أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3337

الحوار الاستراتيجي الجديد بين الولايات المتحدة والعراق: وجهات نظر الخبراء من كلا الجانبين

منقذ داغر, باربارا أ. ليف, و بلال وهاب

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

18 حزيران/يونيو 2020


"في 12 حزيران/يونيو، عقد معهد واشنطن منتدى سياسي افتراضي مع منقذ الداغر وباربارا ليف وبلال وهاب. وداغر هو أحد المحللين السياسيين البارزين في العراق ومستشار لكبار المسؤولين الحكوميين والحزبيين. وليف هي "زميلة لابيدوس" في المعهد، وشغلت سابقاً منصب نائبة لمساعد وزير الخارجية الأمريكي لشؤون العراق، بالإضافة إلى العديد من المناصب الأخرى في المنطقة. ووهاب هو "زميل فاغنر" في المعهد حيث يركز على الحكم في «إقليم كردستان» وبغداد. وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهم".

منقذ الداغر

انطلق الحوار الاستراتيجي الثنائي في الوقت الذي تتعرض فيه الحكومة العراقية الجديدة لضغوط داخلية شديدة، وتواجه مطالب لإنهاء الوجود العسكري الأمريكي وتشارك في مناظرات سياسية مختلفة أخرى. وعلى الرغم من عدم تمتع رئيس الوزراء مصطفى الكاظمي بميزة [ترؤس] كتلة برلمانية كبيرة لدعم أجندته، إلا أنه برز كمرشح وسط لقيادة العراق نحو نظام سياسي عملي على نحو أكبر. 

وتوفر بيانات الاستطلاعات الجديدة من المنطقة معلومات حول مدى قدرة الكاظمي على الاستفادة من التأييد الشعبي خلال إجرائه محادثات وتفاوضه مع المسؤولين الأمريكيين. ففي أحد الاستطلاعات، أعرب نحو 63 في المائة من المجيبين العراقيين عن تأييدهم [لطريقة إدارته للبلاد خلال] شهره الأول في منصبه. وتعارضت النتائج مع تلك التي حصل عليها سلفه عادل عبد المهدي، الذي حصل على دعم 36 في المائة فقط خلال شهره الأول في المنصب. ولا يزال من السابق لأوانه إجراء تقييم حقيقي لأداء الكاظمي، إلا أن الأرقام تعكس ثقة الشعب بقدرته على مواجهة التحديات التي تواجه العراق.   

لقد تغيرت مواقف الشعب العراقي تجاه إيران والولايات المتحدة إلى حد كبير خلال السنوات الثلاث الماضية، مما يشير إلى ظاهرة جديدة في الساحة السياسية العراقية. فقد تراجعت وجهات النظر المواتية لإيران من 50 في المائة في عام 2017 إلى 15 في المائة حالياً، في حين بقي تأييد الولايات المتحدة ثابتاً عند حوالي 30 في المائة. وبالمثل، في حين أدرج 74 في المائة من المستطلعين العراقيين إيران كشريك موثوق به في عام 2017، انخفضت تلك النسبة إلى 14 في المائة فقط هذا العام.

ولا شك في أنّ الحوار الأمريكي- العراقي يركّز على السبل التي يمكن للحكومتين من خلالها خفض معدل الفساد في العراق، لأن الشعب عبّر عن استيائه الكبير من هذه القضية خلال مظاهرات حاشدة شهدتها البلاد قبل تولي الكاظمي رئاسة الوزراء. ولا يمكن تحقيق الإصلاحات الاقتصادية المصممة لضمان الشفافية والنمو المستدام إلا من خلال تعزيز الاستقرار، وبإمكان المسؤولين الأمريكيين القيام بدور حيوي على هذا الصعيد أيضاً. ومع ذلك، عليهم استخلاص العبر من الجهود العراقية السابقة لمكافحة الفساد؛ فتكرار الأخطاء التي ارتكبتها "سلطة الائتلاف المؤقتة" والحكومات العراقية السابقة لن يؤدي سوى إلى تقويض الدعم الذي يحظى به الكاظمي ويلحق الضرر باحتمالات الإصلاح الفعلي.  

ومن هذا المنطلق، يتعيّن على العراقيين أن يساعدوا أنفسهم أولاً من خلال إظهار ما يكفي من الإرادة السياسية لتنفيذ إصلاحات فعالة والحدّ في الوقت نفسه من النفوذ الإيراني. وسيتوقف الدعم الأمريكي إلى حدّ كبير على قدرة حكومة الكاظمي على مواجهة هدف طهران المتمثل بتعزيز مناطق نفوذها المحلية.

باربارا ليف

يُعتبر "الحوار عبر تطبيق زوم" الذي أُطلق في 11 حزيران/ يونيو خطوة ناجحة وضرورية في المجال السياسي. وللتذكير، كان السياق السياسي العراقي محموماً، على الأقل منذ كانون الثاني/ يناير، بسبب الاغتيال المستهدف لكل من قاسم سليماني وأبو مهدي المهندس، والتصويت الرمزي في مجلس النواب العراقي على طرد القوات الأمريكية، ومحاولات فاشلة عديدة لتشكيل حكومة جديدة في بغداد، وجائحة "كوفيد-19"، والانخفاض اللاحق في أسعار النفط. وفي واشنطن، سادت حالة من الغضب حول الاستهدافات المتواصلة التي تنفذها الميليشيات العراقية والتي أدّت إلى انسحاب موظفي حلف "الناتو" ودمج كبير للوجود العسكري الأمريكي، ناهيك عن الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية الوشيكة والضغوط القائمة منذ فترة طويلة لإعادة القوات الأمريكية إلى وطنها.

وعلى الرغم من كل هذه المشاكل، أرغمت الجائحة المسؤولين بشكل قابل للفهم على حصر الحوار ببعض المسائل الاقتصادية والأمنية الأساسية. فبالنسبة للعراقيين، ساعد هذا الحوار على نزع فتيل السياسة المشتعلة المحيطة بفكرة تنظيم حدث ثنائي. كما ركّز على الأولوية التي يوليها البلدان للدعم الاقتصادي للعراق. وبالنسبة للأمريكيين، ساعد الحوار على تعزيز شرعية المهمة العسكرية الأمريكية من خلال الاستشهاد باللغة الأصلية لـ "اتفاقية وضع القوات" الثنائية، ومؤخراً تبادل المذكرات الدبلوماسية لعام 2014 حول هذه القضية، مع التركيز على التأكيد على مسؤولية الحكومة العراقية في ضمان أمن هذه المهمة. كما وجّه هذا الحدث رسالة واضحة للشعب العراقي من خلال تكرار الدعم الأمريكي للانتخابات ومساءلة الحكومة. ومن هذا المنطلق، يمكن للجانبَين أن يصفا جوهر الحوار بأنه "انتصار".   

ومع ذلك، لا يزال المسؤولون من كلا الجانبين يحرصون على رؤية الكاظمي يزور واشنطن في أقرب وقت ممكن، ويُعزى ذلك جزئياً إلى احتمال أن تؤدي مثل هذه الرحلة إلى دفع كل حكومة إلى تنفيذ وعودها والمساعدة على استئناف المحادثات العسكرية للحقبة الجديدة. وسيكون دمج برنامج المساعدة الأمنية الأمريكية في إطار جهد أكبر لحلف "الناتو" أكثر استساغة من الناحية السياسية، لكن أعضاء التحالف سيرغبون أولاً في معرفة ما إذا كانت بعثة التدريب الأمريكية مستدامة وتحت أي شروط. وبالمثل، سيكون رد فعل المجتمع الدولي سلبياً إذا استمرت هجمات الميليشيات وإذا أدّت السياسة الأمريكية إلى التحفيز على سحب القوات.

وفيما يتعلق بقضية الفساد، يجب أن يركز رئيس الوزراء على إضفاء الطابع المهني والرقمي على القطاع المصرفي وتحديثه بهدف خلق بيئة تمنع انتشار الممارسات الفاسدة. ولم يعد السؤال المطروح ما إذا كانت الحكومة مستعدة للإقرار بالمشكلة، بل ما إذا كان بإمكانها حشد إرادة سياسية كافية لجعل السيطرة على الفساد على رأس أولوياتها.

بلال وهاب

في الوقت الذي يركّز فيه العراق بشكل متزايد على الشؤون الداخلية لحل الخلافات المحلية، يُعتبر الكاظمي في موقف جيّد يخوّله رأب الصدع العميق مع «إقليم كردستان» بشأن إدارة النفط والغاز الطبيعي. وسيشكّل قيامه بذلك خطوة كبيرة نحو وضع قطاع الطاقة العراقي على أساس أكثر إقناعاً من الناحية القانونية. بإمكان الولايات المتحدة أن تساعد من خلال إبقاء تركيزها منصبّاً على توطيد العلاقات بين أربيل وبغداد. وقد يتسبب المزيد من التدهور في إلحاق الضرر بمهمة الولايات المتحدة لهزيمة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» وقد يثير عدائية أكبر داخل العراق، مما يؤدي إلى تفاقم الاستخدام الضار للسياسة القائمة على الهوية لتحقيق مكاسب سياسية.

ومن النقاط الأخرى البارزة ضمن البيان الرسمي للحوار الاستراتيجي هي إقرار العراق بالحاجة إلى الإصلاحات وعرض الولايات المتحدة تقديم مساعدة فنية في هذا المجال. ومع ذلك، على الحكومة الجديدة أن تُظهر إرادة سياسية أكثر مما أظهرته في الماضي. ويُعزى السبب الذي جعل الحكومات المتعاقبة غير قادرة على سن مثل هذه الإصلاحات إلى كَوْن نظام المحسوبية الراسخ في البلاد يحدّ من قدرتها على حشد العمل الجماعي المطلوب. ولحسن الحظ، بدأت ثقافة سياسة المحسوبية تتلاشى بعد أن ازداد استياء الجيل الأصغر سناً من تداعياتها - أي الفساد وعدم الكفاءة. فهذا النظام "ينجح" فقط عندما تكون أسعار النفط مرتفعة، وحتى في ذلك الحين، لا يمكن للأحزاب السياسية سوى توظيف العديد من الأشخاص في بيروقراطية منتفخة أساساً.

وفي المرحلة القادمة، سيتعيّن على الكاظمي استخدام التأييد الشعبي الذي يحظى به واستمداد الزخم من الحوار لإرساء الأساس لإصلاحات عميقة. وتتمثل أولويته الأولى في تنظيم انتخابات ذات مصداقية للعام المقبل. وعلى نطاق أوسع، يجب أن يكون التصدي للفساد أكثر من مجرد شعار - بل يجب التفكير فيه بجدية، وأن يكون مخططاً عن تصوّر وتصميم، ومراقباً بأمانة. ويعني ذلك إعطاء الأولوية لإصلاح القطاع المصرفي، حيث لا يزال اقتصاد العراق قائماً على النقد بصورة كاملة تقريباً. هذا وتشكّل مزادات الدولار مرتعاً آخر للفساد المحلي بعد أن أصبحت ساحة لتبييض الأموال ودعم المصالح الإيرانية. وأخيراً، على الحكومة إصلاح قطاع الخدمات من خلال إخضاع مالية الأحزاب للانكشاف والمساءلة. وبمساعدة الولايات المتحدة، يمكن لهذه الخطوة وحدها أن تقطع شوطاً طويلاً نحو الحدّ من نفوذ إيران.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص شاينا كاتكس. أمكن تنفيذ سلسلة برامج منتدى السياسات بفضل سخاء "عائلة فلورنس وروبرت كوفمان".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3337

The New U.S.-Iraq Strategic Dialogue: Expert Views from Both Sides

Munqith Dagher, Barbara A. Leaf, and Bilal Wahab

Also available in العربية

June 18, 2020


One of Iraq’s most prominent public opinion analysts joins two American experts to assess the dialogue’s achievements and discuss what Baghdad and Washington can do to advance real reform.

On June 12, The Washington Institute held a virtual Policy Forum with Munqith Dagher, Barbara Leaf, and Bilal Wahab. Dagher is one of Iraq’s leading political analysts and a consultant to senior government and party officials. Leaf is the Institute’s Lapidus Fellow and formerly served as deputy assistant secretary of state for Iraq, among numerous other regional posts. Wahab is the Institute’s Wagner Fellow, focusing on governance in Iraqi Kurdistan and Baghdad. The following is a rapporteur’s summary of their remarks.

MUNQITH DAGHER

The bilateral strategic dialogue has kicked off at a time when the new Iraqi government is under heavy domestic pressure, facing demands to end the U.S. military presence and sundry other political debates. Although Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi does not have the advantage of a large parliamentary bloc to support his agenda, he did emerge as the compromise candidate to lead Iraq toward a more functional political system.

Fresh polling data from the region provides intelligence about how much Kadhimi can leverage popular approval while conversing and negotiating with U.S. officials. In one survey, approximately 63 percent of Iraqi respondents expressed approval for his initial month in office. The results contrasted with those of his predecessor Adil Abdulmahdi, who received only 36 percent support during his first month. It is still too soon to truly evaluate Kadhimi, but the numbers reflect public confidence in his ability to confront Iraq’s challenges.

The people’s attitudes toward Iran and the United States have shifted dramatically over the past three years, signaling a new phenomenon in the Iraqi political theatre. Favorable views of Iran dropped from 50 percent in 2017 to 15 percent today, while approval of the United States has remained steady at around 30 percent. Similarly, while 74 percent of Iraqi respondents listed Iran as a reliable partner in 2017, that percentage plummeted to a mere 14 percent this year.

U.S.-Iraqi dialogue is undoubtedly focusing on ways in which the two governments can reduce corruption in Iraq, since the people voiced their major frustrations over this issue during mass demonstrations prior to Kadhimi’s ascension. Economic reforms designed to ensure transparency and sustained growth can only be achieved through increased stability, and U.S. officials can play a vital role on that front as well. In doing so, however, they must learn from previous Iraqi efforts to combat corruption; repeating the mistakes made by the Coalition Provisional Authority and past Iraqi governments will only erode Kadhimi’s support and damage the prospects for real reform.

In this sense, Iraqis must first help themselves by demonstrating enough political will to institute meaningful reforms while limiting Iranian influence. U.S. support will largely be contingent on the Kadhimi government’s ability to counter Tehran’s goal of growing its local spheres of influence.

BARBARA LEAF

The June 11 “Zoom dialogue” counts as a success and a necessary move in the political realm. To recall, the Iraqi political context has been overheated since at least January due to the targeted killings of Qasem Soleimani and Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis, the symbolic parliamentary vote to expel U.S. troops, several failed attempts to form a new government in Baghdad, the COVID-19 pandemic, and the subsequent drop in oil prices. In Washington, tempers have flared over the continued Iraqi militia potshots that led to the withdrawal of NATO personnel and a drastic consolidation of the U.S. military presence, not to mention the looming U.S. presidential election and longstanding pressure to call troops home.

Despite all these issues, the pandemic understandably compelled officials to distill the dialogue down to a few essential economic and security questions. For the Iraqis, the event helped defuse the incendiary politics surrounding the very notion of holding a bilateral event; it also emphasized the priority that both countries place on economic support for Iraq. For the Americans, the dialogue helped bolster the legality of the U.S. military mission by citing the original language of the bilateral Status of Forces Agreement and, more recently, the 2014 exchange of diplomatic notes over this issue, with a focus on underscoring the Iraqi government’s responsibility for the mission’s security. The event also offered a message of visibility to the Iraqi public by reiterating U.S. support for elections and government accountability. In this sense, both sides can call the substance of the dialogue a “win.”

Yet officials on both sides are still keen on seeing Kadhimi visit Washington as soon as possible, in part because such a trip could drive each government to follow through on its deliverables and help kick off renewed military-to-military talks for the new era. Wrapping the U.S. security assistance program within a larger NATO effort would be more politically palatable, but alliance members will first want to see if the U.S. training mission is sustainable and under what conditions. Similarly, the international community will react negatively if militia attacks continue and U.S. politics spur troop withdrawals.

On the issue of corruption, the prime minister should focus on professionalizing, digitizing, and modernizing the banking sector in order to create an environment in which corrupt practices do not thrive. The question is no longer whether the government is willing to acknowledge the problem, but whether it can muster enough political will to make controlling corruption its top priority.

BILAL WAHAB

As Iraq increasingly looks within to solve domestic disputes, Kadhimi is well positioned to bridge deep rifts with the Kurdistan Region over oil and natural gas management. Doing so would be a big step toward placing the Iraqi energy sector on a more legally sound foundation. The United States can help by staying focused on fostering stronger relations between Erbil and Baghdad. Further deterioration would hurt the U.S. mission to defeat the Islamic State and may foment more animosity inside Iraq, exacerbating the harmful use of identity politics for political gain.

Another point that stood out in the official communique from the strategic dialogue was Iraq’s acknowledgement of the need for reforms and the U.S. offer to extend technical assistance on this front. Yet the new government needs to show more political will than in the past. The reason successive governments have been unable to enact such reforms is because the country’s entrenched patronage system limits its ability to muster the requisite collective action. Fortunately, the culture of patronage politics is beginning to expire as the younger generation has become increasingly frustrated with its consequences—namely, corruption and inefficiency. The system only “works” when oil prices are high, and even then, political parties can only hire so many people into an already bloated bureaucracy.

Going forward, Kadhimi will need to use his public approval and the momentum from the dialogue to lay the foundation for deep reforms. The first priority is to organize credible elections for next year. More broadly, targeting corruption needs to be more than just a slogan—it needs to be seriously considered, intentionally planned, and faithfully monitored. This means prioritizing reform of the banking sector, since Iraq remains almost entirely a cash economy. Another hotbed of local corruption is the dollar auction, which has become an avenue for laundering money and supporting Iranian interests. Finally, the government needs to reform the service sector by subjecting party finances to exposure and accountability. With U.S. help, this move alone could go a long way toward limiting Iran’s influence.

This summary was prepared by Shaina Katz. The Policy Forum series is made possible through the generosity of the Florence and Robert Kaufman Family.