أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2493

نحو تقييم واقعي لاستقبال دول الخليج للسوريين

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت

متاح أيضاً في English

30 أيلول/سبتمبر 2015


يحيط التباس كبير بمدى استقبال دول الخليج العربي للسوريين الفارين من الحرب في بلادهم. إذ ذكرت الإحصائيات الواردة في الأسابيع الأخيرة أن عددهم يتراوح ما بين الصفر والملايين. إن فهم كيفية استيعاب دول الخليج للسوريين حتى الآن يحوي أهمية كبيرة عند النظر في كيفية توفير هذه الدول الغنية والمنخرطة سياسياً لأكبر قدر ممكن من الدعم للاجئين السوريين. ويطال هذا النقاش بشكل خاص المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة وقطر والكويت. فهذه الدول تُعتبر من الأطراف الفاعلة الرئيسية في المجهود الحربي من خلال توفيرها الدعم الكبير للمعارضة السورية، بشكل مباشر وغير مباشر، كما وأنها رائدة في تقديم المساعدات الإنسانية للاجئين.

التقديرات

من المرجح أن عدد السوريين الذين يعيشون الآن في الخليج، والذين وصلوا إلى المنطقة بعد بداية الحرب السورية في عام 2011، قد وصل إلى عدة مئات من الآلاف وغالبيتهم في المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة، دولتي الخليج اللتين تتمتعان بأكبر كثافة سكانية. فعدد سكان المملكة يبلغ نحو 30 مليون نسمة، حوالي ثلثهم غير سعوديين، في حين أن عدد سكان دولة الإمارات يبلغ حوالي 9.5 مليون نسمة، منهم ما يقرب من 90 في المائة غير إماراتيين. ومثلهم مثل جميع الأجانب الآخرين، يعيش السوريون "الجدد" في دول الخليج ذات الأنظمة الملكية على أساس مشروط بتصاريح مؤقتة.

إن التقدير المعقول لعدد السوريين الجدد في المملكة العربية السعودية يبلغ عدة مئات من الآلاف. فوفقاً للمُمثِّل الإقليمي لـ "مكتب المفوض السامي للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين"، هناك حوالي 500 ألف سوري يقيمون حالياً في المملكة، ويُفهم أن غالبيتهم عاش هناك قبل اندلاع الحرب. هذا وقد ادّعى ببساطة بيان أصدرته وزارة الخارجية السعودية في 11 أيلول/سبتمبر أن "بعض مئات الآلاف" من السوريين قد مُنحوا الإقامة القانونية منذ اندلاع الصراع السوري.   

وقالت المملكة في نفس يوم صدور البيان في 11 أيلول/سبتمبر أنها "تقبّلت" 2.5 مليون سوري منذ عام 2011. وقد يشمل هذا التقدير كافة عمليات دخول المواطنين السوريين القادمين من أي بلد ولأي غرض خلال هذه الفترة، بمن فيهم رجال الأعمال والحجاج وما إلى ذلك. وقد تكون الغالبية العظمى قد غادرت السعودية منذ ذلك الحين. لكن حتى في إطار هذا التعريف يبدو هذا العدد مرتفعاً بشكل غير عادي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ومن أجل وضع الرقم 2.5 مليون في إطاره، يقدر إن ما مجموع 4 ملايين سوري قد فروا من بلادهم منذ عام 2011، وتوجهوا في المقام الأول إلى الدول المجاورة مثل تركيا ولبنان والأردن.

ووفقاً لبيانات إماراتية، قدمت الإمارات العربية المتحدة تصاريح إقامة لأكثر من 100 ألف سوري منذ عام 2011. وكما هو الحال في المملكة العربية السعودية، يمثل هذا الرقم زيادة كبيرة مما كان عليه قبل الحرب، عندما بلغ عدد الجالية السورية حوالي 140 ألف شخص، وهذا أيضاً وفقاً لبيانات إماراتية. ويعني ذلك أن أكثر من 240 ألف سوري يعيشون الآن في دولة الإمارات، أي حوالي 20 إلى 25 في المائة من عدد سكان الإمارات.

يُذكر أن دولتين أصغر حجماً هما قطر (عدد سكانها 2.3 مليون نسمة، منهم ما يقرب من 90 في المائة غير قطريين) والكويت (عدد سكانها 4.1 مليون، منهم ما يقرب من 70 في المائة غير كويتيين) قد استقبلتا عدداً أقل بكثير من السوريين منذ عام 2011. فبالنسبة إلى قطر، تتراوح الأرقام الأكثر موثوقية ما بين 19 و25 ألف سوري، مع الإشارة إلى أن سفير "الائتلاف الوطني لقوى الثورة والمعارضة السورية" في قطر ذكر الرقم الأصغر، في مقابلة نُشرت مؤخراً في 15 أيلول/سبتمبر، بينما ذكر وزير خارجية قطر العدد الأكبر في مقابلة نُشرت في 29 أيلول/سبتمبر. وقد اعترفت قطر باستقبال بعض السوريين الجدد بتأشيرات زيارة تمنعهم من العمل القانوني، وهذا العدد محل خلاف أيضاً.   

أما الكويت فقد اتخذت الموقف الأكثر تقييداً تجاه السوريين الذين يبحثون عن عمل أو عن اللجوء. ففي عام 2011، منعت الكويت دخول السوريين الجدد إضافة إلى أعضاء من خمس جنسيات أخرى شابت بلدانها الأزمات. وكان المقصود من القانون الجديد وقف تدفق السوريين وغيرهم من اللاجئين الذين يريدون الانضمام إلى أفراد أسرهم المقيمين في الكويت. ومع مرور الوقت، خففت الكويت من هذه السياسة قليلاً. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، صرحت الكويت في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر بأنها لن ترحّل المواطنين السوريين الذين انتهت صلاحية تأشيراتهم. وقد شكل السوريون على مدى عدة سنوات ثاني أكبر جالية من المهاجرين العرب في الكويت، إذ يبلغ عددهم اليوم حوالي 120 ألف شخص.

وإلى جانب مئات الآلاف من السوريين الذين وجدوا ملجأً مؤقتاً في منطقة الخليج منذ بداية الحرب، لم يتمكن آخرون كثيرون من البقاء لأنهم لم يستطيعوا العثور على عمل. كما وتم رفض دخول البعض الآخر منذ البداية، ومع ذلك لم يحاول غيرهم الدخول بسبب الشعور العام بأن أبواب الخليج لم تكن مفتوحة أمامهم. إن الكثير من السوريين الذين سُمح لهم بالعيش في دول الخليج منذ عام 2011 هم من أفراد أسر المقيمين حالياً في المنطقة ورجال أعمال أو غيرهم من ذوي المعارف الجيدة.

العوامل المحركة

إن الضغوط التي تطال جوهر استقرار الدول الخليجية ستدفع بالأنظمة الملكية إلى الاستمرار بالحد من استقبال السوريين الفارين من الحرب. ومن بين هذه الضغوط تخفيض النسبة العالية من غير المواطنين في سكانها. وقد ساهم انخفاض أسعار النفط ومعدلات البطالة المرتفعة بين المواطنين الشباب في بعض البلدان والشعور المتزايد بالضعف في تسريع الحملات لتأميم القوى العاملة وخفض الاعتماد على الأجانب.    

إن القلق حول الأمن والاستقرار فيما يتعلق بالمواطنين السوريين يشكل مسألة أخرى. ويشمل ذلك التخوّف من تأثير السوريين المسيّسين على المجتمعات الخليجية، فضلاً عن احتمال تسلل الأفراد العازمين على ارتكاب العنف ضد الدولة إلى داخل المجتمع. ولا تقتصر هذه المخاوف على السوريين. فهي تشكل جزءاً من تاريخ يعود لعقود طويلة من التصورات، ويتمثل في النظر إلى المهاجرين العرب على أنهم مستوردين محتملين لاتجاهات سياسية تزعزع الاستقرار وتنشر التطرف. وقد ساهم ذلك في النمو الضخم في عدد المهاجرين الآسيوين على حساب المهاجرين العرب في دول الخليج بشكل عام.

وأخيراً، فإن سياسة عدم قبول معظم المهاجرين على أساس دائم سيحول دون ظهور خيارات إعادة التوطين على المدى الطويل للسوريين الذين يُتوقع مغادرتهم أوروبا والولايات المتحدة. إذ يتعيّن على جميع المقيمين الأجانب في دول الخليج العمل أو الدراسة أو الانخراط في نشاط آخر مجاز من الناحية القانونية على أساس مؤقت، أو أن تتم إعالتهم من قبل أحد أفراد أسرهم الذي يستوفي هذه الشروط. ولم تظهر سوى استثناءات قليلة في السنوات الأخيرة. ولهذا السبب يشعر العديد من السوريين الذين يعيشون في الخليج بعدم الأمان بشأن وضعهم هناك، ويأملون الاستقرار في أوروبا.

ومن العوامل المحركة لمعظم هذه القضايا هي العلاقة الحصرية التي ينميها حكام الخليج مع مواطنيهم. وعلى نحو تقليدي، يشمل ذلك استحقاقات الرعاية الاجتماعية الواسعة الممنوحة لمعظم المواطنين الخليجيين المدفوعة من خلال إيرادات النفط والغاز، على الرغم من أن المخصصات (أو المساعدات) قد تراجعت في السنوات الأخيرة بسبب الضغوط على الميزانية. وبالتالي فإن توسيع هذا النوع من العلاقة لكي يشمل العديد من المهاجرين الذي سيتم توطينهم كمواطنين في دول الخليج يُعتبر غير مجدٍ اقتصادياً، كما يشكّل خطراً سياسياً. والسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هنا، هل سيكون السكان غير المحليين، الذين يفتقرون إلى الروابط التاريخية مع الأسر الخليجية الحاكمة والذين يجلبون معهم خبرات سياسية واجتماعية مختلفة، أكثر عرضة لمعارضة الحكام؟

التطلع للمستقبل

إن الأخبار المتناقلة عن السوريين الذين يخاطرون بحياتهم للوصول إلى أوروبا، قد جعل بعض المواطنين الخليجيين يثيرون تساؤلات حول سياسات حكوماتهم. وقيادات الخليج حساسة للغاية تجاه الانتقادات، لدرجة أنها قد توفر تأشيرات دخول لعدد أكبر من أفراد أسر المقيمين السوريين، وتقوم بتوسيع الدعم للسوريين الموجودين بالفعل في منطقة الخليج. مع ذلك، لا تزال هناك عقبات خطيرة أمام فتح الباب بشكل أوسع أمام السوريين الجدد الذين يهاجرون لأسباب اقتصادية. وفي الواقع، تُفيد بعض التقارير إن مثل هذه الفرص آخذة في التضاؤل.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تشكل المساعدات المالية الخليجية للاجئين السوريين مساحة لها إمكانات قوية للنمو. إذ إن الكويت والمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة وقطر هي من بين أكبر الجهات المانحة للمساعدات الإنسانية إلى السوريين حتى الآن، وقد ساهمت في تقديم مئات الملايين من الدولارات من الغذاء والمأوى والملبس والرعاية الطبية والبرامج التعليمية داخل سوريا وخارجها. وعموماً يأتي ترتيب التبرع الخليجي بعد أنظمة اقتصادية أكبر بكثير مثل الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا وألمانيا.

إن تسليط الضوء حالياً على دول الخليج قد يؤدي إلى الإعلان عن حملات جديدة لدعم اللاجئين السوريين. وهذه فرصة هامة بالنسبة إلى الدول التي تسمح أنظمتها السياسية بالدمج الدائم للمهاجرين في الدولة من أجل توسيع دعم دول الخليج للاجئين وتعميقه.

 

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت هي زميلة "باربارا كاي فاميلي" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2493

Toward a Realistic Assessment of the Gulf States Taking in Syrians

Lori Plotkin Boghardt

Also available in العربية

September 30, 2015


Since 2011, the Arab Gulf monarchies have likely absorbed several hundred thousand Syrians under temporary circumstances.

Much confusion surrounds the extent to which Arab Gulf states have taken in Syrians fleeing the country's war. Figures cited in recent weeks range from zero to the millions. Understanding the Gulf's absorption of Syrians thus far is important when considering how to maximize support for Syrian refugees from these wealthy, politically invested countries. The discussion is most relevant for Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Qatar, and Kuwait. These countries have been key players in the war effort by providing major support to the Syrian opposition -- directly and indirectly -- and also leaders in providing humanitarian aid to refugees.

ESTIMATES

The number of Syrians now living in the Gulf who arrived after the start of the Syrian war in 2011 is likely several hundred thousand. The majority are in Saudi Arabia and the UAE -- the two most populous Gulf states. The kingdom's population is about 30 million, of which approximately one-third is non-Saudi, while the UAE's population is about 9.5 million, of which nearly 90 percent is non-Emirati. Like all other foreigners, the "new" Syrians live in the Gulf monarchies on a conditional basis with temporary permits. 

In Saudi Arabia, a reasonable estimate for the number of new Syrians is in the low hundreds of thousands. About 500,000 Syrians currently reside in the kingdom, according to a regional representative of the Office of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), and a majority are understood to have lived there before the war. A Saudi Foreign Ministry statement on September 11 claimed simply that "some hundreds of thousands" of Syrians had been given legal residency status since the outbreak of the Syrian conflict.   

The kingdom stated in the same September 11 release that it has "received" 2.5 million Syrians since 2011. This could be an estimate of all entries by Syrian nationals arriving from any country for any purpose during the period, including businesspeople, religious pilgrims, and the like. The vast majority would have since departed. Yet even by that definition, the figure seems unusually high. Also, to put the 2.5 million figure in perspective, about 4 million Syrians in total are estimated to have fled their country since 2011, primarily to neighboring states such as Turkey, Lebanon, and Jordan.

The UAE has provided more than 100,000 Syrians with residency permits since 2011, according to Emirati statements. Like in Saudi Arabia, this represents a significant increase from before the war, when the Syrian community numbered some 140,000, again according to Emirati statements. This would make the 240,000-plus Syrians now living in the UAE equal to about 20-25 percent of the Emirati national population.

The smaller states of Qatar (population 2.3 million, of which nearly 90 percent is non-Qatari) and Kuwait (population 4.1 million, of which almost 70 percent is non-Kuwaiti) have taken in far fewer Syrians since 2011. For Qatar, the most reliable figures range from 19,000 to 25,000, with the opposition Syrian National Coalition's ambassador in Qatar citing the lower figure, most recently in an interview published September 15, and Qatar's foreign minister citing the higher figure in an interview published September 29. Qatar has admitted some new Syrians -- this number is also disputed -- on visitor visas, prohibiting them from legal work.   

Kuwait has taken the most restrictive position toward Syrians seeking work or refuge. In 2011, Kuwait banned entry to new Syrians along with members of five other nationalities whose countries were marred by crisis. The new rule was intended to stem the flow of Syrian and other refugees joining resident family members in Kuwait. Over time, Kuwait has eased this policy slightly. Also, earlier this month, Kuwait said it would not deport Syrian nationals whose visas had expired. For some years, Syrians have formed the second-largest Arab migrant community in Kuwait, with a total population of about 120,000 today. 

Alongside the hundreds of thousands of Syrians who have found temporary refuge in the Gulf since the war began, many others have been unable to stay because they could not find work; others were denied entry in the first place, and still others did not try to enter because of a general sense that the Gulf's doors were not open to them. Many of the Syrians who have been allowed to live in the Gulf since 2011 are family members of existing residents, businesspeople, or other well-connected individuals.

DRIVERS

Pressures that cut to the core of Gulf state stability will push the monarchies to continue limiting absorption of Syrians fleeing war. One such pressure involves decreasing the high percentage of noncitizens in their populations. Falling oil prices, high youth unemployment rates among nationals in some of the countries, and an increased sense of vulnerability have contributed to accelerated campaigns to nationalize the workforce and reduce dependence on foreigners.     

Concern about security and stability in relation to Syrian nationals is another issue. This includes anxiety about the impact on Gulf societies of politicized Syrians, as well as the potential for infiltration by individuals intent on perpetrating violence against the state. These kinds of concerns are not limited to Syrians. They form part of a decades-long history of perceptions of Arab migrants as potential importers of destabilizing political trends and radicalism. This has contributed to the huge growth in Asian over Arab migrants in the Gulf states overall.

Finally, the practice of not accepting most immigrants on a permanent basis will preclude the kinds of long-term resettlement options for Syrians that are expected from Europe and the United States. All foreign residents in the Gulf are required to work, study, or engage in another legally sanctioned activity on a temporary basis -- or to be a family dependent of someone who does. Few exceptions have been granted in recent years. It is for this reason that many Syrians living in the Gulf feel insecure about their status there, and hope to settle in Europe.

A driving force behind most of these issues is the exclusive relationship Gulf rulers cultivate with their citizens. Traditionally, this has included extensive welfare benefits for most Gulf citizens paid for by oil and gas revenues -- though allowances have been eroded in recent years due to budgetary pressures. Expanding this kind of relationship to numerous migrants naturalized as Gulf citizens is judged to be economically unfeasible. It is also considered politically risky: would nonlocals who lack historical ties to the Gulf ruling families and who bring different political and social experiences be more apt to oppose the rulers?

LOOKING AHEAD

News of Syrians risking their lives to reach Europe has made some Gulf citizens question their governments' policies. Gulf leaderships are highly sensitive to the criticism. They may provide visas to more family members of Syrian residents, and expand support to Syrians already in the Gulf. Still, serious obstacles remain to a wider opening for new Syrian economic migrants. Indeed, such opportunities are reported to be contracting.

At the same time, Gulf financial aid for Syrian refugees is an area that holds strong potential for growth. Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and Qatar have been some of the largest humanitarian aid donors to Syrians until now, contributing hundreds of millions of dollars in food, shelter, clothing, medical care, and educational programs inside and outside Syria. Gulf donation rankings generally follow much larger economies such as the United States, Britain, and Germany.

The current spotlight on the Gulf countries will probably lead to announcements of new campaigns to support Syrian refugees. This is an important opportunity for states whose political system does allow for permanent incorporation of immigrants into their body politic to widen and deepen refugee support from the Gulf.

Lori Plotkin Boghardt is the Barbara Kay Family Fellow at The Washington Institute.