أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3015

الهجوم الصاروخي الإيراني على «إقليم كردستان العراق» يمكن أن يأتي بنتائج عكسية

بلال وهاب

متاح أيضاً في English

11 أيلول/سبتمبر 2018


بعد دقائق من بدء اجتماعٍ قيادة «الحزب الديمقراطي الكردي الإيراني» في 8 أيلول/سبتمبر تعرّض مقر الحزب لهجوم صاروخي. وفي اليوم التالي، أعلن «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني مسؤوليته عن وقوع الهجوم، مصرّحاً بأنه أطلق سبعة صواريخ أرض-أرض على مجمّعٍ يقع عند أطراف مدينة كويسنجق في «إقليم كردستان العراق»، ووفقاً لوكالة أنباء "تسنيم" التابعة لـ «الحرس الثوري» كان المجمّع المذكور "يُستخدم لتدريب إرهابيين معادين لإيران واستضافة اجتماع لقادة الإرهابيين". وقد قُتل 17 شخصاً في هذا الهجوم وجُرح 49 آخرون من بينهم مدنيين. ويضمّ المجمّع أيضاً مقر «الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني الإيراني» الذي شنّ مؤخراً هجمات على أهداف تابعة لـ «الحرس الثوري» في إيران. بيد، أصابت الصواريخ بشكل رئيسي أعضاء «الحزب الديمقراطي الكردي الإيراني» الذي يُعتبر أقل نشاطاً وأكثر ميلاً إلى الحوار، الأمر الذي أثار تساؤلات حول ادعاء طهران بأن العملية كانت مجرد إجراء هدفه مكافحة الإرهاب.

هل هو مؤشر على التصعيد؟

استخدمت إيران في هذا الهجوم صواريخ "فاتح-110" التي يبلغ مداها 300 كلم. وتم إطلاقها من وحدات متنقلة بالقرب من أرومية شمال غرب إيران، على بُعد أكثر من 100 ميلٍ من هدفها في العراق. وقامت طائرات مسيّرة تابعة لـ «الحرس الثوري» بتصوير الهجوم وتقييم الأضرار. ومن بين الصواريخ الستة التي ضربت المجمّع، أصاب صاروخٌ الغرفة نفسها التي كانت تجتمع فيها لجنة قيادة «الحزب الديمقراطي الكردي الإيراني» المكونة من أربعين عضواً - وهذا إنجاز لا يستهان به في مبنى ضخم مكوّن من أكثر من 200 غرفة. وتدّعي إيران أن الخطأ الدائري المحتمل (CEP) في صاروخ "فاتح-110" يصل إلى 10 أمتار في مداه الأقصى، مما يجعل الصاروخ قادراً تماماً على ضرب هدفه بمثل هذه الدقة إذا كان «الحرس الثوري» يملك المعلومات الاستخبارية اللازمة حول مكان الاجتماع وتوقيته. ولا شك أيضاً أن طهران كانت على يقين بأن الإخطاء في إصابة المبنى وضرب المركز الحضري المجاور كويسنجق سيؤديان إلى وقوع إصابات أكبر ويتسبّبان بحدوث نزاع سياسي. ومع ذلك، فمن غير المعروف حتى الآن ما إذا كانت النتيجة دالة على عامل الدقة أم محض الصدفة.

وفي الليلة التي سبقت الهجوم، قُتل ثلاثة نشطاء أكراد في طهران، وأفادت بعض التقارير أن القوات الإيرانية كانت تحتشد على حدود «إقليم كردستان»، الأمر الذي أثار مخاوف من وقوع هجوم بري محتمل. وعلى الرغم من استهداف إيران للمعارضة الكردية في العراق بعمليات اغتيال وسيارات مفخخة خلال السنوات الأخيرة (على سبيل المثال، الهجوم الذي وقع في كانون الأول/ديسمير 2016 وأودى بحياة سبعة منشقين)، إلّا أن ضربة يوم السبت كانت مختلفةً نوعاً ما في توقيتها، وجرأتها، ورسالتها. فإيران لم تطلق صواريخ عبر الحدود منذ عام 2001 حين وجّهت ما بين 44 و77 صاروخاً من نوع "سكود" على المراكز التابعة لحركة المعارضة "مجاهدين خلق". وفي عام 1996، ضربت مجمّع كويسنجق بصواريخ كاتيوشا خلال الحملة التي كانت تشنها للاستحواذ على مساحات واسعة من أراضي «كردستان العراق».

هجوم واحد، ثلاثة أهداف

من المحتمل أن تكون إيران قد استخدمت الهجوم لتوجيه ثلاث رسائل مختلفة. الرسالة الأولى والأكثر أهمية هي إطلاع  المجتمع الدولي على ما يبدو حول نواياها وإمكانياتها الإقليمية، حيث أن استهداف مركز تدريب ومأوى للاجئين محميان بشكل ضئيل، بصواريخ قوية سيصنّف على الأرجح من قبل أي مراقب موثوق [بتحليلاته] بأنه قتل مفرط. وخلافاً للهجمات الصاروخية الإيرانية التي أخطأت أهدافها على نحو محرج في سوريا العام الماضي، تشير نتائج العملية التي وقعت يوم السبت إلى استهداف دقيق وتوقيت حاد واستخبارات محكمة. ونظراً إلى التقارير الأخيرة التي أفادت عن تثبيت إيران لصواريخ في العراق وسوريا، فإن مثل هذه الإمكانيات تشكل تهديداً متزايداً للأصول [والمصالح] الأمريكية في المنطقة وكذلك لإسرائيل ودول الخليج.

الرسالة الثانية، قد تحاول طهران ترهيب بعض المواطنين والسياسيين في العراق، حيث تزايدت المشاعر المعادية لإيران خلال الدورة الانتخابية الأخيرة. وبينما ينكبّ الزعماء في بغداد وإربيل على لعبة المقايضة [بإجرائهم مفاوضات صعبة] لتقرير من سيترأس الحكومة المقبلة، يمكن اعتبار الضربة على كويسنجق بمثابة تحذير بأنه لا يمكن تهميش إيران وأنها ستفعل ما يلزم لحماية مصالحها هناك. [وفي الواقع] يتخذ التكتل الموالي لإيران موقفاً دفاعياً - ففي أواخر الأسبوع الماضي، كان التحالف المكوّن من رئيس الوزراء السابق نوري المالكي والميليشيات الشيعية المدعومة من إيران على وشك تبوؤ الصدارة [في المحادثات لتشكيل الكتلة الأكبر] ما بعد الانتخابات. أما اليوم، فهناك أحداثاً ومشاهد فريدة تهيمن على نشرات الأخبار مثل نهب الممثليات الدبلوماسية الإيرانية وحرقها.

وفي غضون ذلك، استمد الأكراد مؤخراً الجرأة من الجهود الدبلوماسية الأكثر قوة التي تقوم بها واشنطن في العراق، بما فيها مكالمة هاتفية أجراها وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك مومبيو مع الرئيس السابق لـ «حكومة إقليم كردستان» وزعيم «الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني» مسعود بارزاني في 30 آب/أغسطس - وهي المحادثة الأولى من نوعها منذ أن عارضت الولايات المتحدة استفتاء الاستقلال السيئ الحظ الذي أجرته «حكومة الإقليم» عام 2017. وفي أعقاب ذلك التصويت، اندفعت الأحزاب الكردية العراقية إلى التعمق أكثر في مدار طهران، بينما عملت إيران على مساعدة بغداد على إخراج قوات «إقليم كردستان العراق» من كركوك وحقولها النفطية. وربما كان هدف طهران من ضرب «الحزب الديمقراطي الكردي الإيراني» هو تحذير الأكراد بأنهم يتجاوزون حدودهم مرة أخرى. وبالفعل، إنّ البيان الصادر عن «حكومة إقليم كردستان» بعد الهجوم أدان الضربة، لكنه دعا أيضاً التنظيمات الكردية الإيرانية إلى عدم استخدام أراضي «إقليم كردستان العراق» كقاعدة لشن هجمات ضد إيران - وهو أمر لطالما طالبت إيران بأن تقوم أربيل بفعله.

ومثل هذه التصريحات هي أكثر قابلية للفهم عند الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أن إيران وتركيا تهاجمان بانتظام القرى في المناطق الحدودية لـ «إقليم كردستان العراق» حيث تنشط جماعات المعارضة، الأمر الذي يؤدي إلى تشريد السكان المحليين، ويتسبب بإحراج دبلوماسي، وصعوبة مستمرة في استقطاب الشركات الدولية إلى «كردستان العراق» والحفاظ على وجودها هناك. ولم يتمكن زعماء «الإقليم» من وقف مثل هذه الهجمات على الرغم من علاقاتهم الجيدة إلى حد كبير مع أنقرة وطهران - حيث أن ذلك يشكل مصدر قلق كبير لأن كل حادثة تُضعف مصداقيتهم القومية الكردية في الفترة التي تسبق الانتخابات المقررة لـ «حكومة إقليم كردستان» في 30 أيلول/سبتمبر.

ومن المفارقات أن الضربة على كويسنجق قد تدفع زعماء «حكومة إقليم كردستان» عن غير قصد إلى الاقتراب من الحكومة الاتحادية، لأن [مسؤولية] حماية الحدود تقع فعلياً ضمن نطاق الصلاحيات السيادية لحكومة بغداد. بل أنهم قد يضيفون هذه القضية إلى قائمة مطالبهم خلال مفاوضات تشكيل الحكومة. بيد، قد تكون قدرة بغداد على تلبية هذا الطلب محدودةً نظراً لعلاقاتها المشحونة منذ مدة طويلة مع «حكومة إقليم كردستان»، وصعوبة الوقوف بوجه الدولتين القويتين المجاورتين لها.

أما الرسالة الثالثة التي يحملها الهجوم الذي وقع في نهاية الأسبوع المنصرم فقد تكون موجهةً إلى فصائل المعارضة الكردية داخل إيران، حيث سعت هذه الجماعات إلى تعزيز مكانتها من خلال ضرب أهداف تابعة للنظام و «الحرس الثوري». وقد تشعر هذه الفصائل بأنه يجري تضييق الخناق على النظام مع تسبب العقوبات الأمريكية بتفاقم الوضع الاقتصادي الرديء أساساً في البلاد واستمرار الاحتجاجات في مدن مختلفة. وفي الأشهر الأخيرة، زار بعض القادة الأكراد الإيرانيين واشنطن لفهم سياسة إدارة ترامب تجاه بلادهم بشكل أوضح وإيجاد موطئ قدم فيها. وردّاً على ذلك، يبدو أن طهران مصممةً على القضاء على الزعماء السياسيين من المعارضة وعرقلة الخطط العسكرية للمعارضة.

مخاطر على طهران

إن المحاولة الجريئة التي أقدمت عليها إيران لحلّ مشكلة المعارضة الكردية يمكن أن تؤدي إلى نتائج عكسية. فقد أدى التقارب الأخير بين طهران وأنقرة إلى إزعاج الأكراد العراقيين، الذين يعتقد الكثير منهم أن الدولتين قد تخططان لشن هجوم مشترك على التنظيمات المعارضة في بلديهما والمتواجدة في «إقليم كردستان العراق». وسعياً من قادة إربيل إلى حماية أنفسهم - سياسياً وربما حرفياً أيضاً - قد يطلب هؤلاء من قوات المعارضة الإيرانية مغادرة قواعدها في العراق والعودة إلى بلدها. وفي النهاية لن يكون هذا الخبر سارّاً بالنسبة لطهران. فالجمع بين الهجمات خارج البلاد، والاضطهاد داخلها، والصعوبات الاقتصادية المستمرة من شأنه أن يمنح المقاتلين الأكراد الإيرانيين أرضاً خصبة لتجنيد عناصر جدد داخل الجمهورية الإسلامية، وكل ذلك في وقت يكون فيه النظام معزولاً على الساحة الدولية ومقسّماً على الساحة السياسية. ومع ذلك، لدى هؤلاء المقاتلين فرصة ضئيلة لتحويل أنفسهم من هدف سهل إلى تمرد فعال ما لم يتغلبوا على تحزّبهم التافه في كثير من الأحيان.

وثمة احتمال بأن تكون طهران قد عرّضت برامجها الصاروخية للمزيد من العقوبات الدولية. فقد هدد النظام طوال الصيف بأنه سينتقم من الفصائل المسؤولة عن مقتل أفراد من «الحرس الثوري»، بإشارته إلى الهجوم الذي وقع في 21 تموز/يوليو دون أن تتبناه أي جهة، وأودى بحياة أحد عشر شخصاً في مركز "ماريفان" الحدودي في إيران. ومع ذلك، فإن استهداف اجتماع لقادة المعارضة السياسية في عمق الأراضي العراقية يثير شكوكاً جدية حول المزاعم الإيرانية بأن طبيعة برنامجها الصاروخي هو دفاعي بحت.

وقد تؤدي الضربة المنفّذة في نهاية الأسبوع المنصرم إلى زيادة استياء الشعب العراقي أيضاً. فغضب الشعب من التدخل الإيراني سبق وأن بلغ ذروته بعد أن تولت الأحزاب الحليفة لإيران السلطة في بغداد قبل عدة سنوات، كما تجّلى ذلك في الأسبوع الماضي حين قام مشاغبون بإحراق القنصلية الإيرانية في البصرة. وكحد أدنىدنىأد، كان الهجوم الصاروخي إهانة لسيادة بلدهم في وقت تأخذ فيه القومية العراقية في الازدياد.

أما بالنسبة لردود الفعل الأمريكية والدولية، فقد سارع نائب الرئيس الأمريكي مايك بانس إلى التنديد بالهجوم في مكالمة هاتفية أجراها مع رئيس وزراء «حكومة إقليم كردستان» نيجيرفان بارزاني. يجب على الأمم المتحدة أن تفعل الشيء نفسه - لأن كل ما فعلته حتى الآن هو نشر تغريدة على موقع "تويتر" في 9 أيلول/سبتمبر مفادها أنها "أحاطت علماً" بهذا الهجوم. ولكن إذا أرادت واشنطن أن تثبت أن هناك ثمن للهجوم على «إقليم كردستان العراق»، فعليها أن تلقي نظرةً أعمق على الأنشطة المصرفية وعمليات شراء العملة الإيرانية هناك. إن الدعم القوي الذي تقدمه الولايات المتحدة قد يساعد القادة الأكراد والعرب الأكثر مسؤولية في العراق على الوقوف بوجه إيران أيضاً.

 

بلال وهاب هو زميل "ناثان واستير ك. واغنر" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3015

Iran’s Missile Attack in Iraqi Kurdistan Could Backfire

Bilal Wahab

Also available in العربية

September 11, 2018


The IRGC has fired a literal shot across the KRG’s bow, but the brazen violation of Baghdad’s sovereignty may ultimately benefit Tehran’s opponents.

A few minutes after the start of a leadership meeting on September 8, the headquarters of the Kurdistan Democratic Party-Iran (KDP-I) came under missile attack. The next day, Iran’s Islamic Revolutionary Guards Corps claimed responsibility, saying it had launched seven surface-to-surface missiles at a compound on the outskirts of Koysinjaq in Iraq’s Kurdistan Regional Government. According to the IRGC-linked Tasnim News Agency, the compound was “used for training anti-Iran terrorists and hosted a meeting of terrorist leaders.” Seventeen people were killed and forty-nine injured, including civilians. The compound also houses the headquarters of the Democratic Party of Iranian Kurdistan (PDKI), which has conducted recent attacks on IRGC targets in Iran. Yet the missiles primarily hit members of the more passive and pro-dialogue KDP-I, raising questions about Tehran’s claim that the operation was purely a counterterrorism measure.

SIGN OF ESCALATION?

Iran used Fateh-110 missiles in the attack, which have a range of 300 kilometers. They were launched by mobile units near Urmia in northwest Iran, over 100 miles from their target in Iraq. IRGC drones filmed the attack and assessed damage. Six of the missiles hit the compound, with one striking the exact room where the forty-member KDP-I leadership committee was meeting—no mean feat in a large building with more than 200 rooms. Iran claims that the Fateh-110 has a circular error probable (CEP) of 10 meters at its maximum range, which would make it fully capable of such precision if the IRGC had the requisite intelligence about the meeting’s location and time. Tehran was also no doubt aware that missing the building and hitting the nearby urban center of Koysinjaq would have resulted in greater casualties and a political row. Even so, it remains unclear whether the result was a function of precision or sheer luck.

The night before the attack, three Kurdish activists were executed in Tehran, and Iranian troops have reportedly been massing on the KRG border, creating fears of a potential ground offensive. Although Iran has targeted the Kurdish opposition in Iraq with assassinations and car bombs in recent years (e.g., a December 2016 attack that killed seven dissidents), Saturday’s strike was qualitatively different in its timing, boldness, and message. Iran had not launched missiles across the border since 2001, when it fired between 44 and 77 Scud missiles at camps belonging to the opposition group Mujahedin-e Khalq (MEK). And in 1996, it hit the Koysinjaq compound with Katyusha rockets as part of a campaign to occupy large swaths of Iraqi Kurdistan. 

ONE ATTACK, THREE AUDIENCES

Tehran may be using the strike to send three different messages. First and most important, it seems to be signaling the international community about its regional intentions and capabilities, since hitting a scantly protected training and refugee camp with powerful missiles would probably qualify as overkill to any credible observer. Unlike Iran’s embarrassingly off-target missile attacks in Syria last year, the results of Saturday’s operation indicate precise targeting, acute timing, and accurate intelligence. Given the recent reports that Iran is stationing missiles in Iraq and Syria, such capabilities would represent an increased threat to U.S. assets in the region as well as to Israel and the Gulf states.

Second, Tehran may be trying to intimidate citizens and politicians in Iraq, where anti-Iranian sentiment is on the rise during the latest election cycle. As leaders in Baghdad and Erbil horse-trade to determine who will run the next government, the Koysinjaq strike could be a warning that Tehran cannot be sidelined and will do what it must to protect its interests there. The pro-Iran camp is on the defensive—as late as last week, an alliance of former prime minister Nouri al-Maliki and Iranian-backed Shia militias was close to taking the lead in the post-election sweepstakes, but now the news is dominated by extraordinary sights like the sacking and burning of Iranian diplomatic facilities.

Meanwhile, the Kurds have been emboldened of late by Washington’s more forceful diplomatic efforts in Iraq, including an August 30 phone call from Secretary of State Mike Pompeo to KRG leader Masoud Barzani—their first such conversation since the United States opposed the KRG’s ill-fated 2017 independence referendum. Following that vote, Iraqi Kurdish parties fell deeper into Tehran’s orbit as Iran helped Baghdad push KRG forces out of Kirkuk and its oil fields. Striking the KDP-I may be Tehran’s way of warning the Kurds that they are once again overstepping. Indeed, a KRG statement after the attack condemned the strike but also called on Iranian Kurdish groups not to use KRG territory as a launching ground for attacks on Iran—something Iran has persistently asked Erbil to do.

Such statements are more understandable when one considers that Iran and Turkey regularly attack villages in KRG border areas where opposition groups operate, resulting in the displacement of local populations, diplomatic embarrassment, and ongoing difficulty with attracting and keeping international businesses in Iraqi Kurdistan. KRG leaders have been unable to stem such attacks despite their largely good relations with Ankara and Tehran—a significant concern because each incident blunts their Kurdish nationalist credibility ahead of the KRG elections slated for September 30.

Ironically, the Koysinjaq strike may inadvertently push KRG leaders closer to the federal government, since border protection is technically Baghdad’s sovereign prerogative. They may even add this issue to their list of demands in government formation negotiations. Yet Baghdad’s ability to meet this request could be limited given its long-fraught relations with the KRG and the difficulty of standing up to its two stronger neighbors.

The third message behind this weekend’s attack may be intended for Kurdish opposition factions inside Iran, who have sought to boost their relevance by hitting regime and IRGC targets. These groups could sense a noose tightening around the regime’s neck, as U.S. sanctions worsen the country’s already dire economic situation and protests continue to occur in various cities. Some Iranian Kurdish leaders have visited Washington in recent months to better understand the Trump administration’s policy toward their country and find a foothold within it. In response, Tehran seems bent on eliminating opposition political leaders and disrupting opposition military plans.

RISKS FOR TEHRAN

Iran’s bold attempt to solve its Kurdish opposition problem could backfire. The recent warming of relations between Tehran and Ankara has unsettled Iraqi Kurds, many of whom believe the two countries may be planning a joint attack on their respective opposition groups in the KRG. To protect themselves—politically and perhaps literally—leaders in Erbil might ask Iranian opposition forces to leave their bases in Iraq and return home. Ultimately, that would not be good news for Tehran. The combination of attacks abroad, persecution at home, and ongoing economic hardships would give Iranian Kurdish fighters fertile ground to recruit new personnel inside the Islamic Republic, all at a time when the regime is isolated internationally and fragmented politically. Yet they have little chance of transforming themselves from a sitting duck into an effective insurgency unless they get past their often-petty factionalism.

Tehran may also have exposed its missile programs to further international sanctions. The regime has threatened all summer that it would retaliate against factions responsible for killing IRGC members, citing an unclaimed July 21 attack that killed eleven personnel at Iran’s Marivan border post. Yet targeting a meeting of opposition political leaders deep inside Iraq casts serious doubt on Tehran’s claim that its missile program is purely defensive in nature.

The weekend strike might further alienate the Iraqi public as well. Their anger at Iranian interference was already at its highest point since Tehran-friendly parties assumed power in Baghdad years ago, as manifested last week when rioters burned the Iranian consulate in Basra. At minimum, the missile attack was an affront to their country’s sovereignty at a time when Iraqi nationalism is on the rise.

As for the U.S. and international reaction, Vice President Mike Pence quickly condemned the attack in a phone call with KRG prime minister Nechirvan Barzani. The United Nations should do the same—all it has done thus far is “take note” of the attack in a September 9 tweet. To demonstrate that there is a cost for attacking the KRG, Washington could take a closer look at Iranian banking and currency purchasing activities there. Firm U.S. backing might also help Iraq’s more responsible Kurdish and Arab leaders to stand up to Iran.

Bilal Wahab is the Nathan and Esther K. Wagner Fellow at The Washington Institute.