أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

يجب ألا تضيع السياسة الخارجية في حملة الانتخابات الإسرائيلية

ديفيد ماكوفسكي و دينيس روس

متاح أيضاً في English

"يديعوت احرونوت"

2 كانون الثاني/يناير 2019


من البديهي في السياسة أن تدور الانتخابات حول المستقبل، وليس حول الماضي فقط. وفيما يتعلق بالانتخابات الإسرائيلية المقبلة، بما أنه تلوح في الأفق إمكانية إصدار لوائح اتهام ضد رئيس الوزراء الحالي بنيامين نتنياهو، فسوف يرغب الكثير من الناخبين في النظر فيما إذا كان بإمكان نتنياهو الاضطلاع بمسؤوليات المنصب في الوقت الذي يخصص فيه أيضاً وقتاً واهتماماً كبيرين للصعوبات القانونية التي يواجهها. وبغض النظر عن كيفية الإجابة عن هذا السؤال، ستظهر أسئلة أساسية أخرى تتناول تحديات الأمن القومي التي يجب معالجتها. وتلك الأسئلة، التي من المفهوم أنها تكمن في صلب مخاوف الشعب الإسرائيلي تاريخياً، يجب طرحها على نتنياهو ومنافسيه آفي غباي، وبيني غانتس، ويائير لابيد، وآخرين في يسار الوسط.

في البداية، بينما كان دعم إدارة ترامب لإسرائيل مهماً على الصعيد الدبلوماسي والرمزي، إلّا أنها تركت إسرائيل بمفردها إلى حد كبير عندما تعلق الأمر بالتعامل مع تحديات إيران في سوريا ولبنان وإدارة الروس. ومع تبني موسكو الآن سياسة أكثر صرامة تجاه حرية تصرف إسرائيل في سوريا ولبنان، فالسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هنا كيف يقترح نتنياهو ومرشحون آخرون التعامل مع الروس؟

يتسم هذا التحدي بخطورة خاصة لأن انسحاب إدارة ترامب من سوريا يشير إلى الجميع، بمن فيهم الروس، إلى أن الإدارة الأمريكية لا ترى أي مصلحة في سوريا بغض النظر عمّا إذا كان من المحتمل أن يواجه كل من الأردن وإسرائيل تهديدات مدعومة من إيران من الأراضي السورية. وتاريخياً، كان يوجد تفاهم بين إسرائيل والولايات المتحدة، يتمثل بتعامل إسرائيل مع التهديدات التي تواجهها في المنطقة، بينما تتعامل الولايات المتحدة مع التهديدات الناشئة عن القوى الخارجية. ويبدو أن ذلك لم يعد ساري المفعول مع إدارة ترامب، لذا يتعين على قادة إسرائيل التعامل مع واقع جديد في المنطقة التي تنوي الولايات المتحدة أن تقلص دورها فيها، وذلك حتى في الوقت الذي تصبح فيه روسيا أكثر حزماً في ملء الفراغ.

صحيح، أن رئيس رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي أو منافسيه لا يريدون على الأرجح الإقرار علناً بواقع الدور الأمريكي المتضائل وانعكاساته على إسرائيل، لكنهم يستطيعون معالجة ما قد تحتاج إسرائيل إلى القيام به بمفردها بالنظر إلى تزايد أهمية روسيا في المنطقة وانتقاداتها الجديدة للعمليات الإسرائيلية في سوريا ولبنان. وربما كان رئيس الوزراء ضيف الشرف لدى الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين في شهر أيار/مايو الماضي في موسكو للاحتفال بالانتصار على النازيين، ولكن الروس يصفون الآن الضربة الإسرائيلية الأخيرة في سوريا بالاستفزازية، ويعتبرون تحليقات الطائرات الإسرائيلية فوق أراضي لبنان انتهاكاً لقرار مجلس الأمن الدولي رقم 1701 - وذلك حتى مع كشف إسرائيل عن نفق خامس حفره «حزب الله» داخل أراضيها. لذا فإن العلاقة مع بوتين تبدو أكثر إشكالية، وحافز روسيا لممارسة نفوذها هو أكبر الآن، لا سيما وأنه لا حاجة لها إلى القلق بشأن الولايات المتحدة.

ويقيناً، لا تشكل سوريا التحدي الوحيد المتعلق بإيران والقريب من حدود إسرائيل. فوسط مخاوف مفهومة حول صواريخ «حزب الله» البالغ عددها 130,000  صاروخ، امتنعت إسرائيل عن مهاجمة منشآت الحزب الخاصة بالصواريخ الدقيقة التوجيه في لبنان والتي يستخدمها لتطوير هذه الصواريخ لتصبح أكثر دقة. ومع ذلك، لا تستطيع إسرائيل حقاً العيش مع امتلاك «حزب الله» لصواريخ عالية الدقة ومع قدرته على شن هجمات ساحقة على أهداف استراتيجية اقتصادية وعسكرية إسرائيلية عالية القيمة. والسؤال هو ما الذي يجب أن تفعله إسرائيل؟

بالطبع، تكمن القضية الرئيسية المتعلقة بإيران فيما إذا كانت طهران ستجدد برنامجها النووي. فقد انسحبت إدارة ترامب من الاتفاق النووي، ويؤدي نهجها المتمثل في إعادة فرض العقوبات إلى خلق ضغوط اقتصادية كبيرة جداً على إيران. ولكنه لم يغير أي سلوك إيراني - فطهران لا تزال عدائية في المنطقة، لذا يجب على إسرائيل أن تركز على مواجهة هذا الوضع حيثما أمكن. ولكن ما الذي يحدث إذا انسحب الإيرانيون من الاتفاق النووي، واستأنفوا أنشطة التخصيب، وقلّصوا وقت الاختراق إلى أسابيع؟ يبدو أن نهج ترامب مبني بشكل أساسي على العقوبات والضغط الاقتصادي والشيء القليل فيما عدا ذلك. فكيف سيتعامل كل مرشح إسرائيلي للانتخابات القادمة مع انسحاب إيراني من الاتفاق النووي واحتمال محافظة إدارة ترامب على نهجها الحالي؟

وماذا عن غزة؟ هل لدى رئيس الوزراء ومنافسوه بديل عن النهج الحالي؟ لا أحد يرغب في العودة إلى غزة، لكن هل أنّ واقع الاندلاع الدوري للاشتباكات خلال العقد الماضي، الذي غالباً ما دفع مليون إسرائيلي في الجنوب إلى الملاجئ، هو الوضع الطبيعي الجديد؟ وهل من المحبّذ التوصل إلى اتفاق أكثر ديمومة لوقف إطلاق النار مع «حماس»؟ وهل ذلك ممكن دون إعادة بناء البنية التحتية في غزة؟ لقد فضلت مؤسسة الأمن الإسرائيلية السماح بالعمل في مشاريع البنية التحتية - الكهرباء والماء ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي - ولكن ليس لأسباب إنسانية فحسب، بل لأنها توفر لأهل غزة ما يخسرونه [وذلك من شأنه] أن يقلل من احتمال حدوث تصعيد جديد. فما هو البديل لهذا النهج؟ وإذا لا يوجد بديل، فلماذا لم يتم المضي قدماً فيه؟

أما بالنسبة لعملية صنع السلام الفلسطينية، فلا يبدو أن هناك أ أي اتفاق نهائي على المدى القريب. ولكن، بينما قد يكون الرئيس ترامب عازماً على تقليص دور الولايات المتحدة في الشرق الأوسط، إلا أنه ما زال يبدو ملتزماً بتقديم خطته للسلام. وحتى لو كان القادة العرب الرئيسيون أقل ميلاً إلى الاستجابة إلى ترامب إذا رأوا أنه ينسحب من المنطقة، فإن الإدارة الأمريكية تريد من هؤلاء القادة الاعتراف بجدية الخطة. وهذا صحيح لا سيّما في وقت لا يوجد فيه اتصال بين هذه الإدارة والرئيس محمود عباس والسلطة الفلسطينية.

ومع ذلك، تَظهر فرصة ضئيلة لكسب اعتراف الشعب العربي بجدية الخطة دون تناولها موضوع إقامة دولة [فلسطينية] أو الأحياء العربية الرئيسية في القدس الشرقية. ينبغي أن يُسأل رئيس الوزراء نتنياهو الذي قال إنه يرغب في ائتلاف مماثل للائتلاف الحالي، وكذلك التابعين لليسار الوسط، عما إذا كان من الممكن الاستجابة بشكل إيجابي لخطة ترامب من دون حكومة قادرة على اتخاذ قرارات صعبة. وفي الواقع، إذا كان ما قالته [مندوبة الولايات المتحدة في الأمم المتحدة حتى نهاية 2018] نيكي هايلي في خطاب وداعها صحيحاً - بأن الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين سيكونوا ممتنين من أجزاء من الخطة وسيكرهون أجزاءً أخرى، فهل ستتمكن حكومة يمينية ذات قاعدة ضيقة القبول بهذه الخطة حتى مع بعض التحفظات؟ وهل ترمي الاستراتيجية الإسرائيلية إلى ما هو أكثر من مجرد التخطيط لجعل عباس يرفض الخطة لكي لا تكون إسرائيل مسؤولة عن رفضها؟

إذا تم تقديم خطة ترامب من دون الوصول إلى نتيجة - وهو احتمال واضح - فما هي سياسة رئيس الوزراء ومتحديه تجاه الفلسطينيين؟ إذا لم يبرز أي احتمال مبكر للتوصل إلى اتفاق، هناك خطر انزلاق إسرائيل ببساطة نحو التحوّل إلى دولة ثنائية القومية. ينبغي سؤال كل مرشح عمّا سيفعله لضمان عدم تحوّل إسرائيل إلى دولة ذات قوميتين.

وأخيراً، ما هي سياسة كل مرشح تجاه الحفاظ على العلاقات مع يهود أمريكا ومع الحزبين الجمهوري والديمقراطي في الولايات المتحدة - علماً بأن ولاية الرئيس ترامب قد تنتهي في غضون عامين؟ من الواضح أن العلاقات الحالية للإئتلاف الحكومي الإسرائيلي متوترة مع كل من الديمقراطيين والشرائح اليهودية غير الأرثودوكسية في الولايات المتحدة. فكلاهما ضروري للحفاظ على العلاقة مع أمريكا. وهناك عامل معيّن يتم التغاضي عنه عموماً في إسرائيل وهو: أن الجالية اليهودية الأمريكية قد لعبت دوراً أساسياً في ضمان العلاقات القوية بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل، ومن بينها الالتزام الأمريكي بتقديم مساعدات عسكرية بقيمة 38 مليار دولار خلال السنوات العشر القادمة. وهذا التزام ورثه ترامب من سلفه أوباما. لذا، هل يدرك جميع المرشحين وجود مشكلة مع اليهود الأمريكيين، وإذا كان الأمر كذلك، ما الذي سيفعلونه حياله؟

بغض النظر عن القضايا الداخلية، تستحق هذه المواضيع أن تُبثّ وتناقش قبل موعد الانتخابات. نأمل أن يحدث ذلك.

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز ومدير "مشروع عملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط" في معهد واشنطن. وقد شغل سابقاً منصب مستشار سياسي بارز في مكتب وزير الخارجية الأمريكي. دينيس روس هو مستشار وزميل "ويليام ديفيدسون" المتميز في المعهد، ومستشار أقدم سابق لشؤون الشرق الأوسط في البيت الأبيض. وقد نُشرت هذه المقالة في الأصل في صحيفة "يديعوت أحرونوت".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Foreign Policy Should Not Get Lost in Israel’s Election Campaign

David Makovsky and Dennis Ross

Also available in العربية

Yediot Aharonot

January 2, 2019


Candidates need to be asked how they will deal with thorny issues such as Russian blowback in Syria, Hezbollah missile threats, Gaza reconstruction, and Iranian nuclear resurgence.

It is a truism in politics that elections are about the future, and not just about the past. In Israel’s upcoming election, given the potential of looming indictments, many voters will want to consider whether a sitting prime minister can fulfill the responsibilities of the office while also devoting major time and attention to his legal difficulties. Regardless of how that question is answered, there will be other fundamental questions about national security challenges that must be addressed. And those questions, which have understandably gone to the heart of the Israeli public’s concerns historically, should be asked of both Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu and his challengers Avi Gabbay, Benny Gantz, Yair Lapid, and others on the center-left.

To begin with, while the Trump administration’s support for Israel has been important diplomatically and symbolically, it has largely left Israel on its own when it comes to dealing with the challenges of Iran in Syria and Lebanon and managing the Russians. With Moscow now adopting a tougher policy toward Israel’s freedom of action in Syria and Lebanon, how do Netanyahu and other candidates propose to deal with the Russians?

The challenge is especially acute because the Trump administration with its withdrawal from Syria is signaling everyone, including the Russians, that it sees no interests in Syria regardless of whether Israel and Jordan are likely to face Iranian-backed threats from there. Historically, there was an understanding between Israel and the United States: Israel handles the threats it faces in the region, the U.S. deals with threats from external powers. That apparently no longer applies with the Trump administration, so Israel’s leaders have to contend with a new reality in the region in which the U.S. intends to play a diminished role even as Russia becomes more assertive in filling the vacuum.

True, neither the prime minister nor his challengers likely want to acknowledge publicly the reality of a diminished U.S. role and its implications for Israel, but they can address what Israel may need to be doing on its own given Russia’s increased prominence in the region and its new criticism of Israeli actions in Syria and Lebanon. The prime minister may have been the honored guest of Russian president Vladimir Putin last May in Moscow celebrating the victory over the Nazis, but now the Russians are calling the most recent Israeli strike in Syria a provocation and Israeli overflights in Lebanon a violation of UNSC Resolution 1701—this even as Israel uncovers a fifth Hezbollah tunnel into its territory. So the relationship with Putin looks more problematic, and Russia’s impulse to exert its leverage is now greater, particularly with it not having to worry about the United States.

To be sure, Syria is not the only Iran-related challenge near Israel’s borders. Amid understandable concerns about Hezbollah’s 130,000 rockets, Israel has refrained from attacking its precision-guided facilities in Lebanon that could convert these rockets into missiles with greater accuracy. And yet, Israel truly cannot live with Hezbollah having high-accuracy rockets and being capable of launching saturation attacks on Israel’s high-value strategic economic and military targets. So what should Israel do?

Of course, the main Iran-related issue is the question of whether Tehran will renew its nuclear program. The Trump administration has withdrawn from the nuclear deal, and its approach of reimposing sanctions is creating very significant economic pressures on Iran. But it has not altered any Iranian behaviors—Tehran remains aggressive in the region, so Israel must focus on countering that where it can. But what happens if the Iranians withdraw from the nuclear deal, resume their enrichment, and reduce their breakout time to weeks? The Trump approach seems built essentially on sanctions and economic pressure but little more. How will each candidate approach an Iranian withdrawal from the deal and the possibility that the Trump administration will maintain its current approach?

What about on Gaza? Do the prime minister and his challengers have an alternative to the current approach? No one wants to go back into Gaza, but is the reality of periodic flare-ups over the last decade, often driving a million Israelis in the south into shelters, the new normal? Is a more durable ceasefire with Hamas desirable? Is it possible without reconstruction of infrastructure in Gaza? The Israeli security establishment has favored permitting infrastructure projects—electricity, water, and sewage treatment—not simply for humanitarian reasons but also because it offers Gazans something to lose and reduces the prospect of new escalations. What is the alternative to this approach? If there is not one, why hasn’t it gone forward?

As for Palestinian peacemaking, no ultimate deal seems forthcoming any time soon. Yet while President Trump may be intent on reducing the U.S. role in the Middle East, he still appears committed to presenting a Trump peace plan. Even if key Arab leaders may be less inclined to be responsive to Trump if they believe he is withdrawing from the region, the administration wants these leaders to acknowledge the seriousness of the plan. This is especially true at a time when the administration has no contact with President Mahmoud Abbas and the Palestinian Authority.

There is, however, little chance of gaining Arab public recognition of the seriousness of the plan without it addressing statehood and key Arab neighborhoods in East Jerusalem. Both Prime Minister Netanyahu, who has said he would like a coalition much like the current one, and those on the center-left should be asked whether it possible to respond favorably to the Trump plan without a government capable of making tough decisions. Indeed, if what Nikki Haley said in her farewell address is true—that Israelis and Palestinians are going to like parts of the plan and dislike other parts—will a narrow-based right-wing government be able to accept it even with reservations? Is there more to Israeli strategy than merely planning on Abbas to say no so Israel is off the hook?

If the Trump plan is presented and goes nowhere—a clear possibility—what is the policy of the prime minister and his challengers toward the Palestinians? If there is no early prospect of a deal, there is the danger of Israel simply drifting toward becoming a binational state. Each candidate should be asked what they will do to ensure that Israel does not become a binational state.

Lastly, what is each candidate’s policy toward preserving bipartisan ties with the United States—recognizing that President Trump might be gone in two years—and with American Jewry? Clearly, the current coalition’s ties are strained with both the Democrats and key non-orthodox segments of American Jewry. Both are essential to preserving the relationship with America. One factor in particular is generally overlooked in Israel: the American Jewish community has played an essential role in ensuring strong U.S.-Israel relations, including the American commitment of $38 billion in military assistance over the next ten years. This is a commitment that Trump inherited from his predecessor Obama. So, do all of the candidates recognize a problem with American Jews, and, if so, what will they do about it?

Quite apart from domestic issues, these issues deserve an airing and debate in advance of the election. We hope it takes place.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow and director of the Project on the Middle East Peace Process at The Washington Institute. Previously, he served as a senior policy advisor in the Office of the Secretary of State. Dennis Ross is the Institute’s William Davidson Distinguished Fellow and a former senior Middle East advisor in the White House. This article was originally published in Hebrew by Yediot Aharonot.