أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3200

مؤشرات حول ظهور تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» من جديد في العراق

مايكل نايتس

متاح أيضاً في English

15 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019


يثير عدم اليقين الكبير المحيط بمستقبل عمليات مكافحة الإرهاب في شمال شرق سوريا مخاوف مفهومة حول عودة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في العراق. ففي النهاية، كانت عودة هذا التنظيم بين عامي 2011 و2014 تُعزى جزئياً إلى ظروف الحرب الفوضوية في سوريا، وسيشكل قمع الجماعة هناك تحدياً كبيراً خلال الأشهر المقبلة وسط الانسحاب الأمريكي والغزو التركي. غير أن عودة التنظيم في العراق مجدداً أمر لا مفر منه - فالبلاد عرضة لعوامل محركة داخلية مختلفة، وما زالت الولايات المتحدة في وضع جيّد يؤهلها لقيادة دعم دولي لجهود بغداد لمكافحة الإرهاب. ومع ذلك، سيتعين على واشنطن المحافظة على انخراطها والتعامل مع المشاكل الجديدة بشكل عاجل إذا كانت تأمل في منع تمرد كارثي آخر.   

عوامل محركة من الماضي قد تبرز من جديد

حين بدأ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» يستعيد قوته بفعالية كبيرة في عام 2011، كانت ثلاثة من العوامل المحركة الأربعة الرئيسية عوامل عراقية محلية غير مرتبطة بسوريا. ومن المسلّم به أن العامل المحرك الوحيد المرتبط بسوريا كان مهماً، فوجود تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» هناك وفّر ملاذاً آمناً متاخماً، وميداناً للتدريب على العمليات، وطريقاً للمجندين الأجانب عبر المطارات التركية، وكذلك مصدراً للأسلحة من الفئة العسكرية، أي بشكل أساسي تأمين بيئة حاضنة لقوة انبثقت في المقام الأول عبر الحدود وبدأت الهجوم على شمال العراق. ومع ذلك، توقّف النجاح الأوسع للتنظيم في العراق بدرجة أكبر على العوامل المحركة الثلاثة الأخرى:     

الانفتاح السنّي على الانتفاضة المسلّحة. في بداية عام 2011، شاركت المجتمعات العربية السنّية في شمال العراق وغربه في تمرّد مفتوح بسهولة تامة بسبب السياسات الطائفية التي انتهجها رئيس الوزراء الشيعي العراقي آنذاك نوري المالكي. وعكست حركة احتجاجية سنّية قوية هذا الانفتاح، وحين هَزَم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» قوات الحكومة العراقية على أرض المعركة، كان السكان السنّة منقسمين في بادئ الأمر، في حين نظرت النخبة السنّية في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة «داعش» إلى النتيجة بشكل انتهازي.   

تسييس القيادة العسكرية. حين تقدّم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» ليصبح على بعد 40 ميلاً فقط عن العاصمة واستولى على الفلوجة في كانون الثاني/يناير 2014، لم يواجه أي ردّ عسكري. وحين استولى على الموصل بعد خمسة أشهر، تفككت ست فرق عراقية والعديد من أجهزة الشرطة المحلية في أقل من أسبوع. ويمكن أن تعزى تلك الإخفاقات المهينة إلى الإضعاف المطرد للقيادة العسكرية العراقية، التي قامت فيها حكومة المالكي والأحزاب الشيعية المؤيدة لها بتعيين أتباعها السياسيين الفاسدين عوضاً عن محترفين مؤهلين.

الانسحاب الأمريكي. أدى سحب القوات العسكرية الأمريكية من العراق في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2011 إلى إزالة دعامةً أساسيةً للحرب ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». أولاً، خسرت واشنطن أي سبيل لمراقبة الفساد أو تخفيفه في القيادة العسكرية العراقية، والذي تسارعت وتيرته فور مغادرة القوات الأمريكية المناصب القيادية. ثانياً، أثار غياب المستشارين الأمريكيين الانهيار السريع للتدريب والدعم اللوجستي لقوات الأمن الأمنية العراقية. ثالثاً، بعد خسارة وسائل قياس مستويات أنشطة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بدقة عبر جمع معلومات استخباراتية شاملة على الأرض، أوهمت الحكومتان العراقية والأمريكية نفسهما بالاعتقاد بأنه تمّ القضاء على التنظيم. رابعاً، توقفت الملاحقة الاستباقية لقادة التنظيم وورش العمل حول السيارات المفخخة ما أن غادرت القوات الخاصة الأمريكية وانتفت القدرات الاستخباراتية، الأمر الذي صعّد وتيرة الهجمات التي خلّفت وراءها أعداداً هائلة من الضحايا في المدن بين عامي 2012 و2014.

ما الذي تغير منذ عام 2014؟

لحسن الحظ، لم يعد أي من هذه العوامل المحركة قائماً في العراق اليوم، أو على الأقل ليس بالقدر الذي كانت عليه قبل خمس سنوات. وربما الأهم من ذلك، تخلّى الجيل الحالي من الراشدين العرب السنّة أساساً عن الانتفاضات المسلحة. ولا يبدو أنه يقدّم مجندين للمشاركة في ما تبقى من أنشطة ينفّذها تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» داخل العراق. حتى أنّ سلسلة التظاهرات الشيعية الأخيرة  في أرحاء مختلفة من البلاد لم تتطور إلى اضطرابات كبيرة. فقد شهد السكان السنّة على ما اقترفه التنظيم حين حكم مدنهم، وبلداتهم، وقراهم: فأساليبه كانت وحشية ودكتاتورية وعجزت في النهاية عن الدفاع عنهم من التدفق [المحتّم] للميليشيات الشيعية والدمار من الحرب. ومنذ ذلك الحين، لم يتوانَ السنّة عن إبرام أي اتفاق يتسنى لهم مع ميليشيات أو قوات حكومية فقط لكي يتمكّنوا من العودة إلى قراهم وتوظيف رجالهم في الوحدات المحلية للدفاع عن النفس. ولا يزال تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» يحتفظ بمخابئ أسلحة كبيرة في العراق (على سبيل المثال، يتم العثور على عشرات سترات الانتحار من قبل قوات الأمن كل شهر)، لكنّ يبدو أن التنظيم يفتقر إلى المجنّدين اللازمين لاستخدام هذه الأسلحة أو شن تمرد قوي.

ومع ذلك، يمكن إعادة تنشيط بعض العوامل المحركة القديمة بسبب حسابات خاطئة على الأرض، في وقت تثير فيه عوامل محركة جديدة أخرى مخاوف جديّة خاصة بها. ويتمثّل العامل المحرك الأكثر إثارة للقلق في الطريقة التي تخرّب بها الكتل السياسية الأمن القومي من خلال أفعالها مثل تمكين الميليشيات الطائفية العاملة تحت غطاء «قوات الحشد الشعبي». وإذا لم يتم ضبط هذه الاتجاهات، يمكن أن تتراكم وتؤديَ في النهاية إلى عودة ظهور تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، وسبق أن بدأ يتجلى مؤشران مثيران للقلق حول الأمر:

بغداد تُضعف قيادتها العسكرية من جديد. بتأثير من فصائل برلمانية موالية لإيران وذات قيادة شيعية مثل «منظمة بدر»، اتخذت الحكومة العراقية عدداً من الخطوات مؤخراً تهدد بإضعاف جيشها. على سبيل المثال، تآمر قادة الميليشيات من أجل تنحية عدد من القادة المحترفين، وأبرزهم الفريق الركن عبد الوهاب الساعدي من جهاز مكافحة الإرهاب واللواء الركن محمود خلف الفلاحي من قيادة عمليات الأنبار. ومن ناحية أخرى، تشهد قوات الجيش ووحدات مكافحة الإرهاب الأكثر فعالية في البلاد تراجعاً بطيئاً في ميزانياتها ومكانتها السياسية، لصالح الميليشيات التي تدعمها إيران.

قوات التحالف مقيّدة. تمكّنت "قوة المهام المشتركة »عملية الحل المتأصل«" بقيادة الولايات المتحدة من مواجهة عدد من العواصف السياسية في العراق، ويبدو أن بغداد تدرك أن وقف المساعدات الدولية من شأنه أن يعيدها إلى الطريق المهلك الذي سلكته بين عامي 2011 و2014. ومع ذلك، تخضع "قوة المهام" لقيود متزايدة تحدّ من فعاليتها: فالميليشيات المدعومة من إيران استخدمت هجمات صاروخية وتهديدات بالخطف من أجل إنشاء بيئة حامية أكثر عدائية إزاء مستشاري "قوة المهام المشتركة »عملية الحل المتأصل«"؛ وعمل سياسيون مدعومون من إيران على قَطْع التواصل بين "قوة المهام" هذه و «قوات الحشد العشائري» السنّية المدعومة من الولايات المتحدة والمتواجدة في المناطق التي يركّز فيها تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» عملياته؛ كما واجهت قوات التحالف صعوبات في تسيير طائرات بدون طيار وتوفير الدعم الجوي بسبب القيود المتشددة على المجال الجوي التي فرضها وكلاء إيران مرة أخرى.

توصيات في مجال السياسة العامة

يُعتبر الانسحاب الأمريكي من سوريا تطوراً سلبياً للغاية سيرغم واشنطن على مضاعفة جهودها في العراق. ففي عام 2011، كان الانسحاب الأمريكي السبب في تدهور القيادة العسكرية في بغداد بشكل خطير، وتقويض قواتها المسلحة، ودفع السكان السنّة نحو الانتفاضة. وسيتكرر ذلك إذا فكّرت واشنطن بسحب قواتها مجدداً أو لم تستطع عكس الاتجاهات المقلقة المذكورة أعلاه. فالعراق يحتاج الآن إلى "قوة المهام المشتركة »عملية الحل المتأصل«" أكثر من أي وقت مضى، ويحتاج التحالف بقيادة الولايات المتحدة إلى شريك عراقي كفؤ إذا كان يأمل بتحقيق هدفه الأساسي المتمثل بإبعاد خطر تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». وفي المرحلة المقبلة، يجب أن يركز التحالف على الضرورات التالية:

منع انتفاضات سنّية جديدة. بمرور الوقت، قد تقرر أرامل وأبناء إرهابيي تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» الانضمام إلى المقاتلين الناجين وشركائهم لتشكيل نواة انتفاضة جديدة. ويمكن للولايات المتحدة ومجموعة كبيرة من شركائها في التحالف المساعدة على منع عودة التنظيم من خلال الضغط على الحكومة العراقية للقيام بما يلي:

  • توظيف مجندين سنّة جدد بشكل دائم في قوات الأمن المحلية، وذلك جزئياً عبر فصل الميليشيات السنّية عن «قوات الحشد الشعبي»
  • إضفاء الطابع الاحترافي على جميع قوات الأمن العاملة في المناطق السنية
  • تشديد هيكلية القيادة والسيطرة على جميع الميليشيات
  • تسريع إعادة توطين العرب السنّة في مناطقهم الأصلية
  • إطلاق سراح المئات من السنّة المحتجزين بشكل غير قانوني، على غرار أولئك الذين اختطفتهم جماعة «كتائب حزب الله» الإرهابية المدعومة من إيران والمحتجزين في قاعدة "جرف الصخر" خارج بغداد

حماية المؤسسات العسكرية العراقية. على التحالف حماية الجيش العراقي و"جهاز مكافحة الإرهاب" من خلال الضغط على بغداد لئلا تقوّضهما من حيث الميزانية أو القيادة. فـ "قوة المهام المشتركة »عملية الحل المتأصل«" جهة مانحة رئيسية للمساعدات الأمنية إلى العراق، ولا بدّ من أن تتبنى نبرةً صارمةً لضمان عدم إقدام الكتل السياسية المدعومة من إيران على تحويل هذه المساعدة في ميزانية 2020 لصالحها أو إضعاف قدرة قوات الأمن الرئيسية. كما يتعين على مسؤولي التحالف حث العراق على إنشاء قوات غير تابعة للميليشيات على الحدود مع سوريا، ووضع جميع الميليشيات تحت هيكلية قيادة موحدة بقيادة ضباط تلقوا تدريبهم في كليات الأركان ويتمتعون بالتزام وطني واضح تجاه العراق، وليس تجاه الميليشيات أو الأحزاب السياسية.

حماية "قوة المهام المشتركة »عملية الحل المتأصل«". إنّ الأمر الوحيد الذي يقف بين بغداد وتعرّضها لحملة قصف مكثفة من المناطق الحضرية هو جهود مكافحة الإرهاب التي تدعمها الولايات المتحدة وتنفّذها القوات المسلحة العراقية المحترفة. يجب على كبار القادة من العراق والتحالف الاستمرار في تحذير الميليشيات من تهديد "قوة المهام المشتركة »عملية الحل المتأصل«"، مع تذكيرهم بانتظام بأنّ المستشارين الأجانب لهم الحق الأصيل في الدفاع عن النفس وأنّهم سوف يمارسونه بقوة إذا لزم الأمر. وأخيراً، على الدول المشاركة في التحالف أن تضغط على العراق بشكل عاجل وجماعي لاستعإدة قدرتها على الوصول إلى «قوات الحشد العشائري» السنّية والتخفيف من القيود المفروضة على المجال الجوي.

 

مايكل نايتس هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن. وفي الفترة 2011-2013، عمل بدأب مع الحكومة الأمريكية لتقديم أدلة من المصادر الأرضية حول ظهور تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» من جديد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3200

Signposts for an Islamic State Comeback in Iraq

Michael Knights

Also available in العربية

October 15, 2019


Despite the damage wrought by the U.S. withdrawal from Syria, the main drivers of Islamic State resurgence in Iraq can still be restrained by local U.S. engagement, which is now even more vital than before.

The gross uncertainty surrounding the future of counterterrorism operations in northeast Syria is raising understandable fears of an Islamic State comeback in Iraq. After all, the IS resurgence of 2011-2014 was partially driven by the chaotic war conditions in Syria, and suppressing the group there will be extremely challenging in the coming months amid U.S. withdrawal and Turkish invasion. Another resurgence in Iraq is hardly inevitable, however—the country is subject to different internal drivers, and the United States is still well-positioned to lead international support of Baghdad’s counterterrorism efforts. Yet Washington will need to stay engaged and urgently address new problems if it hopes to prevent another disastrous insurgency.

PAST DRIVERS THAT COULD REEMERGE

When the IS began to bounce back strongly in 2011, three of the four main drivers were domestic Iraqi factors unrelated to Syria. Granted, the lone Syrian driver was an important one: the IS presence there provided an adjacent safe haven, an operational training ground, a route for foreign recruits via Turkish airports, and a source of military-grade weapons, essentially incubating the force that first broke through the border and began the assault on northern Iraq. Yet the group’s broader success in Iraq depended much more on the other three drivers:

Sunni openness to armed uprising. Beginning in 2011, Sunni Arab communities in northern and western Iraq slipped into open revolt quite readily due to the sectarian policies of Shia prime minister Nouri al-Maliki. A powerful Sunni protest movement reflected this openness, and when IS defeated Iraqi government forces on the battlefield, Sunni residents were initially ambiva­­­­lent, while Sunni elites in IS-controlled areas viewed the outcome opportunistically.

Politicization of the military leadership. When IS advanced to just forty miles outside the capital and captured Fallujah in January 2014, it met with zero military response. When it took Mosul five months later, six Iraqi divisions and numerous local police services disintegrated in under a week. These humiliating failures can be traced to the steady enfeeblement of the Iraqi military leadership, which the Maliki government and its supporting Shia parties had staffed with corrupt political cronies instead of capable professionals.

U.S. withdrawal. The removal of U.S. military forces from Iraq in November 2011 eliminated a key backstop in the fight against IS. First, it left Washington with no way to monitor or ameliorate the corruption of Iraq’s military leadership, which accelerated immediately as U.S. forces left command posts. Second, the absence of U.S. advisors spurred the quick collapse of training and logistical support to the Iraqi security forces. Third, after losing the means to accurately gauge IS activity levels via broad intelligence collection on the ground, the Iraqi and U.S. governments fooled themselves into believing the group was finished. Fourth, the proactive hunting of IS leaders and car-bomb workshops ceased once U.S. Special Forces and intelligence capabilities departed, escalating the pattern of urban mass-casualty attacks in 2012-2014.

WHAT HAS CHANGED SINCE 2014?

Fortunately, none of these drivers is back in play in today’s Iraq, at least not to the degree seen five years ago. Perhaps most important, the current generation of Sunni Arab adults has essentially given up on armed uprising. They do not appear to be feeding recruits into residual IS activities inside Iraq. Not even the spate of recent Shia demonstrations in various parts of the country has moved them to major unrest. Sunnis citizens saw what IS did when it ruled their localities: the group’s methods were brutal, dictatorial, and ultimately unable to defend them from an eventual flood of Shia militias and wartime destruction. Since then, Sunnis have been cutting any deal they can with militia or government forces just so they can resettle in their villages and have their men serve in local self-defense units. IS still has huge arms caches in Iraq (e.g., scores of suicide vests are found by security forces each month), but the group seemingly lacks the recruits needed to use these weapons or otherwise mount a strong insurgency.

Even so, some of the past drivers could be reactivated due to miscalculations on the ground, and other new drivers are raising serious concerns of their own. Most worrisome is the manner in which political blocs are sabotaging national security through actions such as empowering sectarian militias operating under the cover of the Popular Mobilization Forces (PMF). If left unchecked, these trends will accumulate and eventually trigger another IS resurgence. Two troubling signs are already evident:

Baghdad is degrading its military leadership again. Influenced by pro-Iranian, Shia-led parliamentary factions such as the Badr Organization, the Iraqi government has taken a number of recent steps that threaten to weaken its military. For example, militia leaders have connived in the removal of various professional commanders, most notably Lt. Gen. Abdul-Wahab al-Saadi of the Counter Terrorism Service and Maj. Gen. Mahmoud Khalaf al-Falahi of the Anbar Operations Command. Meanwhile, the country’s most effective army and counterterrorism forces are seeing a slow degradation of their budgets and political profile, to the benefit of Iran-backed militias.

Coalition forces are being shackled. The U.S.-led Combined Joint Task Force-Operation Inherent Resolve (CJTF-OIR) has managed to weather a number of political storms in Iraq, and Baghdad seems to recognize that removing international assistance would send it back down the ruinous path of 2011-2014. Yet the task force is being placed under incremental restrictions that limit its effectiveness: Iran-backed militias have used rocket attacks and kidnapping threats to create a more hostile force protection environment for CJTF-OIR advisors; Iran-backed politicians have worked to cut off communication between CJTF-OIR and the U.S.-supported Sunni Tribal Mobilization Forces based in the most intense IS operating areas; and coalition forces have had trouble flying drones and providing air support due to excessive airspace restrictions, again conceived by Iran’s proxies.

POLICY RECOMMENDATIONS

The U.S. withdrawal from Syria is a very negative development that will force Washington to double its efforts in Iraq. In 2011, U.S. withdrawal opened the way for Baghdad to seriously degrade its military leadership, hollow out its armed forces, and drive the Sunni population toward an uprising. This will happen again if Washington mulls another drawdown or fails to reverse the troubling trends described above. Iraq needs CJTF-OIR now more than ever, and the U.S.-led coalition needs a competent Iraqi partner if it hopes to meet its primary goal of keeping IS at bay. Going forward, the coalition should focus on the following imperatives:

Prevent new Sunni uprisings. Over time, the widows and sons of fallen IS terrorists may decide to join surviving fighters and associates in forming the nucleus of a new uprising. The United States and its large raft of coalition partners can help prevent such a resurgence by pushing the Iraqi government to:

  • Permanently hire new Sunni recruits into local security forces, in part by detaching Sunni militias from the PMF
  • Professionalize all security forces serving in Sunni areas
  • Establish tighter command-and-control over all militias
  • Accelerate the resettlement of Sunni Arabs in their home areas
  • Release the many hundreds of illegally detained Sunnis, such as those kidnapped by the Iranian-backed terrorist group Kataib Hezbollah and held in its Jurf al-Sakhar base outside Baghdad

Protect Iraq’s military institutions. The coalition should shield the Iraqi Army and Counter Terrorism Service by pressing Baghdad not to undermine them at the budgetary or leadership levels. CJTF-OIR is a huge donor of security assistance to Iraq, and it must speak with one assertive voice to ensure that Iran-backed political blocs do not divert this assistance in the 2020 budget or otherwise corrode the capacity of the main security forces. Coalition officials should also urge Iraq to build up non-militia border forces facing Syria, and place all militias under a unified command structure led by officers who have been trained at staff colleges and espouse a clear patriotic commitment to Iraq, not to militias or political parties.

Protect CJTF-OIR. The only thing standing between Baghdad and an intensified urban bombing campaign is the U.S.-backed counterterrorism effort carried out by Iraq’s professional armed forces. Senior Iraqi and coalition leaders should continue to warn militias against threatening CJTF-OIR, regularly reminding them that foreign advisors have the inherent right to self-defense and will exert it forcefully if necessary. Finally, coalition states should urgently and collectively press Iraq to restore their access to the Sunni Tribal Mobilization Forces and ease airspace restrictions.

Michael Knights is a senior fellow with The Washington Institute. In 2011-2013, he worked extensively with the U.S. government to present ground-sourced evidence of the IS resurgence.