أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3136

طاقة شرق المتوسط والسلام في الشرق الأوسط

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

13 حزيران/يونيو 2019


في الأسبوع الماضي، بعد عامٍ من المفاوضات، أعلنت حكومة قبرص واتّحادٌ تقوده شركة "نوبل أنرجي" ومقرها في تكساس عن اتفاقٍ بشأن عقدٍ منقّح لاستغلال حقل "أفروديت" للغاز الطبيعي الذي يقع على بُعد 100 ميلٍ جنوب الجزيرة. وسيكلّف تطوير الحقل، الذي يمتدّ جزءٌ منه في المنطقة الاقتصادية الخالصة لإسرائيل، عدة مليارات من الدولارات، وستتدفق كميات الغاز الأولى في عام 2024 كحدٍ أدنى، وربما باتجاه مصر ليتم تصديرها إلى باقي أنحاء العالَم. ويُقدَّر إجمالي الإيرادات على مدى الأعوام العشرين التي يُتوقَّع أن يدوم فيها الحقل بأكثر من 9 مليارات دولار. وتبدو الخطوة التالية في الصفقة - أي الإقرار الرسمي من الحكومة القبرصية - بمثابة نتيجة حتمية، لكن كما هو الحال غالباً، تتم مقاربة أي تطورات متعلقة بالطاقة في شرق البحر الأبيض المتوسط من زوايا جيوسياسية أوسع نطاقاً.

يمكن تسوية المطالبة الإسرائيلية بحقل "أفروديت" عبر التحكيم، لكن برزت ملامح مسألة أخرى أكثر صعوبة بكثير في 7 حزيران/يونيو، عندما أعلنت تركيا أن القبارصة الذين يعيشون في المنطقة الشمالية التي يحتلّها الأتراك من الجزيرة يتمتعون بحقوق نيل حصة من الحقل. وسبق أن أقرت مبدئيّاً الحكومة المعترَف بها دوليّاً في نيقوسيا - التي تؤكّد سيادتها على كامل الجزيرة وتمنح جوازات سفر إلى القبارصة الأتراك - أن الإيرادات الأخيرة لحقل "أفروديت" ستكون لكافة القبارصة. ومع ذلك، فإن ما يعقّد هذا المبدأ هو العدد الكبير من المستوطنين الأتراك على الجزيرة، الذين يفتقر الكثيرون منهم إلى الإرث القبرصي المثبَت والمطلوب للحصول على جوازات السفر وبعض الحقوق الأخرى. لذلك يتسبب التصريح الأخير لأنقرة بتفاقم المخاوف من قيام القوات البحرية التركية بمضايقة عمليات التنقيب والتطوير الدولية في المياه المتنازَع عليها.

وفي غضون ذلك، تم إيقاف إمدادات الغاز التي تولّد ثلثي الكهرباء في إسرائيل لوقتٍ قصير في الشهر الماضي بسبب القلق من أن إطلاق قذائف «حماس» من غزّة قد يهدد المنصة البحرية العاملة للخطر. فمثل هذه الأحداث هي جزءٌ من سبب وقوع منصة إسرائيل الثانية - التي يتم بناؤها حاليّاً لخدمة حقل "ليفياثان" الذي يوشك على البدء بالإنتاج - في مكانٍ أبعد شمالاً وأقرب إلى الشاطئ، حيث يمكن حمايتها بشكل أفضل.

ومن الناحية الإيجابية، كانت إسرائيل تستخدم كميات قليلة من الغاز لاختبار خط أنابيب غير مستخدَم في قاع البحر بين عسقلان ومدينة العريش في سيناء. وكان الخط يُستخدَم سابقاً لضخ الغاز المصري إلى إسرائيل، لكنّ الوضع انعكس الآن إذ سيتم نقل الغاز قريباً من الحقول البحرية الإسرائيلية إلى مصر - سواء للاستخدام المحلي أو للتصدير ما إن يتم تحويله إلى غاز طبيعي مُسال في المحطات الحالية للغاز الطبيعي المسال بالقرب من بور سعيد والاسكندرية. لكن كان من الصعب التوصل إلى اتفاق قانوني نهائي حول هذه الاقتراحات، وحتى حين تبدأ كميات الغاز بالتدفق في وقتٍ متأخر من هذا العام، ستضطر إلى استخدام طريق برّي معرَّض للهجوم الإرهابي من عناصر تنظيميْ «القاعدة» و«الدولة الإسلامية» خلال جزءٍ من رحلتها، على الأقل إلى أن يتم الاتفاق على خط بحري آخر باهظ الثمن يمتد إلى أقصى الغرب من العريش وبناؤه.

وتبحث إسرائيل أيضاً عن شركات يمكن أن تنقّب في مياهها عن المزيد من الغاز. وعلى الرغم من إرجاء الموعد النهائي للمناقصات على تسعة عشر كتل بحرية إلى منتصف آب/أغسطس، الأمر الذي ربما يعكس قلة اهتمام المستثمرين، إلا أنه وفقاً لبعض التقارير ما زال المسؤولين الإسرائيليين يأملون في أن تقتنع شركة "إكسون موبيل" بالصفقة. فحتى الآن، أبدت الشركة الأمريكية اهتماماً أكبر بالكتل القبرصية، كما فعلت بعض الشركات الأوروبية مثل "توتال" الفرنسية و"إيني" الإيطالية.

وتهتم الشركتان الأخيرتان أيضاً بالتنقيب في مياه لبنان، رغم الاختلال الوظيفي للحكومة، والعَطل في شبكة إمدادات الكهرباء، وتطفّل النفوذ الإيراني في البلاد. فهما تأملان البدء بالتنقيب شمال غرب بيروت قبل نهاية هذا العام. والأمر الأكثر إثارة للجدل هو أن اتحادهما، الذي يشمل شركةً روسيةً، يريد التنقيب في كتلة أخرى تضم قطعةً من البحر متنازَع عليها مع إسرائيل. وتحت تغطية "الأمم المتحدة"، كان الدبلوماسيون الأمريكيون يشجّعون كلا البلدين على التوصل إلى اتفاق على الأقل حول بعض عناصر خلافاتهما المتعلقة بالحدود البرّيّة والبحرية التي استمرت لعقود، وربما يشير ذلك إلى اهتمام الشركات الأمريكية بالتنقيب في مياه لبنان.

ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر بصفقات الطاقة، فحتى معاهدة السلام لا تضع حدّاً للحساسيات العامة إزاء التقارب مع إسرائيل. فعلى سبيل المثال، تعززت الروابط الأمنية والاستخباراتية بين الأردن والقدس بشكل كبير منذ أن وقّعت الحكومتان معاهدتهما في عام 1994، وزوّد الغاز الإسرائيلي المعامل الصناعية الأردنية بالطاقة في البحر الميّت على مدار العاميْن الماضييْن. لكن نظراً إلى استمرار ضعف العلاقات بين شعبيْ البلدين، فإن العديد من الأردنيين يعارضون احتمال استخدام غاز حقل "ليفياثان" لتوليد الكهرباء على نطاقٍ واسع بدءاً من أوائل العام القادم. وبدّدت عمان هذا الغضب جزئياً حين وصفت هذه الإمدادات "غازاً شماليّاً" أو "غازاً أمريكيّاً"، مؤكدة على دور شركة "نوبل" في إنتاجه.

إنقر على الخريطة لرؤية نسخة أكبر

تُظهر الخريطة أعلاه بوضوح، والتي رُفِعت عنها السرية من قبل "مكتب موارد الطاقة" التابع لوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية وتم الحصول عليها من "ماكلاتشي"، تعقيدات التطورات المتعلقة بالطاقة في شرق البحر المتوسط. فيعتبر بعض المسؤولين أن الخصائص الجيولوجية لهذه المنطقة يمكن أن تساعد أوروبا على تعديل اعتمادها على الغاز الروسي أو حتى استبداله، لكن يبدو أن هذا الأمر مستبعَد في إطار المستوى الحالي للاكتشافات. وسيتعيّن التنقيب عن العديد من الحقول الأضخم مثل حقل "ليفياثان" أو حقل "ظهر" المصري قبل أن يتغيّر هذا الواقع. كما أن البناء المقترَح لخط أنابيب في قاع البحر لنقل الغاز إلى اليونان وإيطاليا يشكّل كذلك أمراً غير واقعي في الوقت الحالي. ووفقاً لآخر "استعراض إحصائي للطاقة العالمية" أجرته شركة "بي بي"، لا تبلغ اكتشافات إسرائيل الحاليّة سوى 0.2 في المائة من احتياطات الغاز العالميّة المؤكدة من الغاز. وتفوقها الاحتياطات المصرية بخمسة أضعاف، على الرغم من أنها تبقى ضئيلة نسبةً إلى احتياطات أكبر ثلاثة بلدان منتجة في العالَم هي: روسيا (19.8 في المائة) وإيران (16.2 في المائة) وقطر (12.5 في المائة).

ومع ذلك، ينمو دور الغاز في الاقتصاد العالمي: فقد ارتفع كلٌّ من الاستهلاك والإنتاج بنسبة 5 في المائة في عام 2018، والذي وصفته شركة "بي پي" بأنه أحد أقوى معدلات النمو لكلٍ من الطلب والإنتاج منذ أكثر من ثلاثين عاماً". وبينما لا يزال النقل عبر خطوط الأنابيب مهيمناً، تستحوذ ناقلات الغاز الطبيعي المُسال على حصة متزايدة من عمليات التصدير. وستصبح الولايات المتحدة على الأرجح ثالث مصدّر للغاز الطبيعي المُسال هذا العام، بعد أستراليا وقطر - ما يذكّر مجدداً أن الاتجاهات يمكن أن تتغيّر بسرعة، لأن أمريكا كانت مستورداً كبيراً للغاز الطبيعي المُسال إلى قبل عشر سنوات.

وتُشجّع واشنطن أيضاً "منتدى غاز شرق المتوسّط" الجديد القائم في القاهرة من أجل التعاون في مشاريع الطاقة، على الرغم من أن لبنان وتركيا لم تُدرجا بعد في المنظمة. وفي غضون ذلك، يقود "مكتب موارد الطاقة " ركيزة الطاقة في "التحالف الاستراتيجي للشرق الأوسط" ("ميسا")، وهو المشروع الذي يسير بخطى بطيئة بقيادة أمريكية لتعزيز الاستقرار الإقليمي.

أخيراً، من المحتمل أن يكون التعاون في مجال الغاز مدرجاً على جدول الأعمال في ورشة العمل الاقتصادية التي تستضيفها البحرين في وقتٍ لاحقٍ من هذا الشهر بهدف تطوير جهود السلام بين إسرائيل وفلسطين التي تبذلها إدارة ترامب. ورغم تصريح "السلطة الفلسطينية" بعدم حضورها، يبدو أن التكامل المتزايد في مجال الطاقة، الذي يعود بالفائدة على الضفة الغربية وغزة، يشكّل عنصراً واضحاً للنقاش، ويشمل التنقيب والإنتاج المشترك للكهرباء. وبشكل أكثر تحديداً، يجب أن يتضمن جدول أعمال البحرين ما يلي:

  • الاستناد إلى البنية التحتية الحالية للغاز التي تربط إسرائيل ومصر والأردن.
  • تطوير مشاريع طاقة مشتركة تعتمد على الغاز.
  • التعاون في مشاريع الطاقة الأخرى (مثل الطاقة الشمسية).
  • دمج الأصول الفلسطينية في مشاريع مشتركة (على سبيل المثال، استغلال حقل الغاز البحري قبالة سواحل غزة؛ والاستفادة بشكل أفضل من محطة الطاقة الموجودة في غزة، المصممة أصلاً لاستخدام الغاز).

وستكرر هذه الجهود الدرس التاريخي المتعلق بتطوير الغاز في شرق البحر المتوسط، وهو: أن التقدم بطيء لكنّ الإنجازات كبيرة، ويمكن تخطي العقبات التي تبدو أنه لا يمكن التغلب عليها عبر بذل جهدٍ دبلوماسي في غاية الدقة مع التحلي بالصبر.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3136

East Mediterranean Energy and Middle East Peace

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

June 13, 2019


The slow but steady progress in developing offshore gas fields is transforming local economies and could underpin U.S. peace plans.

Last week, after a year of negotiations, the government of Cyprus and a consortium led by Texas-based Noble Energy announced agreement on a revised contract to exploit the Aphrodite natural gas field 100 miles south of the island. Development of the field, which partly lies in Israel’s exclusive economic zone, will cost several billion dollars, and the first gas will flow in 2024 at the earliest, probably to Egypt for export to the rest of the world. Total revenues over the field’s projected twenty-year lifespan are estimated at more than $9 billion. The next step in the deal—formal approval by the Cypriot cabinet—seems like a foregone conclusion, but as is so often the case, any energy developments in the East Mediterranean have wider geopolitical angles.

The Israeli claim on Aphrodite can be settled by arbitration, but a much more difficult issue reared its head on June 7, when Turkey announced that Cypriots living in the island’s Turkish-occupied northern zone had rights to a share of the field. The internationally recognized government in Nicosia—which asserts sovereignty over the entire island and grants passports to Turkish Cypriots—has previously acknowledged in principle that Aphrodite’s eventual revenues will be for all Cypriots. However, this principle is complicated by the large number of Turkish settlers on the island, many of whom lack the proven Cypriot heritage required to receive passports and certain other rights. Ankara’s latest statement therefore exacerbates fears that the Turkish navy will harass international exploration and development efforts in contested waters.

Meanwhile, gas supplies that generate two-thirds of Israel’s electricity were stopped briefly last month out of concern that Hamas rocket fire from Gaza might endanger an offshore processing platform. Such incidents are part of the reason why Israel’s second platform—currently being built to serve the about-to-produce Leviathan field—is located much further north and closer to shore, where it can be better protected.

On the positive side, Israel has been using small quantities of gas to test a dormant pipeline on the seabed between Ashkelon and the Sinai city of al-Arish. The line was previously used to pump Egyptian gas to Israel, but it has now been reversed and will soon transport gas from Israel’s offshore fields to Egypt—whether for domestic use or for export once converted to liquefied natural gas at existing LNG plants near Port Said and Alexandria. Reaching final legal agreement on these proposals has been difficult, however, and even when gas flows in quantity beginning later this year, it will have to use a land route vulnerable to terrorist attack by al-Qaeda and Islamic State elements for part of its journey, at least until another expensive offshore pipe extending further west from al-Arish can be agreed and built.

Israel is also looking for companies that can explore its waters for more gas. Although a deadline for bids on nineteen offshore blocks has been pushed back to mid-August, perhaps reflecting a lack of investor interest, Israeli officials are reportedly still hopeful that ExxonMobil will bite. For now, the U.S. company has shown more interest in Cypriot blocks, as have European companies like Total of France and Eni of Italy.

The latter two companies are also interested in exploring Lebanon’s waters, despite the country’s dysfunctional government, broken electricity supply network, and intrusive Iranian influence. They hope to start drilling northwest of Beirut before the end of the year. More contentiously, their consortium, which includes a Russian company, wants to drill in another block that encompasses a sliver of sea contested by Israel. Under UN cover, U.S. diplomats have been encouraging both countries to reach agreement on at least some elements of their decades-long maritime and land border disputes, possibly signaling American corporate interest in exploring Lebanon’s waters.

When it comes to energy deals, however, even a peace treaty does not put an end to public sensitivities about rapprochement with Israel. For instance, Jordan’s security and intelligence links with Jerusalem have strengthened greatly since the two governments signed their treaty in 1994, and Israeli gas has powered Jordanian industrial plants on the Dead Sea for the past two years. Given the consistently poor people-to-people relations between the two nations, however, many Jordanians oppose the prospect of using Leviathan gas for large-scale electricity generation beginning early next year. Amman has partially deflected such anger by calling the supplies “northern gas” or “American gas,” emphasizing Noble’s role in producing it.

Click on map to view a larger version.

The complexities of East Mediterranean energy developments are well illustrated by the above map, declassified by the State Department’s Bureau of Energy Resources (ENR) and obtained by McClatchy. Some officials argue that the area’s underlying geology could help Europe offset or even replace its dependence on Russian gas, but this seems farfetched at the present level of discoveries. Several more giant fields like Leviathan or Egypt’s Zohr would have to be found before this reality changes. The proposed construction of a seabed pipeline to carry gas to Greece and Italy is similarly unrealistic at present. According to the latest BP Statistical Review of World Energy, Israel’s current discoveries amount to just 0.2 percent of global proven gas reserves. Egypt’s are more than five times greater, though still dwarfed by the reserves of the world’s top three producers: Russia (19.8 percent), Iran (16.2 percent), and Qatar (12.5 percent).

Even so, the role of gas is growing in the global economy: both consumption and production were up by over 5 percent in 2018, which BP described as “one of the strongest rates of growth for both demand and output for over thirty years.” And while pipeline delivery still dominates, LNG tankers account for an increasing share of exports. The United States will likely become the number three LNG exporter this year, after Australia and Qatar—another reminder that trends can change rapidly, since America was a significant LNG importer up until ten years ago.

Washington is also encouraging the new Cairo-based East Mediterranean Gas Forum to cooperate on energy projects, though Lebanon and Turkey are not yet included in the organization. Meanwhile, the ENR leads the energy pillar of the Middle East Strategic Alliance (MESA), the slow-moving, American-led project to advance regional stability.

Finally, gas cooperation will likely be on the agenda at the economic workshop Bahrain is hosting later this month to develop the Trump administration’s Israel-Palestinian peace efforts. Although the Palestinian Authority has stated it will not attend, increased energy integration that benefits the West Bank and Gaza seems like an obvious element for discussion, including exploration and joint electricity production. More specifically, the agenda in Bahrain should include:

  • Building on current gas infrastructure joining Israel, Egypt, and Jordan
  • Developing joint gas-fired power projects
  • Cooperating on other power projects (e.g., solar)
  • Integrating Palestinian assets into joint projects (e.g., exploiting the offshore Gaza Marine gas field; better utilizing the existing power station in Gaza, originally built for using gas).

Such efforts would reiterate the historical lesson of East Mediterranean gas development: that progress is slow but achievements are significant, and seemingly insurmountable obstacles can be overcome with patient, meticulous diplomatic effort.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy at The Washington Institute.