أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3150

ثلاثة عشر عاماً على الحرب بين «حزب الله» وإسرائيل

غادي آيزنكوت

متاح أيضاً في English

8 تموز/يوليو 2019


احتفلت إسرائيل في آذار/مارس هذا العام مرور سبعين عاماً على توقيعها اتفاق لوقف إطلاق النار مع لبنان. وفي 12 تموز/يوليو ستصادف ذكرى مرور 13 عاماً على اندلاع الحرب التي بدأت حين خطف «حزب الله» اللبناني جنديين من الأراضي الإسرائيلية وقتل ثلاثة آخرين. وبعد ثلاثة وثلاثين يوماً من القتال، تغيّر ميزان القوى على الحدود الشمالية لإسرائيل بشكل غير قابل للرجوع، في حين تم إثارة خطاب حاد بشأن إدارة الحكومة الإسرائيلية للقتال وأداء "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي". 

وسيقيّم هذا "المرصد السياسي" الإرث الاستراتيجي للحرب من خلال وجهتي نظر تبحث الأولى من بينهما في كيفية تأثير الأعمال العدائية وتداعياتها على القدرات العسكرية والمكانة الاستراتيجية لكل من «حزب الله» و«فيلق القدس» التابع لـ «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني في سياق مهمتهما ضدّ إسرائيل. أما الثانية، فستناقش الإنجازات الاستراتيجية لإسرائيل والتحديات التي تواجهها منذ الحرب وكيف يجب أن تمضي البلاد قدماً على ضوئها.

ميزان القوى ما بعد الحرب

بعد فترة وجيزة من الحرب، صرّح أمين عام «حزب الله» حسن نصرالله صراحةً خلال مقابلة قائلاً: "لم نعتقد ولو بنسبة 1 في المائة أن عملية الخطف ستؤدي إلى اندلاع حرب في هذا التوقيت وبهذا الحجم... لو كنت أعلم في 11 تموز/يوليو... أن هذه العملية ستؤدي إلى مثل هذه الحرب، هل كنت سأقدم عليها؟ لا، بالتأكيد لا". لكن، في حين شهدت الحدود منذ ذلك الوقت ثلاثة عشر عاماً من الهدوء والاستقرار النسبيين، واصل الحزب تعزيز ترسانته القوية وطوّر ما يعتبره المضاعفات الثلاثة الأساسية للقوة:  

1. قدرة الدقة لصواريخه.

2. جبهة ثانية ضد إسرائيل انطلاقاً من سوريا.

3. خطة هجومية للتوغل في الأراضي الإسرائيلية، فوق الأرض وعبر الأنفاق على حد سواء.

وقد واجه "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" هذه التحديات بفعالية خلال السنوات الأخيرة، حيث ألحق أضراراً بقدرات الحزب وقوّض خططه إلى حدّ كبير. ومن أجل التصدي للدقة المحسنة لصواريخ «حزب الله»، استهدف "الجيش الإسرائيلي" مصانع إنتاج الصواريخ ومخزوناتها متخذاً خطوات علنية وسرية ضدّ عمليات نقل الأسلحة من إيران - الراعي الرئيسي للحزب. وبينما سعى «حزب الله» وإيران إلى إنشاء جبهة ثانية ضدّ إسرائيل في مرتفعات الجولان، ضرب "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" بيد من حديد على طول الحدود، واضعاً آليات لتجنب النزاع مع القوات الروسية في سوريا التي سمحت لإسرائيل بتقليص قدرات أعدائها بشكل كبير. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، واجه "الجيش الإسرائيلي" خطط «حزب الله» للتوغل عبر أنفاق تمتد داخل إسرائيل من خلال إطلاق "عملية درع الشمال".   

إبطال مفعول تهديد الأنفاق

في أواخر عام 2014، ظهرت التلميحات الأولى لمشروع سري يجمع بين «فيلق القدس» و«حزب الله» - وهو خطة رئيسية لتطوير نظام ضخم من الأنفاق الهجومية. وفي إطار هجوم محتمل أوسع نطاقاً، قد تكون هذه الشبكة قد سمحت لآلاف الجنود بالخروج من هذه الانفاق التي امتدت من داخل لبنان باتجاه المجتمعات الإسرائيلية، مما ساعد إيران و «حزب الله» على تحقيق إنجاز عسكري استراتيجي والسير نحو تحقيق هدفهما المشترك المتمثل بإلحاق ضرر بدولة إسرائيل وتدميرها في النهاية.

ولسنوات، عمل "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" على إجراء تقييم دقيق لعدد هذه الانفاق ومواقعها بدقة مستخدماً القدرات الاستخباراتية الموحدة إلى جانب موارد تكنولوجية وعملياتية وتلك الخاصة بالهندسة القتالية. وتمخضت عن هذه الجهود "عملية درع الشمال" التي بدأت في 4 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2018. وبانتهاء العملية في 13 كانون الثاني/يناير، دُمّرت الأنفاق وتمّ إبطال مفعول التهديد الذي طرحته هذه الانفاق على الحدود الشمالية لإسرائيل.

وعند خسارة كلاً من «فيلق القدس» و «حزب الله» نظام أنفاق كان قد عملا عليه لأكثر من عقد، اعترتهما الصدمة بوضوح - وهو ردّ فعل تجلى في إنكارهما للمشروع ومحاولتهما التقليل من أهمية البرنامج الذي كان أساسياً لاستراتيجيتهما. ومن المنطقي الافتراض أن كشف هذا المشروع السري وتدميره أظهرا للجماعتين مدى تغلغل إسرائيل في أسرارهما الأساسية، مما عزّز على الأرجح قوة الردع التي تتمتع بها إسرائيل في نظر صناع القرار في إيران و «حزب الله». 

«حزب الله» منذ عام 2006

في السنوات التي أعقبت الحرب على لبنان، ركّز «حزب الله» على إعادة بناء ضاحية بيروت الشيعية وقرى جنوب لبنان، فضلاً عن تعزيز قدراته العسكرية واستيعاب العبر المستخلصة خلال النزاع. وبحلول عام 2011، دفعت الاضطرابات في العالم العربي وتدهور الأوضاع في سوريا إلى قيام إيران بمطالبة قوات «حزب الله» بمساعدة نظام بشار الأسد ودعم وكلاء إيران في نزاعات أخرى تشهدها المنطقة. وقد ساعد دور قتالي ناشط قام به الحزب في سوريا، على اكتسابه خبرة ميدانية قيّمة في نشر "العناصر" على مستوى السريات والكتائب.

ومع ذلك، كانت هناك تداعيات سلبية للتدخلات الخارجية. فبعد خمس سنوات من القتال في سوريا، لقي نحو 2000 عنصر من «حزب الله» حتفهم بينما أصيب 8000 آخرين بجراح. وخلافاً لممارسته الماضية، لجأ الحزب إلى استخدام مقاتلين لا تزيد أعمارهم عن ستة عشر عاماً، قُتل العديد منهم في ساحة المعركة. وفي أوائل عام 2018، بدأ «حزب الله» بسحب قواته من سوريا، لتعود غالبية العناصر إلى ديارها بحلول نهاية العام. وسرعان ما واجه الحزب انقسامات داخلية ومشاكل اقتصادية حادة دفعت به إلى خفض كل من عدد الوحدات المرسلة إلى ميدان القتال بشكل كبير، وبرامج الرفاه الاجتماعي التي يرعاها في لبنان، فضلاً عن الأجور التي يدفعها إلى عناصره. 

ومع ذلك، فجلّ ما حصل هو أن تعاون الحزب مع إيران، ولا سيما «فيلق القدس» ازداد وثاقة. ولربما تجلى هذا الاندماج بأفضل صورة في عام 2016 حين قُتل القائد العسكري لقوات «حزب الله» في سوريا مصطفى بدر الدين، بعد وقت قصير من لقائه بقائد «فيلق القدس» قاسم سليماني في قاعدة إيرانية بالقرب من دمشق. وبدا أن القرار عكس رغبتيْ كل من سليماني ونصرالله؛ ومنذ ذلك الحين عمل الحزب من دون قائد عسكري مستقل خاص به.

 

إسرائيل حققت معظم أهدافها الاستراتيجية

كانت المعضلة الرئيسية التي واجهها مجلس الوزراء الأمني ​​الإسرائيلي عشية حرب 2006 تتمثل في تحديد الهدف الرئيسي للحملة - هل كانت الدولة اللبنانية أم «حزب الله» أم كليهما؟ وفي النهاية، أوصى "الجيش الإسرائيلي" بوضع ستة أهداف للحملة، ووافق عليها مجلس الوزراء، وهي:

1.         تعزيز قوة الردع الإسرائيلية في المنطقة.

2.         وقف الإرهاب المنطلق من الأراضي السيادية اللبنانية.

3.         إرغام الحكومة اللبنانية على تحمّل مسؤولية الوضع في الجنوب.

4.         الضغط على «حزب الله» لإعادة الجنديين المخطوفين.

5.         إلحاق ضرر كبير بـ «حزب الله» وبقدراته العسكرية.

6.         تحييد سوريا والأراضي الفلسطينية عن الحرب.

وبعد ثلاثة عشر عاماً، يمكن القول إنه تمّ تحقيق معظم هذه الأهداف. فقوة الردع الإسرائيلية لا تزال قوية كما أثبتت سنوات من الهدوء النسبي على الحدود الشمالية لإسرائيل. وقد تحملت الحكومة اللبنانية و"قوة الأمم المتحدة المؤقتة في لبنان" ("اليونيفيل") بعض المسؤولية في الجنوب. وعلى نطاق أوسع، تلقى «حزب الله» ضربة قوية بعد سنوات طويلة صوّرت خلالها طهران الحزب كنموذج لبسط السيطرة الإيرانية في الشرق الأوسط.  

وفي الوقت نفسه، عزّز «حزب الله» قوته العسكرية بشكل كبير رغم الانتكاسة التي تعرّض لها، حتى في جنوب نهر الليطاني -وهي البقعة التي كان من المفترض أن يتم إخلاؤها وفقاً لقرار مجلس الأمن الدولي رقم 1701. ولم تبسط بيروت و"الجيش اللبناني" السيادة الكاملة التي نصّ عليها القرار، كما أن المراقبة التي تقوم بها قوات "اليونيفيل" محدودة. وعلى الصعيد السياسي، يستمر نفوذ «حزب الله» في النمو داخل لبنان.

التطلع للمستقبل

حتى في ظل الإنجازات الكبيرة التي حققها "الجيش الإسرائيلي" خلال الحرب، أدّى واقع قدرة «حزب الله» على إطلاق حوالي 4000 صاروخ وقذيفة على المناطق الشمالية، إلى هز المجتمع الإسرائيلي بأجمعه، بإثارته تساؤلات تصعب الإجابة عليها حول مستوى استعداد الجيش. وكما جاء في وثيقة استراتيجية لعام 2015، أسفر ذلك عن إعادة تنظيم في صفوف "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" وإعادة التركيز على مصادر المعلومات الاستخباراتية، إلى جانب زيادة الاستعداد لأي عملية مستقبلية ضد «حزب الله» وحماية الداخل الإسرائيلي.

واليوم، أصبح «حزب الله» قادراً على إطلاق صواريخ على إسرائيل على مقياس أكبر حتى من عام 2006. غير أن قدرات إسرائيل الدفاعية والهجومية ضد الحزب قد تحسّنت بشكل ملحوظ، علماً بأن "الجيش الإسرائيلي" يتفوق على صعيد الاستخبارات والعمليات الجوية والبرية إلى حدّ كبير - مما يكفي لضمان تحقيق نصر في أي صراع مستقبلي وجعل إيران و «حزب الله» يدفعان ثمناً باهظاً.

ومن ناحية أخرى، أوجدت التطورات الإقليمية الأخيرة والضغوط المتزايدة على إيران فرصة لتقليص تهديد الميليشيات الشيعية في الشرق الأوسط وتعزيز سيادة الدولة اللبنانية. وبشكل خاص، تعتقد إسرائيل أن الخطوات التالية أساسية:

  • تعزيز جهود قوات حفظ السلام الدولية القائمة. من شأن تمديد مهمة "اليونيفيل" المتوقّع في آب/أغسطس إلى جانب تعزيز جهود التطبيق العملياتي للقرار 1701 في جنوب لبنان، تحسين الاستقرار في المنطقة وكبح نفوذ «حزب الله». ووفقاً لذلك، يجدر بالأمم المتحدة تنشيط مهمة حفظ السلام في سوريا ولبنان من خلال زيادة عدد القوات، وتوسيع صلاحياتها على الأرض، وفرض متطلبات إنفاذ أكثر صرامة عليها.    
  • الضغط على "الجيش اللبناني" وبيروت لكي يتحمّلا المسؤولية. بما أن "الجيش اللبناني" يعتمد على المساعدات الخارجية، يمكن للدول المانحة أن تشرط مساهمتها باضطلاع الجيش اللبناني بدور أكبر على صعيدين: اعتراض الأسلحة المنقولة عبر سوريا وزيادة العمليات في معاقل «حزب الله» جنوب نهر الليطاني. وبالتزامن، على المجتمع الدولي الضغط على الحكومة المدنية لتعزيز سيادتها في الجنوب وتحمّل كامل المسؤولية عما يجري هناك. 
  • الضغط على إيران للانسحاب. أوجد الضغط الدولي المتزايد على طهران فرصة لدفع النظام نحو سحب قواته من سوريا و"مستشاريه" من لبنان. ومن شأن تعزيز الجهود المبذولة التي تقودها الولايات المتحدة ضد إيران أن يُضعف أيضاً المكانة الاستراتيجية لـ «حزب الله»، جزئياً من خلال الحدّ من مدى تأثير الحزب وراعيته على لبنان.
  • مراقبة الحدود اللبنانية - السورية. من أجل تحقيق الاستقرار في المنطقة، على الجهات الفاعلة الدولية مراقبة هذه الحدود عن كثب لمنع نقل الأسلحة الإيرانية إلى «حزب الله». وتُعتبر هذه المهمة صائبة بشكل خاص في ضوء القمة الثلاثية التي عُقدت الشهر الماضي في القدس بين مستشاري الأمن القومي لإسرائيل وروسيا والولايات المتحدة.
  • تشجيع التعاون الإسرائيلي-اللبناني. على الحكومة الإسرائيلية بذل المزيد من الجهود لتعزيز المصالح المشتركة مع بيروت، على غرار التنقيب عن الغاز في المياه اللبنانية وضبط الحدود البرية والبحرية (باستثناء "مزارع شبعا" المثيرة للجدل).

باختصار، أسفرت حرب 2006 عن تحقيق إنجازات استراتيجية مهمة بالنسبة لإسرائيل، وطالما يتمّ الحفاظ على هذه الإنجازات، فمن المرجح أن يبقى الاستقرار سائداً على الحدود الشمالية لإسرائيل. علاوةً على ذلك، قد يوفّر الوضع الراهن الذي يواجهه «حزب الله» وإيران و«فيلق القدس» فرصة استراتيجية لإضعاف نفوذهم بشكل أكبر في لبنان. ومهما كان الأمر، على إسرائيل أن تحافظ على استعدادها وتفوقها العسكري، باعتبارهما رادعيْن لتأخير اندلاع الصراع التالي وكأداتيْن لتحقيق نصر ساحق في حال اندلاع مثل هذا الصراع.  

 

اللفتنانت جنرال غادي آيزنكوت، هو زميل عسكري في معهد واشنطن، كان قد تقاعد من "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" في كانون الثاني/يناير بعد أن شغل منصب رئيس الأركان العامة.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3150

Thirteen Years Since the Hezbollah-Israel War

Gadi Eisenkot

Also available in العربية

July 8, 2019


On the anniversary of the 2006 conflict, a former IDF chief of staff assesses current power dynamics, risks, and opportunities along Israel’s northern borders.

This March, Israel marked the seventieth anniversary of its ceasefire agreement with the state of Lebanon. On July 12, it will mark thirteen years since the outbreak of a war that began when Lebanese Hezbollah kidnapped two soldiers from Israeli territory and killed three others. Following thirty-three days of fighting, the balance of power on Israel’s northern border was irrevocably changed, while a penetrating discourse was stirred up regarding the government’s management of the conflict and the performance of the Israel Defense Forces (IDF).

This PolicyWatch will assess the war’s strategic legacy through two lenses. First, it will examine how the hostilities and their aftermath have affected the military capabilities and strategic position of Hezbollah and Iran’s Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps-Qods Force in the context of their mission against Israel. Second, it will discuss Israel’s strategic achievements and challenges since the war, and how the country should proceed in light of them.

THE POSTWAR BALANCE OF POWER

Shortly after the war, Hezbollah leader Hassan Nasrallah candidly told an interviewer, “We did not think, even one percent, that the capture would lead to a war at this time and of this magnitude...If I had known on July 11...that the operation would lead to such a war, would I do it? I say no, absolutely not.” Yet while the border has seen thirteen years of relative quiet and stability since then, the group has continued to expand its robust arsenal and develop what it views as three crucial power multipliers:

  1. Precision capability for its missiles.
  2. A second front against Israel from Syria.
  3. An offensive plan to penetrate Israeli territory, both above ground and via tunnels.

The IDF has actively confronted these challenges in recent years, damaging the group’s capabilities and greatly hampering its plans. To counter the improving precision of Hezbollah rockets, the IDF has attacked missile production plants and stockpiles while taking open and covert action against weapons transfers from the group’s chief patron, Iran. And as Hezbollah and Tehran sought to establish a second front against Israel in the Golan Heights, the IDF struck deep along that frontier, establishing deconfliction mechanisms with Russian forces in Syria that allowed Israel to greatly reduce the capabilities of its enemies. Most recently, the IDF countered Hezbollah’s plans for underground incursions into Israel by launching Operation Northern Shield.

NEUTRALIZING THE TUNNEL THREAT

In late 2014, the first hints of a secret Qods Force/Hezbollah project came to light—a flagship plan for developing a massive system of underground attack tunnels. As part of a wider potential offensive, this network could have allowed thousands of troops to rise up from tunnels that stretched from inside Lebanon into Israeli communities, helping Iran and Hezbollah notch a strategic military achievement and advance their shared goal of harming and ultimately destroying the state of Israel.

For years, the IDF labored to accurately assess the number and location of these tunnels using combined intelligence capabilities together with technological, operational, and combat engineering resources. The fruit of this labor was Operation Northern Shield, which started on December 4, 2018. When the operation ended on January 13, the tunnels were destroyed and the underground threat to Israel’s northern frontier was neutralized.

Upon losing a tunnel system they had worked on for over a decade, the Qods Force and Hezbollah were clearly shocked—a reaction manifested in their denial of the project and their attempts to minimize the importance of a program that had been so central to their strategy. It is reasonable to assume that the exposure and destruction of this secret project has shown both groups the extent to which Israel has infiltrated their core secrets, likely strengthening Israeli deterrence in the eyes of Iranian and Hezbollah decisionmakers.

HEZBOLLAH SINCE 2006

In the years following the Lebanon war, Hezbollah focused on rebuilding Beirut’s Shia district of Dahiya and the villages of south Lebanon, as well as bolstering its own military capabilities and processing the lessons learned during the conflict. By 2011, the turmoil in the Arab world and the deteriorating situation in Syria led Iran to demand that Hezbollah forces assist Bashar al-Assad’s regime and support Iranian proxies in other regional struggles. An active combat role in Syria helped the group acquire valuable field experience in deploying formations at the company and battalion level.

The foreign interventions took a toll, however. After five years of fighting in Syria, some 2,000 Hezbollah operatives had been killed and 8,000 injured. Contrary to its past practice, the group resorted to using combatants as young as sixteen years of age, and many of these green recruits died in battle. In early 2018, Hezbollah began withdrawing forces from Syria, returning the majority of them home by year’s end. The group soon encountered internal divisions and severe economic problems that led it to sharply reduce the number of units it fielded, the social welfare programs it sponsored in Lebanon, and the wages it paid to personnel.

Even so, the group’s cooperation with Iran, especially the Qods Force, has only deepened. Perhaps the best illustration of this merger came in 2016, when the commander of Hezbollah forces in Syria, Mustafa Badreddine, was executed shortly after meeting with Qods Force commander Qasem Soleimani at an Iranian base near Damascus. The decision appeared to reflect the wishes of both Soleimani and Nasrallah; since then, the organization has functioned without an independent military chief of its own.

ISRAEL ACHIEVED MOST OF ITS STRATEGIC GOALS

The central dilemma facing the Israeli security cabinet on the eve of the 2006 war was defining the campaign’s main target—was it the state of Lebanon, Hezbollah, or both? In the end, the IDF recommended six campaign goals, and the cabinet approved them:

  1. Strengthening Israeli deterrence in the region.
  2. Halting terrorism from Lebanon’s sovereign territory.
  3. Forcing the Lebanese government to take responsibility for the south.
  4. Pressuring Hezbollah to return the kidnapped soldiers.
  5. Causing significant damage to Hezbollah and its military capabilities.
  6. Keeping Syria and the Palestinian territories out of the war.

Thirteen years later, it can be said that most of these goals were achieved. Israeli deterrence is still strong, as demonstrated by the years of relative quiet on Israel’s northern border. The Lebanese government and the UN Interim Force in Lebanon (UNIFIL) have taken some responsibility for the south. More broadly, Hezbollah was dealt a forceful blow after years of Tehran casting the group as a model for extending Iranian hegemony in the Middle East.

At the same time, Hezbollah has significantly increased its military strength despite the blow it suffered, even south of the Litani River—a space it was supposed to evacuate in accordance with UN Security Council Resolution 1701. Beirut and the Lebanese Armed Forces (LAF) have not fully established the sovereignty they are supposed to exert under that resolution, and the supervision exercised by UNIFIL is limited as well. On the political front, Hezbollah’s influence continues to grow within Lebanon.

LOOKING AHEAD

Even in the face of major IDF accomplishments during the war, the fact that Hezbollah was able to fire an estimated 4,000 rockets and missiles at northern communities sent shockwaves throughout Israeli society, raising difficult questions about the military’s level of preparedness. As outlined in a 2015 strategy document, this resulted in reorganization of the IDF and refocusing of intelligence resources, along with heightened readiness for future action against Hezbollah and protection of the home front.

Today, Hezbollah is capable of launching missiles into Israel on an even larger scale than 2006. Yet Israel’s defensive and offensive capabilities against the group have greatly improved, and the IDF enjoys major intelligence, aerial, and ground superiority—enough to ensure victory in a future conflict and make Iran and Hezbollah pay a heavy price.

Meanwhile, recent regional developments and heightened pressures on Iran have created an opportunity to roll back the Shia militia threat in the Middle East and bolster the state of Lebanon. In particular, Israel believes the following steps are crucial:

  • Strengthen existing international peacekeeping efforts. The expected extension of UNIFIL’s mandate this August, together with increased efforts toward operational enforcement of Resolution 1701 in south Lebanon, would improve regional stability and constrict Hezbollah’s influence. Accordingly, the UN should reinvigorate the mandate of its peacekeeping forces in Syria and Lebanon by increasing the number of troops, expanding their authority on the ground, and placing stricter enforcement requirements on them.
  • Press the LAF and Beirut to take responsibility. Because Lebanon’s military depends on foreign aid, donor countries can condition their contributions on the LAF becoming more active on two fronts: intercepting weapons transferred through Syria and increasing operations in Hezbollah strongholds south of the Litani River. Concurrently, the international community should pressure the civilian government to boost its sovereignty in the south and take full responsibility for what happens there.
  • Press Iran to withdraw. The growing international pressure on Tehran has created an opportunity to push the regime into removing its forces from Syria and its “advisors” from Lebanon. Increasing the U.S.-led effort against Iran would also weaken Hezbollah’s strategic position, in part by limiting how much the group and its patron can influence Lebanon.
  • Monitor the Lebanon-Syria border. In the interests of regional stability, international players should closely monitor this frontier to prevent the transfer of Iranian weapons to Hezbollah. This task is especially relevant in light of last month’s trilateral summit in Jerusalem between the national security advisors of Israel, Russia, and the United States.
  • Encourage Israeli-Lebanese engagement. The Israeli government should increase its efforts to promote shared interests with Beirut, such as drilling for gas in Lebanese waters and regulating land and maritime borders (with the exception of the contentious Shebaa Farms).

In short, the 2006 war yielded important strategic achievements for Israel, and as long as these achievements are maintained, stability on Israel’s northern border is likely. Moreover, the current situation facing Hezbollah, Iran, and the Qods Force may provide a strategic opportunity to further weaken their influence in Lebanon. Whatever the case, Israel must maintain its readiness and military superiority, both as deterrents to delay the next conflict and as instruments for decisive victory should conflict arise.

Lt. Gen. Gadi Eisenkot, a military fellow at The Washington Institute, retired from the IDF in January after serving as chief of the general staff.