أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3379

كيف تتطلع "اتفاقات أبراهام" إلى السير إلى الأمام وليس إلى الوراء

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

16 أيلول/سبتمبر 2020


في 15 أيلول/سبتمبر، استضاف الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب وزير الخارجية الإماراتي عبدالله بن زايد ونظيره البحريني عبد اللطيف الزياني ورئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو أثناء توقيعهم اتفاقيات التطبيع التاريخية الجديدة في حديقة البيت الأبيض. وتشير نظرة أولية إلى نص هذه الوثائق - التي يُطلق عليها مجتمعةً تسمية "اتفاقات أبراهام" - إلى النقاط التي تلتقي بها مع المعاهدات السابقة التي وقعتها إسرائيل مع مصر والأردن، والأهم من ذلك تشير إلى النقاط التي تختلف فيها معها. 

تناقض مع المعاهدات السابقة

ركزت المعاهدة الموقعة مع مصر عام 1979 وتلك الموقعة مع الأردن عام 1994 بدرجات متفاوتة على حل القضية العالقة للنزاع المسلّح. ففي حالة مصر، كان نطاق المناطق العسكرية المحظورة في شبه جزيرة سيناء عاملاً بالغ الأهمية نظراً لأن مصر وإسرائيل خاضتا حروباً ضد بعضهما البعض في الأعوام 1948 و1956 و1967 و1973. واندلعت هذه الحرب الأخيرة قبل سنوات قليلة من زيارة الرئيس المصري أنور السادات المثيرة للإهتمام إلى القدس عام 1977. ولم يتمكن قادة آخرون في المنطقة من تجاوز مثل هذه الصدمات الأخيرة - فقد عارضوا إقدام مصر على رسم مسارها الخاص إلى درجة جعلت "جامعة الدول العربية" تنقل مقرها الرئيسي من القاهرة إلى تونس العاصمة وعدم عودتها إلا بعد مرور عقد من الزمن.   

أما بالنسبة للمعاهدة مع الأردن، فقد سعى الملك حسين ورئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي اسحق رابين إلى تعطيل أي إمكانية لتجدّد النزاع من خلال التوصل إلى حلول جديدة خاصة بالأراضي (على سبيل المثال، تأجير إسرائيل للأراضي الحدودية لمدة خمسة وعشرين عاماً) والتوصل إلى تفاهمات في اللحظة الأخيرة بشأن حقوق المياه. وفي ذلك الوقت، كانت قضايا المياه سبباً جذرياً للصراع في الشرق الأوسط؛ لكن حدتها تراجعت اليوم إلى حدّ ما نظراً للتقدم المحرز في تحلية مياه البحر.

وباختصار، شكّلت المعاهدتان اتفاقيتان بين حكومتين سعتا إلى طي صفحة الصراع العسكري مع إسرائيل، حتى في ظل بقاء القضية الفلسطينية دون حلّ ومسألة التطبيع بين مجتمعات هذه الدول غير مؤكدة. وفي المقابل، فإن الاتفاقين الموقعين في الخامس عشر من أيلول/سبتمبر الحالي خاليان إلى حد كبير من أعباء الماضي.

ومن أسباب ذلك، لا تجمع حدود مشتركة للإمارات والبحرين مع إسرائيل ولم يخوضا البلدان أبداً حرباً ضدها في أرض المعركة، لذلك لا يوجد إحساس بصدمة عامة لدى أي من الطرفين. وعلى الرغم من أن دول الخليج شاركت رسمياً في المقاطعة العربية لإسرائيل منذ عام 1948، إلا أنهما أقامتا روابط شبه سرية بدرجات متفاوتة مع الدولة اليهودية في السنوات الأخيرة. وفي خطوة لها دلالتها، عندما حث المسؤولون الفلسطينيون "جامعة الدول العربية" على إدانة الاتفاق الإماراتي الجديد، أشارت المنظمة بدلاً من ذلك إلى أنه يحق لكل دولة عربية اتخاذ قراراتها السيادية الخاصة بشأن مثل هذه الأمور - في خطوة بعيدة كل البعد عن معارضتها الدراماتيكية لـ "اتفاقيات كامب ديفيد" عام 1979.   

وينطوي الاتفاقان الموقعان هذا الأسبوع على رسم مسار جديد للمنطقة، قائم على تقارب عربي-إسرائيلي وثيق فيما يتعلق بالقضايا الاستراتيجية والفرص الاقتصادية. وتتمتع الاتفاقيتان أيضاً بإمكانيات كبيرة لتشجيع السلام بين الشعوب (والذي يشمل روابط السياحة والتجارة والاستثمار) بدلاً من أن يكون فقط بين الحكومات.

نقاط نصية جديرة بالملاحظة

هل تهم التسمية فعلاً؟ إن نص الاتفاق الإماراتي-الإسرائيلي أطول من الاتفاق البحريني لأنه تسنّى لحكومتي البلدين عقد جولة من مجموعات العمل الثنائية في الأسابيع التي سبقت حفل التوقيع (وغطت قضايا مثل الطيران المدني والاستثمار، على الرغم من أن هناك بالطبع المزيد من التفاصيل الفنية التي يجب تسويتها في الأشهر المقبلة). وأراد المسؤولون الإسرائيليون إطلاق تسمية "معاهدة سلام" على الاتفاق الإماراتي ليكون متساوياً مع المعاهدات السابقة - وأشاروا إلى أمثلة مشابهة في التاريخ الحديث حيث وَصفت دول لا تدخل في نزاعات مباشرة اتفاقياتها بأنها "معاهدات سلام". وفي نهاية المطاف، حملت الوثيقة عنوان "اتفاقية سلام «اتفاقات أبراهام»: معاهدة سلام، علاقات دبلوماسية وتطبيع كامل بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة ودولة إسرائيل".  

وفي المقابل، تمّ الإعلان عن الإنجاز البحريني في 11 أيلول/سبتمبر، قبل أيام قليلة فقط من موعد الحفل. وبالتالي فإن الوثيقة الناتجة موجزة ً للغاية، وعنوانها: "«اتفاقات أبراهام»: إعلان سلام وتعاون وعلاقات دبلوماسية ودية وبناءة".

مكان إسرائيل في المنطقة: تتضمن اتفاقية الإمارات فقرة حول كيف أن العرب واليهود "ينحدرون من السلف نفسه: إبراهيم" وكلاهما من السكان الأصليين في الشرق الأوسط. وتكتسي هذه الصياغة أهمية لأنها تدحض بوضوح الإدعاءات القائمة منذ فترة طويلة في العالم العربي بأن الصهيونية غريبة على المنطقة.

السلام الثقافي. يقول المسؤولون الإسرائيليون الذين انخرطوا بشكل وثيق في الاتفاق الإماراتي في المجالس السرية إن الإماراتيين كانوا حريصين على التركيز على التفاهم بين الأديان والتسامح الديني. وكما ينص الاتفاق بحدّ ذاته، "يتعهد الطرفان بتعزيز التفاهم المتبادل والاحترام والتعايش المشترك وثقافة السلام بين مجتمعيْهما المتأثران بروح سلفهما المشترك، إبراهيم، والحقبة الجديدة من السلام والعلاقات الودية المعلن عنها في هذه المعاهدة، بما في ذلك من خلال تطوير برامج بين الشعبين، وحوار بين الأديان، وتبادلات ثقافية وأكاديمية وشبابية وعلمية وغيرها بين شعبيهما". وبالفعل، ينطوي الاتفاق على وعد جوهري على وجه التحديد لأن كلا الطرفين يدركان الحاجة إلى التواصل على المستوى المجتمعي، وليس على المستوى الحكومي فقط.

ويقيناً، أن معاهدتي إسرائيل مع مصر والأردن ذكرتا العديد من قضايا التطبيع نفسها المنصوص عليها في المعاهدة مع الإمارات. ومع ذلك، تم أحالة هذه القضايا إلى حد كبير إلى الملاحق ولم يتم الوفاء بها عملياً قط. على سبيل المثال، تشير المعاهدة الأردنية إلى نشاط بين الأديان (المادة 9.3) وتبادلات ثقافية/علمية (المادة 10)، ولكن لم يتحقق أي منها خلال العقود التي تلت إبرام المعاهدة.

التركيز على القضايا الثنائية. لا تريد البحرين وإسرائيل والإمارات أن تُتهم بمحاولة التفاوض نيابةً عن الفلسطينيين أو الاستيلاء على دور الأردن كوصي على جبل الهيكل/الحرم الشريف في القدس. وبالتالي، لا ينص الاتفاقان على إدخال أي تغييرات على دخول الأماكن المقدسة في تلك المدينة. وبدلاً من ذلك، ينصب تركيزهما بالكامل على القضايا الثنائية مثل حركة الملاحة الجوية والتجارة وفرض الضرائب. ويمكن أن يكون الاتفاق الإماراتي أيضاً نموذجاً لاتفاقات إسرائيلية أكثر شملاً مع البحرين وغيرها من الشركاء العرب المحتملين. وفي الوقت الحالي، تمت صياغة وثيقة ثالثة وتم التوقيع عليها هذا الأسبوع - "إعلان اتفاقات أبراهام" الأكثر إيجازاً وتعميماً - تهدف إلى تشجيع التطلعات الإقليمية المشتركة من أجل السلام، وفقاً لبعض المسؤولين.

هل يتم الإعداد لهيكل أمني في المنطقة؟ تنص الفقرة السابعة من الاتفاق الإماراتي على ما يلي: "إن الطرفين مستعدان للانضمام إلى جهود الولايات المتحدة لإعداد وإطلاق 'أجندة استراتيجية للشرق الأوسط' من أجل توسيع التعاون الدبلوماسي والتجاري والاستقرار وغيرها من أشكال التعاون في المنطقة. وهما ملتزمان بالتعاون مع بعضهما ومع الولايات المتحدة والآخرين، وفق ما تقتضيه الظروف، للدفع قدماً بقضية السلام والاستقرار والازدهار في العلاقات بينهما ومن أجل الشرق الأوسط ككل، بما في ذلك من خلال السعي إلى تعزيز الأمن والاستقرار في المنطقة".

من الناحية النظرية، يمكن اعتبار الإشارة إلى "الأمن والاستقرار في المنطقة" بمثابة عنوان لتعاون أمني أوسع نطاقاً. ومع ذلك، لا تدعو المعاهدة إلى إنشاء تحالف دفاعي متبادل، لذلك لا يمكن تفسيرها منطقياً بأنها تشير إلى إيران - وفي الواقع، أراد المسؤولون الإماراتيون أن يتجنبوا كلياً أي انطباع من هذا القبيل. ومع ذلك، قد يعتبر بعض المراقبين أن الفقرة 7 ستوحّد تلك الحكومات في المنطقة التي لا تشعر بالارتياح تجاه الإسلام السياسي، وربما تشجعها على تشكيل محور ضد الدول التي تفضله بشدة (على سبيل المثال، إيران وتركيا وقطر).

الخاتمة

في النهاية، إن التصميم السياسي لطرفي الاتفاق هو الذي سيحدد ما إذا كانت المعاهدة ستصبح حبراً على ورق أو ستتبلور إلى خطة عمل. فبالنسبة لإسرائيل والإمارات، ينبع السبب المنطقي وراء الاتفاق من التوافق الكبير بينهما على جبهتين: تهميش القوى الأكثر زعزعة للاستقرار في المنطقة وسط مخاوف من انسحاب أمريكي تدريجي منها، وتذليل العقبات بين بلدين من أكثر دول الشرق الأوسط اعتماداً على العولمة وتركيزاً على التكنولوجيا. وكان هذا المنطق نفسه هو الذي دفع بوزير الدولة للشؤون الخارجية الإماراتي أنور قرقاش إلى التصريح علناً بأنه يتوقع "سلاماً دافئاً"، وأن إسرائيل حريصة بالتأكيد على مواصلة مساعيها الرامية إلى إنهاء عزلتها الإقليمية. ومع ذلك، إذا ما همدت العزيمة السياسية لأي من الطرفين لأي سبب كان، فلن تتمكن حتى أفضل الاتفاقات من دفع عجلة السلام قدماً.   

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز في معهد واشنطن، ومنتج برنامج البث الصوتي "نقاط القرار"، وهو المؤلف المشارك مع دينيس روس للكتاب، "كن قوياً وذو شجاعة جيدة: كيف عمل قادة إسرائيل الأكثر أهمية على تحديد مصيرها".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3379

How the Abraham Accords Look Forward, Not Back

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

September 16, 2020


Close reading of Israel’s agreements with the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain shows how their strictly bilateral focus could affect the chances for people-to-people engagement and regional security cooperation, depending on each government's political will.

On September 15, President Trump hosted Emirati foreign minister Abdullah bin Zayed, Bahraini foreign minister Abdullatif al-Zayani, and Israeli prime minister Binyamin Netanyahu as they signed historic new normalization agreements on the White House lawn. A preliminary look at the text of these documents—collectively called the Abraham Accords—indicates where they echo and, more important, diverge from Israel’s past treaties with Egypt and Jordan.

CONTRASTS WITH PREVIOUS TREATIES

The 1979 Egyptian treaty and 1994 Jordanian treaty focused to varying degrees on completing the unfinished business of armed conflict. In the former case, the scope of restricted military zones in the Sinai Peninsula was critical given that Egypt and Israel had fought wars against each other in 1948, 1956, 1967, and 1973. That last war came just a few short years before Egyptian president Anwar Sadat’s electrifying 1977 visit to Jerusalem. Other regional leaders were unable to move past such recent traumas—their opposition to Egypt charting its own course was so great that the Arab League moved its headquarters from Cairo to Tunis and did not return until a decade later.

As for the Jordanian treaty, King Hussein and Israeli prime minister Yitzhak Rabin sought to defuse any potential for renewed conflict through novel territorial solutions (e.g., Israel leasing border land for twenty-five years) and last-minute understandings on water rights. At the time, water issues were an acute source of conflict in the Middle East; they are somewhat less so today given advances in desalination.

In short, both treaties were agreements between governments seeking to close the book on military conflict with Israel, even as the Palestinian issue remained unresolved and normalization between their societies remained uncertain. In contrast, the agreements signed yesterday are largely free of the baggage of the past.

For one thing, the UAE and Bahrain do not border Israel and never fought against it on the battlefield, so there is no sense of public trauma on either side. Although the Gulf states have formally participated in Arab boycotts of Israel since 1948, they have forged semi-covert ties of varying degrees with the Jewish state in recent years. Tellingly, when Palestinian officials urged the Arab League to condemn the new Emirati agreement, the organization instead noted that individual Arab states are entitled to make their own sovereign decisions on such matters—a far cry from its dramatic opposition to the Camp David Accords in 1979.

This week’s accords are about charting a new course for the region, one based on closer Arab-Israeli alignment regarding strategic issues and economic opportunities. The agreements also have significant potential to encourage peace between peoples (including tourism, trade, and investment links) rather than just between governments.

NOTEWORTHY TEXTUAL POINTS

What’s in a name? The Emirati-Israeli text is longer than the Bahraini accord because the two governments had time for a round of bilateral working groups in the weeks leading up to the signing ceremony (they covered issues such as civil aviation and investment, though there are of course more technicalities to iron out in the coming months). Israeli officials wanted the UAE agreement to be called a “treaty of peace” in order to put it on par with previous treaties—they pointed to comparable examples in modern history where countries not in direct conflict characterized their agreements as “peace treaties.” Ultimately, the document was titled “Abraham Accords Peace Agreement: Treaty of Peace, Diplomatic Relations, and Full Normalization Between the United Arab Emirates and the State of Israel.”

In contrast, the Bahraini breakthrough was announced on September 11, just a few days before the ceremony. The resulting document is therefore quite brief: its title is “Abraham Accords: Declaration of Peace, Cooperation, and Constructive Diplomatic and Friendly Relations.”

Israel’s place in the region. The UAE agreement includes a passage on how Arabs and Jews “stem from the same ancestor, Abraham” and are both indigenous to the Middle East. Such phrasing is important because it clearly refutes longstanding allegations in the Arab world that Zionism is alien to the region.

Cultural peace. Israeli officials intimately involved in the UAE deal privately say that the Emiratis were emphatic about focusing on interfaith understanding and religious tolerance. As the treaty itself notes, “The Parties undertake to foster mutual understanding, respect, co-existence, and a culture of peace between their societies in the spirit of their common ancestor, Abraham, and the new era of peace and friendly relations ushered in by this Treaty, including by cultivating people-to-people programs, interfaith dialogue, and cultural, academic, youth, scientific, and other exchanges between their peoples.” Indeed, the agreement holds substantial promise precisely because both parties recognize the need to reach out on a societal level, not just a governmental level.

To be sure, Israel’s treaties with Egypt and Jordan mentioned many of the same normalization issues laid out in the UAE treaty. Yet these issues were largely relegated to annexes and were never fulfilled in practice. For example, the Jordanian treaty refers to interfaith activity (Article 9.3) and cultural/scientific exchanges (Article 10), but neither has come about in the decades since.

Focus on the bilateral. Bahrain, Israel, and the UAE did not want to be accused of either trying to negotiate for the Palestinians or usurping Jordan’s role as custodian of the Temple Mount/Haram al-Sharif in Jerusalem. Therefore, the accords do not call for any changes in access to that city’s holy sites. Instead, their focus is strictly on bilateral issues such as aviation, trade, and taxation. The Emirati treaty could also serve as a template for fuller Israeli agreements with Bahrain and other potential Arab partners. For now, a third document signed this week—the shorter, more generalized “Abraham Accords Declaration”—is designed to encourage common regional aspirations for peace, according to officials.

Regional security architecture? The seventh paragraph of the Emirati agreement reads: “The Parties stand ready to join with the United States to develop and launch a ‘Strategic Agenda for the Middle East’ in order to expand regional diplomatic, trade, stability, and other cooperation. They are committed to work together, and with the United States and others, as appropriate, in order to advance the cause of peace, stability, and prosperity in the relations between them and for the Middle East as a whole, including by seeking to advance regional security and stability.”

In theory, the reference to “regional security and stability” could be seen as a rubric for wider security cooperation. Yet the treaty does not call for a mutual defense alliance, so it cannot be reasonably interpreted as pointing at Iran—in fact, Emirati officials wanted to avoid any such impression entirely. Even so, some observers may argue that paragraph 7 will unite those governments in the region who are uncomfortable with political Islam, perhaps encouraging them to form an axis against states who ardently favor it (e.g., Iran, Turkey, Qatar).

CONCLUSION

Ultimately, the test of whether a treaty becomes a dead letter or a source of action is the political resolve of the parties involved. For Israel and the UAE, the rationale behind the accord stems from their strong alignment on two fronts: marginalizing the region’s most destabilizing forces amid concerns about gradual American pullback, and removing barriers between two of the most globalized and technologically focused countries in the Middle East. This same logic led Emirati minister of state Anwar Gargash to publicly state that he foresees a “warm peace,” and Israel is certainly eager to continue dissolving its regional isolation. Yet if either party’s political determination flags for whatever reason, even the best text will be unable to advance their peace any further.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow at The Washington Institute, creator of the podcast Decision Pointsand coauthor with Dennis Ross of the book Be Strong and of Good Courage: How Israel’s Most Important Leaders Shaped Its Destiny.