أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3177

معضلة الدفاع الجوي في العراق: خيارات للسياسة الأمريكية

مايكل نايتس و فرزين نديمي

متاح أيضاً في English

12 أيلول/سبتمبر 2019


في العاشر من أيلول/سبتمبر، هزّ انفجارٌ قاعدةً لـ «قوات الحشد الشعبي» في محافظة الأنبار العراقية، أدّى إلى مقتل أحد عناصر ميليشيا «الحشد» وإصابةً آخر. وحمّل المتحدثون باسم الميليشيا مسؤولية الضربة لطائرات إسرائيلية بدون طيار قادمة من سوريا. وزعموا أيضاً أنها نُفّذت "من خلال وجود تغطية جوية من قبل الطيران الأمريكي للمنطقة بالإضافة إلى بالون مراقبة كبير تم وضعه بالقرب من المنطقة"، في إشارة إلى طائرة مراقبة جوية أمريكية منتشرة حول قاعدة أمريكية. وفي أعقاب الضربات الجوية الأخرى الأخيرة وإعلان «قوات الحشد الشعبي» في 5 أيلول/سبتمبر عن [تشكيل] قوة جوية جديدة تقوم بمهام دفاعية، يشير الحادث إلى تزايد التذمر الداخلي في العراق من هذه القضية، والمضاعفات المحتملة التي تحملها عمليات كهذه على العلاقات مع واشنطن.

تحديات الدفاع الجوي التي يواجهها العراق

تم تعكير الخطاب العلني والنخبوي في العراق طوال الصيف من خلال سلسلة من التفجيرات التي استهدفت قواعد محلية لـ «قوات الحشد الشعبي»، إلى جانب هجمات على المواكب والمرافق التابعة لجماعات محددة تنشط عند جانبَي الحدود مع سوريا. ففي 19 تموز/يوليو و 20 آب/أغسطس، تم الإبلاغ عن وقوع تفجيرين في مخيّمين تابعين لـ"جماعة خاصة" شيعية مدعومة من إيران تدعى «كتائب حزب الله» المصنّفة على قائمة الإرهاب الأمريكية. وبالمثل، في 25 آب/أغسطس تم تدمير أحد المواكب اللوجستية التابعة للجماعة عند الجانب العراقي من الحدود. ثم وقع انفجارٌ ضخمٌ آخر - حين تم تفجير الذخائر الصاروخية في 12 آب/أغسطس في "معسكر الصقر" جنوب بغداد - مما زاد من توتر الأوضاع.

وألقى العراقيون اللوم على هذه الحوادث على الغارات الجوية الإسرائيلية المشتبه فيها من نوعٍ أو من آخر، مما يسلط الضوء على عجز الحكومة العراقية عن مراقبة نطاقها الجوي والدفاع عنه. وربما تم تنفيذ هذه الضربات من خارج الحدود الدولية بواسطة طائرات أو طائرات بدون طيار بعيدة المدى، أو نُفّذَت من مسافة قريبة بواسطة طائرات صغيرة بدون طيار محمّلة بالمتفجرات أو "انتحارية" - وفي كلتا الحالتين كانت بغداد عاجزةً عن منعها. كما أن طلب المساعدة في هذا الشأن من شريكها الأمريكي ليس بالأمر السهل أيضاً. ولا تشمل مهمة قوات التحالف التي تقودها الولايات المتحدة في العراق الدفاع عن المجال الجوي السيادي، كما أن طلب مساعدة أمريكية لمنع العمليات الأجنبية ضد الجماعات المرتبطة بإيران من شأنه أن يضع واشنطن في موقف حساس بشكل خاص مع حليفها الإسرائيلي. ونتيجة لذلك، قد يبحث العراق عن طرق أخرى لإظهار أنه ليس "منزلاً بلا سقف".

خلال عهد صدام حسين، طوّر العراق نظام دفاع جوي متكامل وهائل بمساعدة فرنسا والاتحاد السوفياتي. ثم تقلّصت هذه الشبكة بشكل كبير خلال حرب الخليج عام 1991 ولم تنجح في استعادة قوتها أبداً، لكن العراق ما زال يواجه اليوم تحدياً متعدد الجبهات في مجال الدفاع الجوي، وهو:

  • إسرائيل: من الغرب، تصر إسرائيل على منع الجماعات الخاصة المدعومة من إيران من استخدام الأراضي العراقية لأي من هذين الغرضين: (1) كممر استراتيجي لإيصال الإمدادات إلى "حزب الله" في لبنان والقوات الإيرانية العازمة على تهديد الحدود الإسرائيلية، أو (2) لاستخدامها كمنصة مباشرة لإطلاق الصواريخ الإيرانية على إسرائيل. وقد تم الحديث في السنوات الأخيرة عن إمكانية استخدام العراق كممر للعمليات الجوية الإسرائيلية ضد البرنامج النووي الإيراني.
  • تركيا: إلى الشمال، تنفّذ تركيا ضربات جوية شبه يومية ضد قوات «حزب العمال الكردستاني» المتواجدة على الأراضي العراقية.
  • إيران: من الشرق، شنّت إيران مراراً ضربات بالصواريخ والطائرات بدون طيار ضد أهدافٍ تابعة للمعارضة الكردية الإيرانية في شمال العراق وشرق سوريا. ومن المعروف أيضاً أنّ الطائرات الإيرانية عبرت الأجواء العراقية خلال توصيلها الإمدادات العسكرية إلى سوريا ولبنان.
  • السعودية: من الجنوب، تعرّضت منشآت النفط السعودية لهجوم نفّذته جماعة «كتائب حزب الله» بواسطة طائرات بدون طيار في 14 أيار/مايو، وقد تقوم المملكة بالانتقام من العراق في حالة تكرار مثل هذه الحوادث.

خيارات بغداد

تتمثل أبرز أولويات الدفاع الجوي في العراق خلال المرحلة المقبلة في منع الضربات الإسرائيلية ومراقبة التحركات الجوية الأمريكية عن كثب لكشف أي علامات تواطؤ. ومن المرجح أن تسعى الحكومة العراقية إلى تحقيق هذه الأهداف عبر تعزيز دفاعاتها الجوية، حتى وإن كان ذلك مجرد استعراضٍ علني تتظاهر فيه بالدفاع عن سيادتها. وإذا قررت بغداد سلوك هذا المسار، فتتوفر لديها مجموعة من الخيارات الدولية تتمثل بما يلي:

  • الولايات المتحدة: خلال آب/أغسطس 2013، طلب العراق شراء منظومة دفاع جوي متكاملة أمريكية الصنع بكلفة 2,4 مليار دولار، بهدف نشرها بحلول عام 2020. وتضمنّت هذه الصفقة ثلاث مدفعيات صواريخ أرض-جو من نوع "هوك 21" تحلّق على ارتفاعات متوسطة وذات مدى اشتباك يتراوح بين 35 و56 كلم، بالإضافة إلى أربعين منظومة دفاع جوي من نوع "أفنجر" تستخدم الرشاشات والصواريخ لضرب أهداف من على ارتفاع منخفض يصل إلى 8 كلم كحد أقصى، ورادارات مراقبة متصلة بها، وأنظمة قيادة وتحكم، ومراكز عمليات تحت الأرض، إلى جانب التدريب. ولكن، حتى الآن لم يتم تسليم سوى ثمانية منظومات "أفنجر" بينما لا يزال ما تبقى من الصفقة قيد الانتظار. ومع أن القوات العراقية تسلّمت منذ ذلك الحين العديد من المقاتلات الجديدة من نوع "أف-16 آي كيو"، إلا أن عدم إعطاء الحكومة العراقية أولوية لمسألة الدفاع الجوي خلال الحرب ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» وتباطؤ وتيرة المبيعات العسكرية الأمريكية إلى الخارج حالا دون دعم تلك الطائرات بإمكانيات فعالة لرصد التهديدات بالرادارات واعتراضها.
  • روسيا: يتلقى العراق المنظومات الروسية بصورة منتظمة منذ عام 2014. ووفقاً لـ "معهد ستوكهولم الدولي لبحوث السلام" طلب العراق عام 2012 ما يلي: 48 منظومة دفاع جوي متنقلة صاروخية- مدفعية من نوع "بانتسير-أس 1" يبلغ نطاق اشتباكها 12 كلم، ومماثلة لمنظومة "أفنجر"، و1200 قذيفة صاروخية خاصة بها، و500 "منظومة دفاع جوي محمولة" من نوع "إيغلا-أس" منها ما يُطلق من الكتف ومنها ما يركَّب على الآليات. لكنّ أي صفقات شراء مستقبلية أخرى من روسيا ستخلّف ثلاث تبعات سلبية على العراق. أولاً، أبدت روسيا تلكؤاً في منح الجهات التي تشتري صواريخ أرض-جو، مثل سوريا، السيطرة الكاملة على مثل هذه المنظومات، كما أنها أخّرت تدريب الطواقم المحلية عليها. ثانياً، حتى منظومات "أس-300" التي تشغّلها طواقم روسية والتي تم نشرها في سوريا لم تردع الضربات الجوية الإسرائيلية ضد القوات الإيرانية المتواجدة هناك. ثالثاً، يستوجب "قانون مكافحة خصوم أمريكا من خلال العقوبات" أن تحدّ واشنطن من تعاونها العسكري مع العراق إذا أقدمت على شراء أسلحة من روسيا. وقد تؤدي العقوبات المترتبة على ذلك إلى الإضرار بالعلاقة الدفاعية الثنائية بين البلدين وإعاقة الدعم الأمريكي للعراق على صعيد مقاتلات "أف-16 أي كيو"، وصواريخ جو-جو، والرادارات، وغيرها من التقنيات الحساسة.
  • إيران: بموجب الملحق (ب) من قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2231، يحظّر بيع الأسلحة الإيرانية بشكل رسمي إلى العراق حتى شهر كانون الثاني/يناير 2021. ومع ذلك، قد تنقل طهران سرّاً منظومات الدفاع الجوي إلى «قوات الحشد الشعبي» الحليفة لها قبل ذلك الحين، تماماً كما سبق لها أن فعلت مع المتمردين الحوثيين في اليمن. وقد تشمل المنظومات المحتملة صواريخ أرض-جو متنقلة تحلّق على ارتفاعات متوسطة على غرار "تلاش" أو "باور-373" أو "خرداد 3" الذي يُزعم أن مداه يتراوح بين 75 و100 كلم وأنه أسقط طائرة استطلاع أمريكية بدون طيار من نوع "أر كيو-4 أ" فوق مضيق هرمز في 20 حزيران/يونيو. وثمة احتمال آخر، وهو أن تقدّم إيران "منظومات دفاع جوي محمولة" متدنية المستوى من نوع "ميثاق" أو أنظمة مرتجلة كـ"بيروز" (النسخة الإيرانية من صاروخ "كورنيت" المضاد للدبابات، مع جهاز تعقب تلقائي يسمح باستخدام دفاع جوي قصير المدى)، أو أجهزة استقبال رادارية افتراضية كتلك التي زوّدتها للحوثيين. ولعل الخطوة الأكثر فعالية هي أن تمّد إيران شركاءها في «الحشد الشعبي» بدعمٍ حربي إلكتروني، مستفيدةً من قدرتها المثبتة على التشويش على أنظمة التحكم في الطائرات الأمريكية بدون طيار. ومنذ بدء الضربات الأخيرة على أهداف تابعة للميليشيا، يناقش القادة الإيرانيون والعراقيون مسألة إجراء تدريبات مشتركة في الدفاع الجوي، والإنتاج المشترك لأنظمة الدفاع والمراقبة ذات الصلة، فضلاً عن تفعيل اتفاقية استخباراتية مبرمة عام 2017 بشأن تشارك البيانات المتعلقة بالحركة الجوية من أجل تحسين إمكانيات رصد "الأعداء المشتركين".
  • دول أخرى: إذا تبيّن للعراق أنّ شراء الأسلحة الروسية أو الإيرانية أمر بالغ الصعوبة، من الممكن أن يقوم بشراء منظومات دفاع جوي من أوروبا أو الصين، على غرار "أستر" أو "أف إم-2000" أو "إتش كيو-22". فقد سبق للعراق أن اشترى من الصين أربع طائرات مسلحة بدون طيار من نوع "سي إتش-4" في عام 2014، مما يدل على استعداده لتنويع الجهات التي يشتري منها معداته العسكرية.

التداعيات على السياسة الأمريكية

إنّ الاعتقاد السائد لدى الرأي العام العراقي بأن إسرائيل تقف وراء التفجيرات الأخيرة قد وضع واشنطن وبغداد في موقف صعب. فالمسؤولون العراقيون يتعرضون لضغوط للتحرك حتى وإن كانت خطواتهم رمزية إلى حد كبير، في حين أنّ الولايات المتحدة لن تمنع إسرائيل طوعاً من ضرب الجماعات المدعومة من إيران، والتي تنشر الأسلحة المتطورة. وحتى لو تم تسليم أصول الدفاع الجوي التي طلبها العراق من واشنطن عام 2013 بالكامل، فمن غير المرجح أن توقف أي ضربات إسرائيلية في المستقبل، والتي يُفترض أنها قد تَستخدم خلايا سرية محلية أو طائرات بدون طيار يتم إطلاقها محلياً أو مقاتلات الشبح مثل "أف-35".

لذلك يمكن للمرء أن يتوقع أن يعرب العراق عن اهتمامه بالمنظومات الروسية والإيرانية، وأن يواصل «الحشد الشعبي» طرح الأفكار كفكرة تشكيل جناحه الخاص بالدفاع الجوي. ولكن، على واشنطن ألا تبالغ فوراً في الرد على مثل هذه الاقتراحات. فمن جهة، يُعتبر نشر الدفاعات الجوية المتطورة التي تديرها روسيا بحق خطاً أحمر بالنسبة إلى أعضاء "حلف شمال الأطلسي" الذين يشكلون غالبية قوات التحالف في العراق، ويجب الإعراب عن هذا الخط الأحمر بوضوح، مع التذكير بالأزمة الأخيرة مع تركيا بسبب منظومات "أس-400". وبالمثل، يجب على واشنطن أن تدرس بعناية ردّ فعلها إذا قدّمت إيران منظومات صواريخ أرض-جو وطواقم عملها للعراق على سبيل الهبة أو الإعارة. ومن شأن التبادل الناتج عن المعلومات الرادارية أن يجعل العراق في الواقع امتداداً لشبكة الدفاع الجوي الإيرانية، وهو سيناريو ينبغي أن يحتاط له المسؤولون الأمريكيون من خلال تصميم مواقف سياسية حتى لا يُؤخَذوا على حين غرة.

من جهة أخرى، يجب أن تتفاعل واشنطن بشكل أكثر حزماً مع الخطوات العراقية التي تنطلق من دوافع سياسية لا ترقى إلى كونها تغيير اللعبة العسكرية. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك توقيع اتفاقيات أمنية خالية من الالتزامات مع روسيا أو إيران، أو التعاون التقني، أو تلَقّي معدات دفاع جوي متدنية المستوى. ففي النهاية، لم تتمكن طهران ولا موسكو من حماية «حزب الله» ونظام الأسد من الضربات الإسرائيلية، ولذلك فإن المساعدة التي تقدّمانها لا تشكل ضماناً لسلامة العناصر الفاعلة السيئة في «قوات الحشد الشعبي» في العراق.

وقد يكون الخيار المفضّل لدى واشنطن هو أن تضبط بغداد الأعمال الميليشياوية المخلة بالاستقرار والتي تستهدفها إسرائيل وفقاً لبعض التقارير - وتحديداً نقل تكنولوجيا الصواريخ والقذائف من إيران، وذلك بهدف تسليمها في بعض الحالات إلى سوريا ولبنان. وتحقيقاً لهذه الغاية، يجب أن يبذل المسؤولون الأمريكيون مجهوداً أكبر في سدّ الثغرة بين الضرورات الأمنية الإسرائيلية والمخاوف العراقية. وقد واجهت الأردن المجاورة وضعاً مماثلاً منذ عقود، وتمكنت تدريجياً من تحقيق نوع من الحياد من خلال منع المتشددين المسلحين والحكومات الأجنبية من استخدام أراضيها لمهاجمة إسرائيل. يجب على واشنطن أن تساعد العراق في العمل نحو نفس هذا النوع من السيادة.

على سبيل المثال، يمكن لإدارة ترامب أن تكلّف مسؤولاً رفيع المستوى بإيصال مخاوف إسرائيل الاستراتيجية إلى القيادات العراقية بهدوء ودقة، ومن بينها المعلومات الاستخباراتية التي تساعد هؤلاء على وضع حد للأعمال المحظورة. وإذا أبدى العراق تجاوبه في منع المزيد من الانتهاكات الإيرانية، يمكن لإسرائيل حينئذ أن تمتنع عن تنفيذ ضربات مستقبلية. وإذا عجز العراق عن الاستجابة أو أساء استخدام المعلومات الاستخباراتية المقدمة، فستكون واشنطن على الأقل قد اضطلعت بمسؤوليتها عن الوساطة بين شركائها، تاركة بغداد تعيش مع عواقب خياراتها.

 

مايكل نايتس هو زميل "ليفر" في معهد واشنطن ويقوم بزيارة العراق بانتظام لإجراء مقابلات مع صناع السياسة في الشؤون الدفاعية. فرزين نديمي هو زميل مشارك في معهد واشنطن، ومتخصص في شؤون الأمن والدفاع المتعلقة بإيران ومنطقة الخليج.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3177

Iraq’s Air Defense Conundrum: Options for U.S. Policy

Michael Knights and Farzin Nadimi

Also available in العربية

September 12, 2019


Baghdad is under pressure to show it can protect its airspace, but procuring Russian or Iranian equipment might complicate U.S.-Iraq relations without addressing the triggers for Israeli strikes.

On September 10, an explosion rocked a Popular Mobilization Forces base in Iraq’s Anbar province, killing one militia member and wounding another. PMF spokesmen stated that Israeli drones entering from Syria were responsible for the strike; they also claimed it was carried out “under the cover of U.S. jets in the region as well as a large observation balloon placed near the area,” referring to a U.S. surveillance aerostat deployed around an American base. Coming on the heels of other recent airstrikes and the PMF’s September 5 announcement of a new air defense unit, the incident points to Iraq’s growing domestic clamor on the issue, and the potential complications this holds for relations with Washington.

IRAQ’S AIR DEFENSE CHALLENGES

Public and elite discourse in Iraq has been roiled all summer by a series of explosions at local PMF bases, along with attacks on convoys and facilities belonging to specific groups that operate on both sides of the border with Syria. On July 19 and August 20, explosions were reported in two camps connected to Kataib Hezbollah, an Iranian-backed Shia “special group” that has been designated as a terrorist organization by the U.S. government. Similarly, one of the group’s logistical convoys was destroyed on the Iraqi side of border on August 25. Another large explosion—the August 12 detonation of rocket munitions at Camp al-Saqr in south Baghdad—further set nerves on edge.

Iraqis have blamed these incidents on suspected Israeli airstrikes of one type or another, shining a spotlight on the government’s inability to monitor and defend its airspace. The strikes may have been launched from across international borders using planes or long-range drones, or undertaken from close range using small explosive drones or loitering munitions—in either case, Baghdad was powerless to prevent them. Asking its U.S. partner for help on this matter is no easy fix either. The mission of U.S.-led coalition forces in Iraq does not include defending sovereign airspace, and requesting American assistance on preventing foreign operations against Iranian-linked groups would place Washington in an especially delicate position with its Israeli ally. As a result, Iraq may be seeking other ways to show that it is not a “house with no roof.”

Under Saddam Hussein, Iraq developed a formidable integrated air defense system with the help of France and the Soviet Union. That network was comprehensively diminished during the 1991 Gulf War and never recovered, but Iraq still faces a multidirectional air defense challenge today:

  • Israel. To the west, Israel is adamant about preventing Iranian-backed special groups from using Iraqi territory for either of two purposes: (1) as a strategic line of supply for Lebanese Hezbollah and Iranian forces bent on threatening Israel’s borders, or (2) as a direct launching area for Iranian missiles against Israel. Iraq has also been mentioned in past years as a possible corridor for Israeli air operations against Iran’s nuclear program.
  • Turkey. To the north, Turkey mounts near-daily airstrikes against Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK) forces in Iraqi territory.
  • Iran. To the east, Iran has repeatedly launched missile and drone attacks against Iranian Kurdish opposition targets in northern Iraq and eastern Syria. It has also been known to fly through Iraqi airspace while delivering military supplies to Syria and Lebanon.
  • Saudi Arabia. To the south, Saudi oil facilities were attacked by Kataib Hezbollah drones on May 14, and the kingdom may retaliate against Iraq if such incidents are repeated.

BAGHDAD’S OPTIONS

Going forward, Iraq’s main air defense priorities are to prevent Israeli strikes and to closely watch U.S. aerial movements for signs of collusion. In pursuing those goals, the government will probably seek to bolster its air defenses, even if only to make a public show of protecting its sovereignty. Baghdad has a range of international options if it decides to go that route:

  • United States. In August 2013, Iraq requested the purchase of a U.S.-built, $2.4 billion integrated air defense system, with the aim of deploying it by 2020. The package included three modernized Hawk-21 medium-altitude surface-to-air missile (SAM) batteries with a 35-56 km engagement range, forty Avenger air defense systems that use guns and missiles to engage low-altitude targets up to 8 km away, and associated surveillance radars, command-and-control systems, underground operations centers, and training. So far, though, only eight Avengers have been delivered; the rest of the package is on hold. The Iraqi air force has since received several new F-16IQ jets, but Baghdad’s de-prioritization of air defense during the war against the Islamic State and the slow pace of U.S. foreign military sales have prevented it from fielding an effective radar and threat intercept capability to support those aircraft.
  • Russia. Iraq has received a steady flow of Russian systems since 2014. According to the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, it ordered the following in 2012: 48 Pantsir-S1 missile/gun mobile air defense systems with an engagement range of 12 km, similar to the Avenger; 1,200 associated missile rounds; and 500 Igla-S man-portable air defense systems (MANPADS) in shoulder-fired and vehicle-mounted versions. Further purchases from Russia would have three drawbacks for Iraq, though. First, Moscow has been slow to give SAM customers such as Syria full control over such systems, and has delayed the training of local crews. Second, even the deployment of Russian-crewed S-300 systems in Syria has not prevented Israeli airstrikes against Iranian forces there. Third, under the Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act (CAATSA), Washington is required to restrict military cooperation with Iraq if it buys arms from Russia. The resultant sanctions could damage the bilateral defense relationship and disrupt U.S. support for Iraqi F-16IQs, air-to-air missiles, radars, and other sensitive technologies.
  • Iran. Under Annex B of UN Security Council Resolution 2231, formal Iranian arms sales to Iraq are prohibited until January 2021. Yet Tehran may covertly transfer air defense systems to its PMF allies before then, just as it has done with the Houthi rebels in Yemen. Potential systems could include mobile mid-altitude SAMs such as the Talash, Bavar-373, or the “3rd of Khordad,” the latter of which has a claimed range of 75 to 100 km and shot down a U.S. RQ-4A surveillance drone over the Strait of Hormuz on June 20. Alternately, it could provide low-level Misagh MANPADS, improvised systems such as the Pirooz (Iran’s version of the Kornet antitank guided missile, with an auto-tracker that allows for short-range air defense uses), or virtual radar receivers like those Tehran has given the Houthis. Perhaps most effective, Iran might provide electronic warfare support to its PMF partners, building on its proven capability to interfere with the control systems of U.S. drones. Since the recent attacks on militia targets began, Iranian and Iraqi commanders have discussed joint air defense training, coproduction of related defense and surveillance systems, and activation of a 2017 intelligence agreement to share air traffic data in order to better monitor “common enemies.”
  • Other nations. If purchasing Russian or Iranian weapons proves too difficult, Iraq could acquire European or Chinese air defense systems such as the Aster, FM-2000, or HQ-22. Baghdad bought four armed CH-4 drones from Beijing in 2014, indicating a willingness to diversify its military vendors.

IMPLICATIONS FOR U.S. POLICY

The widely held Iraqi public perception that Israel is behind the recent explosions has placed Washington and Baghdad in a bind. Iraqi officials are under pressure to act even if their actions prove largely symbolic, while the United States would not willingly impede Israel from striking Iranian-backed groups that proliferate advanced weapons. Even if the air defense assets that Iraq ordered from Washington in 2013 are delivered in full, they are unlikely to stop any future Israeli strikes, which would presumably employ local covert cells, locally launched drones, or stealth aircraft such as the F-35.

One can therefore expect Iraq to express interest in Russian and Iranian systems, and for the PMF to continue floating ideas like forming its own air defense arm. Washington should not immediately overreact to such proposals, however. On the one hand, the deployment of advanced Russian-operated air defenses is rightfully a redline for the NATO members that make up most of the coalition contingent in Iraq, and this line should be communicated clearly, recalling the recent S-400 crisis with Turkey. Likewise, Washington should carefully consider how it will react if Iran gifts or loans SAM systems and crews to Iraq. The resultant sharing of radar information would essentially make Iraq an extension of Iran’s own air defense network, a scenario that U.S. officials should design policy positions for in order to avoid being caught flat-footed.

On the other hand, Washington should react more coolly to politically motivated Iraqi actions that fall short of being military game-changers. Examples include signing no-commitment security agreements with Russia or Iran, undertaking technical cooperation, or receiving low-level air defense equipment. After all, neither Tehran nor Moscow has been able to protect Hezbollah and the Assad regime from Israeli strikes, so assistance from them is no guarantee of safety for bad actors within Iraq’s PMF.

Washington’s preferred option would be for Baghdad to rein in the destabilizing militia activity that Israel is reportedly attacking—namely, the transfer of rocket and missile technology from Iran, in some cases for delivery to Syria and Lebanon. Toward that end, U.S. officials should be more active in bridging the gap between Israeli security imperatives and Iraqi concerns. Neighboring Jordan faced a similar situation decades ago and was gradually able to achieve a kind of neutrality by barring militants and foreign governments from using its territory to attack Israel. Washington should help Iraq work toward the same type of sovereignty.

For instance, the Trump administration could assign a senior official to quietly and precisely convey Israel’s strategic concerns to Iraqi leaders, including intelligence that helps them shut down proscribed activity. If Iraq proves responsive in preventing further Iranian abuses, then Israel could eschew future strikes. And if Iraq fails to respond or misuses the provided intelligence, at least Washington will have discharged its responsibility to mediate between its partners, leaving Baghdad to live with the consequences of its choices.

Michael Knights, a senior fellow with The Washington Institute, regularly visits Iraq to interview defense policymakers. Farzin Nadimi is an associate fellow with the Institute, specializing in the security and defense affairs of Iran and the Gulf region.