أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3297

الخط الأحمر الباهت: كيف يجب على الغرب الرد على تقرير الأسلحة الكيميائية في سوريا

توبياس شنايدر و تيريزا لوتكيفند

متاح أيضاً في English

13 نيسان/أبريل 2020


للمرة الأولى منذ بدء الحرب السورية، نَسبت "منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية" ثلاثة هجمات كيميائية مباشرةً إلى قوات بشار الأسد. وأكد مجدداً التقرير الصادر في 8 نيسان/أبريل عن "فريق التحقيق وتحديد الهوية" المُنشأ حديثاً أن النظام السوري، رغم تعهّده بنزع أسلحته الكيميائية، استمر باستخدامها - بما في ذلك السارين - طوال فترة الصراع. وتوفر النتائج النهائية فرصة للولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا وفرنسا لمراجعة أوجه القصور في سياساتها، والتعبير بوضوح عن التزامات "الخط الأحمر" فيما يتعلق باستخدام الأسلحة الكيمياوية في سوريا، وكذلك استخدام جميع الأدوات المتاحة لزيادة عزلة النظام ومؤيديه ومحاسبتهم.

ما الذي يقوله التقرير؟

يلقي تقرير "فريق التحقيق وتحديد الهوية" باللوم مباشرة على الجيش السوري حول ثلاث هجمات بالأسلحة الكيمياوية وقعت خلال فترة أسبوع واحد في أواخر آذار/مارس 2017. وتقدم النتائج دليلاً على أن النظام لم يقم بإخفاء جزء من مخزونه من الأسلحة الكيماوية خلال عملية نزع السلاح الدولية (2013-2014) فحسب، بل استمر في استخدام هذه الأسلحة المحظورة مع الإفلات من العقاب أيضاً. وهذه هي المرة الأولى التي تنضم فيها "منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية"، المكلفة بالإشراف على "معاهدة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية" وتنفيذها، إلى اللعبة المشحونة دبلوماسياً، والمتعلقة بتحميل المسؤولية.

وعلى الرغم من أن التقرير شاملٌ وقاطع، إلا أنه من غير المرجح أن يؤثّر على المسار الاستراتيجي للصراع - أو حتى ملف الأسلحة الكيمياوية. وكانت إدانة النظام راسخة من قبل. وفي الواقع، يُظهر البحث الذي قام به كاتِبيْ هذا المقال أن قوات النظام السوري استخدمت الأسلحة الكيميائية أكثر من 340 مرة طوال فترة الحرب، مع وقوع أكثر من 90 بالمائة من هذه الحوادث في أعقاب الضوضاء المتعلقة بالخط الأحمر الأمريكي والتي أعقبت الهجمات القاتلة في 21 آب/أغسطس 2013، وعملية نزع السلاح اللاحقة.

وكما يتضح من التقرير، وكذلك من التقارير والإفصاح من قبل وسائل الإعلام، أن بريطانيا وفرنسا والولايات المتحدة ودول أخرى كانت على دراية جيدة بمخزون سوريا المستمر من الأسلحة الكيميائية والهجمات المستمرة، لكنها تركت الأمر يتبدّد من أجل تجنب الانجرار بصورة أكثر نحو الحرب. وفي الواقع، اكتشفت واشنطن وشركاؤها استخدام الأسلحة الكيميائية منذ فترة غير بعيدة تعود إلى أيار/مايو 2019، ولكنها ارتأت عدم اتخاذ أي تدابير بهذا الشأن بالرغم من الجحيم الذي كانت تتوعد به آنذاك.

ومن هذا المنطلق، يجب تفسير نتائج "فريق التحقيق وتحديد الهوية" على أنها إدانة أخرى للسياسة الغربية التي لم تبالِ لسنوات باحتواء أسوأ التجاوزات في الحملة العسكرية السورية. ووقعت الهجمات الثلاثة التي تم التحقيق فيها قبل أيام فقط من هجوم الرابع من نيسان/أبريل عام 2017، الذي أسفر عن سقوط عدد كبير من الضحايا في خان شيخون، والذين أثارت صورهم غضباً عالمياً، مما أسفر في النهاية عن رد عسكري أمريكي. ويشير ذلك إلى أنه فيما يتعلق بالسياسة الأمريكية، لم يكن الخط الأحمر الحقيقي في سوريا يتعلق باستخدام الأسلحة الكيميائية على هذا النحو - الذي لم يتوقف طوال الحرب - بل حول فقدان ماء الوجه الذي قد ينتج عن عدم الرد على حدث بارز بشكل خاص.

التداعيات والردود العسكرية

لقد فشلت الولايات المتحدة والقوى الأوروبية مراراً وتكراراً في تقدير حجم التأثيرات الثانوية المترتبة عن الاستراتيجية الحربية للنظام السوري. فالاستخدام الفعال والمنخفض التكلفة للأسلحة الكيميائية فعلياً في سوريا لا يسيء للمعايير الدولية فحسب، بل قد يوحي أيضاً للأنظمة الأخرى المنخرطة في الحروب والجهات الفاعلة غير الحكومية بالاقتداء بنهج الأسد، كما فعل تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» مراراً وتكراراً.

طوال سنوات، اعتبر المنظّرون عن أسلحة الدمار الشامل أنّ الأسلحة الكيميائية - أو ما يُسمّى "نووي الفقراء" - قد فقدت معظم فائدتها في ساحة المعركة. ومع ذلك، يُظهر بحث الكاتِبيْن وجود فائدة تكتيكية واستراتيجية حتى في العوامل التي يتدنى معدل خطورتها المميتة مثل الكلور، وهي فائدة تطغى على أي عقاب دولي قد يترتّب عنها. وقد أثبتت الأسلحة الكيميائية، منذ استخدامها للمرة الأولى في أواخر عام 2012، أنها عنصر صغير بل أساسي في الاستراتيجية الحربية لنظام الأسد، والتي تدور حول حملات عقاب المدنيين وتشريدهم. وتتغلغل العوامل الكيميائية داخل الخنادق والأنفاق والملاجئ، وتكمّل تأثيرات القصف التقليدي، ولا تترك للسكان المدنيين أي خيار سوى ترك المناطق التي تسيطر عليها المعارضة بينما تُحرّم المتمردين من الشرعية الشعبية والموارد. وبالفعل، يظهر تقرير "فريق التحقيق وتحديد الهوية" كيفية تداخل الحملات التقليدية والكيميائية للجيش السوري على المستوى العملياتي في تشكيلات الخطوط الأمامية الرئيسية.

ولهذا السبب، فإن أي رد عسكري على استخدام الأسلحة الكيمياوية يجب ألا يستهدف مرافق الإنتاج والتخزين فحسب، بل الوحدات السورية المسؤولة عن تنفيذ الهجمات أيضاً. وقد ضمّت هذه الوحدات حتى الآن "الفرقة الجوية الثانية والعشرون"، و"الفرقة المدرعة الرابعة"، و "قوات النمر" وما يرتبط بها من "اللواء 63" مروحيات. وبالإضافة إلى قدرة الضربات العقابية على ردع الاستخدام المستقبلي للأسلحة المحظورة، بإمكانها أيضاً خدمة الهدف الأوسع المتمثل في إيقاف حملة العنف الجماعي والتهجير السورية - دون الدخول في المنحدر الزلق المتمثل بتغيير النظام. وكان هذا صحيحاً بالنسبة لأي هجوم منذ أن أعلنت واشنطن عن خطها الأحمر في عام 2012، وحتى آخر هجوم مسجل بالقرب من بلدة "كباني" في أيار/مايو الماضي، والذي كان سيوفر فرصة مبكرة لردع أحدث هجوم للنظام على محافظة إدلب . وقد أدت تلك الحملة المستمرة منذ ذلك الحين إلى تشريد أكثر من مليون مدني وتُهدد بخلق أزمة لاجئين أخرى لأوروبا - وتمت قيادتها من قبل نفس تلك الوحدات المحددة في تقرير "فريق التحقيق وتحديد الهوية" وبحوث الكاتِبيْن على أنها مسؤولة عن هجمات الأسلحة الكيمياوية.

 

إن نسبة التكلفة إلى الفائدة للضربات هي أكثر مواتاة حالياً لأن الافتراضات التي طال أمدها حول الخطر الكامن في العمل العسكري في سوريا قد أثبتت خطأها مراراً وتكراراً. وفي مراحل مختلفة، هاجمت إسرائيل وتركيا والولايات المتحدة مواقع تطوير الأسلحة الكيميائية ومواقع النظام الأخرى دون تدخل روسي مباشر.

وإلى جانب العمل العسكري، لدى الدول الغربية عدد من الوسائل الدبلوماسية والقضائية تحت تصرفها. على سبيل المثال، يمكنها استخدام نتائج "فريق التحقيق وتحديد الهوية" لبناء قضية قوية في "المجلس التنفيذي" لـ "منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية" و"مؤتمر الدولة الطرف" لإصدار عقوبات ضد النظام، وكذلك حرمانه من الشرعية التي تمنحها العضوية غير المؤهلة في المنظمة. يجب استخدام النتائج أيضاً لحشد الدول الموقعة التي كانت تقف في السابق على السياج حول الملف السوري لـ "الأسلحة الكيميائية".

لقد كان الأوروبيون على وجه الخصوص يبحثون عن طرق لمواصلة تعاملهم مع السوريين، وفي الوقت نفسه إقصاء أوساط الأسد. وعلى الرغم من النجاحات التي حققها النظام في ساحة المعركة، إلا أن أكثر من ثلث سكان سوريا ما قبل الحرب ما زالوا نازحين في أماكن خارجة عن سيطرته، في حين أن حكم النظام في الداخل يبدو مهتزاً. لذلك، فإن السياسة المتمحورة حول السوريين أينما كانوا، وليسوا المتواجدين داخل سوريا، قد تفتح المجال اللازم لرسم مستقبل البلاد وتقليل خطر انتشار الراديكالية في صفوف شرائح كبيرة من المدنيين الذين تعرّضوا لمعاملة وحشية ويشعرون أن المجتمع الدولي قد تخلّى عنهم. وبالتالي، تصبح المساءلة، قبل كل شيء بالنسبة لأبشع الجرائم، والبحث عن الحقيقة أدوات سياسية أساسية للدول الأوروبية التي تتطلع إلى تشكيل هيئة سياسية سورية مستقبلية. وإلا فإن تكتيك النظام المؤكد للعنف غير المقيد قد ينجح في إخضاع باقي السكان للإذعان.

الخاتمة

بناءً على نتائج فريق التحقيق وتحديد الهوية"، يجب على بريطانيا وفرنسا ودول أخرى أن تدعو إلى معاقبة النظام السوري وتعليق امتيازاته كعضو كامل العضوية في "منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية" بما يتماشى مع بند "التدابير الجماعية" بموجب المادة الثانية عشرة من "اتفاقية الأسلحة الكيميائية". وعلى هذه الدول أيضاً عرض هذه المسألة على "مجلس الأمن الدولي" و"الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة"، حيث من المحتمل أن تواجه "فيتو" روسي آخر. وإذا كان من المستحيل تحقيق التدابير الجماعية (وهو أمر مُرجّح)، فيجب على السلطات الوطنية إصدار عقوبات إضافية خاصة بها. وفي كلتا الحالتين، ستعطي المساعدة الأمريكية وزناً كبيراً للإجراءات الأوروبية.

يجب على الحكومات نفسها، بالتنسيق مع الشركاء الإقليميين مثل تركيا وإسرائيل، أن تكرر خطوطها الحمراء وتوضحها فيما يتعلق باستخدام الأسلحة الكيميائية في سوريا وتتابعها بسرعة وثبات في حال حدوث أي انتهاكات. وعند اختيار أهداف الضربات التأديبية، يجب على المسؤولين النظر في السياق الأوسع نطاقاً للحرب، وضرب القوات الجوية السورية وتشكيلات الخطوط الأمامية المسؤولة عن الهجمات بالإضافة إلى مرافق الإنتاج والتخزين.

يجب على الحكومات أن تكثّف دعمها لإمكانيات الرد والحد من المخاطر على الأرض في شمال غرب سوريا من خلال مساعدة المبادرات الإنسانية المحلية والمجتمع المدني. وتشمل الإجراءات المفيدة إرسال معدات واقية وإمدادات طبية إلى الدفاع المدني السوري (المعروف أيضاً بـ "الخوذ البيضاء") والجمعيات الخيرية الطبية العاملة على الأرض؛ وتوفير الدراية الفنية بشأن جمع الأدلة وحفظها؛ وتعزيز أنظمة الإنذار المبكر على غرار "مرصد سوريا".

وأخيراً، يجب على الحكومات الأوروبية مواصلة تعزيز قضية المساءلة عبر القنوات المتعددة الأطراف والقنوات الوطنية. ينبغي تقديم تمويل إضافي إلى "فريق التحقيق وتحديد الهوية"، و"الآلية الدولية المحايدة والمستقلة" التابعة للأمم المتحدة، و"بعثة تقصي الحقائق" التابعة لـ "منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية" للتعجيل بعملهم وتوسيع نطاقه. ويمكن تقديم معلومات استخبارية وطنية بشأن المخزونات والمرافق المخفية بصورة أكثر اتساقاً لدعم عمل "فريق تقييم الإعلان" الخاص بـ "منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية". وبالمثل، فإن رفع السرية عن المعلومات المتعلقة بسلاسل القيادة يمكن أن يُكمّل النسخ العامة لتقرير "فريق التحقيق وتحديد الهوية" وأن يساعد منظمات المجتمع المدني على متابعة المحاكمات في المحاكم الوطنية الخاضعة للولاية القضائية العالمية.

 

توبياس شنايدر هو زميل باحث في "المعهد العالمي للسياسة العامة" ("المعهد") في برلين، حيث يركز على القضايا الإقليمية مثل التمرد، وضعف الدولة، وتطوير قطاع الأمن. تيريزا لوتكيفند باحثة مشاركة في "المعهد"، حيث تركز على السلام والأمن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3297

The Faint Red Line: How the West Should Respond to the Syria Chemical Weapons Report

Tobias Schneider and Theresa Lutkefend

Also available in العربية

April 13, 2020


Europe and the United States can no longer dismiss the strategic and tactical relevance of the regime’s CW attacks, which have continued throughout the conflict and demand further military, diplomatic, and judicial action.

For the first time since the Syria war began, the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) has directly attributed three chemical attacks to Bashar al-Assad’s forces. An April 8 report by the newly established Investigation and Identification Team (IIT) confirms once again that, despite its commitment to disarm, the regime continued to employ chemical weapons, including sarin, throughout the conflict. The conclusive findings provide an opportunity for the United States, Britain, and France to review the shortcomings of their policies, clearly articulate their “redline” commitments regarding CW use in Syria, and use all available levers to further isolate the regime and its backers and hold them to account.

WHAT DOES THE REPORT SAY?

The IIT report directly blames the Syrian military for three CW attacks that occurred within the span of one week in late March 2017. The findings provide evidence that the regime not only concealed part of its CW stockpile during the international disarmament process (2013-2014), but that it continued to employ these proscribed weapons with near impunity. This is the first time that the OPCW, tasked with overseeing and implementing the Chemical Weapons Convention, has waded into the diplomatically fraught waters of attribution.

While comprehensive and conclusive, the report is unlikely to affect the conflict’s strategic trajectory—or even the CW file. The regime’s culpability had been well-established prior. Indeed, the authors’ own research shows that Syrian government forces employed CW more than 340 times throughout the war, with more than 90 percent of these incidents occurring after the U.S. redline kerfuffle that followed the deadly August 21, 2013, attacks and subsequent disarmament process.

It is further apparent from the report, as well as from media reporting and disclosure, that Britain, France, the United States, and others were already well aware of Syria’s surviving CW stockpile and persistent attacks but had let the issue slide in order to avoid being drawn further into the war. In fact, Washington and its partners detected CW use as recently as May 2019 but, despite issuing fire-and-brimstone warnings at the time, chose not to act.

In that sense, the IIT’s findings should be read as another indictment of Western policy that for years has been uninterested in containing the worst excesses of the Syrian military campaign. The three attacks investigated took place only days before the April 4, 2017, high-casualty attack in Khan Sheikhoun, images of which triggered global outrage and, eventually, an American military response. This indicates that, as far as U.S. policy was concerned, the true redline in Syria was never about CW use as such—which never ceased throughout the war—but rather about the loss of face that might result from not responding to a particularly high-profile incidence.

MILITARY IMPLICATIONS AND RESPONSES

The United States and European powers have repeatedly failed to appreciate the second-order effects of the regime’s war strategy. Besides the injury to international norms, the effective and low-cost use of CW in Syria could inspire other embattled regimes and nonstate actors to emulate Assad’s approach, as the Islamic State has already done repeatedly.

For years, theoreticians of weapons of mass destruction held that CW—the “poor man’s nuke”—had lost most of their battlefield utility. Yet the authors’ research shows that even low-lethality agents such as chlorine offer tactical and strategic utility that outweighs even the potential cost of international retribution. From their first use in late 2012, CW have proven a small but essential component of the Assad regime’s war strategy, which revolves around campaigns of civilian punishment and displacement. Seeping into trenches, tunnels, and shelters, chemical agents complement the specific effects of conventional bombardment, leaving civilian populations no option but to leave opposition-held areas while depriving insurgents of popular legitimacy and resources. Indeed, the IIT report shows how the Syrian military’s conventional and chemical campaigns are intertwined at the operational level in key frontline formations.

For this reason, any military response to CW use should target not only production and storage facilities, but also those Syrian units responsible for carrying out the attacks. Thus far, these units have included the 22nd Air Division, the Praetorian 4th Armored Division, and the “Tiger Forces” and associated 63rd Helicopter Brigade. In addition to deterring future use of proscribed weapons, punitive strikes could serve the wider goal of arresting the Syrian mass violence and displacement campaign—without stepping onto the slippery slope of regime change. This would have been true for any attack since Washington issued its redline in 2012, all the way through to the last recorded attack near the town of Kabani last May, which would have provided an early opportunity to deter the most recent regime offensive against Idlib province. That ongoing campaign has since displaced more than a million civilians and threatens to create another refugee crisis for Europe—and has been led by precisely those units identified in the IIT report and the authors’ research as responsible for CW attacks.

The cost-benefit ratio of strikes is all the more favorable today because long-held assumptions about the inherent risk of military action in Syria have proven false again and again. At various points, Israel, Turkey, and the United States have attacked CW development sites and other regime positions without direct Russian interference.

Besides military action, Western states have a number of diplomatic and judicial levers at their disposal. For example, they could use the IIT findings to build a strong case in the OPCW Executive Council and State Party Conference for issuing sanctions against the regime, as well as depriving it of the legitimacy conferred by unqualified membership in the organization. The findings should also be used to rally signatory states who have previously been on the fence about the Syrian CW file.

Europeans in particular have been looking for ways to continue their engagement with Syrians while sidelining Assad’s circle. Despite the regime’s battlefield successes, more than a third of Syria’s prewar population remains displaced beyond its grasp, while its governance at home looks shaky. A policy centered on Syrians, wherever they may reside, rather than territorial Syria could provide avenues to shape the country’s future and mitigate the risk of radicalization as swaths of brutalized civilians feel abandoned by the international community. Accountability, above all for the most heinous of crimes, and truth-seeking thus become essential policy tools for European states looking to shape a future Syrian body politic. Otherwise, the regime’s proven tactic of unrestrained violence may succeed at cowing the rest of the population into submission.

CONCLUSION

On the basis of the IIT’s findings, Britain, France, and other states should advocate for sanctioning the Syrian regime and suspending its privileges as a full member of the OPCW in line with the “collective measures” provision under Article XII of the Chemical Weapons Convention. They should also advance the issue to the UN Security Council and General Assembly, where they would likely face another Russian veto. If collective measures prove impossible to achieve (which is likely), national authorities should issue additional sanctions of their own. In either case, U.S. assistance would lend major weight to European actions.

The same governments, in coordination with regional partners such as Turkey and Israel, should reiterate and clarify their redlines regarding CW use in Syria and follow through swiftly and consistently in case of any violations. When selecting targets for punitive strikes, officials should consider the wider context of the war, hitting Syrian air force and frontline formations responsible for attacks in addition to production and storage facilities.

Governments should also expand their support for harm mitigation and response capacities on the ground in northwest Syria through assistance to local humanitarian and civil society initiatives. Useful measures include sending protective equipment and medical supplies to the Syria Civil Defense (aka the White Helmets) and medical charities operating on the ground; providing technical know-how on the collection and preservation of evidence; and bolstering early warning systems such as Syria Sentry.

Finally, European governments should continue advancing the cause of accountability via multilateral and national channels. Additional funding should be provided to IIT, the UN International Impartial and Independent Mechanism, and the OPCW Fact Finding Mission to hasten and expand their work. National intelligence on concealed stockpiles and facilities could be provided more consistently to support the work of the OPCW Declaration Assessment Team. Similarly, declassifying information on chains of command could complement public versions of the IIT report and help civil society organizations pursue prosecutions in national courts under universal jurisdiction.

Tobias Schneider is a research fellow at the Global Public Policy Institute in Berlin, focusing on regional issues such as insurgency, state weakness, and security sector development. Theresa Lutkefend is a research associate at GPPI, where she contributes to its work on peace and security.