أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3252

الوضع الراهن الجديد في شمال شرق سوريا: التداعيات الإنسانية والأمنية

فلاديمير فان ويلجنبرغ , غونول تول, و دانا سترول

متاح أيضاً في English

29 كانون الثاني/يناير 2020


"في 23 كانون الثاني/يناير، خاطب كل من فلاديمير فان ويلجنبرغ، غونول تول، و دانا سترول منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. وفان ويلجنبرغ هو محلل سياسي ومؤلف مشارك للكتاب الذي صدر في عام 2019 بعنوان "أكراد شمال سوريا: الحكم والتنوع والصراعات". وتول هي المديرة المؤسسة لـ "برنامج الدراسات التركية" في "معهد الشرق الأوسط "وأستاذة مساعدة في "جامعة جورج واشنطن". وسترول هي "زميلة كاسين" في "برنامج غيدولد للسياسة العربية" في معهد واشنطن؛ وعملت أيضاً كرئيسة مشاركة لـ "مجموعة دراسة سوريا" للحزبين الديمقراطي والجمهوري في العام الماضي. وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهم".

 

فلاديمير فان ويلجنبرغ

لا يزال الوضع في شمال شرق سوريا متوتراً، حيث تعمل وحدات مسلحة من الولايات المتحدة وروسيا وتركيا و «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» ذات القيادة الكردية على مقربة من هذه المنطقة. ومنذ أن أطلق الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان حملة التوغل في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، فرضت تركيا سيطرتها على مساحة صغيرة من الأراضي بين تل أبيض ورأس العين على طول الحدود الشمالية. ومن جهتهما، لا تزال «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» و"الإدارة الذاتيّة لشمال وشرق سوريا" تسيطران على معظم الأراضي في شمال شرق البلاد، كما تواصل هذه الأخيرة عملياتها بشكل فعال رغم الوضع الاقتصادي والأمني المتأزم في المناطق المتنازع عليها.

وفي الوقت نفسه، يسعى قادة «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» للحصول على اعتراف من قبل نظام الأسد في دمشق. وعلى وجه التحديد، أعربوا عن دعمهم لفكرة دمج مقاتليهم الذي يتجاوز عددهم 80 ألف مقاتل في الجيش السوري مقابل منح النظام وضعاً خاصاً لكل من«قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» و"الإدارة الذاتيّة لشمال وشرق سوريا". لكن النظام رفض هذا الطلب، ودعا بدلاً من ذلك القبائل العربية إلى وقف دعم «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» الكردية / العربية المختلطة.   

وعلى الصعيد العسكري، يفتقر النظام إلى ما يكفي من القوات لاستعادة المنطقة ذات الحكم الذاتي، حتى في ظل الدعم الجوي المقدم من روسيا. ورغم قرار الرئيس ترامب بسحب قواته جزئياً من سوريا، لا تزال القوات الأمريكية موجودة في شمال شرق البلاد، وخاصةٍ في محافظة الحسكة ودير الزور. وتستفيد «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» من الدعم الأمريكي، ليس فقط في مجال مواصلة الحرب ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، ولكن أيضاً في معادلة الضغوط الروسية. فضلاً عن ذلك، يساعد الوجود الأمريكي هذه القوات على الاحتفاظ بمعبر فيشخابور قرب الحدود العراقية؛ وهذا يتيح لها تبادل الإمدادات الطبية والمواد الغذائية والنفط وفي الوقت نفسه تمكين المنظمات الدولية والصحفيين من دخول منطقة الحكم الذاتي. ونتيجةً لذلك، لا يزال الأداء الاقتصادي في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» يتفوق على ذلك المسجل في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة النظام.

وخلال الفترة القادمة، يخشى الكثيرون من أن تتسبب مساعي تركيا لإعادة ملايين اللاجئين إلى سوريا في تغيرات ديمغرافية كبيرة في شمال شرق البلاد، بما أن أغلبية هؤلاء الأشخاص المشردين ينحدرون أساساً من أجزاء أخرى من سوريا. وقد يرغم نظام الأسد العائدين على البقاء في منطقة آمنة يتم إنشاؤها في شمال شرق البلاد، على الرغم من الدعم الدولي المحدود لخطة إعادة التوطين هذه. علاوةً على ذلك، واستناداً إلى «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية»، فإن بعض الأفراد الذين عادوا إلى المناطق الخاضعة للسيطرة التركية في شمال شرق سوريا هم من العناصر السابقين في تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية».  

غونول تول

لم يتغير الوضع الراهن في شمال شرق البلاد بشكل كبير منذ التوغل التركي في العام الماضيKعلماً بأن تلك الحملة كانت تشمل ثلاثة أهداف: إنشاء منطقة آمنة تمتد على طول الحدود مع العراق، إعادة توطين ملايين اللاجئين السوريين في تلك المنطقة وإلغاء وجود «وحدات حماية الشعب» الكردية على حدود تركيا. وحتى الآن، فشلت أنقرة في تحقيق العديد من أهدافها.

أما في الغرب، فيبقى الاستحواذ على إدلب إحدى أولويات تركيا الأمنية الأخرى. لكن أردوغان سيحتاج إلى دعم روسيا وموافقتها قبل التحرك ضدّ ذلك الجيب الخاضع لسيطرة المتمردين. كما أن أنقرة مترددة في تنفيذ المزيد من العمليات عبر الحدود في الوقت الحالي خوفاً من فرض عقوبات أمريكية.   

ومحلياً، لم يعد أردوغان يتناول الموضوع السوري منذ الفشل الذريع للتوغل العسكري الذي انطلق في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر. وخلال الفترة التي سبقت تلك العملية، كان يواجه ردود فعل قومية ساخطة إزاء الوجود المطوّل لأكثر من 4 ملايين لاجئ سوري في تركيا. كما شعر بالتهديد جراء تنامي القدرة السياسية لأكراد تركيا، ولا سيما بعد أن تكبّد حزبه ثمناً باهظاً بسبب دعمهم للمعارضة في الانتخابات المحلية في آذار/مارس الماضي. وقد أدّت به هذه الضغوط ونقاط الضعف إلى التركيز على السياسة الخارجية كوسيلة لتحريك مشاعر قاعدته الانتخابية - وبالفعل، حصد التوغل دعماً واسع النطاق من الشعب التركي عند إطلاقه. وبعد أن أصبحت خياراته في سوريا محدودة، تحوّل إلى ليبيا باعتبارها جبهة أخرى للتدخل في الخارج وسط تأجيج المشاعر القومية في بلاده.     

دانا سترول

عندما تم نشر تقرير "مجموعة دراسة سوريا" المكلّفة من قبل الكونغرس الأمريكي في أيلول/سبتمبر الماضي، أكّد على أهمية البلاد بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة باعتبارها رابطاً جيواستراتيجياً لعدد من التهديدات الإقليمية - وخاصةٍ التوسّع الإيراني والوجود المستمر لتنظيمي «الدولة الإسلامية» و «القاعدة» وتدخل روسيا الجريء في الشرق الأوسط. وفي ذلك الحين، دعت التوصيات الرئيسية لمجموعة الدراسة إلى الاستفادة من النفوذ الأمريكي لتسهيل تطبيق عملية سياسية في سوريا. ويتيح هذا النفوذ اتخاذ عدة تدابير محتملة: حرمان نظام الأسد من مساعدة هو في أشدّ الحاجة إليها لإعادة الإعمار ومن الاعتراف الدبلوماسي به؛ وفرض عقوبات اقتصادية متشددة؛ واستغلال «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» والتواجد العسكري الأمريكي في شمال شرق سوريا لممارسة الضغوط على النظام. وعلى الرغم من علاقات واشنطن المعقدة مع أنقرة وموسكو، لا يزال بإمكانها لعب دور مهم في رسم معالم مستقبل سوريا.

وتبقى «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» الشريك الرئيسي للولايات المتحدة في سوريا. فالوجود العسكري الأمريكي المحدود شمال شرق البلاد نجح في توفير الإرشاد والدعم المهمّين لـ «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» في محاربتها تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، ولكن بتكلفة بشرية ومالية منخفضة نسبياً. على الولايات المتحدة الآن استغلال هذه العلاقة لمساعدة القوات على الانتقال من مرحلة القتال إلى الحكم. غير أن قرار خفض الوجود الأمريكي قوّض الثقة محلياً بقدرة أمريكا على حماية حلفائها الإقليميين. وهذا ما يهدد بدوره بتقويض نفوذ واشنطن ويلهم الجهات الفاعلة المؤذية على توسيع نفوذها في سوريا.

في غضون ذلك، سعت روسيا لإقناع دول الخليج العربي باستعادة العلاقات الدبلوماسية والتجارية مع نظام الأسد. فمشاريع إعادة الإعمار المربحة المحتملة في سوريا تجذب هذه الحكومات التي يبدو أنها تتجه نحو تطبيع شامل مع دمشق. ونظراً إلى اتساع نطاق العقوبات الأمريكية على الأفراد والكيانات المرتبطين بإيران وروسيا وتركيا، على واشنطن تحديد ما إذا كانت ستفرض عقوبات على الكيانات والأفراد الخليجيين الذين يقررون ممارسة أعمال تجارية في سوريا.

 

أعد هذا الملخص زياد بشلاغم.

أمكن تنفيذ سلسلة برامج منتدى السياسات بفضل سخاء "عائلة فلورنس وروبرت كوفمان".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3252

The New Status Quo in Northeast Syria: Humanitarian and Security Implications

Wladimir van Wilgenburg, Gonul Tol, and Dana Stroul

Also available in العربية

January 29, 2020


Three leading experts assess the current balance of power and its potential effects on counterterrorism, refugee resettlement, governance, economics, and other crucial issues.

On January 23, Wladimir van Wilgenburg, Gonul Tol, and Dana Stroul addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Van Wilgenburg is a political analyst and coauthor of the 2019 book The Kurds of Northern Syria: Governance, Diversity and Conflicts. Tol is founding director of the Middle East Institute’s Turkish Studies Program and an adjunct professor at George Washington University. Stroul is the Kassen Fellow in The Washington Institute's Geduld Program on Arab Politics; she also served as co-chair of last year's bipartisan Syria Study Group. The following is a rapporteur’s summary of their remarks.

WLADIMIR VAN WILGENBURG

The situation in northeast Syria remains tense, with armed contingents from the United States, Russia, Turkey, and the Kurdish-led Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) operating in close proximity. Since President Recep Tayyip Erdogan launched his incursion last October, Turkey has established control over a small strip of land between Tal Abyad and Ras al-Ain along the northern border. For their part, the SDF and the Autonomous Administration of North and East Syria (NES) still control most territory in the northeast, and the NES continues to operate efficiently despite the grave economic and security situation in contested areas.

At the same time, however, SDF leaders have been seeking recognition from the Assad regime in Damascus. Specifically, they have expressed support for the idea of integrating their 80,000-plus fighters into the Syrian army in return for the regime according special status to the SDF and NES. The regime has refused this request, however, instead calling on Arab tribes to stop supporting the mixed Kurdish/Arab SDF.

Militarily, the regime does not have enough forces to retake the autonomous region, even with air support from Russia. Despite President Trump’s decision to partially withdraw troops from Syria, U.S. forces are still present in the northeast, especially in Hasaka province and Deir al-Zour. The SDF benefits from U.S. support, not only in continuing the fight against the Islamic State, but also in counterbalancing Russian pressure. In addition, the U.S. presence helps the SDF maintain the Faysh Khabur crossing near the Iraqi border; this allows them to trade medical supplies, food, and oil while enabling international organizations and journalists to enter the autonomous region. As a result, SDF-controlled areas continue to outperform regime-controlled areas economically.

Going forward, many are concerned that Turkey’s efforts to return millions of refugees to Syria will cause significant demographic changes in the northeast, since the majority of these displaced people originally came from other parts of the country. The Assad regime may force such returnees to stay in a safe zone established in the northeast, despite the dearth of international support for this resettlement plan. Moreover, according to the SDF, some individuals who have returned to Turkish-controlled areas of northeast Syria are former Islamic State elements.

GONUL TOL

The status quo in the northeast has not changed drastically for Turkey since last year’s military incursion. That campaign’s goal was threefold: to establish a safe zone that stretches all the way to the Iraqi border, to resettle millions of Syrian refugees in this zone, and to eliminate the presence of the Kurdish People’s Defense Units (YPG) on Turkey’s border. Thus far, Ankara has failed to achieve these objectives, and its room for maneuver in the northeast is limited. Its most recent incursion drew a strong reaction from the United States, and it is reluctant to resume operations for fear of triggering American sanctions.

Further to the west, the Assad regime's Idlib offensive remains another security priority for Ankara. Any Turkish decisions on that front have to be coordinated with Russia, but their relationship has become increasingly strained, as both parties blame each other for failing to deliver on promises.

Apart from Idlib, Erdogan does not talk about Syria as much as he used to, since Turkey is tightly squeezed there at present. Leading up to the October incursion, he was facing a nationalist backlash over the protracted presence of more than 4 million Syrian refugees in Turkey. He was also threatened by the rising political agency of Turkish Kurds, especially after their support for the opposition cost his party dearly in the March local elections. These pressures and vulnerabilities led him to focus on foreign policy as a way to galvanize his base—indeed, the incursion was widely supported by the Turkish public when first launched. After his options in Syria became limited, he turned to Libya as another front for intervening abroad while stoking nationalist sentiment at home.

DANA STROUL

When the report of the congressionally mandated Syria Study Group was published last September, it affirmed the country’s importance to the United States as a geostrategic nexus of various regional threats—namely, Iranian expansionism, the persistent presence of the Islamic State and al-Qaeda, and emboldened Russian involvement in the Middle East. The study group’s core recommendations then called for using American leverage to facilitate a political process in Syria. This leverage includes several potential measures: denying much-needed reconstruction aid and diplomatic recognition to the Assad regime; implementing tough economic sanctions; and using the SDF and U.S. military presence in the northeast to pressure the regime. Despite Washington’s complicated relations with Ankara and Moscow, it can still play an important role in shaping the future of Syria.

The SDF remains the core U.S. partner in Syria. The limited American military presence in the northeast succeeded by offering critical guidance and support to the SDF in fighting the Islamic State, but at a relatively low human and financial cost. The United States must now use this relationship to help the SDF transition from fighting to governing. Yet the decision to reduce the U.S. presence has eroded local trust in America’s ability to protect its regional allies. This in turn threatens to undermine Washington’s leverage and inspire malign actors to expand their influence across Syria.

Meanwhile, Russia has sought to convince the Persian Gulf states to restore diplomatic and commercial relations with the Assad regime. The prospect of lucrative reconstruction projects is appealing to these governments, who appear to be moving toward full normalization with Damascus. Given the breadth of U.S. sanctions on individuals and entities associated with Iran, Russia, and Turkey, Washington needs to determine whether it will punish Gulf entities and individuals who decide to conduct business in Syria.

This summary was prepared by Zied Bouchlaghem. The Policy Forum series is made possible through the generosity of the Florence and Robert Kaufman Family.