أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

الجهات المتنافسة على الطاقة في شرق المتوسط تواجه واقعاً اقتصادياً قاسياً

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

17 تموز/يوليو 2020


من ساحل إسرائيل ولبنان في المشرق وصولاً إلى اليونان وإيطاليا وشمال أفريقيا غرباً، يغرق شرق البحر المتوسط أكثر فأكثر في الاضطرابات الإقليمية. ففي 13 تموز/يوليو، قال المسؤولون في شرق ليبيا إنهم سيرحّبون بالتدخل العسكري المصري من أجل التصدي للدعم الذي تقدّمه تركيا للحكومة المنافسة التي تعترف بها منظمة "الأمم المتحدة" في طرابلس. ويشمل دعم أنقرة اتفاقاً تم التوصل إليه العام الماضي بشأن حدود بحرية مشتركة ستسمح لتركيا بالتنقيب عن النفط والغاز الطبيعي.

من الأسباب التي تدفع تركيا إلى مواصلة البحث عن احتياطيات الهيدروكربون والذي لم يأتِ بثماره بعد هو نجاح قبرص ومصر وإسرائيل نسبيّاً في اكتشاف الغاز في شرق البحر المتوسط على مدى العقدين الماضيين. لكن من الناحيتين الجغرافية والقانونية، إنّ الحدود البحرية التي طالبت بها أنقرة حديثاً هو أمر صعب ومُبالغ فيه. ففكرة امتلاك تركيا وليبيا منطقتيْن اقتصاديتيْن خالصتيْن مجاورتيْن تفترض قبول تفسير مريب لـ"اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لقانون البحار" لعام 1982 وهي: أنّ كريت وأجزاء أخرى من اليونان تقتصر على الحدود الممتدة على المسافة المعيارية البالغة 12 ميلاً والمخصصة للمطالب السيادية البحرية، وليس المسافة البالغة 200 ميل والمخصصة للمطالب الاقتصادية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أبرمت أنقرة الاتفاق مع السلطات التي لا تسيطر على الجزء المناسب من الخط الساحلي الليبي. وهناك تطور آخر هو عدم وجود حدود بحرية مرسومة بين ليبيا ومصر. وبموجب القانون الدولي، تتطلب الحالات المشابهة اتفاق جميع الأطراف المعنيّة - ولا يمكن ببساطة عرض الموضوع للقاهرة بأنه أمر واقع.

وأحد الدوافع المتصورة للاتفاق بين تركيا وليبيا هو ردع بناء خط أنابيب في قاع البحر لتصدير الغاز القبرصي إلى الأسواق الأوروبية. فعلى الرغم من أنه يمكن بناء هذه الخطوط عبر المناطق الاقتصادية الخالصة التابعة للبلدان الأخرى، إلا أنه يجب الحصول على الإذن أوّلاً. وحتى لو يتجنب اتفاق أنقرة المتعلق بالمنطقة الاقتصادية الخالصة مع طرابلس هذه العقبة، فقد تبرز حالات لامتناهية من التأخير بسبب الهواجس البيئية، سواء كانت حقيقية أو متصورة.

وعلى نطاقٍ أوسع، تسبب الأثر الاقتصادي الناتج عن فيروس كورونا بالإضافة إلى تكلفة تطوير احتياطيات الغاز في أعماق قاع البحر على بُعد أميال عديدة من الشاطئ بإعادة تقييم توقعات الطاقة في المنطقة. فعلى سبيل المثال، اكتشفت كلٌّ من شركات "إكسون موبيل"، و"نوبل إينرجي" في هيوستن، و"توتال" الفرنسية حقولاً كبيرة في المنطقة الاقتصادية الخالصة الخاصة في قبرص قبل تفشي الوباء، ولكن من المرجح أن تُرجئ القيام بالمزيد من عمليات التنقيب لعدة سنوات في أفضل الأحوال. وهذه الوقائع التجارية الجديدة أكثر أهمية من أي مطالبات تركية بمثل هذه الاكتشافات (ولا تعترف أنقرة بأنه حتى لدى قبرص "منطقة اقتصادية خالصة").

إنّ خط الأنابيب المقترح لقاع البحر، الذي تبلغ كلفته 7 مليارات دولار ويمتدّ من حقول الغاز البحرية القبرصية إلى اليونان وإيطاليا، يثير الشكّ بشكل متزايد بالنظر إلى انخفاض سعر الغاز واعتماد الخط على إيجاد احتياطيات إضافية لتحقيق الأرباح. وتخطط الجزيرة حالياً لاستيراد الغاز من أجل توليد الكهرباء؛ فقد طلبت وحدة عائمة لإعادة التغويز من أجل تحويل حمولات الناقلات من الغاز الطبيعي المُسال الذي من المقرر وصوله إلى شاطئها الجنوبي، والذي سيحلّ محل واردات الفحم المستخدَم عادةً في محطات الطاقة المحلّيّة.

ومن جهتها، تواجه إسرائيل صعوبة في استقطاب شركات التنقيب للبحث عن احتياطيات جديدة في حقليْ ليفياثان وتمار التابعيْن لها، رغم النجاح الذي حققته شركة "نوبل إينرجي" سابقاً في العثور على مخزون كبير. ويعني تراجع أسعار الغاز أنّ هذا التنقيب يوشك أن يصبح غير قابل للاستمرار بالنسبة للشركات. وتفاوضت "نوبل" مع شركائها الإسرائيليين بشأن سعرٍ على المدى الطويل يفوق التكلفة الحالية لحمولات الغاز الطبيعي المُسال المستورد، مما دفع "شركة الكهرباء الإسرائيلية" إلى البدء بشراء الغاز الطبيعي المُسال للمبيعات المحلية الإضافية. وربما تكون البلاد قد اكتسبت أمن الطاقة من حقولها من الغاز، لكنّ أحلامها المتعلقة بصندوق الثروة السيادي قد تلاشت في الوقت الحالي، وربما إلى الأبد.

ولا تزال مصر الجهة الفاعلة المهيمنة في مجال الطاقة في شرق البحر المتوسط، حيث يبلغ احتياطيها الإجمالي من الغاز أكبر بكثير من احتياطيات إسرائيل أو قبرص. وتتميز القاهرة أيضاً بسوق محلية كبيرة وقدرة على تصدير فائض الكميات عبر مصنعيْن للغاز الطبيعي المُسال على شاطئ دلتا النيل. ومن المتوقع أن يتم قريباً التوقيع على عقود لِستّة مراكز تنقيب بحرية جديدة غرب الدلتا، من بينها مركزان تمتلك فيهما شركة "نوبل" حصة.

ومن ناحية قصة النجاح التي حققتها مصر في مجال الطاقة، فهي تسبب على الأرجح الإحباط لأنقرة، التي تعتبر القاهرة منافستها الرئيسية. فحتى ضمن تحديد تركيا الموسّع لمياهها المطالَب بها، لم تبلغ حملة تنقيبها عن الطاقة أهدافها الكبيرة جدّاً. لكن إحدى النتائج الجيدة هي أنّ وارداتها من الغاز الطبيعي المسال أقلّ ثمناً الآن، ولو أنّ معظم طلبها المحلّي ما زال يعتمد على صفقات الإمداد الطويلة الأمد مع روسيا وأذربيجان وإيران.

أما بالنسبة لسوريا، فإن أي دور تأمل أن تلعبه في التنقيب البحري يبدو غير مرجح مع استمرار حربها الأهلية، ولا يكثر التفاؤل حول تقديرات الطاقة في الزاوية الشمالية الشرقية من البحر المتوسط. وتتمتع لبنان بتوقعات أفضل، على الرغم من أنّ عملية الحفر الأولى في بحر بيروت كانت مخيّبة للآمال، ولا يُحتمل القيام بالمزيد من التنقيب خلال الأزمة السياسية والماليّة الراهنة.

وبغض النظر عن الخطاب الحامي في المنطقة، يشير المنطق الاقتصادي على المدى القريب إلى أن الجانب المتعلق بالطاقة من التوترات في شرق البحر المتوسط مبالغ فيه إلى حدٍّ كبير. ومع ذلك، يجب أن يبقى التعاون في مجال الطاقة أساساً لانخراط السياسة الأمريكية في المنطقة، إذا كان فقط أن يساعد على اعتدال المواقف التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى مواجهات عسكرية مباشرة.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

East Mediterranean Energy Rivalries Face Harsh Economic Realities

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

July 17, 2020


Even if acute diplomatic differences are resolved, low natural gas prices will have a cooling effect on regional energy initiatives.

From the Levant coast of Israel and Lebanon stretching westward to Greece, Italy, and North Africa, the East Mediterranean is increasingly awash in regional tensions. On July 13, officials in east Libya said they would welcome Egyptian military intervention to counter Turkish support for the rival UN-recognized government in Tripoli. Ankara’s support includes an agreement made last year on a joint maritime border that would allow for Turkish oil and natural gas exploration.

Turkey’s so-far-elusive search for hydrocarbon reserves is partly driven by the relative success of East Mediterranean gas discoveries by Cyprus, Egypt, and Israel over the past two decades. Geographically and legally, however, Ankara’s newly claimed maritime border is a stretch. The notion that Turkey and Libya have adjoining exclusive economic zones (EEZs) requires one to accept a questionable interpretation of the 1982 UN Convention on the Law of the Sea: namely, that Crete and other parts of Greece are limited to the standard 12-mile boundary allotted for sovereign claims offshore, and not the 200 miles allotted for economic claims. Additionally, Ankara made the agreement with authorities who do not control the relevant portion of Libya’s coastline. A further twist is the absence of a demarcated maritime border between Libya and Egypt. Under international law, such situations require all relevant parties to be in agreement—Cairo cannot simply be presented with a fait accompli.

One perceived motive for the Turkey-Libya agreement is to deter construction of a seabed pipeline to export Cypriot gas to European markets. Although such lines can be built through the EEZs of third countries, permission would need to be obtained first. Even if Ankara’s EEZ deal with Tripoli sidesteps this obstacle, environmental concerns, real or imagined, could introduce endless delays.

More broadly, the economic impact of coronavirus plus the expense of developing gas reserves deep below the seabed many miles from shore has caused a reevaluation of the region’s energy prospects. For example, Exxon Mobil, Houston-based Noble Energy, and Total of France all discovered significant fields in Cyprus’s EEZ before the pandemic, but they will likely delay further exploitation for several years at best. These new commercial realities are more consequential than any Turkish claims on such finds (Ankara does not recognize that Cyprus even has an EEZ).

The proposed $7 billion seabed pipeline from Cypriot offshore gas fields to Greece and Italy is increasingly doubtful as well given the low price of gas and the line’s dependence on finding extra reserves for profitability. The island currently plans to import gas in order to generate electricity; it has ordered a floating regasification unit to convert tanker-loads of liquefied natural gas (LNG) set to arrive on its southern coast, displacing the coal imports normally used in local power stations.

For its part, Israel is having trouble attracting exploration companies to look for new reserves in its Leviathan and Tamar fields, despite Noble Energy’s past success in finding significant deposits. The decline in gas prices means that such exploration is verging on unviable for companies. Noble and its Israeli partners negotiated a long-term price that is more expensive than what imported LNG cargoes now cost, prompting the Israel Electric Corporation to start buying LNG for additional local sales. The country may have gained energy security from its gas fields, but its dreams of a well-endowed sovereign wealth fund have ended for now, and perhaps forever.

The dominant player in East Mediterranean energy remains Egypt, whose total gas reserves are much larger than those of Israel or Cyprus. Cairo also has the advantage of a large domestic market and the capacity to export surplus volumes via two LNG plants on the Nile delta coast. Contracts are expected to be signed soon for six new offshore exploration blocks west of the delta, including two in which Noble has a stake.

Egypt’s energy success story is likely frustrating for Ankara, which views Cairo as its main rival. Even within Turkey’s expanded definition of its claimed waters, its energy exploration campaign has fallen short of its lofty goals. But one good result is that its LNG imports are now cheaper, even if most of its domestic demand still depends on long-term supply deals with Russia, Azerbaijan, and Iran.

As for Syria, any role it hopes to play in offshore exploration seems unlikely while its civil war continues, and the northeast corner of the Mediterranean is not judged with much optimism in energy terms. Lebanon has better prospects, though initial drilling off Beirut was disappointing, and more exploration seems improbable during the current political and financial crisis.

Heated regional rhetoric aside, near-term economic logic suggests that the energy aspect of East Mediterranean tensions is considerably overstated. Nevertheless, energy cooperation should still be a basis for U.S. policy engagement in the area, if only to help moderate positions that could otherwise lead to direct military confrontations.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy at The Washington Institute.