أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3114

إيجاد منطق لحملة اعتقالات «قوات الحشد الشعبي» في العراق

فيليب سميث

متاح أيضاً في English

26 نيسان/أبريل 2019


في الفترة بين 8 و12 شباط/فبراير، أطلق المكتب المركزي لمنظمة مظلة الميليشيات العراقية «قوات الحشد الشعبي» أحدث مرحلة من حملته المستمرة لمكافحة الفساد، حيث اعتقل العديد من قادة الميليشيات وأغلق 100 مقر "وهمي" تابع لجماعات «قوات الحشد الشعبي». وقد سلّطت هذه الخطوة الضوء على استمرار التوترات ضمن داخل شبكة الميليشيات التي يهيمن عليها الشيعة في العراق وتحظى بدعم إيران، علماً أن هذه المشاكل تمتدّ لتطال سوريا.

المحصّنون في العراق

على الرغم من ادعاءاتهم بالنزاهة، اتّضح أن قائمة سوابق العديد من ألوية «قوات الحشد الشعبي» حافلة بضروب الاحتيال والسرقة وغيرها من الأنشطة الإجرامية. ففي آذار/مارس 2018، كانت ميليشيات «قوات الحشد الشعبي» المعترف بها رسمياً تحصل على رواتب مساوية لتلك التي يحصل عليها أفراد الجيش، وهو أمر اعتبرته العديد من العناصر إشارةً لسلب أموال الدولة. كما أقدمت جماعات تابعة لـ «قوات الحشد الشعبي» على بيع هويات خاصة وتصاريح خطية تسمح للمشترين بحمل أسلحة صغيرة.

وحتى أن أكبر ميليشيات «قوات الحشد الشعبي» ترتكب الجرائم بانتظام. فقد سرقت «عصائب أهل الحق» معدات من مصفاة "بيجي" النفطية، ثم تجرأت على محاولة إعادة بيعها إلى الحكومة. وفي شباط/فبراير، نقلت وكالة "رويترز" أن الجماعات الشيعية التابعة لـ «قوات الحشد الشعبي» احتكرت سوق المعادن الخردة قرب الموصل، مما أعاق جهود إعادة الإعمار المحلية في حين ساعدت الميليشيات على كسب ملايين الدولارات.

وفي أيلول/سبتمبر الماضي، أطلقت «قوات الحشد الشعبي» أولى حملاتها لكبح هذه الأنشطة. ووفقاً للموقع الإخباري العراقي "السومرية"، تمّ اعتقال شخص لم يُذكر اسمه وسط ضجة كبيرة وحُكم عليه بالسجن لمدة عشر سنوات بتهمة فتح مقر وهمي لجماعة ادّعى أنها كانت تحت سيطرة «قوات الحشد الشعبي»، ثم استخدم المقر كواجهة لبيع هويات مزيفة. وكان الهدف من هذا الاعتقال إلى جانب حملات القمع التالية هو إقناع عامة الناس بأن الإجرام يقتصر على المنظمات "الوهمية"، مع الإظهار في الوقت نفسه التزام «قوات الحشد الشعبي» برسالتها الأساسية القائمة على مكافحة الفساد - حتى في ظل مواصلة أبرز جماعات «الحشد الشعبي» أنشطتها الاحتيالية.

الولاء إلى العلامة

نجح عدد كبير من الميليشيات المدعومة من إيران في إقامة توازن دقيق بين زرع الخوف وفرض الاحترام من جهة، والاندماج في النسيج الاجتماعي والسياسي في العراق من جهة أخرى. فحماية صورة الميليشيات واسمها أمر بالغ الأهمية لتحقيق هذه الأهداف.

ومن بين هذه الميليشيات «كتائب حزب الله» - منظمة صنّفتها الولايات المتحدة إرهابيةً وتضمّ ثلاثة ألوية من «قوات الحشد الشعبي» (45 و46 و47). وبين عامَي 2014  و2015، نشرت لوائح بجماعات "وهمية" تابعة لها على شبكاتها التلفزيونية وعلى وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، مؤكدةً أن هذه الجماعات تستخدم اسمها على نحو خاطئ، وطلبت من العراقيين التحقق من جميع أتباعها من خلال الاتصال بالمسؤولين في «كتائب حزب الله» عبر الهاتف.

وفي نيسان/أبريل 2015، زعمت «كتائب حزب الله» أنها اعتقلت " جاسوساً" يدعى كريم الشحماني بالقرب من جرف الصخر. واتّهمته الميليشيا بتلقي الأموال من "وكالة المخابرات المركزية" الأمريكية والاستخبارات الكويتية لتأسيس «كتائب حزب الله الخالدون»، بهدف الإضرار بسمعة «كتائب حزب الله». وسواء كان الاتهام صحيحاً أم لا، فقد أظهر التوترات الناتجة عن مشاكل في علامات الميليشيات.

ومن بين "الجماعات الوهمية" الـ 100 التي تمّ مداهمتها في شباط/فبراير الأخير، زعمت إحداها أنها تمثّل «كتائب الإمام علي» (اللواء 40 في «قوات الحشد الشعبي»)، في حين ادّعت جماعة أخرى أنها جزء من «سرايا الدفاع الشعبي» (اللواء 47) الخاضعة لـ «كتائب حزب الله»، كما ادّعت جماعة أخرى أنها تمثّل «حركة الأبدال» (اللواء 39). وتشكّل هذه الألوية الفصائل الأساسية الخاضعة لإيران ضمن «قوات الحشد الشعبي».

المنشقون عن "التيار الصدري" مشتتون

شكّل المنشقون عن معسكر القائد الشيعي مقتدى الصدر، من «عصائب أهل الحق» إلى «كتائب الإمام علي»، أهدافاً جذابة بشكل خاص بالنسبة لإيران. فباستقطابهم، سعت طهران إلى إضعاف أحد أبرز منافسيها الدينيين والسياسيين في العراق وتعزيز نفوذها وشبكات التجنيد الخاصة بها، فضلاً عن أهدافها الإقليمية.

ومع ذلك، استهدفت أحدث حملة قمع شنّتها «قوات الحشد الشعبي» جماعتين صغيرتين منشقتين عن "التيار الصدري" كانتا في السابق تحت جناح إيران، هما «قوات أبو فضل العباس» و«جيش المؤمل». وكانت الجماعتان قد اتُهمتا بارتكاب جرائم في عامَي 2017 و2018، لكن «قوات الحشد الشعبي» لم تتابع هذه التهم في ذلك الوقت. ورغم أن أياً من الجماعتين لم يكن بحجم أبرز ميليشيات «قوات الحشد الشعبي»، إلا أنهما حافظتا على حضور كبير عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وأسّستا الشبكات الأولى من المقاتلين الشيعة العراقيين للمشاركة في الحرب السورية بناء على أمر من إيران.

«قوات أبو فضل العباس»: المنظمة الوكيلة "الوهمية"

كان الشيخ أوس الخفاجي من أبرز قيادي "التيار الصدري" سابقاً، لكن سمعته بدأت تتغيّر في عام 2012 حين نأى الصدر بنفسه علناً عن هذا القائد. وبحلول نهاية ذلك العام، انخرط الخفاجي بتأسيس شبكة غير محكمة الترابط من المقاتلين العراقيين الشيعة لنشرها في سوريا. وازداد الطابع الرسمي لهذه الشبكة بعد أن غزا تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» الموصل. وفي حزيران/يونيو 2014، أعلن الخفاجي عن تأسيس «قاعدة قوات أبو فضل العباس» (لكن تم إلغاء كلمة "قاعدة" من اسم الجماعة في النهاية).  وفي ذروتها في أواخر عام 2014 وأوائل عام 2015، تفاخرت «قوات أبو فضل العباس» بأنها تضم حوالي 2000 مقاتل في العراق وسوريا. وفي حين لم تصنّف الميليشيا رسمياً على أنها لواء تابع لـ «قوات الحشد الشعبي»، اعتُبر الخفاجي عموماً أحد الناطقين باسم «قوات الحشد الشعبي» وقادته عند ظهوره على قنوات التلفزيون.

وفي 7 شباط/فبراير، خرج الخفاجي على موجات الأثير وحمّل إيران مسؤولية اغتيال الروائي العراقي علاء مشذوب في 2 شباط/فبراير على أيدي "مسلّحين مجهولي الهوية". وبعد يوم واحد، أوقفت عناصر «قوات الحشد الشعبي» الخفاجي، علماً أنه حتى تاريخ كتابة هذه السطور لا يزال محتجزاً بمعزل عن العالم الخارجي في مكان مجهول. وبعد اعتقاله، احتجت عناصر من قبيلة عربية شيعية تحمل اسمه في بغداد وجنوبي العراق، محذرة من استخدام القوة إذا لم يُطلق سراحه.

وكان الخفاجي يتحدث في السابق بصراحة عموماً عن روابطه بطهران. فخلال زيارة قام بها إلى لبنان في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2018، التقى بمسؤولين من «حزب الله»، المنظمة الوكيلة الأبرز لإيران في المنطقة، وأشاد بدعمهم. بعد ذلك، أغدق عليه الموقع الإخباري "العهد" التابع لـ «حزب الله» نقداً رائعاً. لكن بعد اعتقاله، سرعان ما أصبحت هذه الروابط طيّ النسيان. وفي هذا الصدد، قال كريم النوري، قيادي بارز في "منظمة بدر" الخاضعة لسيطرة إيران، لصحيفة "الشرق الأوسط" إن الاعتقال اندرج في إطار سلسلة اعتقالات هدفت إلى إغلاق المقرات "الوهمية" التي تنخرط في عمليات ابتزاز، وتحرّض عامة الشعب، وبالتالي تخلق المشاكل.

وسواء كانت الاتهامات الإجرامية صحيحة أم لا، فإن الادعاء بأن «قوات أبو فضل العباس» ومكتبها كانوا "وهميين" يبدو منافقاً بشكل سافر. ففي إحدى المرات التقط النوري صورةً مع الخفاجي في نفس المقر "الوهمي" الذي ذكره كسبب للاعتقال. كما نشر أنصار «قوات أبو فضل العباس» صوراً للخفاجي بينما كان أبرز قياديي «قوات الحشد الشعبي» يستقبلونه استقبالاً حاراً، بمن فيهم أبو مهدي المهندس (الذي صنفته الولايات المتحدة إرهابياً وقام بتأسيس «كتائب حزب الله» ويتولى منصب نائب رئيس هيئة «قوات الحشد الشعبي»)، وأحمد الأسدي. ولا تزال الشكاوى حول اعتقال الخفاجي ونفاق «قوات الحشد الشعبي» الواضح تظهر في رسائل «قوات أبو فضل العباس»، ولا سيما في سوريا.

«جيش المؤمل»، اللواء الضائع

تردّد أيضاً أن من بين المعتقلين في إطار الحملة التي شنّتها «قوات الحشد الشعبي» في شباط/فبراير، كان سعد سوار قائد «جيش المؤمل» (رغم أن بعض وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي تزعم أنه احتُجز في الشهر الذي سبق). وقد أدّى اعتقاله إلى مضاعفة بعض عناصر الجيش مدحهم لإيران، في حين نأى آخرون بأنفسهم عنه بالكامل.

وخلال حرب العراق عام 2003 وبعدها، قاد سوار خلايا شيعية متشددة مدعومة من إيران في شمال بغداد واعتقلته القوات الأمريكية والعراقية. وبعد هروبه من السجن في عام 2011، التمس اللجوء إلى إيران حيث وسّع علاقاته هناك. وفي عام 2012، سافر إلى سوريا وأصبح مجنداً وقائداً لعدد من الجماعات المنشقة المشتتة عن "التيار الصدري"، بما في ذلك «قوات التدخل السريع» و«لواء أبو فضل العباس» ومقرهما في دمشق. وبعد عودته إلى العراق في عام 2014، أسس «جيش المؤمل» في صيف عام 2016. وسرعان ما تلقت الجماعة التدريب على يد الشبكة الراسخة من الميليشيات الشيعية الخاضعة لسيطرة إيران في العراق. ومثله مثل الخفاجي، كان ارتباط سوار بالوكالات الإيرانية واقعاً جلياً - فيمكن بسهولة إيجاد صوره إلى جانب المهندس وقائد «عصائب أهل الحق» قيس الخزعلي على موقع "فيسبوك".

وفي نهاية المطاف، صنّفت «قوات الحشد الشعبي» «جيش المؤمل» رسمياً على أنه اللواء 99. لكن بحلول عام 2018، غادر أعضاء بارزون في الجماعة العراق وأسسوا أعمالهم الخاصة في سوريا، حيث كان عدد كبير منهم قد قاتل سابقاً تحت راية جماعات أخرى. واندمج جزء كبير من هؤلاء المقاتلين والقادة مجدداً في ميليشيات شيعية يسيطر عليها ظاهرياً الجيش السوري (على سبيل المثال، «لواء ذو الفقار» و«لواء الإمام الحسين»).

ورغم روابطهما القوية بالشبكات الإيرانية، تمّ حلّ «جيش المؤمل» و«قوات أبو فضل العباس» عملياً بعد حملة القمع في شباط/فبراير. وتسبب هذا الوضع بعداء كبير بين مؤيديهما وممولهما السابق.

التوصيات في مجال السياسة العامة

للوهلة الأولى، بدت الاعتقالات التي نفذتها «قوات الحشد الشعبي» مؤخراً كدليل إضافي على أن الميليشيات تضفي ببساطة طابعاً رسمياً على دورها كمنظمة وطنية موحدّة من خلال التطهير من الفساد، والقضاء على العناصر الجامحة، واتخاذ إجراءات ضد عمليات الاحتيال. وقد حاولت «قوات الحشد الشعبي» أيضاً إظهار فائدتها وحماية علامتها من خلال مساعدة رجال الشرطة في عملهم، وتوفير خدمات اجتماعية، والمساهمة في مشاريع البنية التحتية. ومع ذلك، عندما يتعلق الأمر بالجماعات الرئيسية الخاضعة لسيطرة إيران والتي تدير «قوات الحشد الشعبي»، فإن الإجرام لا يزال واسع الانتشار، مما يبعث رسالةً مفادها أن الفساد مقبول بالنسبة للمفضلين لدى طهران.

من ناحية أخرى، قد يشير استمرار وجود المقاتلين العراقيين الشيعة في دمشق إلى أن نظام الأسد بدأ يستاء من مدى نفاذ إيران إلى سوريا وقوتها فيها. ولا تزال علاقة النظام بطهران وثيقة للغاية، لكن يمكن أن يسعى المسؤولون السوريون إلى تطوير حضور شيعي أكثر تنوعاً أيديولوجياً بهدف إعادة إرساء قدر من التوازن مع إيران. 

كما أن اعتقالات «قوات الحشد الشعبي» تمنح الحكومة الأمريكية وسيلةً أخرى لإظهار أن إيران هي راعٍ لا يمكن لشيعة العراق الوثوق به. فمقاربة طهران المتشددة إزاء وكالاتها لا تسمح بأي انشقاق، وتشجع الفساد المستشري الذي يعيق تطوّر العراق، وتعامل حتى الشيعة الأجانب المخلصين لها الذين يروّجون لأيديولوجيتها على أنهم أكباش فداء تتخلى عنهم متى يحلو لها. إن هذه المواضيع قد تساعد واشنطن على عزل الجماعات التي تثير المتاعب، وممارسة الضغوط على طهران، وتأكيد التزام الولايات المتحدة بحملة رئيس الوزراء عادل عبد المهدي لمكافحة الفساد. كما يمكنها الاستفادة من تصنيف وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية مؤخراً لقوات "الحرس الثوري الإسلامي" الإيراني كمنظمةً إرهابية أجنبية لتحقيق هذه الغايات، بما أن إعلان التصنيف يذكر «كتائب حزب الله» بالاسم.

ويقيناً، ستكون بعض هذه الجماعات الشيعية مسرورة إذا أصبحت موضع انتقاد مباشر من الولايات المتحدة. وبالتالي على واشنطن التركيز على تشجيع وسائل الإعلام في المنطقة على إيصال هذه الرسالة، فضلاً عن التطرق إليها عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وخلال الاجتماعات بين المسؤولين الأمريكيين والعراقيين. ولا يُعتبر الفساد ظاهرةً جديدة عموماً في العراق، لكن الأنشطة الإجرامية التي تنفذّها الميليشيات المدعومة من إيران تثير مخاوف كبيرة لدى شريحةً كبيرة من الشعب العراقي. ويُعتبر نشر المعلومات حول هذه الأنشطة بعيداً وفي كل مكان، طريقةً رائعة للتفريق بين إيران وشبكتها الإقليمية من المقاتلين والمواطنين العراقيين العاديين الذين سئموا من الفساد المستشري. ومن خلال تسليط الضوء على نفاق حملات التطهير من الفساد التي تشنّها «قوات الحشد الشعبي»، بإمكان واشنطن أن تظهر بشكل قاطع أن الوكالات الإيرانية لا توفّر حلاً حقيقياً لمشاكل العراق الأكثر إلحاحاً.

 

فيليب سميث هو زميل "سوريف" في معهد واشنطن، ومتخصص في الميليشيات الشيعية والجماعات التي تعمل لحساب إيران.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3114

Making Sense of Iraq's PMF Arrests

Phillip Smyth

Also available in العربية

April 26, 2019


By highlighting the hypocrisy of recent ‘housecleaning’ campaigns, Washington can show the Iraqi public that Iran’s Shia militia networks offer no genuine solution to rampant corruption.

On February 8-12, the central office of Iraq’s militia umbrella organization al-Hashd al-Shabi (the Popular Mobilization Forces) launched the latest phase in its ongoing anticorruption campaign, arresting various militia leaders and shutting down 100 “fake” PMF groups. The move highlighted continuing tensions within Iraq’s Shia-dominated, Iranian-backed militia network, and these issues extend into Syria.

IRAQ’S UN-UNTOUCHABLES

Despite their claims of being incorruptible, many PMF brigades have rap sheets loaded with fraud, theft, and other criminal activities. In March 2018, officially recognized PMF militias were given salaries equal to those of army personnel, which many elements took as a cue to siphon off state funds. PMF groups have also sold special IDs and paperwork allowing purchasers to carry small arms.

Even the largest PMF militias regularly turn to crime. Asaib Ahl al-Haq (AAH) has stolen equipment from the Bayji oil refinery, then had the audacity to try selling it back to the government. And in February, Reuters reported that Shia PMF groups had cornered the scrap metal market near Mosul, impeding local reconstruction efforts while helping the militias earn millions of dollars.

The PMF launched their first campaign to curb such activities last September. According to Iraqi news site Al-Sumaria, an unnamed figure was arrested amid great fanfare and sentenced to ten years in prison; he was charged with opening a bogus headquarters for a group he claimed was under PMF control, then using it as a front to sell fake identity cards. The aim of that arrest and subsequent crackdowns was to convince the public that criminality is limited to “fake” organizations, while simultaneously demonstrating the PMF’s commitment to their core anticorruption message—even as top PMF groups continue their fraudulent activities.

BRAND LOYALTY

Many Iranian-backed militias have struck a careful balancing act between cultivating fear and respect on the one hand, and integrating themselves into Iraq’s social and political fabric on the other. Protecting their image and name is extremely important to those goals.

One such militia is Kataib Hezbollah, a U.S.-designated terrorist organization with three PMF brigades (the 45th, 46th, and 47th). In 2014-2015, it posted lists of “fake” KH groups on its television networks and social media, asserting that they were improperly using its name and directing Iraqis to verify all affiliates with KH officials by phone.

In April 2015, KH claimed to arrest a “spy” named Karim al-Shahmani near Jurf al-Sakhar. The militia accused him of receiving money from the CIA and Kuwaiti intelligence to start the group Kataib Hezbollah al-Khaledoun, with the aim of harming KH’s reputation. True or not, the accusation showed the tensions created by militia branding issues.

Among the 100 “fake groups” raided this February, one claimed to represent Kataib al-Imam Ali (the PMF’s 40th Brigade), another marketed itself as part of the KH-controlled Saraya al-Difa al-Shabi (the 47th Brigade), and yet another claimed to represent Harakat al-Abdal (the 39th Brigade). These brigades form core Iranian-controlled sections of the PMF.

SADRIST SPLINTERS ARE SPLINTERED

From AAH to Kataib al-Imam Ali, splinters from Shia leader Muqtada al-Sadr’s camp have been particularly attractive for Iran. By cultivating them, Tehran has sought to weaken a major Iraqi religious and political competitor, cement its influence and its recruiting networks, and further its regional goals.

Even so, the latest PMF crackdown targeted two smaller Sadrist splinter groups that were previously under Iran’s wing: Quwat Abu Fadl al-Abbas (QAFA) and Jaish al-Muwamal. Both groups had been accused of criminality in 2017-2018, but the PMF did not follow up on those charges at the time. Although neither of the groups was as large as the top PMF militias, they maintained an outsize presence on social media and established the earliest networks of Iraqi Shia fighters to enter the Syria war at Iran’s behest.

QAFA, THE “IMAGINARY” PROXY

Once a top figure in Sadr’s camp, Sheikh Auws al-Khafaji saw his reputation begin to change in 2012, with Sadr publicly distancing himself from the commander. By year’s end, Khafaji was engrossed in creating a loose network of Iraqi Shia fighters for deployment to Syria. This network became more formalized after the Islamic State’s conquest of Mosul. In June 2014, Khafaji announced the creation of Qaeda Quwat Abu Fadl al-Abbas (the “Qaeda” was eventually dropped). At its height in late 2014-early 2015, QAFA boasted around 2,000 fighters in Iraq and Syria. While the militia never received an official PMF brigade designation, Khafaji has been widely featured as a PMF spokesman and commander during television appearances.

On February 7, Khafaji took to the airwaves and blamed Iran for the February 2 assassination of Iraqi novelist Alaa Mashzoub by “unknown gunmen.” A day later, PMF personnel arrested Khafaji; as of this writing, he is still being held incommunicado at an unknown location. Following his arrest, members of his namesake Shia Arab tribe protested in Baghdad and southern Iraq, warning that they may use force if he is not freed.

Previously, Khafaji had been quite outspoken about his links to Tehran. During his December 2018 visit to Lebanon, he met with officials from Iran’s top regional proxy, Hezbollah, and praised the group for its support. Afterward, he received a glowing review in the Hezbollah news outlet al-Ahed. Following his arrest, however, such links were quickly forgotten. Karim al-Nouri, a senior figure in the Iranian-controlled Badr Organization, told Asharq al-Awsat that the arrest was one of many aimed at shutting down “fake headquarters” that engage in extortion, provoke the populace, and otherwise create problems.

Whether or not the criminal accusations are true, the claim that QAFA and its office were “imaginary” seems blatantly hypocritical. Nouri himself once posed for a photo with Khafaji in the same “fake” headquarters he cited as the reason for the arrest. QAFA supporters have also posted photos of Khafaji being warmly greeted by top PMF leaders, including Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis (a U.S.-designated terrorist who founded KH and serves as the PMF’s second-in-command) and Ahmed al-Asadi. Complaints about Khafaji’s arrest and the PMF’s perceived hypocrisy continue to appear in QAFA messaging, primarily in Syria.

JAISH AL-MUWAMAL, THE LOST BRIGADE

Also reportedly swept up in the February PMF arrests was Saad al-Suwar, head of the group Jaish al-Muwamal (though some social media sources claim he was detained the previous month). His arrest spurred some members to double down on their praise for Iran, while others actively distanced themselves.

During and after the 2003 Iraq war, Suwar led Iranian-backed radical Shia cells in northern Baghdad and was arrested by American and Iraqi forces. Following his escape from jail in 2011, he sought refuge in Iran and expanded his links there. In 2012, he traveled to Syria and became a recruiter and commander for a number of loosely connected Sadrist splinters, including the Damascus-based Rapid Reaction Forces and Liwa Abu Fadl al-Abbas. After returning to Iraq in 2014, he established Jaish al-Muwamal in summer 2016. The group soon received training from the established network of Iranian-controlled Shia militias in Iraq. Like Khafaji, Suwar’s connection to Iranian proxies was an open fact—photos of him posing with Muhandis and AAH leader Qais al-Khazali can be easily found on Facebook.

Jaish al-Muwamal was eventually given official PMF designation as the 99th Brigade. Yet by 2018, leading members of the group had left Iraq and set up shop in Syria, where many had previously fought as part of other groups. A large portion of these fighters and commanders reintegrated themselves with Shia militias ostensibly controlled by the Syrian army (e.g., Liwa Dhulfiqar; Liwa al-Imam al-Hussein).

Despite their strong connections with Iranian networks, Jaish al-Muwamal and QAFA were essentially dissolved after the February crackdown. The situation has created a great deal of bad blood between their supporters and their former benefactor.

POLICY RECOMMENDATIONS

At first glance, the recent PMF arrests seemed like further evidence that the militias are simply formalizing their role as a unified national organization by cleaning house, eliminating uncontrollable elements, and taking action against fraud. The PMF have also attempted to demonstrate their utility and protect their brand by helping with police work, social service provision, and infrastructure projects. Yet when it comes to the core Iranian-controlled groups that run the PMF, criminality remains widespread, conveying the message that corruption is acceptable for Tehran’s favorites.

Meanwhile, the continued presence of Iraqi Shia fighters in Damascus may indicate that the Assad regime is beginning to chafe at how much access and power Iran has acquired there. The regime’s relationship with Tehran is still very close, but Syrian officials could be seeking to develop a more ideologically diverse Shia presence in order to reestablish some level of equilibrium with Iran.

The PMF arrests also give the U.S. government another way to demonstrate that Iran is an unreliable patron for Iraqi Shia. Tehran’s unyielding approach to its proxies allows for no dissent, encourages rampant corruption that stunts Iraq’s development, and treats even dedicated foreign Shia who promote its ideology as sacrificial lambs to be discarded on a whim. Playing on these themes could help Washington isolate problematic groups, pressure Tehran, and reiterate U.S. commitment to Prime Minister Adil Abdulmahdi’s anticorruption drive. The State Department’s recent listing of Iran’s Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps as a Foreign Terrorist Organization might also be leveraged toward those ends, since the designation announcement mentions Kataib Hezbollah by name.

To be sure, some of these Shia groups would be happy to be on the receiving end of direct U.S. criticism. Washington should therefore focus on encouraging regional media outlets to get this message across, in addition to advancing it via social media and U.S. meetings with Iraqi officials. Corruption is hardly a new phenomenon in Iraq, but the criminal activities being carried out by Iranian-backed militias tap into major concerns held by much of the Iraqi public. Spreading information about these activities far and wide is a great way to drive wedges between Iran, its regional network of fighters, and average Iraqi citizens tired of rampant corruption. By highlighting the hypocrisy of PMF housecleaning campaigns, Washington can definitively show that Iranian proxies offer no genuine solution to Iraq’s most pressing problems.

Phillip Smyth is a Soref Fellow at The Washington Institute, specializing in Shia militias and Iranian proxy groups.