أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

النفط السعودي في مرمى النيران الإيرانية

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

14 أيار/مايو 2019


في ساعات الصباح الأولى من يوم الرابع عشر من أيار/مايو، قامت طائراتٌ بدون طيار تحلّق على مسافة 500 ميلاً من أراضي الحوثيين في اليمن بتنفيذ هجوم على محطتَي ضخ لخط الأنابيب "شرق - غرب" في السعودية. وسارع المسؤولون من مختلف الأوساط إلى التأكيد على دور إيران في التخطيط للهجوم، كونها تدعم الثوار الحوثيين في حربهم ضد الحكومة اليمنية المعترف بها دولياً وضد شركائها في التحالف في الرياض والإمارات العربية المتحدة. ويُشتبه أيضاً في ضلوع إيران في الهجوم الذي استهدف أربع ناقلات نفط كانت راسية في المياه الإماراتية بالقرب من الفجيرة في خليج عُمان في 12 أيار/مايو.

وإذا ثبتت صحّة هذه الاتهامات، فيعني ذلك أن تلك الهجمات، ببساطتها التكتيكية وأهميتها الاستراتيجية، قد تكون ردّ طهران الظاهر على الخطوة الأمريكية الأخيرة المتمثلة بنشر مجموعة حاملات هجومية وقاذفات من نوع "بي-52" وقوات أخرى في المنطقة - علماً بأن هذا القرار نفسه نتج عن التهديدات الإيرانية الجديدة التي تم التعرف إليها، وعن رغبة إدارة الرئيس ترامب في فرض قيود أكبر على صادرات النفط للنظام الإيراني. بيد أن الموقف الإيراني السائد منذ مدة طويلة هو أنه إذا لم تتمكن إيران من بيع النفط عبر ممر التصدير الوحيد لديها، مضيق هرمز، فلن تسمح لأي دولة أخرى [في المنطقة] ببيع نفطها. ويبدو أن طهران اختارت أهدافها لتذكّر حكومتَي الرياض وأبوظبي بضعفهما على الرغم من المظلة الأمنية الأمريكية - فخط الأنابيب "شرق - غرب" والخط الإماراتي الذي ينتهي في الفجيرة يشكّلان طريقان رئيسيان لا يمرّان عبر المضيق.

وبشكل عام، توفر السعودية والإمارات وإيران، وجيرانهن في الخليج العربي، العراق والكويت والبحرين وقطر وسلطنة عمان، حوالي عشرين في المائة من احتياجات العالم اليومية من النفط، وتزداد أهمية هذه الدول بصورة أكبر في النفط المتداول تجارياً، لا سيما فيما يخص أسواقها الرئيسية في آسيا. لكن تلك الأحداث لم تترك أثراً يُذكر على أسعار النفط حتى الآن، وربما يعود ذلك إلى استمرار حالة الغموض الاقتصادي التي تحيط بالمحادثات التجارية العسيرة بين الولايات المتحدة والصين. بيد أن أي مواجهة عسكرية مباشرة ستؤدي إلى ارتفاع حاد في الأسعار.

ولا تزال احتمالات حدوث مثل هذا التصعيد غير واضحة حالياً بسبب قلة التفاصيل المعلنة عن حوادث الطائرات بدون طيار والناقلات. فقد صرّح وزير النفط السعودي عن اندلاع حريق في إحدى المنشآت بفعل عملية قامت بها طائرة بدون طيار وعن إغلاق خط الأنابيب لإصلاحه. وإذا تأكّد دور إيران الرئيسي في العمليات التي قامت بها تلك المروحيات، فستتفاقم الأزمة نوعاً ما.

إن اكتشاف ضلوع إيران في الفجيرة سيؤجج التوترات أيضاً. فقد أظهرت الأدلة التصويرية التي صدرت حتى الآن وجود ناقلةٌ نرويجية تعرّضت لفجوة في مؤخرتها عند خط الماء نتيجة شحنة متفجرة كبيرة على الأرجح، وقد يستغرق إصلاحها أشهراً طويلة. أما الأضرار التي تعرضت لها الناقلتان السعوديتان وسفينة تزويد الوقود الإماراتية الأصغر حجماً فلم تُكشف على العلن.

ومع ذلك، لا يضمن تكثيف الإجراءات الأمنية سريعاً تفادي الهجمات المستقبلية. فالسفن السعودية كانت راسيةً على بُعد أميالٍ كثيرة من الشاطئ في منطقة تعجّ بسفنٍ أخرى تنتظر التزود بالوقود وبسفن أصغر حجماً أيضاً. ومن المحتمل أن تكون الطائرات الحوثية بدون طيار قد حلّقت دون أن يتم كشفها لأن الرادارات السعودية تميل إلى أن تكون أكثر تركيزاً على هجمات الطائرات أو الصواريخ. (في حزيران/يونيو 2017، أطلقت القوات الحوثية صاروخ باليستي إيراني من طراز "قيام" على ينبع، المحطة الطرفية في البحر الأحمر لخط الأنابيب "شرق - غرب"؛ وتم إطلاق سبع هجمات صاروخية أخرى على الرياض بين تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2017 وحزيران/يونيو 2018).

من هنا، سيكون من الصعب تحديد الرد الأمريكي المناسب. فبينما توشك حاملة الطائرات الأمريكية "أبراهام لينكولن" ومجموعة [سفنها] الضاربة على الوصول إلى المنطقة، فقد تكون أكثر أماناً في البقاء خارج مضيق هرمز الضيق والسطحي بعض الشيء. وإذا اعتُيرت إيران مسؤولة عمّا حدث، فمن المتوقع أن يؤيد الحلفاء الخليجيون الرد بشكل حازم ولكنهم قد يرفضون الانجرار إلى مواجهة كبيرة. أما الحلفاء الأوروبيون الذين سبقوا وأعربوا عن قلقهم حيال انسحاب الرئيس ترامب من الاتفاق النووي مع إيران، فمن المرجح أن يسعوا إلى ضبط الأزمة بمبادرات دبلوماسية، خاصة في ظل عدم وجود أدلة دامغة ضد إيران.

ومن جانبها، يبدو أن طهران تشير إلى أنها أرادت إثبات وجهة نظرها - أو ربما كانت تسعى ببساطة إلى أخذ استراحة بين العمليات التي تستطيع إنكارها بهدف تقويض الوحدة بين أمريكا وحلفائها إلى حدٍّ أكبر. وفي 14 أيار/مايو، صرح المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي: "لن تندلع أي حرب. لقد اختارت الأمة الإيرانية طريق المقاومة. نحن لا نسعى إلى حرب، ولا هم يسعون إليها. إنهم يعرفون أنها ليست في مصلحتهم". ولكن بغض النظر عن مسار الأزمة، ستتأثر عمليات صنع القرار لدى كافة الأطراف بكيفية تفاعل أسواق النفط العالمية مع التوترات الحاصلة.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Saudi Oil in Iran’s Crosshairs

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

May 14, 2019


Attacks on tankers near the Strait of Hormuz and Saudi Arabia’s main internal pipeline have accelerated the emerging Gulf crisis and could cause prices to spike worldwide.

Early in the morning of May 14, drones flying about 500 miles from Houthi-controlled territory in Yemen attacked two pumping stations on Saudi Arabia’s major East-West Pipeline. Officials in various quarters quickly asserted that the incident had been orchestrated by Iran, which has been supporting the Houthi rebels in their war against the internationally recognized Yemeni government and its coalition partners in Riyadh and the United Arab Emirates. Iranian involvement is also suspected in the May 12 attacks on four tankers anchored in UAE waters near Fujairah in the Gulf of Oman.

If these accusations prove true, the tactically simple but strategically momentous attacks would be Tehran’s apparent response to the recent U.S. deployment of a carrier strike group, B-52 bombers, and other forces to the region—a decision that was itself spurred by newly identified Iranian threats and the Trump administration’s desire to further curtail the regime’s oil exports. Iran’s longstanding position is that if it cannot sell oil via its only export route, the Strait of Hormuz, then no other country will be permitted to do so either. The choice of targets seems like Tehran’s way of reminding Riyadh and Abu Dhabi that they are vulnerable despite their American security umbrella—both the East-West Pipeline and the UAE line that terminates at Fujairah are major export routes that bypass the strait.

In all, Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Iran, and their Persian Gulf neighbors Iraq, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, and Oman supply around 20 percent of the world’s daily oil needs. Their significance is even greater in terms of traded oil, particularly regarding their main markets in Asia. So far, the incidents have had little impact on oil prices, probably because of ongoing economic uncertainty surrounding the difficult U.S.-China trade talks. But a direct military confrontation would lead to a spike.

The chances of such escalation are currently unclear because few public details have been released about the drone and tanker incidents. The Saudi oil minister stated that one facility had been set on fire by a drone, and the pipeline has been shut down for repairs. Any confirmation of Iranian origins behind the drones would escalate the crisis to some degree.

Iranian fingerprints in Fujairah would stoke tensions as well. The photographic evidence released so far has shown a Norwegian tanker holed in the stern at the waterline, likely by a significant explosive charge; repairs may take months. The damage to the two Saudi tankers and smaller UAE refueling vessel has not been shown.

Speedily increasing security measures is no guarantee of preventing further attacks. The Saudi vessels were anchored many miles offshore in an area teeming with other ships waiting for bunkering as well as smaller craft. And the Houthi drones probably flew undetected because Saudi radars tend to be more focused on aircraft or missile attacks. (In June 2017, Houthi forces fired an Iranian Qiam ballistic missile at Yanbu, the East-West Pipeline’s Red Sea terminal; another seven missile attacks were launched at Riyadh between November 2017 and June 2018.)

Determining the appropriate U.S. response will be a challenge. The USS Abraham Lincoln and its strike group arrive in the area imminently, but they may be safer staying outside the comparatively narrow and shallow Strait of Hormuz. If Iran is deemed responsible, Gulf allies will presumably support a firm retort, but they may balk at being dragged into a major confrontation. European allies are already concerned by President Trump’s withdrawal from the Iran nuclear deal and will likely seek to dial back the crisis through diplomatic overtures, especially in the absence of firm evidence against Iran.

For its part, Tehran appears to be signaling that it has made its point—or it could simply be taking a breather between deniable operations in order to further undermine America’s unity with its allies. On May 14, Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei stated: “There won’t be any war. The Iranian nation has chosen the path of resistance. We don’t seek a war, and they don’t either. They know it’s not in their interests.” Wherever the crisis heads, decisionmaking on all sides will be influenced by how world oil markets respond to the tensions.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy at The Washington Institute.