أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

السباق على شرق سوريا

مايكل نايتس

متاح أيضاً في English

"ذي بريف"

24 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2018


أدى قرار الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب الذي أُعلن في 19 كانون الأول/ديسمبر القاضي بسحب القوات الأمريكية والقوة الجوية الأمريكية من سوريا إلى إلقاء الفوضى ببعض سياسات الولايات المتحدة وإنجازات الشراكات الأمريكية. ونتيجة لذلك، أصبحت حالة خطيرة من عدم اليقين تواجه الحرب ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» وحملة الضغط القصوى على إيران، وسيتحرك كل من تنظيم «داعش» والمتشددين الأمنيين والوكلاء الإيرانيين بسرعة لاستغلال الفرص الجديدة. 

ومع ذلك، هناك أيضاً فرصة أمام الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها وشركائها لأن يكونوا مبدعين وأن يقوموا بذلك بطريقة قد ترضي الرئيس ترامب -  المعرقل الأساسي - بشأن نجاحه في ضمان صفقة أفضل خلال هذه العملية. وكما صوّر بوضوح تقرير مفصّل لوكالة "أسوشيتد برس" بشأن الإحاطة الهاتفية للرئيس الأمريكي مع الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان، دفع تركيز قصير النظر حول خسارة خلافة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» للأراضي إلى توصل الرئيس ترامب إلى استنتاج مفاده بأنه قد تمّ الانتصار في الحرب ضد هذه الجماعة. وقد وجد المسؤولون الأمريكيون أنفسهم واقعين في شرك ادّعاءاتهم الخاصة بأن تنظيم «داعش» لا يحتفظ سوى بواحد في المائة من الأراضي التي كان يحتلها سابقاً في سوريا.

وفي الواقع، لم تكن الأراضي يوماً مقياساً رئيسياً. وتظهر أعداد مقاتلي العدو وأعداد الهجمات المستمرة أن تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» لم يُهزم سواء في سوريا أو العراق. 

ففي سوريا، تمّ تطويق الهيئة الرئيسية لمقاتلي تنظيم «داعش» في منطقة صغيرة تدعى هجين، ولكن لا يزال هناك أكثر من 2000 إرهابي متشدد في الجيب. (كما هناك الآلاف من مقاتلي التنظيم في إدلب غربي سوريا، حيث تختبئ الجماعة حالياً). 

وإذا ما تحركت قوات نظام الأسد والقوات الموالية لإيران عبر نهر الفرات باتجاه هجين، كما هو متوقّع، سيستغل تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» الفوضى لكي ينتشر مرة أخرى بينما يقوم التحالف الذي تقوده الولايات المتحدة بإرخاء الخناق عن رقبة التنظيم. وفي حين سيتزعزع الاستقرار في شرق سوريا وأقسام من العراق مجدداً، سيتبيّن بسرعة وبشكل مباشر للرئيس ترامب أنه أساء فهم الوضع وكرر خطأ الرئيس أوباما في الانسحاب من العراق عام 2011 أو خطأ الرئيس جورج دبليو بوش بإعلانه أن "المهمة أُنجزت" عام 2003.    

أما في العراق، وكما يُظهر تقريري الجديد الصادر عن "مركز مكافحة الإرهاب في ويست بوينت"، فإن تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» نشط تماماً، حيث أطلق 1271 هجوماً خلال الأشهر العشرة الأولى من عام 2018 (من بينها 762 عملية تفجير). وخلال الفترة بين كانون الثاني/يناير وتشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018، نفذ التنظيم 135هجوماً في محاولته تحقيق أكبر قدر من الإصابات فضلاً عن 270 عملية تفجير فعالة بواسطة قنابل مزروعة على جوانب الطرق. كما شنّ عدداً من الهجمات على 120 حاجزاً أو مركزاً لقوات الأمن العراقية، ونفذ  148 عملية قتل متقنة استهدفت على نحو خاص أفراداً على غرار مخاتير قرى، أو زعماء قبائل، أو أفراد في مجالس المحافظات، أو قادة في قوات الأمن.

وبين عامي 2011 و2014، منحت الحرب الأهلية السورية تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في العراق ملاذاً ونفاذاً موسعاً إلى معدات عسكرية ومتفجرات شديدة الانفجار وموارد بشرية ومالية. ويمكننا أن نتوقع زعزعة الاستقرار في العراق مرة أخرى إذا توافرت هذه الظروف من جديد.  

إنها لحظة تحدد إرث رئاسة ترامب. وكما وصف الرئيس أوباما تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بـ "فريق المبتدئين" مباشرة قبل ظهوره مجدداً، واحتلاله ثلث العراق، يخاطر الرئيس الحالي في أن يتمّ تذكره دوماً باعتباره الرجل الذي سمح لتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بالخروج من الأزمة في ظل تلاشي قوته، ليكون بذلك قد انتزع الهزيمة من فكّيْ النصر. كما قد يُذكَر كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2018 بأنه الشهر الذي انهارت فيه الإستراتيجية المعادية لإيران، الأمر الذي مهّد الطريق أمام توسّع تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في المنطقة، وسرّع التوجّه نحو حرب مدمرة شملت إسرائيل، وشجّع خطوة إيرانية تمثلت بالإسراع في امتلاك سلاح نووي.   

أما حول الفشل الكامل للولايات المتحدة في سوريا فستكون هناك تداعيات عالمية على الحلفاء والخصوم. وكما أدّى تخلي أوباما عن الخط الأحمر للأسلحة الكيماوية في عام 2013 إلى المزيد من الحزم من جانب روسيا والصين وكوريا الشمالية في السنوات التي أعقبت ذلك، فمن المرجح أن يؤدي هذا القرار إلى تشجيع عزيمة خصوم الولايات المتحدة بشكل أكبر، ويشجع أصدقائها وشركائها على اتخاذ خطوات شاذة على غرار السعي لامتلاك أسلحة نووية أو إطلاق عمليات عسكرية استباقية أو إبرام صفقات مع إيران.  

ولكن لا تزال هناك وسائل لإعادة هيكلة الجهود الأمريكية لمكافحة الإرهاب في سوريا. لقد كان الانسحاب بسرعة فائقة وبشكل كامل نموذج أوباما المدمّر: يجب أن يكون نموذج ترامب المحاربة بذكاء وخفة أكبر مع المزيد من تشارك الأعباء مع الشركاء. 

يُذكر أن مهمة الولايات المتحدة في سوريا منخفضة التكلفة وذات تأثير كبير. فبواسطة عدد قليل جداً من القوات الأمريكية في سوريا، قضى الرئيس ترامب على سيطرة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» على الأراضي التي كانت تحت حوزته، مما دفع الولايات المتحدة شوطاً طويلاً نحو تحقيق هدف الهزيمة الدائمة لتنظيم «داعش». وكانت هذه صفقة رائعة مقارنة بالمهام الكبيرة في الماضي. وليس من الصائب وصف العمليات في سوريا بأنها عالية التكلفة، وذات تأثير ضئيل، لأن العكس صحيح. 

وفي الأسبوع الأخير من كانون الأول/المنصرم، أعلن الرئيس الأمريكي أن مكافحة الولايات المتحدة للإرهاب في سوريا ستستمر وبأن بلاده يمكنها الانخراط من جديد في سوريا إذا دعت الحاجة لذلك. والآن يجب اختبار هذه المرونة ولكن ليس بطريقة تضع الرئيس ترامب مباشرة في موقف صعب لاتخاذ قراره، علماً بأن هذا من حقه كونه القائد الأعلى للولايات المتحدة.

يجب النظر في كافة التدابير على الفور لزيادة المساهمات غير الأمريكية (الأوروبية، والتركية، والكردية العراقية) في حملة مكافحة الإرهاب التي تقودها «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية»، ولخفض التواجد الأمريكي الدائم، ولجعل العملية حتى أقل تكلفة بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة. يجب القيام بذلك بعجل لأن إيران وروسيا والأسد سيتحركون بسرعة للدخول إلى شرق سوريا ولكن ليس بهدف التخلص من تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» - بل على الأرجح للاستيلاء على حقول النفط ودفع تنظيم «داعش» باتجاه العراق أو تركيا أو أجزاء أخرى من المنطقة حيث سيستمر في تشكيل تهديد [إرهابي].   

 

مايكل نايتس هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن. وقد تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل على موقع "ذي بريف".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

The Race for Eastern Syria

Michael Knights

Also available in العربية

The Brief

December 24, 2018


If Washington abandons its low-cost, high-impact approach to fighting ISIS in Syria, it will pave the way for a host of bad actors to reestablish themselves there.

President Donald Trump’s December 19 decision to withdraw U.S. troops and airpower from Syria has thrown a handful of U.S. policies and scores of U.S. partnerships into chaos. The war against the Islamic State and the maximum pressure campaign on Iran now face grave uncertainty, and both the Islamic State and Iranian security hardliners and proxies will move quickly to exploit new opportunities.

Yet there is also an opportunity for America and its allies and partners to get creative, and to do so in a way that might satisfy President Trump—the ultimate disrupter—that he has secured a better deal in the process. As a detailed Associated Press account of his phone briefing with Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan vividly paints, a myopic focus on the territorial degradation of the Islamic State caliphate led the U.S. president to conclude that the war against the group has been won. U.S. officials were trapped by their own claims that ISIS held only one percent of the territory it once occupied in Syria.

In fact, terrain has never been the key metric. Numbers of enemy fighters and numbers of ongoing attacks demonstrate that the Islamic State has not been defeated in either Syria or Iraq.

In Syria, the main body of Islamic State fighters has been encircled in a small area called Hajjin, but there are still more than 2,000 hardened terrorists in the pocket. (There are thousands more Islamic State fighters in Idlib, in western Syria, where the group has presently gone to ground).

If, as expected, Assad regime and pro-Iranian forces move across the Euphrates to Hajjin, the Islamic State will exploit the chaos to spread out again as the U.S.-led coalition loosens the noose. When eastern Syria and parts of Iraq destabilize again, President Trump will be quickly and directly shown to have misunderstood the situation and repeated President Obama’s mistake in withdrawing from Iraq in 2011 or President George W. Bush’s mistake of declaring “Mission Accomplished” in 2003.

In Iraq, as my new West Point Combating Terrorism Center report shows, the Islamic State is fully active, launching 1,271 attacks in the first 10 months of 2018 (including 762 bombings). In January to October 2018, the Islamic State undertook 135 attempted mass-casualty attacks and 270 effective roadside bombings. They also mounted overrun attacks on 120 Iraqi security force checkpoints or outposts, and executed 148 precise killings of specifically targeted individuals such as village mukhtars, tribal heads, district council members, or security force leaders.

Between 2011 and 2014, the Syrian civil war gave the Islamic State in Iraq an expanding sanctuary and access to military equipment, high explosives, manpower, and finances. We can expect Iraq to destabilize again if these conditions return.

This is a legacy-defining moment for the Trump presidency. In the same way President Obama called the Islamic State the “JV team” right before they burst out, conquering a third of Iraq, this president risks being forever remembered as the man who let the Islamic State off the hook as their strength was failing, snatching defeat from the jaws of victory. December 2018 may also be remembered as the moment when the counter-Iran strategy collapsed, paving the way for Iran’s expansion across the region, accelerating the move towards a destructive war involving Israel, and emboldening an Iranian dash for nuclear weapons ownership.

A full U.S. default in Syria will also have global consequences for allies and adversaries. Just as Obama’s abandoned chemical weapons red line in 2013 led to greater assertiveness by Russia, China, and North Korea in the years afterwards, so is this decision likely to further embolden our adversaries, and encourage our friends and partners to take erratic steps such as pursuing nuclear weapons, launching preemptive military operations, or cutting deals with Iran.

But there are still ways to reframe our counter-terrorism effort in Syria. Withdrawing too quickly and completely is the disastrous Obama model: fighting smarter and lighter with more burden-sharing should be the Trump model.

The U.S. mission in Syria is low-cost and high-impact. With a very small number of U.S. forces in Syria, President Trump has smashed ISIS control of territory, moving the U.S. a long way towards the enduring defeat of ISIS. This was a fantastic bargain compared to the large missions of the past. It is not correct to characterize Syria as high-cost, low-impact, because the reverse is true.

The President has stated this week that U.S. counter terrorism in Syria will continue and that the U.S. can re-engage as needed. This flexibility should now be tested, but not in a way that directly pushes President Trump into a corner over making his decision, which is his right as the U.S. commander-in-chief.

All measures should be explored immediately to raise non-U.S. contributions (European, Turkish, and Iraqi Kurdish) to the Syrian Democratic Forces counterterrorism campaign, and to reduce permanent U.S. presence, to make the operation even more cost-effective for America. This must be done quickly, because Iran and Russia and Assad will move rapidly to enter eastern Syria, but not to eliminate the Islamic State—more likely to seize oilfields and push ISIS into Iraq or Turkey or other parts of the region where they will continue to pose a threat.

Michael Knights is a senior fellow with The Washington Institute. This article was originally published on The Brief website.