أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2089

إرادة الجمهورية الإسلامية في البقاء: المقاومة النووية المحتملة، والثورة الاجتماعية غير المحتملة

سعيد جولكار و مهدي خلجي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

12 حزيران/يونيو 2013


"في 7 حزيران/يونيو 2013، خاطب سعيد جولكار ومهدي خلجي منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. والسيد جولكار هو زميل في "مركز روبرتا بافيت للدراسات الدولية والمقارنة" في جامعة نورث وسترن. والسيد خلجي هو زميل أقدم في المعهد ومنتج سابق في "هيئة الاذاعة البريطانية" وخدمة الأخبار الفارسية التابعة للحكومة الأمريكية. وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهما؛ بالإمكان متابعة كلمة السيد خلجي بأكملها عبر شريط الفيديو أعلاه."

 

سعيد جولكار

تواجه النظم غير الديمقراطية بصفة عامة ثلاثة تهديدات أساسية تمثل خطراً على بقائها وهي: التهديدات من أعلى (الانقلابات)، ومن أدنى (الانتفاضات الشعبية)، ومن الخارج (التدخل الأجنبي). لقد نجحت جمهورية إيران الإسلامية في البقاء على ما يزيد عن ثلاثة عقود وكان الفضل في ذلك يرجع في جزء كبير منه إلى قدرتها على مواجهة كل من هذه التهديدات.

إن الاستراتيجية الأكثر فاعلية التي ينتهجها النظام لتحييد أي انقلابات محتملة هي موازنة القوة العسكرية من خلال هيكل متوازٍ. فلقد عمل تأسيس "فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي" الإيراني في عام 1980 على حماية القيادة ضد أي تهديد من الجيش النظامي. وبعد انتهاء الحرب بين إيران والعراق في نهاية الثمانينات، أحكم النظام سيطرته على الجيش والأجهزة الأمنية من خلال تعزيز ثلاثة هياكل متوازية للقيادة: "مركز القيادة العامة للقوات المسلحة"، "وممثلي المرشد الأعلى"، وجهاز مكافحة التجسس.

واليوم تضرب جذور الهيكلين الأخيرين بعمق داخل الدولة، حيث هناك العديد من الأفراد من كل منهما مدمجين في وحدات صغيرة عبر كافة فروع القوات المسلحة والشرطة. ويعمل كل من الهياكل الثلاثة كموازن للهيكل الآخر. ويكون ممثلو المرشد الأعلى عادة من الملالي، ويشرف الضباط من الجيش النظامي على جهاز مكافحة التجسس، لذا فإن كليهما يعمل كثقل موازنة ضد "فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي" النخبوي. وفي غضون ذلك، يكون "مركز القيادة العامة للقوات المسلحة" مسؤولاً أمام المرشد الأعلى من خلال رئيس مكتبه العسكري، المنحدر من قوات "الباسيج" شبه العسكرية. ومن خلال هذه الآليات، لا يزال آية الله علي خامنئي يحظى باليد العليا على "فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي".

كما يستخدم النظام حوافز لمنع الانقلابات. ومن خلال إشراك أفراد الأمن في المشاريع التجارية وغيرها من الشؤون الاقتصادية، فإنه يحد من رغبتهم في القيام بانقلاب عسكري.

وفي سبيل مواجهة تهديد الانتفاضات الشعبية، قام النظام بتطبيق استراتيجية لتنظيم وحشد الأنصار مع إرباك خصومه وتشتيتهم في وقت واحد. ومن خلال شبكة "الباسيج" وغيرها، لا تحشد طهران أنصارها الأساسيين (النشطين والمحتملين) فحسب، بل تستوعب الناس وتجعلهم على الحياد بين المعارضة والموالاة من خلال إتاحة مزايا ملموسة لهم. وبمجرد انضمامهم إلى شبكات النظام تقوم آلة الدعاية بدفعهم نحو استيعاب الأيديولوجيات الإسلامية وإثنائهم عن معارضة الحكومة.

وفي سبيل مواجهة التهديدات الخارجية، وسعت الجمهورية الإسلامية وجودها عبر أنحاء العالم، لا سيما في الفناء الخلفي لأعدائها المفترضين، الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل. ويتضمن ذلك الحفاظ على نفوذها في سوريا ولبنان وكوبا وفنزويلا وبوليفيا. ومن أجل تشكيل محور المقاومة هذا، يسعى النظام إلى تحدي أمريكا وإسرائيل مع ردعهما في الوقت ذاته عن مهاجمة إيران. ويطلق النظام على هذه الاستراتيجية "صعود المقاومة". وفي أعقاب الصراعات المسلحة، عادة ما تحاول الحكومات الغربية ترسيخ عملية لنزع سلاح الجماعات العسكرية وتسريحها وإعادة دمجها في المجتمع. أما هدف إيران فهو النقيض تماماً -- فهي تحاول دمج الناس وحشدهم وتسليحهم.

ومن غير المرجح أن يتغير موقف إيران في المستقبل القريب، لكن هناك مساحة للتفاؤل على المدى البعيد. ورغم تطرف قادتها، إلا أن البلاد هي أيضاً موطن لبعض النخب السياسية الأكثر انفتاحاً في المنطقة. فدعم الشعب الإيراني للمبادئ الليبرالية، والعدد الكبير من المثقفين في البلاد، وعدم التعاطف واسع النطاق مع أسلمة المجتمع كل ذلك يبشر بالخير في المستقبل -- إلا أن ذلك لن يحدث في الوقت الذي يستمر خامنئي في سدة الحكم.

 

مهدي خلجي

تعاظم دور آية الله خامنئي في الاقتصاد الإيراني والسياسة الخارجية للبلاد بشكل حاد على مر السنين. فعندما تم تعيينه مرشداً أعلى في عام 1989، كان سياسياً ضعيفاً إلى حد ما -- وفي الواقع أن ذلك كان السبب الرئيسي وراء تعيينه. فقد كانت النخبة في الجمهورية الإسلامية آنذاك تؤمن بأنه لا يمكن إيجاد بديل بحجم وقامة روح الله الخميني الراحل، وبالتالي فإن منصب المرشد الأعلى سيصبح منصباً شكلياً. وفي ظل هذا التفكير، سيصبح الرئيس أعلى سلطة في النظام -- وفي الواقع أن الرئيس أكبر هاشمي رفسنجاني كان الشخصية الأكثر قوة في إيران لدى تعيين خامنئي. ففي مذكراته لعام 1989، روى رفسنجاني كيف أن خامنئي جاء إليه في وقت سابق من ذلك العام يشكو إليه من أن دوره الجديد كمرشد أعلى هو "رتيب وممل للغاية"، الأمر الذي يبرز مدى ضعف المنصب آنذاك مقارنة بالرئاسة.

وفي أعقاب الحرب بين إيران والعراق، أراد مسؤولو "فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي" أن يلعبوا دوراً في المجتمع السياسي في البلاد. فقد وافق خامنئي ورفسنجاني على السماح بأن يصبح "الحرس الثوري" أكثر مشاركة في الاقتصاد الإيراني، وجعل المرشد الأعلى يشرف على العملية بما يتماشى مع دوره الدستوري كرئيس لـ "فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي". وبمرور الوقت، أعاد خامنئي تشكيل "الحرس الثوري" ليصبح الكيان الأكثر قوة في البلاد. وفي غضون ذلك، قرر رفسنجاني التركيز على الوضع الاقتصادي، وعدم ترك أمر إدارة "الحرس الثوري" فقط إلى المرشد الأعلى، بل أيضاً إدارة أجهزة الاستخبارات والهيئة القضائية والتلفزيون والمنافذ الإذاعية التابعة للدولة. ومن خلال سيطرة خامنئي على الأسلحة والسجون والدعاية، تمكن من إضعاف جميع الفاعلين السياسيين الآخرين. وأثناء فترة ولاية رفسنجاني الثانية أصبح خامنئي المرجعية النهائية حول كافة القضايا الكبرى، حيث كان الرئيس يراقب القطاعات التي كان المرشد الأعلى قد رسخ فيها نفوذه بالفعل. وقد خضع الرؤساء اللاحقون لسلطة خامنئي منذ لحظة توليهم السلطة، رغم انتخابهم بشعبية كبيرة.

واليوم أصبح خامنئي يؤمن بقوة أن الغرب لم يعترف مطلقاً بشرعية الجمهورية الإسلامية. وهو يرى أن العداء بين إيران والولايات المتحدة عداء حقيقي ومتأصل وقائم منذ مولد الجمهورية الإسلامية، كما يتضح من العقوبات الأمريكية القائمة منذ فترة طويلة. ويعتقد أيضاً أن الحرب بين إيران والعراق لم تكن صراعاً مع بغداد إلى حد كبير، بل مع الغرب.

وفيما يتعلق بالأزمة الراهنة مع المجتمع الدولي، فإن أكثر ما يخيف خامنئي هو الغزو الثقافي الغربي وذلك يفوق انزعاجه من أي عقوبات اقتصادية. وهو مهووس بفكرة أن البيت الأبيض هو دائم التنسيق مع هوليوود وغوغل وآپل للوصول إلى قلوب وعقول الإيرانيين. وحقيقة منح جائزة أوسكار لأفضل فيلم لهذا العام إلى فيلم " آرغو " وقيام السيدة الأولى ميشيل أوباما بتقديم تلك الجائزة تعزز إيمان خامنئي بأن الرئيس أوباما نفسه قد كَلف وضع مخطط تفصيلي لزعزعة استقرار الجمهورية الإسلامية. وهذا يعني أن الغرب قد أخفق في تقدير قوة الفكرة والأثر الذي يمكن أن تحدثه القوة الناعمة على النظام الإيراني.

وأخيراً، فإن رفض خامنئي الكامل للتسوية -- سواءً على النطاق الدولي أم في الداخل -- يضعف سمعة النظام بين الإيرانيين حتى في الوقت الذي يساعد فيه ذلك المرشد الأعلى على بسط نفوذه. ففي عام 2009 على سبيل المثال، عرض المرشح الإصلاحي الرائد مير حسين موسوي عدم الترشح للرئاسة مرة أخرى إذا وافق خامنئي على إعادة فرز الأصوات في الانتخابات المثيرة للجدل في ذلك العام. وبدلاً من الموافقة على طلبه، أصر المرشد الأعلى بأن مرشحه هو الذي فاز، ورفض عرض موسوي، بل وضعه في وقت لاحق رهن الإقامة الجبرية في المنزل لفترة طويلة لا تزال مستمرة حتى اليوم. إن سياسة عدم التنازل هذه تمثل خطورة على شرعية حكم خامنئي بل وشرعية النظام نفسه. وفي خطوة مماثلة، لم يتردد خامنئي في حرمان رفسنجاني من الترشح للانتخابات الرئاسية لهذا العام رغم الشعبية الكبيرة التي يحظى بها الأخير.

ويمتد موقف عدم التنازل هذا ليشمل أيضاً المعضلة النووية. فأثناء مناظرة رئاسية أجريت مؤخراً، انتقد المفاوض النووي الحالي سعيد جليلي، رئيس المفاوضين السابق في عهد الرئيس محمد خاتمي -- حسن روحاني لعدم إبدائه موقف قوي حيال هذه المسألة. وقد أكد روحاني أنه خلال مدته في المنصب، تمكن برنامج إيران النووي من تحقيق تقدم دون إثارة مخاطر صدور قرارات من الأمم المتحدة ضد النظام. بيد أن جليلي قال إن روحاني تجنب العقوبات على حساب إيقاف تخصيب اليورانيوم وعجز عن المقاومة. وهذا التحول من -- سياسة نووية أقل "مقاومة" إلى نهج عدم التنازل -- يتزامن بشكل مباشر مع توطيد سلطة خامنئي بمرور الوقت. ولو أنه ظل في السلطة أو نجح في بسط نفوذه بشكل أكبر خلال السنوات المقبلة، فسوف يستمر جانب المقاومة باعتباره الركيزة الأساسية لعملية صنع القرارات من جانب خامنئي حيال كافة السياسات، مما يترتب عليه عدم الاكتراث مطلقاً إلى التوصل لأي نوع من حلول الوسط.

 

أعد هذا الملخص المقرر غويف روزين.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2089

The Islamic Republic's Will to Survive: Likely Nuclear Resistance, Unlikely Social Revolt

Saeid Golkar and Mehdi Khalaji

Also available in العربية

June 12, 2013


On June 7, 2013, Saeid Golkar and Mehdi Khalaji addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Mr. Golkar is a fellow at the Roberta Buffett Center for International and Comparative Studies at Northwestern University and author of the new Institute report The Islamic Republic's Art of Survival. Mr. Khalaji is a senior fellow at the Institute and a former producer for the BBC and the U.S. government's Persian news service. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks; video of Mr. Khalaji's full remarks is available above.

SAEID GOLKAR

In general, nondemocratic regimes face three basic threats to their survival: threats from above (coups), from below (popular uprisings), and from abroad (foreign intervention). The Islamic Republic of Iran has persisted for over three decades largely because of its ability to counter each of these threats.

The regime's most effective strategy for neutralizing potential coups was to balance military power through a parallel structure. The establishment of the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) in 1980 served to safeguard the leadership against any threat from the regular army. And after the Iran-Iraq War ended in the late 1980s, the regime solidified its grip on the military and security services by reinforcing three parallel command structures: the Armed Forces General Command Headquarters (AFGCH), the "Representatives of the Supreme Leader," and the counterintelligence apparatus.

Today, the latter two structures reach down deep, with numerous personnel from each embedded in small units throughout the armed forces and police. And all three structures act as checks on one another. The Supreme Leader's representatives are typically clerics, and officials from the regular army oversee the counterintelligence apparatus, so both counterbalance the elite IRGC. Meanwhile, the AFGCH reports to the Supreme Leader through the head of his military office, who hails from the Basij paramilitary. Through these mechanisms, Ayatollah Ali Khamenei continues to hold the upper hand over the IRGC.

The regime also uses incentives to prevent coups. By involving security personnel in business ventures and other economic affairs, it reduces their desire for military takeover.

To counter the threat of popular uprisings, the regime has implemented a strategy of organizing and mobilizing supporters while simultaneously disorganizing and demobilizing opponents. Through the Basij and other networks, Tehran not only rallies its core followers (active and potential), it also co-opts people in the gray area between opposition and loyalism by offering them tangible benefits. Once they join regime networks, the propaganda machine pushes them to internalize Islamic ideologies and dissuades them from opposing the government.

To counter external threats, the Islamic Republic has expanded its presence throughout the world, especially in the backyard of its perceived enemies, the United States and Israel. This includes maintaining influence in Syria, Lebanon, Cuba, Venezuela, and Bolivia. In shaping this resistance axis, the regime seeks to challenge America and Israel while also deterring them from attacking Iran. The regime calls this strategy "the rise of resistance" (khizesh-e moqavemat). In the wake of armed conflicts, Western governments typically try to establish a process for disarming, demobilizing, and reintegrating militant groups. Tehran's goal is the exact opposite -- it tries to integrate, mobilize, and arm the people.

Iran's situation is unlikely to change in the near future, but there is room for optimism in the longer term. Despite the radicalism of its leaders, the country is also home to some of the region's most open-minded political elite. The Iranian people's support for liberal ideals, the country's large number of educated people, and the pervasive antipathy toward Islamization of society all bode well for the future -- but not while Khamenei remains in power.

MEHDI KHALAJI

Ayatollah Khamenei's role in Iran's economy and foreign policy has increased sharply over the years. When he was appointed Supreme Leader in 1989, he was a fairly weak politician -- in fact, this is the main reason he was appointed. At the time, the Islamic Republic's elite believed that someone of the late Ruhollah Khomeini's caliber could not be replaced, and that the Supreme Leader would therefore become more of a ceremonial position. Under that line of thinking, the president would become the regime's top figure -- indeed, when Khamenei was appointed, President Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani was the most powerful person in Iran. In his 1989 memoirs, Rafsanjani recounted how Khamenei had come to him earlier that year complaining that his new role as Supreme Leader was "too monotonous and boring," highlighting how weak the post was in comparison to the presidency at the time.

After the Iran-Iraq War, IRGC officials wanted to play a role in the country's political society. Khamenei and Rafsanjani agreed to allow the Guards to become more involved in Iran's economy, and to have the Supreme Leader oversee this process in line with his constitutional role as head of the IRGC. Over time, Khamenei restructured the Guards into the most powerful entity in the country. Meanwhile, Rafsanjani decided to focus on the economic situation, leaving the Supreme Leader to manage not only the IRGC, but also the intelligence apparatus, the judiciary, and the state's television and radio outlets. With control over the guns, the prisons, and the propaganda, Khamenei was able to weaken all other political actors. Then, during Rafsanjani's second term, Khamenei became the final authority on all major issues, with the president overseeing sectors in which the Supreme Leader had already established deep personal influence. Subsequent presidents were under Khamenei's authority from the moment they took office, despite being popularly elected.

Today, Khamenei firmly believes that the West has never recognized the Islamic Republic's legitimacy. In his view, the animosity between Iran and the United States is genuine and has existed since the Islamic Republic's inception, as evidenced by longstanding U.S. sanctions. He also believes that the Iran-Iraq War was a conflict not so much with Baghdad, but with the West.

As for the current impasse with the international community, Khamenei is far more frightened by the prospect of Western cultural invasion than any economic sanctions. He is obsessed with the idea that the White House is in constant coordination with Hollywood, Google, and Apple to infiltrate the hearts and minds of Iranians. The fact that this year's Academy Award for Best Picture was given to Argo and presented by First Lady Michelle Obama reinforced Khamenei's belief that President Obama himself had commissioned an elaborate scheme to destabilize the Islamic Republic. In a sense, then, the West has underestimated the power of idea and the effect that soft power can have on the Iranian regime.

Finally, Khamenei's utter rejection of compromise -- whether internationally or at home -- is eroding the regime's reputation among Iranians even as it enables the Supreme Leader to increase his control. In 2009, for example, leading reformist candidate Mir Hossein Mousavi offered not to run for president again if Khamenei agreed to a recount of the votes in that year's controversial election. Instead, the Supreme Leader insisted that his own candidate had won, rejected Mousavi's offer, and later placed him under long-term house arrest that continues today. This no-compromise policy risked the legitimacy of both Khamenei's rule and the regime itself. In a similar move, Khamenei did not hesitate to disqualify Rafsanjani from this year's presidential election despite the latter's popularity.

The no-compromise stance extends to the nuclear impasse as well. During a recent presidential debate, current nuclear negotiator Saeed Jalili criticized Hassan Rouhani, former head negotiator under President Muhammad Khatami, for not standing firm on the issue. Rouhani asserted that under his tenure, Iran's nuclear program was able to make progress without engendering UN resolutions against the regime. Yet Jalili argued that Rouhani had avoided sanctions at the cost of suspending uranium enrichment and failing to resist. This transition -- from a less "resistant" nuclear policy to a no-compromise approach -- directly coincides with the consolidation of Khamenei's power over time. If he maintains or increases his power in the coming years, the resistant aspect will persist as the main basis for Khamenei's decisionmaking on all policies, resulting in complete disregard for any sort of compromise.

This rapporteur's summary was prepared by Guive Rosen.