أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

قمة سوتشي: النتائج والتداعيات المحتملة

آنا بورشفسكايا و سونر چاغاپتاي

متاح أيضاً في English

21 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019


في 22 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، يستضيف الرئيس فلاديمير بوتين نظيره التركي رجب طيب أردوغان في اجتماع قمةً حول سوريا. وفي ضوء القرار الأخير للرئيس ترامب بسحب القوات الأمريكية، فالسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هو: هل ستتوصل تركيا وروسيا مع إيران - الجهات الفاعلة العسكرية الثلاث المتبقية على الساحة - إلى اتفاق مستدام فيما يتعلق بالمستقبل السياسي لسوريا؟ أم ستكتفي هذه الأطراف الثلاثة بمواصلة استخدام سوريا كساحة معركة لخدمة أجندتها الخاصة؟

تأثير بوتين على أردوغان

كان رد الفعل العلني الذي أثاره خبر الانسحاب الأمريكي في موسكو مزيجاً من الغبطة الناشئة عن نية واشنطن الخروج من سوريا، والشك [القائم] من حقيقة الانسحاب، والتحفظات حيال الاجتياح التركي اللاحق. فبالرغم من رغبة بوتين الكبيرة في خروج الولايات المتحدة [من سوريا]، إلّا أنه كان يحاول منذ شهور إطلاق المرحلة التالية من المساعي الدبلوماسية بشأن سوريا، بهدف التوسط لحلّ خاضع لشروطه الخاصة، أي إنهاء القتال مع ضمان بقاء بشار الأسد في السلطة. ويهدد الهجوم التركي عبر الحدود بإفساد هذه الخطط.

وتبعاً لذلك، عندما بدأت حكومة أنقرة هجومها ضد «وحدات حماية الشعب» الكردية السورية قبل أسبوعين، نشرت روسيا وحدة صغيرة من الشرطة العسكرية لكي تؤدي دور الحاجز الفاصل، ثم باشرت بالمفاوضات مع «وحدات حماية الشعب» ونظام الأسد. وبعد فترة وجيزة، انتقلت قوات الأسد إلى المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة الأكراد على غرار منبج، لتصبح بذلك القوات الروسية المحلية والقوات الوكيلة لها في وسط اشتباكات محتملة بين الجيشين الكردي والسوري.

ولطالما توخّى بوتين الحذر في تدخله في سوريا ليحرص على عدم إغراق روسيا في أزمة موحلة، فشبح التجربة السوفيتية في أفغانستان دائماً ما يلوح في الأفق. وفي الوقت نفسه، أشار استطلاع للرأي أجري مؤخراً من قبل "مركز ليفادا" إلى أن 55 في المائة من الجمهور الروسي يفضلون إنهاء التدخل تماماً. وسعياً لتخفيف هذا الضغط وتوجيه مسار الأحداث في الوقت نفسه بما يناسب موسكو، عمل بوتين على تعزيز نفوذه على أردوغان على مر السنوات، بدءاً من بيعه أنظمة الدفاع الصاروخي من طراز "أس-400"، وبناء أول محطة للطاقة النووية في البلاد، ووصولاً إلى توسيع نطاق بث وسائل الإعلام الروسية مثل "سبوتنيك" في تركيا. من هذا المنطلق، ثمة أمرٌ معبّر في تزامن بدء حملة أردوغان في سوريا مع اتفاق روسي تركي جديد لممارسة التجارة بعملاتهما الوطنية.

وسوف يتعاظم نفوذ بوتين في قمة سوتشي وما بعدها من واقع كَوْن الأطراف الإقليمية قد بدأت ترى موسكو - على مضض - شريكاً موثوقاً أكثر من واشنطن. ومن المحتمل أن تستغل موسكو هذا المنظار والانسحاب الأمريكي الأخير لتعرض على أردوغان صفقة أوسع نطاقاً حول سوريا خلال محادثات سوتشي، وربما تتعهد بوضع «وحدات حماية الشعب» تحت سيطرة الأسد مقابل اعتراف تركيا بالأسد رئيساً شرعياً لسوريا. وقد يطلب بوتين من تركيا أيضاً إخلاء الأراضي السورية التي تحتلها حالياً؛ ورداً على ذلك، من المحتمل أن يطلب أردوغان من الأسد إعادة حوالي أربعة ملايين لاجئ سوري ما زالوا مقيمين في تركيا.

ولكن ثمة نقاط توتر أخرى قد تقوّض أي من هذه الاتفاقات، لا سيما مستقبل إدلب. فنظام الأسد وروسيا يواصلان استهداف هذه المحافظة التي تشكل المعقل الأخير للثوار، بهجمات وحشية تهدد بفرار مليونين إلى ثلاثة ملايين مدني آخر إلى تركيا، مما قد يخلق أزمة لاجئين أخرى لأنقرة وأوروبا مماثلة للأزمة التي وقعت عام 2015.

تردد أردوغان في مواجهة روسيا وإيران

على مدى القرون الستة من الحكم العثماني، تمكّن الأتراك من هزيمة جميع الدول المجاورة وفرض سيطرتهم عليها، باستثناء روسيا وإيران. ولا تزال تركيا تأخذ هذا الواقع في عين الاعتبار في مقاربتها لهاتين القوتين. فصحيحٌ أن أنقرة قد تتعامل بتعالٍ في سياستها مع الدول المجاورة الأخرى، فتتجاهل مخاوفهم وتتدخل في شؤونهم الداخلية - كما شوهد في سوريا - لكنها تتجنب بشدة الدخول في مواجهة مع موسكو وطهران أو تجاهلهما.

وفي هذا الإطار، أدى قرار تركيا في عام 2012 بدعم الثوار المعارضين لنظام الأسد إلى وضعها عن غير قصد في مسار تصادم تاريخي محتمل مع روسيا، التي دخلت الحرب إلى جانب الأسد في أيلول/سبتمبر 2015 وردّت بقسوة على إسقاط تركيا إحدى طائراتها العسكرية بعد شهرين من ذلك التاريخ. ومنذ ذلك الحين كان على أنقرة التصرف بحيطة أكبر، والتشاور مع موسكو في كثير من الأحيان حول القضايا السورية عبر عقد اجتماعات مثل قمة سوتشي هذا الأسبوع.

ثم جاء الانقلاب الفاشل ضد أردوغان في عام 2016 ليخفف وطأة الضغط إلى حد ما عبر إقناع بوتين بأن استمالة تركيا أسهل من مضايقتها. ومع ذلك، أوجدت هذه التطورات أيضاً نمطاً من الاتفاقات المشابهة للصفقات والمبنية على الظروف في سوريا، مثل إعطاء موسكو الضوء الأخضر لـ "عملية غصن الزيتون"، وهي التوغل العسكري الذي استولت خلاله تركيا وعملائها [فصائل «الجيش السوري الحر»] على عفرين من «وحدات حماية الشعب» في عام 2018. وفي المقابل، اضطر أردوغان إلى التزام الصمت حين ساعدت روسيا نظام الأسد على قصف المدنيين في الغوطة الشرقية، التي تشكل واحدة من آخر مناطق فك التصعيد المتبقية والخاضعة لسيطرة الثوار.

أما بالنسبة لإيران، فقد سعت أنقرة إلى الحفاظ على تكافؤ القوة الراسخ مع خصمها الفارسي التاريخي، ولكن الدعم التركي للثوار المعارضين لنظام الأسد، وكيل إيران، قد أوشك الإخلال بهذا التوازن. وبما أن قوة إيران وحلفاءها يهيمنون حالياً على سوريا، من المرجح أن تحاول طهران في الأشهر المقبلة إعادة إرساء العلاقات مع تركيا وفقاً لشروطها الخاصة. وقد يشمل ذلك المطالبة بأن يوقف أردوغان جميع دعمه للثوار المناهضين للأسد وسحب جميع القوات التركية من سوريا.

الخاتمة

تشير هذه العوامل مجتمعةً إلى أن أردوغان سيكون الحلقة الأضعف في سوتشي، وبالتالي قد يتمكن بوتين من تعزيز أهدافه الأوسع تجاه تركيا، أي إرغام أردوغان على مصافحة الأسد. وإذا حدث ذلك، فسوف يرفع بوتين من مكانته الإقليمية بصورة أكبر، ويقترب أكثر من إعادة تأسيس مكانة موسكو العظمى، وكل ذلك على حساب واشنطن.

 

آنا بورشفسكايا هي زميلة أقدم في معهد واشنطن ومؤلفة دراسته الأخيرة "تحول المشهد: الدور العسكري لروسيا في الشرق الأوسط". سونر چاغاپتاي هو زميل "باير فاميلي" في المعهد ومؤلف الكتاب الجديد، "إمبراطورية أردوغان: تركيا وسياسة الشرق الأوسط".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

The Sochi Summit: Potential Outcomes and Implications

Anna Borshchevskaya and Soner Cagaptay

Also available in العربية

October 21, 2019


As Washington pushes Erdogan to act responsibly in northeast Syria, the Turkish leader may face contrary pressures from Russia and Iran, who are keeping forces on the ground to back up whatever demands are made at this week’s summit and beyond.

On October 22, Vladimir Putin will host a summit on Syria with Turkish president Recep Tayyip Erdogan. In light of President Trump’s recent decision to withdraw U.S. forces, will they and Iran—the three remaining foreign military players on the scene—usher in a sustainable bargain regarding Syria’s political future? Or will they simply facilitate its continued use as a battleground to drive their own agendas?

PUTIN’S LEVERAGE OVER ERDOGAN

Moscow’s public reaction to the announced U.S. departure was a combination of glee that Washington intends to leave, doubt that the withdrawal is real, and reservations about Turkey’s subsequent incursion. As much as Putin wants the United States out, he has been trying to open the next phrase of Syria diplomacy for months now, with the aim of brokering a resolution on his terms—namely, ending the fighting while ensuring that Bashar al-Assad stays in power. The cross-border Turkish offensive risks spoiling these plans. 

Accordingly, as Ankara began its offensive against the Syrian Kurdish People’s Defense Units (YPG) two weeks ago, Russia deployed a small contingent of military police to serve as a buffer, then began negotiations with the YPG and the Assad regime. Shortly after, Assad’s troops moved into Kurdish-controlled areas such as Manbij, placing local Russian forces and proxies in the middle of a potential clash between the Turkish and Syrian militaries.

Putin has long been careful to conduct the Syria intervention in a way that does not get Russia bogged down, but the ghost of the Soviet experience in Afghanistan is always looming in the background. Meanwhile, a recent Levada Center poll indicated that 55 percent of the Russian public would prefer to end the intervention altogether. To ease this pressure while still shaping events in a manner favorable to Moscow, Putin has worked to build leverage over Erdogan for years, from selling him S-400 missile defense systems, to building the country’s first nuclear power plant, to expanding how much Russian media outlets such as Sputnik broadcast in Turkey. From this perspective, it is telling that the start of Erdogan’s campaign in Syria coincided with a new Russian-Turkish agreement to conduct trade in their national currencies.

Putin’s leverage in Sochi and beyond will also be augmented by the fact that regional actors have grudgingly come to view Moscow as a more reliable partner than Washington. Taking advantage of this perception and the latest U.S. withdrawal, Moscow will likely offer Erdogan a broader bargain on Syria during the Sochi talks, perhaps pledging to fold the YPG under Assad’s control in return for Ankara recognizing him as Syria’s legitimate leader. Putin may also ask Turkey to vacate Syrian territories that it currently occupies; in response, Erdogan will likely ask Assad to repatriate some of the nearly four million Syrian refugees who still reside in Turkey.

Other tension points may undermine any such deals, however, particularly the future of Idlib. The Assad regime and Russia continue to target this last rebel-held border province with brutal attacks that threaten to send another 2-3 million civilians fleeing into Turkey, potentially creating another refugee crisis for Ankara and Europe similar to that of 2015.

ERDOGAN’S HESITANCE TO CONFRONT RUSSIA AND IRAN

During six centuries of Ottoman rule, the Turks defeated and ruled over all their neighbors except Russia and Iran. This fact still resonates in Turkey’s approach to those two powers. Whereas Ankara can be patronizing in its policy toward other neighbors, dismissing their concerns and interfering in their internal affairs—as seen in Syria—it is highly averse to confronting or ignoring Moscow and Tehran.

In this sense, Turkey’s 2012 decision to support rebels who opposed the Assad regime inadvertently put it on a potential historic collision course with Russia, which entered the war on Assad’s side in September 2015 and responded harshly when Turkey shot down one of its military planes two months later. Ankara has had to tread more carefully since then, frequently consulting with Moscow on Syrian issues via meetings like this week’s Sochi summit.

The failed 2016 coup against Erdogan eased the pressure somewhat by convincing Putin that wooing Ankara was easier than bullying it. Yet this development also established a pattern of transactional, ad hoc deals in Syria, such as Moscow greenlighting Operation Olive Branch, the 2018 military incursion in which Turkey and its proxies captured Afrin from the YPG. In return, Erdogan had to stay quiet while Russia helped the Assad regime bomb civilians in East Ghouta, one of the last remaining rebel-held de-escalation zones.

As for Iran, Ankara has sought to maintain its longstanding power parity with its historical Persian rival, but Turkish support to rebels who oppose Tehran’s proxy, the Assad regime, has come close to upsetting this balance. Currently, Iran’s fortunes and allies are ascendant in Syria, so it will likely attempt to recast relations with Turkey on its own terms in the coming months. This may include demanding that Erdogan cease all support to anti-Assad rebels and withdraw all Turkish troops from Syria.

CONCLUSION

Taken together, these factors suggest that Erdogan will have the weaker hand to play in Sochi. Putin may therefore be able to further his broader goals vis-a-vis Turkey, namely, forcing Erdogan to shake Assad’s hand. If this happens, Putin will further elevate his regional standing and move closer to reestablishing Moscow’s great-power status, all at Washington’s expense.

Anna Borshchevskaya is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute and author of its recent study “Shifting Landscape: Russia's Military Role in the Middle East.” Soner Cagaptay is the Institute’s Beyer Family Fellow and author of the new book Erdogan’s Empire: Turkey and the Politics of the Middle East