أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3146

خامنئي سيعتبر العقوبات ضده تحدياً مباشراً للثورة

پاتريك كلاوسون و مهدي خلجي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

27 حزيران/يونيو 2019


عند تحليل العقوبات الجديدة التي فرضتها الولايات المتحدة على إيران، يميل المرء بطبيعة الحال إلى التساؤل عن الأثر الاقتصادي الذي ستخلّفه. ومن هذا المنطلق، قد يبدو الأمر التنفيذي الذي أصدره الرئيس ترامب في 24 حزيران/يونيو متواضعاً - فهو يغلق أبواب النظام المالي الأمريكي بوجه أولئك الذين يتعاملون مع أفراد معيّنين مباشرةً من قبل المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي أو مع المؤسسات التي يرأسها هؤلاء المعيّنين.

بيد أن الأثر الاقتصادي هو المقياس الخاطئ في هذا السياق. فالهدف الرئيسي للولايات المتحدة هو الضغط على القادة الإيرانيين، وليس تحويل البلاد إلى فقر. ولذلك من الأفضل طرح السؤال التالي: كيف ستؤثر العقوبات الجديدة على القادة الإيرانيين؟ والجواب واضح: لا يمكن تصميم أي خطوات بشكل أفضل لإثارة سخط المسؤول الأكبر في النظام الإيراني من الأمر التنفيذي الصادر في 24 حزيران/يونيو.

في نظر خامنئي، هو الثورة

كان مفهوم "ولاية الفقيه" جوهر الثورة الإسلامية في إيران عام 1979. فقد كان ذلك هو الصخرة التي بُنيت عليها الثورة، والفكرة المثبتة في دستور يمنح السلطة المطلقة لكبير الفقهاء في البلاد، أي المرشد الأعلى. وكان سلف خامنئي، آية الله روح الله الخميني، قد أصدر في عهده حكماً يقضي بتمتع المرشد الأعلى بصلاحيةً لا تقتصر على تجميد أي قانون مدني إيراني فحسب، بل أيضاً على أي منحى يراه مبرراً من الشريعة الإسلامية.

ومنذ توليه السلطة في عام 1989، اتخذ خامنئي عدة خطوات أخرى مضت قدماً بولاية الفقيه. ففي عهد الخميني، كان موقف العديد من رجال الدين البارزين فاتراً تجاه هذا المفهوم أو حتى ناقداً له. إلّا أن خامنئي صرّح مراراً وتكراراً بأنه "يتعيّن على جميع المسلمين، بمن فيهم آيات الله العظمى، الامتثال لأوامر الولي الفقيه ... ولا يمكن تمييز الالتزام بإطاعة الولي الفقيه عن الالتزام بالإسلام ... وأن قرارات الولي الفقيه وسلطته ... تعلو على إرادة الشعب وسلطته في حال وجود خلافٌ بينهما."

علاوة على ذلك، فرض خامنئي عبادةً مهيبة لشخصيته. إذ يتوجب على وسائل الإعلام الإيرانية عدم الإشارة إليه بصفة "القائد" المنصوص عليها في الدستور بل تسميته "المرشد الأعلى المعظّم". كما يُطالب كبار المسؤولين - في خطاب تلو الآخر - بالولاء ليس فقط لولاية الفقيه بل لخامنئي نفسه. وأولئك الذين يعتبرون منتقديه سيلقون معاملة قاسية حتى لو كانوا ملتزمين بالمبدأ الذي يمنحه السلطة المطلقة، كما حدث مع مرشحي الرئاسة السابقين مهدي كروبي ومير حسين موسوي.

فضلاً عن ذلك، لطالما جادل خامنئي بأن معارضة المرشد الأعلى هي جوهر الخطط الأمريكية المفترضة لتغيير النظام. على سبيل المثال، جادل قائلاً في عام 1997: "إن الغطرسة العالمية [جملته الشهيرة للإشارة إلى الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها] فكرّت في تجربة وسيلة أكثر فعاليةً لمحاربة الثورة الإسلامية. وبعد دراسات كثيرة توصلَتْ إلى استنتاج مفاده أن عليها استهداف قائد الثورة، لأنها تعلم أن جميع مؤامراتها ستفشل بوجود قائد قوي في جمهورية إيران الإسلامية."

ما الذي يفعله الأمر التنفيذي من الرابع والعشرين من حزيران/يونيو؟

ينصّ الأمر التنفيذي رقم 13876، على وجه التحديد، من بين أحكام أخرى، على تجميد الأصول الأمريكية لأي شخصٍ "قدّم المساعدة المادية أو الرعاية أو الدعم المالي أو المادي أو التقني أو السلع والخدمات" للأفراد المعيّنين من قبل المرشد الأعلى. ويشمل هؤلاء الأفراد "الموظفين الحكوميين [مسؤولي الدولة]" ورؤساء "أي هيئة كائنة في إيران، أو أي هيئة واقعة خارج إيران وتعود ملكيتها لهيئة واحدة أو أكثر في إيران أو تخضع لسيطرتها". بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجيز الأمر المذكور لوزير الخزانة الأمريكي، بالتشاور مع وزير الخارجية الأمريكي، فرض عقوبات صارمة على المؤسسات المالية الأجنبية التي "أنجزت أو سهّلت عن سابق معرفة أي معاملة مالية كبيرة لصالح أي شخص أو نيابة عنه" والذي يستوفي المعايير المذكورة أعلاه.

على سبيل المثال، يمكن الآن اتخاذ تدابير صارمة بحق المصارف العراقية أو اللبنانية التي تفتح حسابات لمؤسسات تابعة لقادة معيّنين من قبل خامنئي، كـ "لجنة إعمار العتبات المقدسة" ومجموعة كبيرة من المؤسسات الخيرية ظاهرياً. ومن الناحية الفنية تعتبر العديد من هذه المؤسسات مستقلة عن الحكومة الإيرانية، وبالتالي لا تخضع بالضرورة للعقوبات الأمريكية السابقة (وعلى وجه التحديد، عقوبات إدارة أوباما ضد الأجهزة الحكومية التي اتُخذت في شباط/فبراير 2012). لنتصوّر أن واشنطن لم تفرض قط عقوبات مباشرة على "مؤسسة المضطهدين والمعاقين" ("بنیاد مستضعفان و جانبازان")، وهي منظمة ضخمة ناضلت بجهدٍ للبقاء مستقلة قانونياً عن الحكومة على الرغم من أنها تخضع مباشرة لسيطرة المرشد الأعلى. وغالباً ما تنشط هذه المؤسسات في العراق ولبنان وأفغانستان وبلدان أخرى حيث يمكن أن يؤدي تهديد العقوبات الأمريكية إلى تخويف المصارف المحلية بحيث تقطع تعاملاتها معها.

الخطوات القادمة لخامنئي

من خلال استهداف المرشد الأعلى على هذا الصعيد الشخصي، سيكون للأمر الصادر في 24 حزيران/يونيو تأثير أوسع، وهو: إقناعه بأن الهدف الأمريكي هو الإطاحة بنظامه. وعلى الرغم من أن ذلك سيرسّخ الاعتقاد الذي يؤمن به لسنوات طويلة، إلّا أن القضية الأكثر أهمية هي ما إذا كان الأمر التنفيذي سيؤدي إلى تغيير أفعاله، وليس معتقداته.

في خطابٍ ألقاه في 29 أيار/مايو، قام خامنئي بتقييم الاستراتيجية الأمريكية على النحو التالي: "يمارسون الضغوط لإرهاق الجانب الآخر. وعندما يشعرون أن الجانب الآخر منهَك وقد يقبل بشروطهم، يقولون 'حسناً، دعونا نتفاوض'. تأتي المفاوضات تكملةً لضغوطهم". ثم جادل بأن ردّ إيران الوحيد الممكن هو كسب النفوذ ضد الولايات المتحدة لكي ربما تصبح في موقع قوة. وفي رأيه أن إيران تملك تحت تصرفها ما يكفي من "الوسائل لممارسة الضغط" وعليها استخدامها. ومع أنه لم يسمٍّ أي من هذه الوسائل التي كان يقصدها، إلا أنه من المفترض أنه كان يشير إلى المشاريع التي انشغلت بها إيران مؤخراً، إي: إعادة تفعيل برنامجها النووي وتهديد إمدادات النفط الخليجية. ومهما يكن الأمر، فقد اكتسبت طهران نفوذاً بالفعل. ففي حين أن الحديث قبل شهرين كان يركز على نجاح واشطن غير المتوقع في إلحاق أذىً حقيقي بالاقتصاد الإيراني، إلّا أن التركيز حالياً ينصب على مدى خطورة المنطقة وقابليتها للانفجار، وأصبح الكثير من زعماء العالم يدعون إلى التوصل إلى حل وسط.

وفي المقابل، لعل سعي خامنئي لكسب النفوذ قد يكون في الواقع أمراً جيداً إذا كان هذا يعني أنه مستعد للنظر في إجراء محادثات جديدة. فالمشكلة تكمن في ارتيابه الدائم من المفاوضات والتسويات التي غالباً ما يصفها بالمنحدر الخطر (على سبيل المثال، لاحِظْ مقاومته المريرة لمحاولة التوصل إلى حل وسط في أعقاب الاحتجاجات الجماهيرية في إيران عام 2009، أو مناشداته لـ «حزب الله» والفلسطينيين حول التمسك بـ "المقاومة" ضد إسرائيل بدلاً من التفاوض). ومن المؤكد أن خطابه الأخير لم يُظهر أدنى اهتمام بالتحاور مع الولايات المتحدة. فبعد لقائه برئيس الوزراء الياباني شينزو آبي في 13 حزيران/يونيو، أدلى خامنئي بتصريح من على شاشات التلفزيون، أعلن فيه بإهانة: "ليس لدينا شك في حسن نواياكم وجديتكم، ولكن فيما يتعلق بما قلتم حول ما أخبركم به الرئيس ترامب، فأنا لا أعتبر ترامب شخصاً يستحق تبادل الرسائل معه. ليس لدي أي ردٌّ له، ولن أجيبه." وفي خطاب ألقاه في 26 حزيران/يونيو قال، إن "المفاوضات هي طريقتهم في خداعك للحصول على ما يريدون. أنت تحمل السلاح، فلا يجرؤ الطرف الآخر على الاقتراب منك. لذلك يقول لك ارمِ سلاحك لكي أستطيع إيذاءك. هذا ما يعنوه بالمفاوضات. إذا استسلمتَ لهم، فقد انتهى أمرك! وإذا لم تقبل [تستسلم]، سيواصلون التذرع بحقوق الإنسان."

من المرجح أن يؤدي الأمر التنفيذي الجديد إلى تأجيج مثل هذا الخطابات، ولكن الحقيقة هي أنه إذا قبل خامنئي بالمفاوضات، فسوف يفعل ذلك ليس لأنه يريد التفاوض، بل لأنه يعتبره ضرورياً للحفاظ على حكمه - حتى إذا كان يندد بالمفاوضات طوال الوقت. فقد أعلن في 14 أيار/مايو أن "المفاوضات سُمّ"، مذكِّراً بقول آية الله الخميني عام 1998 بأن إنهاء الحرب مع العراق كان "أكثر فتكاً من شرب نبات الشوكران". لكن الأمر الصادر في 24 حزيران/يونيو يسير بواشنطن خطوةً إضافية على طريق الضغط على خامنئي لتناول "السم" والسماح بإقامة محادثات جديدة. ومن الممكن أن يتناوله - فمن خلال قبوله على مضض بالاتفاق النووي لعام 2015 أظهر أنه يمكن دفعه إلى فعل أمور يعارضها بشدة إذا كان يعتقد أنها ضروريةً للحفاظ على النظام.

 

پاتريك كلاوسون هو زميل أقدم في زمالة "مورنينغستار" ومدير الأبحاث في معهد واشنطن. مهدي خلجي هو زميل "ليبيتزكي فاميلي" في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3146

Khamenei Will See Sanctions on Him as a Direct Challenge to the Revolution

Patrick Clawson and Mehdi Khalaji

Also available in العربية فارسی

June 27, 2019


The Supreme Leader regards his rule as the central feature of the Islamic Revolution, so the latest White House order will seem like a shot at the entire system.

The natural temptation when analyzing new U.S. sanctions against Iran is to ask what economic impact they will have. By that metric, President Trump’s June 24 executive order may seem modest—it closes the U.S. financial system to those who deal with individuals directly appointed by Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei, or with institutions controlled by these appointees.

Economic impact is the wrong metric, however. The main U.S. objective is to press Iran’s leaders, not reduce the country to poverty. Therefore, a better question to ask is: how will the new sanctions affect Iran’s leaders? The answer is clear: no steps could be better designed to infuriate the regime’s top official than the June 24 executive order.

IN KHAMENEI’S EYES, HE IS THE REVOLUTION

The essence of Iran’s 1979 Islamic Revolution was the concept of “guardianship of the jurist,” or velayat-e faqih. This was the rock on which the revolution was founded, embedded in a constitution that gives absolute power to the nation’s top jurist, the Supreme Leader. Khamenei’s predecessor, Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini, once ruled that the Supreme Leader has the authority to set aside not only any Iranian civic law, but also any aspect of Islamic law if he deems it expedient.

Since assuming power in 1989, Khamenei has taken velayat-e faqih several steps further. Under Khomeini, many leading clerics were lukewarm toward the principle or even critical of it. Yet Khamenei has repeatedly made statements like the following: “All Muslims including the grand ayatollahs should obey the orders of the ruling jurist...Commitment to the ruling jurist is indistinguishable from commitment to Islam...The ruling jurist’s decisions and authorities...precede and trump the will and authority of the people in case of conflict between them.”

Furthermore, Khamenei has built an imposing cult of personality. Iranian media are required to refer to him not with the constitutional title of “Leader,” but as “Exalted Supreme Leader.” Speech after speech by senior officials demands loyalty not just to velayat-e faqih but to Khamenei himself. Those seen as criticizing him are treated harshly even if they espouse loyalty to the principle that gives him full power, as happened with former presidential candidates Mehdi Karrubi and Mir Hossein Mousavi.

Khamenei has long argued that opposition to the Supreme Leader is the central element in America’s supposed plans for regime change. In 1997, for instance, he argued, “Global arrogance [his catchphrase for the United States and its allies] thought that it could try a more effective way to fight the Islamic Revolution. After much study, it came to the conclusion that it should target the leader of the revolution, because it knows that with a powerful leader in Islamic Iran, all their conspiracies would fail.”

WHAT DOES THE JUNE 24 ORDER DO?

Among other provisions, Executive Order 13876 specifically freezes the U.S. assets of any person who has “materially assisted, sponsored, or provided financial, material, or technological support for, or goods and services to” individuals appointed by the Supreme Leader. These individuals include both “state officials” and the heads of “any entity located in Iran, or any entity located outside of Iran that is owned or controlled by one or more entities in Iran.” In addition, the order authorizes the Treasury secretary, in consultation with the secretary of state, to impose tough sanctions on foreign financial institutions that have “knowingly conducted or facilitated any significant financial transaction for or on behalf of any person” that meets the above criteria.

For example, strong action can now be taken against Iraqi or Lebanese banks that open accounts for institutions whose leaders are appointed by Khamenei, such as the Headquarters for the Restoration of Holy Shrines or a host of ostensibly charitable foundations. Many of these institutions are technically separate from the Iranian government and therefore not necessarily subject to previous U.S. sanctions (specifically, the Obama administration’s February 2012 sanctions against state agencies). Consider that Washington has never directly sanctioned the Foundation for the Oppressed and Disabled (Bonyad-e Mostazafan va Janbazan), a huge organization that has fought hard to keep itself legally distinct from the government even though it is directly controlled by the Supreme Leader. Such institutions are often active in Iraq, Lebanon, Afghanistan, and other countries where the threat of U.S. sanctions could scare local banks into cutting them off.

KHAMENEI’S NEXT STEPS

By targeting the Supreme Leader in such a personal way, the June 24 order will have a broader effect: convincing him that the U.S. objective is to overthrow his regime. Although this will reinforce a belief he has held for years, the more important issue is whether the order will change his actions, not his beliefs.

In a May 29 speech, Khamenei assessed the U.S. strategy as follows: “They exert pressure to exhaust the other side. When they feel that the other side is exhausted and might accept their terms, they say, ‘Very well, let us negotiate.’ Negotiations complement their pressures.” He then argued that Iran’s only possible response is to gain leverage against the United States so that it can be in a position of strength. In his view, Iran has ample “instruments of exerting pressure” at its disposal and should use them. He did not spell out which instruments he meant, but he was presumably referring to the projects Iran has been so busy with lately: reactivating its nuclear program and threatening Gulf oil supplies. Whatever the case, Tehran has indeed gained leverage. Whereas two months ago the narrative centered on Washington’s unexpected success at imposing real pain on Iran’s economy, today’s focus is on how dangerous and volatile the region has become, with many world leaders now pushing for compromise.

Khamenei’s interest in gaining leverage could actually be good news if it means he is willing to consider new talks. The problem is that he has long been suspicions of negotiations and compromises, often describing them as a slippery slope (e.g., see his bitter resistance to compromise after Iran’s mass protests of 2009, or his exhortations to Hezbollah and the Palestinians about sticking with “resistance” against Israel instead of negotiating). Certainly his recent rhetoric shows no sign of interest in talking with the United States. During his televised remarks after meeting with Japanese prime minister Shinzo Abe on June 13, Khamenei insultingly declared, “We have no doubt in your goodwill and seriousness, but regarding what you said the U.S. president told you, I don’t consider Trump as a person worthy of exchanging messages with...I have no response for him and will not answer him.” And in a June 26 speech, he stated, “Negotiations are their way of deceiving you so as to get what they want. You hold the gun and the other side doesn’t dare approach you; so they say drop your gun so that I can harm you. This is what they mean by negotiations...If you surrender to them, you’re done for! And if you don’t accept [surrender], they will keep fussing about human rights excuses.”

The new executive order will likely heighten such rhetoric, but the reality is that if Khamenei accepts negotiations, he will do so not because he wants them, but because he believes they are necessary to preserve his rule—even if he rails against them the whole time. On May 14 he declared that “negotiation is poison,” reminiscent of Ayatollah Khomeini’s 1988 statement that ending the war with Iraq was “more deadly than drinking hemlock.” The June 24 order takes Washington another step down the path of pressing Khamenei to drink the “poison” and allow new talks. And drink it he may—as his grudging tolerance of the 2015 nuclear deal showed, he can be pushed into doing things he deeply opposes if he believes they are essential to preserving the system.

Patrick Clawson is the Morningstar Senior Fellow and director of research at The Washington Institute. Mehdi Khalaji is the Institute’s Libitzky Family Fellow.