أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

صواريخ "كروز" الروسية تزيد المخاطر في بحر قزوين

فرزين نديمي

متاح أيضاً في English

8 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2015


في 7 تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر، أعلنت وزارة الدفاع الروسية أن سفنها الحربية أطلقت ستة وعشرين صاروخاً من نوع "كروز" من أواسط بحر قزوين نحو أحد عشر هدفاً (يُقال إنها تابعة لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»)/«الدولة الإسلامية») في الرقة وإدلب وحلب، على بعد 1500 كلم في عمق الأراضي السورية. وقد أرسى الحادث سابقتان يمكن أن تؤديا إلى تداعيات أوسع نطاقاً على الحرب والوضع الأمني الإقليمي عموماً: فهذه هي المرة الأولى في التاريخ الحديث التي يتم فيها إطلاق النار بغضب من حوض بحر قزوين، كما أنها تمثل المرة الأولى التي يتم فيها استخدام صواريخ جوالة ("كروز") في الحرب الدائرة في سوريا.

وقد أُطلقت هذه الصواريخ من قبل أسطول بحر قزوين التابع للبحرية الروسية، الذي صممه بطرس الأكبر منذ ما يقرب من ثلاثة قرون. ومن بين السفن الحربية في الأسطول واحدة من فرقاطات "جيبارد كلاس" ("بروجيكت 11661K") ("داغستان، رقم 693") وثلاث طرادات من فئة "بويان - م" (Grad Sviyazhsk 021, Uglich 022, and Veliki Ustyug 106). وتضم كل سفينة ثمانية أنظمة إطلاق عمودي قادرة على إطلاق صواريخ جوالة للهجوم البري من طراز "3 إم - 14 تي Kalibr NK (Klub-N) " يبلغ مداها الأقصى 2500 كيلومتراً. ويمنح ذلك روسيا القدرة على إطلاق ما يصل إلى إثنين وثلاثين صاروخاً من هذا الطراز من بحر قزوين في تتابع سريع. كما ويشير ذلك إلى أن ما لا يقل عن ستة صواريخ ربما قد فشلت في بلوغ أهدافها يوم الأربعاء، وهي تكهنات أكدتها أحدث ما كشفت عنه وزارة الدفاع الأمريكية ("البنتاغون") ومن تقارير وسائل الإعلام الإيرانية المحلية التي ذكرت إن أربعة صواريخ على الأقل قد سقطت في إيران، وقامت السلطات الإيرانية باسترداد حطامها.

وفي طريقها إلى أهدافها في سوريا، حلقت الصواريخ فوق شمال غرب إيران وكردستان العراق، ويُقال إنها التزمت بمسار محدد فوق الأراضي غير المأهولة فقط. وقد حصلت موسكو على إذن من كل بلد قبل إطلاق الصواريخ. وذكرت وزارة الدفاع الروسية أن العملية تمت بالتنسيق مع الحلفاء، وتم الحصول على الاستخبارات الخاصة بتحديد الأهداف عن طريق "الأقمار الصناعية والطائرات بدون طيار ومصادر محلية والعراق وإيران".

وبالمقارنة مع الأسلحة المستخدمة سابقاً في سوريا، توفر صواريخ "كروز" الروسية قوة تفجيرية كبيرة - حوالي 26000 رطل/ 11700 كغم عند جمع الوزن الكلي للرؤوس الحربية - وتتمتع بدقة كبيرة وبمخاطر منخفضة على مطلقيها. ولكن في هذه الحالة يبقى أن نرى ما إذا كانت هذه الصواريخ قد تسببت في إلحاق أي أضرار جانبية بالمدنيين.

ويقضي صاروخ "3 إم - 14 تي" معظم مسار تحليقه بسرعة لا تتجاوز سرعة الصوت، على ارتفاع حوالي 15 متراً فوق سطح الأرض، بينما يطير أسرع من سرعة الصوت نحو الهدف في مرحلته النهائية. ويتم توجيهه من خلال الملاحة بالقصور الذاتي والأقمار الصناعية (نظام  القمر الصناعي للملاحة العالمية ونظام التموضع العالمي)، مع باحث نشط عن إشارات الرادارات باستطاعته التقاط الإشارات من مسافة 20 كيلومتراً من الهدف إذا كان لديه ما يكفي من مضادات الرادار. وفي هذا السياق، زعمت مصادر في وزارة الدفاع الروسية أنه تمت إصابة الأهداف بدقة 3 إلى 5 أمتار.

وبينما تُظهر العملية مستوى غير مسبوق من التعاون العسكري بين إيران وروسيا في معركتهما لإبقاء بشار الأسد في الحكم، فهي تُظهر أيضاً تحولاً في خطوط الصدع الجيوسياسية في المنطقة على نطاق أوسع. ومؤخراً، ليس بوقت بعيد، في عام 2011، أجرت روسيا وكازاخستان مناورات كانت تهدف إلى الدفاع عن مصالحهما المشتركة في بحر قزوين ضد الهجمات الإيرانية المحتملة. كما أن الغارات التي شُنت يوم الأربعاء كانت بمثابة جرس إنذار لإيران، إذ أظهرت أن روسيا قد زادت المخاطر في بحر قزوين وأثبتت الآن أنها تمتلك أنظمة هجوم برية بعيدة المدى بإمكانها الوصول إلى أي مكان في إيران أو الخليج العربي. وقد يدفع ذلك طهران إلى وضع الصواريخ الجوالة الخاصة بها من طراز "سومار" (ذات المدى المماثل) على شواطئها في بحر قزوين، بل تحميلها على متن أحدث السفن الحربية المزمع بناؤها في حوض "أنزلي" لبناء السفن، مما يزيد من سباق التسلح الإقليمي. ونظراً إلى استخدام روسيا لبحر قزوين لمثل هذه العملية العسكرية رفيعة المستوى، وإلى استعدادها للحفاظ على أصول عسكرية كبيرة هناك، قد تقرر إيران أنها بحاجة إلى نشر المزيد من الأصول العسكرية الخاصة بها في المنطقة. ولم تسمح موسكو قط لإيران بنقل السفن البحرية إلى قواعد "المنطقة البحرية الرابعة" التابعة لها في بحر قزوين باستخدام "قناة الشحن فولغا - دون"، التي تمر عبر الأراضي الروسية. وقد دفع هذا الحظر إلى قيام إيران ببناء زوارق صواريخ وفرقاطات، مباشرة على ساحل بحر قزوين.

وعلى نطاق أوسع، فبينما تعاونت إيران وروسيا في الماضي للحد من وجود الولايات المتحدة و"حلف شمال الأطلسي" في المنطقة، إلا أن إيران كانت قلقة أيضاً من زيادة الوجود العسكري الروسي هناك، على الرغم من أنها توخت الحذر لئلا تعبّر عن هذه المخاوف علناً. وفي الماضي، تمثّل الموقف الرسمي الإيراني بأن نشر قوات عسكرية في بحر قزوين لن يكون بنّاءً للأمن الإقليمي والمصالح المشتركة للدول الساحلية، التي لم توافق بعد على نظام قانوني لترسيم حدودها البحرية.

 

فرزين نديمي هو محلل متخصص في الشؤون الأمنية والدفاعية المتعلقة بإيران ومنطقة الخليج العربي ومقره في واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Russia's Cruise Missiles Raise the Stakes in the Caspian

Farzin Nadimi

Also available in العربية

October 8, 2015


The missile strikes on targets in Syria showed unprecedented cooperation between Russia and Iran, but they also serve as a wakeup call to Tehran about Moscow's expanding military profile in the Caspian.

On October 7, the Russian Defense Ministry announced that its warships had fired twenty-six cruise missiles from the central Caspian Sea at eleven targets (reportedly ISIS elements) in Raqqa, Idlib, and Aleppo, about 1,500 kilometers away and deep within Syrian territory. The incident established two precedents that could hold wider implications for the war and the regional security situation in general: it is the first time in modern history that shots have been fired in anger from the Caspian Basin, and it also marks the first use of cruise missiles in the Syrian war, at least by the regime's side.

The missiles were fired by the Russian navy's Caspian Flotilla, created almost three centuries ago by Peter the Great. Among the flotilla's warships are one Gepard-class (Project 11661K) frigate (the Dagestan, hull number 693) and three Buyan-M class corvettes (Grad Sviyazhsk 021, Uglich 022, and Veliki Ustyug 106). Each has eight vertical launching system (VLS) cells capable of firing 3M-14T Kalibr NK (Klub-N) land-attack cruise missiles with a maximum range of 2,500 kilometers. This gives Russia the capability to fire up to thirty-two such missiles from the Caspian in quick succession. It also suggests that as many as six missiles might have failed to reach their targets on Wednesday -- a speculation confirmed by the latest Pentagon revelation and by local Iranian media reports that at least four missiles had crashed in Iran, with their wreckage recovered by Iranian authorities.

On their way to their targets in Syria, the missiles flew over northwestern Iran and Iraqi Kurdistan, reportedly sticking to uninhabited territory. Moscow sought permission from each country before firing; the Defense Ministry stated that the operation was coordinated with allies, and that targeting intelligence was provided by "satellites, drones, local sources, Iraq, and Iran."

Compared to weapons previously used in Syria, the Russian cruise missiles offer extensive explosive power -- almost 26,000 pounds/11,700 kilograms when combining the total weight of the warheads -- with great accuracy and low risk to operators. Yet in this case it remains to be seen whether any civilian collateral damage was caused.

The 3M-14T spends most of its flight path at subsonic speeds around 15 meters above the surface, and makes a supersonic dash to the target in its final phase. It is guided using inertial and satellite (GLONASS and GPS) navigation, with an active radar seeker taking over at 20 kilometers from the target if it has sufficient radar contrast. Russian Defense Ministry sources claimed that targets were struck with an accuracy of 3 to 5 meters.

While the operation shows an unprecedented level of military cooperation between Iran and Russia in their fight to sustain Bashar al-Assad, it also shows shifting geopolitical fault lines in the wider region. As recently as 2011, Russia and Kazakhstan were conducting exercises aimed at defending their joint Caspian interests against potential Iranian attacks. Wednesday's strikes are also a wakeup call for Iran, showing that Russia has raised the stakes in the Caspian and now has proven long-range land-attack systems that can reach anywhere in Iran or the Persian Gulf. This could prompt Tehran to place its own Soumar cruise missiles (with similar range) on its Caspian shores, or even mount them on newer warships planned to be built at the Anzali shipyard, further increasing the regional arms race. Given Russia's use of the Caspian in such a high-profile military operation, and its willingness to keep substantial military assets there, Iran may decide that it needs to deploy more of its own assets to the area as well. Moscow has never allowed Iran to transfer naval vessels to its 4th Naval District's Caspian bases using the Volga-Don Shipping Canal, which passes through Russian territory. This prohibition has prompted Iran to build missile boats and frigates directly on the Caspian coast.

More broadly, while Iran and Russia have cooperated in the past to curb the U.S. and NATO presence in the region, Iran has also been wary of an increased Russian military presence there -- though it has been careful not to voice such concerns publicly. In the past, Iran's official position was that deploying military forces in the Caspian would be unconstructive to regional security and the common interests of the littoral states, which have yet to agree on a legal regime delimiting their maritime boundaries.

Farzin Nadimi is a Washington-based analyst specializing in the security and defense affairs of Iran and the Persian Gulf region.