أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3354

التجارة الإنسانية بين إيران وكوريا الجنوبية تتطلب ضمانات أمريكية

كاثرين باور و كيفن ماثيسون

متاح أيضاً في English

28 تموز/يوليو 2020


في 21 تموز/يوليو، استدعت وزارة خارجية كوريا الجنوبية السفير الإيراني في سيؤول لتقديم شكوى حول الخطاب الإيراني المشدد بشأن إمكانية الوصول إلى الأموال المجمدة في كوريا الجنوبية. وفي الأسبوع الذي سبق، اتهم المتحدث باسم وزارة الخارجية الإيرانية سيؤول بارتباطها بواشنطن بعلاقة مشابهة لعلاقة "السيد بخادمه"، بينما كان محافظ "البنك المركزي الإيراني" قد هدد سابقاً باتخاذ إجراء قانوني للوصول إلى تلك الأموال، والتي تقول طهران إنها تنوي استخدامها لأغراض إنسانية.

وعلى الرغم من تخويل الحكومة الأمريكية استخدام الأموال لمثل هذه الأغراض في شباط/فبراير، إلا أن المصارف الكورية الجنوبية تبدو مترددة في المضي قدماً في الموضوع دون ضمانات أمريكية إضافية - وقد تعاظم هذا التردد بعد فرض غرامة مالية من قبل الهيئات التنظيمية الأمريكية على "البنك الصناعي الكوري" (IBK) قدرها 86 مليون دولار خلال نيسان/أبريل، لعجز البنك عن كشف عملية إيرانية واسعة النطاق لغسل الأموال. ومع معاودة الارتفاع في عدد الإصابات بوباء "كوفيد-19" في الجمهورية الإسلامية، يجب على واشنطن العمل مع سيؤول لضمان المضي قدماً بتجارة الأدوية والمعدات وغيرها من المواد الإنسانية - ولكن تحت آلية إشراف صارمة.

أموال مجمدة، تجارة مجمدة

وفقاً لرئيس غرفة التجارة المشتركة بين البلدين، تتراوح قيمة الإيرادات الإيرانية من مبيعات النفط إلى سيؤول والمودعة لدى المصارف الكورية الجنوبية بين 6,5 و 9 مليارات دولار. وبموجب الإعفاءات من العقوبات الأمريكية الصادرة بين عامَي 2013 و2015، ولفترة وجيزة بعد إعادة فرض العقوبات في أواخر 2018، تمكّن الشركاء التجاريون من مواصلة استيراد النفط الإيراني طالما احتفظوا بالإيرادات في الحسابات المقوّمة بالعملة المحلية (الوون الكوري في هذه الحالة)، واستخدموها فقط لتمويل التجارة الثنائية. وفي الوقت الذي أنهت فيه إدارة ترامب الإعفاءات النفطية في أيار/مايو 2019، كانت سيؤول قد أوقفت بالفعل علاقتها التجارية في مجال الطاقة مع طهران، وكانت حسابات "البنك المركزي الإيراني" المقوّمة بالوون لدى المؤسستين المستخدمتين لمثل هذه المعاملات - أي "البنك الصناعي الكوري" (IBK) و"بنك ووري" - غير نشطة إلى حد كبير.

وعلى الرغم من المشاورات الأمريكية - الكورية التي دامت شهوراً حول التجارة المسموح بها مع إيران، كانت الصادرات الإنسانية والتجارة الشاملة بين البلدين في حدها الأدنى. ويبدو أن شحنة من الأدوية بقيمة 500,000 دولار أُرسلت في أيار/مايو كانت صفقة وحيدة أُبرمت بموجب الترخيص العام الأمريكي الصادر في شباط/فبراير. وقال مسؤولون كوريون جنوبيون إنهم يريدون وضع آلية مشابهة لـ "اتفاقية التجارة الإنسانية السويسرية" التي وقّعتها برن وواشنطن في كانون الثاني/يناير بعد أكثر من عام من المفاوضات من أجل ضمان "الشفافية في التجارة الإنسانية مع إيران". لكن حاجة طهران الملحة للوصول إلى احتياطاتها الأجنبية آخذة في الازدياد، وهي تضغط على سيؤول للسماح لها باستخدامها على الفور.

علاقات اقتصادية ومالية متوترة

قبل فرض العقوبات الدولية المشددة على إيران، كانت كوريا الجنوبية من أكبر الشركاء التجاريين للجمهورية الإسلامية خارج الشرق الأوسط ورابع أكبر مستهلك للنفط الإيراني. وبعد الاتفاق النووي لعام 2015، بلغ حجم التجارة الثنائية 12 مليار دولار في عام 2017، من بينها صادرات من كوريا الجنوبية بقيمة 4 مليارات دولار. ومع ذلك، انخفضت هذه الصادرات إلى أقل من 300 مليون دولار في العام الماضي ولم يبلغ مجموعها الإجمالي سوى 90  مليون دولار في النصف الأول من عام 2020، وفقاً لبيانات الجمارك الكورية الجنوبية.

ومع ذلك، لا تزال طهران مهتمة بالسلع الكورية العالية الجودة، ولا سيما المستحضرات الصيدلانية والإلكترونيات الاستهلاكية والأجهزة، بما فيها تلك ذات الاستخدامات الطبية. ومن جانبها، سعت الشركات الكورية إلى الحفاظ على وجودها في إيران وضمان قدرتها على الوصول إلى الأسواق في المستقبل على الرغم من استئناف العقوبات الأمريكية. على سبيل المثال، واصلت شركتا "سامسونغ" و"أل جي" بتزويد العملاء الإيرانيين بقطع الغيار والخدمات وعمليات الشراء عبر متجر التطبيقات حتى فترة غير بعيدة تعود إلى شباط/فبراير، عندما انسحبت بسبب القيود الأمريكية على المعاملات المصرفية الإيرانية.

وكما هو الحال في المناطق الأخرى، تخشى البنوك الكورية الجنوبية من مخالفة العقوبات الأمريكية. وفي قضية "البنك الصناعي الكوري" التي حدثت في نيسان/أبريل الأخير، فُرضت على المصرف غرامةٌ هائلة بعد فشله في الكشف والإبلاغ عن مخطط إيراني للتهرّب من العقوبات وغسل الأموال بمقدار مليار دولار. والجدير بالذكر أنه في عام 2011، استخدم رجل الأعمال الأمريكي كينيث زونغ وشخصيات أخرى حسابات الضمان الإيرانية المقوّمة بالوون الكوري لتمويل معاملات تجارية مزيفة، حيث قامت واجهاتٌ في كوريا الجنوبية وإيران والإمارات العربية المتحدة بتحويل الأموال إلى الدولار الأمريكي قبل تحويلها إلى المسؤولين الإيرانيين في مختلف أنحاء العالم. وقد أُدين زونغ بسبعة وأربعين تهمة تتعلق بانتهاك العقوبات الأمريكية، كما خلصت السلطات الفيدرالية الأمريكية وسلطات نيويورك إلى أن "البنك الصناعي الكوري" فشل في إنشاء أنظمة امتثال كافية على الرغم من تنبيهه إلى ضرورة القيام بذلك في عام 2014.

احتياجات إيران الإنسانية

في آذار/مارس، صرّحت وزارة الخارجية الكورية أنها تدرس إمكانية استئناف التجارة الإنسانية مع إيران بعد الرسالة التي وجّهها الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني إلى نظيره الكوري مون جاي إن، يطلب فيها حزمات اختبار "كوفيد-19"، وأدوات دعم أخرى للقضاء على الوباء. كما ألقت طهران باللوم على العقوبات الأمريكية لمنعها من الحصول على السلع الإنسانية؛ وفي رسالة وجّهها إلى الأمين العام الأمم للمتحدة في 12 آذار/مارس، جادل وزير الخارجية محمد جواد ظريف بأن القيود التي تفرضها واشنطن "تحبط" الجهود الإيرانية للكشف عن مرضى "كوفيد-19" وعلاجهم.

وفي الوقت نفسه، رفضت إيران عروض المساعدة الطبية الأمريكية، في حين أن عشرات الحكومات من مختلف أنحاء العالم أرسلت بنجاح المساعدات إلى إيران طوال فترة انتشار الوباء. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تشير التقارير الأخيرة إلى أن "البنك الدولي" وافق مبدئياً على قرضٍ بقيمة 50 مليون دولار لوزارة الصحة الإيرانية عبر "منظمة الصحة العالمية" في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر، على الرغم من أن التمويل قد يواجه معارضة أمريكية. كما تعارض واشنطن طلب إيران للحصول على قرض من "صندوق النقد الدولي" بقيمة 5  مليارات دولار، ولا يزال القرض معلّقاً بانتظار إجراء تقييم إضافي لقدرة البلاد على تحمّل الديون واحتياجات ميزان مدفوعاتها.

وبغض النظر عن الاتهامات الإيرانية والمصير النهائي لطلبات القروض، هناك أمرٌ واحد واضح، وهو أن البلاد لا تتمتع باكتفاء ذاتي من ناحية إنتاج الأدوية أو الأجهزة الطبية على الرغم من إمكانياتها المحلية الملحوظة. وتبلغ حصة الشركات الإيرانية 70 في المائة من سوق الأدوية في البلاد و30 في المائة من معداتها الطبية، ولكنّ إيران بحاجة إلى استيراد العديد من المواد الأولية المستخدمة في إنتاج هذه السلع، بالإضافة إلى الأدوية الأكثر تطوراً التي لا تستطيع تصنيعها محلياً. وبشكل منفصل، أَبلغت طهران عن مشاكل في سلسلة الإمداد ونقص في معدات الاختبار، وأجهزة التهوية، والمعدات الوقائية، شأنها شأن الحكومات الأخرى التي تواجه الوباء العالمي. وأصبح الوصول إلى العملة الصعبة اللازمة لتمويل هذه الواردات يندرج بشكل متزايد ضمن صلاحية "البنك المركزي الإيراني"، حيث يتوجب على المصدّرين الإيرانيين إعادة 70 في المائة من أرباحهم بالعملة الصعبة إلى البنك.

الدعم الأمريكي للتجارة الإنسانية

إدراكاً منها لتردّد الشركات والمؤسسات المالية في العمل مع إيران وما يترتب عن ذلك من مخاطر لا تُعدّ ولا تُحصى، اتخذت الحكومة الأمريكية خطوتين متزامنتين في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر الماضي، هما: طرح آلية تضمن تعزيز الشفافية في التجارة الإنسانية، ووضع اللمسات الأخيرة على ما يُسمى بـ "الاستنتاج بموجب الفقرة 311" الذي صنّف إيران كسلطةً تشكل مصدر قلق رئيسي لغسل الأموال. وبالإشارة إلى التعتيم الممنهج للبلاد على الأنشطة المالية غير المشروعة، وضَع إطار العمل للشركات والمؤسسات المالية شروطاً مشددة للعناية الواجبة المحسّنة في سبيل ممارسة أعمال التجارة الإنسانية المسموحة. والتزمت واشنطن بدورها بتقديم تأكيد خطي وإيجابي لجميع هذه المعاملات التي امتثلت للعقوبات الأمريكية.

إلّا أن سويسرا هي الوحيدة التي استفادت في البداية من هذا الإطار. فقد أجرت "اتفاقية التجارة الإنسانية السويسرية"، التي استُكملت وفقاً للآلية، معاملة "تجريبية" في كانون الثاني/يناير تمثّلت ببيع أدوية للسرطان وزرع الأعضاء إلى إيران بقيمة 2,6 مليون دولار. لكن المعاملة التالية لم تحدث حتى 27 تموز/يوليو، حين أعلنت برن عن صفقة بيع غير تجريبية بقيمة غير معروفة. وردّاً على هذا النقص في الأنشطة، أوضح وزير الخارجية السويسرية في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر أن تأخير المعاملات يعود إلى تغيير أولويات الشركات بسبب الوباء العالمي. على سبيل المثال، شاركت شركة "نوفارتيس" في صفقة البيع المبرمة في كانون الثاني/يناير، ولكنها اليوم تركّز على التحضير لتصنيع لقاح محتمل ضد "كوفيد-19" يجري تطويره من قبل مجموعة من المستشفيات الأمريكية. وكما أشارت الشركة، تم التفاوض على القناة السويسرية قبل فترة طويلة من ظهور فيروس كورونا، لتكون وسيلة "لتعزيز قدرة المرضى الإيرانيين على الوصول إلى الخدمات الطبية من خلال زيادة القدرة على التنبؤ واستقرار الإمدادات المستقبلية من الأدوية لإيران" - وهي لم تكن مصممة للتعامل مع وباء عالمي.

وقد يساعد اهتمام كوريا الجنوبية في إنشاء قناة جديدة مُقيَّمة بالوون الكوري على التعويض عن هذه القيود وتلبية الاحتياجات الأكثر إلحاحاً للشعب الإيراني ونظامه الطبي. وكما يتبين من قضية زونغ، لدى المصارف التي تحتفظ بأموال إيرانية سببٌ لتوخي الحذر، والأمل معقود بأن تفكر طهران في الكيفية التي تعكّرت بموجبها العلاقات بسبب سوء استخدامها لبعض الحسابات الكورية الجنوبية. ومع ذلك، فإذا استمرت التعاملات التجارية الإنسانية بالمضي قدماً، فإن الشروط المنصوص عليها في الآلية الأمريكية ستنطبق على الشركات الكورية الجنوبية فقط - فهي لن تتطلب آلية إيرانية مقابلة، على عكس "آلية دعم التبادل التجاري" (INSTEX) المدعومة من الاتحاد الأوروبي. من هنا، فإنّ إنشاء قناة إنسانية تخضع لرقابة وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية هو أفضل فرصة لضمان عدم استغلال هذه التدفقات التجارية، وعلى الولايات المتحدة التحرك بسرعة ً للاستفادة من هذه الفرصة.

 

كاثرين باور هي زميلة "بلومنستين كاتس فاميلي" في معهد واشنطن ومسؤولة سابقة في وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية. كيفن ماثيسون هو مساعد باحث في "برنامج راينهارد لمكافحة الإرهاب والاستخبارات" التابع للمعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3354

Iran-South Korea Humanitarian Trade Requires U.S. Assurances

Katherine Bauer and Kevin Mathieson

Also available in العربية

July 28, 2020


Tehran is pressing Seoul regarding the billions in Iranian oil revenues held by South Korean banks, creating an opportunity to expand the U.S. humanitarian trade mechanism.

On July 21, South Korea’s Foreign Ministry summoned the Iranian ambassador to lodge a complaint over Tehran’s heightened rhetoric regarding access to funds frozen in South Korea. The week before, Iran’s Foreign Ministry spokesperson had accused Seoul of having a “master-servant relationship” with Washington, while the governor of the Central Bank of Iran (CBI) had previously threatened legal action to access the funds, which Tehran says it plans to use for humanitarian purchases.

Although the U.S. government authorized use of the funds for such purposes in February, South Korean banks appear hesitant to move forward without additional U.S. assurances—a reluctance compounded by the $86 million fine that U.S. regulators levied on the Industrial Bank of Korea (IBK) in April for failing to identify large-scale Iranian money laundering. With COVID-19 cases on the rise again in the Islamic Republic, Washington should work with Seoul to ensure that trade for medicine, equipment, and other humanitarian items moves forward—albeit with strict oversight.

FROZEN FUNDS, FROZEN TRADE

According to the chairman of the two countries’ joint chamber of commerce, South Korean banks hold between $6.5 and $9 billion in Iranian revenues from oil sales to Seoul. Under U.S. sanctions waivers between 2013 and 2015, and for a brief period following the reimplementation of sanctions in late 2018, trading partners were able to continue importing Iranian oil as long as they held the revenue in accounts that were denominated in local currency (in this case the won), and used it solely to finance bilateral trade. By the time the Trump administration ended the oil waivers in May 2019, Seoul had already halted energy trade with Tehran, and the CBI’s won-denominated accounts at the two institutions used for such transactions—IBK and Woori Bank—were largely inactive.

Despite months of U.S.-Korean consultations on permissible trade with Iran, humanitarian exports and overall trade between the two countries has been minimal. A $500,000 shipment of pharmaceuticals in May appears to have been a one-off, executed under the U.S. general license issued in February. South Korean officials have said they want to establish a mechanism similar to the Swiss Humanitarian Trade Arrangement (SHTA), which Bern and Washington inaugurated in January after more than a year of negotiations in order to ensure “transparency into humanitarian trade with Iran.” But Tehran is increasingly desperate to access its foreign reserves and has been pressuring Seoul to provide access immediately.

STRAINED ECONOMIC AND FINANCIAL RELATIONS

Before international sanctions on Iran intensified, South Korea was one of the country’s largest trading partners outside the Middle East and its fourth-largest oil customer. Following the 2015 nuclear deal, bilateral trade reached $12 billion in 2017, including $4 billion in South Korean exports. Yet these exports dropped to under $300 million last year and have totaled just $90 million in the first half of 2020, according to Korean customs data.

Nonetheless, Tehran is still interested in Seoul’s high-quality goods, particularly pharmaceuticals, consumer electronics, and appliances, including those with medical uses. For their part, Korean firms have sought to maintain a presence in Iran and secure future market access despite the resumption of U.S. sanctions. Samsung and LG, for example, continued to provide parts, services, and app store purchases to Iranian clients as recently as February, when they withdrew due to U.S. restrictions on Iranian bank transactions.

As in other jurisdictions, South Korean banks fear running afoul of U.S. sanctions. In this April’s IBK case, the bank was heavily fined after it failed to identify and report a $1 billion Iranian sanctions evasion and money laundering scheme. Notably, in 2011, American businessman Kenneth Zong and other figures used Iran’s won-denominated IBK escrow accounts to finance sham trade transactions, with fronts in South Korea, Iran, and the United Arab Emirates converting the money into U.S. dollars before wiring it to Iranian officials across the globe. Zong was indicted on forty-seven counts of violating U.S. sanctions; federal and New York authorities also concluded that IBK had failed to establish sufficient compliance systems despite being warned to do so in 2014.

IRAN’S HUMANITARIAN NEEDS

In March, South Korea’s Foreign Ministry stated that it was considering a resumption of humanitarian trade after Iranian president Hassan Rouhani wrote to his Korean counterpart, Moon Jae-in, requesting COVID-19 test kits and other support to stem the pandemic. Tehran also blamed U.S. sanctions for obstructing it from obtaining humanitarian goods; in a March 12 letter to the UN secretary-general, Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif argued that Washington’s restrictions had “stymied” Iranian efforts to identify and treat COVID-19 patients.

At the same time, Iran rebuffed U.S. offers of medical assistance, and dozens of governments across the world have successfully sent aid there over the course of the pandemic. In addition, recent reports indicate that the World Bank tentatively approved a $50 million loan for Iran’s Health Ministry via the World Health Organization earlier this month, though the funding may face U.S. opposition. Washington also opposes Iran’s request for a $5 billion IMF loan, which is currently pending further assessment of the country’s debt sustainability and balance of payments needs.

Regardless of Iran’s accusations and the ultimate fate of its loan requests, one thing is clear: the country is not self-sufficient in producing medicine or medical devices despite considerable domestic capacity. Iranian firms account for 70 percent of its pharmaceutical market and 30 percent of its medical equipment, but the country must import many of the raw materials used to produce these goods, as well as more advanced pharmaceuticals that it is not able to manufacture at home. Separately, much like other governments coping with the pandemic, Tehran has reported supply chain issues and shortages in test kits, ventilators, and protective equipment. Accessing the hard currency needed to finance such imports is increasingly under the CBI’s control, since Iranian exporters must return 70 percent of their hard currency earnings to the bank.

U.S. SUPPORT FOR HUMANITARIAN TRADE

Recognizing the reluctance of firms and financial institutions to work with Iran and the myriad risks they face in doing so, the U.S. government took two concurrent steps last October: introducing a mechanism to ensure enhanced transparency for humanitarian trade, and finalizing a so-called “311 finding” that named Iran as a jurisdiction of primary money laundering concern. Pointing to the country’s systematic obfuscation of illicit financial activity, the framework laid out enhanced due-diligence requirements for firms and financial institutions to engage in allowable humanitarian trade. In turn, Washington committed to provide positive, written confirmation for all such transactions that complied with U.S. sanctions.

Initially, however, only Switzerland took advantage of this framework. The SHTA, finalized pursuant to the mechanism, conducted a “trial” transaction in January for the sale of $2.6 million in cancer and organ transplant medications to Iran. The next transaction did not come until July 27, when Bern announced a non-trial sale of unknown value. In response to this dearth of activity, the Swiss Foreign Ministry explained earlier this month that transactions were being delayed as companies shifted priorities due to the pandemic. For example, the firm Novartis participated in the January sale, but it is now focused on preparing to manufacture a potential COVID-19 vaccine under development by a consortium of U.S. hospitals. As the firm pointed out, the Swiss channel was negotiated well before coronavirus emerged, as a way to “improve Iranian patient access by increasing the predictability and stability of the future supply of medicine to Iran”—it was not designed to respond to a global pandemic.

South Korea’s interest in establishing a new, won-denominated channel may help offset this limitation and meet the more immediate needs of the Iranian people and their medical system. As the Zong case demonstrates, banks holding Iranian funds have reason to be cautious, and Tehran will hopefully reflect on how its misuse of some South Korean accounts has clouded the relationship. Nevertheless, if humanitarian trade transactions go forward, the conditions laid out in the U.S. mechanism would apply only to the South Korean firms—they would not require a corresponding Iranian mechanism, unlike the EU-backed Instrument in Support of Trade Exchanges (INSTEX). Establishing a humanitarian channel subject to U.S. Treasury oversight is the best chance to ensure that these trade flows are not exploited, and the United States should work quickly to take advantage of this opportunity.

Katherine Bauer is the Blumenstein-Katz Family Fellow at The Washington Institute and a former official at the U.S. Treasury Department. Kevin Mathieson is a research assistant in the Institute’s Reinhard Program on Counterterrorism and Intelligence.