أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3067

التحديات السياسية والقانونية التي يواجهها نتنياهو في الانتخابات المقبلة

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

22 كانون الثاني/يناير 2019


يأمل رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو في الفوز بفترة ولاية خامسة كرئيس للوزراء في الانتخابات الوطنية المقرر إجراؤها في 9 نيسان/أبريل، وتُظهِر استطلاعات الرأي أنه مُتقدم بشكل واضح على المرشحين الآخرين، محتفظاً بدعم ما يقرب من ربع الناخبين. ومع ذلك، لا يكفي الحصول على أكبر عدد من الأصوات [للفوز بالانتخابات]؛ فلكي يتمكن الفائز في هذا السيناريو من ممارسة السلطة، يجب عليه أن يجمع أغلبية تشمل ما لا يقل عن 61 مقعداً في "الكنيست" المكوّن من 120 عضواً. إلّا أن نتنياهو يواجه أيضاً قرارات اتهام فساد محتملة إلى حين عقد جلسة استماع بعد الانتخابات.

وفيما يتعلق بالقضايا السياسية، اعتاد نتنياهو على تأطير الحملات الانتخابية بطريقة تسلط الضوء على نجاحاته الأمنية ضد أعداء إسرائيل بينما يطرح أسئلة حول ما إذا كان باستطاعة منافسيه مواجهة الضغوط الدولية المتعلقة بتقديم تنازلات بشأن القضية الفلسطينية. وفي سعيه للتأكيد على هويته الأمنية في الأسابيع القليلة الماضية، تنازل عن سياسة الغموض التي تنتهجها إسرائيل بشأن العمليات العسكرية ضد الأنشطة الإيرانية في سوريا، مما حدا بالمعارضة إلى اتهامه بتعريض البلاد للخطر من أجل تعظيم مكاسبه السياسية. وفي الأسبوع الماضي، وصف رئيس أركان "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" المنتهية ولايته، غادي آيزنكوت، هذه المزاعم بأنها عارية عن الصحة، قائلاً: "لم تكن هناك أبداً أية مخاوف سياسية وراء قراراتي؛ كما لم تكن [كذلك] في اعتبارات رئيس الوزراء". وعلى أي حال، من الآمن أن نفترض أن نتنياهو سوف يستمر في استغلال موضوع الأمن كبطاقته الرئيسية في الانتخابات القادمة. والسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هنا، كيف سيؤطر هذه الانتخابات إذا قفزت مزاعم الفساد إلى مركز الصدارة.

هل سيُصْدِر المدعي العام قراراً بالاتهام؟

قد يتوقف مسار الحملة الانتخابية حول ما إذا كان المدعي العام الإسرائيلي، أفيشاي ماندلبليت - الذي كان سابقاً سكرتير حكومة نتنياهو - سيقدّم لائحة اتهام ضد رئيس الوزراء قبل 9 نيسان/أبريل. ويواجه نتنياهو ثلاثة تحقيقات فساد طويلة ومستمرة. ويتمحور أحدها حول ما إذا كانت شركة "بيزيك" للاتصالات قد فازت بمعاملة ضريبية مفضلة لسماحها لمكتب رئيس الوزراء بتوجيه التغطية الصحفية على موقعها الإلكتروني. ويتركز تحقيق آخر على الادعاءات بأن نتنياهو وافق على الضغط من أجل سن قانون يحد من تداول "إسرائيل اليوم" - وهي صحيفة يومية مجانية تتفاخر بأن لها جمهور القارئين الأوسع نطاقاً في البلاد - مقابل [حصوله على] تغطية أكثر ملاءمة من منافستها "يديعوت أحرونوت". ويتساءل تحقيق ثالث عما إذا كان ما يقدر بـ 180،000 دولار - 200،000 دولار من الشمبانيا والسيجار اللذين حصل عليهما نتنياهو من صديق له يملك أسْهُم قليلة في محطة تلفزيونية إسرائيلية يشكلان رشوة. (وهناك قضية رابعة نابعة من إدعاءات وزير الدفاع السابق موشيه يعلون بأن نتنياهو سعى إلى منفعة نسيبه، محامي شركة ألمانية تبيع غواصات إلى إسرائيل، لكن السلطات لم تُردد حتى الآن هذا الادعاء بشكل رسمي أو تلمّح إلى اتهامات وشيكة.)

قد يتخذ ماندلبليت قريباً إجراءات بشأن مسألة واحدة أو أكثر من هذه القضايا. ومن المعروف أن مسؤولي الشرطة الذين أجروا تحقيقات جمع الحقائق يفضلون الاتهام في القضايا الثلاث الأولى. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، عندما اجتمع المدعي العام بأسلافه وبأعضاء المحكمة العليا السابقين في الأسابيع الأخيرة، أفادت بعض التقارير أن جميعهم حثوه على التصرف قبل الانتخابات، بقولهم أن من حق الجمهور معرفة النتائج التي توصل إليها قبل ذهابهم إلى صناديق الاقتراع. وعلى وجه التحديد، نصحوه بالتصرف قبل شهر آذار/مارس من أجل تقليل الادعاءات بأنه يرفع دعوى قضائية عشية الذهاب إلى صناديق الاقتراع. والسؤال هو ما إذا كان سيواصل متابعة أشد الاتهامات قسوة - أي الرشوة - أو يُصْدِر تهم أقل جسامة.

إن الاعتقاد بأن ماندلبليت يميل إلى تقديم لائحة اتهام ينبع أيضاً من خطاب نتنياهو في ساعة الاستماع القصوى على شاشات التلفزيون الإسرائيلي في السابع من كانون الثاني/يناير، عندما دعا إلى إجراء مناظرات تلفزيونية ضد ثلاثة من المقربين السابقين الذين هم الآن شهودٌ من قبل الدولة. وعلى الرغم من رفض السلطات لهذا المطلب كما كان متوقعاً، إلا أن المحللين يؤكدون أن ذلك يوضح مدى قلق رئيس الوزراء من لوائح الاتهام التي تلوح في الأفق. إن مسألة ما إذا كانت هذه الاتهامات وحدها ستجبره قانونياً على ترك منصبه ما زالت موضع جدل، ولكن من الواضح أن الإدانة تتطلب منه التنحي عن منصبه.

وإذا قرر نتنياهو أنه لا مفر من توجيه الاتهامات قبل موعد الانتخابات، فلديه العديد من مسارات العمل المحتملة. هل سيحاول تخفيف الصدمة من خلال استباق ماندلبليت ورفع أمر قضيته إلى الجمهور بشأن كل دعوى قضائية؟ أم أنه سيتجنب التفاصيل ويؤكد للناخبين أنه مستعد لمحاربة التهم في جلسة استماع أو إجراءات قضائية بعد الانتخابات؟ وبدلاً من ذلك، قد يضاعف إدعائه بأن السلطات تواصل الاتهامات ضده لأن ذلك نابع من حقد تجاهه - وهو احتمال بعيد نظراً لأن ماندلبليت كان في السابق مساعداً له للشؤون السياسية. وفي السنوات الأخيرة، انحرفت بِحِدة مفاهيم حزب الليكود الذي ينتمي إليه نتنياهو من النظرة الليبرالية الأوروبية التي تعود إلى القرن التاسع عشر والتي حددت أسلاف الحزب، إلى الترويج بدلاً من ذلك لسرد الاضطهاد من قبل مؤسسة قانونية نخبوية من المفترض أنها تستهتر بالفصيل الشعبوي. وفي هذا الصدد، فإن لوحة أخيرة لحزب الليكود خصت بالذكر عدداً من كبار الصحفيين، بإعلانها أن الشعب هو الذين سيقرر مستقبل إسرائيل، وليس الإعلام - في إشارة إلى أن رئيس الوزراء قد يعتزم تكثيف لهجته ضد الصحافة.

إذا نجح نتنياهو في الحصول على أغلبية الأصوات في الانتخابات على الرغم من هذه التحديات، فقد يسعى إلى تشكيل ائتلافه القادم وفقاً لِمَن قد يكون أكثر ولاءً له فور توجيه لوائح الاتهام ضده ومضي قضايا المحاكم قدماً في الأشهر المقبلة. وفي هذه الحالة، من المحتمل أن يسعى إلى تشكيل ائتلاف مماثل لذلك القائم حالياً، مع أحزاب يمين الوسط والأحزاب الدينية المتطرفة، من أجل الحفاظ على أغلبيته البرلمانية بدلاً من التواصل مع أحزاب على يسار حزب الليكود. (ستتم مناقشة الاحتمالات والاستراتيجيات الانتخابية الممكنة للأحزاب اليسارية وغيرها من المنافسين في مراصد سياسية مستقبلية).

تأرجح الأحزاب التابعة

أعرب نتنياهو مؤخراً عن قلقه من خسارة بعض شركائه السياسيين للدعم الشعبي الذي كانوا يتمتعون به. فقد انخفض التأييد لما لا يقل عن ثلاثة أحزاب في ائتلافه الحالي إلى ما يقرب من 3.25 في المائة من الأصوات، الذي هو الحد الأدنى المطلوب لدخول الكنيست. وإحدى هذه الأحزاب هي "شاس"، الفصيل الديني المتطرف لـ "السفارديم" الشرقيين الذي كان أحد أعمدة معظم حكومات نتنياهو. ومع ذلك، فإن وفاة زعيم الحزب [السابق الحاخام الأكبر] قبل بضع سنوات والذي كان يتمتع بشخصية براقة [أثّر على شعبية الحزب]، وهناك تحقيق فساد يلاحق الزعيم السياسي الحالي للحزب. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن بعض ناخبي الحزب ليسوا متدينين متطرفين ويمكنهم التحوّل بسهولة إلى أحزاب أخرى. وبالنظر إلى هذه المخاطر، قد يضغط نتنياهو من أجل قيام اندماج فني بين حزب "شاس" ونظيره الأشكنازي "أغودات يسرائيل"، مما يسمح لانتخاب أعضاء "شاس" في الكنيست القادمة حتى لو انهار الاندماج بعد ذلك.

كما يواجه "حزب البيت اليهودي" خطر [عدم الدخول إلى "الكنيست" المقبلة]، وهو فصيل مؤيد للمستوطنين انشق عن قياداته الكثيري الجدال، حيث يسعى وزير التعليم نفتالي بينيت ووزيرة العدل أييليت شاكيد إلى الابتعاد عن النواة الأساسية للحزب، التي تنحدر من "الحزب الديني القومي" المنحل. ويطلق الزعيمان على أنفسهما الآن "اليمين الجديد"، ويأمل بينيت أن يؤدي هذا التحوّل نحو برنامج انتخابات غير طائفي إلى منحه القفزة إلى منصب نتنياهو.

والحزب الثالث المعرّض لخطر عدم الدخول إلى الكنيست هو "يسرائيل بيتينو"، بزعامة وزير الدفاع السابق أفيغدور ليبرمان، الذي أسَّس الحزب بعد فترة وجيزة من وصول موجة ضخمة من المهاجرين اليهود من الاتحاد السوفييتي السابق. بيد، قد لا تشكل جذور المهاجرين هذه برنامج قوي بما يكفي للحصول على تأييدهم في الوقت الذي بلغ فيه الجيل الجديد سن الاقتراع ويشعر بالاندماج في الحياة الإسرائيلية.

ومن الناحية المثالية، يرغب نتنياهو في جذب الناخبين بعيداً عن المنافسين مثل بينيت وليبرمان. ولكن إذا لم يكن ذلك ممكناً، فقد يفضل أن تحتفظ أحزابهم الموثوقة بقوتها وتُبقي الناخبين داخل الكتلة اليمينية - وإلا، فإن الفصائل مثل "البيت اليهودي" قد تصبح ضعيفة إلى درجة أنها قد تفشل في تجاوز الحد الأدنى للدخول إلى الكنيست.

الخاتمة

كما هو الحال في حملات الانتخابات السابقة، يرتكز تقدُّم نتنياهو الحالي في الاستطلاعات على التهديدات الأمنية. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن تؤدي لوائح الاتهام المعلقة إلى تحوّل منهجي بشكل جذري إلى ما يتجاوز يوم الانتخابات، مما يدفع نتنياهو وحلفاءه إلى النظر في صيغ التحالف التي تضمن بقاءه السياسي على أحسن وجه في وقت تتجلى فيه تحديات قانونية غير مسبوقة.

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز ومدير مشروع عملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3067

Netanyahu’s Political and Legal Challenges in the Next Elections

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

January 22, 2019


For now, he is sticking with the tried-and-true formula of emphasizing his security pedigree, but looming indictments could change his campaign narrative and coalition-building strategy.

Israeli prime minister Binyamin Netanyahu hopes to capture his fifth term in the April 9 national elections, and polls show he has a clear lead over other candidates, retaining support from approximately a quarter of the electorate. Yet it is insufficient to merely have the most votes; to govern, the winner must subsequently cobble together a majority of at least 61 seats in the 120-member Knesset. Netanyahu is also under the shadow of potential corruption indictments pending a hearing that would occur after the elections.

Regarding policy issues, Netanyahu is accustomed to framing election campaigns in a manner that highlights his security successes against Israel’s enemies while raising questions about whether his rivals can stand up to international pressure for concessions on the Palestinian issue. In seeking to emphasize his security credentials in the past couple weeks, he broke from Israel’s policy of ambiguity on military operations against Iranian activities in Syria, spurring the opposition to charge that he is putting the country at risk in order to maximize political gain. Last week, outgoing Israel Defense Forces chief of staff Gadi Eisenkot called these claims baseless, stating, “There were never any political concerns behind my decisions; nor were there in the prime minister’s considerations.” In any case, it is safe to assume that Netanyahu will continue playing security as his main card in the upcoming race. The question is how he will frame the elections if the corruption allegations come to center stage.

WILL THE ATTORNEY GENERAL INDICT?

The campaign’s trajectory may well hinge on whether Israel’s attorney general—former Netanyahu cabinet secretary Avichai Mandelblit—issues indictments against the prime minister before April 9. Netanyahu faces three lengthy and ongoing corruption investigations. One centers on whether the telecom company Bezeq won preferable tax treatment for allowing the Prime Minister’s Office to guide press coverage on its Walla website. Another centers on allegations that Netanyahu agreed to push legislation limiting the circulation of Israel Hayom—a free daily newspaper that boasts the country’s largest readership—in exchange for more favorable coverage from its competitor Yediot Aharonot. A third case asks whether the estimated $180,000-$200,000 in champagne and cigars he received from a friend who held a minority interest in an Israeli television station constitutes a bribe. (There is a fourth case stemming from former defense minister Moshe Yaalon’s allegation that Netanyahu sought to benefit his brother-in-law, the attorney for a German company selling submarines to Israel. So far, though, authorities have not formally echoed this claim or hinted at imminent charges.)

Mandelblit may be taking action on one or more of these matters soon. The police officials who conducted the fact-gathering investigation are known to favor indictment in the first three cases. Moreover, when the attorney general met with his predecessors and former Supreme Court members in recent weeks, all of them reportedly urged him to act before the election, arguing that the public has a right to know his findings before going to the polls. Specifically, they counseled him to act before March in order to minimize claims that he is proceeding on the eve of balloting. The question is whether he would pursue the gravest accusation—bribery—or issue lesser charges.

The belief that Mandelblit is leaning toward indictment also stems from Netanyahu’s primetime address on January 7, when he called for televised debates against three former confidantes who are now witnesses for the state. Although authorities predictably rejected that demand, analysts contend that it demonstrates just how anxious the prime minister has become about the looming indictments. The question of whether indictments alone would legally compel him to leave office is still contested, but a conviction would clearly require him to step down.

If Netanyahu decides that pre-election charges are inevitable, he has several potential courses of action. Will he try to soften the blow by preempting Mandelblit and pleading his case to the public on each allegation? Or will he sidestep the details and assure voters that he is prepared to fight the charges in a post-election hearing or court proceedings? Alternatively, he may double down on his claim that authorities are pursuing charges based on mere animus toward him—a stretch given that Mandelblit was once his policy aide. In recent years, the mindset of Netanyahu’s Likud Party has veered sharply from the nineteenth-century European liberal outlook that defined its forebears, instead promoting a narrative of persecution by an elite legal establishment that supposedly thumbs its nose at the populist faction. A recent Likud billboard singled out a few leading journalists, declaring that the people will decide Israel’s future, not the media—a signal that the prime minister may intend to intensify his rhetoric against the press.

If Netanyahu manages to win the elections despite these challenges, he may seek to shape his next coalition based on who would be most loyal to him once indictments and court cases proceed in the coming months. In that case, he would likely pursue a coalition similar to the one he has now, using right-of-center and ultraorthodox parties to maintain his parliamentary majority rather than reaching out to parties on his left. (The prospects and potential electoral strategies of left-wing parties and other challengers will be discussed in future PolicyWatches.)

SATELLITE PARTIES ARE TEETERING

Netanyahu has recently voiced concern that some of his political partners are losing popular support. At least three parties in his current coalition have dropped close to 3.25 percent of the vote, the minimum threshold needed to enter parliament. One of them is Shas, the Sephardic ultraorthodox faction that has been a pillar of most of his governments. Yet the party’s charismatic rabbinic leader passed away a few years ago, and a corruption probe is haunting its political leader. Moreover, some of its voters are not ultraorthodox and could easily switch to other parties. Given these risks, Netanyahu might press for a technical merger between Shas and its Ashkenazic equivalent Agudat Yisrael, allowing Shas members to sail into the next Knesset even if the merger collapses afterward.

Also at risk is the Jewish Home Party, a pro-settler faction that has split with its vocal leaders. Education Minister Naftali Bennett and Justice Minister Ayelet Shaked seek to distance themselves from the party’s traditional core, which hails from the defunct National Religious Party. The two leaders now call themselves the New Right, and Bennett hopes this shift to a nonsectarian platform will catapult him into Netanyahu’s post.

A third party at risk is Yisrael Beitenu, led by former defense minister Avigdor Liberman. He founded the party not long after a massive wave of Jewish immigration from the former Soviet Union, but these immigrant roots may not be a strong enough platform now that the next generation has reached voting age and feels integrated into Israeli life.

Ideally, Netanyahu would like to pull voters away from rivals like Bennett and Liberman. Yet if this is not possible, he would prefer that their reliable parties retain their strength and keep voters inside the right-wing bloc—otherwise, factions like Jewish Home may become so weak that they fail to surpass the minimum voting threshold.

CONCLUSION

As in past campaigns, Netanyahu’s current lead in the polls is premised on security threats. Yet the pending indictments could radically shift the paradigm well beyond election day, pushing Netanyahu and his allies to consider coalition formulas that best ensure his political survival at a time of unprecedented legal challenges.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow and director of the Project on the Middle East Peace Process at The Washington Institute.