أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3220

«الحرس الثوري» الإيراني يوضّح قضيته حول التصعيد ضد الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا والسعودية

فرزين نديمي

متاح أيضاً في English

26 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2019


هذا الأسبوع، قام رجال الدين والمسؤولون العسكريون الإيرانيون بتصعيد خطابهم ضد "الأعداء" الأجانب، متهمين إياهم بشنّ "حرب عالمية في الشوارع" ضد طهران وسط احتجاجات عامة على سياسة البنزين أعقبتها حملة قمع من جانب النظام. ففي 25 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، هدّد قائد «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني اللواء حسين سلامي الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا والسعودية بعقوبات شديدة إذا تخطت هذه الدول الخطوط الحمراء الإيرانية. كما حذّر من إمكانية نفاد صبر «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني، ومن أن أي استفزاز خارجي سيولّد رد فعل قوي في وقتٍ ومكانٍ يختارهما بنفسه. وقبل ثلاثة أيام، أوصى قائد المقر المركزي لـ "خاتم الأنبياء"، اللواء غلام علي رشيد، واشنطن بتفادي أي أعمال في منطقة الخليج الفارسي أو مضيق هرمز والتي قد تُعرّض القوّات العسكرية الأمريكية إلى "خطرٍ كبير"، معلناً أن الكلام وحده - بما فيه الرسائل الخفيّة - "لن يكون كافياً لمنع الحرب" حين تندلع الأعمال العدائية في المرة المقبلة.

مناورات عسكرية

كانت تهديدات اللواء رشيد جديرة بالملاحظة بشكلٍ خاص لأنها جاءت حين كان يراقب تدريبات الدفاع الجوي في محافظة سمنان. ومع أن تدريب "حريم الولاية" هو تدريب سنوي يجري في أعماق وسط إيران، يبدو أن نسخة هذا العام صُممت لمحاكاة منطقة العمليات المشتركة في الخليج العربي ومضيق هرمز وخليج عُمان. وأفادت بعض التقارير أن نماذج نشر العتاد حاكت الترتيبات القائمة في هذه المسارح، مع التشديد على زيادة القدرات الهجومية والدفاعية الخاصة بـ «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني على المضيق (ربما بدافع الاعتقاد أن كلّ مَن يسيطر على الجو يسيطر في النهاية على ساحة المعركة).

وفي غضون ذلك، أبحرت المجموعة الهجومية التابعة لحاملة الطائرات الأمريكية "يو أس أس أبراهام لينكولن" عبر المضيق للتوقف على أحد المرافئ في البحرين في 19 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر. وكانت هذه هي الرحلة الأولى التي تقوم بها حاملة الطائرات في الخليج منذ أيار/مايو؛ فسابقاً، اختارت أن تبقى في شمال "بحر العرب"، ضمن نطاق عمليات على مسافة آمنة بل فعّالة من إيران. وتم تمديد انتشار السفينة إلى حين انتهاء تصليحات بديلتها، "يو أس أس هاري أس ترومان"، وجهوزية إبحارها. وقد أدّى قُرب القوات البحرية الأمريكية إلى دفع اللواء سلامي إلى تهديد "العدو" وحاملات طائراته بشن هجمات صاروخية دقيقة التوجيه "تسحق العظام". ووصف لاحقاً عبور مضيق هرمز بأنه محاولةً فاشلةً لإظهار الدعم لاحتجاجات البنزين.

وقد يكون مسؤولو «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني قلقين بالقدر نفسه إزاء البعثة المعروفة باسم عملية "سانتينيل" Operation Sentinel، وهي مبادرة أمنية بحرية جديدة متعددة الأطراف في الخليج. وبدأت هذه العملية التي أُقيمت تحت رعاية "التحالف الدولي لأمن وحماية الملاحة البحرية" في 7 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر. وتقود الولايات المتحدة هذه البعثة وتشمل حاليّاً ألبانيا وأستراليا والبحرين وبريطانيا والسعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وأبدت عدة دول أوروبية أخرى، من بينها الدنمارك وإيطاليا وإسبانيا، رغبتها في الانضمام إلى مبادرة بحرية منفصلة بقيادة فرنسا، رغم أن هولندا هي الوحيدة التي أعلنت أنها ستوقّع عليها رسميّاً. وافتُتِح مركز العمليات الخاص بالبعثة في 24 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، مع تمركُز قوات المراقبة خارج "معسكر السلام" في أبوظبي. ولم تظهر حتى الآن أي تقارير عن وقوع احتكاك كبير مع الوحدات البحرية الإيرانية، بما فيها قوات «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني التي تزعم السيطرة على مضيق هرمز. وقد يبدو هذا الهدوء النسبي مفاجئاً نظراً لأن "مبادرة هرمز للسلام" (المعروفة أيضاً بـ"تحالف الأمل") التي أطلقتها إيران مؤخّراً لم تنجح في إقناع أي بلدان إقليمية في وجوب النظر في ترتيبات أمنية خاصة بالخليج مع طهران في ظل الظروف الراهنة. ومع ذلك، فقد يكون الهدوء قصير الأمد إذا استمر المتشددون في مواجهة ضغوط كبيرة في الداخل.

حشد الشباب المُحبطين

يواجه النظام  الإيراني تحديات أكبر من شعبه، حتى عندما يحاول بناء ثقته وقدراته من أجل التصدي للخصوم الخارجيين وزيادة طموحاته الإقليمية. ومع دخول "الجمهورية الإسلامية" عقدها الخامس، تتصارع مع مفارقة شائعة حول كيفية تمرير مسؤولية الالتزامات الثورية إلى الجيل القادم. ففي فترة اندلاع الثورة عام 1979، لم يكن أكثر من نصف سكّان إيران الحاليين قد وُلدوا بَعد. وخامنئي على معرفة جيدة بأن عليه الاعتماد على هذا الجيل لما يدعوه مشروع "خطوته الثانية"، إلّا أن هناك أسئلة جدّيّة قد برزت حول ولاء هذا الجيل - لا سيما وأن الإيرانيين الشباب الذين ينتمون إلى الطبقة العاملة يؤدّون الآن دوراً رائداً في الاحتجاجات.

وفي السياق نفسه، كان من المفاجئ سماع أحد الناطقين باسم «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني يتحدث بنبرة يائسة على نحوٍ غير مألوف عن الجيل القادم في مقابلةٍ أُجريت في 25 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر. ففي حديثه من على شاشة التلفزيون الحكومي، انتقد العميد رمضان شريف بقساوة الشباب الإيرانيين الساخطين الذين رددوا شعارات موالية للنظام الملكي واستخدموا لغةً عنيفةً مناهضةً للنظام في المظاهرات الأخيرة، ووصفهم كـ "خونة".

وسيتّسع هذا الاختلاف بين الأجيال بمرور الوقت، مما قد يدفع المؤسسة المتشددة المحبطة إلى افتعال أزمة يمكن التحكم بها فقط من أجل إلهام الشباب بحماسة دينية وقومية. فمن وجهة نظرها، قد يشكّل ذلك أفضل طريقة لتغيير الوضع الأيديولوجي الراهن الذي سهّل اندلاع الاحتجاجات الحاليّة. وقد استخدم النظام هذا التكتيك في الماضي، خاصة خلال الحرب بين إيران والعراق، وربّما يعيد المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي استخدامه اليوم. ففي خطابٍ ألقاه في 3 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر أمام جمهورٍ من الطلّاب، أكّد مجدداً على إطار العمل الصارم الذي يتبعه السياسيون الإيرانيون في التعاطي مع واشنطن والمتمثل في "عدم التفاوض". وعلى الرغم من أن فحوى ملاحظاته المناهِضة للولايات المتحدة قد تماشى مع خطاب النظام النموذجي الذي صدر في ذكرى أزمة الرهائن عام 1979، إلّا أن التهديدات العسكرية والمواقف المتزامنة الصادرة عن «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني تثير خطر تحوُّل أقوال طهران إلى أفعال.

الخاتمة

كما ظهر في الهجوم الصاروخي الذي شُنّ ضد شمال إسرائيل والذي نُسب إلى إيران في 20 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، يبدو أن النظام يشدد عزمه على الرد على تلك البلدان التي يعتقد أنها تهدد طموحاته الإقليمية وتَمَسّكه بالسلطة. ومنح الهجوم الناجح للغاية على منشآت "أرامكو السعودية"، والذي لم يتم الرد عليه إلى حد كبير في أيلول/سبتمر، جرعةً مشابهةً من الثقة إلى «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني والقيادة المحافِظة. وتبعاً لذلك، يمكن أن يتوقع المرء شروع طهران في مغامرتها الإقليمية الكبيرة التالية قريباً. ونظراً للتحديات الكبيرة التي يواجهها النظام في الداخل، فقد لا يُقلقه كثيراً تفادي المواجهة المباشرة مع الولايات المتحدة أو إسرائيل هذه المرّة.

وتشمل الأعمال الإيرانية المحتملة على المدى القريب ما يلي:

·       مواجهة السفن البحرية الأمريكية التي تعبر الخليج العربي.

·       تنفيذ عمليات سرّيّة لإعاقة حركة الملاحة البحريّة الدولية على عدة مسارح، وربما حتى على مسافة بعيدة تصل إلى مضيق ملقا.

·       تكرار تكتيكات الصواريخ/الطائرات بدون طيّار الواسعة النطاق المستخدَمة في هجوم "أرامكو"، لكن هذه المرة لاستهداف نوع آخر من المنشآت الحيوية (مثل محطة لتحلية المياه) فقط.

·       إطلاق عملية إرهابية أو سيبرانية عالية المستوى، على سبيل المثال، ضد قطاع الخطوط الجوّية أو أحد التجمعات السكّانية.

وبدلاً من أن تكون طهران عبداً للأحداث، من المرجح أنها تريد اختيار الوقت والمكان لأي رد مشابه، لذلك لا يمكن للمجتمع الدولي أن يتخلى عن حذره حتى عندما يبدو المسرح الخليجي هادئاً. وترتفع حالياً احتمالية التصعيد بشكل خاص بعد أن بدأت عمليات الأمن البحري الغربية تنطلق قدماً في حين أن خطة "تحالف الأمل" الإيرانية  آخذة في التداعي.

وفي المرحلة القادمة، على الولايات المتحدة مواصلة إظهار الدعم لحلفائها الخليجيين من خلال الحفاظ على قوات عسكرية قوية في المنطقة وتحريكها في الجوار من أجل التشديد على وجودها. وإذا صدر أمرٌ بإعادة مجموعة حاملة "لينكولن" إلى الولايات المتحدة، فيجب إرسال مجموعة حاملة بديلة مع تداخل عملية الانتشار بينهما، من أجل عدم ترك مجال لسوء التفسير.

إن مشاكل إيران الداخلية لن تتبدد في أي وقت قريب، كما يتّضح من العنف المتفاقم ضد المحتجين والمنشقّين، والانقطاع الكامل لشبكة الإنترنت، ووفرة المؤشرات الاقتصادية السلبية التي لن يتم حلها من خلال مجرّد تقنين البنزين. وعلى الرغم من محاولة طهران تحميل القوى الخارجية مسؤولية هذه المشاكل، إلّا أن الشعب سيستمر في إلقاء اللوم على النظام. لذلك، يمكن توقُّع قيام «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني والفصائل المتشددة الأخرى بإصدار تهديدات أشدّ غيظاً وتبنّي تكتيكات أكثر عنفاً في الأسابيع المقبلة، سواء داخل البلاد أو خارجها.

 

فرزين نديمي هو زميل مشارك في معهد واشنطن، ومتخصص في شؤون الأمن والدفاع في إيران ومنطقة الخليج.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3220

The IRGC States Its Case for Escalation Against the United States, Britain, and Saudi Arabia

Farzin Nadimi

Also available in العربية

November 26, 2019


As its concerns about domestic dissent and Western naval activity grow, Tehran may once again try to divert attention from the unrest at home by launching attacks abroad.

This week, Iranian clerics and military officials ramped up their rhetoric against foreign “enemies,” accusing them of waging a “street world war” against Tehran amid public protests over gasoline policy and a subsequent regime crackdown. On November 25, Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps commander Maj. Gen. Hossein Salami threatened the United States, Britain, and Saudi Arabia with severe punishment if they cross Iran’s redlines. He also warned that the IRGC’s patience is not limitless, and that any foreign provocation will spur a potent reaction at a time and place of its choosing. Three days earlier, the commander of the Khatam al-Anbia Central Headquarters, Maj. Gen. Gholam Ali Rashid, told Washington to avoid any actions in the Persian Gulf region or Strait of Hormuz that could put American military personnel “at great risk,” declaring that words alone—including backdoor messages—“will not be enough to prevent a war” next time hostilities break out.

MILITARY MANEUVERS

General Rashid’s threats were particularly notable because they came while he was observing air defense drills in Semnan province. Although the Harim-e Velayat exercise is an annual affair conducted deep inside central Iran, this year’s edition was apparently designed to simulate the combined operational area of the Persian Gulf, Strait of Hormuz, and Gulf of Oman. Asset deployment patterns reportedly mimicked existing arrangements in those theaters, with an emphasis on honing Iran's offensive and defensive capabilities over the strait (perhaps out of a belief that whoever controls the air ultimately controls the battlespace).

Meanwhile, the USS Abraham Lincoln carrier strike group sailed through the strait for a port call in Bahrain on November 19. This was the carrier’s first trip into the Gulf since May; previously, it had opted to remain in the northern Arabian Sea, at a safer yet still effective operational range from Iran. The ship’s deployment has been extended until its replacement, USS Harry S. Truman, finishes repairs and is ready to sail. The U.S. Navy’s proximity led General Salami to threaten the “enemy” and its aircraft carriers with “bone-crushing” precision-guided missile strikes. He later called the Hormuz transit a failed attempt to show support for the gasoline protests.

IRGC officials may be equally nervous about Operation Sentinel, a new multilateral maritime security initiative in the Gulf. Established under the auspices of the International Maritime Security Construct (IMSC), the operation commenced on November 7. It is led by the United States and currently includes Albania, Australia, Bahrain, Britain, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

Several other European countries, including Denmark, Italy, and Spain, have expressed interest in joining a separate French-led maritime initiative, though only the Netherlands has announced that it will formally sign on. The mission’s operational center was inaugurated on November 24, with monitoring forces based out of Camp de la Paix in Abu Dhabi. No reports of major friction with Iranian naval units have emerged so far, including with the IRGC forces that claim control over the Strait of Hormuz. This relative quiet may seem surprising given that Iran’s recent “Hormuz Peace Endeavor” (aka HOPE) has failed to convince any regional countries that they should consider Gulf security arrangements with Tehran under the current circumstances. Yet the quiet could be short-lived if hardliners continue to face major pressure at home.

RALLYING DISENCHANTED YOUTHS

Even as the regime tries to build up its confidence and capabilities in order to counter foreign adversaries and further its regional ambitions, it faces greater challenges from its own people. Now entering its fifth decade, the Islamic Republic is grappling with a common paradox: how to pass the mantle of revolutionary commitments to the next generation. More than half of Iran’s current population was not yet born at the time of the 1979 revolution. Khamenei knows he must rely on this generation for what he calls his “Second Step” project, but serious questions have emerged about their loyalty—particularly now that young, working-class Iranians are playing a lead role in the protests.

In the same line, it was surprising to hear an IRGC spokesman take an unusually hopeless tone toward the next generation in a November 25 interview. Speaking on state television, Lt. Gen. Ramazan Sharif harshly criticized the disaffected Iranian youths who have chanted pro-monarchy slogans and used fiercely anti-regime language at recent demonstrations, calling them “traitors.”

This generational divergence will only get wider over time, perhaps spurring the frustrated hardline establishment to instigate a controllable crisis just to charge up the youths with religious and nationalist zeal. In their view, that may be the best way of changing the ideological status quo that facilitated the current protests. The regime has used this tactic in the past, particularly during the Iran-Iraq War, and Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei may be employing it again today. In a November 3 speech before an audience of students, he reiterated his uncompromising “no negotiations” framework for Iranian politicians to follow in dealing with Washington. Although the anti-American tenor of his remarks was in line with the typical regime rhetoric issued around the anniversary of the 1979 hostage crisis, the IRGC’s concurrent military threats and posturing raise the risk that Tehran’s words will become deed.

CONCLUSION

As seen in the Iranian-attributed rocket attack against north Israel on November 20, the regime seems to be hardening its resolve to hit back at those countries it believes are threatening its regional ambitions and hold on power. September’s highly successful, largely unanswered attack on Saudi Aramco facilities gave the IRGC and conservative leadership a similar jolt of confidence. Accordingly, one can expect Tehran to embark on its next significant regional adventure soon. And given the serious challenges it faces at home, the regime may be less concerned about avoiding direct confrontation with the United States or Israel this time around.

Possible Iranian actions in the near term include:

  • Confronting U.S. naval assets transiting the Persian Gulf
  • Conducting covert operations to disrupt international maritime traffic in various theaters, perhaps even as far away as the Strait of Malacca
  • Repeating the large-scale drone/missile tactics used in the Aramco attack, only this time targeting some other type of critical facility (e.g., a water desalination plant)
  • Launching a high-profile terrorist or cyber operation, e.g., against the airline industry or a population center.

Rather than being a slave to events, Tehran likely wants to choose the time and place of any such response, so the international community cannot let its guard down even when the Gulf theater seems to quiet down. The potential for escalation is particularly high now that Western maritime security operations are steaming ahead and Iran’s HOPE plan has sunk.

Going forward, the United States should continue showing support to its Gulf allies by maintaining potent military forces in the region and moving them around to emphasize their presence. If the Lincoln carrier group is ordered back home, a replacement carrier group should be sent with an overlapping deployment, to leave no room for misinterpretation.

Iran’s domestic problems will not dissipate anytime soon, as evident in the worsening violence against protestors and dissidents, the complete Internet blackout, and the plethora of negative economic indicators that will not be solved by simple gasoline rationing. Despite Tehran’s attempt to pin these problems on outside powers, the people will continue to blame the regime. Therefore, the IRGC and other hardline factions can be expected to issue even angrier threats and adopt more violent tactics in the coming weeks, both at home and further afield.

Farzin Nadimi is an associate fellow with The Washington Institute, specializing in the security and defense affairs of Iran and the Gulf region.