أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3050

أزمة محتملة تلوح في الأفق مع دخول الجزائر مرحلة الانتخابات

عبدالاله بن داودي

متاح أيضاً في English

١٢ كانون الأول/ديسمبر ٢٠١٨


على الرغم من أنه كان من المقرر الشروع رسمياً في الحملة الانتخابية قبل شهرين، ستجري الجزائر انتخاباتها الرئاسية في نيسان/أبريل 2019. ولكن استقالة زعيم حزب مهيمن في 14 تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر أثارت المخاوف من مأزق سياسي وشيك. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن أيّاً كان من يتقلّد منصب الرئاسة سيواجه حالة اقتصادية صعبة، وتهديدات مستمرة من شبكات إرهابية في ليبيا ومالي، وسخطاً اجتماعياً متنامياً بين الشباب الجزائري العاطل عن العمل والغاضب. وقد يؤدي التقاء هذه الظروف إلى زعزعة الاستقرار إلى حد كبير، لا سيّما إذا بقيت المظالم المحلية بدون حلّ. وفي نهاية المطاف، ستكون الطريقة التي تجري بها الانتخابات - ومدى قبول نتائجها - محورية لمستقبل الجزائر.

هل سيستمر في منصبه أم ​​سيتخلى عنه؟

منذ أن نالت الجزائر استقلالها في عام 1962، كان من المفهوم عموماً أن السلطة السياسية تكمن في مثلثٍ لتقاسم السلطة بين الرئاسة والجيش ورجال الأعمال الموالين للنظام - والمعروفين باسم "لو بوفوار" (السلطة). وبالتالي، يجب على المرشحين المحتملين التأكد من أن الشخصيات العسكرية الرئيسية والفصائل الحاكمة الأخرى تدعم سعيهم قبل الترشح للانتخابات.

منذ أوائل عام 2000، عزز الرئيس الحالي عبد العزيز بوتفليقة منصبه بشكل مطرد للحد من النفوذ السياسي للجيش. وخلال فترة ولايته الثانية والثالثة، أشرف على الانتقال من نظام "الأهرامات المتنافسة" (كما وصفها أحد المنافذ الإعلامية المحلية) إلى هرم واحد يهيمن عليه حزبان، هما "جبهة التحرير الوطني" و"التجمع الوطني الديمقراطي". ويحافظ الحزبان [على السلطة] في البرلمان بقبضة محكمة من أجل المساعدة على حماية النظام مع تأمين الولاء والدعم بين الدوائر الأساسية الضرورية لضمان الهدوء الاجتماعي. ومع ذلك، فإن الاستقالة المفاجئة لرئيس "جبهة التحرير الوطني" جمال ولد عباس الشهر الماضي، بطلب من بوتفليقة كما يُفترض، قد أثارت تساؤلات حول ديناميكيات تقاسم السلطة هذه. فقد كان يُنظر إلى عباس على أنه مؤيد قوي لإعادة انتخاب الرئيس، ومن المرجح أن تعكس إقالته محاولة بوتفليقة لتغيير المشهد السياسي قبل عملية التصويت.

وعادة كان الإجماع على هيكل السلطة التقليدي في الجزائر كافياً للتوصل إلى ترتيبات سياسية تقدم مرشحين توافقيين. ولكن هذا الإجماع قد انهار خلال فترات معينة في الماضي، مما أدى إلى انعدام الاستقرار وحدوث تقلبات. وكان هذا هو الحال في تجربة ما بعد التعددية الحزبية عام 1988، ويبدو أن الأمر كذلك حالياً مع استعداد الجزائر لحقبة ما بعد بوتفليقة.

منذ عام 2013، عانى الزعيم البالغ من العمر 81 عاماً من مشاكل صحية - من بينها جلطة دماغية - حدّت منذ ذلك الحين من ظهوره العلني ومنعته من مخاطبة الناس. وعلى الرغم من حالته الصحية السيئة، يبدو أنه يستعد لولاية خامسة، وهو الدافع المفترض وراء قرارٍ صدر في أواخر أيلول/سبتمبر يقضي بالاستعاضة عن ستة وعشرين حاكماً من حكّام الولايات. وبما أن الحكّام في الجزائر يملكون قوة كبيرة في العملية الانتخابية، فقد اعتُبرت هذه الخطوة بمثابة تمهيد للترشح من جديد. وبالمثل، ذكر عباس في 28 تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر أن "جميع كوادر «جبهة التحرير الوطني» ونشطائهم في جميع أنحاء البلاد قد طالبوا بترشيح بوتفليقة".

وعلى الرغم من أن التغيير الدستوري في عام 2008 قد ألغى الحد الأقصى لعدد الولايات الرئاسية، الأمر الذي مهّد الطريق أمام شَغل بوتفليقة لهذا المنصب مدى الحياة، إلا أن التعديلات التي صدرت عام 2016 عكست هذه الخطوة ليقتصر الحد الأقصى على ولايتين. ومع ذلك، بما أنّ الحد الأقصى الجديد لم يُطبّق بأثر رجعي، فلن يواجه بوتفليقة أي عقبات قانونية أمام ترشحه للمرة الخامسة. فالسيناريو الأكثر احتمالاً هو أنه سيرضخ لدعوات الأحزاب الحاكمة وسيترشح مرة أخرى. وفي كلتا الحالتين، من المتوقع صدور إعلان بهذا الشأن في شباط/فبراير.

فيما يتخطى الخلافة

بغض النظر عمن سيتولى الرئاسة، ستواجه القيادة الجديدة في الجزائر مجموعة من التحديات، وأكثرها إلحاحاً هي القضايا الاقتصادية والأمنية. فعلى الصعيد الاقتصادي، أدّى الانحدار الحاد في عائدات النفط والغاز والتباطؤ في القطاع الصناعي إلى إرغام الجزائر على تنفيذ تدابير التقشف في الوقت الذي زادت فيه الضرائب - وهما سياستان أثرتا سلباً على المواطنين ذوي الدخل المتوسط. ويقدّر أن نسبة 12 في المائة من الشباب المتعلمين ما زالوا عاطلين عن العمل، وأن معدل التضخم الذي بلغ في العام الماضي نسبة 5.5 في المائة دفع "البنك الدولي" إلى التحذير من أن 10 في المائة من السكان قد يعودوا إلى حالة الفقر. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، من المتوقع أن ﺗﺴﺘﻤﺮ التفاوتات الإقليمية، مع احتمال إطالة الدورة السنوية للاحتجاجات التي تحدث منذ عام 2011 ﺣﻮل أﻣﻮر مثل إمكانية الحصول على السكن، ومعارضة التكسير الهيدروليكي، ومرتبات الموظفين المدنيين. وليس هناك شك بأن السخط الاجتماعي المتصاعد الناجم عن تجميد الإنفاق الحكومي، وتدفقات رأس المال المحدودة، وارتفاع مستويات البطالة بين الشباب ستحتل مركز الصدارة في الانتخابات المقبلة.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن الفراغ الأمني ​​في البلدان المجاورة، ولا سيّما في ليبيا ومالي، قد أدّى إلى نشوء تهديدات بالغة. فمع انتشار المنظمات المتطرفة المرتبطة بتنظيمي «القاعدة» أو «الدولة الإسلامية»، برزت منطقة الساحل على طول الجناح الجنوبي للجزائر باعتبارها "قوس تهديد" كما وصفها مشروع "المنارة" في دراسة صدرت في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر. فمنذ أزمة احتجاز الرهائن  الهائلة التي حدثت في منشأة "تيقنتورين" للغاز الطبيعي في كانون الثاني/يناير 2013، وهي عملية هجوم نفذها تنظيم «القاعدة في بلاد المغرب الإسلامي»، أصبحت الجزائر هدفاً ذا أولوية قصوى للمنظمات الإرهابية. فأكثر الأخطار إلحاحاً هي تطور التشدد الإسلامي وتهريب الأسلحة والاتجار بالبشر. وفي الوقت نفسه، أصبحت كل من ليبيا ومالي ملاذاً آمناً للإرهابيين وجماعات الجريمة المنظمة، مما يسهّل الراديكالية والتطرف في المنطقة. كما تشكل كل هذه المشاكل عبئاً ثقيلاً على الجيش الجزائري، الذي يُنظر إليه عموماً على أنه من أكثر القوات تنظيماً وقدرة في المنطقة.

وفي نهاية المطاف، يستدعي الوضع الأمني الهش، المقرون بانعدام الاستقرار السياسي وضعف الحكم والتهديدات العابرة للحدود الوطنية الجديدة، أن يتكيف الجيش الجزائري معه بصورة مستمرة. وفي حين من المرجح أن تستمر الجماعات المتشددة في استغلال الفراغ الأمني الإقليمي، فإن الحاجة إلى تطبيق مقاربة أمنية جديدة تجاه المنطقة يجب أن تبقى من أولويات صانعي السياسة في الجزائر. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجب أن تكون هذه التحديات في قلب المناقشات والقرارات في الانتخابات المقبلة، بغض النظر عن كيفية معالجة الرئيس القادم لمشكلة الأمن القومي هذه.

التداعيات على السياسة الأمريكية

على الرغم من أن الجزائر تحاشت تقليدياً إقامة علاقة قوية مع الولايات المتحدة، إلّا أن العلاقات الثنائية نمت في السنوات الأخيرة بسبب المصالح المشتركة في احتواء انتشار الشبكات الإرهابية عبر شمال ووسط أفريقيا. وبقدر ما برزت الجزائر كشريك لمكافحة الإرهاب، فإن من مصلحة الولايات المتحدة أن تشهد عملية انتقالية سلسة للسلطة، حتى لو كانت واشنطن تتمتع بقدرة محدودة على التأثير على نتائج عملية الانتقال تلك.

وفي حال أسفرت الانتخابات إما عن عدم استقرار خطير أو فتح غير متوقع للعلاقات، قد ينظر المسؤولون الأمريكيون في سبلٍ لتحسين وضعهم من أجل توسيع نطاق مشاركتهم. وفي الوقت نفسه، إذا حثّت واشنطن بهدوء الفصائل المعنية لممارسة ضبط النفس فيما يتعلق بالخلافة، يمكن أن يساعد ذلك على تهدئة التوترات. وبالمثل، فإن الإشارة إلى وجود رغبة أكبر في دعم الشباب الجزائريين النشطين في العملية السياسية من شأنها أن تُنشئ نقاشاً جاداً، يمكن أن يؤدي بدوره إلى تأثير ضئيل بل حقيقي على الحملات الانتخابية والتصويت اللاحق. وأخيراً، فإن التشاور مع شريحة واسعة من الشباب الجزائريين النشطين في منظمات المجتمع المدني أو دعوة عدد قليل من البرلمانيين لزيارة الولايات المتحدة يمكن أن يشير إلى أن واشنطن تنوي تعزيز العلاقة الثنائية حتى لو كانت الجزائر تسير نحو مرحلة ضبابية.

 

عبد الإله بنداودي، هو عضو سابق في "حزب التجديد" في الجزائر، وكاتب مستقل ومحلل مقيم في ولاية ماريلاند الأمريكية.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3050

Hints of Crisis as Algeria Enters Election Mode

Abdelillah Bendaoudi

Also available in العربية

December 12, 2018


The country avoided the tumult of the Arab Spring, but its next election cycle will bring political, economic, and social challenges back to the fore.

Although campaigning is formally set to begin two months prior, Algeria will hold presidential elections in April 2019. But the November 14 resignation of a dominant party leader has raised concerns about an impending political impasse. Furthermore, whoever assumes the presidency will face a challenging economic situation, persistent threats emanating from terrorist networks in Libya and Mali, and growing social discontent among Algeria’s jobless and angry youths. The confluence of these conditions could prove highly destabilizing, particularly if domestic grievances remain unaddressed. Ultimately, the manner in which the elections are conducted—and the degree to which their outcome is accepted—will be pivotal for Algeria’s future.

WILL HE STAY OR WILL HE GO?

Since Algeria gained independence in 1962, political authority has generally been understood to reside in a power-sharing triangle between the presidency, army, and pro-regime businessmen—collectively known as Le Pouvoir (The Power). Accordingly, potential candidates must ensure that key military figures and other ruling factions back their bid before running for election.

Since early 2000, current president Abdelaziz Bouteflika has steadily strengthened his office to curb the military’s political influence. And during his second and third terms, he oversaw the transition from a system of “competing pyramids” (as one local outlet described it) to a single pyramid dominated by two parties, the National Liberation Front (FLN) and the National Rally for Democracy (RND). Both parties retain a tight grip on parliament to help protect the system while securing loyalty and support among the key constituencies necessary to guarantee social calm. Yet the sudden resignation of FLN head Djamel Ould Abbes last month, presumably at Bouteflika’s request, has prompted questions about these power-sharing dynamics. Abbes was seen as a strong advocate for the president’s reelection, and his dismissal likely reflects Bouteflika’s attempt to alter the political landscape before the vote.

Typically, consensus over Algeria’s traditional power structure has been sufficient to produce political arrangements that deliver compromise candidates. But this unanimity has broken down during certain periods in the past, resulting in instability and unpredictability. Such was the case in the post-multiparty experiment of 1988, and it appears to be the case today as Algeria prepares for a post-Bouteflika era.

Since 2013, the eighty-one-year-old leader has experienced health problems—including a stroke—that have since limited his public visibility and prevented him from addressing the people. Despite his poor health, he appears to be bracing for a fifth term, which is the presumed motivation behind a decision in late September to replace twenty-six state governors. Since governors in Algeria possess considerable power in the election process, the move was seen as preparation for the incumbent’s run. Likewise, on October 28, Abbes stated that Bouteflika’s candidacy “has been demanded by all the FLN cadres and activists across the country.”

Although a constitutional change in 2008 removed presidential term limits, ostensibly paving the way for Bouteflika to hold the office for life, a 2016 amendment reversed the move and limited terms to two. However, since the new limit was not applied retroactively, Bouteflika would face no legal obstacle to running for a fifth time. The most likely scenario is that he will bow to calls from the ruling parties and run again. An announcement either way is expected in February.

BEYOND SUCCESSION

Regardless of who assumes the presidency, Algeria’s incoming leadership will face a host of challenges, the most pressing ones being economic and security-related. On the economic front, a sharp fall in hydrocarbon revenues and a slowdown in the industrial sector forced Algeria to implement austerity measures while increasing taxation—two policies that have negatively affected middle-income citizens. An estimated 12 percent of educated youths remain unemployed, and last year’s inflation rate of 5.5 percent led the World Bank to warn that 10 percent of the population could fall back into poverty. Additionally, regional disparities are expected to persist, potentially prolonging the annual cycle of protests that have been occurring since 2011 over matters such as access to housing, opposition to fracking, and civil servant salaries. The mounting social discontent stemming from the government’s spending freeze, limited capital inflows, and high youth unemployment levels will undoubtedly take center stage in the upcoming elections.

Furthermore, the security vacuum in neighboring countries, most notably Libya and Mali, has created a significant threat. With the proliferation of radical organizations affiliated with al-Qaeda or the Islamic State, the Sahel region along Algeria’s southern flank has emerged as what the MENARA Project called an “arc of threat” in a study released this October. Since the dramatic hostage situation at the Tiguentourine natural gas facility in January 2013, an attack carried out by al-Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb, Algeria has become a top-priority target for terrorist organizations. The evolution of Islamist militancy, weapons smuggling, and human trafficking are the most pressing dangers. Meanwhile, Libya and Mali have become safe havens for terrorists and organized crime groups, facilitating radicalism and extremism in the region. All of these problems constitute a serious burden for Algeria’s military, which has generally been seen as among the most well-organized and capable forces in the region.

Ultimately, the fragile security situation, coupled with political instability, weak governance, and new transnational threats, requires that the Algerian army continually adapt. While militant groups will likely continue to exploit the regional security vacuum, the need to implement a new security approach toward the region should remain at the forefront of Algerian policymakers’ attention. Additionally, these challenges should be at the center of discussions and decisions in the upcoming elections, regardless of how the next president will handle this national security problem.

IMPLICATIONS FOR U.S. POLICY

Although Algeria has traditionally eschewed a robust relationship with the United States, bilateral ties have grown in recent years due to shared interests in containing the spread of terrorist networks across North and Central Africa. To the extent Algeria has emerged as a counterterrorism partner, it is in America’s interest to see a smooth transition of power, even if Washington has limited leverage in affecting the outcome of that transition.

In the event elections produce either serious instability or an unexpected opening of ties, U.S. officials might consider ways to better position themselves for deeper engagement. In the meantime, if Washington quietly nudged the relevant factions to exercise restraint over succession, it could help calm tensions. Likewise, indicating a greater willingness to support young Algerians active in the political process would create a serious debate, which could in turn make a small but real impact on the election campaigns and subsequent voting. Finally, consulting with a broad swath of Algerian youths active in civil society organizations or inviting a small number of parliamentarians to visit the United States could signal that Washington intends to nurture the bilateral relationship even as Algeria heads into an uncertain period.

Abdelillah Bendaoudi, a former member of the Tajdid Party in Algeria, is a freelance writer and analyst based in Maryland.