أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

ضم المستوطنات: على نتنياهو ترك إرث دائم للأجيال القادمة

ديفيد ماكوفسكي و دينس روس

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

"تايمز أوف إسرائيل"

5 أيار/مايو 2020


جعل رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو تطبيق السيادة الإسرائيلية على أجزاء من الضفة الغربية ركناً أساسياً من أركان سياسة حكومته الجديدة. وأصرّ على أن هذا هو البند الوحيد الذي يمكن عرضه على مجلس الوزراء والكنيست في الأشهر الستة الأولى من هذه الحكومة. وحدّد الأول من تموز/يوليو كتاريخ يطرح فيه هذا الإجراء.

ويصف البعض عملية الضم بأنها قضية إرث بالنسبة لنتنياهو، وقد تكون كذلك فعلاً بما أنه يتوقع أن يتخلى عن منصبه كرئيس للوزراء في غضون 18 شهراً. لكن لا بدّ من وضع إرثه وقرار الضم وفقاً لأهميتهما النسبية.

ويبدو أن البعض يعتقد أن نتنياهو قادراً الآن أخيراً على التصرف وفقاً لحلم راوده طوال حياته السياسية: أي ضم جميع المستوطنات اليهودية البالغ عددها 130 مستوطنة في الضفة الغربية. ومع ذلك، فإن رئيس الوزراء الأطول خدمة في تاريخ إسرائيل، الذي شغل هذا المنصب لفترات أمدها 14 عاماً وهو على وشك بداية فترة ولايته الخامسة، لم يُعرب عن رغبته في ضم جميع المستوطنات إلّا في العام الماضي.

وفي الواقع، وخلال خطابه أمام الكنيست في 16 أيار/ماريو 2011، أعلن نتنياهو أنه سيسعى إلى ضم جزء صغير فقط من المستوطنات في إطار اتفاق يجري التفاوض بشأنه مع الفلسطينيين بناءً على إجماع الجمهور الإسرائيلي. وفي إشارة إلى المستوطنات القليلة (التي يطلق عليها "الكتل") المتاخمة إلى حدّ كبير للمناطق الحضرية الإسرائيلية والواقعة ضمن الجدار الأمني الذي تعيش فيه أغلبية كبيرة من المستوطنين، أعلن نتنياهو "نتفق على أنه من الضروري الحفاظ على الكتل الاستيطانية. وهناك اتفاق واسع النطاق على ضرورة الإبقاء على الكتل الاستيطانية ضمن دولة إسرائيل". وفي الوقت نفسه، أشار علناً إلى أن المستوطنات الأخرى ستكون خارج حدود إسرائيل.

وربما لم يجعل نتنياهو أبداً ضم جميع المستوطنات أولوية لأنه كان يخشى بحق أن مثل هذا القرار قد يجعل من المستحيل فصل الإسرائيليين عن الفلسطينيين وبالتالي تحويل إسرائيل إلى دولة ثنائية القومية، تتعارض مع فكرة الدولة اليهودية. فهل تبدد قلقه هذا بعض الشيء بشأن هذه النتيجة الآن؟ هل هو أقل قلقاً بشأن الاحتمال الواقعي للغاية المتمثل في أن ضم 30 في المائة من الضفة الغربية، على النحو المسموح به في "خطة ترامب"، يمكن أن يوجه ضربة كبرى لمعاهدة السلام بين إسرائيل والأردن ويمنع احتمال تحسين العلاقات بشكل أكثر علانية مع دول الخليج العربية؟ ألم يعُد قلِقاً من أن العديد من الدول الأوروبية الفردية قد يكون لها رد فعل على عملية الضم من جانب واحد - بما في ذلك الاعتراف بدولة فلسطينية - كرد على ذلك؟

كيف تَوسَّع تركيز نتنياهو على الكتل الاستيطانية ليطال ضمّ كافة المستوطنات؟ يبدو أن النفعية السياسية حالت دون الواقعيَّة. فقد شملت حكومتا نتنياهو في 2009 و2013 أحزاباً من اليسار واليمين. ومع ذلك، لم تضمّ حكومته من عام 2015 سوى أحزاب اليمين. وفجأة، أُلغي مصطلح "الكتل الاستيطانية" من المعجم السياسي لنتنياهو. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، حالما استلم دونالد ترامب الرئاسة وطرح خطته للسلام، لم يرغب نتنياهو في أن يُنظر إليه على أنه يقف إلى يسار الرئيس الأمريكي.

أما ترامب، فمع محاولته إعادة انتخابه لولاية ثانية في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، فتكون دوافعه قائمة بشكل واضح على التبادلات: فهو يهدف إلى الفوز بأصوات البروتستانت واليهود، حتى لو كان هناك سبب وجيه للاعتقاد بأن الضم سيلعب دوراً في الانتخابات الأمريكية. على نتنياهو التركيز على أفق أوسع من ذلك المعروف عن ترامب والمتمثل بعقد صفقات سياسية. وفي هذا السياق، قال الفيلسوف السياسي الإيرلندي الشهير إدموند بيرك في القرن الثامن عشر: "من يمثلك مدين لك، ليس بمهنته فقط، بل وبحكمه على الأمور أيضاً، وهو يخونك ولا يخدم مصالحك عندما يضحي بهذا لتغليب رأيك".

وإذا تمّ تشكيل حكومة، فمن المحتمل أن تكون الانتخابات [التي جرت في الثاني من آذار/مارس] هي الأخيرة التي يتزعم فيها نتنياهو حزبه، وهو البالغ من العمر 70 عاماً. وإذا تمّت تبرأته من اللوائح الاتهامية الثلاث التي يواجهها، فهناك شائعات بأنه سيسعى للانتقال إلى الأجواء الأكثر هدوءاً في إسرائيل المتمثلة بمنصب الرئاسة الطقوسي.

وإذا كانت هذه هي الانتخابات الأخيرة التي يشارك فيها بالفعل، فبإمكان نتنياهو أن يكون أقل ميلاً إلى التوصل إلى اتفاقات من السابق. فهو فريد من نوعه بين القادة الإسرائيليين، لأنهم غالباً ما وصلوا إلى السلطة في سنّ متقدمة. وقد أدرك أهم رؤساء الوزراء السابقين أنه لم يتبق لديهم الكثير من الوقت وتصرفوا وفقاً لذلك. وفي نهاية مسيرتهم السياسية، كانوا على استعداد لاتخاذ قرارات صعبة غالباً ما كانت تتناقض مع الآراء التقليدية لجمهورهم.

فعلى سبيل المثال، قبل تولي مناحيم بيغن منصبه، لم يعتقد رئيس الوزراء السابق أنه سيتنازل عن سيناء لمصر، بعد فترة وجيزة من مواجهة إسرائيل لمصر في ساحة المعركة، ووضَعَ سابقة لإزالة جميع المستوطنات من سيناء. وقبل تولي يتسحاق رابين منصبه، لم يكن رئيس الوزراء السابق (الذي كان قائداً عسكرياً لفترة وجيزة عندما كان أصغر سناً) يعتقد أنه سيصافح شخصاً كان هو ومعظم الإسرائيليين يحتقرونه كونه كبير الإرهابيين، وهو ياسر عرفات. وقبل تولي أريئيل شارون منصبه، لم يعتقد رئيس الوزراء السابق - "مهندس" مستوطنات غزة أثناء ترؤسه "القيادة الجنوبية" في "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" عام 1971 - أنه سيكون الشخص الذي سيقوم بتفكيك هذه المجتمعات ذاتها.

كان هؤلاء رؤساء الوزارات الثلاثة يعرفون أن تحركاتهم المذكورة آنفاً لن تحظى بشعبية لكنهم اتخذوا تلك الخطوات على أي حال لأنهم شعروا أن السياق قد تغيّر بسبب التطورات منذ توليهم رئاسة الوزراء. واعتقَدَ كل منهم أن المصلحة الوطنية اقتضت النظر إلى الصورة الكبيرة للمصالح الاستراتيجية لإسرائيل في المنطقة، ومصالحها مع الولايات المتحدة وعلى الصعيد الدولي أيضاً. لقد حددوا الإرث من خلال النظر إلى ما هو ضروري لإسرائيل وليس وفقاً لإرادة الدوائر السياسية.

ومن خلال تحديد الإرث بمعناه الأوسع وليس من زاوية جلب أكبر عدد من الأصوات، ترك بيغن إرثاً لإسرائيل استمر عقوداً دون خوض حروب تقليدية مع الدول العربية، تلك التي كانت تندلع بصورة اعتيادية في ربع القرن الأول من قيام دولة إسرائيل، وأودت بحياة العديد من أبناء الشعب من كلا الجانبين . وبفضل رابين وشارون، تجنبت إسرائيل إلى حد بعيد الحرب المستمرة مع الحركة الوطنية الفلسطينية، رغم أنه من الواضح عدم تمكنهما من تغيير حسابات «حماس» أو حل جميع القضايا الأساسية مع الفلسطينيين بشكل عام. وقد استرشد هؤلاء القادة الثلاثة أيضاً بضرورة الاحتفاظ بهوية إسرائيل كدولة يهودية وديمقراطية.

وكان أريئيل شارون مغرماً بالقول: "ما تراه من هنا، لا تراه من هناك". كان يقصد أن رؤساء الوزراء الإسرائيليين يضعون مستقبل البلاد على أكتافهم، وأن وجهة نظرهم، بحكم تعريفها، تختلف عن تلك التي يراها ناخبيهم. إن الزعامة هي القيام بما هو صواب وليس بما يحظى بشعبية واسعة.

ولن يأخذ التاريخ نظرة طيبة عن ضمّ جميع المستوطنات، وهي خطوة لم يرغب في تطبيقها نتنياهو بنفسه قبل أقل من عشر سنوات. ولتوضيح الأمر: نعتقد أن كافة عمليات الضمّ الأحادية الجانب هي خطأ ونأمل في أن يمتنع رئيس الوزراء عن القيام بها. كما نأمل على أقل تقدير أن يدرك نتنياهو على الأقل الفرق بين ضمّ مناطق الكتل الاستيطانية المحددة مقابل ضمّ كافة المستوطنات، وكذلك غور الأردن. فالخيار الأول لن يغلق الباب أمام حل الدولتين، في حين سيحتّم الخيار الثاني أن تصبح إسرائيل دولة ثنائية القومية تغيّر هويتها بشكل جوهري. ونأمل في أن يستخلص رئيس الوزراء عبرة من أبرز أسلافه ويختار إرثاً جديراً بالتقدير، ذلك الذي يضمن استمرار الطابع اليهودي والديمقراطي لإسرائيل لأجيال قادمة.    

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز في معهد واشنطن. دينيس روس هو مستشار وزميل "ويليام ديفيدسون" المميز في المعهد. وهما المؤلفان المشاركان للكتاب، "كن قوياً وذو شجاعة جيدة: كيف عمل قادة إسرائيل الأكثر أهمية على تحديد مصيرها". وقد نُشر هذا المقال في الأصل على موقع "تايمز أوف إسرائيل".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

On Annexation, Netanyahu Must Choose a Lasting Legacy

David Makovsky and Dennis Ross

Also available in العربية فارسی

Times of Israel

May 5, 2020


The prime minister no longer needs to lean on the transactional politics of partisan campaign promises, so history will judge him harshly if he keeps pursuing policies that threaten Israel’s peace prospects and Jewish identity.

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu made the application of Israeli sovereignty over parts of the West Bank a central plank of his new government. He insisted that this was the one item that could be brought to the Cabinet and the Knesset in the first six months of this government. And he set July 1st as the date when he would introduce the measure.

Some are calling annexation a legacy issue for Netanyahu, and it may well be as he anticipates rotating out of his prime ministerial position in 18 months. But Netanyahu’s legacy and the annexation decision should also be put in perspective.

Some seem to believe that Netanyahu is now, at last, able to act on a dream he has had throughout his career: namely annex all 130 Jewish settlements in the West Bank. And yet, the longest serving prime minister in Israeli history, who has been in office 14 years and is about to start his fifth term, has only spoken about his desire to annex all settlements in the last year.

In fact, speaking before the Knesset on May 16, 2011, Netanyahu announced he would seek to annex only a fraction of settlements as part of a negotiated deal with the Palestinians based on the consensus of the Israeli public. Referring to the minority of settlements (termed ‘blocs’) largely adjacent to Israeli urban areas and within the security barrier where a large majority of settlers live, Netanyahu declared, “we agree that we must maintain the settlement blocs. There is widespread agreement that the settlement blocs must remain within the State of Israel.” At the same time, he publicly noted other settlements would be outside of Israel’s borders.

Perhaps Netanyahu never made the annexation of all settlements a priority because he rightly feared such a decision would make it impossible to disentangle Israelis from Palestinians and thus turn Israel into a binational state, antithetical to the idea of the Jewish state. Is he less concerned about that outcome now? Is he also less concerned about the very real prospect that annexing 30 percent of the West Bank, as permitted in the Trump Plan, could deal a major blow to the Israel-Jordan peace treaty and preempt the prospect of more openly improving ties with Gulf Arab states? Is he no longer worried that many individual European countries may react to unilateral annexation—including by recognizing Palestinian statehood in response?

How did Netanyahu’s focus on the blocs expand into annexing all settlements? It appears political expediency preempted pragmatism. Netanyahu’s governments of 2009 and 2013 both included parties to his left and his right. However, the government of 2015 only included parties to his right. Suddenly, the term “settlement blocs” was banished from Netanyahu’s political lexicon. In addition, once Donald Trump came into office and put forward his peace plan, Netanyahu did not want to be seen as being to the left of an American president.

With his November reelection bid, Trump’s motives are blatantly transactional: aimed at winning evangelical and Jewish votes, even if there is little reason to believe that annexation will factor in our American election. Netanyahu should focus on a horizon broader than Trump’s brand of political dealmaking. The 18th century Irish political philosopher Edmund Burke famously said, “your representative owes you, not his industry only, but his judgment; and he betrays instead of serving you if he sacrifices it to your opinion.”

If a government is formed, this will likely be the last election for Netanyahu, who is 70. If found innocent of the three indictments he is facing, there are rumors he will seek to transition to the more tranquil waters of Israel’s ceremonial presidency.

If it is indeed his last election, Netanyahu can afford to be less transactional than in the past. He is rather unique among Israeli leaders, as they often came to power late in life. Key former prime ministers knew they had little time and acted accordingly. At the end of their careers, they were willing to make difficult decisions often at odds with their traditional constituencies.

Before coming to office, Menachem Begin did not think he would yield the Sinai to Egypt, shortly after Israel just faced Egypt on the battlefield, and set a precedent of withdrawing all Sinai settlements. Before coming to office, Yitzhak Rabin (who was briefly leader when he was younger) did not think he would shake the hand of a person he and most Israelis reviled as an arch-terrorist, Yasir Arafat. Before coming to office, Ariel Sharon—the architect of the Gaza settlements while head of the IDF Southern Command in 1971—did not think he would be the one to dismantle these very communities.

They knew these moves would be unpopular but they took the step anyway because they felt the context had changed due to developments since taking office. Each believed the national interest necessitated looking at the big picture of Israel’s strategic interests in the region, with the US and internationally. They defined legacy by looking at what Israel needed rather than what political constituencies wanted.

By defining legacy in a wider sense and not in terms of what gets the most votes, Begin bequeathed to Israel decades without the kind of conventional war with Arab states that was routine in the first quarter century of its existence and claimed many lives on both sides. Thanks to Rabin and Sharon, Israel has avoided constant war with the Palestinian national movement writ large, even though they clearly were not able to alter Hamas’ calculus or resolve all the fundamental issues with the Palestinians more generally. All three of these leaders were also guided by the need to retain Israel’s identity as a Jewish and democratic state.

Ariel Sharon was fond of saying: “what you see from here, you do not see from there.” He meant that the Israeli prime minister puts the country’s future on their shoulders and their perspective, by definition, is different from that of their constituents. Leadership is about doing what is right and not what is popular.

History will not take a kind view to annexation of all settlements, a step that in any case Netanyahu himself did not intend less than a decade ago. Just to be clear: we think that all unilateral annexation is a mistake and hope the prime minister refrains from doing so. At minimum, we hope he will at least recognize the difference between annexing designated bloc areas versus all the settlements, including the Jordan Valley. The former would not close the door to two states, but the latter would doom Israel to becoming a binational state that fundamentally alters its identity. We hope the premier draws a lesson from his key predecessors and chooses a worthy legacy, one that ensures Israel’s Jewish and democratic character is secure for generations.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow at The Washington Institute and creator of the podcast Decision PointsDennis Ross is the Institute’s counselor and William Davidson Distinguished Fellow. Together, they coauthored the 2019 book Be Strong and of Good Courage: How Israel’s Most Important Leaders Shaped Its Destiny. This article was originally published on the Times of Israel website.