أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

الاتفاق النووي لم يكن عصاً سحريةً لروحاني - إيران في أزمة جديدة

مهدي خلجي

متاح أيضاً في English

"راديو فاردا"

28 كانون الأول/سبتمبر 2018


حضر كلٌّ من الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب والرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني اجتماع الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في نيويورك، وسط مرحلة جديدة من التوتر بين البلدين في أعقاب الانسحاب الأمريكي الأحادي الجانب من الاتفاق النووي المعروف بـ «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة». ولم تُعقَد أي اجتماعات ثنائية بين الجانبين، وإذا كان هنالك أي شئ، فقد ارتفعت نبرة الاتهامات المتبادَلة. وإذا لم تسوء الأمور، فهي لم تتحسّن أيضاً.

وبالنسبة للرئيس الإيراني، لم يؤدِ قرار ترامب بالانسحاب من الاتفاق النووي إلى تدمير عدةَ سنواتٍ من الجهود الدبلوماسية فحسب، بل إلى تحطيم المصداقية السياسية الخاصة بروحاني داخل بلاده وخارجها أيضاً. ولا يمكن تصوّر النجاح في الدبلوماسية النووية دون المسعى الهائل الذي يبذله روحاني للمبالغة في تأثيراته المباشرة على تغيير الحياة في نظر الناس، بنيله تأييد خامنئي من خلال تأكيداته حول جوهرية الاتفاق، وإعطائه المرشد الأعلى أملاً كاذباً بشأن التأثير التطوّري للاتفاق على سياسة الولايات المتحدة في الشرق الأوسط لصالح إيران.

وفي الوقت نفسه، لم يكن بالإمكان إتمام الاتفاق دون تصويره للنظراء الغربيين على أنه حلّاً فريداً لتطبيع إيران وتشجيع قيادتها على التخلي عن جدول أعمالها التوسّعي والمزعزع للاستقرار في السياسة الخارجية. لقد أخطأ الغرب، وخامنئي، والشعب الإيراني في وصف الاتفاق النووي على أنه تطوّرياً لصالحهم، ولكن بعد وقت قصير من توقيعه، أصبحت عدم فعاليته في تحقيق وعد التغيّر الحقيقي السريع موضوعاً مشتركاً للشكوى من قبل جميع الأطراف الثلاثة.

لقد استخدم روحاني مفتاحاً كرمزٍ لحملته الرئاسية عام 2013، بافتراضه ضمناً أن التفاوض بشأن القضية النووية كان مفتاحاً رئيسياً سحرياً باستطاعته فتح الأبواب السياسية والثقافية المقفَلة، وحتى ضمان تساوي الحقوق بين المواطنين. ونتيجة تركيزه الجامح على المسائل النووية، كانت أمامه عاقبتان على الأقل. أوّلاً، منذ اليوم الأوّل في منصبه، قرّر روحاني عدم الضغط على المتشددين بشأن القضايا غير النووية من أجل الحصول على دعمهم أو إبطال جهودهم التخريبية التي تستهدف سياسته النووية. ثانياً، من خلال ضمان توقيع اتفاقٍ نووي، خاطر روحاني بكلّ ما لديه. فلم تكن لدى حكومته خطّةً بديلة لأي سيناريو آخر غير نجاح المفاوضات النووية مقرونة بتحقيق نتائج سحرية.

ومن المفارقات أنّ كلّاً من ترامب وخامنئي أعرب عن استيائه من الاتفاق بعد توقيعه، قبل وقتٍ طويل من تولّي ترامب الرئاسة. ومع ذلك، يعرض الرئيسان تفسيراتٍ بديلة عند تقييم مصدر الأزمة الراهنة في إيران. فترامب يعتبر أن الفضل يعود إليه في تحقيق تأثيرات الانسحاب من الاتفاق، وإعادة فرض العقوبات السابقة، واعتماد عقوبات جديدة. ومن جهةٍ أخرى، يقلل خامنئي من دور العقوبات في تدهور الأوضاع المعيشية للشعب، ويلقي اللوم على سوء إدارة الحكومة في انهيار العملة الإيرانية وغيرها من الأعراض المروّعة للضيق الاقتصادي للبلاد.

ولا يمكن للمرء أن يفهم [سياسة] إيران من دون الإقرار بأن أياً من أزمات البلاد ليست جديدة. فقد أثبتت الجمهورية الإسلامية على مر التاريخ أنها غير مؤهَّلة لحلّها. ومبدئياً، لا يمكن التخلص من المطالب الملحة التي تشكلها أزمةٍ ما إلّا من خلال خلق أزمة أخرى، الأمر الذي يؤدّي إلى تصاعد التحديات متعددة الأبعاد مع وجود أمل ضئيل في الخروج منها. إن تصميم الطبقة الحاكمة على إعاقة جهود الإصلاح وإسكات المطالب الديمقراطية من جهة، وتكثيف عملية تجنيد الحكومة بأكملها من جهة أخرى، يؤديان إلى تفتيت المجتمع وعدم تسييس مواطنيه.

ويكشف التعمق في طبقات السياسة الإيرانية أوجه شَبَهٍ قوية بين إيران ودول أخرى "ما بعد مرحلة الحُكم الشمولي". وللوهلة الأولى، قد يسخر المرء جدّاً عندما يُحاط علماً بالتشابه القوي بين الأصولية الشيعية والامبراطوريات السلطوية المناهضة للأديان. ومع ذلك، تم إنشاء الحكومة الإسلامية في مرحلة ما بعد الثورة وتعزيزها من خلال اتّباع نماذج الأنظمة الاستبدادية المجاورة على أساس طوعي. وبعد أربعة عقودٍ من الزمن، هناك تشابهٌ قويّ بين مخادع إيران المختلفة والسمات الأساسية للأنظمة ما بعد الشمولية في الكتلة الشيوعية السابقة.

وبدلاً من ملاحظة الأزمة التي تواجهها إيران وتحليلها، يتمثّل نهج القيادة [الإسلامية] في إنكار طبيعتها أو تجاهلها أو التقليل منها أو إساءة صياغتها عمداً. ومع تفاقمها، تصبح رؤية النظام وهمية، مما يدفعه إلى معالجة المشاكل من خلال خلق مشاكل أكبر منها. [وعادة ما] تنشأ أزمة ما وتنمو وتتكاثر، إذا لم يتم تبني علاجٍ واقعي أو نهاية حقيقية للأزمة. وبعد أن تتم إعاقتها ووضعها جانباً، تفشل مبادرات المُصلِحين بسبب أخطائهم الخاصة، الأمر الذي يولّد فريقاً متطرّفاً يعيد إحياء مصالح الحكومة في اعتداء فوضوي. ويشعر الناس العاديون بالخيانة من قبل الثورة والإصلاح على السواء، وبالإرهاق من الوعود الخيالية المقترنة بالوقائع المؤلمة.

ونتيجة لذلك، تزداد معاناة الناس ويصبحون غير مسيّسين إلى حد كبير، مما يشكّل السبيل الأفضل للنجاة. إن الرعب الذي يمارسه الجيش الثوري في البلاد والحرب غير المتكافئة في الخارج يوسعان باستمرار حدود الأزمة. وبسبب عجز الجمهورية الإسلامية عن فهم الجوانب الإشكالية أو التداعيات المميتة لسياساتها، ترفض الاعتراف واقعياً بأي أزمة في حد ذاتها، ناهيك عن وضع الطموحات الإيديولوجية جانباً من خلال تصحيح السياسات الفاشلة في الوقت الذي لا يزال هناك وقت للتصرّف.

وكلّما تفاقمت الأزمة، كلما ازداد تساؤل الناس "متى ستنهار الجمهورية الإسلامية؟" إلّا إن السجل الإيراني المنتظم المتمثل في العمل ككيانٍ استبدادي يدعو إلى الوحدة الإسلامية، بدلاً من التصرف كدولةٍ قائمة على مصالحها الوطنية، يطرح سؤالاً أكثر صعوبة، وهو: "ما الذي حافظ الشمولية الثورية الإيرانية من الانهيار حتّى الآن؟"

 

مهدي خلجي، هو زميل "ليبيتزكي فاميلي" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Nuclear Deal Was Not a Magic Wand for Rouhani—Iran in New Crisis

Mehdi Khalaji

Also available in العربية

Radio Farda

September 28, 2018


The Iranian president focused on the nuclear file to the exclusion of all other issues, and his country is feeling the consequences today.

U.S. President Donald Trump and Iranian President Hassan Rouhani both attended the UN General Assembly in New York, amid a new phase of tension between the two countries following the unilateral U.S. withdrawal from the nuclear deal known as the JCPOA. No bilateral meetings took place, and if anything, mutual recriminations got louder. If things didn’t get worse, they did not get better.

For the Iranian president, Trump’s decision to walk away from the nuclear agreement not only destroyed several years of diplomatic efforts, it also shattered Rouhani’s own political credentials at home and abroad. The success in nuclear diplomacy could hardly be conceivable without Rouhani’s spectacular endeavor to hyperbolize its immediate life-changing effects in people’s eyes, winning over Khamenei with assurances about the deal’s substantiality and giving the Supreme Leader false hope about its transformational impact on U.S. Middle East policy in favor of Iran.

At the same time, the deal could not have been closed without its portrayal to Western counterparts as an unmatched solution for normalizing Iran and encouraging its leadership to abandon its expansionist, destabilizing foreign policy agenda. The West, Khamenei, and the Iranian people all misperceived the nuclear deal as being transformational in their own favor, but soon after it was signed, its ineffectiveness in delivering the promise of real rapid change became the common subject of complaint on all three sides.

Rouhani used a key as the symbol of his presidential campaign in 2013, implying that negotiation over the nuclear issue was a magic master key that could unlock political and cultural doors, even granting citizens equal rights. Obsessive focus on nuclear issues had at least two ramifications for him. First, from his first day in office, he decided not to press hardliners on non-nuclear issues so as to gain their support or neutralize their sabotage efforts targeting his nuclear policy. Second, by taking for granted that a nuclear deal would be signed, Rouhani left all his eggs in one basket. Rouhani’s government did not have a plan B for any scenario other than the success of the nuclear negotiations with magical consequences.

Ironically, both Trump and Khamenei expressed their discontent about the deal soon after it was signed, long before Trump became president. However, they provide alternative explanations when evaluating the source of today’s crisis in Iran. Trump takes credit for the effects of withdrawing from the deal, reimposing previous sanctions, and adopting new sanctions. On the other hand, Khamenei plays down the role of sanctions in the deterioration of people’s living conditions and blames the government’s mismanagement for the collapse of the Iranian currency and other shocking symptoms of the country’s economic malaise.

One cannot understand Iran without recognizing that none of the country’s crises are new. Historically, the Islamic Republic has proven inept at solving them. In principle, each one could only lose its urgency by creating another, resulting in mounting multi-dimensional challenges with little hope of a way out. The establishment’s determination to block reform efforts and silence democratic demands, on the one hand, and intensifying militarization of the entire government, on the other, atomize the society and depoliticize its citizens.

Probing deeper into the layers of Iranian politics reveals strong resemblances between Iran and other “post-totalitarian” states. At first glance one may find it quite ironic to hear about a strong similarity between Shiite fundamentalism and anti-religious authoritarian empires. However, the post-revolutionary Islamic government was conceived and consolidated by voluntarily following the examples of neighboring tyrannies. Four decades later, there is a strong likeness between Iran’s various faces and fundamental features of post-totalitarian systems in the former Communist bloc.

Rather than noticing and analyzing the crisis Iran faces, the leadership’s approach is to deny, ignore, minimize, or intentionally misformulate its nature. As it worsens, the regime’s vision becomes delusional, driving it to tackle problems by creating greater ones. Crisis can only be born, grown, and multiplied, with no real remedy or end. Hampered and then sidelined by their own errors, the reformers’ initiatives fail, giving birth to a radical team which revives the government’s interests in revolutionary aggression. Ordinary people feel betrayed by both revolution and reform, fatigued by utopian promises paired with traumatic realities.

As a result, the people endure more suffering and become more depoliticized as the best way to survive. The revolutionary military’s terror at home and asymmetric warfare abroad are ceaselessly expanding the boundaries of the crisis. Unable to understand the problematic aspects or fatal ramifications of its policies, the Islamic Republic refuses to realistically recognize any crisis as such, much less to set aside ideological ambitions by correcting failed policies while there is still time to act.

The greater the crisis becomes, the more people tend to ask, “When will the Islamic Republic collapse?” But Iran’s consistent record in acting as an authoritarian, pan-Islamic entity rather than a state based on its national interests prompts an even harder question: “What has kept Iranian revolutionary totalitarianism from falling so far?”

Mehdi Khalaji is the Libitzky Family Fellow at The Washington Institute.