أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3055

في الصراع لإنقاذ الاتفاق النووي مع إيران، لا تنسوا المشتريات

إلينا ديلوجر

متاح أيضاً في English

19 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2018


خلال الأسابيع القليلة الماضية، أصدر مجلس الأمن الدولي ثلاثة تقارير مرتبطة بالقرار رقم 2231 (الاتفاق النووي)، وفّر كل منها تحديثات بشأن امتثال إيران لـ «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» وعمليات الشراء المشبوهة التي تجريها خارج قناة المشتريات الرسمية التي تمّ إنشاؤها بموجب هذه «الخطة». ومع ذلك، فقد تلاشى أي أمل في التحديثات المفصّلة؛ وبدلاً من ذلك، أبرزت التقارير اعتماد الأمانة العامة للأمم المتحدة و"الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية" المستمر على آليات ضعيفة لإعداد التقارير الذاتية من أجل التحقق من المشتريات ومراقبتها، مما يعزّز بالتالي إمكانية حصول إيران على مواد نووية بصورة غير مشروعة أو سرية. يتعيّن على الولايات المتحدة التواصل بشكل استباقي مع حلفائها الأوروبيين - وخاصةٍ الأطراف المتبقية في «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» - من أجل دعم جهود الأمم المتحدة و"الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية" وضمان الحذر الدائم من أي خدع إيرانية محتملة.    

شكوى خفية تعني الكثير

في 26 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، نشر مجلس الأمن الدولي أحدث تقرير لـ "الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية" بشأن إيران و«خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة». وكما جاء في التقارير السابقة، كرّر التأكيد على التزام إيران المستمر بشروط الاتفاق المتعلقة بالشقّ النووي، لكنه أثار أيضاً مخاوف بشأن استجابة الحكومة لطلبات "الوكالة". وعلى وجه التحديد، دفعت "الوكالة" إيران إلى تقديم المزيد من التعاون "في الوقت المناسب وبشكل استباقي" - وهي صياغة وصفها مساعد وزير الخارجية الأمريكي لشؤون الأمن الدولي ومنع انتشار الأسلحة النووية، كريسوفر فورد، بأنها "شكوى مباشرة"، رغم التعبير عنها "في الخطاب الخافت لدبلوماسية «الوكالة»".      

بإمكان "الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية" على الأرجح تقديم المزيد من المعلومات المفصلة إلى الأطراف في «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» في المجالس الخاصة بشأن امتثال إيران المتأخر. ويمكن للحكومات حينها التسلّح بهذه المعلومات من أجل دعم جهود التحقق التي تبذلها "الوكالة" من خلال تحميل إيران مسؤولية التقيّد بالتزاماتها بموجب «الخطة المشتركة».  

نشاط مشبوه

في 6 و11 كانون الأول/ديسمبر على التوالي، أصدرت الأمانة العامة للأمم المتحدة والميسّر لتنفيذ القرار رقم 2231 أحدث تقريرين لهما حول قضايا مثل قناة المشتريات والنشاط المشبوه الذي يحدث خارجها. وبعد انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»، يبدو وكأن قناة المشتريات - آلية أنشئت لمراقبة عمليات نقل المواد والمعدات وغيرها من المساعدات الضرورية لبرنامج إيران النووي - تواصل عملها، وإن كان بمعدل مخفّض. وجاء في تقريريهما السابقين، الصادرين في حزيران/يونيو 2018 واللذين يغطيان الأشهر القليلة الماضية من مشاركة الولايات المتحدة في «الخطة المشتركة»، أن القناة تلقت ثلاثة عشر طلباً للنقل. وخلال فترتي إعداد التقارير التي سبقت ذلك، تلقت ثمانية وعشرة طلبات على التوالي. غير أنه في الفترة الأخيرة، لم تتلق سوى خمسة طلبات.

وكما كان متوقعاً، ساهمت إعادة فرض العقوبات الأمريكية على إيران في آب/أغسطس وتشرين الثاني/نوفمبر في جعل بعض الأنشطة في قناة المشتريات قابلة للعقوبات بموجب القانون الأمريكي، الأمر الذي ربما كان قد ردع تقديم الطلبات. كما أن استخدام القناة المحدود أساساً يجعل من الصعب تأكيد هذه الفرضية، غير أن الدفعة التالية من التقارير - في غضون ستة أشهر، بعد أن تم منح الوقت لتنفيذ العقوبات الأمريكية - قد تُلقي المزيد من الضوء على المسألة.   

لسوء الحظ، ولكن على نحو غير مفاجئ، تقدّم التقارير الأخيرة توضيحات محدودة حول النشاط المشبوه الذي يحدث خارج القناة، بما في ذلك الحوادث التي لوحظت خلال فترة إعداد التقارير السابقة. ووفقاً لتقارير حزيران/يونيو، كان مجلس الأمن يحقق في الشكاوى الأمريكية والإماراتية بأن إيران حصلت على مواد ذات استخدام مزدوج - بمعنى آخر، مواد منقولة تحت غطاء تجاري وغير نووي ولكن يمكن استعمالها في برنامج نووي - بشكل مستقل عن قناة المشتريات. وعلى وجه التحديد، أعلن مسؤولون إماراتيون أن إيران تلقت "40 قطعة أسطوانية من التنجستن، ومطياف كتلي بلازمي واحد مقرون بالحث، و10 مكثفات، وقضيب تيتانيـوم واحد". وتوضح التقارير التي صدرت في كانون الأول/ديسمبر أنه، وفقاً إلى الدول المصنعة غير المحددة، لا يفي التنجستن والمكثفات بالمعايير اللازمة لطلب الموافقة من قناة المشتريات.    

ومع ذلك، أبلغ بلد التصنيع للمطياف الأمانة العامة للأمم المتحدة بأن هذه المادة قد استوفت هذه المعايير، على الرغم من أن المراجعة الداخلية كانت لا تزال قائمة، مما يُبقي القراء بانتظار التأكيد النهائي. أما بالنسبة لقضيب التيتانيوم المشتبه به، فقد أشار تقرير الأمانة العامة إلى عدم توافر أي معلومات إضافية. كما عجز عن اتخاذ أي قرار بشأن ألياف الكربون والخمسين طناً من سبائك الألومنيوم التي حصلت عليها إيران من خارج القناة، رغم التأكيدات الأمريكية السابقة بوجوب حصولها على موافقة. وكما سبق وأُشير بالتفصيل، سيكون من المقلق للغاية أن تستوفي هذه المواد معايير معينة وأن تكون إيران قد اشترتها من خارج القناة، بما أن كلاً منها يمكن استعماله في برنامج نووي أو صاروخي. وفي ضوء القيود المفروضة على هذه المسائل، قالت الأمانة العامة ببساطة إنها "طلبت توضيحاً" لكل حالة.

آليات ضعيفة لمكافحة الانتشار

يؤكد التقرير الأخير للأمانة العامة بشكل كبير عدم وجود آليات جديرة بالثقة من أجل التحقيق في الخدع. صحيح أن هذا العجز ليس بالأمر الجديد، لكن قد يتفاقم بسبب الاختلاف الأمريكي-الأوروبي حول قرار واشنطن بالانسحاب من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة».    

وحالياً، وفي حالات المشتريات غير المشروعة المزعومة، يُطلب من الدولة المصنّعة إبلاغ مجلس الأمن ما إذا كانت المادة المعنيّة تستوفي المواصفات الضرورية لمراجعتها من قبل القناة. ولا يتحقق أي طرف خارجي من المعلومات المقدمة من الدولة المذكورة - سواء الأمم المتحدة أو الفريق العامل المعني بقناة المشتريات، أو أي وكالة أخرى، ناهيك عن طرف خارجي يتمتع بالمعرفة الفنية الضرورية لاختبار صحة الشكاوى. ويذكّرنا ذلك بآليات التحقق والمراقبة الخاصة بـ"الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية" التي تلقي بمسؤولية إعداد التقارير والتوضيح على الطرف المتهم. وقد تُفسر المخاوف من تجاوز وكالة دولية للسيادة سبب عدم وضع مهمة استقصائية مناسبة وشاملة عبر إحدى الهيئات التابعة للأمم المتحدة. وعلى أي حال، تتمثل النتيجة النهائية في أنه يمكن لإيران استغلال هذه الثغرات من أجل شراء مواد غير مشروعة. ومما يثير الحنق هو أنه حتى لو وجدت الآليات الضعيفة القائمة دليلاً على مشتريات غير مشروعة، يقع عبء تفسير الانتهاك على عاتق المزوّد وليس المشتري. وفي الواقع، يمكن لإيران شراء مواد من خارج القناة الرسمية من دون خوف من العواقب.      

ويمكن أن تساعد وكالات الاستخبارات في الولايات المتحدة والأطراف المشاركة في «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»، باستخدام قدراتها في الرصد إلى أقصى حدودها، على معالجة هذه المشكلة كما فعلت في الماضي. ويتطلب جهد مشترك لمكافحة انتشار الأسلحة النووية إرادة سياسية حازمة وتنسيقاً فعالاً بين الدول - وربما يكون ذلك أمراً صعباً نظراً إلى الانقسامات السياسية التي ظهرت إلى الواجهة بعد انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من الاتفاق.  

يجب الإشادة بجهود أوروبا لإنقاذ «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» وضمان عدم انسحاب إيران وبالتالي إحياء برنامجها النووي. لكن في خضم الصراع العلني لإنقاذ بعض جوانب الاتفاق، من الضروري أن يدعموا جهودهم في مكافحة انتشار الأسلحة النووية بشكل خاص - وإلا ستواجه خطر تأكيد شكوك الولايات المتحدة حيال الاتفاق.

 

إلينا ديلوجر، هي زميلة أبحاث في "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في المعهد، ومحللة نووية سابقة في "مكتب مكافحة الإرهاب" التابع لـ "إدارة شرطة مدينة نيويورك".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3055

In the Scramble to Save the Iran Deal, Don’t Forget Procurement

Elana DeLozier

Also available in العربية

December 19, 2018


A new UN report does little to assuage concerns about suspicious Iranian procurements, underscoring the need for allied intelligence agencies to boost their detection efforts.

In the past few weeks, the UN Security Council has released three reports related to Resolution 2231, each providing updates on Iran’s compliance with the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action and its suspicious acquisitions outside the official procurement channel set up under the JCPOA. Any hopes for detailed updates were dashed, however; instead, the reports underscored how the UN Secretariat and the International Atomic Energy Agency remain reliant on weak self-reporting mechanisms to verify and monitor procurements, thus fostering the possibility of Iran illicitly or covertly obtaining nuclear items. The United States should proactively reach out to its European allies—especially remaining JCPOA parties—to buttress UN and IAEA efforts and ensure continued vigilance against potential Iranian subterfuge.

A SUBTLE COMPLAINT SPEAKS VOLUMES

On November 26, the Security Council released the most recent IAEA report on Iran and the JCPOA. As in past reports, it reiterated Tehran’s continued compliance with the deal’s nuclear-related provisions, but also raised concerns about the government’s responsiveness to IAEA requests. Specifically, the agency nudged Iran to provide more “timely and proactive” cooperation—wording that the U.S. assistant secretary of state for international security and non-proliferation, Christopher Ford, called a “pointed complaint,” despite being couched “in the muted discourse of IAEA diplomacy.”

The agency can likely provide more detailed information to JCPOA parties in private about delayed Iranian compliance. Armed with that information, governments can then buttress the IAEA’s verification efforts by holding Iran accountable to its JCPOA obligations.

SUSPICIOUS ACTIVITY

On December 6 and 11, respectively, the UN Secretariat and the facilitator for implementation of Resolution 2231 released their latest reports on matters such as the procurement channel and suspicious activity occurring outside of it. After U.S. withdrawal from the JCPOA, it appears as though the procurement channel—a mechanism established to monitor transfers of material, equipment, and other assistance required for Iran’s nuclear program—is continuing to operate, albeit at a reduced rate. In their previous reports, issued June 2018 and covering the last few months of U.S. participation in the JCPOA, the channel received thirteen transfer requests. In the two reporting periods before that, it received eight and ten requests. In the latest period, however, it received only five.

As expected, the reimposition of U.S. sanctions against Iran in August and November made some of the activity in the procurement channel sanctionable under U.S. law, which may have deterred submissions. The channel’s already limited use makes it difficult to confirm this hypothesis, but the next batch of reports—in six months, after U.S. sanctions have been given time for implementation—may shed further light.

Unfortunately, but unsurprisingly, the latest reports provide limited clarification on suspicious activity occurring outside the channel, including incidents noted in the previous reporting period. According to the June reports, the Security Council was investigating U.S. and Emirati claims that Iran had obtained dual-use items—that is, materiel transferred under commercial, non-nuclear auspices but which could be used in a nuclear program—independent of the procurement channel. Specifically, UAE officials stated that Iran had received “40 cylindrical segments of tungsten, 1 inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer, 10 capacitors, and 1 titanium rod.” The December reports explain that, according to the unidentified countries of manufacture, the tungsten and capacitors did not meet the criteria necessary to require approval from the procurement channel.

Yet the country of manufacture for the spectrometer told the UN Secretariat that the item did meet these criteria, though an internal review was still ongoing, leaving readers to wait for final confirmation. As for the suspect titanium rod, the Secretariat’s report indicated that no further information was available. It also failed to make any determination on the carbon fiber and fifty tons of aluminum alloys that Iran received outside the channel, despite previous U.S. assertions that they should have been subjected to approval. As previously described in detail, it would be highly troubling if these items meet certain criteria and Iran procured them outside the channel, since each of them can be used in a nuclear or missile program. Reflecting its limitations on these matters, the Secretariat said simply that it has “sought clarification” on each case.

WEAK COUNTERPROLIFERATION MECHANISMS

The Secretariat’s latest report dramatically underscores the lack of trustworthy mechanisms in place to investigate subterfuge. This deficiency is not new, but it may be exacerbated by U.S.-European disagreement over Washington’s decision to pull out of the JCPOA.

Currently, in cases of alleged illicit procurement, the country of manufacture is required to tell the Security Council whether the item in question meets the specifications necessary for review by the channel. No outside party verifies the information supplied by said country—not the UN, not the procurement channel working group, and not any other agency, let alone one with the technical knowledge required to test the veracity of the claims. This is reminiscent of IAEA verification and monitoring mechanisms that put the onus of reporting and clarifying on the accused. Fears of an international agency encroaching on sovereignty may explain why a proper, thorough investigatory function has never been set up through a UN body. In any case, the end result is that Iran could exploit these loopholes to procure illicit items. Shockingly, even if the weak mechanisms in place do find evidence of illicit procurement, the onus for explaining the violation falls on the supplier, not the buyer. In effect, Iran can procure items outside the official channel with little fear of consequence.

The intelligence agencies of the United States and the JCPOA parties, using their detection capabilities to full effect, can help address this problem, as they have in the past. A joint counterproliferation effort of this sort requires firm political will and active coordination between states—perhaps a difficult prospect given the political divisions that surfaced after U.S. withdrawal from the agreement.

Europe should be lauded for its efforts to save the JCPOA and ensure that Iran does not withdraw and subsequently reinvigorate its nuclear program. Yet in the public scramble to save some aspects of the deal, it is essential that they privately bolster their counterproliferation efforts—or else risk confirming U.S. suspicions about the deal.

Elana DeLozier is a research fellow in The Washington Institute’s Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy and a former nuclear analyst in the New York City Police Department’s Counterterrorism Bureau.