أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3167

إسرائيل تعلن عن بناء وحدات جديدة للمستوطنين والفلسطينيين

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

16 آب/أغسطس 2019


في 5 و 6 آب/أغسطس، وافقت لجنة إسرائيلية مشتركة من عدة وزارات على بناء مجموعتين من الوحدات الاستيطانية في الضفة الغربية، بعضها للمستوطنين الإسرائيليين والبعض الآخر للفلسطينيين. ويبدو أن عوامل مختلفة كانت وراء هذين الإعلانين، وقد تكون تداعياتها واسعة النطاق. وربما تكون الوحدات الإسرائيلية الجديدة مرتبطة بإعادة الانتخابات في أيلول/سبتمبر، لكن موقعها سيمثّل تحولاً مقلقاً إذا ما تكرر بعد الانتخابات. أما بالنسبة للفلسطينيين، فيعكس القرار المرة الأولى خلال ثلاث سنوات التي مُنحوا فيها أي وحدات في المنطقة (ج)، التي هي جزء من الضفة الغربية التي تولّت إسرائيل السيطرة الكاملة عليها بعد "اتفاقيات أوسلو". وليس من قبيل الصدفة أنه قد تم إصدار الإعلانين في غضون بضعة أيام من بعضهما البعض.

اتجاه جديد مقلق؟

تعيش أغلبية كبيرة من المستوطنين الإسرائيليين في وحدات تقع خارج الحاجز الأمني للضفة الغربية وبالقرب من المناطق الحضرية (المدن) الإسرائيلية. ولا تشكّل هذه المنطقة سوى 8٪ من إجمالي مساحة الضفة الغربية، سواء على طول خطوط وقف إطلاق النار لعام 1967 أو مجاورة لها، وتمركزت فيها معظم الجولات السابقة من الموافقات على المستوطنات. ولكن هذه المرة، يقع ثلثا الوحدات التي تمّت الموافقة عليها أو هي في المرحلة ما قبل الأخيرة من الموافقة - 1609 من أصل 2343 - خارج الحاجز. 

"انقر على الصورة للحصول على خريطة كاملة للموافقات على الوحدات الإستيطانية الجديدة. للحصول على المزيد من خرائط الضفة الغربية، راجع الأداة المتعددة الوسائط، "المستوطنات والحلول" التابعة لمعهد واشنطن".

 

ويمكن أن يساعد حصر مستوطنات جديدة في مناطق داخل الحاجز الأمني في الحفاظ على قابلية تطبيق حل الدولتين، لأنه من المرجح أن يتم ضم هذه المستوطنات إلى إسرائيل كجزء من عملية تبادل الأراضي خلال مفاوضات الوضع النهائي. وبهذا المعنى، على الأقل، يمكن اعتبار هذه المستوطنات أقل استفزازية. ومع ذلك، فإن إضافة وحدات جديدة خارج الحاجز هو أمر استفزازي للغاية ويجعل الفصل بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين أكثر صعوبة في المستقبل. ويتمثل السؤال الرئيسي فيما إذا كانت هذه الخطوة هي بداية لاتجاه جديد أو حجة سياسية مؤقتة.  

عملية الموافقة على المستوطنات

في السنوات الأخيرة، أعادت إسرائيل هيكلة عملية الموافقة لتقليل احتمالات الإعلانات المفاجئة التي قد تكون محرجة من الناحية السياسية، كما حدث في عام 2010 عندما تمت الموافقة على وحدات سكنية جديدة في القدس الشرقية خلال زيارة نائب الرئيس الأمريكي آنذاك جو بايدن. واليوم، يجب أن تمر طلبات الموافقة على وحدات جديدة بست مراحل قبل أن تمنح السلطات الإسرائيلية موافقتها النهائية. وقد ركّزت الاجتماعات المنعقدة في 5 و 6 آب/أغسطس على المرحلتين الأخيرتين: الوحدات المعتمدة للبناء الفوري والوحدات التي تشارف الموافقة عليها من المرحلة الأخيرة بانتظار مرور فترة ستين يوماً لبروز أي تحديات قانونية التي نادراً ما تكون مثبتة، مما يعني أنه يمكن باطمئنان ضمّها إلى الفئة الأولى.    

وكانت حصيلة الوحدات التي تمّت الموافقة عليها الأسبوع الماضي من بين الأكبر منذ سنوات، رغم أنه لا يزال من غير الواضح إلى أي مدى ستوسّع الوحدات الجديدة الوجود الفعلي لإسرائيل في الضفة الغربية. وفي الماضي، توصّلت الحكومات التي ترأسها بنيامين نتنياهو إلى تفاهمات غير رسمية مع واشنطن، تم بموجبها توسيع المستوطنات في المناطق المتاخمة للوحدات المبنية بدلاً من امتدادها إلى مناطق جديدة تماماً؛ ومن غير المؤكد ما إذا كانت هذه الاتفاقات لا تزال سارية.

تغيير النسب الديموغرافية والجغرافية؟

حالياً، يعيش حوالي 448,000 مستوطن إسرائيلي في الضفة الغربية - 344,000 داخل الجدار الأمني ​​و 104,000 خارجه. وبما أن إسرائيل ضمت القدس الشرقية اسمياً، فهي لا تَعتبر الـ 320,000 إسرائيلي الذي يعيشون فيها كمستوطنين، رغم أن دول أخرى تعتبرهم كذلك. وفي كلتا الحالتين، فإن نسبة المستوطنين الذين يعيشون داخل الجدار عالية: 86٪ بمن فيهم أولئك في القدس الشرقية، و 77٪ بدونها.

وفي الماضي، كانت معظم وحدات المستوطنات الجديدة تعكس هذه النسبة تقريباً، لكن الموافقات التي صدرت الأسبوع الماضي غيّرت ذلك تماماً - 68.7٪ من الوحدات الجديدة تقع خارج الحاجز، و 31.3٪ داخله. ويعني بناء 1,609  وحدة خارج الحاجز إضافة ما يقدّر بـ 6,800  مستوطن إسرائيلي جديد هناك، وربما أكثر من ذلك بالنظر إلى الحجم الأكبر لعائلات المستوطنين.

الحسابات السياسية لنتنياهو

على الرغم من نجاحه الانتخابي في رئاسة الائتلافات اليمينية، عادةً ما يُهزم نتنياهو في صناديق الاقتراع عندما يحاول استمالة الناخبين من المستوطنين الذين يعيشون خارج الحاجز الأمني. فأولئك الذين يعيشون داخله هم أكثر دعماً له، معتقدين أنه سيتمّ ضمّهم إلى إسرائيل وليس استبعادهم عنها بموجب أي ترتيب يقوم على [حل] الدولتين قد يتمّ إبرامه مع الفلسطينيين. وفي المقابل، لا يرى المستوطنون خارج الحاجز الأمني أي فرصة للحفاظ على أراضيهم في إطار مقاربة الدولتين؛ وهم أكثر عرضة لأن يتم التخلي عنهم في حال حدوث تبادل للأراضي. وبالتالي، يشكّون إلى حدّ كبير بالتزام نتنياهو الإيديولوجي برفاههم، ولم يغرّهم بسهولة تراجعه الظاهري عن مقاربة الدولتين في السنوات الأخيرة.    

وكانت أحزاب من يمين نتنياهو قد استفادت من هذا الواقع، حيث هزمته بهامش ثلاثة إلى واحد في أوساط الناخبين خارج الحاجز الأمني. وصحّ هذا الاتجاه أيضاً حتى خلال الحملة الانتخابية في نيسان/أبريل، حين أشار نتنياهو علناً إلى إمكانية قيام إسرائيل بضم أجزاء من الضفة الغربية بشكل أحادي الجانب. ومن خلال جعل الحكومة توافق على المزيد من الوحدات خارج الحاجز الأمني قبل إعادة الانتخابات الشهر المقبل، ربما يحاول نتنياهو أن يُظهر للمستوطنين أنه يمكن الوثوق به من الناحية الإيديولوجية. وربما لم يكن من المستغرب أن تكون بيت إيل إحدى المستوطنات التي حصلت على أكثر الوحدات الجديدة (382). وتقع بيت إيل خارج الحاجز، وهي مستوطنة إيديولوجية رائدة للحركة؛ كما أنها مُحببة من قبل الرئيس السابق لجمعية "أصدقاء بيت إيل الأمريكيين"، السفير الأمريكي في إسرائيل ديفيد فريدمان.

وحدات فلسطينية جديدة في المنطقة (ج)

بالإضافة إلى موافقة الحكومة الإسرائيلية على المستوطنات [الجديدة]، أقرت أيضاً [بناء] 715 وحدة جديدة للفلسطينيين في المنطقة (ج)، وهي المنطقة التي تشكل 60٪ من الضفة الغربية وما زالت حساسة للغاية من الناحية السياسية. وتمارس السلطة الفلسطينية مستويات مختلفة من السيطرة في المنطقة (أ) (المناطق الحضرية الفلسطينية) والمنطقة (ب) (المناطق المحيطة بهذه المناطق الحضرية)، والتي يبلغ مجموعها 40٪ من الضفة الغربية. وتتولى إسرائيل السيطرة الأمنية الكاملة على المنطقة (ج)، ولكن الجانبين لم يتفقا بعد على وضع هذه المنطقة خارج هذا الواقع، مما يجعلها ساحة مركزية للصراع السياسي.

ومن جانبهم، غالباً ما يشير الفلسطينيون إلى القيمة الاقتصادية للمنطقة (أ) (المدن الفلسطينية) - ففي عام 2016 على سبيل المثال، خلصت دراسة أجراها "البنك الدولي" إلى أن عدم النفاذ الاقتصادي لـ "السلطة الفلسطينية" في المنطقة (ج) قلل من "ناتجها المحلي الإجمالي" بنسبة 35 في المائة. ولكن في إسرائيل، كرّس حزب يميني - بقيادة وزيرة العدل السابقة اييليت شاكيد ووزير التربية السابق نفتالي بينيت - نفسه لضمان عدم تنازل إسرائيل عن شبر واحد من المنطقة (ج). ومن بين تدابير أخرى، أعدّا إجراءات لا يمكن بموجبها تخصيص أي أرض في تلك المنطقة إلى الفلسطينيين دون موافقة مجلس الوزراء الأمني. ويدعو الاثنان صراحةً إسرائيل إلى ضمّ كافة المنطقة (ج) إلى أراضيها.  

ويفسّر هذا الضغط السياسي سبب موافقة إسرائيل على عدد قليل جداً من الوحدات الفلسطينية في المنطقة (ج) قبل الأسبوع الماضي. ومنذ عام 2000 إلى عام 2016، أفادت بعض التقارير إن إسرائيل لم توافق سوى على 226 وحدة مجتمعةً، ولم تقر أي وحدة بعد عام 2016. فلماذا وافقت الآن على بناء 715 وحدة؟  

من جهة، يتزامن الإعلان في الأسبوع الماضي مع زيارة مبعوث البيت الأبيض جاريد كوشنر إلى الشرق الأوسط. وربما يكون نتنياهو قد اعتقد أن الموافقات الخاصة بالمنطقة (ج) ستساعد كوشنر أثناء جولته في العواصم العربية [واحتمال] تَعرّضه لانتقادات بسبب غياب التفاصيل المتعلقة بخطة السلام التي وضعتها الإدارة الأمريكية والتي طال انتظارها. غير أن الإعلان عن وحدات فلسطينية جديدة لم يحظَ بأي اهتمام في العالم العربي، حيث ركّزت الحكومات بدلاً من ذلك على الوحدات الإسرائيلية الجديدة خارج الحاجز الأمني. وتشمل تفسيرات محتملة أخرى الإحراج التي تشعر به إسرائيل من عمليات هدم المنازل في الآونة الأخيرة في مناطق خاضعة لسيطرة "السلطة الفلسطينية"، ورغبتها في التخفيف من حدة الاعتراضات الدولية على العدد الكبير من الوحدات الإسرائيلية الجديدة.  

ومن غير الواضح ما هو الموقع المحدد لهذه الوحدات الفلسطينية؛ وقد تكهن البعض بأنه قد لا يتم بناؤها أبداً. ففي عام 1997، خلال ولاية نتنياهو الأولى كرئيس وزراء، أدلى بإعلان مزدوج مماثل، وافق فيه على بناء وحدات إسرائيلية في منطقة هارحوما (أو جبل أبو غنيم) في القدس الشرقية بالتزامن مع وحدات فلسطينية جديدة؛ غير أنه لم يتمّ بناء هذه الأخيرة قط. واليوم، انتشرت بعض المنازل في القرى الفلسطينية الواقعة على حافة المنطقة (ب) إلى داخل المنطقة (ج)، مما يجعلها مكاناً محتملاً للوحدات الجديدة البالغ عددها 715 وحدة.   

الخلاصة

على الرغم من الشكوك المتزايدة، يصرّ مستشارو الرئيس ترامب على أنهم سيعرضون خطتهم للسلام في المستقبل القريب، حتى لو لم يتم ذلك إلّا بعد الانتخابات التي ستُجرى في إسرائيل في 17 أيلول/سبتمبر. بيد، إذا كان بناء ثلثيْ الوحدات الاستيطانية الإسرائيلية الجديدة خارج الحاجز الأمني هو المعيار الجديد وليس مجرد تضليل قبل الانتخابات، فسوف يؤدي ذلك إلى تآكل أي ثقة متبقية في مساعي جهود السلام الأمريكية. وبسبب تنامي الشكوك أيضاً فيما يتعلق بالوحدات الفلسطينية الجديدة في المنطقة (ج)، فقد يُغري ذلك إدارة ترامب على التشديد على بناء هذه الوحدات. وفي كلتا الحالتين، ينبغي أن تسترشد واشنطن بفهم الأماكن التي تلتقي فيها العوامل الديمغرافية بالعوامل الجغرافية في الضفة الغربية، وأن تحدّ وفقاً لذلك من المطالب المفرطة من كلا الجانبين.     

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز ومدير "برنامج العلاقات العربية - الإسرائيلية" في معهد واشنطن، والمؤلف المشارك مع دينس روس للكتاب الذي سيُنشر قريباً بعنوان، "كن قوياً وذو شجاعة جيدة: كيف عمل قادة إسرائيل الأكثر أهمية على تحديد مصيرها" (PublicAffairs/Hachette).

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3167

Israel Announces New Units for Settlers and Palestinians

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

August 16, 2019


Whether or not Palestinian units are actually built in Area C, the announcement will be a net loss if Israeli construction outside the security barrier becomes the new norm post-election.

On August 5-6, an Israeli interministerial committee approved two batches of settlement units for the West Bank, some for Israeli settlers and some for Palestinians. Both announcements seem motivated by sundry factors, and their consequences could prove wide ranging. The new Israeli units may be tied to the upcoming do-over elections, but their placement would represent a troubling shift if repeated after the vote. As for the Palestinians, the decision marks the first time in three years they have been granted any units in Area C, the portion of the West Bank where Israel assumed full control after the Oslo Accords. The fact that both announcements were made concurrently is not coincidental.

TROUBLING NEW TREND?

A large majority of Israeli settlers live in units located inside the West Bank security barrier and close to Israeli urban areas. This zone constitutes only 8% of the entire West Bank, either along or adjacent to the 1967 ceasefire lines, and most previous rounds of settlement approvals were located there. This time, however, two-thirds of the units approved or in the penultimate stage of approval—1,609 out of 2,343—are outside the barrier.

Click on image for full map of new unit approvals. For more West Bank maps, see The Washington Institute’s “Settlements and Solutions” multimedia tool.

Restricting new settlements to areas inside the barrier can help maintain the viability of a two-state solution, since these settlements would likely be annexed into Israel as part of a process of territorial exchanges during final-status negotiations. In that sense, at least, such settlements can be viewed as less provocative. Yet adding new units outside the barrier is highly provocative and makes future separation between Israelis and Palestinians more difficult. The question is whether this move is the start of a new trend or a temporary political expedient.

THE PROCESS OF SETTLEMENT APPROVAL

In recent years, Israel has restructured the approval process to reduce the prospects of sudden announcements that may prove politically embarrassing, as happened in 2010 when new East Jerusalem housing units were approved during a visit by Vice President Joe Biden. Today, new unit requests must go through six stages before authorities give final approval. The August 5-6 meetings focused on the last two stages: units approved for immediate construction, and units whose approval is nearly final pending a sixty-day period for legal challenges that are rarely sustained, meaning they can safely be grouped with the first category.

Last week’s tally of approved units was one of the largest in years, though it remains unclear how much the new units will expand the actual footprint of Israel’s presence in the West Bank. In the past, Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu’s governments have established informal understandings with Washington whereby settlement expansion is kept within areas adjacent to built-up units rather than extending to entirely new areas; it is uncertain if these agreements still hold true.

CHANGING DEMOGRAPHIC AND GEOGRAPHIC RATIOS?

Currently, an estimated 448,000 Israeli settlers live in the West Bank—344,000 inside the security barrier and 104,000 outside. Since Israel has nominally annexed East Jerusalem, it does not consider the 320,000 Israelis living there to be settlers, though other countries do. Either way, the percentage of settlers living inside the barrier is high: 86% with East Jerusalem included, 77% without.

In the past, most new settlement units roughly reflected this ratio, but last week’s approvals flipped it entirely—68.7% of the new units are located outside the barrier, and 31.3% inside. Building 1,609 units outside the barrier will mean adding an estimated 6,800 new Israeli settlers there, probably more given the typically larger size of settler families.

NETANYAHU’S POLITICAL CALCULUS

Despite his electoral success running at the head of right-wing coalitions, Netanyahu is routinely routed at the ballot box when attempting to woo settler voters who live outside the barrier. Those inside the barrier are more supportive, believing they will be annexed rather than displaced under any two-state arrangement with the Palestinians. In contrast, settlers outside the barrier do not see any way for their lands to be preserved under the two-state approach; they are far more likely to be given away if land swaps occur. Therefore, they are highly suspicious of Netanyahu’s ideological commitment to their welfare, and they have not been not easily swayed by his apparent retreat from the two-state approach in recent years.

Parties to his right have taken advantage of this fact, defeating him by a three-to-one margin among voters outside the barrier. This trend held true even during the April election campaign, when Netanyahu publicly mentioned the possibility of Israel unilaterally annexing portions of the West Bank. By having the government approve more units outside the barrier ahead of next month’s revote, Netanyahu may be trying to show the settlers that he is ideologically reliable. Perhaps unsurprisingly, one of the settlements that garnered the most new units (382) was Beit El. Located outside the barrier, Beit El is an ideological flagship settlement for the movement; it is also beloved by U.S. ambassador David Friedman, former head of the group American Friends of Beit El.

NEW PALESTINIAN UNITS IN AREA C

In addition to Israeli settlements, the government approved 715 new units for Palestinians in Area C, a zone that constitutes 60% of the West Bank and remains very politically sensitive. The Palestinian Authority holds various levels of control in Area A (Palestinian urban zones) and Area B (the environs of these urban zones), which total 40% of the West Bank. Israel has full security control of Area C, but the two parties have yet to agree on the status of this zone beyond that fact, making it a central arena for political combat.

The Palestinians often point to the zone’s economic value—in 2016, for example, a World Bank study concluded that the PA’s lack of economic access to Area C reduced its GDP by 35%. In Israel, however, a right-wing party led by former justice minister Ayelet Shaked and former education minister Naftali Bennett has dedicated itself to ensuring that Israel does not yield an inch of Area C. Among other measures, they engineered procedures in which no land in that area can be designated for the Palestinians without approval from the security cabinet. Both are very explicit in calling for Israel to annex all of Area C.

This political pressure explains why Israel approved so few Palestinian units in Area C prior to last week. From 2000 to 2016, it reportedly green-lit only 226 such units altogether, and none after 2016. So why 715 now?

For one thing, last week’s announcement came just as White House envoy Jared Kushner was traveling throughout the Middle East. Netanyahu may have believed that the Area C approvals would help Kushner as he toured Arab capitals and came under attack for the lack of details regarding the administration’s long-delayed peace plan. Yet the announcement of new Palestinian units received no attention in the Arab world, where governments instead focused on the new Israeli units outside the barrier. Other potential explanations include Israel’s embarrassment over recent home demolitions in areas under PA control, and its desire to blunt international objections to the large number of new Israeli units.

The exact location of these Palestinian units is unclear, and some have speculated they may never be built. In 1997, during Netanyahu’s first term as premier, he made a similar dual announcement, approving Israeli units in the East Jerusalem district of Har Homa at the same time as new Palestinian units; the latter were never built. Today, some housing in Palestinian villages at the edge of Area B has spilled over into Area C, so they are a possible venue for the 715 new units.

CONCLUSION

Despite growing skepticism, President Trump’s advisors insist they will still present their peace plan in the near future, even if not until after Israel’s September 17 elections. Yet if building two-thirds of new Israeli settlement units outside the security barrier is the new norm rather than just a pre-election aberration, it will sharply erode any remaining confidence in U.S. peace efforts. Since skepticism also abounds regarding the new Palestinian units in Area C, the Trump administration may be tempted to insist that these units will be built. In both cases, Washington should be guided by an understanding of where demography meets geography in the West Bank, and curtail excessive demands on both sides accordingly.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow and director of the Project on Arab-Israel Relations at The Washington Institute, and coauthor with Dennis Ross of the soon-to-be-published book Be Strong and of Good Courage: How Israel’s Most Important Leaders Shaped Its Destiny (PublicAffairs/Hachette).