أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3375

المسار ما بعد التطبيع الإماراتي الإسرائيلي

إيهود يعاري

متاح أيضاً في English

10 أيلول/سبتمبر 2020


بقدر تمكُّن رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو وخصومه في حكومة إسرائيل الائتلافية الهشة من إيجاد وقتٍ مقتطع من معركتهم الشاقة ضد جائحة فيروس كورونا، فإنهم يحاولون رسم مسار للبناء على زخم اتفاقهم الأخير مع الإمارات العربية المتحدة. فالاتفاق - المقرر توقيعه في احتفال بالبيت الأبيض في 15 أيلول/سبتمبر - ينبئ باحتمال انهيار الرفض العربي الرسمي للاعتراف بإسرائيل طالما بقيت المشكلة الفلسطينية دون حل. كما أنه يحمل وعداً ببناء علاقات دافئة ونشطة بسرعة مع أكثر الدول ديناميكية في الخليج العربي، على عكس السلام المُقيّد والبارد الذي تتمتع به إسرائيل مع مصر والأردن.

ويدرك الإسرائيليون أن العامل الرئيسي الذي دفع الزعيم الإماراتي الأمير محمد بن زايد إلى الانشقاق عن الصف وفكّ أغلال "مبادرة السلام العربية" لعام 2002 هو سعيه لتأمين صِفة الأفضلية مع الولايات المتحدة قبل الانتخابات الرئاسية في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر وتطوير القوات المسلحة الإماراتية. ومع ذلك، فهو ينوي أيضاً الوصول إلى التقنيات والدراية الإسرائيلية في المجالات الاقتصادية والعسكرية والأمنية. والسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هنا، ما هو الدور الذي ستلعبه الدول العربية الأخرى في تسهيل هذا التقدم والقيام بخطوات تطبيع خاصة بها.

نتنياهو وعقيدة التلافي

على الرغم من عدم قيام نتنياهو بشرح استراتيجيته بشكل كامل في كتاباته أو خطاباته، إلا أنه عمل خلال العقد الماضي على صقلها بشأن القضية الفلسطينية لتتحول إلى صيغة سياسية واقعية بسيطة. وتتلخص في ما يلي: بما أنه يتعذّر حالياً تحقيق تسوية قائمة على "إنهاء النزاع وإنهاء المطالبات" مع الفلسطينيين وفق شروطه الخاصة، فعليه بالتالي انتزاع حق النقض الفلسطيني القائم منذ مدة طويلة على العلاقات الإسرائيلية مع بقية بلدان العالم، وخاصة الدول العربية. ووفقاً لهذه العقيدة، كلما نجحت إسرائيل في إقامة نُظم صحية للتعاون مع قوى إقليمية ودولية رائدة، كلما زاد الضغط على القادة الفلسطينيين لمراجعة سياساتهم الحالية.

وبالفعل، وفّرت استراتيجية تجاوز الفلسطينيين مكاسب كبيرة لإسرائيل. فقد أقيمت علاقات وثيقة مع عدد لا يحصى من الدول التي اتّبعت في السابق سياسات سلبية أو حتى معادية تجاه إسرائيل.

والأهم من ذلك أن التعاون الرسمي آخذ في التوسع مع قوى آسيوية مثل الهند واليابان وفيتنام، بينما تنمو العلاقات غير الرسمية مع إندونيسيا. وإلى حد ما، أنجزت إسرائيل "محورها غير المعلن تجاه آسيا" في المجالات الاقتصادية والأمنية.

وفي أوروبا، نشأ تحالف فعلي مع قبرص واليونان (أكبر منتقدي الاتحاد الأوروبي لإسرائيل سابقاً). ويسري نظام تعاون أوسع نطاقاً بشأن حقول الغاز الطبيعي في شرق البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​مع إيطاليا وشركاء آخرين، بينما تمت إقامة علاقات دبلوماسية ودية مع معظم دول شرق ووسط أوروبا.

وفيما يتعلق بدول أخرى، غالباً ما تأخذ السياسة الروسية الحالية في المنطقة المصالح الإسرائيلية في الاعتبار، وتُظهر موسكو عموماً نهجاً ودياً تجاه الدولة اليهودية. كما تم إحياء التعاون الوثيق مع تكتل من دول شرق أفريقيا، والجهود جارية لبناء إطار عمل مماثل مع الدول الإسلامية في منطقة الساحل. وبالمثل، سعت العديد من عواصم أمريكا اللاتينية إلى تحسين علاقاتها مع إسرائيل.

وفي ضوء هذا التقدم، كان الكثيرون في إسرائيل يحبسون أنفاسهم من قيام دول عربية أخرى بالإعلان بسرعة عن اتفاقيات على غرار دولة الإمارات. ومع ذلك سيصابون بخيبة أمل - فبالنسبة للعديد من هذه البلدان، تتطلب المصالحة مع إسرائيل حسابات أكثر تعقيداً. وعلى الرغم من أن عدداً قليلاً من الحكومات في المنطقة قد أعربت عن دعمها للاتفاق الإماراتي، إلا أنها تُفضل جميعاً تقييم تداعيات هذا الحدث المثير قبل اتخاذ المزيد من الخطوات.

احتمالات التطبيع السعودي

انتهجت المملكة العربية السعودية، الجهة الفاعلة الرئيسية في التطبيع في المنطقة، مقاربة مدروسة بدلاً من الاندفاع قدماً كما يحث الرئيس ترامب، والتسرّع في اتخاذ أي خطوة بهذا الشأن. وأحد أسباب ذلك هو إدراك الرياض أن الإمارات ليست مهتمة الآن في أن تكون جزءً من مجموعة [معيّنة من الدول]، بل تريد الاستمتاع بفوائد الانفراد بممارسة فن إدارة الدولة خلال حفل التوقيع على المعاهدة في البيت الأبيض الأسبوع المقبل. وفي الواقع، لم تُبلغ أبو ظبي السعوديين بشأن الاتفاق حتى اللحظة الأخيرة تقريباً. ولهذا السبب ولأسباب أخرى، أشارت الرياض إلى البحرين بضرورة تأجيل خطط التطبيع الخاصة بها مع إسرائيل، والتي كانت موضوع نقاش في المنامة على مدار العامين الماضيين.

وفي الوقت نفسه، اتخذ السعوديون خطوات لدعم الاتفاق الإماراتي حتى في الوقت الذي أعادوا فيه تأكيد التزامهم بمبادئ "مبادرة السلام العربية". فسرعان ما وافقوا على استخدام مجالهم الجوي للرحلات بين أبو ظبي ودبي وتل أبيب، واختصروا وقت السفر بساعات. كما ضغطوا على السلطة الفلسطينية للتوقف عن إهانة الاتفاق علناً، ولمنع المتظاهرين من إشعال الأعلام الإماراتية.

وفي غضون ذلك، نددت وسائل الإعلام السعودية بالقيادة الفلسطينية وروّجت لفوائد السلام مع إسرائيل. ووصفت إحدى المقالات النموذجية، التي نُشرت في 2 أيلول/سبتمبر في صحيفة "عكاظ"، الرئيس محمود عباس ورفاقه بأنهم "لصوص". ثم جادل المؤلف بأن مصالح الناس الذين يعيشون في غزة والضفة الغربية تجبر "الحكماء العرب" على النأي بأنفسهم عن "عصابات الانتهازية السياسية" والتفاوض مع إسرائيل لضمان سلام شامل في المنطقة. وعلى الصعيد الديني، أشاد الشيخ عبد الرحمن السديس، الرئيس العام لشوؤن المسجد الحرام والمسجد النبوي في مكة المكرمة، بالعلاقات الطيبة للنبي محمد مع اليهود خلال خطبة الجمعة في 4 أيلول/سبتمبر.

والأهم من ذلك، أن الاتصالات السرية مع الرياض جعلت القدس واثقة تماماً من أن ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان عازم على تطبيع العلاقات في وقت ما في المستقبل، على الرغم من اعتراضات البعض في الديوان الملكي وإحجام والده عن التخلي عن مبادرة السلام. وفي أبو ظبي، برّر ولي العهد محمد بن زايد اتفاقه مع إسرائيل بالإشارة إلى أنه يمنع ضم بعض المناطق في الضفة الغربية إلى الدولة اليهودية. ويسعى نظيره السعودي إلى تحقيق إنجاز فلسطيني خاص به لتبرير الابتعاد عن السياسة السعودية التقليدية. وعليه، فقد دعمت الرياض جهود مصر والأردن لإقناع الرئيس عباس بضرورة استئناف المفاوضات مع إسرائيل تحت رعاية صيغة "اللجنة الرباعية [الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، والاتحاد الأوروبي، والولايات المتحدة، وروسيا]  زائد الشركاء العرب". ورفض عباس الفكرة رفضاً قاطعاً، وفتح بدلاً من ذلك تنسيقاً محدوداً مع «حماس» و «الجهاد الإسلامي الفلسطيني» من أجل "عزل" الاتفاق الإماراتي - الإسرائيلي وردع الدول العربية الأخرى عن إبرام اتفاقيات خاصة بها.

الحسابات في الدول العربية الأخرى

يشكّل التردد السعودي في التحرك دون إحراز بعض التقدم على الجبهة الإسرائيلية - الفلسطينية عاملاً يؤثر على المرشحين الآخرين لعملية التطبيع. وفي منطقة الخليج، كثّف العاهل البحريني الملك حمد محادثاته مع إسرائيل ويسعى للحصول على توضيحات بشأن زيادة المساعدة الأمريكية.

وفي السودان يواصل الفريق أول عبد الفتاح البرهان والفريق أول محمد حمدان دقلو التأكيد لإسرائيل على أنهما يعتزمان تطبيع علاقة بلادهما معها، ولكنهما يلفتان إلى ضرورة الأخذ في الحسبان مقاومة الحكومة المدنية اليسارية. كما أن الطلب الإسرائيلي باستخدام الأجواء السودانية لتسيير الرحلات بين تل أبيب وأمريكا اللاتينية قيد المناقشة حالياً هناك ويسير في اتجاهٍ إيجابي.

وفي سلطنة عُمان، يُعيد السلطان هيثم تغيير التركيبة الحكومية التي كانت قائمة في عهد سلفه. لذلك فإن هذه العملية الانتقالية وعلاقات بلاده الدقيقة مع إيران تجعله أكثر ميلاً إلى البقاء في الصفوف الخلفية. وفي المغرب، توتّرت علاقات الملك محمد السادس مع الإمارات، وعلى الرغم من حفاظ بلاده على علاقات مثمرة مع إسرائيل لعقود، إلا أنه لا يشعر أن الوقت قد حان لتحقيق قفزة جريئة. أما موريتانيا، التي تم [سابقا] تعليق علاقاتها الدبلوماسية مع إسرائيل، فهي منشغلة حالياً بالانقلاب العسكري الأخير الذي رفع مستوى الضباط ذوي الخبرة القليلة على الساحة الدولية. وقد نأت دول عربية أخرى بنفسها عن نموذج التطبيع الإماراتي - وعلى الأخص تونس، التي تبادلت في الماضي "مكتب لرعاية المصالح" مع إسرائيل.

الخاتمة

يبدو أن إقامة ترتيبات تطبيع تدريجية مع العديد من الدول العربية هو المسار الأكثر ترجيحاً للتطور القريب المدى لعملية السلام بين العرب وإسرائيل، بدلاً من سلسلة وشيكة من الاتفاقات التاريخية على غرار الاتفاق الذي وقّعت عليه الإمارات. وتستطيع الولايات المتحدة أن تساعد في تسريع وتيرة هذا التحوّل التدريجي من خلال الوساطة أو الرعاية أو المشاركة في مبادرات محددة. والخطوة الأكثر أهمية هي ضمان النجاح السريع لاتفاق التطبيع الإماراتي ليكون نموذجاً للشركاء المحتملين الآخرين، وتشجيعهم على إحاطة الفلسطينيين بـ"حزام سلام" عربي-إسرائيلي يقنع رام الله في نهاية المطاف بالسعي إلى التوصل إلى اتفاق.

 

إيهود يعاري هو هو "زميل ليفر الدولي" في معهد واشنطن ومعلق محنك في التلفزيون الإسرائيلي.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3375

The Road Beyond UAE-Israel Normalization

Ehud Yaari

Also available in العربية

September 10, 2020


Netanyahu’s strategy of bypassing the intractable Palestinian issue has paid substantial dividends worldwide, but a peace treaty ‘domino effect’ is unlikely in the near term given various calculations in Riyadh and other Arab capitals.

To the extent that Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu and his rivals in Israel’s fragile coalition government find time to spare from their uphill battle against the coronavirus pandemic, they are trying to chart a course for building on the momentum of their recent deal with the United Arab Emirates. The treaty—set to be signed September 15 at a White House ceremony—heralds the potential crumbling of official Arab refusal to recognize Israel as long as the Palestinian problem remains unresolved. It also carries the promise of rapidly constructing warm, active relations with the most dynamic state in the Persian Gulf, unlike the restricted, often cold peace Israel has with Egypt and Jordan.

Israelis understand the principal factor that motivated Emirati leader Muhammad bin Zayed to break ranks and unlock the shackles of the 2002 Arab Peace Initiative (API): he sought to secure preferential status with the United States ahead of the November presidential election and upgrade the UAE’s armed forces. Yet he also intends to access Israeli technologies and know-how in the economic, military, and security domains. The question is what role other Arab states will play in facilitating that progress and making normalization moves of their own.

NETANYAHU’S BYPASS DOCTRINE

Although he has never fully elaborated it in his writings or speeches, Netanyahu has refined his strategy on the Palestinian issue to a simple realpolitikal formula over the past decade. It boils down to the following: an “end of conflict, end of claims” settlement with the Palestinians is currently unattainable on his terms, so he must therefore snatch away the longstanding Palestinian veto over Israeli relations with the rest of the world, especially the Arab states. According to this doctrine, the more Israel succeeds in forging healthy systems of cooperation with leading regional and international powers, the more it will pressure Palestinian leaders to review their current policies.

The strategy of bypassing the Palestinians has already provided Israel with substantial dividends. Close relationships have been established with myriad states that previously pursued negative or even hostile policies toward Israel.

Most prominently, official cooperation is expanding with Asian powers such as India, Japan, and Vietnam, while informal ties are growing with Indonesia. In a sense, Israel has performed its own undeclared “pivot to Asia” in the economic and security domains.

In Europe, a de facto alliance has emerged with Cyprus and Greece (previously the European Union’s biggest critic of Israel). A wider system of cooperation over East Mediterranean natural gas fields is in effect with Italy and other partners, while friendly diplomatic ties have been cultivated with most East and Central European states.

Elsewhere, current Russian policy in the region often takes Israeli interests into consideration, and Moscow generally manifests a friendly approach to the Jewish state. Close cooperation has also been revived with a bloc of East African states, and efforts to build a similar framework with the Muslim counties of the Sahel are under way. Many Latin American capitals have likewise sought to improve their relations with Israel.

In light of such progress, many in Israel have been holding their breath for additional Arab states to quickly announce UAE-style agreements of their own. Yet they are bound to be disappointed—for many of these countries, reconciliation with Israel entails more complicated calculations. Although a few regional governments have voiced support for the UAE deal, all prefer to assess the ramifications of this dramatic event before making further moves.

PROSPECTS FOR SAUDI NORMALIZATION

The main player in regional normalization, Saudi Arabia, has taken a measured approach instead of rushing ahead as President Trump is urging. For one thing, Riyadh realizes that the Emiratis are not interested in becoming part of a pack right now; rather, they want to enjoy the benefits of a solo statesmanship performance at next week’s White House treaty ceremony. Indeed, Abu Dhabi did not inform the Saudis about the deal until nearly the last minute. For this and other reasons, Riyadh signaled Bahrain that it should defer its own normalization plans with Israel, which have been the subject of debate in Manama for the past two years.

At the same time, the Saudis have taken steps to support the UAE deal even as they reaffirmed their adherence to the principles of the API. They quickly approved use of their airspace for flights between Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and Tel Aviv, cutting travel time by hours. They have also pressured the Palestinian Authority to stop insulting the accord publicly, and to prevent demonstrators from setting Emirati flags on fire.

Meanwhile, Saudi media outlets have denounced the Palestinian leadership and touted the benefits of peace with Israel. One typical article, published September 2 in Okaz, described President Mahmoud Abbas and his associates as “thieves.” The author then argued that the interests of the people living in Gaza and the West Bank compel “wise Arabs” to distance themselves from the “gangs of political opportunism” and negotiate with Israel to ensure comprehensive peace in the region. In the religious sphere, the highest-ranking imam of the Grand Mosque in Mecca, Sheikh Abdul Rahman al-Sudais, hailed the Prophet Muhammad’s good relations with Jews during his Friday sermon on September 4.

More important, secret communications with Riyadh have made Jerusalem quite confident that Crown Prince Muhammad bin Salman is bent on normalizing relations at some future date, despite objections by some in the Royal Court and his father’s reluctance to abandon the API. In Abu Dhabi, Crown Prince Muhammad bin Zayed justified his agreement with Israel by noting that it prevented annexation of some areas in the West Bank from proceeding; his Saudi counterpart seeks a Palestinian achievement of his own to justify departing from traditional Saudi policy. Accordingly, Riyadh has supported Egypt and Jordan’s efforts to convince President Abbas that he should resume negotiations with Israel under the auspices of a “Quartet plus Arab partners” formula. Abbas has flatly rejected the idea, instead opening limited coordination with Hamas and Palestinian Islamic Jihad in order to “isolate” the UAE-Israel deal and deter other Arab states from forging agreements of their own.

CALCULATIONS IN OTHER ARAB STATES

The Saudi hesitation to act without some progress on the Israeli-Palestinian front is affecting other candidates for normalization. In the Gulf, King Hamad of Bahrain has intensified his discussions with Israel and is seeking clarification about increased American assistance.

In Sudan, Generals Abdel Fattah al-Burhan and Mohamed Hamdan Dagalo keep assuring Israel that they intend to normalize but note that they must take into account resistance from the left-wing civilian government. Israel’s request to use Sudanese airspace for flights between Tel Aviv and Latin America is currently under favorable discussion there.

In Oman, Sultan Haitham is reshuffling the government that served under his predecessor; this transition and his country’s delicate relations with Iran make him more inclined to take a back seat. In Morocco, King Mohammed VI’s relations with the UAE are strained, and although his country has maintained fruitful relations with Israel for decades, he does not feel the time is ripe for a bold leap. Mauritania, whose diplomatic relations with Israel are suspended, is currently preoccupied by a recent military coup that elevated officers with little experience on the international stage. Other Arab states have distanced themselves from the Emirati normalization model—most notably Tunisia, which in the past exchanged “interest sections” with Israel.

CONCLUSION

Establishing incremental normalization arrangements with several states appears to be the likeliest route for near-term development of the Arab-Israel peace process, as opposed to an imminent series of historic UAE-style accords. The United States can help accelerate the pace of this gradual transformation by brokering, sponsoring, or taking part in specific initiatives. The most important step is to ensure rapid success of the UAE normalization deal as a model for other potential partners, encouraging them to surround the Palestinians with an Arab-Israel “peace belt” that ultimately convinces Ramallah to seek a deal.

Ehud Yaari is a Lafer International Fellow with The Washington Institute and a veteran commentator for Israeli television.