أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

خطاب السيسي المعادي لإسرائيل: تصريحات جديدة ومشاكل قديمة

هيثم حسنين

متاح أيضاً في English

١٧ تشرين الأول/أكتوبر ٢٠١٨


في 11 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، ألقى الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي خطاباً بمناسبة الذكرى السنوية الخامسة والأربعين لحرب تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1973، ذلك الصراع الذي يُشاد به بأنه انتصار مجيد على إسرائيل. وفي كل عام، يقوم عشرات المثقفين المصريين بكتابة المقالات الاحتفالية، ويعمل مذيعو نشرات الأخبار على استضافة جنود شاركوا في الحرب، وتقوم القنوات التلفزيونية ببث أغانٍ وأفلام تصوّر الأعمال البطولية للجيش المصري. وقد ظل هذا الاتجاه قائماً خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية على الرغم من الزيادة النسبية التي شهدها التعاون بين مصر وإسرائيل في مكافحة الإرهاب في شبه جزيرة سيناء، والتعامل مع حركة «حماس» في قطاع غزة. كما يتماشى مع النزعة العامة لدى وسائل الإعلام المحلية ضد إسرائيل - فخلال شهر رمضان الماضي في حزيران/يونيو، على سبيل المثال، استرسل أحد البرامج التلفزيونية المصرية في أوهام عن جاسوس إسرائيلي يُفترض أنه يدير فرعاً تابعاً لتنظيم «القاعدة» داخل مصر.

لكن خطابات الرئيس السيسي بشأن إسرائيل في بداية ولايته كانت تدور في الغالب حول السلام والتعاون والتقبّل. كما أن خطاباته الخمسة البارزة السابقة التي أحيت ذكرى الحرب قد ركّزت على العلاقة الخاصة بين الشعب المصري وجيشه، بالإضافة إلى التحديات الداخلية التي تواجه مصر وإسرائيل. أما هذا العام وللمرة الأولى منذ توليه الحكم، استخدم السيسي الخطاب كفرصة لتذكير الشعب المصري بالسبب في استمرار اعتبار إسرائيل عدوّتهم.

وعلى وجه التحديد، ادّعى أن الصراع بين البلدين قد تطوّر بدلاً من أن ينتهي. وفي حين أن جيشيهما لم يعودا يتقاتلان مباشرةً، لكن الصراع ما زال مستمراً. وفي هذا السياق، أشار السيسي في الأسبوع الماضي إلى أن "المعركة لم تنتهِ"، و"في الماضي، كان العدو معروفاً. أما اليوم فلم يعد كذلك، فالأعداء معنا وبيننا. لقد تمكّنوا من إيجاد عدو داخلنا يقتات من قتلنا وينمو بتدميرنا." وأضاف أن "جزءاً كبيراً من التحدي يقوم على بناء وعينا. وأنا أعتبر أن العدو الرئيسي هو الوعي غير الكامل، أو الوعي المزيف. وهذا يتطلب منا - ليس فقط على مستوى المثقفين والمفكرين ووسائل الإعلام، بل أكثر من ذلك - إدراكاً تاماً للواقع الذي نحن فيه".

وفي الواقع، تجاوب بعض الأفراد في وسائل الإعلام المصرية مع كلمة السيسي التي اتصفت بعدائية نسبية تجاه إسرائيل. ففي 12 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، نشرت صحيفة "الأهرام" التابعة للدولة مقالاً بعنوان "قنوات صهيونية لاختراق العقل المصري"، كرّر فيه الكاتب ملاحظات السيسي حول "التوعية"، مسهباً في شرح كيفية قيام إسرائيل كما يُدّعى بغسل عقول الشباب المصري لإظهارها بصورة الصديق المسالم من خلال الدعوة إلى التقارب بين الشباب "الصهيوني" والشباب المصري، على سبيل المثال. ووفقاً للمقال تهدف إسرائيل إلى تحقيق أمنها من خلال "زعزعة انتماء الشباب" و"كسر التعاطف مع قضية فلسطين".

ما الذي يحاول السيسي إنجازه؟

منذ وصوله إلى سدّة الرئاسة، وفي معرض انتقاداته للسياسة الخارجية الأمريكية في المنطقة، لطالما تحدّث السيسي عن هذه الحرب من الجيل الرابع، ولكنه أصبح يستخدم هذا الموضوع بشكل متزايد ضد إسرائيل أيضاً. ويقيناً، غالباً ما كان الزعماء المصريين السابقين يستخدمون الخطابات المعادية لإسرائيل من أجل تعزيز شرعيتهم في أوقات الأزمات الاقتصادية أو السياسية، ويستحثون من الرأي العام مواقف سلبية أعاقت التطبيع على مدى عقود من الزمن. بيد أن السيسي، وبخلاف أسلافه، يفتقر حتى إلى الشرعية الأساسية التي يمنحها السجل العسكري المشهود له. ولذلك فهو يحاول إقناع الجمهور بأن الوضع الراهن مشابه لما واجهته مصر خلال حروبها مع إسرائيل عام 1967، وبين عامَي 1968 و1970، وفي عام 1973 أيضاً.

ويدرك السيسي تماماً تزايد مشاعر الإحباط لدى الناس من الظروف الاقتصادية والاجتماعية المريرة في البلاد. ومن خلال استخدامه إسرائيل ككبش فداء، ربما يحاول تعبئة الجمهور للوقوف إلى جانب الجيش. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، كان «الإخوان المسلمون» والإرهاب خصومه الرئيسيين في البلاد. أما اليوم، ومع سياسات الاحتواء التام التي فرضها جهازه الأمني على «الإخوان» والانخفاض الملحوظ في عدد الهجمات الإرهابية، يبدو مقتنعاً بأن الأمة بحاجة إلى عدوٍّ أكثر تعقيداً لتبرير هيمنة الجيش على الحياة العامة بشقّها الاقتصادي أو غيره.

وأخيراً، يبدو أن السيسي نال مراده من المنظمات الصديقة لإسرائيل في الولايات المتحدة، التي ساعدته على تخفيف حدة العقوبات التي فرضتها إدارة الرئيس أوباما. وقد يشعر الآن أن شرعيته راسخة في واشنطن، فقد اجتمع به الرئيس ترامب عدة مرات ومنحه التقدير الذي كان يسمو إليه، مشيداً بجهوده في مكافحة الإرهاب في المنطقة. ومع ذلك، تواصل الصحف التابعة للحكومة انتقاد سياسات ترامب الإقليمية أمام جمهورها المحلي، مما يديم مسألة "حرب الجيل الرابع" من أجل تعزيز مزاعم السيسي بأن مصر بحاجة إلى البقاء حذرةً ومتيقظة.

توصيات السياسة

لا تزال القاهرة مكوّناً أساسياً في أي عملية سلام فلسطينية مستقبلية، ولكن الحملة الدعائية الكثيفة التي تشنها حكومة السيسي على إسرائيل تشكل حجر عثرة في الطريق. ينبغي على إدارة ترامب توجيه المزيد من الرسائل للتخفيف من حدة خطاب القيادة السياسية في مصر ضد جارتها الشرقية. فمثل هذه التصريحات لن تساعد الإدارة الأمريكية على الترويج لخطة سلام بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن أن تؤدي هذه الرواية، إذا تُركت دون رادع، إلى تأجيج التوترات بين مصر وإسرائيل في أي وقت.

 

هيثم حسنين كان زميل "غليزر" في معهد واشنطن في الفترة 2016-2017.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Sisi’s Anti-Israel Rhetoric: New Speeches, Old Problems

Haisam Hassanein

Also available in العربية

October 17, 2018


Despite broadening official cooperation between the two states, he is increasingly embracing the old approach of telling Egyptians that Israel is the enemy.

On October 11, Egyptian president Abdul Fattah al-Sisi gave a speech at an event commemorating the forty-fifth anniversary of the 1973 Yom Kippur War/October War, traditionally touted as a glorious victory over Israel. Every year, dozens of Egyptian pundits write celebratory articles, news anchors host soldiers who participated in the conflict, and television channels broadcast songs and movies depicting the heroic actions of the Egyptian army. This tendency has been alive and well the past few years despite the uptick in Egyptian-Israeli cooperation on combating terrorism in the Sinai Peninsula and handling Hamas in the Gaza Strip. It is also in line with the local media’s general anti-Israel slant—during Ramadan this past June, for example, one Egyptian television show fantasized about an Israeli spy supposedly managing an al-Qaeda affiliate inside Egypt.

At the beginning of his tenure, however, President Sisi’s discourse toward Israel mostly revolved around peace, cooperation, and acceptance. And his previous five high-profile speeches marking the war’s anniversary focused on the special bond between the Egyptian people and army, as well as the internal challenges facing Egypt and Israel. This year, however, for the first time since coming to power, he used the speech as an occasion to remind the people why Israel is still their enemy.

Specifically, he claimed that the conflict between the two countries has evolved rather than ended. While their armies do not fight directly anymore, the conflict persists. “The battle didn’t end,” he remarked last week. “In the past, the enemy was obvious. Now, it is not. Now, they are with us and inside us. They were able to create an enemy inside us that survives by killing us. And gets built by our destruction.” He continued: “A big part of the challenge is building our awareness. What I consider the main enemy is incomplete awareness, or fake awareness. It requires us—not only on the level of intellectuals, thinkers, and the media, but more than that—to be fully aware of the reality we are in.”

Some members of the Egyptian media were receptive to the president’s relatively aggressive rhetoric against Israel. On October 12, the state-run al-Ahram newspaper published an article titled “Zionist Channels to Penetrate the Egyptian Mind.” The author reiterated Sisi’s remarks about “awareness,” elaborating on how Israel has allegedly brainwashed young Egyptians to perceive it as a peaceful friend by, for instance, espousing closeness between younger “Zionists” and Egyptian youths. According to the article, Israel aims to ensure its security by sowing the seeds of disloyalty among these youths and making them forget about the Palestinian issue.

WHAT IS SISI TRYING TO ACCOMPLISH?

Since coming to power, Sisi has extensively referred to such fourth-generation warfare when railing against American foreign policy in the region, but he is increasingly turning this theme against Israel as well. To be sure, past Egyptian leaders often used anti-Israel rhetoric to boost their legitimacy during times of economic or political crisis, fostering negative public attitudes that impeded normalization for decades. Unlike his predecessors, however, Sisi lacks even the baseline legitimacy accorded by a proven military track record. Hence, he is trying to convince the public that the current situation is similar to what Egypt faced during its wars against Israel in 1967, 1968-1970, and 1973.

Sisi is very aware of growing public frustration stemming from the country’s bitter economic and social conditions. By using Israel as a scapegoat, he may be trying to mobilize the public around the military. Recently, the Muslim Brotherhood and terrorism were his major national adversaries. Now, with the full containment policies imposed on the Brotherhood by his security apparatus and the noticeably diminished number of terrorist attacks, he apparently believes that the nation needs a more sophisticated enemy to justify the military’s domination of public life, economic or otherwise.

Finally, Sisi seems to have gotten what he wanted from Israel-friendly organizations in the United States, which helped him tone down the Obama administration’s sanctions. He may now feel that his legitimacy is anchored in Washington. President Trump met with him multiple times and gave him the recognition he yearned for, praising his efforts to combat terrorism in the region. Even so, government-run newspapers continue to criticize Trump’s regional policies to their domestic audiences, perpetuating the “fourth-generation warfare” theme in order to bolster Sisi’s claims that Egypt needs to stay on guard.

POLICY RECOMMENDATIONS

Cairo remains an essential component of any future Palestinian peace process, but the Sisi government’s deep anti-Israel propaganda is a persistent stumbling block. The Trump administration needs to convey more signals to tone down the political leadership’s rhetoric against their eastern neighbor. Such statements will not help the administration promote an Israeli-Palestinian peace plan. Moreover, this narrative could cause a flare-up in Egyptian-Israeli tensions at any time if left unchecked.

Haisam Hassanein was the 2016-2017 Glazer Fellow at The Washington Institute.