أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3058

الاحتجاجات تسلّط الضوء على انعدام الاستقرار في الضفة الغربية

غيث العمري و ماديسون ريندر

متاح أيضاً في English

21 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2018


منذ منتصف تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، بدأ متظاهرون فلسطينيون يتجمّعون بانتظام عند مكتب رئيس الوزراء الفلسطيني في رام الله للاحتجاج على قانون الضمان الاجتماعي الجديد. وتم تحديد موعد تنفيذ القانون للمرة الأولى في 1 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، ولكنه أُجّل لاحقاً من قبل "السلطة الفلسطينية" إلى كانون الثاني/يناير 2019. ومنذ ذلك الحين، خرجت مظاهرات مماثلة في الخليل ونابلس. ويحتج هؤلاء المعارضون بشكلٍ خاص على أحكام القانون، التي يدّعون أنها تفرض أعباءً اقتصادية مفرطة، فضلاً عن احتجاجهم على العملية غير الشفافة التي سُنَّت بموجبها. وحتى عندما وافقت "السلطة الفلسطينية"على تأجيل تنفيذ القانون، رفضت سحبه أو تغييره، واقترحت بدلاً من ذلك إمكانية تعديله بشكلٍ رجعي.

وتم سن القانون في عام 2016 بموجب مرسوم أصدره رئيس "السلطة الفلسطينية" محمود عبّاس، كما هو الحال بالنسبة إلى كافة التشريعات منذ تعليق [أعمال] "المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني" عقب استيلاء «حماس» بشكلٍ عنيف على غزة عام 2007. وينص القانون على إسهامات إلزامية من قبل موظّفي القطاع الخاص وعمّاله إلى "مؤسسة الضمان الاجتماعي الفلسطينية" بنسبة 9 % لأرباب العمل، و7 % للموظفين. وعند بلوغ سِن الستين، يصبح العمال مؤهلين للحصول على معاش تقاعدي.

وفي ظل الحالة الاقتصادية القاتمة في الضفة الغربية، يدّعي المعارضون أن الخصومات مفرطة. كما يعترضون على الأحكام التمييزية في القانون، مثل حرمان الأرملة من المعاش التقاعدي الخاص بزوجها المتوفي إذا حصلت على وظيفة، في حين لا يخضع الأرامل لقيود مماثلة. أما فيما يتعلق بالإجراء، فقد شجب المتظاهرون عدم التشاور خلال صياغة مشروع القانون وسنّه، لأنه لم يتم إشراك نقابات العمّال وممثّلي القطاع الخاص ومنظّمات المجتمع المدني. كما يعربون عن قلقهم من عدم استقرار "السلطة الفلسطينية" وفسادها الكبير بحيث لا يمكن الاعتماد عليها بشكل موثوق في إدارة الأموال التي تجمعها "مؤسسة الضمان الاجتماعي الفلسطينية".

السياق الاقتصادي

توضح أرقام البطالة الكفاحات التي يواجهها سكّان الضفة الغربية. إذ تبلغ نسبة البطالة الإجمالية حوالي 18 %، لكنّ هذا الرقم يرتفع بشدّة ليبلغ حوالي 40 % لمن هم دون سن الثلاثين. ووفقاً لـ "البنك الدولي"، يشهد اقتصاد الضفة الغربية "تباطؤاً" ويعاني مستوى المعيشة من "الركود". وبالفعل، تشغل القضايا الاقتصادية بال العديد من الفلسطينيين أكثر من غيرها، إذ يشير الكثيرون منهم - 26 % من الذين شملهم استطلاع "المركز الفلسطيني للبحوث السياسية والمسحية" في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2018 - إلى أن البطالة والفقر هما المشكلتان الأكثر جدّيةً اللتان تواجهان المجتمع الفلسطيني.

وعلى الصعيد السياسي، تفقد "السلطة الفلسطينية" وقادتها المصداقية، إذ وصف 53 % من الذين شملهم الاستطلاع هذه "السلطة" بأنها تشكّل عبءاً على الشعب الفلسطيني وقال ما يقارب الـ 64 % منهم إنهم يريدون استقالة عبّاس. وفي حين يمكن أن يعزى الكثير من هذه السلبية إلى فشل عملية السلام، إلّا أن المخاوف الداخلية تؤدّي أيضاً دوراً أساسيّاً. ويعتبر حوالي 80 % من الفلسطينيين أن مؤسسات "السلطة الفلسطينية" فاسدة، بينما يعتقد 25 % من الذين شملهم الاستطلاع أن الفساد هو المشكلة الأساسية التي تواجه الفلسطينيين. وفي حين أن غياب العملية التشريعية قد يشكّل نتيجةً ثانويةً - لا يمكن تفاديها - للانقسام بين «حماس» و"السلطة الفلسطينية"، إلا أن "السلطة الفلسطينية" لم تعوّض عن ذلك من خلال تطبيق آلية استشارية بديلة يمكن من خلالها إشراك مختلف المنظمات الفلسطينية التي تمثّل أصحاب المصلحة.

العواقب المحتملة

تشبه هذه المؤشرات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية في الضفة الغربية تلك الدوافع التي كانت وراء ثورات "الربيع العربي" قبل نحو ثماني سنوات. لكن وبالرغم من نقاط الشبه، يتخبّط المحتجّون الفلسطينيون في مجموعة فريدة من التحديات، مقارنة بالمجتمعات العربية الأخرى، التي كانت تحد في الماضي من انتشار الاحتجاجات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية.

ويتمحور أحد هذه التحديات حول الاحتلال الإسرائيلي، الذي يوفر إمكانية خدمة هذه الاحتجاجات للمصالح الإسرائيلية - أو على الأقل توجيهها هذا الاتهام. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن الإجراءات الإسرائيلية المحددة تحوّل بسرعة أولويات الناس بعيداً عن الهواجس المحلية وباتجاه القوّة المحتلّة. وبالفعل، فقد تمّ تعليق الاحتجاجات على القانون بعد أن بدأت القوات الإسرائيلية عملياتها في رام الله في 10 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، بعد شن هجومٍ إرهابي في اليوم السابق. ثانياً، يؤدي الانقسام بين "السلطة الفلسطينية" و«حماس» إلى خلق مشاكله المحيّرة الخاصة به، حيث يشعر الكثيرون في الضفة الغربية بالقلق من إمكان استغلال احتجاجاتهم سياسيّاً من قبل «حماس» ضد سياسات "السلطة الفلسطينية". أما التحدي الثالث فليس بالضرورة مختلفاً بالنسبة للفلسطينيين: أي حوالي 61 % من سكّان الضفة الغربية و50 % من سكّان قطاع غزة يعتقدون أنه لا يمكنهم انتقاد "السلطة" دون خوف، مما يساعد على تفسير امتناعهم في الماضي عن المشاركة في الاحتجاجات المحلّية.

وبالنظر إلى كل ذلك، يشكّل واقع نزول الفلسطينيين إلى الشوارع للاحتجاج، واستمرار هذه الاحتجاجات، مؤشّراً مثيراً للقلق على مستويات التقلب في الضفة الغربية. فكما اتضح ضمنياً، فإن الإحباط العام ضد "السلطة الفلسطينية" يمكن أن يتحوّل - أو يتم توجيهه - بسهولة ضد إسرائيل. وعلى الرغم من تحسّن الكفاءة المهنية لقوات أمن "السلطة الفلسطينية" وفعاليتها، إلّا أن الشرعية السياسية المتفككة لـ "السلطة الفلسطينية" تعقّد ممارسة الرقابة الأمنية. وفي الحالة المتطرفة، قد يؤدّي استمرار عدم الشرعية حتى إلى انهيار "السلطة الفلسطينية"، مما قد يُنشئ فراغاً أمنياً وسياسياً. وإلى جانب الوضع الأمني المتوتر بشكل عام ، ومع الجهود المستمرة التي تبذلها «حماس» لزعزعة الاستقرار في الضفة الغربية، قد يشكّل ذلك مزيجاً متفجّراً له تأثيرات ليس على الفلسطينيين فحسب بل على أمن إسرائيل أيضاً. وكما يتضح من الاحتجاجات ضد قانون الضمان الاجتماعي، فإن المشاكل السياسية الداخلية لـ "السلطة الفلسطينية" هي ليست مشكلة فلسطينية فقط.

توصيات في مجال السياسة العامة

لم يعد الاستقرار في الضفة الغربية من المسلّمات. بإمكان للمجتمع الدولي اتخاذ إجراءات يمكن أن تضع حدّاً للتدهور السياسي والاقتصادي والأمني. ونظراً إلى عدم احتمال إحراز تقدّم في عملية السلام، يجب اتّباع سبل أخرى لتحقيق الاستقرار، حيث تشكل التدابير الاقتصادية محوراً مركزياً بينها. ويمكن أن تساهم الولايات المتحدة من خلال إعادة بعض المساعدات المالية للفلسطينيين بقيمة 200 مليون دولار والتي تم إيقافها في آب/أغسطس 2018، وتركيز هذه المساعدة على المشاريع التنموية والاقتصادية  الفلسطينية. أمّا بالنسبة إلى إسرائيل فينبغي تشجيعها على الحفاظ على سياستها المتمثّلة في عزل الحياة الاقتصادية في الضفة الغربية إلى حد كبير عن محاربة الإرهاب، وهي سياسة ساعدت حتى الآن على تفادي انتشار الاحتجاجات. كما يجب تشجيع إسرائيل على النظر في اقتراحات إضافية - صدر الكثير منها عن "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" - من أجل تحسين نوعية الحياة في الضفة الغربية. وتشمل هذه الاقتراحات زيادة إمكانية دخول الفلسطينيين إلى سوق العمل الإسرائيلي، وإنشاء مناطق صناعية في الضفة الغربية، والسماح بأعمال البناء الفلسطينية في المناطق المتاخمة للبلدات الفلسطينية المتصلة بها.

إلّا أن الإجراءات الاقتصادية وحدها لن تعكس المكانة المتداعية لـ "السلطة الفلسطينية". لذلك، يجب تجديد التركيز على بعض المسائل مثل الحوكمة الفلسطينية، ومكافحة الفساد، وتخفيف القيود على الحياة السياسية في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة "السلطة الفلسطينية". فبدون إحراز تقدّم على هذه الجبهات، ستستمر "السلطة الفلسطينية" في فقدان شرعيتها وسيبقى دورها محدوداً كعامل للاستقرار في الضفة الغربية و - على المدى الأبعد - كسلطة قادرة على تقديم التنازلات اللازمة للتوصل إلى اتفاق سلام.

 

غيث العمري هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن، وشارك في تأليف الدراسة الحديثة للمعهد بعنوان، "منع انفجار برميل البارود في غزة". ماديسون ريندر هي مساعدة باحثة في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3058

Protests Underscore West Bank Instability

Ghaith al-Omari and Madison Rinder

Also available in العربية

December 21, 2018


The international community can help avert future chaos through measures to stem political, economic, and security deterioration, and Washington can reinstate funding for Palestinian development projects.

Since mid-October, demonstrators have been gathering regularly at the Palestinian prime minister’s office in Ramallah to protest the new social security law. Implementation was first set for November 1 but later delayed by the Palestinian Authority (PA) until January 2019. Similar demonstrations have since occurred in Hebron and Nablus. In particular, these opponents object to the law’s provisions, which they claim impose excessive economic burdens, as well as to the nontransparent process by which it was enacted. Even as the PA has agreed to postpone implementation, it has refused to withdraw or change the law, suggesting instead that it could be amended retroactively.

The law was created in 2016 by PA president Mahmoud Abbas’s decree, as has been the case with all legislation since the suspension of the Palestinian Legislative Council following Hamas’s 2007 violent takeover of Gaza. It stipulates mandatory contributions by private-sector employers and workers to the Palestinian Social Security Corporation (PSSC): 9% for employers, 7% for employees. Upon reaching age sixty, workers become eligible for a pension.

In light of the dire economic situation in the West Bank, opponents claim the deductions are excessive. They also object to discriminatory provisions in the law, such as one depriving a widow of her deceased husband’s pension if she gains employment, while widowers are not subject to a similar restriction. As for procedure, protestors have decried the lack of consultation during the drafting and enactment of this law since trade unions, private-sector representatives, and civil society organizations were not engaged. They also voice concern that the PA is too unstable and corrupt to reliably manage the funds collected by the PSSC.

Economic Context

Unemployment numbers make clear the struggles facing West Bank residents. Overall unemployment is around 18%, but the figure soars to about 40% for those under age thirty. According to the World Bank, the West Bank economy has been experiencing a “slowdown” and the standard of living has been “stagnating.” Indeed, economic issues are at the forefront of many Palestinians’ minds, with the plurality—26% of those polled by the Palestinian Center for Policy and Survey Research in December 2018—pointing to unemployment and poverty as the most serious problems confronting Palestinian society.

Politically, the PA and its leaders are losing credibility, with 53% of those surveyed describing the authority as a burden on the Palestinian people and close to 64% saying they want Abbas to resign. While much of this negativity can be attributed to the failure of the peace process, domestic concerns also play a key role. Around 80% of Palestinians consider the PA’s institutions to be corrupt, with some 25% believing corruption is the most fundamental problem facing Palestinians. And while the absence of a legislative process may be an unavoidable by-product of the Hamas-PA split, the PA has not compensated with an alternative consultative mechanism through which to engage the various Palestinian organizations representing stakeholders.

Potential Consequences

These socioeconomic and political indicators in the West Bank resemble those that underlay the Arab Spring upheavals some eight years ago. Yet despite the similarities, Palestinian protestors contend with a unique set of challenges, relative to other Arab societies, that in the past have limited the spread of socioeconomic protests.

One such challenge centers on the Israeli occupation, which offers the prospect that protests might serve Israel’s interests—or at least draw this accusation. Additionally, specific Israeli actions quickly shift the public’s priorities away from domestic concerns and toward the occupying power. Indeed, protests over the law were suspended after Israeli forces began operating in Ramallah on December 10, following a terrorist attack the previous day. Second, the PA-Hamas split creates its own conundrums, with many in the West Bank feeling wary that their protests against PA policies could be exploited politically by Hamas. A third challenge is not necessarily distinct to Palestinians: namely, around 61% of West Bankers and 50% of Gaza Strip residents believe they cannot criticize the authority without fear, helping explain their past reluctance to engage in domestic protests.

Given all this, the very fact that Palestinians took to the streets to protest, and that these protests were sustained, is a worrying indicator of volatility levels in the West Bank. As already implied, public frustration against the PA can easily shift—or be directed—against Israel. Despite the improved professionalism and effectiveness of the PA security forces, the PA’s eroding political legitimacy complicates the exercise of security control. And in an extreme case, continued lack of legitimacy could even lead to PA collapse, creating a security and political vacuum. Coupled with the tense overall security situation, and with Hamas’s ongoing efforts to foment instability in the West Bank, this could be an explosive mix with impacts not only on the Palestinians but also Israel’s security. The PA’s domestic political woes—as exemplified by the protests against the social security law—are not only a Palestinian problem.

Policy Recommendations

Stability in the West Bank is no longer a given. The international community can introduce measures that can stem the political, economic, and security deterioration. Given the unlikelihood of progress in the peace process, other means of stabilization must be pursued, with economic measures central among them. The United States can contribute by reinstating some of the $200 million in aid to the Palestinians that was cut in August 2018, and focus this aid on Palestinian development and economic projects. Israel, for its part, should be encouraged to maintain its policy of largely insulating West Bank economic life from the fight against terrorism, a policy that has so far helped prevent widespread protests. Israel should also be encouraged to consider additional proposals—many of which originate from the IDF—to improve quality of life in the West Bank. These include increased Palestinian access to the Israeli labor market, the creation of industrial zones in the West Bank, and permission for Palestinian construction in areas adjacent to connected Palestinian towns. 

But economic measures alone will not reverse the PA’s eroding stature. For that, the focus must be renewed on issues such as Palestinian governance, countering corruption, and loosening restrictions on political life in areas of PA control. Without progress on these fronts, the authority will continue to lose legitimacy and will remain limited as an agent of stability in the West Bank and—in the longer term—one capable of making the compromises necessary for a peace agreement.

Ghaith al-Omari is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute and coauthor of its recent study “Neutralizing the Gaza Powder Keg.” Madison Rinder is a research assistant at the Institute.