أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3203

تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في سوريا بعد الانسحاب الأمريكي

هارون ي. زيلين

متاح أيضاً في English

23 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019


على عكس ما تحمله تصريحات الرئيس ترامب على مدى نصف العام الماضي، فإن تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» لم يُهزم بعد بالكامل. صحيح أن التنظيم ليس قريباً بتاتاً من القدرة التي كان عليها في عام 2015، ولكنه يعيد بناء قوته باطراد ويحاول إخراج الآلاف من مناصريه من مراكز الاعتقال. وسيتيح الفراغ الناتج عن الانسحاب الأمريكي والغزو التركي مجالاً أكبر أمام هذه الجهود، بينما يضاعف المشكلة الأصلية المتمثلة في عدم رغبة الدول في التعامل مع مواطنيها الذين انضموا إلى تنظيم «داعش» وبقوا في سوريا. ومن أجل ألا يتذكر العالم على أن إدارة ترامب هي التي سمحت بعودة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» إلى الظهور وربما شنه هجمات جماعية في أوروبا أو في أي دولة أخرى، على الرئيس الأمريكي وحكومته اتخاذ إجراءات عاجلة لإنقاذ وإحياء العلاقة التي لا تزال قائمة مع «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» - شريك واشنطن في محاربة التنظيم منذ فترة طويلة.

في خطاب وجهه في نيسان/أبريل 2007، أشاد أبو عمر البغدادي، زعيم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق»، سلف تنظيم «داعش»، على حذق تنظيمه في "البقاء" حتى بعد معاناته من نكسات - ما شكّل مصدر الشعار الشهير لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» "باقية". وفي رأيه، سمحت هذه السمة للتنظيم بترسيخ وطأة قدمه في مجتمع معين، واستعادة قوته، والنهوض مراراً وتكراراً للرد على أعدائه. وبالفعل، في حين أدّت "الصحوة" القبائلية السنّية اللاحقة وزيادة عدد القوات الأمريكية إلى مقتله وهزيمة التنظيم التكيتكية في العراق، فقد فهمت واشنطن وحلفاؤها في النهاية أن مثل هذه الانتصارات قد تكون مضللة. فعندما غادرت آخر القوات الأمريكية العراق في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2011، لم يتصوّر الكثيرون أنها ستضطر إلى العودة إلى تلك البلاد بعد أقل من 3 سنوات، عند انبثاق التنظيم مجددَاً تحت اسم «الدولة الإسلامية» واحتلاله مناطق واسعة من العراق وسوريا. ورغم أن الخسائر العسكرية والإقليمية التي تكبّدتها الجماعة مؤخراً هي أوسع نطاقاً بكثير من تلك التي لحقت بها خلال العقد الماضي، إلا أن التجربتين متشابهتان نوعاً ما بالنسبة لأعضائها. وكان التنظيم قد وضع خطة للصمود رغم الخسائر في ذلك الوقت، ولديه الآن خطة أيضاً، وهي: أن يكون صبوراً ونبيهاً ويختار الفرص المناسبة لإعادة تأكيد نفسه.

ولربما تتجسد هذه الذهنية بأفضل صورة في خطاب أدلى به المتحدث الراحل باسم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» أبو محمد العدناني الذي كان يعدّ مناصري التنظيم للصمود في وجه هزيمة تكتيكية أخرى في أيار/مايو 2016 على أقرب تقدير - أي قبل ما يقرب من ثلاث سنوات من فقدان تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» آخر سيطرته على الأراضي في سوريا. وقد قال "النصر هو هزيمة الخصم"، ثم سأل المستمعين، "هل هُزِمنا عندما فقدنا المدن في العراق وكنا في الصحراء دون أي مدينة أو أرض؟ وهل سنُهزَم [إذا فقدنا] الموصل أو سرت أم الرقة؟ بالتأكيد لا! الهزيمة الحقيقية هي فقدان قوة الإرادة والرغبة في القتال". وعلى الرغم من الفوارق المحلية والجيوسياسية بين الحالتين، لا يبدو أن إدارة ترامب ترى الديناميكيات الحالية في سوريا على حقيقتها: تكرار واضح لما حدث بين عامي 2011 و 2014. 

نشاط تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في سوريا منذ سقوط الباغوز

قبل فترة طويلة من خسارة تنظيم «داعش» للأراضي الأخيرة التي كانت تحت سيطرته في الباغوز، سوريا، اتخذ التنظيم تدابير فعالة لتعزيز هيكليته التنظيمية وتمكين نفسه كي يصمد كجماعة سرية إرهابية ومتمردة. وبخلاف ما حصل في الماضي عندما كان سيدير عملياته كمجموعة من "الولايات" داخل بلد معين، فقد سهّل التنظيم عملية صنع القرار وعملياته من خلال دمج كافة "ولاياته" السورية في كيان واحد يعرف باسم "ولاية الشام".  

ومن ناحية أخرى، شن التنظيم مجموعة من الهجمات المتمردة في مختلف الأراضي الخاضعة إما لسيطرة «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» أو نظام الأسد أو شبكة وكلاء إيران. ومن آذار/مارس إلى منتصف تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، يدّعي أنه نفذ مثل هذه الهجمات في عدة محافظات: 321 في دير الزور، 100 في الحسكة، 98 في الرقة، 32 في حمص، 9 في حلب، 8 في درعا، و 3 في دمشق .

وتمشياً مع هذه العمليات، كانت الطليعة الأساسية من النساء الداعمات لتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» تحافظ على نشاط التنظيم داخل المخيمات التي تأوي الأسر التي غادرت الباغوز. وتتركز أبرز هؤلاء النساء الداعمات في الهول، وهو مخيم شمال شرق سوريا يسكنه 68000 نسمة. وهناك، يتمّ فصل الأجانب عن العراقيين والسوريين، وضِمِن هذا الملحق الأجنبي هناك قسم يحمل اسم "جبل الباغوز" حيث سعى أتباع التنظيم المؤمنون جداً بقضيته إلى الحفاظ على تطلعاته بالسيطرة على الأراضي والاستمرار بطرق حكمه الوحشية. وكما هو الحال مع الوحدات السابقة لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» مثل «لواء الخنساء»، تعمل هؤلاء النساء في المقام الأول كعضوات في دوريات الحسبة (أي الشرطة الأخلاقية). كما يديرون محكمة سرية من داخل خيامهم. وأدى هذا الاقتصاص غير القانوني إلى قتل العديد من النساء والأطفال خلال نصف العام الماضي. وفي الوقت نفسه، يقومون بتعليم الأطفال على أمل إنتاج جهاديين في المستقبل.

وما يجعل الوضع في الهول والمخيمات السورية الأخرى أكثر إلحاحاً هو واقع أن الزعيم الحالي لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» أبو بكر البغدادي قد حثّ مقاتليه في منتصف أيلول/سبتمبر على تهريب مناصريه متى كان ذلك ممكناً - وهو سيناريو أصبح أكثر احتمالاً في أعقاب غزو ​​تركيا الأخير عبر الحدود. ومن أجل الدفاع عن مقاتليها وعائلاتها في وجه هذه العملية، أعادت الجماعات الكردية التي تقود «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» توزيع بعض الموارد التي كانت تخصص عادةً لحماية المخيمات. وفي 13 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، أي بعد أيام قليلة من بدء التوغل [التركي]، غادر أكثر من 700 امرأة وطفل أجانب مخيم "عين عيسى" ما أن تمّ سحب الحراس منه؛ وأفادت بعض التقارير عن انضمام ثلاث من أولئك النساء، اللواتي أصلهن من فرنسا، من جديد إلى صفوف العملاء الناشطين لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». ومن المرجح أن يستمر التنظيم في اختبار أمن مرافق الاحتجاز، ليس فقط في مخيمات النساء، ولكن في السجون التي تضم أعضاء من الذكور أيضاً.

ويهدّد سحب الجنود الأمريكيين بدعم سردية تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» التي تسيّر هذه الاتجاهات، مما يعزّز قناعة مناصري الجماعة بأن ما يحدث هو "إرادة إلهية". وحين كان التنظيم يخسر الباغوز في آذار/مارس، أعلن المتحدث باسمه أبو الحسن المهاجر أنه "بمشيئة الله، لا يزال أبناء الخلافة يثبتون أنهم الصخرة الصلبة والراسخة التي ستكسر تحالف الكفار ... سوف يتقهقرون ... بخزي وعار". وقال ذلك في معرض شرحه بأن الخسارة كانت مجرد اختبار من الله للمساعدة على تطهير صفوف التنظيم: "النصر يأتي بالصبر، والراحة تأتي بعد المعاناة ... وبالصبر يكون تحقيق الوعود". إن قرار البيت الأبيض بالانسحاب [من شمال سوريا] لن يعزز هذا التصميم فحسب، بل يساعد أيضاً مجندي تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، الذين يمكنهم الآن الإشارة إلى التطورات الأخيرة على أنها "دليل" على أن الله من ورائهم.   

تجنب أسوأ النتائج

من الصعب التنبؤ بمدى وسرعة عودة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بالنظر إلى الديناميات السريعة التغير على الأرض في شرق سوريا. ومع ذلك، فإن المعضلة الرئيسية واضحة أساساً: في ظل مغادرة القوات الأمريكية لمعظم مواقعها، ومع استمرار «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» في انهماكها بالتوغل التركي، فالسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هو: من سيواجه التمرد الناشط للغاية ويعيد تصميم الحملة التي كان تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» يشنّها منذ أشهر؟ لو كانت تركيا مستعدة للاضطلاع بهذا الدور، لكانت الولايات المتحدة قد ساعدتها على تحقيق ذلك قبل خمس سنوات - لكن بدلاً من ذلك، قررت واشنطن إقامة شراكة مع «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» ذات القيادة الكردية وهو أمر تعتبره أنقرة مرفوضاً. وقد أطلق التوغل التركي الآن أحداثاً متعاقبة تساعد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، مما يشير أيضاً إلى أن أنقرة ليست جادة عندما تتعهد بمواجهة التنظيم.

إذاً ما الدور الذي يمكن أن تلعبه الولايات المتحدة الآن بعد انسحابها؟ من جهة، يجب أن تحاول إنقاذ ما في وسعها من الحملات البرية والجوية التي شنتها ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» عبر العراق والأردن. ويتمثل مبعث قلق أكبر في الموجودين في السجون والمخيمات داخل سوريا، لأنها تضم العديد من الغربيين. يتعيّن على الحكومة الأمريكية بذل المزيد من الجهود لتحديد من فروا من مخيم "عين عيسى"، مع التأكد في الوقت نفسه من عدم معاناة المنشآت الأخرى من أعطال أمنية مشابهة ولا تشهد عمليات فرار جماعية مماثلة.

وتتطلب المهمة الأخيرة حلاً دولياً، والولايات المتحدة وحدها هي القادرة على توفير القيادة اللازمة لإقناع الدول الأوروبية والعربية بضرورة إعادة مواطنيها وعليها أن تعمد إما إلى مقاضاتهم أو إعادة تأهيلهم. ومن شأن هذا الجهد الجماعي أن يقلل من الموارد اللازمة لمواصلة إدارة السجون والمخيمات، وتخفيف الضغط على من يحرسها، ويحدّ من احتمال عودة العناصر الأكثر تطرفاً في تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» من أجل تجديد صفوف الجماعة. وعندها فقط يمكن لإدارة ترامب أن تتراجع عن خطأها القسري بسحب قواتها بطريقة فوضوية بعد أشهر فقط من تحقيق نصر عسكري تاريخي ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية».    

 

هارون ي. زيلين هو زميل "ريتشارد بورو" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3203

The Islamic State in Syria After the U.S. Withdrawal

Aaron Y. Zelin

Also available in العربية

October 23, 2019


Recent U.S. decisions have seemingly ignored the degree to which the group is continuing its insurgent attacks and reorganizing its supporters inside increasingly vulnerable detention facilities.

In contrast to President Trump’s statements over the past half-year, the Islamic State has yet to be defeated outright. True, the group is nowhere near as capable as it was in 2015, but it is steadily rebuilding its capacities and attempting to break thousands of its supporters out of detainment. The vacuum created by the U.S. withdrawal and Turkish invasion will create more space for those efforts, while compounding the original problem of states being unwilling to deal with their citizens who joined IS and remain in Syria. To avoid becoming known as the administration that allowed IS to reemerge and, perhaps, conduct mass-casualty attacks in Europe or elsewhere, President Trump and his cabinet should take urgent action to salvage and mobilize their surviving ties with Washington’s longtime partner against IS, the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF).

PREVIOUS BOUNCE-BACK

In an April 2007 speech, Abu Omar al-Baghdadi, the leader of IS predecessor group the Islamic State of Iraq, extolled his movement’s adeptness at “remaining” even after suffering setbacks—the origin of the famous IS slogan baqiya. In his view, this trait allowed the group to embed itself in a given society, regain strength, and repeatedly resurface to strike back at its enemies. Indeed, while the subsequent Sunni tribal “awakening” and U.S. troop surge would lead to his death and the group’s tactical defeat in Iraq, Washington and its allies eventually learned that such victories could be misleading. When the last American forces left Iraq in December 2011, few imagined they would have to return less than three years later, after the group reemerged as IS and conquered large swaths of Iraq and Syria. Although more recent military and territorial losses are much larger in scale than what IS suffered the previous decade, the two experiences are quite similar for its members. The group had a plan for enduring then, and it has one now as well: to be patient and nimble and pick the right opportunities to reassert itself.

This mindset is perhaps best illustrated in a speech by the late IS spokesman Abu Muhammad al-Adnani, who was preparing the group’s supporters to endure another tactical defeat as early as May 2016—nearly three years before IS lost the last of its territorial control in Syria. “Victory is the defeat of one’s opponent,” he noted, then asked listeners, “Were we defeated when we lost the cities in Iraq and were in the desert without any city or land? And would we be defeated [if we lost] Mosul or Sirte or Raqqa? Certainly not! True defeat is the loss of willpower and desire to fight.” Notwithstanding local and geopolitical differences between the two situations, the Trump administration does not appear to see current dynamics in Syria for what they are: an apparent replay of what occurred between 2011 and 2014.

ISLAMIC STATE ACTIVITY IN SYRIA SINCE THE FALL OF BAGHUZ

Well before losing its final sliver of territory in Baghuz, Syria, this March, IS took active measures to consolidate its organizational structure and position itself to survive as an underground terrorist and insurgent group. Unlike in the past when it would operate as a series of wilayat (provinces) within a particular country, IS has streamlined its decisionmaking and operations by melding all of its Syrian “provinces” into a single entity, Wilayat al-Sham.

Meanwhile, the group has conducted a rash of insurgent attacks in various territories controlled by either the SDF, the Assad regime, or Iran’s proxy network. From March through mid-October, it claims to have carried out such strikes in multiple provinces: 321 in Deir al-Zour, 100 in Hasaka, 98 in Raqqa, 32 in Homs, 9 in Aleppo, 8 in Deraa, and 3 in Damascus.

In line with these operations, a core vanguard of female IS supporters have been keeping the movement alive within camps housing the families who left Baghuz. The most notable of these supporters can be found at al-Hawl, a camp in northeast Syria with 68,000 residents. There, foreigners are separated from Iraqis and Syrians, and within this foreign annex is a section called “Jabal al-Baghuz,” where true believers have sought to preserve the group’s territorial aspirations and brutal methods of governance. As with past IS female institutions like the Khansa Brigade, these women act primarily as a hisba (moral policing) force. They also run a secret court from within their tents. This vigilantism has led to the killing of many women and children over the past half year. At the same time, they are educating children in the hope of producing future jihadists.

What makes the situation at al-Hawl and other Syrian camps so pressing is the fact that current IS leader Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi exhorted his fighters in mid-September to break supporters out whenever possible—a scenario that has become much more likely in the aftermath of Turkey’s recent cross-border incursion. To defend their fighters and families against this operation, the Kurdish groups that lead the SDF have reallocated some resources that would normally be dedicated to guarding the camps. On October 13, just days after the incursion began, more than 700 foreign women and children left the Ain Issa camp once its guards were withdrawn; three of these women, originally from France, have reportedly rejoined the ranks of active IS operatives. The group will likely keep testing the security of detention facilities, not only women’s camps, but also prisons holding male members.

The U.S. troop removal threatens to bolster the IS narrative driving these trends, further convincing the group’s supporters that what is happening is “divine will.” When IS was losing Baghuz in March, spokesman Abu al-Hasan al-Muhajir declared, “By God’s grace, the sons of the Caliphate continue to prove that they are the firm and solid rock on which will break the alliance of infidels...They will retreat...in disgrace and shame.” He said this in the context of explaining that the loss was just a test from God to help purify the group’s ranks: “Victory comes with patience, comfort comes with suffering...With patience comes certainty in the promise.” The White House’s withdrawal decision will not only strengthen this resolve, but also help IS recruiters, who can now point to recent developments as “proof” that God is behind them.

AVOIDING THE WORST OUTCOMES

The precise scope and speed of the IS resurgence is difficult to predict given the rapidly changing dynamics on the ground in east Syria. Yet the chief dilemma is already clear: with American troops having left most of their positions, and the SDF still preoccupied with Turkey’s incursion, who exactly will be countering the very active insurgency and rebuilding campaign IS has been conducting for months now? If Turkey was willing to assume that role, the United States would have helped it do so five years ago—instead, Washington decided to create a partnership with the Kurdish-led SDF that Ankara finds so objectionable. The Turkish incursion has now has set off cascading events that are helping IS, further indicating that Ankara is not serious when it pledges it will counter the group.

So what role can the United States play now that it has evacuated? For one thing, it should attempt to salvage what it can of the ground and air campaigns it conducted against IS via Iraq and Jordan. An even bigger concern is the prison and camp populations inside Syria, since they include many Westerners. The U.S. government should do more to identify those who fled the Ain Issa camp, while also making sure that other facilities do not suffer similar security breakdowns and mass breakouts.

The latter task requires an international solution, and only the United States can provide the leadership needed to convince European and Arab countries that they must repatriate their citizens and either prosecute or rehabilitate them. Such collective effort would lessen the resources needed to continue running the prisons and camps, ease the pressure on those guarding them, and limit the potential for the most extreme IS elements to replenish the group’s ranks. Only then can the Trump administration rally back from its unforced error of withdrawing troops in chaotic fashion just months after achieving a landmark military victory against IS.

Aaron Zelin is the Richard Borow Fellow at The Washington Institute.