أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3323

اتفاقيات المساعدات الأخيرة توفر فرصة لدعم المرأة في الأردن

أليسون جاكوبس أندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

4 حزيران/يونيو 2020


في الخامس من أيار/ مايو، وقّعت الولايات المتحدة والأردن ثلاث اتفاقيات تنص على تمويل التنمية في الأردن بقيمة 340 مليون دولار تحت إشراف "الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية" ("الوكالة الأمريكية"). ويُخصص جزء كبير من هذه المساعدات للمشاريع التي تهدف إلى زيادة الرخاء الاقتصادي والاعتماد على الذات، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على المرأة والسياسات الاجتماعية بين الجنسين. وفي الوقت نفسه، تقوم بعثة "الوكالة الأمريكية" في الأردن حالياً بصياغة "استراتيجية جديدة للتعاون الإنمائي القطري" للفترة 2020-2025 والتي ستركز بالمثل على التنمية الاقتصادية والمرأة.

وركزت البرامج السابقة التي نفّذتها "الوكالة الأمريكية" في الأردن على المشاريع الصغيرة والمتناهية الصغر، وخاصة الأعمال التجارية المنزلية، كوسيلة لدعم دخول المرأة في سوق العمل. ولكن بالرغم من حسنات هذه المقاربة، إلّا أن تأثيرها العام كان غير كاف. ولمساعدة النساء على الانخراط بشكل أكثر فاعلية في بناء الأردن كدولة مستقرة ومزدهرة وناجحة، يجب على "الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية" إعادة التركيز على البرامج التي تتصدى للأفكار النمطية القائمة على نوع الجنس، وتحسين سوق العمل في القطاع الخاص، وإصلاح البيئة القانونية للمرأة، وزيادة الخدمات الاجتماعية.

التركيز على النساء يمكن أن يكون له تأثير كبير

توفر المساعدات التنموية التي تقدمها الولايات المتحدة للأردن دعماً ضرورياً جداً لحليفٍ مهم، حيث يستمر في مواجهة اقتصاد راكد وتداعيات الصراعات الإقليمية. فاقتصاد السياحة، وأسواق التصدير، والاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر في المملكة الهاشمية تأثرت جميعها من أعمال العنف المستمرة في سوريا والعراق، ومن العدد الكبير من اللاجئين الذين لا يزالون في المخيمات والمدن الأردنية. ونتيجة لذلك، تواجه البلاد معدلات مرتفعة من البطالة والعمالة الناقصة إلى جانب نمو الوظائف الذي يقترب من الصفر في القطاع الخاص.

ويمكن أن يكون للمساعدات التنموية الأمريكية تأثير كبير على هذه التحديات من خلال دعم المرأة الأردنية. فالمملكة الهاشمية تحتل حالياً بالإجمال المرتبة 138 من أصل 153 في تقرير الفجوة العالمية بين الجنسين الذي يصدر سنوياً عن "المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي". ويبلغ معدل محو الأمية لدى النساء فيها 97 في المائة وهو الأعلى في الشرق الأوسط، لكن التحصيل العلمي لم يترجَم إلى مشاركة اقتصادية وفرص اقتصادية للنساء - وعلى هذا الصعيد احتل الأردن المرتبة الكئيبة 145، متجاوزاً فقط المغرب، وإيران، والمملكة العربية السعودية والهند، وباكستان، واليمن، وسوريا، والعراق. وبالمثل، احتل المرتبة 113 في التمكين السياسي للمرأة. وخلص التقرير إلى أن الأردن قد يحتاج إلى قرن من الزمن لإغلاق هذه الفجوات بين الجنسين بمعدل التقدم الحالي.

وتُعتبر المساواة بين الجنسين هدفاً مهماً في حد ذاته لأنه يمنح المرأة الارتياح الشخصي في تنمية إمكاناتها البشرية واستقلالها المالي. ومع ذلك، يجب السعي إلى تحقيق هذا الهدف أيضاً بسبب دوره في تحسين أرباح الدولة الصافية. فإشراك المرأة يمكن أن يساعد في تسريع وتيرة النمو الاقتصادي وتعزيز اقتصاد أقل عرضة للأزمات. على سبيل المثال، قد يؤدي إغلاق الفجوة بين الجنسين في سوق العمل في الأردن إلى زيادة "الناتج المحلي الإجمالي" بأكثر من 20 في المائة.

كما أن الفوائد الاجتماعية الأوسع ضرورية هي الأخرى. ويساعد تمكين النساء اقتصادياً على تقدُّم أسرهن ومجتمعاتهن المحلية، حيث تميل معدلات الخصوبة بينهن إلى الانخفاض، ويكون أطفالهن أكثر صحة ويبقون في المدرسة لفترة أطول، وتتزوج بناتهن لاحقاً. وعندما تشارك المرأة اقتصادياً، غالباً ما تكون أكثر مشاركة سياسياً، مما يساهم في بناء مجتمع أكثر شمولاً وديمقراطية. ويمكن لأصواتهن أن تكون مفيدة في المطالبة بإيجاد مدارس أفضل، وخدمات اجتماعية معززة، ونتائج صحية محسنة، فضلاً عن إنشاء مجتمعات أكثر قوة تكون أكثر مرونة في مواجهة التطرف.

ونظراً لهذه الفوائد، يجب أن تكون المساعدات التنموية الأمريكية قائمةً على هدف استراتيجي موجّه نحو دعم دخول المرأة إلى القوى العاملة. وسعى "مشروع دعم المؤسسات المحلية" في الأردن الذي أكملته "الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية" مؤخراً إلى معالجة هذه الفرص من خلال تعزيز المشاريع التجارية المنزلية والمؤسسات الصغيرة والمتناهية الصغر الأخرى التي تملكها النساء. وقد وجد التقييم الذي أجري للبرنامج في آب/ أغسطس 2019 أن هذه المقاربة المتعلقة بالمشاريع الصغيرة والمتناهية الصغر تتمتع بالعديد من الفوائد غير الملموسة، من بينها تعزيز تقدير الذات لدى النساء وجعل فكرة عمل المرأة بحد ذاته أمراً طبيعياً.

ومع ذلك، تبقى المشاريع الصغيرة والمتناهية الصغر مجرد جزءٍ من الحل. وعلى الرغم من أن هذه البرامج تجذب المانحين بسبب فوائدها الفورية على الأشخاص المعنيين، إلا أن تأثيرها ضئيلٌ فيما يتعلق بإيجاد وظائف جديدة مزدهرة ومضاعفة عددها أو التغلب على الحواجز الهيكلية أمام النساء المشاركات في القوى العاملة خارج المنزل. وتم التطرق بالتفصيل إلى هذه العوائق في تقرير "البنك الدولي" الصادر في حزيران/ يونيو 2018، مثل القيود القانونية، والبنية التحتية الصعبة للنقل، والافتقار إلى الوظائف المقبولة، وقلة الوصول إلى مرافق رعاية الأطفال، والمعايير المجتمعية التي ترسم المرأة بصورة ربّة المنزل ومقدّمة الرعاية، مما يؤدي إلى افتقارها إلى الوقت كلما وجدت عملاً خارج المنزل.

كيفية إعادة التفكير في مساعدات التنمية الأمريكية

للتغلب على العوائق المستمرة التي تحول دون مشاركة المرأة في الحياة الاقتصادية في الأردن، يجب على "الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية" أن تعطي الأولوية للإصلاحات التالية عند صياغة مشاريعها القادمة:

محاربة الأفكار النمطية القائمة على نوع الجنس من خلال التعليم والتوعية حول المساواة بين الجنسين. ويشمل ذلك إلقاء نظرة فاحصة على التحيز الجنسي في المناهج الدراسية في الأردن وتوفير الفرص للفتيات لاستكشاف فرص العمل غير التقليدية. بإمكان "الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية" أن تدعم أيضاً حملات الدعوى التي تسلط الضوء على دور المرأة المهم في الاقتصاد وتتحدى التوقعات التقليدية لأدوارها في المنزل.

تحسين سوق العمل من خلال زيادة النمو والقدرة التنافسية في القطاع الخاص، الأمر الذي يمكن أن يستقطب المزيد من النساء إلى القوى العاملة. وتحقيقاً لهذه الغاية، ينبغي أن تركز "الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية" على مساعدة الحكومة الأردنية على تحسين بيئة الأعمال التجارية، وتطوير أسواق التصدير الخاصة بها، وخلق المزيد من الحوافز للاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر، ودعم المحافظات المحلية في جذب الشركات إلى الأجزاء الأقل تطوراً في البلاد. ومثل هذه الجهود لن تكون سهلة، وقد لا تسفر عن نتائج جوهرية على الفور، خاصة بالنظر إلى التحديات الاقتصادية المحتملة على المدى الطويل الناجمة عن جائحة فيروس كورونا. ومع ذلك، تدرك عمان الحاجة إلى إصلاح اقتصادها، كما هو موضح في خطط نموها الأخيرة، وبإمكان "الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية" دعم هذه الأجندة من خلال تقديم مساعدة فنية طويلة الأجل.

تشجيع الإصلاح القانوني من خلال إسداء المشورة للمملكة الأردنية بإلغاء القوانين والأنظمة التي تقيّد قدرة المرأة على دخول المضمار الاقتصادي أو اتخاذ القرارات فيه. وفي الوقت الحالي، لا يُضمن للمرأة الأردنية وضعاً متساوياً بموجب القانون، بما في ذلك قوانين العمل، وتواجهن قيوداً قائمة على أساس نوع الجنس فيما يتعلق باختيار المهنة وساعات العمل.

زيادة الخدمات الاجتماعية كالنقل العام وخدمات الرعاية النهارية. وتتركز الوظائف في المملكة بشكل كبير في عمان والمدن الكبيرة الأخرى، وغالباً ما تؤدي البنية التحتية للنقل غير الملائمة أو غير الآمنة إلى إعاقة النساء. وبالمثل، فإن إمكانية الاستفادة من الرعاية النهارية صعبة وغالباً ما تكون مكلفة. وتستطيع "الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية" دعم تطوير هذه الخدمات الحيوية وتنفيذها.

وإجمالاً، إنّ تهيئة الظروف الضرورية للازدهار الاقتصادي والمشاركة الواسعة للمرأة في الحياة الاقتصادية يستغرق وقتاً. إن التزام "الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية" على المدى الطويل تجاه الأردن جدير بالثناء وينبغي الحفاظ عليه، ولكن يجب إجراء التعديلات الاستراتيجية اللازمة لتعزيز تأثيره إلى أقصى حد.

 

أليسون جاكوبس أندرسون، زميلة سابقة في "برنامج فولبرايت للأبحاث في الأردن" في الفترة 2018-2019، وتكمل حالياً شهادة الدكتوراه في "كلية جاكسون للدراسات الدولية بجامعة واشنطن"، حيث تركز على الشرق الأوسط، والجنس، والتنمية الاقتصادية.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3323

Recent Aid Agreements Provide Opportunity to Support Women in Jordan

Allison Jacobs Anderson

Also available in العربية

June 4, 2020


New USAID funds and a pending strategy for enhanced development cooperation could facilitate reforms that foster a better economic environment for women, and for the kingdom as a whole.

On May 5, the United States and Jordan signed three agreements that will bring a total of $340 million in development funding to the kingdom, all overseen by the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID). Much of the aid is earmarked for projects aimed at increasing economic prosperity and self-reliance, with a particular focus on women and social gender policies. At the same time, USAID’s Jordan mission is currently formulating a new Country Development Cooperation Strategy for 2020-2025 that will likewise focus on economic development and women.

Previous USAID programs in Jordan focused on micro and small enterprises (MSEs), particularly home-based businesses, as a way to support women’s entrance into the labor force. Despite the merits of this approach, however, its overall impact was insufficient. To help women become more actively engaged in creating a stable, thriving, and prosperous Jordan, USAID should refocus on programs that challenge gender stereotypes, improve the private-sector labor market, reform the legal environment for women, and increase social services.

FOCUSING ON WOMEN CAN HAVE AN OUTSIZE IMPACT

U.S. development aid for Jordan provides much needed support to an important ally as it continues to grapple with a stagnant economy and the fallout from regional conflicts. The kingdom’s tourism economy, export markets, and foreign direct investment have all been affected by ongoing violence in Syria and Iraq, and by the massive refugee populations that remain in Jordanian camps and cities. As a result, the country faces high unemployment and underemployment along with near-zero job growth in the private sector.

U.S. development aid can have an outsize impact on these challenges by supporting Jordan’s women. Overall, the kingdom currently ranks 138th out of 153 countries in the World Economic Forum’s annual Global Gender Gap Report. Its 97 percent female literacy rate is the highest in the Middle East, but educational attainment has not translated to economic participation and opportunity for women—Jordan ranked a dismal 145th on that front, surpassing only Morocco, Iran, Saudi Arabia, India, Pakistan, Yemen, Syria, and Iraq. Similarly, it ranked 113th on political empowerment of women. The report concluded that Jordan may need a century to close these gender gaps at its current rate of progress.

Gender equality is an important goal in and of itself, since it affords women personal satisfaction in cultivating their human potential and financial independence. Yet it should also be pursued because of how it improves a country’s bottom line. Including women can help accelerate economic growth and foster an economy less susceptible to crises. For example, closing the gender gap in Jordan’s labor market could increase GDP by more than 20 percent.

The broader social benefits are crucial as well. Economically empowering women helps advance their families and communities—their fertility rates tend to decline, their children are healthier and stay in school longer, and their daughters marry later. When women are economically involved, they are often more politically involved, which contributes to a more inclusive and democratic society. Their voices can be instrumental in demanding better schools, enhanced social services, and improved health outcomes, as well as in creating stronger communities that are more resilient against extremism.

Given these benefits, U.S. development aid should be strategically targeted to support women’s entrance into the labor force. USAID’s recently completed Jordan Local Enterprise Support Project (LENS) sought to address these opportunities by promoting women’s home-based businesses and other MSEs. An August 2019 evaluation of the program found numerous intangible benefits to the MSE approach, such as increasing women’s self-esteem and normalizing the very act of them working.

Yet MSEs are only part of the solution. Although these programs are attractive to donors because of their immediate benefits for the individuals involved, they have a minimal effect on creating and multiplying prosperous new jobs or overcoming structural barriers to women participating in the labor force outside the home. Some of these barriers were detailed in a June 2018 World Bank report, such as legal restrictions, difficult transportation infrastructure, lack of acceptable jobs, low access to childcare facilities, and societal norms that cast women as homemakers and caregivers, which creates time poverty whenever they do find work outside the home.

HOW TO RETHINK U.S. DEVELOPMENT AID

To overcome the persistent impediments to women’s economic participation in Jordan, USAID should prioritize the following reforms when formulating its upcoming projects:

Challenge gender stereotypes through education and awareness about gender equality. This includes taking a careful look at gender bias in Jordan’s school curricula and providing opportunities for girls to explore nontraditional career opportunities. USAID can also support advocacy campaigns that highlight women’s important role in the economy and challenge traditional expectations of their roles at home.

Improve the labor market through increased private-sector growth and competitiveness, which could pull more women into the workforce. Toward that end, USAID should focus on helping the Jordanian government improve the business environment, develop its export markets, create more incentives for foreign direct investment, and support local provinces in attracting companies to less-developed parts of the country. Such efforts will not be easy, and they may not yield substantial results right away, especially given the potential long-term economic challenges stemming from the coronavirus pandemic. Yet Amman is aware of the need to reform its economy, as shown in its recent growth plans, and USAID can support this agenda by providing long-term technical assistance.

Encourage legal reform by advising the kingdom to remove laws and regulations that restrict women’s economic decisionmaking or access. Currently, Jordanian women are not guaranteed equal status under the law, including labor laws, and they face gender-based restrictions on their choice of occupation and hours of work.

Increase social services such as public transportation and daycare. The kingdom’s jobs are highly concentrated in Amman and other large cities, and women are often restricted by inadequate or unsafe transportation infrastructure. Similarly, accessing daycare is difficult and often costly. USAID can support the development and implementation of these vital services.

In sum, creating the necessary conditions for economic prosperity and broader participation by women takes time. USAID’s long-term commitment to Jordan is commendable and should be maintained, but with the necessary strategic adjustments to maximize its impact.

Allison Jacobs Anderson, a former 2018-2019 Fulbright Research Fellow in Jordan, is currently completing her doctorate at the University of Washington’s Jackson School of International Studies, focusing on the Middle East, gender, and economic development.