أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3083

خيارات تخفيف التواجد الأمريكي في سوريا

المقدم أوغست بفلوغر، "سلاح الجو الأمريكي" و مايكل نايتس

متاح أيضاً في English

22 شباط/فبراير 2019


في 21 شباط/فبراير، أعلن البيت الأبيض أنّ 200 جندي أمريكي سيبقون في سوريا بصفة [قوّة لـ] "حفظ السلام" بعد انسحاب الجزء الأكبر من القوات الأمريكية كما كان مخططاً له مسبقاً. وكان الهدف من هذا الإعلان هو الإشارة إلى الالتزام الأمريكي المستمر تجاه الحلفاء السوريين وأعضاء التحالف. لكن من وجهة نظر عسكرية، لن يعوّض مئتا مستشارٍ عن خسارة المراقبين الأمريكيين على الأرض - وهي شبكة توفّر سياقاً مهمّاً لمعلومات الاستهداف الاستخباراتية المدروسة بدقة والمستخدَمة لتوجيه ضربات قوات التحالف الجوية والمدفعية على أهدافٍ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية».

عمليات الهجوم الحالية

تفرض العقيدة العسكرية الأمريكية أن تكون عملية الاستهداف قوية لتحقيق الآثار المنشودة والتقليل من العواقب غير المرغوب فيها. وينطبق هذا الأمر بشكلٍ خاص عند التعاطي مع الأهداف الديناميكية (على سبيل المثال، تلك المتحركة أو القابلة للنقل)، التي يتم التعرف إليها عادةً خلال سير القتال وتقتضي الاستهداف السريع. وتتركّز العمليات في سوريا على ضرب قوات تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» وحماية القوات الصديقة، لذا فإن معظم الأهداف ديناميكية.

هناك طريقتان واسعتان لتنفيذ الاستهداف الديناميكي:

  • "مراقبو مسارات الهجوم المشتركة" على الأرض. يمكن أن يتولى توجيهَ عملية الاستهداف "مراقبو مسارات الهجوم المشتركة" - وهم مجموعة أفراد مدرّبين بشكلٍ خاص وذوي مهارات عالية يتم نشرهم إلى جانب القوات البرية ويراقبون الأهداف مباشرةً بأعينهم الخاصة، عبر تقارير من القوات الشريكة المحلية المجاورة، أو من خلال التحكم ببث الشرائط المصورة من الطائرات الموجَّهة عن بُعد. وهم يزوّدون الطيارين بكافة المعلومات المطلوبة لضرب الهدف بشكلٍ فعّال وفقاً لقواعد الاشتباك المعتمَدة، مما يضمن صحة تقييم خطر الأضرار الجانبية وتوازنه مع المنافع العسكرية المتوقَّعة، ويضمن التقيّد بقانون النزاع المسلّح. وبسبب تواجدهم الأمامي، بإمكانهم قراءة المعركة بدقة أكبر، وتشغيل أجهزة الاستشعار الأرضية والطائرات التكتيكية بدون طيار ذات التحليق المنخفض التي تؤمّن مشاهدات أقرب للأهداف المحتملة تحت تغطية أفقية (مثل المظلات والجسور) أو في الأحوال الجوية السيئة. كما أنّ وجودهم يُطمئن القوات الشريكة من ناحية التزام الحلفاء الدوليين بالقتال.
  • خلايا الضربات عن بُعد. إذا لم يتواجد "مراقبو مسارات الهجوم المشتركة" على الأرض، بإمكان طاقم مؤهّل أن يوفّر دعم الاستهداف للطيارين عن بُعد، وتزويدهم بمعلومات استخباراتية وبيانات مراقبة إضافية مع مساعدتهم في الوقت نفسه على تقييم الضرر الجانبي المحتمل وبعض المسائل الأخرى. ورغم بُطء خلايا الضربات عن بُعد في بعض الأحيان في التعاطي مع الأهداف، إلّا أنها تقدّم بعض المنافع مثل زيادة المعلومات الاستخباراتية المجمّعة (ما يشمل المزيد من أنواع أجهزة الاستشعار الفضائية أو المحمولة جوّاً)، وتعزيز تزامن الطلقات النارية، وطبقة أخرى من التدقيق لمنع حدوث أضرار جانبية. وتشمل هذه الخلايا مجموعة متنوعة من المهنيين، من بينهم مستشارين قانونيين، ومحللي المعلومات الاستخباراتية، وعناصر الاتصال الجوي والأرضي، والأهم من ذلك، أفراد مؤهّلين من "مراقبي مسارات الهجوم المشتركة".

منذ بداية "عملية العزم الصلب" (»عملية الحل المتأصل«) في عام 2014، استخدم التحالف بقيادة الولايات المتحدة كلّاً من "مراقبي مسارات الهجوم المشتركة" على الأرض والخلايا البعيدة للتحكم بالغارات الجوية في سوريا. وتطلبت كل هذه الغارات التي نفّذتها القوات الأمريكية تدخّل "مراقبي مسارات الهجوم المشتركة" من النموذج الأمريكي - أي مراقبين على درجة عالية من التدريب من القوات العسكرية لحلف "الناتو" التي تركز على التمسك بقوانين النزاع المسلح بشكل أكبر من القوات العسكرية غير الغربية. ويمكن استدعاء بعثات النيران المدفعية من قبل مجموعة أوسع من المراقبين الأماميين من غير "مراقبي مسارات الهجوم المشتركة"، رغم أنّ هؤلاء الأفراد يركزون أيضاً على الالتزام بالقوانين نفسها.

خيارات تخفيف التواجد الأمريكي

حتى لو تم سحب الجزء الأكبر من القوات الأمريكية، ما زال بإمكان طائرات ووحدات المدفعية التابعة لقوات التحالف في العراق وتركيا والأردن تنفيذ ضربات في سوريا بدرجات متفاوتة من الفعالية. ولكلٍ من النماذج االبديلة مزاياه ومساوئه.

  • التواجد الأمريكي الخفي. يتمثّل أحد الخيارات في نشر التواجد الخفي المعزَّز في سوريا، الذي يشمل القوات شبه العسكرية الأمريكية أو "القوات الخاصة الأمريكية" غير المتعارَف عليها والمجازة من قبل "مراقبي مسارات الهجوم المشتركة". وهذا من شأنه أن يفرض التزاماً جديداً كبيراً على هذه المجموعات الصغيرة وقد يعرّضها لمخاطر أكبر بسبب أعدادها الضئيلة وقدراتها الأكثر محدودية في مجال الدفاع الذاتي.
  • التواجد الأمريكي الدوري. من خلال استخدام نموذج "التحليق لإسداء المشورة"، يمكن إرسال "المراقبين العسكريين الأمريكيين لمسارات الهجوم المشتركة" إلى سوريا من البلدان المجاورة لدعم العمليات الخاصة ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، سواء من خلال البقاء هناك لتنفيذ عمليات دورية قصيرة أو "الانتقال" يوميّاً إلى ساحة المعركة. إلا أنّ التواجد الدوري يمنح مرونةً أقل من التواجد المنتظم، ويتعرض للمزيد من المخاطر على حماية القوات (على سبيل المثال، الاعتماد المنتظم على النقل الجوي). كذلك، يؤدي استخدام هذا النموذج إلى خسارة الكثير من مزايا الاندماج مع القوات المحلية (مثل الإلمام الدقيق بوتيرة عمليات الجهات الصديقة والعدوّة).
  • المراقبون غير الأمريكيين للتحكم بالغارات الجوية. يمكن أن يعتمد التحالف على نشر "مراقبين آخرين لمسارات الهجوم المشتركة" من نموذج "الناتو" في سوريا، سواء [أولئك الذين تم] سحبهم من عناصر القوات الخاصة الأوروبية والعراقية الكبيرة الحجم في "قوة مهام العمليات الخاصة المشتركة" في العراق، أو من مساهمين جدد في القوة. ومن المرجح أن يستلزم الأمر أقل من ست أشخاص من "مراقبي مسارات الهجوم المشتركة" من غير الأمريكيين، لكلٍ منهم فريق صغير يرتبط بهم. وفي بعض الحالات، يمكن استبدال الفرق الأمريكية التي تم سحبها من سوريا بالقوات الخاصة غير الأمريكية التابعة لقوات التحالف الموجودة حاليّاً في العراق، وخاصة الوحدات من أستراليا وكندا ونيوزيلندا وغيرها من القوات العسكرية ذات القدرات العالية والتي قد تواجه قدراً أقل من الهواجس السياسية حول حماية الشركاء السوريين من التدابير التركية - مقارنةً بالدول الأوروبية التي تقيّدها قدرة أنقرة على إطلاق العنان للمزيد من تدفقات اللاجئين إليها.
  • الوحدات السورية للتحكم بالغارات الجوية. يستطيع التحالف أيضاً تدريب شركاء سوريين موثوق بهم لاستدعاء الدعم الناري بشكلٍ أكثر فعالية بالتنسيق عن كثب مع خلايا الغارات بقيادة الولايات المتحدة في العراق أو تركيا أو الأردن أو أماكن أخرى. وقد جمعت نماذج العمليات التي تستخدمها القوات العسكرية الأخرى من نموذج "الناتو" - مثل القوات الإماراتية في اليمن - مراقبين محليين جديرين بالثقة، وقامت بتعقب القوات الصديقة القائم على هاتف "آي فون"، وإدارة الغارات من قِبل "مراقبي مسارات الهجوم المشتركة" في الخلايا البعيدة. فإذا حصل المشغّلون السوريون المختبَرون على معدات الاتصالات المتخصصة وأجهزة استشعار الفيديو الكاملة الحركة في الوقت الفعلي، يمكن أن يستعيدوا بعضاً من الرؤية البرّية التي ستُفقَد إذا انسحبت قوات التحالف. وسيساعد الاندفاع في تركيز الاستخبارات الأمريكية على سوريا هؤلاء المشغلين على التمتع حتى بفعالية أكبر.
  • زيادة استخدام نُظم المدفعية. يتمثّل الخيار الأخير في السعي للحصول على موافقة الحكومة العراقية على نقل المزيد من المدفعيات الأنبوبية ومدفعيات الصواريخ بعيدة المدى الخاصة بقوات التحالف إلى الحدود مع سوريا. وتتمتع المدفعيات بقدرة عالية على الرد، ويمكن استدعاء بعثات نارية من قِبل مراقبين أماميين أقلّ كفاءة، ربما يشملون شركاء محليين موثوق بهم. وإذا دعت الحاجة إلى نطاق إضافي، يمكن نشر مدفعيات التحالف بشكلٍ مؤقت في سوريا بإذنٍ من بغداد. وقد تم بالفعل تنفيذ مثل هذه العمليات من وقت لآخر، من بينها إدخال مدفعيات إلى سوريا عبر النقل الجوي لتنفيذ مهام نارية محددة.

التداعيات على السياسة الأمريكية

صرّحت إدارة ترامب أن انسحاب القوات الأمريكية لا يشير إلى نهاية الحملة ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في سوريا، ولا إلى التخلي عن شركاء الولايات المتحدة هناك. وبناءً على ذلك، لا بد من ممارسة أحد الخيارات المذكورة أعلاه أو أكثر من خيارٍ واحد من أجل الحفاظ على الدعم الناري في سوريا، وتدمير أهداف تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، وحماية القوات الشريكة.

ويشكّل قرار إبقاء 200 جندي أمريكي في سوريا خطوة أولى مهمة. ويتجسّد العائق الأساسي أمام الغارات الجوية الفعّالة في نقص المعلومات الاستخباراتية المتواصلة والفهم الشامل للوضع على الأرض، الأمر الذي يهدد بتدهور التطور المستهدَف. وسيؤدي الانتقال إلى نموذج بعيد تماماً تديره خلايا الغارات خارج سوريا إلى زيادة ذلك الخطر إلى حدٍ كبير. وسيضيع جزءٌ من معلومات الاستهداف الاستخباراتية والفهم الدقيق لتحركات الأصدقاء والأعداء، مما يُلزم القوات إما بتقليص عدد الضربات التي توافق عليها أو تخفيض معاييرها الخاصة بتخفيف الأضرار الجانبية - وهو سيناريو يجب تفاديه مهما كلّف الأمر.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد يدلّ النموذج البُعدي بالنسبة للشركاء المحليين على أنّ التحالف أصبح أقل التزاماً لأنه لم يعد في قلب اللعبة. ومثل هذه المقاربة قد تُقنع أيضاً كلّ من إيران ونظام الأسد والأعداء الآخرين بأنّهم أصبحوا أكثر حريةً في التصرف، بعلمهم بعدم وجود تواجد للولايات المتحدة أو "الناتو" على الأرض لإثارة أعمال انتقامية واسعة النطاق.

وللحد من بعض هذه المشاكل، يجب أن تنظر الولايات المتحدة في تجنيد حلفاء موثوقين مثل أستراليا وكندا ونيوزيلندا لنقل القوات الخاصة إلى سوريا في زيارات مستمرة بينما تقوم القوات الأمريكية بالخروج من البلاد. وبإمكان دعم هذا الطلب بالتزامات أمريكية بتوفير دعم العمليات والحماية لهذه القوات، إلى جانب تقديم التدريب المكثّف والمعدات إلى الشركاء السوريين لتحديد أهداف الضربات الجوية لقوات التحالف أو المهام النارية المدفعية. فإذا كان استمرار القتال ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» مهماً حقاً للدول الأخرى، فيجب أن تكون مستعدة للمساعدة على حمل المزيد من العبء على الولايات المتحدة، لا سيما في وقتٍ ساهم فيه قرار الانسحاب في إنشاء ضغط سياسي-عسكري حاد في واشنطن. إن التواجد الطويل المدى لـ  200 مستشار أمريكي قد يجعل هذه الدول أكثر استعداداً، وحتى أنّ فرقاً صغيرة من التحالف داخل سوريا قد تكون كافية لتقييد حرية المناورة الروسية والإيرانية والتركية، طالما تستمر الولايات المتحدة بدعمها بقوة.

وأخيراً، تعتمد جميع الخيارات المبيّنة أعلاه اعتماداً كبيراً على الحفاظ على قاعدة التحالف في العراق. إن ذلك يسلّط الضوء على الأهمية الكبيرة لاستعادة الثقة بأن انتشار العنصر الأمريكي هناك هو فقط لإلحاق الهزيمة بتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». ومن خلال التعبير مراراً عن هذا المبدأ عبر التواصل المباشر ووسائط الإعلام المحلية الشعبية، يحظى القادة المدنيون والعسكريون الأمريكيون بفرصة أفضل لإقناع القادة العراقيين باتباع نهجٍ صارم للحفاظ على تواجد التحالف.

 

المقدم أوغست بفلوغر، "سلاح الجو الأمريكي"، هو زميل عسكري في معهد واشنطن. مايكل نايتس هو زميل أقدم في المعهد. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذه المقالة هي آراء المؤلفين ولا تعكس السياسة الرسمية أو الموقف الرسمي للحكومة الأمريكية أو وزارة الدفاع الأمريكية.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3083

Options for a Lighter U.S. Footprint in Syria

Lt. Col. August Pfluger, USAF and Michael Knights

Also available in العربية

February 22, 2019


There are alternatives to the overt presence of U.S. controllers on the ground, and allies can help maintain the tempo of strikes in various ways.

On February 21, the White House announced that 200 U.S. troops will remain in Syria in a “peacekeeping” capacity after the bulk of American forces are withdrawn as previously planned. The announcement was intended to signal ongoing U.S. commitment to Syrian allies and coalition members. From a military perspective, however, 200 advisors will not offset the loss of U.S. observers on the ground—a network that provides important context for the vetted targeting intelligence used to direct coalition air and artillery strikes onto Islamic State (IS) targets.

CURRENT STRIKE OPERATIONS

U.S. military doctrine mandates that targeting adhere to a rigorous process in order to achieve the desired effects while minimizing undesired consequences. This is particularly the case when dealing with dynamic (e.g., mobile or relocatable) targets, which are typically identified during the course of combat and must be targeted rapidly. Operations in Syria are focused on striking IS forces and protecting friendly forces, so most targets are dynamic.

There are two broad methods for executing dynamic targeting:

  • On-the-ground joint terminal attack controllers. The targeting process can be guided by JTACs—specially trained, highly skilled personnel who are deployed alongside land forces and directly observe targets with their own eyes, via reports from nearby local partner forces, or by controlling video feed from remotely piloted aircraft. They provide pilots with all required information to effectively strike a target in accordance with the approved rules of engagement, ensuring that the risk of collateral damage is correctly assessed and balanced against the anticipated military benefits, and that the law of armed conflict is adhered to. Due to their forward presence, they can read the battle more accurately, and operate ground-level sensors and low-flying tactical drones that offer closer views on potential targets under horizontal cover (e.g., sunshades, bridges) or in bad weather. Their presence also reassures partner forces that international allies are committed to the fight.
  • Remote strike cells. If JTACs are not on the ground, qualified personnel can provide targeting support to pilots remotely, feeding them additional intelligence and surveillance data while helping them assess collateral damage potential and other issues. Although these remote strike cells are sometimes slow to process targets, they offer the advantages of increased intelligence fusion (involving more types of space or airborne sensors), enhanced synchronization of fires, and another layer of vetting to prevent collateral damage. Such cells comprise a variety of professionals, including legal advisors, intelligence analysts, air and land component liaisons, and, most important, JTAC-qualified personnel.

Since the beginning of Operation Inherent Resolve in 2014, the U.S.-led coalition has used both on-the-ground JTACs and remote cells to control airstrikes in Syria. All such strikes conducted by U.S. forces have required the involvement of U.S.-standard JTACs—that is, highly trained controllers from NATO militaries that place greater emphasis on adhering to the laws of armed conflict than non-Western militaries. Artillery fire missions can be called by a broader set of non-JTAC forward observers, though such personnel are equally focused on adhering to the same laws.

OPTIONS FOR A LIGHTER U.S. FOOTPRINT

Even if the bulk of U.S. troops are withdrawn, coalition aircraft and artillery units in Iraq, Turkey, and Jordan could still conduct strikes in Syria with varying degrees of effectiveness. Each alternative model has advantages and disadvantages.

  • Covert U.S. presence. One option is to deploy an enhanced covert presence in Syria, including American-manned paramilitaries or unacknowledged JTAC-certified U.S. Special Forces. This would impose a major new commitment on these small communities and might expose them to greater risks due to their low numbers and more limited self-defense capabilities.
  • Rotational U.S. presence. Using the “fly-to-advise” model, U.S. military JTACs could be sent into Syria from adjacent countries to support special operations against IS, either staying there for short rotations or “commuting” to the battle on a daily basis. A rotational presence offers less flexibility than a constant presence, however, and incurs extra force protection risks (e.g., regular reliance on air transport). In addition, many of the advantages of embedding with local forces are lost using this model (e.g., fine-grain familiarity with friendly and enemy operational tempo).
  • Non-U.S. airstrike controllers. The coalition could rely on other NATO-standard JTACs deployed in Syria, whether drawn from the sizeable European and Iraqi special forces components in the existing Combined Joint Special Operations Task Force in Iraq, or from new force contributors. Fewer than half a dozen non-U.S. JTACs would likely be required, each with a small associated team. In some cases, U.S. teams withdrawn from Syria could be swapped with non-U.S. coalition special forces currently in Iraq, particularly units from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and other highly capable militaries that may face fewer political concerns about protecting Syrian partners from Turkish actions—in contrast to European states, which are constrained by Ankara’s ability to unleash further refugee flows upon them.
  • Syrian airstrike controllers. The coalition could also train trusted Syrian partners to more effectively call for fire support in close coordination with U.S.-led strike cells in Iraq, Turkey, Jordan, or elsewhere. Operational models used by other NATO-standard militaries—such as Emirati forces in Yemen—have combined trustworthy local observers, iPhone-based tracking of friendly forces, and management of strikes by qualified JTACs in remote cells. If given specialized communications equipment and realtime full-motion video sensors, vetted Syrian operators could restore some of the ground-view that will be lost if coalition forces withdraw. A surge of U.S. intelligence focus on Syria would help these operators be even more effective.
  • Increased use of artillery systems. A final option is to seek Iraqi government approval for moving more coalition tube artillery and long-range rocket artillery to the border with Syria. Artillery is highly responsive, and fire missions can be called by less-qualified forward observers, potentially including trusted local partners. If additional range is needed, coalition artillery could temporarily deploy into Syria with Baghdad’s permission. Such operations are already undertaken from time to time, involving airmobile insertion of artillery into Syria for specific fire missions.

IMPLICATIONS FOR U.S. POLICY

The Trump administration has stated that U.S. troop withdrawals do not signal an end to the campaign against IS in Syria, nor an abandonment of U.S. partners there. Accordingly, one or more of the above options should be exercised to sustain fire support in Syria, destroy IS targets, and protect partner forces.

The decision to sustain 200 U.S. troops in Syria is an important first step. The main impediment to effective airstrikes is lack of persistent intelligence and comprehensive understanding of the situation on the ground, which risks degrading target development. Moving to an entirely remote model managed by strike cells outside Syria would significantly increase that risk. Some degree of targeting intelligence and fine-grain understanding of friendly and enemy movements would be lost, compelling forces to either reduce the number of strikes they approve or lower their standards of collateral damage mitigation—a scenario that should be avoided at all costs.

In addition, a remote model would signal local partners that the coalition is less committed because it no longer has skin in the game. Such an approach might also convince Iran, the Assad regime, and other enemies that they are freer to act, knowing there is no U.S. or NATO presence on the ground to trigger large-scale retaliation.

To mitigate some of these problems, the United States should consider recruiting trusted allies such as Australia, Canada, and New Zealand to shuttle special forces into Syria as American forces shuffle out. The request could be backed by U.S. commitments to provide operational support and protection to these forces, along with intensified training and equipping of Syrian partners to identify targets for coalition airstrikes or artillery fire missions. If continuing the anti-IS fight is truly important to other nations, they should be ready to help carry more of the weight for the United States, especially at a time when the withdrawal decision has contributed to acute political-military strain in Washington. The long-term presence of 200 U.S. advisors could make these nations more willing, and even small coalition contingents inside Syria may be sufficient to constrain Russian, Iranian, and Turkish freedom of maneuver, so long as the United States robustly supports them.

Finally, all of the options outlined above are heavily reliant on maintaining coalition basing in Iraq. This places a major premium on restoring trust that the U.S. component is deployed there purely to defeat IS. By repeatedly enunciating this principle via direct communications and popular local media outlets, senior U.S. civilian and military leaders have a better chance of convincing Iraqi leaders to take a firm line on preserving the coalition presence.

Lt. Col. August Pfluger, USAF, is a military fellow at The Washington Institute. Michael Knights is a senior fellow with the Institute. The views expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the official policy or position of the U.S. government or the Department of Defense.