أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3208

خطوات إيران النووية والمدير الجديد لـ "الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية"

سايمون هندرسون و إلينا ديلوجر

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

30 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019


في 29 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، اختار أعضاء مجلس إدارة "الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية" (الوكالة الدولية")، الذين اجتمعوا في فيينا، مديراً عاماً جديداً ليحل محل يوكيا أمانو الياباني، الذي توفي في تموز/يوليو بعد مرض طويل. والمرشح الفائز، الذي ما زال عليه الحصول على موافقة كاملة من الأعضاء، هو رافائيل ماريانو جروسي من الأرجنتين، الذي حصل على أغلبية الثلثين اللازمة في الاقتراع الثالث. وكان منافسه المدير العام بالنيابة لـ "الوكالة الدولية" كورنيل فيروتا من رومانيا. وكلاهما يتمتعان بخبرة كبيرة في الدبلوماسية النووية، لكن صحيفة "وول ستريت جورنال" ذكرت أن فيروتا أراد مواصلة النهج المتعمد والحذر الذي اتبعه أمانو، بينما يفضل جروسي إعادة تنظيم الوكالة، تشمل اتباع نهج "حازم ولكن عادل" تجاه إيران.

خطط طهران

إن التحدي الإيراني هو فني ودبلوماسي. وتتولى "الوكالة الدولية" مهمة مراقبة التزام البلاد بـ «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» ("الخطة") التي أُبرِمت في عام 2015 والتي وافقت بموجبها الجمهورية الإسلامية مع الولايات المتحدة وروسيا والصين وبريطانيا وفرنسا وألمانيا على تسوية "تضمن أن يكون برنامج إيران النووي سلمياً حصراً". ولكن إدارة ترامب انسحبت من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» في أيار/مايو 2018، مستشهدة بأوجه قصور "الخطة" في  مكافحة الإرهاب. ومن ثم، في وقت سابق من هذا العام، أعلنت إسرائيل أنها اكتشفت وسرقت جزءاً من أرشيف إيران [النووي] مما يشير إلى أن طموحات طهران في مجال الأسلحة النووية التي لم تعترف بها إيران قط، كانت أكبر بكثير وأكثر تقدماً مما كان مقدراً من قبل.

ومنذ أيار/مايو 2019، أعلنت طهران عن سلسلة خطوات تقلّص التزاماتها بموجب «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»، مبررة ذلك بسبب العداء الأمريكي كما تدّعي، والعقوبات المتزايدة المفروضة عليها، لا سيما على صادراتها من النفط، وإلغاء الإعفاءات ذات الصلة بالطاقة النووية. ووعدت إيران بمواصلة خفض التزاماتها على فترات أمدها ستين يوماً إذا لم يتم تخفيف العقوبات:

  • في 8 أيار/مايو، أعلنت إيران إنها لن تلتزم بعد الآن بالحد الأقصى البالغ 300 كيلوغرام المفروض على مخزونها من سداسي فلوريد اليوارنيوم ("UF6") المخصب إلى نسبة 3,6 في المائة في نظير اليورانيوم "U-235" الحاسم. (يحتوي اليورانيوم العادي على 0.7 بالمائة من "U-235". أما سداسي فلوريد اليورانيوم - كغاز - فهو المادة الأولية لأجهزة الطرد المركزي، على الرغم من أنه مادة صلبة في درجة حرارة الغرفة.)
  • في 7 تموز/يوليو، بدأت إيران بتخصيب اليورانيوم إلى نسبة تتجاوز 3.67 في المائة لتصل إلى 4.55 في المائة. (التخصيب لأكثر من 90 في المائة ضروري لسلاح نووي.)
  • في 6 أيلول/سبتمبر، أعلن الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني أن بلاده تلغي التزامها بجدول زمني معين لاستئناف أعمال البحث والتطوير النووية غير المقيدة. وبعد ذلك بوقت قصير، بدأت في تركيب أجهزة طرد مركزي أكثر تقدماً من المسموح بها بموجب «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»، مما قد يُقصّر الوقت لإنتاج ما يكفي من اليورانيوم العالي التخصيب  اللازم لصنع سلاح نووي. (الرقم المعتاد المُعطى لكمية هذه المواد المتفجرة النووية اللازمة هو 25 كيلوغراماً - حوالي 55 رطلاً - وهي بحجم فاكهة الليمون الهندي تقريباً.)
  • من المتوقع الإعلان عن الخطوة التالية، الرابعة، في الأسبوع الأول من شهر تشرين الأول/نوفمبر.

وبالتوازي مع هذه التغييرات، اقترح كبار المسؤولين الإيرانيين بشدة الخطوات التي يمكن أن تأتي بعد ذلك. وتشمل هذه زيادة عدد أجهزة الطرد المركزي العاملة فيما يتخطى حدود «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» البالغة 5,060، من خلال إعادة فتح منشأة التخصيب "فوردو" في أعماق الجبل من أجل الاستخدام النووي، والتي بموجب «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» كان من المقرر أن تُعاد برمجة هذه المنشأة وتوجيهها للبحوث غير النووية. كما تطرقت التعليقات إلى مفاعل "آراك" للمياه الثقيلة، وهو أمر مثير للقلق لأن تصميمه الأصلي مواتٍ لإنتاج البلوتونيوم، وهو متفجر نووي محتمل آخر. وفي تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، قال الرئيس روحاني إن العمل يجري على تصميم جهازين للطرد المركزي لم يتم الكشف عنهما سابقاً، هما "IR-7" و "IR-9". ويمكن تقصير عملية التخصيب باستخدام أجهزة طرد مركزي أعلى سرعة وأطول حجماً، ولكن ذلك يتطلب منها أن تكون مصنوعة من مواد أكثر صلابة، مثل الفولاذ الخاص عالي المقاومة أو ألياف الكربون.

ومن المحتمل أن تكون المشكلة الكبرى التي سيواجهها المدير العام الجديد لـ "الوكالة الدولية" هي الفرضية التخمينية الإيرانية عن إمكانية أن تشمل خطوتها الرابعة تقييد إمكانية اطلاع "الوكالة الدولية" على أنشطتها عبر وقف تنفيذ إيران لاتفاقات الضمان التي التزمت بها سابقاً. وتسمح هذه الاتفاقات لـ "الوكالة الدولية" إجراء عمليات تفتيش وتدقيق في إيران، وفي بلدان أخرى أيضاً، بواسطة مزيج من زيارات المتخصصين وأجهزة الرصد التي يتم التحكم بها عن بُعد، والإبلاغ عن جميع أنشطتها النووية، وخاصة إنتاج اليورانيوم المخصب.

وتفاقمت المخاوف بشأن مخزونات اليورانيوم الإيراني المخصب حين أدلى المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي بتصريح في 9 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر. فوفقاً لـ "هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية"، قال في مقطع فيديو نُشر على حسابه الرسمي على موقع "تويتر": "إن تطوير وتخزين [القنابل النووية] أمر خاطئ" لأن استخدامها محرّم". وأشار الخبراء في شؤون الانتشار النووي، الذين لفتوا إلى ضرورة التنبه إلى ما لا يقوله المسؤولون الإيرانيون بقدر ما يجب التنبه إلى ما يقولونه، إلى أن هذه الصياغة لا تحول دون تجميع المواد النووية المتفجرة.

المخاوف المتعلقة بالمشتريات

لا تزال المشتريات غير المشروعة تُشكّل مصدر قلق خاص للمجتمع الدولي. فمنذ عام 2015، أشار كل تقرير ربع سنوي لـ "الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية" بشأن إيران إلى امتثال البلاد لالتزاماتها، ولكن في تموز/يوليو 2019 وُجهت الاتهامات إلى ثلاثة إيرانيين في نيويورك بمحاولة تصدير "عدة أطنان" من ألياف الكربون بطريقة غير مشروعة، وهي مواد يمكن استخدامها في مخاريط أنف الصواريخ وفي بعض أنواع أجهزة الطرد المركزي [المعدّة] للتخصيب أيضاً. وأحد الإيرانيين، الذين تم تسليمه من ألمانيا، هو قيد الاحتجاز؛ والاثنان الآخران طليقان. وفي عام 2018، أبلغت الولايات المتحدة والإمارات العربية المتحدة بشكل منفصل عن حالات تصدير "عناصر مزدوجة الاستخدام" ذات هدف نووي محتمل إلى إيران. وشملت الشحنة التي أَبلغت عنها الولايات المتحدة ألياف الكربون.

لقد ذُكر القليل عن الدور المحتمل للخبراء الأجانب في مساعدة إيران على الحصول على المواد والمعدات واستخدامها. فقد استفادت كل من باكستان، التي تلقت منها إيران تقنية التخصيب في الماضي، والعراق في نهاية حكم صدام حسين، إلى حد كبير من المساعدات الخارجية التي وفّرها [بعض] الأفراد، وفي حالة باكستان، من الصين أيضاً. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن "الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية" ليست منظمة تجسس ولا قوة شرطة. وفي حين أن الحفاظ على حرية الوصول الكامل للمفتشين إلى داخل إيران أمر مهم، إلّا أنه يبقى هناك دور حاسم للجمارك وعملاء المخابرات في الخارج.

ومما يثير الاهتمام أيضاً هو العثور مؤخراً على آثار لليورانيوم في منشأة لتنظيف السجاد في إيران، لم يتم الإعلان عنها لـ "الوكالة الدولية" كونها ذات صلة بالأسلحة النووية. وفي أيلول/سبتمبر، وأثناء وجود المدير العام بالنيابة لـ "الوكالة الدولية" كورنيل فيروتا، في طهران لحضور اجتماعات [تتعلق ببرنامج إيران النووي]، دفع هذا المسؤول إيران إلى تحسين تعاونها مع منظمته. وقال في مؤتمر صحفي "الوقت هو جوهر الموضوع"، وأضاف بأنه يعتقد أن "تلك الرسالة كانت مفهومة جيداً." وقد اعتُبرت تفاصيل القضية موضوع البحث سرية، لكن تم فيما بعد تقديم "وصف عام للغاية" للدبلوماسيين الملحقين بـ "الوكالة الدولية". كما أخبر متحدث باسم الوكالة الصحفيين أن إيران تجري تعديلات على مجموعات من أجهزة الطرد المركزي، المعروفة باسم الآلات التعاقبية، وهي من نوع وحجم محظورين بموجب «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة». وتضمّنت التعديلات 164 آلة تعاقبية من نوع "آي-أر 2م" و"آي-أر-4". وتستخدم هذه الآلات التعاقبية للتخصيب من 0.7 في المائة "يو -235" إلى 3 في المائة، ومن 3 في المائة إلى 20 في المائة. وهذا الرقم الأعلى بنسبة 20 في المائة مثير للقلق لأن الانتقال من هذا المستوى إلى المواد المستخدمة في صنع القنابل النووية يعتبر أمراً سهلاً نسبياً.

البحث عن توضيح حول موضوع مُعقّد

ربما تصب الطبيعة التقنية للنقاش لصالح إيران لأن التعديلات المعلنة في الالتزامات الإيرانية، المقترنة بتكهنات حول الخطوات التالية، تولّد عناوين دون سياق. وإليكم بعض التوضيح:

  • هناك حاجة إلى 5000 كيلوغرام من اليورانيوم الطبيعي لإنتاج 25 كيلوغراماً من اليورانيوم المخصب بنسبة 90 في المائة اللازم لصنع قنبلة ذرية واحدة من تصميم الأسلحة القديمة نسبياً التي يفترض امتلاك إيران لها.
  • سيستغرق حوالي 5000 جهاز طرد مركزي من نوع "آي آر-1" الإيراني حوالي عام - وهو ما يسمى بفترة تجاوز العتبة النووية - لإنتاج كمية اليورانيوم العالي التخصيب اللازم لصنع قنبلة نووية. وستكون هناك حاجة إلى حوالي 1000 جهاز طرد مركزي من نوع "آي آر-2إم" الإيراني لتحقيق النتيجة نفسها - على الرغم من أنه لأسباب فنية، لا يمكن لـ "آي آر-1" أن ينتج يورانيوم عالي التخصيب، وقد لا تتمكن إيران من جعل "آي آر-2إم" يعمل بشكل صحيح، أيضاً. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن التصاميم الأكثر "تطوراً" قد لا تعمل بكفاءة أو قد يستغرق الأمر سنوات لتطويرها.

ومع ذلك، لا يوجد مجال للتهاون. فاستمرار إيران باستخدام أجهزة الطرد المركزي وإجراء الأبحاث بشأنها يتيحان لها اكتساب الخبرة والمعرفة. ويُظهر الأرشيف النووي الذي استحوذت عليه إسرائيل أن إيران أجرت قدر كبير من العمل في تصميم سلاح داخلي الانفجار يتم فيه إقحام نواة من اليورانيوم العالي التخصيب في كتلة حرجة لتوليد سلسلة من التفاعلات المتفجرة من الحجم الذي دمّر مدينتي هيروشيما وناجازاكي اليابانيتين في عام 1945.

وببساطة، ينبغي النظر بقلق شديد إلى أي ابتعاد إيراني عن شروط «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»، خاصة بسبب السلوك الخطير الذي مارسته إيران، وإن كان قد نُفي، في الآونة الأخيرة في منطقة الخليج، والذي شمل وضع ألغام أرضية على الناقلات بدءاً من أيار/مايو ولا سيما هجمات الطائرات بدون طيار على منشأة بقيق السعودية لمعالجة النفط في أيلول/سبتمبر. وهذا هو المحيط الدبلوماسي الأوسع الذي ينتظر المدير العام الجديد لـ "الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية" ونهجه الأكثر صرامة فيما يتعلق بقضية إيران.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في معهد واشنطن. إلينا ديلوجر، هي زميلة أبحاث في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3208

Iran’s Nuclear Steps and the New IAEA Chief

Simon Henderson and Elana DeLozier

Also available in العربية فارسی

October 30, 2019


The steady weakening by Tehran of its international nuclear commitments will be the most immediate challenge for the next head of the world’s nuclear watchdog.

On October 29, board members of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), meeting in Vienna, made their choice for the next director-general, replacing Yukiya Amano of Japan, who died in July after a long illness. The winning candidate, who still has to be approved by the full membership, is Rafael Mariano Grossi of Argentina, who secured the necessary two-thirds majority in the third ballot. His competition was acting director-general Cornel Feruta of Romania. Both are very experienced in nuclear diplomacy, but the Wall Street Journal reported Feruta had wanted to continue the deliberate, careful approach of Amano, while Grossi prefers to shake up the agency, including a “firm but fair” approach to Iran.

Tehran’s Plans

The challenge of Iran is both technical and diplomatic. The IAEA is charged with monitoring the country’s adherence to the 2015 Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), by which the Islamic Republic agreed with the United States, Russia, China, Britain, France, and Germany to an arrangement that “will ensure that Iran’s nuclear program will be exclusively peaceful.” But, citing the JCPOA’s inadequacies, the Trump administration withdrew in May 2018. Then, earlier this year, Israel announced that it had discovered and stolen part of Iran’s archive indicating that its nuclear weapons ambitions, to which Tehran had never admitted, were much larger and more advanced than previously appreciated.

Since May 2019, Tehran has announced a series of steps to reduce its JCPOA commitments, claiming justification because of U.S. hostility, growing sanctions, particularly on its oil exports, and the lifting of nuclear-related waivers. Iran has promised to continue reducing its commitments at sixty-day intervals if sanctions are not eased:

  • On May 8, Iran announced it would no longer be committed to a 300-kilogram cap on its stockpile of uranium hexafluoride (UF6) enriched to 3.67 percent in the crucial isotope U-235. (Normal uranium contains 0.7 percent of U-235. UF6, or “hex,” is—as a gas—the feedstock for centrifuges, although it is a solid at room temperature.)
  • On July 7, Iran started to enrich uranium beyond 3.67 percent to 4.5 percent. (Enrichment to more than 90 percent is needed for a nuclear weapon.)
  • On September 6, Iran’s president, Hassan Rouhani, announced that his country was canceling its commitment to a timetable for resumption of unrestricted nuclear research and development. Shortly afterward, it began installing more advanced centrifuges than allowed under the JCPOA, potentially shortening the time to produce enough high-enriched uranium (HEU) needed for a nuclear weapon. (The usual figure given for the amount of such nuclear explosive material needed is 25 kilograms—about 55 pounds—and roughly the size of a grapefruit.)
  • The next, fourth, step is expected to be announced in the first week of November.

Parallel to these changes, leading Iranian officials have been suggesting loudly the steps that could come next. These include increasing the number of centrifuges in operation beyond the JCPOA limit of 5,060, by reopening for nuclear use the deep-in-a-mountain Fordow enrichment facility, which under the JCPOA was to be repurposed for nonnuclear research. Comments have also touched on the Arak heavy-water reactor, which is of concern because its original design is favorable to the production of plutonium, another potential nuclear explosive. President Rouhani said in October that work was being done on two previously undisclosed centrifuge designs, the IR-7 and IR-9. The enrichment process can be shortened using higher-speed and taller centrifuges, but this requires them to be made of tougher material, such as high-strength special steel or carbon fiber.

Of probable greatest concern to the incoming IAEA director-general will have been speculative Iranian commentary that the fourth step may include reducing access to the international agency by cutting Iran’s implementation of safeguard agreements to which it has previously committed. These currently allow the IAEA to inspect Iran, as well as other countries, using a combination of visiting specialists and remote-controlled monitors, and to report on all its nuclear work, in particular the production of enriched uranium. 

Apprehensions over Iran’s enriched uranium stockpiles were heightened by a comment from Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei on October 9, when, according to the BBC, he said on a video clip published on his official Twitter account: “Developing and storing [nuclear bombs] is wrong because using them is haram [forbidden by Islamic law].” Experts on proliferation, who have indicated Iranian officials should be monitored as much for what they don’t as what they do say, noted that this phrasing does not restrict accumulating nuclear explosive material.

Procurement Worries

Illicit procurement remains of particular concern for the international community. Since 2015, each quarterly IAEA report on Iran has noted the country’s compliance with its obligations, but in July 2019 three Iranians were charged in New York with trying to illegally export “many tons” of carbon fiber, a material that can be used in missile nose cones as well as some types of enrichment centrifuges. One of the Iranians, extradited from Germany, is in detention; the other two are at large. In 2018, the United States and the United Arab Emirates separately reported instances of the export to Iran of “dual-use items” that have a potential nuclear purpose. The U.S.-reported shipment included carbon fiber.

Little mentioned is the possible role of foreign experts in helping Iran acquire—and use—material and equipment. Both Pakistan, from which Iran received enrichment technology in the past, and Iraq at the end of Saddam Hussein’s rule, benefited considerably from foreign assistance by individuals and, in Pakistan’s case, also China. The IAEA is neither a spy organization nor a police force. While maintaining full access inside Iran for inspectors is important, a crucial role remains for customs and the intelligence agents overseas.

Also of interest, traces of uranium were found recently at a carpet-cleaning facility in Iran, which had not been declared to the IAEA as being nuclear-related. In September, while in Tehran for meetings, acting IAEA head Feruta pushed Iran to improve its cooperation with his organization. “Time is of the essence,” he said at a news conference, adding that he thought “this was a message very well understood.” Details of the issue in question were deemed confidential, but a “very general description” was given later to diplomats attached to the IAEA. An agency spokesman also told journalists that Iran was making modifications to groups of centrifuges, known as cascades, of a size and type scrapped under the JCPOA. Specifically, the modifications involved 164 machine cascades of the IR-2m and IR-4 centrifuge types. Such cascades are used for enriching from 0.7 percent U-235 to 3 percent, and from 3 percent to 20 percent. This higher 20 percent figure is worrisome because getting from this level to bomb-grade material is theoretically comparatively easy.

Seeking Clarity on a Complex Topic

The technical nature of the discussion probably plays to Iran’s advantage because announced changes to Iranian commitments, joined by speculation about next steps, produce headlines without context. Some perspective follows here:

  • 5,000 kilograms of natural uranium is needed to produce the 25 kilograms of 90-percent-enriched uranium required for one atomic bomb of the comparatively old-fashioned weapon design Iran is assumed to have.
  • About 5,000 centrifuges of Iran’s IR-1 type would take about a year—the so-called breakout time—to produce the amount of HEU needed for a bomb. About 1,000 centrifuges of its IR-2m model would be needed for the same result—although for technical reasons, the IR-1 cannot produce HEU, and Iran may not be able to make the IR-2m work properly, either. Further, more “advanced” designs may not work efficiently or may take years to develop.

Yet there is little room for complacency. Iran’s continuing centrifuge use and research allow it to build experience and knowledge. And the nuclear archive taken by Israel shows that Iran had done considerable work on designing an implosion weapon, in which an HEU core is squeezed into a critical mass, creating an explosive chain reaction of the size that devastated the Japanese cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki in 1945.

Put simply, any further departure by Iran from the JCPOA terms should be viewed with great concern, especially because of Tehran’s recent dangerous behavior, albeit denied, in the Gulf area, including the placing of limpet mines on tankers starting in May and particularly the drone attacks on Saudi Arabia’s Abqaiq oil-processing facility in September. This is the wider diplomatic environment that awaits the incoming IAEA director-general and his reported firmer approach to the Iran issue.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy at The Washington Institute. Elana DeLozier is a research fellow at the Institute.