أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

لماذا غيّر نتنياهو موقفه من الانتخابات المبكرة؟

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

20 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، 2018


في تحوّل جذري نوعاً ما في مسار الأحداث السياسية في إسرائيل، رفع رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو سقف المنافسة ضد خصم سياسي بارز وأحبط الجهود التي كانت تُبذل لإجراء انتخابات مبكرة بدت حتميةً في الأسبوع الماضي. والنتيجة هي بقاء حكومة نتنياهو في الحكم إلى حين وصول موعد الانتخابات النظامية المقررة في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2019 - على الرغم من أن الأغلبية الضئيلة لائتلافه البالغة 61 مقابل 59 في البرلمان المكوّن من 120 عضواً تعني أنه لا توجد ضمانات باستمرار الحكومة حتى ذلك الوقت. وأياً كان الحال، سيشغل نتنياهو مؤقتاً مناصب وزير الدفاع ووزير الخارجية ورئيس الوزراء، وربما تكون هذه أقرب صيغة عرفتها إسرائيل عن نظام رئاسي فعلي.

وجاءت هذه الخطوة في خطاب بثّته المحطات التلفزيونية الوطنية في 18 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر حين قرر نتنياهو تخطّي وزير التربية نفتالي بينيت والتخاطب مباشرةً مع المواطنين وقاعدة مناصريه اليمينية. فبعد أن وصف بينيت بالمتعنّت لأنه هدد بالاستقالة إذا لم يتسلم حقيبة وزارة الدفاع، قال نتنياهو أنه عندما أُسقِطت حكومتا اليمين من الداخل خلال الدورتين الانتخابيتين عامي 1992 و 1999، فإنهما مهّدتا الطريق أمام مجئ حكومتي اليسار اللتين انتهجتا سياسات عدائية مفترضة.

وفي أعقاب الخطاب، واجه الوزير بينيت وحليفته الرئيسية وزيرة العدل أييليت شكيد، ضغوطاً بسبب وضع طموحاتهما الخاصة قبل الهدف المتمثل بالحفاظ على حكومة يمينية، مما دفعهما إلى الإعلان عن تغيير موقفهما. ومع ذلك، لا يزال وزير المالية موشيه كحلون الذي يرأس كتلة تضم عشرة نواب في البرلمان، يدعو إلى إجراء انتخابات مبكرة. وقد أثارت هذه التقلبات السريعة صدمةً في عالم السياسة الإسرائيلية.

والجدير بالذكر أن نتنياهو كان يتوسل لشركائه في الائتلاف من أجل إجراء انتخابات مبكرة منذ شهور، فما سبب هذا الانعكاس المفاجئ في موقفه؟ أولاً، تجدر الإشارة إلى أن نظرته العامة إلى السياسة الخارجية بقيت ثابتة: أي أنه يتفق مع قيادة "الجيش الإسرائيلي" على أن وقف إطلاق النار في غزة أفضل من أعمال التصعيد نظراً للأولوية الأكثر إلحاحاً المتمثلة بكبح الوجود الإيراني في سوريا. ومن شأن الانتخابات المبكرة أن تجعل من الصعب الحفاظ على وقف إطلاق النار.

كما يدرك نتنياهو جيداً أن اثنين من رؤساء الحكومة الثلاث الذين سبقوه قد أُخرجوا من الحكم بعد حدوث تصعيدات كبيرة في العنف بين الجانبين الإسرائيلي والفلسطيني. ويقيناً، تشير استطلاعات الرأي الأخيرة إلى أن 74% من الإسرائيليين غير راضين عن ردّه الانتقامي المحدود على موجة الضربات الصاروخية الأخيرة التي شنتها حركة «حماس». وفي الوقت الحالي، من غير المرجح أن يغيّر هذا النهج. وبدلاً من ذلك، يبدو أنه توّاقاً إلى منح نفسه المزيد من الوقت للتعافي من الأداء السيء الذي سجّله في استطلاعات الرأي وتجنُّب إجراء انتخابات مبكرة من شأنها أن تركز بشكل أكبر على احتدام الغضب في غزة. وبالطبع، لا يستطيع أن يتجاهل الاستياء الشعبي - فالتزامه بالجمود الحاصل أمر ضعيف وقد يتلاشى إذا أتاحت التطورات ذلك - ولكنه يعلم أن نتيجة الاستطلاع البالغة 74 في المائة لا تعني أن نسبة الناخبين نفسها - ولا حتى قريبة منها - تفضّل الاجتياح البري الشامل لغزة بسبب خطر وقوع ضحايا كبيرة في صفوف الإسرائيليين.

ويبدو أن نتنياهو يراهن أيضاً على نسيان استقالة وزير الدفاع أفيغدور ليبرمان مؤخراً - الذي قال إنه يريد ردّاً أكثر صرامةً ضد «حماس» - إذا تم تأجيل الانتخابات إلى تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر المقبل. إذ يدرك رئيس الوزراء أنه سيكون أكثر صعوبة على ليبرمان انتقاده من مقاعد المعارضة السياسية من قيامه بذلك عن طريق المؤتمرات الصحفية وعناوين الصحف التي تخصَّص بانتظام لوزراء الدفاع. وإذا انخفضت حدة قضية غزة في الأشهر المقبلة، فقد تضطر كتلة ليبرمان إلى الترشح للانتخابات كحزب للمهاجرين - وهو أمر من الصعب الترويج له لكسب الأصوات بعد مرور ثلاثين عاماً على الهجرة الجماعية لليهود من الاتحاد السوفيتي السابق.

وهناك عاملٌ آخر ربما كان قد غيّر رغبة نتنياهو في إجراء انتخابات مبكرة، وهو علاقته مع الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين التي يبدو أنها تشهد بعض الفتور. فحتى الآونة الأخيرة، كان مساعدو نتنياهو يتوقون لإخبار المراسلين بأنه الزعيم الوحيد في العالم الذي يتمتع بعلاقات وثيقة مع كل من الرئيس دونالد ترامب وبوتين. ولكن في أيلول/سبتمبر، أسقطت القوات السورية طائرةً عسكرية روسية أثناء محاولة تلك القوات التصدي للضربات الجوية الإسرائيلية، ومنذ ذلك الحين، رفض بوتين الاجتماع بنتنياهو مباشرةً، وتزايدت التكهنات بأن موسكو تريد تقييد قدرة إسرائيل على ضرب الأهداف الإيرانية في سوريا. وليس هناك شك بأن نقّاد رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي سيستخدمون هذه التوترات ضده إذا ما جرت انتخابات مبكرة.

وفيما يتعلق بالسياسة الأمريكية، فإن آخر التطورات في إسرائيل تفتح المجال أمام إدارة ترامب لطرح خطة السلام التي طال انتظارها عاجلاً وليس آجلاً. وقد يكون لهذه الخطة فرصة أكبر للنجاح إذا ما انتظر كل من واشنطن ونتنياهو تشكيل حكومة قد تكون أكثر وسطيةً. غير أن إدارة ترامب لا تستطيع الانتظار حتى تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر المقبل، لأن مساعي السلام قد تمتد بذلك حتى الدورة السياسية المقبلة من الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية. وبالتالي، قد يقرر البيت الأبيض طرح خطته قبل ذلك بكثير. ومن جانبه، قد يعتمد نتنياهو على رفض "السلطة الفلسطينية" للخطة الأمريكية باعتبارها غير كافية، وبذلك يتجنب نفسه مصارحة ترامب عن اعتراضه.

وباختصار، تَفوَّق نتنياهو على منافسيه من خلال توجّهه مباشرةً إلى الشعب. ولكن من المرجح أن يؤدي تناقص أكثريته البرلمانية إلى تشجيع أعضاء ائتلافه على ممارسة أقصى الضغوط لطرح جدول أعمالهم، مما يعني أن حكومته قد تُحلّ قبل انتهاء ولايتها. فعلى سبيل المثال، إذا ضغطت الأحزاب الدينية المتطرفة للحصول على مطالبها الدينية، فالسؤال هو متى يهدد الإذعان لهم بمعاداة الجماعات الأخرى من الناخبين الذين يحتاجهم نتنياهو للفوز في الانتخابات حين يترشح مجدداً عام 2019؟ وبالمثل، فإن الجمود بشأن غزة هشٌ للغاية وقد لا يصمد حتى الخريف المقبل، مما يضمن السير على طريق وعرة في المرحلة المقبلة.

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز في معهد واشنطن، وساعد في إنشاء أداة رسم الخرائط التفاعلية "المستوطنات والحلول: هل فات الأوان لحل الدولتين؟"

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Why Has Netanyahu Reversed Course on Early Elections?

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

November 20, 2018


He seems to have calculated that keeping his coalition together is the best way to rebuild public support for the Gaza ceasefire policy, but his political margins are narrowing.

In a rather dramatic turnaround, Israeli prime minister Binyamin Netanyahu has raised the stakes against a key political rival and scuttled efforts to hold early elections that seemed inevitable last week. The upshot is that his government may now remain in power until regularly scheduled elections arrive in November 2019—though his coalition’s thinning 61-59 majority in the 120-member parliament means there are no guarantees it will last that long. Whatever the case, Netanyahu will temporarily serve as defense minister, foreign minister, and prime minister, perhaps the closest Israel has come to a de facto presidential system.

The move came in a nationally televised speech on November 18, when he decided to go over the head of Education Minister Naftali Bennett and appeal to the country and his right-wing base directly. After calling Bennett wrong-headed for threatening to resign unless he received the defense portfolio, Netanyahu proceeded to argue that when right-wing governments were brought down from within during the 1992 and 1999 election cycles, they paved the way for left-wing governments that pursued supposedly inimical policies.

Following the speech, Bennett and his main ally, Justice Minister Ayelet Shaked, faced pressure for putting their own ambitions above the goal of maintaining a right-wing government, spurring them to announce a change of heart. Yet Finance Minister Moshe Kahlon, who leads a ten-member faction in parliament, is still calling for early elections. The rapid twists and turns have blindsided the Israeli political world.

Netanyahu had been begging his coalition partners to go to early elections for months, so what is behind his sudden reversal? First, it should be pointed out that his overall foreign policy outlook has remained consistent: namely, he agrees with the Israel Defense Forces leadership that a Gaza ceasefire is preferable to escalation given the more urgent priority of curbing Iran’s presence in Syria. Early elections could make it more difficult to maintain a ceasefire.

Netanyahu is also well aware that two of his three predecessors were driven from office following major upticks in Israeli-Palestinian violence. To be sure, recent polls indicate that 74 percent of Israelis are unsatisfied with his limited retaliatory response to the latest wave of Hamas rocket strikes. For now, though, he is unlikely to change that approach; instead, he seems keen on giving himself more time to recover from the poor polling performance and avoid early elections that would put even more public focus on the Gaza flare-up. He cannot ignore public dissatisfaction, of course—his commitment to the stalemate is tenuous and could unravel if developments warrant. Yet he knows that the 74 percent poll result does not mean that anywhere close to that proportion of the electorate favors a full-scale ground incursion into Gaza given the risk of heavy Israeli casualties.

Netanyahu also appears to be betting that the recent resignation of Defense Minister Avigdor Liberman, who said he wanted a tougher response to Hamas, will be forgotten if elections are pushed off until next November. He knows it will be more difficult for Liberman to critique him from the benches of the political opposition than from the press conferences and newspaper headlines regularly accorded to defense ministers. If the Gaza issue cools down in the coming months, Liberman’s faction may have to run as an immigrants’ party—a tough platform to sell thirty years after the mass immigration of Jews from the former Soviet Union.

Another factor that may have changed Netanyahu’s desire for early elections is his seemingly cooling relationship with Russian president Vladimir Putin. Until recently, Netanyahu’s aides loved telling reporters that he was the only leader on the world stage who enjoys close ties with both President Donald Trump and Putin. In September, however, Syrian forces shot down a Russian military plane while attempting to counter Israeli airstrikes. Since then, Putin has refused to meet with Netanyahu directly, and speculation has grown that Moscow wants to constrain Israel’s ability to hit Iranian targets in Syria. The prime minister’s critics would no doubt use this tension against him in early elections.

Regarding U.S. policy, the latest developments in Israel free the Trump administration to put forward its long-awaited peace plan sooner rather than later. Such a plan would have a greater chance of success if Washington and Netanyahu waited for a potentially more centrist government to form. Yet the Trump administration cannot wait until next November, since that would risk peace efforts spilling over into the next U.S. presidential election political cycle. The White House may therefore decide to put its plan forward long before then. For his part, Netanyahu may be counting on the Palestinian Authority rejecting the U.S. plan as insufficient, sparing him from having to say no to Trump himself.

In sum, Netanyahu has outmaneuvered his rivals by going straight to the public. Yet the narrowing of his parliamentary majority will likely embolden coalition members to push their agenda to the maximum, meaning his government may still fold before completing its term. For example, if ultraorthodox factions press their religious demands, at what point would succumbing to them risk alienating the other constituencies Netanyahu needs to win reelection in 2019? Likewise, the Gaza stalemate is very fragile and may not hold until next fall, ensuring a bumpy road ahead.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow at The Washington Institute and helped created its interactive mapping tool "Settlements and Solutions: Is It Too Late for Two States?"