أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3176

كيف عمل قادة إسرائيل الأكثر أهمية على تحديد مصيرها

ديفيد ماكوفسكي, داليا رابين, جلعاد شارون, و دينس روس

متاح أيضاً في English

9 أيلول/سبتمبر 2019


"في الخامس من أيلول/سبتمبر، خاطب الزميلان الأقدمان دينس روس وديفيد ماكوفسكي منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن للاحتفال بإصدار كتابهما الجديد "كن قوياً وذو شجاعة جيدة: كيف عمل قادة إسرائيل الأكثر أهمية على تحديد مصيرها". وانضم إليهما نجلة ونجل اثنان من القادة الذين تم التطرق إليهما في الكتاب: داليا رابين، رئيسة مركز اسحق رابين، وجلعاد شارون، كاتب عمود في صحيفة "يديعوت أحرونوت". وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهم".

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

كان الدافع الرئيسي وراء هذا الكتاب هو الخيار المصيري الذي سيتعيّن على إسرائيل اتخاذه قريباً - وهو خيار يجب أن يستفيد من الرحلة التي خاضها الزعماء الإسرائيليون السابقون الذين طبعوا تاريخ إسرائيل. فكيف صنعوا هذه القرارات التاريخية، وما الذي يعمل منهم قادة عظماء؟

بالنسبة إلى ديفيد بن غوريون، أول رئيس وزراء إسرائيلي، كانت مهمته الأساسية هي إنهاء التشرد اليهودي بعد ألفي عام. ولم ينحرف أبداً عن هذا الهدف. فقد كان يعتقد أن الهجرة هي التي أبقت الحركة الصهيونية قائمة لأن اليهود كانوا أقلية في فلسطين في ذلك الوقت. ومن أجل خلق وطن قومي يهودي ديمقراطي، كانت هناك حاجة لمزيد من الهجرة.

ومن السمات الأخرى التي طبعت قيادة بن غوريون كانت إدراكه للأثر الذي ستخلّفه الأحداث العالمية على الحركة الصهيونية. فغالباً ما تمتّع ببعد النظر حول مثل هذه الأمور ؛ وفي عام 1945، كان مقتنعاً بأن شبح الحرب مع الدول العربية يلوح في الأفق رغم أن القليلين وافقوه على هذا الرأي. وما كان مثيراً للاهتمام أنه خشي أيضاً من أن تهاجم الولايات المتحدة إسرائيل، في مؤشر على التغيّر الجذري الذي وصلت إليه العلاقة بينهما اليوم.

ولم يخشَ بن غوريون اتخاذ قرارات حساسة لخير البلاد حتى عندما انطوت على مخاطر. فقد اتخذ القرار المثير للجدل بقبول التعويضات الألمانية في وقت كانت فيه الدولة الناشئة حديثاً تواجه ضيقة اقتصادية. والأهم من ذلك، أنه أعلن قيام الدولة في عام 1948 رغم كل الصعاب، وذلك باستخدام إطار عمله التحليلي لتحديد ضرورة اتخاذ القرار في ذلك الوقت.

أما رئيس الوزراء مناحيم بيغن، فقد وضع نصب عينه هدف وضع حدّ لشعور اليهود بأنهم ضحايا. كما آمن بقوة في الحاجة إلى التوازن بين القيم والمصالح. على سبيل المثال، اعتقد أنه من الخطأ فرض القانون العرفي في المجتمعات العربية لأن سكانها كانوا مواطنين إسرائيليين. وفي كامب ديفيد، وضع النموذج للقادة المستقبليين الذين سيقبلون بالحقوق الشرعية للشعب الفلسطيني. وآمن بيغن أن الوحدة الوطنية كانت مهمة للغاية ولا يجب أن تطغى على عدالة القضية. ولهذه الأسباب - وواقع أن معاهدة السلام التي توصل إليها مع مصر واجهت العديد من التحديات - لا يزال إرثه قائماً حتى يومنا هذا.

داليا رابين

كانت قيادة اسحق رابين فريدة من نوعها. فقد أمضى معظم حياته كراشد في الجيش وتأثر بحرب عام 1948، التي أقنعته بضرورة تشكيل "جيش دفاع إسرائيلي" قوي. كما كان قائداً متواضعاً للغاية، بحيث لم ينسب الفضل لنفسه قط بينما كان يتحمل المسؤولية دائماً.

ومن منصبه كرئيس أركان "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" بعد حرب عام 1967، كتب أنه على إسرائيل تحويل ثمار ذلك النصر إلى سلام، مدركاً أن ذلك سيشمل تنازلات عن أراضٍ. ولم يكن صقراً تحوّل إلى حمامة بين عشية وضحاها؛ بل كان يسعى إلى السلام منذ أن شهد على الثمن الرهيب للحرب وترك خدمته في الجيش. وبالإضافة إلى إرساء البنية التحتية اللازمة للسلام في المنطقة، كان أيضاً مهندس العلاقة بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل.

جلعاد شارون

منذ سن مبكرة، جعل أرئيل شارون مهمته حماية حياة اليهود من خلال جعل إسرائيل دولة قوية. وخلال مسيرته الطويلة في الجيش، وضع معيار عدم إنهاء خدمته فيه قبل تنفيذ مهمته، وعدم التخلي أبداً عن زملائه، وتقديم أداء على أعلى مستوى. وبشكل خاص، لعب دوراً أساسياً في مهاجمة معقل مصر في شبه جزيرة سيناء خلال حرب عام 1967.

واعتمد على تفكيره الاستراتيجي مرة أخرى عندما انتُخب رئيساً للوزراء وواجه مستويات عالية من الإرهاب الفلسطيني. وللتصدي للانتفاضة الثانية، قاد "عملية الدرع الواقي" التي قلبت الموازين على الأرض بالكامل، من خلال التعبير عن إيمانه بتوجيه ضربات قاضية حاسمة. 

وعلى صعيد آخر، رأى أن العلاقة مع الولايات المتحدة هي أهم مكسب لإسرائيل في المجتمع الدولي، وهو رصيد يقوم على قيم مشتركة. كما ركّز على أهمية جلب اليهود إلى إسرائيل وإقامة روابط متينة مع الشتات. فضلاً عن ذلك، كان يعرف جيران إسرائيل جيداً، ومنح الأولوية لحق البلاد في الدفاع عن نفسها. باختصار، كلما رأى واقعاً يطرح مشاكل، وضع هدفاً وغيَّر ذلك الواقع.

دينس روس

اختلف القادة الأربعة الذين ترد مسيرتهم في كتاب "كن قوياً وذو شجاعة جيدة" من الناحية الإيديولوجية، لكن طريقة تعريفهم لدور القائد كانت متشابهة للغاية. ومن وجهة نظرهم، كان اتخاذ قرارات صعبة من مسؤوليتهم حتى وإن كانت لتلك الخيارات أثمان سياسية باهظة. وصحيح أنهم فهموا ثمن التحرك ولكن أيضاً ثمن التقاعس. فقد تحدث شارون عن وحدة القائد، في إشارة إلى العبء الثقيل في اتخاذ القرارات التي يحملها القائد وحده على كاهله. وتحمّل رابين كذلك مسؤولية قراراته، بغض النظر عن النتيجة. وكان كلا الرجلين يتمتعان أيضاً بقدرة تحليلية خارقة، وبالصدق تجاه نفسيهما وباستعدادهما لتلقي الأخبار السيئة.

ولعل الأمر الأكثر أهمية هو أن هؤلاء القادة أدركوا أهمية الحفاظ على هوية إسرائيل كدولة يهودية ديمقراطية. وإذا بقيت الدولة على طريقها الحالي، فستصبح "دولة واحدة لشعبين" بحكم الأمر الواقع. ومع ذلك، فإن هذا الواقع الذي يلوح في الأفق لا يكتسي أولوية في النقاش الوطني السائد في إسرائيل لأنه لا يشكل تهديداً وشيكاً كصواريخ «حزب الله» أو الترسيخ الإيراني في سوريا.

وتجدر الملاحظة أن الكتاب الجديد موجّه عموماً إلى الذين ينكرون هذا الوضع الديمغرافي أو يتجاهلونه. ويتضح مدى المشكلة من إحصاء أظهر أنه في عام 1986 بلغت نسبة اليهود إلى العرب في إسرائيل والأراضي المحتلة 63 في المائة بالمقارنة مع 37 في المائة. واليوم، حتى بعد وصول مئات الآلاف من اليهود السوفييت وانسحاب إسرائيل من غزة عام 2005، تبلغ النسبة 61 في المائة إلى 39 في المائة. وتشير هذه الأرقام إلى أن إسرائيل تصبح بسرعة دولة واحدة لشعبين - وهو وضع قد يجعل التحدي الدولي الذي تشكله حركة "المقاطعة وسحب الاستثمارات والعقوبات" يبدو وكأنه لعب أطفال إذا استغل الفلسطينيون الانعكاسات الانتخابية الكاملة لهذا الاتجاه الديمغرافي.

ويقيناً، لن يتوفر حل الدولتين في أي وقت قريب. فالفلسطينيون منقسمون كلياً، ويبدو أن الخلافة تلوح في الأفق في الضفة الغربية. ومع ذلك، من المهم الإبقاء على خيار الانفصال في المستقبل.

ويعني ذلك، من بين أمور أخرى، أن على إسرائيل وقف بناء المستوطنات خارج الحاجز الأمني في الضفة الغربية. ويعيش حوالي 85 في المائة من المستوطنين الإسرائيليين في كتل استيطانية كبيرة تقع داخل الحاجز الأمني أو على مقربة منه - في مساحات تشكل حوالي 8 في المائة من الضفة الغربية. ومع ذلك، فقد ارتفع عدد الإسرائيليين الذين يعيشون في مستوطنات متباينة منتشرة في أنحاء أخرى من الضفة الغربية إلى 104 آلاف. وإذا استمر هذا العدد بالارتفاع، فسوف يصل حتماً إلى نقطة تحوّل تفقد فيها إسرائيل الخيار السياسي للانفصال عن الضفة الغربية. ومن الواضح أن قوة حركة الاستيطان ستجعل أي خطوة على المدى القريب باتجاه الانفصال صعبة، ولكن مع ذلك يجب اتخاذ هذا القرار.

لقد قال شارون ذات مرة "جميع خلفائي هم رجال سياسة"، وهذا يعني أنهم كانوا فقط على استعداد لاتخاذ قرارات سياسية. وكان قلقه في محله؛ ولمعالجته، يفصّل الكتاب ما الذي يمكن أن تفعله الولايات المتحدة لجعل الأمر أسهل على القادة الإسرائيليين من الناحية السياسية لبدء سلوك درب الانفصال الصعب.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص باسيا روزنباوم.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3176

How Israel's Most Important Leaders Shaped Its Destiny

David Makovsky, Dalia Rabin, Gilad Sharon, and Dennis Ross

Also available in العربية

September 9, 2019


Two Washington Institute fellows join the children of former Israeli prime ministers to discuss how their legacy of leadership informs the country’s biggest looming challenge: maintaining the possibility of separation from the Palestinians.

On September 5, Washington Institute senior fellows Dennis Ross and David Makovsky addressed a Policy Forum to mark the release of their new book Be Strong and of Good Courage: How Israel’s Most Important Leaders Shaped Its Destiny. They were joined by the children of two of the leaders featured in the book: Dalia Rabin, the chair of the Yitzhak Rabin Center, and Gilad Sharon, a columnist for Yediot Aharonot. The following is a rapporteur’s summary of their remarks.

DAVID MAKOVSKY

The impetus behind this book was the fateful choice Israel will soon need to make—a choice that should be informed by the journey of past Israeli leaders who met the bar of history. How did they make these historic decisions, and what made these leaders great?

For David Ben-Gurion, Israel’s first prime minister, the central mission was to end Jewish homelessness after 2,000 years. He never deviated from that objective. He believed immigration was the oxygen of Zionism because Jews were a minority in Palestine at the time. In order to create a democratic Jewish homeland, more immigration was needed.

Another characteristic of Ben-Gurion’s leadership was his sense of how world events would affect Zionism. He was often prescient about such matters; in 1945, he was convinced that war was coming with the Arab states even though few others agreed. Interestingly, he also feared that the United States would attack Israel, an indication of how far the relationship has come today.

Ben-Gurion was not afraid of making momentous choices for the good of the country, even when they incurred risks. He made the controversial decision to accept German reparations when the fledging country was in bad shape economically. Most important, he declared statehood in 1948 against all odds, using his analytical framework to determine that the decision had to be made right then.

For Prime Minister Menachem Begin, the driving imperative was to end Jewish victimhood. He also believed strongly in the need for equilibrium between values and interests. For instance, he thought it was wrong to impose martial law in Arab communities since their residents were Israeli citizens. At Camp David, he set the template for future leaders who would accept the legitimate rights of the Palestinian people. Begin believed that national unity was all-important and should not overwhelm the justice of the cause. For these reasons—and the fact that the peace treaty he reached with Egypt has endured numerous challenges—his legacy remains vital today.

DALIA RABIN

Yitzhak Rabin had a unique brand of leadership. He spent most of his adult life in the army and was affected by the 1948 war, which convinced him of the need to form a strong Israel Defense Forces. He was also a deeply modest leader, never taking credit but always taking responsibility.

As IDF chief of staff after the 1967 war, he wrote that Israel needed to transform the fruits of that victory into peace, knowing territorial concessions would be involved. He was not a hawk that turned into a dove overnight; he had been seeking peace ever since he witnessed the terrible price of war and left the army. In addition to building infrastructure for peace in the region, he was also the architect of the U.S.-Israel relationship.

GILAD SHARON

From a young age, Ariel Sharon made it his mission to guard the lives of Jews by making Israel strong. During his long military career, he set the standard of not returning home until the mission was executed, never leaving men behind, and performing at the highest level. In particular, he played a key role in attacking the Egyptian stronghold in the Sinai Peninsula during the 1967 war.

His strategic thinking was again at play when he was elected prime minister and faced high levels of Palestinian terrorism. To counter the second intifada, he led Operation Defensive Shield, which completely changed the situation on the ground by reflecting his belief in achieving decisive knockouts.

Elsewhere, he saw the relationship with the United States as Israel’s most important asset in the international community, and one based on shared values. He also emphasized the importance of bringing Jews to Israel and creating a strong connection with the diaspora. Moreover, he knew Israel’s neighbors very well and prioritized the country’s right to defend itself. In short, whenever he saw a problematic reality, he set a goal and changed that reality.

DENNIS ROSS

The four leaders profiled in Be Strong and of Good Courage disagreed ideologically, but the way they defined the role of leader was very similar. In their view, making tough decisions was their responsibility even if these choices were politically costly. They understood the cost of action, but also the cost of inaction. Sharon spoke about the solitude of the leader, referring to the way in which this intense burden of decisionmaking fell solely on the leader’s shoulders. Rabin likewise took responsibility for his decisions, no matter the outcome. Both men were also superbly analytical, honest with themselves, and willing to hear bad news.

Perhaps most important, these leaders knew the importance of maintaining Israel’s identity as a democratic Jewish state. If the country stays on its current path, it will become “one state for two peoples” by default. Yet this looming reality is not at the forefront of Israel’s national debate because it is not an immediate threat in the same way as Hezbollah rockets or Iranian entrenchment in Syria.

The new book is largely aimed at those who deny or ignore this demographic situation. One statistic makes clear the extent of the problem. In 1986, the ratio of Jews to Arabs in Israel and the occupied territories was 63 percent to 37 percent. Today, even after the arrival of hundreds of thousands of Soviet Jews and Israel’s 2005 withdrawal from Gaza, the ratio is 61 percent to 39 percent. These numbers indicate that Israel is fast becoming one state for two peoples—a situation that could make the international “Boycott, Divestment, Sanctions” challenge seem like child’s play if the Palestinians seize on the full electoral implications of this demographic trend.

To be sure, no two-state solution will be available anytime soon. Palestinians are totally divided, and succession is looming in the West Bank. Even so, it is important to preserve the option of separation in the future.

Among other things, this means Israel must stop settlement construction outside the West Bank security barrier. Around 85 percent of Israeli settlers live in large blocs located within or near the barrier—areas that constitute around 8 percent of the West Bank. Yet the number of Israelis living in disparate settlements spread throughout other parts of the West Bank has swelled to 104,000. If that figure continues to grow, it will inevitably reach a tipping point at which Israel loses the political option to separate from the West Bank. Obviously, the power of the settler movement will make any near-term move toward separation difficult, but that decision must nevertheless be taken.

Sharon once said that “all my successors are politicians,” meaning they were only willing to make political decisions. His concern was valid; to address it, the book outlines what the United States can do to make it politically easier for Israeli leaders to start heading down the tough road of separation.

This summary was prepared by Basia Rosenbaum.