخيرة يمكن أن يضعف ضبط النفس الإسرائيلي إذا ما تأجج الغضب في المستقبل.

الخاتمة

يبدو أن مواصلة عملية الهدنة وتنفيذ اتفاقات التفاهم الخاصة بها هما الوسيلة الأفضل لتفادي المواجهة غير المجدية في غزّة وتحقيق استقرار الوضع الإنساني على هذه الأراضي. ووفقاً لذلك، يجب على الولايات المتحدة تشجيع الطرفيْن في سعيهما للوصول إلى تفاهمات عملية وتعزيز الهدوء. كما على واشنطن الإشارة إلى دعم الجهود التي تبذلها مصر لتحقيق الاستقرار في غزّة وتشجيع اضطلاع "السلطة الفلسطينية" بدورٍ إيجابي في إطار هذه الجهود، بالقدر الذي ترغب الاضطلاع به. وفي الوقت نفسه، بإمكان واشنطن الاستعداد للعقبات المستقبلية، من خلال [تأهيل] الجهات المانحة للاستعداد للتدخّل إذا قام عبّاس مجدداً بتقليص ميزانية غزّة، [ومساعدتها] لاحقاً على البناء على الزخم المتاح من خلال الاستفادة من خطة السلام الخاصة بالإدارة الأمريكية من أجل تحقيق المزيد من الاستقرار في مسرح الأحداث عبر التحسينات الاقتصادية وإصلاح البنى التحتية.

 

غيث العمري هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن، وشارك في تأليف الدراسة الحديثة للمعهد بعنوان، "منع انفجار برميل البارود في غزة". أساف أوريون، عميد إسرائيلي متقاعد واستراتيجي للشؤون الدفاعية، وزميل عسكري زائر في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3044

Flare-Up in Gaza (Part 2): Gently Undoing a Gordian Knot

Ghaith al-Omari and Assaf Orion

Also available in العربية

November 20, 2018


Israel and Hamas cannot advance their current strategic goals through intensified fighting, but the Cairo dialogue could enable important short-term gains in Gaza.

This PolicyWatch is the second in a two-part series on the latest hostilities between Israel and Hamas. Part 1 discussed the domestic political implications for Israel.

After seven months of ongoing clashes, and before the recent escalation in Gaza, Israel and Hamas were making significant progress in Egyptian-sponsored talks aimed at reaching limited ceasefire understandings. Resuming those discussions and implementing the understandings seems like their best available course of action today, despite the current volatility.

The talks turned fruitful when they finally disaggregated the myriad demands made by both sides, adopting a piecemeal approach instead of bundling. The main goal is to produce a limited but concrete set of arrangements whereby Hamas commits to end violence against Israel (including confrontations along the Gaza security barrier during weekly “Marches of Return,” as well as incendiary kite and balloon attacks), while Israel allows foreign assistance into Gaza to alleviate the territory’s pressing economic and humanitarian situation.

Before the latest escalation, both sides took steps to signal their seriousness and goodwill. Israel allowed the immediate transfer of $15 million to pay the salaries of Hamas employees in Gaza as part of a $90 million grant from Qatar. It also permitted the entry of fuel trucks. For its part, Hamas ensured that the November 2 and 9 border marches avoided friction with Israeli forces, producing two of the calmest Fridays since the practice began in March.

A TACTICAL SETBACK

The latest escalation stemmed from a tactical development, not from either side’s strategic intent. On November 11, a covert Israel Defense Forces team operating deep in Khan Yunis was exposed and exchanged fire with Hamas forces, resulting in the deaths of one senior IDF officer and seven Hamas operatives. This was followed by fierce cross-border fighting, the worst since 2014. Israeli towns were targeted with around 500 rockets and mortars, which scored some direct hits on homes and other buildings while spurring close to 100 intercepts by Iron Dome defense batteries. One civilian was killed and several others wounded in Israel. In Gaza, the IDF struck 160 targets; five Palestinians were reported killed.

Soon afterward, however, both sides decided to pull back from the brink. The Israeli cabinet accepted the defense establishment’s recommendation and agreed to another Egyptian-proposed ceasefire, seeing no gains in further escalation. Hamas declared victory but nevertheless kept its November 16 border march from spiraling into violence.

DIVIDING, NOT BUNDLING

Disaggregation was the key to the last round of talks because bundling numerous agenda items had bogged down previous efforts. By attempting to tackle a wide swath of issues at once—security conduct, wages, fuel, commercial traffic, intra-Palestinian reconciliation, prisoners, disarmament, and large infrastructure projects—negotiators had increased the complexity of each item and created room for more actors to derail the process.

On the Palestinian front, Egypt initially sought to reconcile the Palestinian Authority and Hamas. The idea was to bring the PA back to Gaza before pursuing a truce with Israel, both to bolster the PA’s standing and to deny Hamas political credit. International donors supported this approach as a matter of diplomatic and practical preference. Since many governments have formally designated Hamas as a terrorist organization, reaching a Gaza truce without the PA would complicate assistance efforts in the struggling territory. Donors would have to go through cumbersome procedures to ensure that aid completely bypasses Hamas and is not used for terrorist or military purposes.

Yet reconciliation talks stalled after PA president Mahmoud Abbas demanded that Hamas disarm immediately, and the situation began to deteriorate sharply due to sanctions he imposed on Gaza. Some believe that these pressure tactics were part of a deliberate effort by Abbas to precipitate conflict between Hamas and Israel. In any case, while his concerns regarding Hamas arms were legitimate and shared as an ultimate goal by Egypt and Israel, his insistence made him a spoiler in the urgent context of stabilizing Gaza and avoiding escalation.

As a result, Egypt—with the support of international donors and Israel—opted to pursue a Gaza truce independent of its Palestinian unity discussions. The aim was not to seek a direct Hamas-Israel agreement, but rather to broker a set of understandings between them while sidelining the PA during the negotiations and initial implementation. Working through the UN, international donors are already in the process of setting up a funding mechanism that bypasses the PA and Hamas. Meanwhile, the various components of the wider understandings are being phased in gradually to create ongoing momentum.

To achieve this result, Egypt also had to make some adjustments of its own, especially regarding the role of Qatar. Tensions between Cairo and Doha are longstanding, and Gaza has been one arena where they played out. Hamas political leader Khaled Mashal and his Qatar hosts were a serious hindrance to reaching a ceasefire during the 2014 Gaza war, contributing to the conflict’s unprecedented length. Yet once it became clear that Qatar was—at least for the time being—the only country willing to immediately allocate funds for the Gaza stabilization plan, Egypt took the pragmatic path of allowing Doha to participate.

VULNERABILITIES

While disaggregation has produced progress, it left some actors feeling that their interests were unmet, thereby motivating them to play a spoiler’s role. For example, Abbas may have been pressured to acquiesce to Egypt’s approach, but if past experience is any guide, his continued cooperation is far from guaranteed. As the PA becomes increasingly marginalized, he may choose to act on his threat to cut all PA payments to Gaza, plunging the territory into a deeper humanitarian crisis that could quickly sharpen its security threats.

Such a move would test the resolve of Israel and international donors. Israel could opt to divert some of the value-added tax (VAT) clearances it collects on the PA’s behalf into Gaza, and donors could do the same with their aid. Yet such a course of action could have implications for West Bank stability, perhaps including PA security cooperation with Israel.

Local Gaza actors could derail the process as well. Under new leadership, Palestinian Islamic Jihad has been reenergizing its relations with Iran and reasserting its presence, firing rockets into Israel on October 26 in a strike that was not coordinated with Hamas. Moreover, some constituencies within Hamas are not satisfied with the ceasefire arrangements. Some hardline elements see them as an unacceptable concession to Israel, while others are unhappy with the group’s implied reorientation away from the Muslim Brotherhood orbit of Qatar/Turkey and toward Egypt. Keeping PIJ and rogue Hamas elements under control will test the limits of the organization’s leadership as they try to fulfill their end of the bargain in Gaza.

Besides intentional spoilers, tactical developments may dictate their own escalatory logic, as occurred in the latest round of fighting. As Hamas promoted popular assaults on Israel’s border and at sea over the past seven months, several uncontrolled attacks were conducted by individual elements in Gaza, and two rockets were launched inadvertently, perhaps due to technical failure. These tactical sparks could flare up into unintended escalation.

Alternatively, Hamas may try to walk the tightrope of controlled violence for domestic gains, allowing its current sense of victory over triggering Israel’s political crisis to balloon into hubris and tactical adventurism. Israel may likewise find it more difficult to walk back from the brink if the current political turbulence persists. Although the prospect of early elections seems to have dissipated for the moment, the public’s very negative reaction to the government’s handling of recent clashes could erode Israel’s restraint in a future flare-up.

CONCLUSION

Continuing the truce process and implementing its understandings seem like the best means of preventing a pointless confrontation in Gaza and stabilizing the territory’s humanitarian situation. Accordingly, the United States should encourage the parties as they seek to reach practical understandings and promote calm. It should also signal support for Egypt’s efforts to stabilize Gaza and encourage a positive role for the PA in these efforts, as much as it is willing to play. At the same time, Washington can prepare for future obstacles, readying donors to step in if Abbas again cuts Gaza’s budget and, later, building on available momentum by leveraging the administration’s own peace plan to further stabilize the theater through economic and infrastructure improvements.

Ghaith al-Omari is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute and coauthor of its recent study “Neutralizing the Gaza Powder Keg.” Assaf Orion, a retired Israeli brigadier general and defense strategist, is a visiting military fellow at the Institute.