أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3111

تجديد الإعفاءات من العقوبات المفروضة على إيران (الجزء الثاني): الطاقة والتجارة مع أفغانستان

پاتريك كلاوسون

متاح أيضاً في English

22 نيسان/أبريل 2019


"هذا المرصد السياسي هو الثاني في سلسلة من جزأين حول كيفية تعامل واشنطن مع المواعيد النهائية للإعفاءات. وقد بحث الجزء الأول مجموعة أدوات الإعفاءات الأمريكية وكيفية انطباقها على البرنامج النووي الإيراني ".

من بين الدول التسع التي حصلت على إعفاءات تستثنيها من العقوبات الأمريكية على قطاع الطاقة في إيران، يُعتبر العراق الأكثر عرضةً للخطر. فاعتباراً من تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر الماضي، منحت واشنطن إعفاءات مؤقتة تسمح لبغداد بشراء الغاز الطبيعي والكهرباء في ثلاث فرص، مرةً واحدة لمدة خمسة وأربعين يوماً ومرتين لمدة تسعين يوماً. واشتُرط ذلك بإعداد البلاد خطة لتخفيض اعتمادها على الإمدادات الإيرانية. ويتماشى هذا المطلب مع هدف العراق الطويل الأمد المتمثل في زيادة قدرتها على توليد الطاقة، والاستفادة من الغاز الذي تهدره البلاد من خلال الاحتراق من أجل توفير الوقود لمحطات الطاقة.

ووفقاً لذلك، وبدلاً من التعامل مع مسألة الإعفاء على أنها شأن يتعلق بسياسة إدارة ترامب إزاء إيران، سيكون من الأفضل لهذه الإدارة أن تصوّرها على أنها وسيلة لمساعدة بغداد على تحقيق أهدافها الخاصة في مجال الطاقة بسرعة أكبر. وسبق أن أحرزت الحكومة العراقية الكثير من التقدّم في الاحتفاظ بالغاز المشتعل بمساعدة استثمارات من شركة "شل" ناهزت قيمتها مليارَي دولار تم استثمارها في شركة "غاز البصرة"، لكن استمرار الواردات من إيران والعقبات البيروقراطية العنيدة حالت دون إحراز المزيد من التقدم.   

بعض الإعفاءات النفطية لا تزال ذات قيمة مؤقتة

بينما يخضع قطاع الكهرباء في العراق لقوانين وأنظمة كثيرة، يتمّ تداول إمدادات النفط من قِبل الشركات في السوق الحرة. ولا يتناسب ذلك مع نموذج تنظّم فيه الإعفاءات الأمريكية السرية كمية النفط التي يمكن لدولة ما استيرادها من إيران.  

لكن الوضع مختلف بالنسبة للدول الثمان التي مُنِحت بطبيعة الحال إعفاءات نفطية أمدها 180 يوماً في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر الماضي، وهي الصين واليونان والهند وإيطاليا واليابان وكوريا الجنوبية وتايوان وتركيا. وقد أعلن وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو للتو أنه لن يتمّ تمديد هذه الإعفاءات بمجرد انتهاء صلاحيتها في 2 أيار/مايو. فحين مُنحت في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر الماضي، كان القرار يعتمد على القلق من تعرُّض أسواق النفط لاضطرابات بدونها، وربما يتسبب في ارتفاع الأسعار، مما يصبّ بالتالي في مصلحة إيران إلى حدّ كبير.

ومع ذلك، ارتفعت أسعار النفط الخام بنحو 40 في المائة منذ أدنى مستوياتها المسجلة في كانون الأول/ديسمبر، وقد ترتفع أكثر خلال الصيف المقبل مع تنامي الطلب. وكانت السعودية والإمارات قد تعهدتا بزيادة إنتاجهما. فإذا رفعتا الإنتاج إلى المستويات التي وافقت عليها "منظمة الدول المصدرة للنفط" ("أوبك") في أواخر عام 2018، فسيؤدي ذلك إلى زيادة 0.8 مليون برميل يومياً إلى السوق، ليعوّض بالكامل عن خسارة النفط الإيراني (ومن المحتمل أن تواصل طهران تصدير على الأقل جزء من إنتاجها الحالي البالغ مليون برميل في اليوم حتى بعد انقضاء مدة جميع الإعفاءات). وفي الوقت نفسه، تشهد أسواق النفط نقصاً في الإمدادات، وقد ترتفع أسعار الوقود في الولايات المتحدة ما إن يبدأ الأمريكيون رحلاتهم البرية خلال عطلات الصيف. ولو مَنحت الإدارة الأمريكية جولة إضافيةً من الإعفاءات وانتظرت حتى تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر المقبل لانقضائها، لكان بإمكانها الاعتماد على قدرات إضافية لخطوط الأنابيب لتزويد السوق بأكثر من مليون برميل يومياً من نفط ولاية تكساس. وعموماً، من شأن السوق العالمي أن يحظى بإمدادات أكبر بحلول نهاية العام الحالي ما لم ينهار الإنتاج في دول رئيسية أخرى إلى جانب فنزويلا (على سبيل المثال، ليبيا والجزائر اللتان تجدر متابعتهما).  

ومع ذلك، يمكن حتماً تفهّم الحجج المتعلقة بإنهاء الإعفاءات. فالشركات في بلدين على الأقل من البلدان التي تلقت الإعفاءات - اليونان وإيطاليا - لم تستخدمها على الإطلاق، لذا لن يكون لإلغائها أي أثر اقتصادي ملحوظ. وكانت كوريا الجنوبية واليابان تتكيفان أساساً مع احتمال عدم وجود نفط إيراني في العام الماضي، لذا يجب ألا يتسبب إنهاء هذه الإعفاءات باضطرابات في الأسواق. يُذكر أنه لدى الشركات الهندية والصينية والتركية بدائل جيدة للنفط الإيراني. إذاً لماذا العمل على تمديد هذه الإعفاءات ولو بصورة مؤقتة؟  

يكمن التحدي المتمثل في السماح لجميع الإعفاءات بالانقضاء على الفور في كيفية الحفاظ على التعاون السياسي المهم مع الدول المتضررة، ولا سيما البلدان الثلاثة الأخيرة. ومن بين العديد من القضايا التي تحتاج واشنطن إلى مساعدتها فيها، تحتل كل دولة مكانةً خاصة تخوّلها تسهيل أجندة الولايات المتحدة بشأن إيران: فتركيا تساهم من خلال التعاون في فرض قيود على استخدام إيران للدولار الأمريكي، بينما تساهم الهند من خلال منع النظام الإيراني من استخدام ميناء تشابهار للالتفاف على القيود المفروضة على موانئ إيرانية أخرى، في حين تساهم الصين من خلال الإشراف بصرامة على المواد النووية المستخدمة في منشأة أراك المعاد تصميمها في طهران.

وفي تموز/يوليو 2018، عبّر الموقع الإلكتروني الخاص بالمرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي عن دعمه للتحذير الذي أطلقه الرئيس حسن روحاني بأنه "إذا لم يتم تصدير النفط الإيراني، فلن يتمّ تصدير نفط أي دولة في المنطقة". وعلى وجه التحديد، تمّ وصف عبارات روحاني على أنها "ملاحظات مهمة تعكس سياسة النظام [الإيراني] ونهجه". ومن ثمّ كرّر روحاني هذا التحذير في كانون الأول/ديسمبر. يجب على المسؤولين في الولايات المتحدة أن يأخذوا هذه التهديدات على محمل الجد، وأن يراجعوا بدقة خطط الاحتمال المستبعد بقيام إيران بتنفيذ تهديداتها. وناهيك عن العنصر العسكري، قد تشمل هذه الخطط تعويضاً عن الإغلاق المحتمل لمضيق هرمز من خلال إطلاق 4 ملايين برميل في اليوم من "الاحتياطي الاستراتيجي للنفط" ومساعدة دول الخليج العربي على توسيع طاقتها الإنتاجية لخط الأنابيب بشكل عاجل. ويبلغ إجمالي صادرات النفط الخليجية حالياً، 15 مليون برميل في اليوم (5.9 ملايين من السعودية و3.4 ملايين من العراق و2.3 مليون من الكويت ومليونَين من الإمارات و0.25 مليون من قطر و0.20 من البحرين إضافةً إلى ما مجموعه مليون برميل يومياً من سوائل الغاز الطبيعي)، لكن خطوط الأنابيب لا تنقل سوى 7 ملايين برميل يومياً من هذا الإنتاج (4.8 ملايين من السعودية و1.5 مليون من الإمارات و0.7 مليون من العراق).

ميناء تشابهار

أصبح الإعفاء الذي حصل عليه ميناء تشابهار الإيراني بعيداً عن الأنظار بالكامل تقريباً، لكنه يتطلب معالجة دقيقة. فهذا الميناء في شرق إيران على بحر العرب، يقع على بعد أقل من 600 ميل من الحدود الأفغانية، أي على مسافة أقرب من أي مدينة إيرانية رئيسية. ومن خلال الإعلان عن إعفاء الميناء واقتراح إقامة سكة حديدية إلى أفغانستان في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر الماضي، قال المتحدث الرسمي باسم وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية إن: "هذا الاستثناء يتعلق بالمساعدة في إعادة الإعمار والتنمية الاقتصادية لأفغانستان"، وهي العبارة نفسها الواردة في القسم 1244 (و) من "قانون إيران للحرية ومكافحة الانتشار".

ويُعَد الإعفاء ذا أهمية خاصة للهند. فشركة "موانئ الهند العالمية المحدودة" تدير ميناء تشابهار، وتستثمر نيودلهي 500 مليون دولار لتطويره ليصبح طريقاً للتجارة مع أفغانستان. كما تعهّد المسؤولون في الهند بالتبرع بـ 1.1 مليون طن من القمح إلى أفغانستان، وتم بالفعل إرسال سبع شحنات عبر ميناء تشابهار.

إن الإعفاء من أجل السماح بمثل هذا التبادل للمواد الغذائية يخدم بالتأكيد مصالح الولايات المتحدة، تماماً كالسماح لأفغانستان باستيراد منتجات نفطية مكررة من إيران. ولطالما استغلت باكستان دورها المركزي كبلد عبور إلى أفغانستان كميزة للضغط على واشنطن لتجاهل دعمها الضمني لحركة "طالبان". ومن شأن مساعدة الهند على زيادة خيارات العبور أن يعزز على الأرجح جنون الارتياب الذي يصيب باكستان حيال طموحات عدوّتها في أفغانستان ويقلّص المساعدات المقدّمة إلى "طالبان".

وحتى الآن، لا يُستخدم ميناء تشابهار كثيراً في التجارة الإيرانية. ففي العام الماضي، شهد الميناء مناولة 2.1 مليون طن فقط، أو 2 في المائة من إجمالي تجارة البلاد، في حين تصل سعته القصوى إلى 8.5 ملايين طن فقط. غير أن تشابهار يتمتّع بغاطس يبلغ عمقه أربعة وخمسين قدماً، مما يجعله الميناء الإيراني الوحيد المناسب لاستقبال السفن التي يبلغ وزنها 250 ألف طنّ والمستخدمة على نطاق واسع في التجارة الدولية. وبالتالي، على واشنطن التفكير في اتخاذ التدابير المناسبة قبل فوات الأوان، من خلال حصر الإعفاء إما بالميناء بحجمه الحالي أو بالتجارة مع أفغانستان فقط.

الخطوات التالية

كما هو الحال مع المسألة النووية، سيكون الجدل الدائر حول الإعفاءات على صعيد الطاقة والموانئ أكثر دراية إذا تمّ نشر جميع هذه الإعفاءات. وفي حين صبّت الإعفاءات الحالية في مصلحة الولايات المتحدة، إلا أنها قد تعود بفائدة أكبر في المرحلة القادمة إذا تمّت مراجعتها بشكل ملائم. وينطوي إنهاء الإعفاءات النفطية على بعض المخاطر من حيث الحفاظ على استقرار أسواق الطاقة وضمان استمرار التعاون الدولي في مجالات أخرى من السياسة حول إيران. أما بالنسبة لإعفاء ميناء تشابهار، فيجب أن يكون مشروطاً بقيود كي لا يتحوّل إلى صمام هروب لإيران. أخيراً، لا بدّ من تعديل إعفاءات الغاز والكهرباء بالنسبة لبغداد لتتناسب مع جدول زمني ضيّق خاص باستقلال قطاع الطاقة العراقي. 

 

پاتريك كلاوسون هو زميل أقدم في زمالة "مورنينغستار" ومدير الأبحاث في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3111

Renewing the Iran Sanctions Waivers (Part 2): Energy and Afghan Trade

Patrick Clawson

Also available in العربية

April 22, 2019


Washington should phase out the oil waivers carefully and prevent Chabahar port from becoming an escape valve for Iran.

This PolicyWatch is the second in a two-part series on how Washington should handle the upcoming waiver deadlines. Part 1 examined the U.S. waiver toolkit and how it applies to Iran’s nuclear program.

Of the nine nations that have received waivers exempting them from U.S. energy sanctions on Iran, the one with the most at stake is Iraq. Starting last November, Washington has given temporary waivers allowing Baghdad to purchase natural gas and electricity on three occasions, once for forty-five days and twice for ninety days. These have been conditioned on the country developing a plan for reducing its dependence on Iranian supplies. That requirement aligns with Iraq’s longstanding goal of installing more power generation capacity, as well as capturing the gas it wastes through flaring in order to provide fuel for power plants.

Accordingly, rather than approaching the waiver issue as a matter of Iran policy, the Trump administration would be better served framing it as a means of helping Baghdad achieve its own energy objectives more quickly. The government has already made much progress in capturing flared gas with help from Shell’s nearly $2 billion investment in the Basra Gas Company, but further progress has been blocked by continued imports from Iran and stubborn bureaucratic obstacles.

SOME OIL WAIVERS STILL HAVE TEMPORARY VALUE

While the Iraqi power sector is highly regulated, its oil supplies are traded by companies on the free market. This fits poorly with a model in which secret U.S. waivers regulate how much oil a given country can import from Iran.

The situation is different for the eight nations evidently granted 180-day oil waivers last November: China, Greece, India, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, and Turkey. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo has just announced that these waivers will not be extended once they expire on May 2; when they were granted last November, the decision was based on concern that oil markets would be perturbed without them, perhaps spiking prices to Iran’s considerable benefit.

Yet world crude prices are up by about 40 percent since their December lows and could rise further this summer as demand grows. Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates have pledged to increase output; if they raise production to the levels agreed by OPEC in late 2018, that would bring an additional 0.8 million barrels per day (mb/d) to market, wholly making up for the loss of Iranian oil (Tehran will presumably continue exporting at least a fraction of its current 1 mb/d even if all waivers expire). At the same time, oil markets are tight, and U.S. gasoline prices could go up just as Americans hit the road on summer vacations. Had the administration granted one more round of waivers and waited until next November to let them expire, it could have counted on additional pipeline capacity bringing more than 1 mb/d of Texas oil to market. In all, the global market should be better supplied at year’s end unless production collapses in other key countries besides Venezuela (e.g., Libya and Algeria bear watching).

That said, the arguments for ending the waivers are certainly understandable. Firms in at least two of the countries receiving them—Greece and Italy—have not used them at all, so canceling those would have no significant economic impact. South Korea and Japan were already adjusting to the prospect of no Iranian oil last year, so ending their waivers should not disturb markets. Indian, Chinese, and Turkish firms have good alternatives to Iranian oil. So why extend these exemptions, even temporarily?

The challenge in letting all waivers expire immediately is how to preserve crucial political cooperation with the affected countries, particularly the latter three. Among the many issues that Washington wants their help with, each country is positioned to facilitate the U.S. agenda on Iran: Turkey by cooperating with restrictions on Iran’s use of the U.S. dollar, India by preventing the regime from using Chabahar to skirt restrictions on other Iranian ports, and China by strictly monitoring nuclear material used in Tehran’s redesigned Arak facility.

In July 2018, Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei’s official website expressed support for President Hassan Rouhani’s warning that “if Iran’s oil is not exported, no regional country’s oil will be exported.” Specifically, Rouhani’s words were described as “important remarks that reflect the policy and the approach of [Iran’s] system.” Rouhani then repeated the warning in December. U.S. officials should take note of such threats, carefully reviewing plans for the unlikely possibility Iran tries to make good on them. Besides the military component, those plans could include making up for potential closure of the Strait of Hormuz by releasing 4 mb/d from the Strategic Petroleum Reserve and helping Persian Gulf countries urgently expand their pipeline capacity. Currently, Gulf oil exports total 15 mb/d (5.9 mb/d Saudi, 3.4 Iraqi, 2.3 Kuwaiti, 2 Emirati, .25 Qatari, .20 Bahraini, and 1 mb/d in overall natural gas liquids), but pipelines carry only 7 mb/d of that amount (4.8 Saudi, 1.5 UAE, .7 Iraqi).

CHABAHAR PORT

The waiver for the Iranian port of Chabahar has been almost completely off the radar screen, but it requires careful handling. Located in eastern Iran on the Arabian Sea, Chabahar is less than 600 miles from the Afghan border, which is closer than any major Iranian city. In announcing the exemption for the port and a proposed railroad to Afghanistan last November, the State Department spokesperson said, “This exception relates to reconstruction assistance and economic development for Afghanistan,” the exact language in section 1244(f) of the Iran Freedom and Counterproliferation Act.

The exemption is of particular interest to India. The company India Ports Global Limited manages Chabahar port, and New Delhi is investing $500 million to develop it as a route for trade with Afghanistan. Indian officials have also pledged to donate 1.1 million tons of wheat to Afghanistan, and seven deliveries have already been made through Chabahar.

A waiver to permit such food trade certainly serves U.S. interests, as would allowing Afghanistan to import refined petroleum products from Iran. Pakistan has long used its central role as a transit country to Afghanistan as a lever for pushing Washington to ignore its tacit support for the Taliban. Helping India broaden the transit options would likely feed Pakistani paranoia about its enemy’s ambitions in Afghanistan and curtail assistance to the Taliban.

So far, Chabahar is little used for Iranian trade; last year, it handled only 2.1 million tons, or 2 percent of the country’s overall trade, while its maximum capacity is only 8.5 million tons. Yet Chabahar has a fifty-four-foot draft, making it the lone Iranian port suitable for the 250,000-ton ships used so widely for international trade. Thus, Washington should consider locking the door before the horse bolts, specifying that the waiver is restricted either to the port at its present size or to Afghan trade alone.

NEXT STEPS

As with the nuclear issue, the debate about energy and port waivers would be better informed if all of them were published. While the current waivers have served U.S. interests, they would work better going forward if they were appropriately revised. Ending the oil waivers runs some risks in terms of keeping energy markets stable and ensuring continued international cooperation on other areas of Iran policy. As for the Chabahar port waiver, it should be restricted so that it does not become an escape valve for Iran. Finally, Baghdad’s gas and electricity waivers should be tweaked to fit within a tight timetable for Iraqi energy independence.

Patrick Clawson is the Morningstar Senior Fellow and director of research at The Washington Institute.