أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3224

أوروبا تتصدى للبرنامج الإيراني للصواريخ الباليستية

فرزين نديمي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

9 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2019


في السادس من كانون الأول/ديسمبر، اجتمع مبعوثو الأطراف المتبقية ضمن «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» مع ممثلين إيرانيين في فيينا لمناقشة أحدث خطوات اتخذتها طهران منتهكةً الاتفاق النووي. وفي حين عجز الممثلون الأوروبيون - المنحدرون من بريطانيا وفرنسا وألمانيا - عن إطلاق آلية الرد بقسوة من خلال العودة المفاجئة لعقوبات الأمم المتحدة، فقد أعربوا عن "مخاوف جديةً" بشأن القرارات التي اتخذتها طهران في الآونة الأخيرة، ودعوا النظام إلى تجنب أي "خطوات تصعيدية إضافية"، كما أشاروا إلى أنه عليه التقيّد بالكامل بالأحكام التي تنص عليها «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» والتي تشمل وضع قيود على تطوير الصواريخ الباليستية ذات القدرة النووية. والأهم أن هذا الاجتماع كان الأول الذي تعقده لجنة «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» منذ انسحاب واشنطن من الاتفاق في أيار/مايو 2018، ومنذ أن سلط الأعضاء الأوروبيون الضوء على قضية الصواريخ أمام المجتمع الدولي في الشهر الماضي.

وفي 21 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، قدّم سفراء بريطانيا وفرنسا وألمانيا كتاباً إلى الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أعربوا فيه عن قلقهم الكبير من أن تكون إيران قد طوّرت بشكل "محتمل" أو "فعلي" صواريخ ذات قدرة نووية. كما طلبوا منه إعلان برنامج البلاد للصواريخ الباليستية "مخالفاً" لقرار "مجلس الأمن الدولي" رقم 2231. ومن جملة الأسباب الأخرى، ذكروا تعريف "نظام تحكم تكنولوجيا القذائف" ومفاده أن صاروخاً قادراً على حمل شحنة متفجرة بوزن 500 كيلوغرام إلى مدى ما لا يقل عن 300 كيلومتر قادر بطبيعته على إيصال رأس حربي ذات قدرة نووية، علماً بأن صاروخ "شهاب-3" المتوسط المدى الذي صنعته إيران يتخطى هذه المعايير.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، شدّد الكتاب على المخاوف المستمرة لأن برنامجي الصواريخ الباليستية والمركبات الفضائية الإيرانيين يتشاركان العديد من أوجه التشابه التكنولوجية. وختم الكتاب أن إطلاق المركبة الفضائية "سفير" مخالفاً أيضاً لأحكام «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» التي تحظر الأنشطة المرتبطة بالصواريخ "القادرة على حمل أسلحة نووية".

وفي 4 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، أرسل ممثل إيران الدائم لدى الأمم المتحدة ماجد تخت رافانشي اعتراضاً إلى الأمين العام ورئيس مجلس الأمن الدولي على السواء. وبعد رفض الكتاب الأوروبي، وإشاراته إلى "نظام تحكم تكنولوجيا القذائف" غير الملزم، وادعاء أن برنامجي إيران للصواريخ وإطلاق المركبات الفضائية مترابطان، أعاد رافانشي التشديد على وجهة النظر القائلة بأن صواريخ إيران "مصممة لتكون قادرة حصراً على حمل رؤوس حربية تقليدية". ومن ثم طلب من الأمين العام عدم التطرق إلى "أنشطة مماثلة لا تتصل بالموضوع" في تقريره المقبل.

ما الذي أثار الكتاب الذي أرسلته أوروبا

بدأت الأطراف الأوروبية ضمن «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» ترفع صوتها بشأن أنشطة إيران الصاروخية بحديّة أكبر بعدما انسحبت الولايات المتحدة من الاتفاق في عام 2018. وبحلول نيسان/أبريل 2019، كانت تطلب تقريراً أممياً كاملاً عن هذه المسألة بعد سلسلة عمليات إيرانية لإطلاق المركبات الفضائية والكشف عن صواريخ في وقت سابق من هذا العام، وهو نهج اعتبرته مخالفاً لقرار "مجلس الأمن الدولي" رقم 2231.

غير أن نمط الانتهاكات الإيرانية المحتملة ليس بجديد عموماً - في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2015، بعد بضعة أشهر على اتفاق الأطراف على «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»، اختبرت طهران صاروخها الباليستي الأكثر تطوراً الذي يحمل اسم "عماد" مع جزء راجع مجنح مسيّر وبمدى يناهز 1700 كلم. وفي ذلك الوقت، تمّ تفسير هذه الخطوة على أنها إنجاز تقني يهدف إلى تعزيز ثبات الجزء الراجع والرأس الحربي للصاروخ والقدرة على تسييرهما ودقتهما.

وقد أشار الكتاب الأوروبي المرسل في 21 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر بشكل خاص إلى أن "مقطعاً مصوراً بدون تاريخ تمّ نشره على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في 22 نيسان/أبريل 2019... يكشف رحلة اختبارية لم يتمّ نشرها سابقاً لنوع جديد من صواريخ "شهاب-3" الباليستية متوسطة المدى مجهز بمركبة عائدة مسيرة" - وهو إنجاز يسمح لإيران بصناعة صواريخ أكثر دقة وتطوير مخزونها الحالي. ومن المعلوم أن طهران كانت تطور الأجزاء العائدة المسيرة لسنوات، وأبرزها تشكيلة صاروخ "عماد" الذي تمّ اختباره في عام 2015 وعُرض داخل قاعدة تحت الأرض في كانون الثاني/يناير 2016، فيما بدا أنه تشكيلة عملياتية.

وبعد عدة أيام على اختبار "عماد"، وصفت إدارة أوباما المركبة بأنها "قادرة بحد ذاتها على حمل سلاح نووي". وبعد شهرين، أصدر فريق من خبراء العقوبات في "مجلس الأمن " تقريراً سرياً خلص إلى الاستنتاج نفسه، وأشار إلى أن صاروخ "عماد" هو انتهاك لقرار "مجلس الأمن" رقم 1929 الذي كان لا يزال ملزماً في ذلك الوقت. لكن الاختبار لم يشكل "انتهاكاً تقنياً" لأحكام «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» التي كانت لا تزال ناشئة في حينه، وفي نهاية المطاف كانت الدعوات الأمريكية-الأوروبية إلى لجنة العقوبات في الأمم المتحدة للردّ على هذه المسألة محدودة.

ولكن مرة أخرى يعتبر الخبراء أن صاروخ "شهاب-3" الأصلي غير المطور يملك قدرات نووية، بما أنه نسخة من صاروخ "نودونغ" الكوري الشمالي (المعروف باسم هواسونغ-7). وتماماً كصاروخ "غوري" الباكستاني المنحدر من السلسة ذاتها، تعتقد منظمات الاستخبارات الغربية أن "نودونغ" قادراً على حمل رأس حربي نووي.

تهديد صاروخ "خرمشهر"

لم يأتِ الكتاب الأوروبي على ذكر تطوير إيران لصاروخ "خرمشهر" أرض-أرض، الذي قد قد يكون أكثر إثارة للقلق. فبعد كشف النقاب عنه للمرة الأولى في عام 2017، تردد أنه يتميز بقدرات راسخة أكثر من الأنظمة الإيرانية الأخرى، على غرار حمل رأس حربي واحد بوزن 1800 كيلوغرام أو ثلاثة رؤوس حربية أصغر حجماً بوزن 600 كيلوغرام على مدى 2000 كلم. كما ذُكر أن صاروخ "خرمشهر" تضمن جزءاً عائداً مسيراً. وفي 3 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، نشرت إيران بشكل غير رسمي صورة لهذا الصاروخ مع نمط طلاء تمويهي جديد، لربما من أجل الإيحاء بأنه وضع في الخدمة. ومهما يكن، اعتبر مهندسو الصواريخ أن هذا التصميم هو الصاروخ الباليستي الإيراني الأكثر قدرة عندما يتعلق الأمر باحتمال حمل رأس حربي نووي.

وعلى الرغم من هذه السلسلة الواضحة للغاية من التقدم والشكوك اللاحقة، إلّا أن «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» لا توفر أي آليات للتحقق بغية ضمان إبقاء أعمال بحث وتطوير الصواريخ في إيران ضمن الحدود المتفق عليها. علاوةً على ذلك، لم تنجح المناورات الدبلوماسية حتى الآن بثني النظام عن مواصلة تطبيق برنامجي الصواريخ الباليستية وإطلاق المركبات الفضائية، كما لفت رافانشي في الكتاب الذي أرسله في 4 كانون الأول/ديسمبر إلى الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، والذي تعهد فيه بأن "تواصل إيران بعزم" كافة الأنشطة المرتبطة بهذين النوعين من الصواريخ.

وبالفعل، عندما حدّد المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي إطار عمل صارم يقوم على "رفض المفاوضات" ليتقيّد به السياسيون الإيرانيون خلال تعاملهم مع الولايات المتحدة في خطاب أدلى به في 3 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، حظر بالتحديد أي محادثات بشأن تحديد نطاق ترسانة الصواريخ أو خصائصها الأخرى. كما افتخر بأن الصواريخ الإيرانية الحالية "قادرة على حمل رأس حربي بوزن 2000  [كيلوغرام] على مدى 2000 كلم بدقة تصل إلى متر واحد".

الخاتمة

بموجب «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»، سيتمّ رفع القيود المفروضة على تصدير إيران للأسلحة واستيرادها في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2020. وعلى الرغم من أن الولايات المتحدة قد حثت الأمم المتحدة على إبقاء الحظر على توريد الأسلحة لفترة أطول، إلا أن الأمر سيستلزم جهداً دولياً - يشمل روسيا والصين - لمنع انتشار الأسلحة الإيرانية للدمار الشامل المحتملة في المنطقة بفعالية بعد هذا التاريخ. وحتماً إن الكتاب الذي أرسلته أوروبا مؤخراً وغيرها من الإجراءات مرحباً بها، لكن من الضروري وجود مساعي متابعة متسقة، ويجب أن تستند كل خطوة إلى أحدث المعلومات الممكنة. على الولايات المتحدة أيضاً أن تطلب من الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة الإبلاغ بالكامل عن نشاط إيران المتعلق بالصواريخ الموجهة واستعمال الطائرات بدون طيار كذخائر (ولا يشمل هذا النشاط الأخير أي قرار خاص بإيران، كما أن الملحق ب من قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2231 لا يدعو النظام الإيراني إلى الامتناع عن أي أنشطة لقذائف انسيابية [لصواريخ كروز]).

وعلى نطاق أوسع، يجب أن ينصب التركيز مجدداً على واقع أن الصواريخ الباليستية والموجهة تعتبر من أسلحة الدمار الشامل، بغض النظر عن أي ادعاءات تنافسية حول ما إذا كانت صواريخ إيران مصممة لتحمل رؤوساً حربية نووية أو تقليدية. فموضوع الصواريخ الإيرانية يرتبط بالنوايا بقدر ارتباطه بالمواصفات التقنية، وقد أظهر النظام عدة مرات استعداده لخوض لعبة محصلتها صفر ضد ضد أعدائه المتصورين، إن لم يكن العالم.

 

فرزين نديمي هو زميل مشارك في معهد واشنطن، ومتخصص في شؤون الأمن والدفاع المتعلقة بإيران ومنطقة الخليج.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3224

Europe Pushing Back on Iran’s Ballistic Missile Program

Farzin Nadimi

Also available in العربية فارسی

December 9, 2019


Britain, France, and Germany are taking a more proactive role by publicly emphasizing known concerns about the regime’s R&D efforts, but practical mechanisms for ensuring transparency are still needed.

On December 6, envoys from the remaining parties to the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action met with Iranian representatives in Vienna to discuss the country’s latest steps away from the nuclear deal. While the European representatives—hailing from Britain, France, and Germany—stopped short of triggering the snapback mechanism for UN sanctions, they expressed “serious concerns” about Tehran’s recent decisions, called on the regime to avoid “further escalatory steps,” and noted that it must fully comply with the JCPOA’s provisions, which include limits on the development of nuclear-capable ballistic missiles. Crucially, this was the Joint Commission’s first meeting since Washington withdrew from the deal in May 2018—and since European members formally highlighted the missile issue before the international community last month.

On November 21, ambassadors from Britain, France, and Germany submitted a letter to the UN secretary-general expressing grave concern that Iran has developed “potentially” or “technically” nuclear-capable missiles. They also urged him to declare the country’s ballistic missile program “inconsistent” with UN Security Council Resolution (UNSCR) 2231. Among other reasons, they cited the Missile Technology Control Regime’s definition that a missile capable of delivering a 500-kilogram payload to a range of at least 300 kilometers is inherently capable of delivering a nuclear warhead. Iran’s medium-range Shahab-3 missile exceeds those criteria.

In addition, the letter expressed the persistent concern that Iran’s ballistic missile and space programs share many technological similarities. It then concluded that the Safir satellite launch vehicle is also inconsistent with JCPOA provisions barring activity related to missiles “capable of delivering nuclear weapons.”

On December 4, Iran’s permanent representative to the UN, Majid Takht Ravanchi, sent a rebuttal to both the secretary-general and the Security Council chairman. After dismissing the European letter, its references to the nonbinding Missile Technology Control Regime, and the contention that Iran’s missile and space launch programs are related, Ravanchi reemphasized the view that Iran’s missiles are “designed to be exclusively capable of delivering conventional warheads.” He then asked the secretary-general to refrain from discussing “such irrelevant activities” in his next report.

WHAT TRIGGERED EUROPE’S LETTER?

The European parties to the JCPOA began expressing their concerns about Iranian missile activities more forcefully after the United States left the deal in 2018. By April 2019, they were calling for a full UN report on the matter following a string of Iranian space launches and missile unveilings earlier that year, a trend they considered to be inconsistent with UNSCR 2231.

The pattern of potential Iranian violations was hardly new—in October 2015, just months after the parties agreed to the JCPOA, Tehran tested its most advanced ballistic missile yet, called Imad, with a maneuvering winged reentry section and a range of around 1,700 kilometers. At the time, this was interpreted as a technical milestone aimed at increasing the stability, maneuverability, and accuracy of Imad’s reentry section and warhead.

The November 21 European letter also specifically noted that “Undated footage released on social media 22 April 2019...reveals a previously unseen flight test of a new Shahab-3 medium-range ballistic missile variant equipped with a manoeuvrable re-entry vehicle”—a milestone that would allow Iran to produce more accurate missiles and upgrade its existing stocks. Tehran is known to have been developing maneuverable reentry sections for years, the most prominent being the Imad configuration tested in 2015 and exhibited inside an underground base in January 2016, in what appeared to be operational configuration.

Days after the 2015 Imad test, the Obama administration called the vehicle “inherently capable of delivering a nuclear weapon.” Two months later, a team of Security Council sanctions experts produced a confidential report that reached the same conclusion, noting that the Imad violated the then-still-binding UNSCR 1929. Yet the test was not found to be in “technical violation” of the nascent JCPOA at the time, and U.S.-European calls for the UN sanctions committee to respond to the matter were eventually muted.

Again, though, experts define even the original, non-upgraded Shahab-3 as nuclear-capable, since it is based on the North Korean Nodong missile (aka Hwasong-7). Like the Pakistani Ghauri missile from the same lineage, Western intelligence organizations believe the Nodong is capable of carrying a nuclear warhead.

THE KHORAMSHAHR THREAT

Not mentioned in the European letter was Iran’s development of the Khoramshahr surface-to-surface missile, which may be even more troubling. First unveiled in 2017, it reportedly boasts more inherent capabilities than other Iranian systems, such as carrying either a single 1,800-kilogram warhead or three smaller 600-kilogram warheads to a range of 2,000 kilometers. The Khoramshahr has also reportedly been armed with a maneuvering reentry section. On November 3, Iran unofficially published a photo of a Khoramshahr with a new camouflage paint scheme, perhaps to imply that it has entered operational service. Whatever the case, rocket engineers regard this design as Iran’s most capable ballistic missile when it comes to potentially carrying a nuclear warhead.

Despite this highly visible string of advancements and subsequent suspicions, the JCPOA does not provide any verification mechanism for ensuring that Iran’s missile R&D stays within prescribed limits. Moreover, diplomatic maneuvering has thus far failed to deter the regime from pursuing its ballistic and space launch programs, as further emphasized in Ravanchi’s December 4 letter to the secretary-general, which vowed that Iran would “resolutely continue” all activities related to both types of missiles.

Indeed, when Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei set out a rigid “no negotiations” framework for Iranian politicians to follow toward the United States in a November 3 speech, he specifically forbade any talks over limiting the range or other specifications of the missile arsenal. He also boasted that current Iranian missiles “can deliver a 2,000 [kilogram] warhead to a range of 2,000 kilometers with a precision as good as one meter.”

CONCLUSION

Under the JCPOA, the limits on Iran’s weapons exports and imports will be lifted in October 2020. Although the United States has urged the UN to maintain the arms embargo for longer than that, it would likely take an international effort—including Russia and China—to effectively prevent the regional proliferation of potential Iranian weapons of mass destruction beyond that date. Europe’s recent letter and other actions are welcome, but consistent follow-on efforts are needed, and each step must be based on the most up-to-date information possible. The United States should also ask the secretary-general to fully report on Iran’s cruise missile activity and use of drones as munitions (the latter is not covered by any UNSCR pertaining to Iran, and Annex B of UNSCR 2231 does not call on the regime to refrain from any cruise missile activities).

More broadly, the emphasis should go back to the WMD nature of ballistic and cruise missiles, regardless of competing claims about whether Iran’s are designed to carry nuclear or conventional warheads. The subject of Iranian missiles is a matter of intentions as much as technical specs, and the regime has repeatedly shown its willingness to play a zero-sum game against its perceived enemies, if not the world.

Farzin Nadimi is an associate fellow with The Washington Institute, specializing in the security and defense affairs of Iran and the Gulf region.