أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

انتكاسة لكرة القدم السعودية

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

31 تموز/يوليو 2020


في 30 تموز/يوليو، أعلن "اتحاد الشركات" الذي يهيمن عليه "صندوق الاستثمار العام" السعودي عن سحب عرضه لشراء نادي "نيوكاسل يونايتد" لكرة القدم مقابل 390 مليون دولار. وعندما تم الكشف عن اهتمام "الاتحاد" بعملية البيع للمرة الأولى في أواخر العام الماضي، كان ذلك بمثابة فرصة استثمارية لصندوق الثروة السيادية السعودي ووسيلة لتشجيع الرياضة في المملكة على حد سواء - وهي سمة رئيسية لخطة ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان المعروفة بـ «الرؤية 2030» لإبعاد الاقتصاد عن الاعتماد على النفط. لكن حتى قبل بدء انتشار وباء فيروس كورونا وإثارته تساؤلات حول الجدوى التجارية الطويلة الأمد للرياضات التي تعتمد على حضور جماهيري كبير، قوبلت عملية البيع المقترحة بمعارضة واسعة.

وعلى الصعيد السياسي، شنّت خديجة جنكيز، خطيبة الصحفي السعودي الراحل جمال خاشقجي، حملة كبيرة ضد الصفقة لأن ولي العهد، الرجل الذي يحمّله الكثيرون مسؤولية مقتل خاشقجي في القنصلية السعودية في اسطنبول عام 2018، يرأس "صندوق الاستثمار العام". (وفي المقابل، بدت القاعدة المحلية لمشجعي نادي "نيوكاسل" متحمسة لفكرة الحصول على مالك جديد يرغب في الاستثمار بلاعبين من الدرجة الأولى).

أما على الصعيد التجاري، فقد كانت أندية أخرى في "الدوري الإنكليزي الممتاز" قلقة لأنها شعرت بأن الرياض مدينة لها بالتعويض عن الإيرادات المهدورة والناتجة عن أنشطة قناة البث الفضائية "بي آوت كيو". فقد عُرفت هذه الشركة المشبوهة التي تتخذ من السعودية مقراً لها بقرصنة بث شبكة "بي إن سبورتس" القطرية التي وقّعت معها رابطة "الدوري الإنكليزي الممتاز" اتفاقية ترخيص لبث المباريات في الشرق الأوسط.

ومع ذلك، ربما كانت العقبة الرئيسية الشائكة هي عملية "اختبار المالكين والمدراء"، التي تمنح الدوري كلمة الفصل في عملية شراء أي نادٍ. ويقوم أساس هذا الاختبار على ضرورة قيام جميع المالكين والمدراء والمسؤولين عن فرق الدوري بتلبية معايير أعلى من تلك التي ينص عليها القانون لحماية سمعة اللعبة وصورتها. وبالتالي، على الرغم من توقّع وسائل الإعلام السعودية منذ أسابيع بأن تكون الاتفاقية قريبة من نهايتها، فقد أصبح من الواضح بشكل متزايد أن مجموعة الملكية بقيادة "صندوق الاستثمار العام" قد لا تجتاز هذا الاختبار.

وفي بيانه الصادر في 30 تموز/يوليو، أوضح "اتحاد الشركات" قراره بالانسحاب على النحو التالي: "للأسف، إن العملية المطوّلة في ظل الظروف الراهنة إلى جانب عدم اليقين العالمي جعلت الاستثمار المحتمل لم يعد مجدياً تجارياً". وقد رافقت "العملية المطوّلة" سلسلة غريبة من التطورات القانونية. فقبل يومين، استأنفت الرياض رسمياً الحكم السابق الذي صدر عن "منظمة التجارة العالمية" والقاضي بأن السعودية قد سهلت قرصنة بث مباريات "الدوري الإنكليزي الممتاز". وما يثير الارتباك هو أن التعليقات الأولى لوسائل الإعلام السعودية في حزيران/يونيو على حكم "منظمة التجارة العالمية" اعتبرت أن القرار يصبّ في مصلحة المملكة. وفي الوقت نفسه تقريباً، قدّمت الحكومة السعودية مرشحاً لعملية الاختيار الجارية لاستبدال مدير عام "منظمة التجارة العالمية" الذي سيتنحى قريباً. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، حظرت السعودية بث قنوات "بي إن سبورتس" في بداية تموز/يوليو، مما يجعل من غير القانوني لأي شخص في المملكة مشاهدة أفضل مباريات كرة القدم الإنجليزية.

وعلى الرغم من كل هذا الجدل، أفادت بعض التقارير أن الحكومة البريطانية وافقت على عملية البيع، لا سيّما أن المُلكية الأجنبية لأندية كرة القدم الإنكليزية راسخة للغاية. فمالك نادي "مانشستر سيتي" هو الشيخ منصور بن زايد، شقيق ولي عهد أبوظبي محمد بن زايد. كما أن نادي "أرسنال" الذي يملكه [رجل أعمال] أمريكي يلعب في "استاد الإمارات"، وهو ملعب في لندن بيعت حقوق تسميته إلى "شركة الطيران الإماراتية" الرسمية مقابل مبلغ كبير. ومع ذلك، تعثّرت عملية بيع "نيوكاسل"، الأمر الذي يذكّر المستثمرين الأجانب المحتملين بمدى تأثير خطر تشوّه السمعة على الصفقات التجارية مع السعودية - والظروف الاقتصادية الجديدة التي تُحدّد عصر "كوفيد-19".

وعلى صعيد المنطقة، من المرجّح أن تثير القصة الكثير من الشائعات، خاصة وأن كرة القدم لا تزال الرياضة المهيمنة في الشرق الأوسط. وبالإضافة إلى "مانشستر سيتي" المملوكة للإمارات، تمتلك قطر نادياً فرنسياً بارزاً هو "باريس سان جيرمان". وكان سيُنظر إلى "نيوكاسل يونايتد" على أنه نادي ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان (الذي أظهر سابقاً اهتماماً بشراء نادي "مانشستر يونايتد"، ولكن تم رفضه هناك أيضاً).

وبصرف النظر عن الفضيحة، فإن انسحاب "صندوق الاستثمار العام" من عملية الشراء هو قرار حكيم من الناحية المالية، على الأقل مقارنة باستثماراته الأخيرة في الصناعات الأخرى التي اهتزت بسبب جائحة كورونا (على سبيل المثال، السفن السياحية، شركات النفط الأجنبية). ومع ذلك، قد تكون البصائر القصيرة الأمد أكثر قسوةً في وسائل الإعلام الرياضية، التي تميل إلى النظر إلى هذه النتائج من خلال عدسة "الفائزين والخاسرين".

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Saudi Arabia’s Soccer Setback

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

July 31, 2020


Riyadh’s failed attempt to buy a high-profile English Premier League club will be examined closely by foreign investors and regional competitors alike.

On July 30, a consortium dominated by the Saudi Public Investment Fund (PIF) announced that it was ending its bid to buy Newcastle United Football Club for $390 million. When the consortium’s interest in the sale was first revealed late last year, it represented both an investment prospect for the Saudi sovereign wealth fund and a way to encourage sport in the kingdom—a key feature of Crown Prince Muhammad bin Salman’s “Vision 2030” plan for moving the economy away from oil dependence. Yet even before the coronavirus pandemic began raising questions about the long-term commercial viability of mass spectator sports, the proposed sale met with a chorus of opposition.

On the political front, Hatice Cengiz, the fiancee of the late Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi, campaigned loudly against the deal because the PIF is chaired by the crown prince, the man many hold responsible for Khashoggi’s 2018 murder at the Saudi consulate in Istanbul. (By contrast, the local Newcastle fan base seemed keen for the club to acquire a new owner willing to invest in top-flight players.)

On the commercial front, other Premier League clubs were concerned because they felt Riyadh owed them for lost revenues stemming from the activities of satellite broadcaster beoutQ. This shadowy, Saudi-based firm has been known to pirate the transmissions of the Qatar-based network beIN Sports, with which the league signed a licensing agreement for broadcasting games in the Middle East.

Perhaps the main sticking point, however, was the “owners and directors test,” which gives the league final say on any club purchase. The essence of the test is that all owners, directors, and officers of league teams have to meet standards greater than those required under law so as to protect the game’s reputation and image. Thus, despite Saudi media predicting for weeks that the deal was close to final, it became increasingly apparent that the PIF-led ownership group might not pass this test.

In its July 30 statement, the consortium explained its decision to withdraw as follows: “Unfortunately, the prolonged process under the current circumstances coupled with global uncertainty has rendered the potential investment no longer commercially viable.” The “prolonged process” has also been accompanied by an odd string of legal developments. Two days ago, Riyadh formally appealed the World Trade Organization’s past ruling that Saudi Arabia had facilitated the pirating of Premier League broadcasts. Confusingly, when Saudi media first commented on the ruling in June, they reacted as if the WTO had decided in the kingdom’s favor. Around the same time, the Saudi government submitted a candidate for the ongoing selection process to replace the WTO director-general, who will soon step down. More recently, Saudi Arabia banned beIN Sports earlier this month, effectively making it illegal for anyone in the kingdom to watch top English soccer matches.

Despite all the controversy, the British government reportedly approved of the sale, and foreign ownership of English football clubs is well-established. Manchester City is owned by Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed, the brother of Crown Prince Muhammad bin Zayed of Abu Dhabi. And the American-owned club Arsenal plays in Emirates Stadium, a London edifice whose naming rights were sold to the state-owned UAE airline for a generous sum. Yet the Newcastle sale still fell through, reminding prospective foreign investors of the extent to which reputational risk can affect business deals with Saudi Arabia—and of the new economic circumstances that are defining the COVID-19 era.

Regionally, the story will likely prompt much gossip, especially since soccer remains the dominant sport in the Middle East. In addition to the UAE-owned Manchester City, Qatar owns a top French club, Paris Saint-Germain; Newcastle United would have been seen as Crown Prince Muhammad’s club (previously, he showed interest in buying the storied Manchester United club, but he was rebuffed there as well).

Scandal aside, the PIF’s withdrawal from the sale is probably a wise decision in financial terms, at least compared to its recent investments in other pandemic-shaken industries (e.g., cruise liners, foreign oil companies). Yet near-term judgments may be harsher in the sports media, which tends to view such outcomes through the lens of “winners and losers.”

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy at The Washington Institute.